Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New Ocean Paradise Hotel 3 stars

Parkhaven 21, Delfshaven, 3016 GM Rotterdam, Netherlands

#58 of 58 hotels in Rotterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

5.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    4.3

  • Staff

    5.7

  • Value for money

    4.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making hotels clients pay for parking € 4/hour is just outrageous. Plus the bathroom light was didn’t work. The staff members acted nice, but were reluctant to provide us with basic requests such as getting new towels, etc...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.9
    Bad smell hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smell bad. Very small bathroom. AC leaking. AC not working properly. TV did not work.

    NOTHING!!! I even check out 1 day early. I did not like anything. Best part was leaving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location and bay view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to change 3 rooms: first one was dirty, then we moved to a family room and then finally to a clean double room - not cool. In some rooms windows do not open. Not the best hotel if you have a choice.

    Good location and bay view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.9
    If it would have been 10% of the price it would have reflected true value. No Go for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude reception staff. The hotel smelled cigarette smoke and also very much in the room even if they said it was a smoke free room (so said my college in his room). It didn’t feel clean in the room and even if bed sheets smelled and looked clean, bed was made up by just loosely laying the bed linnen on the bed, so it could be perceived as used. Here was an elevator which we wondered if it was going to fail and didnt go to the top floor so heavy bags had to be carried by stairs. Very expensive for its value

    Bed sheets was clean as was the towels in the bathroom. There was parking space outside for free over night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    A short sentence? Appauling, abismal, don't go.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Advertised at 67 Euros a night. Charged me 100, with a 50 euro deposit. Sure that must be illegal. Woman on reception smiled whilst lying through her teeth about this false advertisement. She was the only one who spoke English so when she wans't around to smile, lie and extort you, it was like talking to brick walls. I can't decide which I loathed less actually.. Place stunk to high heaven, a sinking hell more than a floating paradise- above a seafood market. Cats running all round the gaff. Screaming people all night, paper thin walls, rooms a joke; not worth 100 monopoly dollars a night let alone 100 Euros. Everything designed to grab as much money out of one stay per customer as possible as they surely aren't daft enough to miss acknowledging repeat business is a guaranteed 0. Fines advertised round the room, 60 Euros for smoking in the room yet the fact the place stinks of fags is more of a relief over the fish than anything... although as a smoker I feel this is biased and for non smokers this is a further hindrance to the first notch on the pleasantry percentile.. also a sign saying leave your towels on the floor if they need to be cleaned; leave them on the hook if you don't need them clean, urging guests to think about the environment... Well, my towel was still dirty on the floor when I got back, so clearly they are very concerned about the environment. Another priority over the comfort of guests- which evidently sits firmly at the bottom of this establishment's priority ladder. The bed was tiny, the room was tiny, the bed was harder than Dwayne Johnson's abs, the walls were chipped, the tiles were chipped and sharp in the bathroom. The chipped door was made of plywood and granted about the level of security the protection of a newborn baby defending against a pack of rabid, starving wolves could.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    SHOCKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on check in was so rude we asked about dinner and got told no food and drink was available so not a good start so think twice about booking this place

    The only thing about this property was the view across the water and the Euromast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    They found us a decent room finally and really tried to keep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows could not be open at all (no fresh air in the room at all), there was no Internet at all and TV signal was awful, the smell from the restaurant (food, cigarettes) was everywhere, clima didnt work in two of the rooms we tried (no air at all), the first room they showed us was a disaster in terms of clearness; they took 50 euro from us as s deposit but there was nothing in the room that costed 50 euro at all

    They found us a decent room finally and really tried to keep us as clients

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Locatikn is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and equipment, fastening floor and doors, you may hear peolle talking in ths other room, in bathroom water did not go away, so I had to contact receptionist at night to fix it, too noisy with boats on the water.

    Locatikn is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    2.9
    DO NOT STAY! ROOMS ARE GROSS AND STAFF RUDE!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st we got a room with 2 beds even though we requested a large double, next room we moved to smelled like smoke from 1979 and last they also moved us to a 3rd room that was no better. DO NOT STAY!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    The corridors smelt of cat pee.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors smelt of cat pee. Tv didn't work. Aircon didn't work. Staff couldn't speak English. Walls were paper tHin heard everything next door. Website promiSed breakfast. No breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Decent Chinese restaurant underneath hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV very poor signal, no option for breakfast, a 50euro "deposit" taken on your card but returned in cash, the owner is clearly leaning up some money. Room very dated and a bit grubby.

    Decent Chinese restaurant underneath hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Could've been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are rock hard, sleeping on the floor would be more comfortable. The bathroom is too small compared to the room size. The hotel says its in Rotterdam's center but is actually a 20-25 minute walk there

    The hotel is floating on the river and has such a pretty design, rooms are spacious and clean. Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Great budget-friendly floating hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accommodating staff, clean rooms and the floating hotel rocks you to sleep at night. Would stay here again next time I'm in Rotterdam for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    3.3
    An adventure in Rotterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room floor was not clean, windows were broken, the tv was not working properly.

    The hotel looks very nice from the outside. It's kind of an exotic hotel for the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard, airconditioning made so much noise ( when turned off!!!), no electricity ( sockets didn't work) carpets were so dirty, shower was made in 1800's....

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    There was no option to close the door of washroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no option to close the door of washroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    The coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Fregirator or mineral water in the room

    The coffee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    It was value for money and better than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and very good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    2.9
    Very dirty dusty, rude staff, noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty dusty, rude staff, noise

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.9
    Noice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Not comfortable at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    For budget hotel was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock hard room not serviced tv unwatchable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    It was OK. I would tolerate only one night there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby. No breakfast available, nor anywhere for breakfast locally.

    Unique location; floating Chinese restaurant/hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.5
    The staff were friendly and eager to accommodate.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and eager to accommodate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Good restaurant, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They don't provide breakfast.

    Good restaurant, excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    2.5
    bery bad experience!c i will not recomend it to anyone!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    bad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.6
    Beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells

    Beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    An enjoyed stay, except the couple of things mentioned above
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to ask for clean towels & extra soap

    The room could have had a bar fridge in it, for milk and other item that need to be kept cool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location but needs updates
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of things seemed to need repair and maintenance. Very few electrical outlets

    The location was good with walking distance to down town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    2.9
    Dont go here, it smells!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is really bad

    Nothing is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Room not cleaned, towels not replaced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned, towels not replaced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.3
    Liked the location and look of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful the rooms were poorly maintained and the overall property was dirty

    Liked the location and look of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.6
    The lights in the room were flickering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the room were flickering. AC was also not working

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    5.8
    Good location next to Euromast and the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was pretty awful. Taps on shower broken also on sink. Room smelt of stale smoke. Carpet dirty.

    Good location next to Euromast and the river

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful reception😁
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful reception😁

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Convenient for my requirements for the short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been a little warmer in the room and the shower room was tired

    Location and Chinese restaurant very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.0
    Imagine a day on a boat where you hear everything.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was terrible. Not helpful at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    2.5
    we first got to the hotel and they never taken the money out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we first got to the hotel and they never taken the money out of the account when its already meant to get taken when you book so we had to pay cash and the girl at the desk was inexperienced, we booked a river view and we could only see the roof and when we told the reception they said there was none availible. also when we entered the room it smelt of stale smoke there were marks all over the floor and hadnt been cleaned properly the bathroom also had mould everywhere and never got cleaned while we stayed supposed to be daily clean and the shower door was broken. the staff are very rude and cant understand anything.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    3.8
    Room was tolerable for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rock hard bed, would have been comfier sleeping on the floor. Stains all up the walls and on carpets. TV didn't work correctly. Tap leaking everywhere. Poor facilities. Not decorated for at least 20 years. Location about 30 mins out of town. Definitely wouldn't recommend!

    Room was tolerable for one night.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    3.3
    Reception guy working at night was mega friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything else. The location, the cleaniness. Under the bed wasn't cleaned in a long time. Shower even had dust and mull in it. Felt like a dirty prison. Facility wise worst place I ever stayed.

    Reception guy working at night was mega friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    3.8
    The way it looked from the outside and the fact that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cigarette butts and pieces of candy from previous guests found on the carpet, just like an empty Ben & Jerry's in the fridge, so VERY poorly cleaning of the room! There were stains everywhere! On the walls, carpet and bed sheets.... Beds were hard as a rock!

    The way it looked from the outside and the fact that the rooms were quite spacious.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    3.8
    Rooms are spatious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Run down property, noisy rooms, poor staff, barely english speaking, substandard breakfast, poor internet, no restaurants in a walking vicinity, far from city centre.

    Rooms are spatious

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.0
    We liked the location Right near the Euromast and pancake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was dirty cold tap did not work sink was cracked and tap leaked Breakfast was minimal.

    We liked the location Right near the Euromast and pancake boat

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.2
    not alot,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    most of it, dirty room, staff wanted 50 euro deposit for tv and were told its incase we break anything in the room. Breakfast not good had to ask for everything as it ran out, waiter/receptionist spent most of his time on his mobile phone.

    not alot,

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.4
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place could do with a lot of investment. It's old but without the charm. The bathroom was covered in mold. The carpet was full of cigarette burns/stains. The bed was rock hard.

    The location is great.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    4.2
    Leaving to go home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I complained that the room was dirty when I arrived, definatly not 4 star,On the last night they finally attempted to clean the room but after one hour they gave up and I was moved to another room

    Leaving to go home

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    2.9
    View across waterways
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Manager should be sacked no people skills, stench of rotting meat on entering foyer. Breakfast a pathetic attempt at continental all you can eat buffet does not get filled up without a major effort and then not fully

    View across waterways

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.4
    The location is super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff speak very bad english exept one old man One women from chine was at the reception, she was very bad in every thing with us. She speak poor englich, she has no respect for uns. She shout on other staff

    The location is super. The hotel is clean and quit .

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    4.2
    I made the tragic mistake of looking at the stars and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I made the tragic mistake of looking at the stars and not the reviews! Demanded a deposit for the key and remote - who does that? Terrible room - I've stayed at cleaner, better maintained hostels. I would not take my shoes off in the room. Also, poor lighting, torn shower curtain, black mold on bathroom vent. Linens appeared clean but stained. So sorry they can't invest a little in upkeep. Certainly not worth what we paid.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    4.6
    Quiet place , easy to walk to the city approx.
    • Couple

    Price / quality ratio of the poor . Rather, the traveler home than a hotel. Room door very thin. Votes were clearly in the room. Appearance worn and threadbare

    Quiet place , easy to walk to the city approx. 1 km. A short distance to the Ahoy hall approx. 3 km.Good internet connections.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    4.6
    Manager was friendly making us feel at home
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No one cleans the room for four nights only emptying bin and giving clean towels. The room was for three imagine an uncleared bath tub for 4 days

    Manager was friendly making us feel at home

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    2.9
    My he breakfast was decent
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is hidden charges such as deposits and also there not what so ever 4 start comfort i would rate it 2 I have stayed in many hotels but that was one of the worse experience ever

    My he breakfast was decent

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.5
    the view of the river and a big restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    same small window liking.

    the view of the river and a big restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    4.6
    The faucet which is in the toilet is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The faucet which is in the toilet is very bad. The room is not very clean also.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    2.9
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor smoking smell room. asshes of sigarettes on the roof outside window.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    4.6
    The room itself was fine, just the staff - no interest at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room itself was fine, just the staff - no interest at all in the guests.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.6
    I wouldn't recomand it to my friends, is to expensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old furnature, not that clean,

    I wouldn't recomand it to my friends, is to expensive for what quallity they offer.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    3.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    3.3
    The view but window wouldnt open.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All the door need oil they all squeak every room and hall way doors can be heard all trew the room

    The view but window wouldnt open.room got two warm

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    4.6
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is promoted as 4*, but it is 3*. The real level is 1*, rather hostel. The rooms not cleaned, very dirty.

    nothing

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: