Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Multatuli Hotel 3 stars

Prins Hendrikkade 12, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 TL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#293 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2625 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing the air con leaked dripping all night and the roof beams leaked all night after it rained. No sleep due to constant dripping and mopping up all night. No discount was offered just a shrug as if to say not our fault. Unhelpful couldn't care attitude.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Only probelm is that the passage to the room is very narrow and a baby stroller doesn't fit. But u can leave it at the front desk.

    The front desk staff was amazing. A warm welcome goes a long way when ur in a new country. Very informative, very helpful, we came way earlier then our checkin time, like around 8am, but the front desk staff made us very comfortable, complimentary coffee and croissants for my my baby. The hotel staff are great ambassadors of holland. All major attractions are a 5 minute walk, but still the hotel is well removed from the noisy downtown so that u can get peaceful sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small, especially in terms of ceiling. I am bout 6.2", I just about fit into the room without having to tilt my head. However the shower is small, Some of us were unable to stand whilst having a shower because ceiling is short. Still doable, just annoying.

    Good facilitates, everything you need. Good value for money for a 4 person room. Location is fantastic, very close to central station and they let us leave our luggage all day until last flight home. Overall, good, no concerns. Shame we were not up early enough for breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work very well Not enough room for breakfast - had to wait for others to finish before could sit down as only about 20seats for a big hotel

    Comfortable beds Very central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The space behind reception was scruffy, uncared for, needed painting, dirty carpet. Bedroom very small, windows dirty, damaged shower door, unsteady wardrobe shelves, noisy and temperamental air conditioning, Breakfast room too small and overcrowded.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast was OK. Location good. Quiet room. Friendly and helpful reception staff .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and basic

    Close to central train station, friendly staff, great breakfast (special thanks to the joyful lady helping at breakfast, she lights up the day), close to shops and attractions, clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General upkeep of the hotel isn’t great. Although the rooms are quite clean they do not feel clean with chipped surfaces stained walls and stained bed covers. It is okay for short stays like 2 - 3 days if you aren’t too fussy - more like an average 2 star

    The location was good a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to have a room with a double bed as i was travelling with my partner, but otherwise everything was excellent!

    The staff are friendly, cosy rooms and all for a reasonable price. The location of the hotel is close to several bars, coffeeshops and restaurants and only a 2 minute walk from the central station!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very congested, dangerous stairs, ac does not work properly, mosquitoes inside room, bathroom tub shower was really uncomfortable and very inconvenient. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where dirty, Not hoovered and the bed had a hair in it. The rooms where small and had been battered around a lot. The kettle and cups where dirty and stained. I could go on forever. Don’t pay more than £70 a night or you’ll be ripped off!!

    Location was good. They moved me rooms when I complained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's and old building and some of it needs some maintenance. The shower door was hard to move so had to leave it halfway. Didn't want to get stuck in the shower! The bathroom door had a chunk missing off the bottom. The rubbish didn't get emptied one day.

    Arrived early and was able to go to room which fortunate. Small room but lovely and bright thanks to large window.Location just opposite Central Station and close to trams and canal cruises.The pillows are fantastic! Decent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have lost in the hotel 8 packs of cigarettes MORE. When they returned home, they unknocked suitcases there, too ... the cigarettes were in a red bag.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof is bad. If your neighbour is noisy, you basically can hear everything. Even the opening of door, it is sounded as if it is your door that they are opening.

    Clean, location is perfect, very close to Amsterdam central, just need to cross the road so it is very easy to locate the hotel. You can easily commute to everywhere you like. The staffs are friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    The hotel has an excellent location, across the Central Station. We stayed there for 3 nights and you can discover the city by foot. Staff were really kind and helpful. The room was also more than ok, wifi functioned without any problem and it was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic service and staff. Very nice breakfast. Early check in and late check out available. I travel a lot and this was one of the best from cozy type hotels I ever been

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist upon checking in Very very bad wifi service. It couldn’t connect at all in my room Beds were not comfortable Shower water temperature was changing unexpectedly Towels were dirty Noise was coming easily from street despite closing the window I couldn’t open the window at night during the warm weather because of the noise Breakfast is the same every day Utensils were dirty, found a hair on my knife. They don’t even offer a free drinking water not even a free gesture I don’t recommend it and I won’t try it again

    Location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receptionist with a strong accent upon my arrival was not very friendly unfortunately. I stayed on the first floor and a Chinese family woke me up at 2 am, walls are thin, hallways heavy traveled. After the kind receptionist the next morning gave me a locker so I could explore Amsterdam for a couple of hours before catching my train, the doorbell did not work upon my return and nobody was sitting at the desk for 15 min straight to let me back in at 1.15pm... Strange...?

    Location was perfect! Breakfast was really nice with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy area, would have been nice to have a room looking out at the city. Could have been cleaner. Very steep steps to enter hotel.

    Comfortable bed, good range of food at breakfast. Very close to Centraal Station. Quiet room, looking into inner yard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like many hotels it seems in Europe, the lack of power points for charging electronics was the same here. If they do have them they are in strange and awkward places.

    The location was great, close to Centraal station, trams, HOHO buses.boats and free ferry across to the look out point. Breakfast very enjoyable. Staff friendly. A supermarket a stones throw from the hotel, but hidden by some stone steps that look like they belong to an old home. I have discovered the Dutch are not great on advertising.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General decor of hotel was not good and there was a smell on the 1st floor corridor. Some noisy neighbours in corridors at some times.

    Location was goo ie near Central Station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an exhorbitant amount of 479€ 2 nights for triple sharing, you would expect at the very least a well kept clean room.The bathroom is so smelly with urine, you can still see sprinkles on the toilet rim, the shower enclosure is falling apart that the bottom is no longer attached properly, sink is rust stained! Even the table with box for coffee, tea, glasses, teaspoon is dirty. I did mentioned to the front desk about it but nothing much was done. On our last day, one customer even gave up their reservation and didn't mind being charged without using it. The receptionist offered to change their room but they declined. And i thought, hey, we endured the smelly bathroom not even making demands to be transferred to another room. I am overly disappointed with the bathroom!

    Breakfast!Very good selection. It also has electric kettle inside the room. Beddings are clean and comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room no 234 is definitely not the same as what the photo looks like on the booking.com. We have a small window on the ceiling, therefor means there is no view at all from our room. And the worst was there was no curtain or blinds for this window. The room was not dark when I was sleeping because there was light coming into the room. And it was bright at 7:00am. The room size is very small. I think it’s less than 12 sqm. The toilet door is just beside the bed. The toilet had a terrible smell during the night. When we walked in the room , there was an opened coffee bag on the table. The breakfast is basic but acceptable. The staffs are friendly and very helpful . Overall, I do not think the description is the same as booking.com says and it’s not worth for 178 Euro per night .

    The hotel location is great . It is opposite of the Amsterdam central train station. 5-10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a smell in the bathroom coming from the sink. We had to close the door all the time but we could still get the smell in the room. Mattresses were too soft and were sinking, was not comfortable at all. Shower is too low, the shower and ceiling in the shower makes it difficult for anyone over 1.70 metres to fit in. The room is a bit dark, not enough light in it. Kettle leaked all over the table when used (this was changed after speaking to staff) Due to the problems above, we requested a new room, we were told the hotel was fully booked, and the mattresses were flipped, which did not make sleeping any better.

    Hotel was across the road from central station. 4 sleeper room had 4 beds, not sleeper couches.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress too soft

    Very near to Amsterdam Centraal Station and easy to get to the main tourist attractions from the hotel. The staff are friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room with 2 small single beds squeezed in (not for those with small space anxieties). Some rubbish from previous quests behind the bed. Old and outdated decor with many doors and steep stairs between the room and reception.

    Comfy bed and quiet location, yet close to Amsterdam Centraal train station. Breakfast included with the room was quite nice with a decent selection of food and drink. Staff were very friendly, especially a really nice server for breakfast, who was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall hotel is very small and comfortable but furniture and fixtures in room were chipped and needed attention

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean- found cigarette butts under the radiator cover, when checking the property before we left. The safety deposit box in our room did not work. A smile can go a long way in customer service!

    Excellent location with transport links only a few minutes out the door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, staff very noisy when walking through the hallways, bathroom was too small to sit on the toilet properly.

    Beautiful location, clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk on arrival The bedding did not look or smell fresh. It had hair in it!! The bathroom had no toilet roll The sink was dirty and had toothpaste in it Hair in the shower

    The location, very close to the central station and the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning could be better. Bathroom smelled a bit funky. One day the cleaning team had opened our window to let in some fresh air, which is a nice thought, but they forgot to close it again. So when we came back 9 hours later the room was freezing! And with little to almost none pressure on the water in the shower, a nice warm bath was not an option.

    Fantastic location, great breakfast. Amazing bed, slept like a baby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave early we requested for take away bfast from egyptian staff at the reception in the morning no thing was prepared, we had baby and it was disapointing as he promissed he will do so

    The receptuon staff deborah was sooo helpfull soo good smiling and lovely gave us nice room with nice view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was ok. not a great deal for choice. light fixture in bedroom was broken. toilet flush wouldn't turn off unless hit. and tv was very bad picture.

    welcoming entrance. helpful staff. rooms are good, bed was nice and comfy. basic bathroom, but good shower and bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite scruffy, lots of stains on carpets and walls that could be dealt with easily and would be great improvement

    The location is excellent, 2 minutes walk from station and 1 min to canal within walking distance of redlight district, jordaan, Anne frank etc. Breakfast is good, eggs, fresh pastries and breads, cereals and fruit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 125 was quite spacious, Location was superb directly opposite Amsterdam Central Station,Near to the trams,eatery joints and the busy shopping street .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given its location it's understandable that the front door has to be remotely opened, but it is an inconvenience.

    Hotel was warm and my room was fine for a three night stay. Excellent wifi, room was serviced very well and bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was pretty comprehensive and topped up regularly. Decent coffee and friendly staff. Fantastic location - made getting around the city, and to and from the airport, very easy indeed. I would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was really low. The safe was unusable. The walls are very thin, we could hear every little movement of our neighbours. Also there was something banging the ceiling exactly at 5am every day that would wake me up...

    The breakfast was very good, staff was super friendly. The location is absolutely fantastic, couldn't ask for better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service: We ordered a sugar one night and they asked us to come downstairs to get it.

    The location is super 5 min walk from the central station and in the middle of lot’s of shops and 10 min walk from dam square. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was super friendly and efficient. A bit of a maze to find our second floor room, but was great when we did. Large room with 2 comfy beds. All encounters with hotel staff were great. Location was brilliant for our early morning train to the airport. Walking distance from central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t even think of anything!

    The staff are super friendly and the whole vibe is comforting and welcoming - the location was perfect! And the room was perfect for what we needed. Defiantly looking at staying again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really very small.

    Hotel location is very good. Just few mins walking distance from Amsterdam central station and city center. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait until a table becomes available at breakfast every morning, breakfast room far to small for size of the hotel

    Location, straight across from central station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you have heavy luggage or big luggage it is hard to take it to your room. You have to go through tight hallway and small elevator. But everything is good.

    Location is perfect! Walking distance to the Centraal station, restaurants, grocery and tourist areas. A little bit noisy because but this didn't bother me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs Our attic rooms shower room sometimes smelled of drains. Bed was hot due to memory foam mattress.

    Great location for exploring Amsterdam. Good friendly clean modern hotel in a building of character.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doesn’t live up to the photos and it needs a lick of paint. Also a couple arguing early hours in morning very loud, were not told to be quiet until we reported it

    Comfy and Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable had a massive hole along the length of the bed. Hotel was not clean there was dust and rubbish underneath the bed, also the bathroom was dirty and mould on the glass shower curtain. Also the first night of our stay we were kept awake from a screaming baby and the second night from banging from above and below. Walls are very thin. Also the bedroom door did not lock from inside the room. Spoke to staff and the manager about all of this and they did not seem interested at all.

    Location was nice and central and over the road to the train station. 5/10 minute walk from dam square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and boxy, it smelled bad in the corridors, peoples hairs in the shower when we just arrived, dirty and scratched walls and furniture, dusty, cigarette on floor, bad shower, staff unwelcoming

    Comfy bed, good WiFi, good location - but did not make up for the poor conditions of hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most wonderful staff, i broke my arm in Ámsterdam and the man in charge of the front desk during the morning shift went above and beyond to help me out! He even helped me with my luggage all the way to the Central Station. Thank you!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not the newest hotel, but it's clean and tidy.

    The location is really great. Close to the train station, walking distance from the city center, and just next to the supermarket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a ground floor room near reception and it was quite noisy as you could hear everyone walking past the room and people in the room upstairs. Breakfast was a bit basic, but it's Amsterdam you get what you pay for and I have no complaints, and would stay again.

    The bed was very comfy, bathroom clean and spacious, staff were lovely especially the lady with the glasses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not expect 6 steps up to the reception- nor 2 doors and 2 further steps to the lift. Not so easy for a lady traveling alone with a heavy suitcase- luckily the men staff are real gentlemen. Noticed that 1 day the carpet was not cleaned. Did not learn a clue who Mr. Multatuli was - would have expected some lines why the hotel is named after him.

    Good location- near Central Station, shopping areas, pedestrian zones. Good breakfast though no change for 7 days ! Friendly staff Good WiFi Have to pay for the whole stay upon arrival - at least it’s done

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, good experience here.

    Expected quite basic due to only staying for a few days and quite cheap pricing - but very pleasantly surprised! We arrived quite early due to early flights + went straight to multatuli hotel expecting to be able to leave bags in a separate room to return to check in at later time. Staff very accommodating letting us check in early- lucky I guess! Quite a big room which was unexpected due to the impression of the building, comfortable beds and very friendly atmosphere. Breakfast good too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling lights in our room didn't work, and I had a birthday cake for my boyfriend paid for and ordered to our room and they sent the wrong cake. Fully refunded though so overall a very good hotel.

    The bed was like sleeping on a giant marshmallow and it is an excellent location,overly breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dirty room, heating system wasn’t working , they brought us an electronic heater, hot water did not work if one of us took a shower we needed to wait for one hour to get hot water back again, we dealt with a very rude receptionist , impolite and very agressive. I had to talk to the manager ( a respectful person ) because I lost my jacket, they did not find it while it was a very expensive jacket of mine but they only said “ sorry, not found”. When I called the reception to inform them that I lost it, the guy said “ so we are thieves?” . We paid 510euros for three nights , we only spend one night there and we checked out one day prior to our checkout because the hotel was a disaster. No sense of courtesy, the staff was overall nice except for that person called “ Hani”, who spoke very rudely to us. Not only had we lost 510 euros, but I also lost my jacket, been through a lot of stress because of the receptionist and this experience made me hate my stay. I have never been through such an experience, I have been to hotels all over the world ranging from hostels to five stars hotels in Europe, Africa, Asia and America. If you are staying more than one night, look for an other hotel. If you’re looking for clean rooms, stay somewhere else, if you don’t want to have arguments with people who are supposed to be nice and helpful, stay somewhere else. The manager seems respectful ( we spoke on the phone ), but unfortunately he did not try to satisfy his customers, he said “ I apologise on behalf of my staff “ and that was it.

    Nothing at all except for the location ( while there are a lot of hotels near by which are less expensive and more comfortable ).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable for two adults and two children. Breakfast was excellent: there was lots to choose from. The hotel is an easy walk from the central station. The luggage storage is secure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the quadruple room is only for people under 160cm. Anyone taller than that has to crouch to be able to take a shower. The pillows were a little too large, the beds way too soft and the rooms didn't look too new.

    The location is great for exploring Amsterdam. There is a 24/7 reception and you can leave your luggage with the hotel after you checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    U have to get someone from reception to open the door for you all the time.

    There was a gentleman at recpetion at night, he was really sweet and helpful. He got us our sandwich order late at 2 am. Other staff was helpful too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me twice for the room. There were bugs in the room. Old furniture that was chipped and cracked and the walls were dirty. Very loud room. Breakfast was not good. Wifi was really bad. Very expensive for what we got. Would not recommend staying here

    Bed was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready and clean when we reached. They told us to wait. We were there with our 20 months old kid. The man at reception was taking it very lightly even if the room was not clean. When we showed some angry behavior then he gave us another room. They even did not apologize a bit for discomfort that we faced.

    Location is at center of city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellently located for the Amsterdam Centraal station and restaurants. A bit of traffic noise in the first floor rooms facing the station but very comfortable. Thankfully there's a lift as the staircase is quite steep and narrow for comfortable navigation with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and the bed was like a cloud it was so comfty ! Location was amazing literally 2 minute walk from central station you can see it from the front of the hotel, the room has a fridge full of goodies at extra cost of course but great if you want a late night snack overall our stay was amazing, we will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Some bedrooms can only be accessed through stairs (no elevator). So with luggage it was dificult.

    - Friendly staff - We asked to change bedroom and they quickly changed us to a better room - Cozy beds - Hair dryer and shampoo in bathroom for guests - quiet room - Walking distance from city center, metro station and mall - We could keep our luggage in the hotel after the check out - We did late check out and they did not charge anything. That was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you've had a late one and don't leave the room until afternoon you seem to miss out on having your room cleaned... and your toilet roll restocked! Our own fault, though.

    Great location for food, shops, train station and easy routes to the main go-to areas. Nice rooms with hair dryers, tea and coffee and a mini bar, fridge, friendly staff and comfy bed. Would book again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com should be clear that you need to show credit card with you when you check inn. It is to prevent fraude.

    Everything needed was there, it was sufficient for my purpose. No noise so good sleep. no luxury but I didn't expect it .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - very very small room - room should be immediately repaired - very, very small bathroom - day before check out I asked for early breakfast ( sandwich + juice ), lady in reception agreed, when I came morning ther was nothing ... nobody know anything...

    Hotel is placed very close to Central Station. From hotel is close to city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to get to lobby from street, lobby to room Television broken, shower door almost inoperable Free wi-fi spotty

    Great location, friendly staff Room comfortable, great duvets and pillows Nice breakfast and breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very basic, it would have been nice to have a view (our window looked at the opposite hotel’s window).

    The bedroom was adiquate with space and basic amenities. The bed was comfortable and the heating worked very well for a winter trip! The breakfast was good but make sure you go down at the latest 30min before it finishes to get hot food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightstands were very beaten, lots of accumulated dirt stains on sealing, corners, toilet, sink, and shower.

    Location is awesome, the bed is great with clean sheets. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we payed, we expect a higher standard of room. There was nothing wrong, but it just wasn't as nice as we had hoped. Ceiling had patchy plaster, shower wasn't very good, lights in bathroom flickered and the room was a bit cramped.

    location was amazing, beds were comfy, and tea and coffee were given in the room. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was good, breakfast ok, room small and basic but beds were comfortable. Shower was ok but did fluctuate in temperature. Overall the stay at the hotel was okay based on the fact we didn't spend a lot of time there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth value of money I spent for my stay. Absolutely hopeless. I paid about 180euro for one night while this kind of hotel should be around 40-50eur/night. Small rooms. Breakfast was really disappointing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great position being only 5 mins from central station. Good restaurants all around with easy access to shops etc. Direct access from Schiphol Airport via train to central station. Good access around Amsterdam via metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, great price and a great hotel

    Comfy beds, great breakfast, good location, only 5 mins walk from Central Station. Direct train access from Schiphol Airport. Good restraints all around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cramped room Poor soundproofing Tiny bathroom 1.5m x1m Worn grubby fittings in bathroom, carpet, cupboard didn't shut Expensive for such poor facilities @ over 150 euros/night in November

    Staff Location close to central station Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was tiny - adequate for our needs but the door of the bathroom only opened partway as the second bed blocked it. Otherwise the beds were comfy and location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PRICE to high , but i guess Amsterdam is very expensive city

    this is my second time same hotel , the price is high for the quality off the hotel , but i think i am paying for the location the best location u can get , the breakfast is excellent for the Hotel category , wish they could separate the eggs from same container has pork , as with the same lid the steak off pork gets into the eggs ...........

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Multatuli Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: