Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Munck 2 stars

Achtergracht 3, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 WL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#322 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1251 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Very basic accommodation.would not recommend especially if not able to climb narrow steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance to room was dirty and carpet very worn.Floor in bedroom and bathroom had marks/stains.Dining room is very basic and breakfast choice not good.

    Hot shower.Warm room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.5
    Nothing, everything was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t recommended that hotel for any case! It didn’t look as a hotel, it was a terrible experience since we arrive there! The space was very limited, the stairs too little and there was no difference between the spaces in the first floor, the “lobby” “kitchen” and “restaurant” was all together. It was so expensive if you compare it with what really it was. It was our worse experience ever in a hotel!

    Nothing, everything was awful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Quaint hotel in a great location
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance lobby is a mess and bathroom needed a refurb and making bigger so sink is in bathroom.

    Great location, easy walking distance to city centre. Hotel is in an old traditional Amsterdam house with lots of character and original features

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Hotel de Mink is easily accessible to all transport, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the stairs were quite narrow and very steep and I had to lug my bag to my room on the 3rd floor by myself which was very difficult, with no offer to assist even though the staff are mostly able bodied young men ( I am 54 ) The tv did not work ( which wasn’t such a big deal but is advertised) The room was basic but not uncomfortable. The shared bathroom I think served 3 or more floors of rooms. The toilet needed a upgrade, and should be cleaned more regularly, but was sufficient The shower, was not clean and was usually blocked. Showering was avoided. I definitely paid for the location not the quality of the room.

    Hotel de Mink is easily accessible to all transport, in a really lovely part of Amsterdam, lots of interesting things to see and do just walking around. Location is perfect. Breakfast included was a good variety of good continental food and the dining room was clean and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    There were builders working below my room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were builders working below my room . I had to get through a building site everytime I went to my room. The room was full of mosquitos I was bitten several times

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror, a kettle but no other facilities to make a hot drink eg mugs or tea There was building work throughout our whole stay, constant banging which made it impossible to sleep in the mornings. The builders were throwing bits of wood from above our room right outside our bedroom window. The check in was not friendly and provided no information instead it was just awkward for 15 minutes whilst he found the key. Not to mention we all returned home with an excessive amount of bites so can only assume there was bedbugs

    The bed was fairly comfy and good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    It’s ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the other rooms. It felt like I had bed bugs. Slept in my clothes at the end. The shower is ok. Could be better cleaned. The beds are too soft.

    Near the centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and could do with redecorating. Bathroom was small and damp/musty. Lots of narrow stairs. Overpriced for what it is.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    A very good value hotel when you consider free buffet breakfast and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was newly decorated and fairly new bathroom fitted , but was still unwelcoming and very soft mattress

    The hotel is a 2 star property , please bear this in mind when booking The location more than makes up for hotel quality . As you can walk to anywhere within 30 mins.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    I have stayed in better places in Amsterdam for a similar price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not perfectly clean when I entered. Lots of loud noise coming from other rooms upstairs every morning. I came there to relax, and didn't sleep well the whole time.

    Friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was bad experience ever,ruined our holiday there were bedbugs in the bed, my friend was bitten all over body, also we try to contact reception at night no one even responded, we spend one whole night outside the hotel, also book triple room they put small bed in double room.

    Only good thing super markit is just next door, also tram is close by. But hotel was a bad experience I would not recommend to any one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    This is a well-connected little hotel in central Amsterdam near a metro station and two tram stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the room.

    This is a well-connected little hotel in central Amsterdam. It is located near Weesperplein metro station and two tram stops (Line 7 - Frederiksplein and Line 4 - Prinsengracht), all of them very useful when visiting the city and travelling from or to Schiphol airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    If you pay more than 70,-€ it's a rip-off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's hostel style which I don't mind but then it should not cost more than a hostel. The hotel is not well manded. When we arrived there was garbage and a wet towel hidden in the small closet. Next day when we came back in the afternoon, beds were made but the bathroom had not been cleaned. Breakfast is very basic.

    Central Location Close to public transportation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -we didn't get a room in the actual hotel. More like an outside Wendy house. -Luckily we were still there at 11am the one morning as the manager came to our room and asked us to open the window so they could paint inside the windows...... what?! While we are paying for this room? First of all there are no bars in front of the window so pretty unsafe to just open up the windows with all our suitcases and valuables inside. Very easy to climb in. Second of all.. we would have had to sleep with paint fumes that night. -breakfast was not good. Kept running out of coffee,eggs and everything else for that matter and took at least 15minutes to get some more again. -no aircon. Super hot in summer time. Only a little fan. -sure it was a bit cheaper than most hotels in Amsterdam, but still paid too much for what we got.

    Beds were comfortable and the location was pretty good. Few minutes walk away from Rijks museum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    the simplest hostel in authentic building near canals
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no facilities at all - this property is more like a hostel: no cleaning, no soap or shower gel, just bed and bathroom; check-in is awful

    the location is good, wifi was alright

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is nice and quiet and is bear other attractions...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we came in while there was a heat wave, falling asleep was a challenge especially that there is no AC. It’s good that there was a small electric fan but even that did almost nothing to alleviate the heat.

    The location is nice and quiet and is bear other attractions and very near a tram stop. The staff, especially Ryan was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    BED BUGS and HORRIBLE service!!!! stay away!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BED BUGS...STAY AWAY!!!!! we booked room 12, for 4 nights. On 2nd night, we woke up at 3 in the morning, from the bed bug bites. All 3 of us were bitten and went to hospital for treatment. The guy there refused the claim, we showed him photos of the bed bugs we killed, blood everywhere. We even offered him to stay in our room and sleep there but of course he refused !!!! The "owner" was away and good luck trying to communicate with a Chinese dude who's answers were like a robot. He did not even accepted full refund for our trouble, but at least he offered half refund cause according to him we didnt tell him on first night (cause we thought were mosquito bites as we spent the day at Vondelpark). The corridor had an awful smell and we held our breath before entering the room. There were dog poo outside his main entrance for 2 days, no one bothered to clean it up and guess what, someone did step in them and of course carried it in the so-called "hotel". On Sunday, there was no room service, but on Monday they came to clean the tissues with the blood and the guy there was like, we didn't see any blood..we showed him the photos and he was smiling!!!

    Good location. nothing else!!!!!. The guy there offered us half refund and currently, im waiting for the money to be transferred to my account. Hopefully this BAD review does not revoke the refund process, although I prefer to let everyone know about it rather to keep me quiet for few hundreds euro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    It was great!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a room in a low floor (because a problem in my knee) they gave us one on the ground with a small beautiful garden. They gave us the breakfast for free, even though we didn't booked it. Thanks!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean and tidy a little scruffy but owners are lovely and...
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things in poor repair so door handles come off in hand and shower in our room didn't work. Fairly important when the sun is 30deg outside.

    Clean and tidy a little scruffy but owners are lovely and very helpful, backyard with tables and chairs for a smoke. Lots of free coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly front receptionists.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel and not very clean overall. But its one of the cheaper hotels in the center of Amsterdam so you get what you pay for.

    Friendly front receptionists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is in the quiet area,friendly staff and always willing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Oh the stairs.....Squeaky steep stairs,first you hate them but then you have to love them :D

    Hotel is in the quiet area,friendly staff and always willing to help and give info whenever you need it. Small hotel garden,just enough to sip the morning coffee and enjoy the fresh air and cute dining area for breakfast time.The hotel does need some renovation but sheets were changed every day and the room was cleaned everyday so it was enough for us to enjoy our stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    4 nights at Hotel de Munck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was in the attic on the 4th floor with no elevator and very uncomfortable stairs. Very high price compared with the quality of the room. It is described as a Hotel but it is more like an low-average Hostel. I only recommend to stay here if there are no more available bookings or if you are in a very short stay.

    Excellent location on Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is run down, the electrics a suspect, most lights in the room either did not work or were coming off the wall. The bathroom could have done with a good clean.

    Location was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff, rather run down bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely difficult to get our bikes through building to secure garden. The bedroom had adequate facilities but mostly in sad need of repair.

    Very good breakfast, very sweet and helpful family running the hotel. Very clean. Very nice, leafy and quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small - not much space for luggage. No issues.

    Very friendly staff - they included basic breakfast for free - cereal, toast, tea, coffee, orange juice. Also gave me room with private bathroom which was a bonus. Good location - supermarket v.close, cafes/resturants, tram (no. 4) round the corner in 2 minutes walk so very easy to get around. Discount booklet and map given on check in. Felt safe walking home in evening. Small Basic facilities but was all i needed as was out exploring and only there to sleep. Amsterdam is very expensive to stay so was expensive for what it was but fine for what i needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.8
    If you like something fresh and clean don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very very shabby , I felt unsafe . the curtains were so old and would not pull across properly so if someone looked in the window I'm sure they could see my sleeping. the staff showed me to my room but I was struggling with my bag and he did not offer to even help me. There were stains on the shower curtain and the shower head kept falling .

    The location was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    Great location, easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy, more like a hostel, noisy!!, sheets had yellow stains on them, vomit in the courtyard, cleaning staff left an open bottle of gin on the table, mold on the shower curtain, I would never stay here again!!!

    Great location, easy access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    Lack os safety and lack of quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our arrival was bad as we arrived with rain and no parking at the hotel and not around, we walked over 2km to find a parking lot, the stairs to climb to the rooms are extremely steep and tight, we asked to not have room service as we were in 4 (from the same family) and had several personal belongings, we went out to enjoy the day and when we arrived at the hotel we came across the "tidy" room, because they did not clean or trash, just folded towels, nothing was replaced, but the worst of all was not this, the worst fact was that we went to check all the belongings and noticed the lack of 300 euros, which were in an envelope that was inside a backpack, the day we arrived at the hotel that money was there, when we left it was no longer, we asked for explanations at the reception and nothing was done, they only lied to us saying that a cleaning company person would come and talk to us, we hope until the last minute and nobody came, we had to leave if we were not going to miss our flight to another place, we left there extremely sad because besides not having any comfort in the hotel, it has no security for guests.

    Some of the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great staff! Let you get on with your holiday without bothering you. Always there to help you out also! Room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Would really recommend this hotel. Should be more than 2* Thank you!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    Never else!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was dirty on the toilet bowl and ring, towels with stains, bathroom cabinet and mirror broken. The TV was also not working as per a pin code needed and staff has not this info for a solution.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    its not worth the cost at all!!!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building was super old , steps where horrible , you should take care of your head couse the roof was too short ! , the room was super small and no internet connection in the room !!!!!

    the reception was very nice man , helpful , he considered free breakfast for us and kept our suitcase :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    The property was going well until the last day
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were using the safe throughout the stay until the battery ran out on the second last day. The receptionist said to leave the safe open as he would not be back until the next day to reset it and open it again. Conveniently the only day the room was cleaned was this day. We left the room to go out and returned a few hours later. About £20 and €180 went missing during this time. Not much concern was shown by any of the staff. Wouldn’t risk it, book earlier and get somewhere that is run properly. Reception is a small desk beside breakfast area with a sink????? Needs an upgrade and some professionalism.

    The property was going well until the last day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very kind and helpful, we could easily reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed frame didn't fit to the mattreces and they were also a bit used, so we sunk into the bed at every movement. Furthermore, the wifi connection was a bit weak.

    The staff was very kind and helpful, we could easily reach them at the next door. The breakfast was compared to the price very sufficient and the staff tolerated when guest weren't able to finish till 10:00. Furthermore, they provided us many useful information and also a discount coupons which we could use at the programs. The hotel is located very central, so we could walk home from every important sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.9
    Awful place, run by awful staff, used by awful clientele, neighbored by awful drug addicts&drunks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was awful. They dont speak English, they pretend they do. And they lie. It was like a horror film set, whole building smelt of weed, outsides and doorsteps are dirty, smells of piss everywhere. Internet connection always cut.

    I cant really think of something I liked. If you want to spend a night in an awful place with and awful bed, this is the place for you. I wouldnt even put mu dog in that place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is a fair value for money, but you mostly pay for the location. The staff is also an asset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was ok but the sanitary facilities were small, the sink was actually in the room, the shower connected with the toilet. But all in all, the room was clean and cleaned every day. The breakfast was free but rather basic.

    The location of the hotel is an asset, it is really near the Rembrant Place and the museums. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    2.9
    Room with a mouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They loughed at our faces when we exposed them the problem and told us "this speech is leaving me unhappy". The mouse left us a souvenir (photo in the description)

    Nothing, because they did not take any responsibilities about the mouse we found in our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    One bloody expensive jet lag night in Adam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny toilet in the halkway next to reception... shiwer and second toulet on third floor....80 euros for 1 night for this....Amsterdam is soooo ridiculously overpriced

    Friendly staff....supermarket next door....central location.. room quiet...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    The location is unbeatable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely insufficiently soundproofed, you need earplugs to have a chance to sleep. Poor possibilities to store your things (6 hangers in a 60cm wardrobe in a room for 3). Toilet not flushing properly.

    The location is unbeatable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good price and a place to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ceilings are very low. Under the shower you will not be able to straighten up if you are over circa 185 cm. But I guess they can't change that. Its not so bad after all.

    Staff was helpful, no problem when printing a ticket Toilet and shower was shared, but there was a sink and hair dryer in the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    Highly disappointing, don’t stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic Room we stayed in was not pictured on booking.com or any other website and certainly did not meet description. Whilst ordinarily I would excuse a slightly dated room if all other factors were good, sadly this was not the case. The room is in desperate need of a make over and deep clean. Plasterboard walls, Cobwebs in all cracks, dust along bed and generally grubby. Wardrobe unusable due to being a storage space for spare (marked and dirty) duvets. Electric wires all over room and were frankly unsafe. Hairdryer did not work and tissue box provided did not have any tissues in. Whilst did not need the TV, it didn’t work anyway and remote only had 1 battery in. We did expect steep stairs due to nature of buildings in Amsterdam but were not expecting them to be so steep - not suitable for children or anyone who struggles with mobility! Stairs unsafe with little railings and carpet lifting in several places making it very dangerous. Several holes in low ceiling that are crumbling where head have Been hit going up! Although I am usually willing to let things go and not let a disappoint hotel taint a trip, it did slightly ruin our time in Amsterdam as were dreading going back to the hotel each night and couldn’t wait to get out in the morning. When checking out a staff member didn’t ask how our stay was or make any conversation, just took the key. No offer to help bring bags downstairs despite being steep and unsafe. Generally would NOT recommend.

    Amsterdam is beautiful place, would come again! Met one member of staff throughout stay and he was very pleasant and helpful. the linen was clean and the bed ok. Shared shower and toilet suprisingly clean considering shared. Basic continental breakfast provided free of charge. Pretty from the outside and quiet area, located near beautiful canals and easily accessible from the tram and only 10 min tram ride or 25 min walk from central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    We get room with bathroom although we booked without.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I repaired the cable of the televísion and tuned it because it did not work. After it worked well. It could be more clean. The bed is extra soft. It was uncomfortable.

    We get room with bathroom although we booked without. 😃 Thanks for it. The price and location were the Best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from.the rom above was terrible, kept me awake all night. The whole property could do with a make over, it is falling to bits.

    Breakfast was good, decent cup of tea. Great location. Great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a serious renovation, very old and broken and the noise from the others guest makes it impossible to sleep.Also we could not sleep at night as the bed seems to have ant, very itching.

    The worts place I have ever stay. Very old ,noise and the guy at the reception was rude .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    OK but wouldn't book again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been more varied. Building very old and musty, carpet very poor in hallway. Very steep stairs.

    Staff were lovely, Bed was comfy , a wonderful area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel I have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have been to Nigeria India and Angola. Cost £150 a night, up 4 very steep staircases if there had been a fire no one would have survived. Don’t go to this hotel mould in the bathroom, terrible.

    Location good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean & the bed was comfortable, Shame about smell of open sweage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our 2nd day at the hotel, out bathroom smelt like open sweage and the smell didn’t go away. It then moved into the bedroom so when you opened the door you can smell it. We where lucky as we hardly stayed in the hotel apart to sleep, but still it’s not pleasant.

    I like the location of the hotel as the tram was only a 2 min walk and all the bars & cafe where around the corner..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, we had to carry our bags on the third floor. The stairs were very tiny and we struggled to go up. I asked one of the staff to arrange a reservation to a bar and he replied to me that they do not make such things. What was the problem ? I didnt understand. There was a guy at the reception who was not willing to answer or help in most of our questions.

    The location was good. Also there was a girl at the reception who was friendly with us and answered all of our questions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Because of the great location, I would stay here again. Plus, it's an authentic European experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small, not enough places to hang things like jackets, towels, put suitcases, etc.

    Breakfast was great, staff was very friendly and helpful, location was perfect for walking around city center. Across the street from a playground, so perfect if you're traveling with kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was a little tired but I think the owners are trying to make improvements.

    The room was very spacious, thought the décor was a little tired. The very large bed was comfortable. The shower room was adequate & it was very clean, with plenty hot water. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. The location was good, though about 30 minutes walk from the areas of activity. The hotel is small, so from our point of view that was a plus. Ideal for a city visit. Free Wi-Fi was good & the complementary breakfast was more than adequate,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.9
    Avoid it if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned. The hotel looks like it was about to crumble. Almost non existent breakfast. Not even worth 10% of the £ 150 paid for a night.

    There wasn't much to like about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    They advertise as a budget hotel, so as long as you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They advertise as a budget hotel, so as long as you don't have extremely high expectations, it's really ok. We had an extra bed for our child even though it was originally not included, so that was nice of them. The room was also comfortably large and quiet. We had 0 problems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good service and very helpful. Good value for money however the facilities could of been a better i.e there was a kettle in the room but no tea coffee or cups? Also do not recommend if you have mobility problems as we had to climb up 3 flights of very narrow and steep stairs. Other than that good location and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's ridicilously overpriced, even though it's a budget hotel. It just felt shabby. At least I've learned not to trust how hotels present themselves.

    The beds were OK, and the location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures look nothing like website, there was light fittings hanging out in the bathroom ceiling,wall tiles being held up with sellotape, walls were damaged and cracked everywhere no where to hang any clothes and the view was looking out the window to a fly roof which was full of cigarette buts considering this hotel is a no smoking!

    Hot shower, comfortable bed friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    Not family friendly. Hotel is a health hazard
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a large double bed and got two singles, balcony door broke on the second night as there was no door stop and the door swung open and they left us in the room just stuck glass over it and duct tape. Bathroom mirror was held up with it also. Said there was breakfast went down and it was just coffee. Was definetly not worth the value we paid. Will never return.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    3.3
    Must be the worst hotel in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given at the back of the hotel was smelling, bed wasn't done and looking like someone had just slept on it. I felt so bad with the cleanliness and the condition of furniture and showers that I was almost leaving the place to go out and looking for something else, it was past midnight with -4 C so I decide to brave all that and slept with all my clothes on as I was disgusted. It was just an overnight stay to continue with my connection flights next morning. My advice, think before booking here and make sure you understand if other rooms are in a better condition.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Ryan's family run this hotel, he and his mother and his...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ryan's family run this hotel, he and his mother and his eldest sister, all of his family members who are so friendly and especially Kevin was so nice guy. I felt like home and taking a rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    First time in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is strictly in the old part of Amsterdam and you can go anywhere you want, withou the need to use public transportation. Although this was my first time in Amsterdam. This hotel is everythin you need. The price is excellent and the offer great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Cozy + nice inner yard for smoking in otherwise smoking free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad wifi connection in room. Noise from ventilation in bathroom ... might be an idea to clean it for dust+spiderwebs

    Cozy + nice inner yard for smoking in otherwise smoking free hotel. Basic + functional room. Practical located to get around with public transfer. Friendly staff and simple but satisfying + relaxed breakfastcircumstances.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Cozy and historical hotel in great neighborhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were up on the 5th floor so there were a lot of stairs but since we are young we could handle it. Had an older family member been travelling with us, they would not have been able to climb the stairs. I'm not sure that I was aware there was no elevator before booking, but for us it didn't matter for this trip. We loved our stay!

    Loved the hotel. It felt like a genuinely historical hotel in a great neighborhood. I loved the character and personality of the hotel as well. Nice simple breakfast was also an added bonus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Until next time Amsterdam.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was awful and very cold

    Room was fine, not too small and free breakfast was very good, staff were brilliant and very friendly. I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    warm little hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be better. at least we expect more than one kind of cheese since it is in Amsterdam. Narrow stairs are pain but we all know it is common in there. Finally cleaning could be better.

    so friendly and helpful staff. room was quite warm and no problem with hot shower. wifi was working fine. We like it in general.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location and super nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is tiny, which is ok for the price, but the bed was really uncomfortable. If only the mats were better it would really be a perfect place to stay.

    Hotel Munck has a very nice and helpful staff, and a great location. It's good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Will be back soon! (=
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is at a very good spot, very easy to wander around amsterdam by walking. People are really nice and welcoming. Breakfast was really satisfying, even for a Turkish customer. I strongly recommend this great place to everyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    I have stayed in a few hotels in Amsterdam and would stay here again if the rate was reduc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed needed more pillows and the topper was too short to fit the bed. I couldn't get the bed side lamps to work and the main light was dime which made it difficult to read.

    The room was basic but clean and handwash and bodywash was supplied. Hotel was in a nice quiet area not too far from main attractions and therefore everywhere was within walking distance. Room had a small balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Holy MOLDY.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had mold on the walls! If you have any sort of allergies do not stay here! Even if you don’t have allergies I wouldn’t advise staying here. Staff is nice.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a pretty place, just basic to sleep...

    very stretch building like everything else everywhere jajaj location was good amterdam is walking distance from everywhere there....coffee shops, museum, red district...and if you dont want to walk the public transport is pretty easy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    If you are looking for an INN in a great location, this is the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old, needs serious renovations. The bathroom was tiny and I could hear all the noise from guest next door.

    The staff was very nice, but the bathroom was so small and I could hear all the noises from all the rooms....it's not a hotel,not sure how it's rated 2 stars... it's more like an inn or a bed and breakfast!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strong Smell of cigarettes in the bathroom and partly in the room. The stff did not do anything about it even we mentiined it. Had to use the common toilet

    Breakfast wa Good and the room nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant stay, Simple but happy. 6/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Few more room facilities would have been super More variety at breakfast More communication via booking.com in how the payment was to be made and the amount

    Good location Spacious rooms Friendly Staff Cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.5
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, room, cleaness

    unhelpful staff, rude Didnt have breakfast once as it was included on my package On the last day I asked for coffee and the chinese male worker try to charge us 1.50 euro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom doors were a slide door with no possibility to lock them so not very convenient. Also, there was no doorknob from the inside so if you were to close the doors too hard, it became impossible to open them. Construction workers on our window every day.

    Location is great, you can walk to almost every attraction. Friendly staff. Breakfast was a bit poor for the money (nothing warm just salami and cheese/cereal) but they refilled all the time and coffee/tea is very good there. Nice backyard. Our room was 3bed+extra bed. Extra bed was super hard while ours was very comfortable.We got clean towels every day which was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.5
    berbat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    oda , temizlik , ısınma , kahvaltı , We were in an absolutely awful room. We went to the hotel late at night. We stayed because we had to. Room 21 given to us very filthy . no ventilation , no cleaning , a room like a small depot . we are definitely a quiet family and we do not have any problems with everything . but this room was unbelievably bad. we do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel great Location, Joe checked us in very quickly and Ryan and the guy from Lativa (sorry didnt get name) were an absolute pleasure to talk to I would reccommed this Hotel for a break away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    helpful staff, fair family room space, fair location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no lift, tight stairs, no canal view راه پله تنگ و بدون اسانسور

    helpful staff, fair family room space, fair location موقعیت نسبتا خوب، اتاق خانواده با ابعاد نسبتا مناسب دارای کتری برقی و صبحانه مناسب

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: