Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH City Centre Amsterdam 4 stars

Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 VX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#139 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5067 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet the fruit was bad as if no one cared

    Good location street not to busy, good for walking to mesum’s or to train station.the room was on street but very quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great location in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant complain at all about the hotel

    Great full sized mirror for dressing up! wonderful shower (waterfall style) excellent high ceilings and great lighting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Great beds, stiff cotton sheets (ironed) and great central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with Extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infused water tasted moldy- needed cleaning. But don’t misinterpret and be turned off. Hotel is great.

    Great beds, stiff cotton sheets (ironed) and great central location. Nice lobby area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.3
    We had bad experience during the check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bad experience during the check in. We came with an infant from a very long flight. The receptionist was very not helping to have an early check in to our room. He was very not understanding and kinda rude and made us take a different room type if we want an early check in and kept saying we CANNOT change the room even if we don’t like it. What kind of hotel that says to costumer you cannot change your room even if you don’t like it!! I was surprised that this staff was Assistance manager !!! What a bad management ! The bath room was not clean with malls in the shower. Even room service did not replace the blanket while making up the room. Simply this hotel was my worst experience in my whole trip and all because of a very bad check in experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    200 euros + for standard room is way too high
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the value was high comparing to offered room and other equivalent properties

    cleanliness except the carpet in front of hotel main entrance it is too dirty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    We loved our stay in Amsterdam and the location of the hotel was a great part of that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the hotel was difficult and the staff were indifferent to this situation. Being an older building there were a number of steps to manage when booking in and leaving with luggage. On checking out one customer was being particularly difficult and there was significant queuing resulting in a delay of over 20 minutes to check out. Staffing was a little light given the combination of the above. As we battled up the stairs with our luggage another family complained about the access - one staff member commented that it was not a five star premises. No assistance offered.

    Excellent location and immediate area had good eateries and plenty of character. The room was very good for our requirements.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money in the best part of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I received a room upgrade and free breakfast due to a previous complaint and it was much appreciated. The staff were very gracious, especially M from guest relations. I look forward to my next visit to the NH City Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    huge, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no view from room made it feel a little claustrophobic and the bland decor didn't help. a picture or two on the wall may have made it feel more homely. city tax not included in price and we were also asked to leave a €50 deposit for mini bar which I didn't see mentioned in the listing.

    huge, comfortable bed. good size room. great location. there's a 24hour vending machine in the lobby with all sorts of drinks and snacks which we didn't see untill we were leaving...would have been very handy and not overpriced(Amsterdam wise)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    The location was central to everything we required, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small, however suited our travel requirements, if nothing else rooms could be bigger

    The location was central to everything we required, good local restaurants and Bars. The staff were very accommodating to make our stay as comfortable as possible by providing a heater for our room and also fixing a drainage problem we had in the shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small.

    Excellent hotel in a good location. Away from the red light district and close to the the restaurents and all the tourist attractions. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Friendly, professional staff, good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lounge is bare, on the other hand they might not need it due to the location, but when we stayed at Hoxton or W Hotel , they are in same area and they have great lounges... Rooms, value for money..maybe for just a one night stay, but really really small.

    The staff really is proffesional, fast and friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Most of the rooms are quite small and look different than on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the rooms are quite small and look different than on the website. In some rooms the bed is squashed against a wall and a window. I felt it was quite claustrophobic (not worth paying 300€ per night for). However the staff was very flexible and moved me to a XL room (on the ground floor) for a small fee. The breakfast was plenty and delicious with good coffee!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    This is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel in the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel in the past 8 months. In the past I have really enjoyed my time there. On this particular stay I was bitten throughout the night by what I believed to be bed bugs. I literally did not sleep the entire night and at 6am went down to management to complain and request another room. Even though my request was met, my complaint was practically brushed aside as if I was making this up which was extremely frustrating and disappointing. Especially as I am a frequent traveller and spend a lot of time at various hotels. In 15 years of consistent travelling, across many cities, this is only the second time I have encountered bed bugs (thankfully) and was just disappointed in the way it was handled. A call from the manager to apologise, or a simple gesture of apology would have gone a long way. Aside for this, the hotel is brilliantly located a stone throw from the nine streets and the staff are generally very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    The location was very nice in the middle of Amsterdam that...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with Extra bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was hot the air conditioning not working properly but they said it is working properly.....

    The location was very nice in the middle of Amsterdam that you can go any where by walking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location within short walking distance from all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with Extra bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning weak in hot days which makes the room a bit hot especially at nights ...

    Excellent location within short walking distance from all attractions . Nice bars and restaurants just next to the hotel. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Superb location, nice check-in staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small, poor sound-proofing , breakfast is a little poor and staff of breakfast area was frankly rude - I’ve made a mistake at self-serviced coffee machine, which was in Dutch, and there was no cancellation button - and she really attacked me, with abrupt comments like - if you don’t know, then don’t do it . Heard exactly the same lecture from the same person to another guest who did something wrong with the bread. To be fair though, with exception of breakfast area personnel the rest of staff and generally Dutch service at every place we went was superb.

    Superb location, nice check-in staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, perfect location and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are a little bit small. Better pay some extra and get a bigger room.

    The hotel is in a perfect location! Close to everything but in a quiet and beautiful local neighborhood. Room was perfectly clean and the best thing is the kindness of the staff in the front desk. If you are staying there use their recommendations they will give you great tips! Lots of thanks especially to Fernanda, Raquel and Edwin you all have been very very helpful !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    It was amazing in a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room air condition is so bad and I complained many times to the reception. They didn’t tell the truth and they know that it doesn’t work from the very beginning. Anyway, they didn’t solve the problem. This was the only negative issue.

    The location is more than perfect and the . Everything was perfect.staff is professional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect, the room was big and comfy compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is very very high but the rates are high in central Amsterdam for all hotels.

    The location is perfect, the room was big and comfy compared to other hotels in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Amsterdam a View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely small and at best only accommodate two people with very little space; which really can’t be helped considering the layout. The hotel is clean and modern. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers; just make sure you book accordingly if you have a large group or family.

    The hotel staff were stellar. One staff member in particular. Ligaina. She is a tremendous asset to the day to day operations. She helped us upgrade one of our rooms with efficiency and kindness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Cool comfort in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed hotels at the last minute because our original hotel didn't have air conditioning (the high that day was 96 degrees), so we paid quite a bit for the room. However, the air conditioning was well worth it!

    We visited Amsterdam during a freak heat wave, and the air conditioning worked perfectly! The beds were very comfortable, and we got a great night's sleep. The room was spacious and clean, and the front desk staff was very helpful and courteous and provided a map of the city which helped us decide where to wander. We got to the hotel before our room was ready and were able to store our luggage without an issue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Nice vacation in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extreemly great place to stay when you are in Amsterdam. Very close to all museums and galleries. Nightlife - best! Truly one of the best locations to stay at. Very nice personell, and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs at the front of the hotel were difficult with large suitcases. Very high windows in the room so couldn't look out

    Nice, clean and decent sized rooms. Breakfast was very good! Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking: 50 € each day. Improve security in the restaurant: during the breakfast someone stole a bag to a guest (not to us, fortunately). I don't expect this in a such expensive hotel.

    Very good breakfast. Room very comfortable. Terrific location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    great location but very disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial entrance looked shabby carpet and stairs dirty. I upgraded as realised how small the rooms were. The room was still small. The air conditioning did not work and although reported no action was taken. The receptionist reduced the bill but this wasn't the point.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Very bad price value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures on Booking showing a total different room. The standard room is so small for this money that it is not worth it. Maybe this is the same situation in Amsterdam everywhere but they mention a 20m2 room which is absolutely not true. When we realize it they can not offer upgrade even for extra money. For 3 nights we paid 800 EUR. Not worth it. I have attached a picture about the standard room. You can decide your own! :-) Also when we have asked in advance a channel view room they replied that it depends on availability but in the hotel they said that there is no standard room which looks to the channel. Our room has a small window into the backyard. Even on the morning we must turn on the light. It was really a bad room for this money and they did not helped to change it to an other one. So never again to this hotel!

    The location is perfect. You can walk every interesting place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Would definity stay here again if in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No handles on cups when getting coffee in the morning. This made it very hot to handle. Would have liked wash cloths in the bathroom Bedding was too warm for us as we use blankets.

    Location was great as well as the desk staff. The hotel was quiet come evening from traffic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is above expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard room is too small, there is no place for 2 suitcases. The AC is above the bed which is very disturbing.

    Breakfast is above expectations. Fresh orange juice, yoghurt, eggs, cakes etc. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is nearly perfect because local attractions are just in few minutes of walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Had we had a room with a view over the canal or the main street it would have made our stay great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room window was of other hotel bedrooms which was very disappointing. The wardrobe door opened against the desk so wouldn’t open fully which also made it difficult to use the full length mirror on the inside of the door. Room was a little bland with no pictures on the walls

    Location was fantastic & staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and shower was great. All in all good value for money for a capital city hotel in such a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel location on Spuistraat is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a twin bed configuration, as per the booking room icon/description. At the hotel, staff said that would be an extra upgrade. In the end seemed like the same room, but for an extra cost...

    Hotel location on Spuistraat is excellent. Close to the center, but a quiet little area of beautiful Amsterdam. Facilities were nice enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, nice location... but small rooms requiring adjustment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were very small.. not what I expected. When we requested for a change, the hotel only changed one room, citing that other rooms were not available!

    The hotel reception area and the location was nice. Lots of good restaurants around at walkable distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent. Lots of really good cafes , restaurants, pubs on same street, also clothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had small children but our 2 rooms were not connected. I asked for it in advance but they didn’t organize it as such with other bookings. One of our rooms was connected to someone else instead. Customer service at front desk slow and unapologetic. Breakfast too expensive for quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, clean, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel offers double beds, but you could end up with twin beds or a double (see the small print). This seems an extremely disorganised way to run a hotel !!

    Convenient location, clean, modern hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel don't expect a concierge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff is very kind however if you need something a little out of the ordinary like getting tikets to a meusim they have a really hard time. I was told the Van Gohg museum was sold out, however I was able to get tickets for the next day at 9:15 am.

    The location is wonderful, I recommend moving around in the trolleys.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Not a place to recommend at Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly expensive stay at Amsterdam. More than 10 mins gravel road walking distance from the Central Station. The room is very small, saying 15 sqm, just for 2 adults and our 2 luggage. The room is canal view but very noisy as tourist boating are always surfing around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Totally satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and stair access is not easy with luggage.

    Location, breakfast, views and staff assistance were all excellent and made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Very Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not helpful, the Hotel was very busi, maybe that's why. Corner rooms are horrible to stay in, shower glass door too huge to open, you have to keep the bathroom door open to be able to get into the shower. Forgot my eyeglasses in the room, they didn't help me look fir it.

    The location was amazing, the breakfast was very good. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a good value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was excellent and very helpful . The location was close to the tram, restaurants and central city. The bed was comfortable and the room very quiet. Breakfast was great; they offered a variety to accomodate most.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need to serve yourself when it comes to bringing up your luggage, or requesting a wine opener and so on.

    Ok, so we stopped here for four days, checking in was straight forward, location was more than perfect, room size we got was very accommodating, the bathroom was great as well. We had breakfast package, and it was very generous, high quality, and adequate. One note: the bath need to have anti-slip, as it gets very slippery and the bathroom door keeps closing shut, so to avoid any mishaps.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location. Tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small tiny rooms with almost no space to move around. The full body mirror was on the inside of the closet door, but the door couldn't be fully open because of the table. So we couldn't use it. The room was very far from the elevators

    Tye location was very good. Close enough to main attractions but not right in the middle. Good restaurants and coffee shops next to rhe hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Over-priced for the small rooms and mediocre service - but a great location on the canal
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Over-priced for the small rooms and mediocre service We booked a room with a view and two single beds. When we got there, they said the rooms with views only came with double beds and so we couldn't have what we booked / paid extra for. The maid failed to come on one day which isn't what you expect for the money either Service at breakfast was extremely slow

    brilliant location on the canal, only a 4 minute walk from the floating flower market and next to lots of good restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room for 2 was really really small. We were definitely prepared for small rooms in Europe but this was tiny. Luckily the rest of the family was in the room for 3 that was large and had a nice view that was conveniently booked right next door.

    Great location. Friendly staff especially Bryn who worked in the restaurant and the bar and handled room service and was friendly and engaging with our family of 5 even when he had a lot going on. The triple room was amazing for 3 of us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and accomodation, nice and clean hotel,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and accomodation, nice and clean hotel, staff was kind and helpful. Buffet breakfast is great and very delicious, breakfast hosts cheerful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfest and perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    450euro per room with the breakfest and citi tax. It should cost not more than 100Euro. Cheap furniture, awful view, slow elevators - It should be 2 stars hotel.

    Good breakfest and perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    It was a great week. The location of hotel and the cleanliness and safety was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was great except for our view from our room. We could have upgraded for extra $$ but decided not to.

    The staff was excellent. The lobby was always clean with fresh water for the guests. Nice to come back to that after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms!! For the price they charge it’s ridiculous and no breakfast included. Despite pre paying for the hotel they still assigned us a room that we had to vacate before noon the next day and get the new room only at 3!! Very poor logistics and hospitality at NH

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is great, close to the main attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed during some warm days , and the AC in our room didn't work properly, and the room was really warm during nights. The morning after the first time it happened, we spoke with a guy at the from desk, to see if it was possible To change our room. They said they were fully booked, but we saw people checking in and out all the time. They provided us with a small fun and a note recognizing that the AC didn't work. The fun was really small and it didn't help. We paid extra for a large room with a view, and besides this incident with the AC, the room hasn't a view at all. It was in the ground floor , facing the cannal but the window was small and the room was kind of dark.

    The location is great, close to the main attractions and also in from of one of the cannals. The hotel is very nice, it is modern, and we booked one of the spacious rooms and the size was good for two. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness of the place specially bathroom, place was a bit dusty and water boiler can't be used because of the dirts inside. Compared to value of money it is really pricy small room.

    Location. It is really perfect and good for families. just 5 min walking to the Dam and less than a 1min to a tram station that will take you almost every where. Few stops to the central station. Guest relation staff were really helpful and friendly. Nearby supermarket and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price a bit high for a small room

    The staff was really helpful and nice. Fernanda was lovely. The room was clean and the location was perfect and the breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    The bathroom wasn' t cleaned properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn' t cleaned properly. We had to ask for cleaning and changing the towels and emptying the wastebin. The bedlinnen smelled very unpleasantly. The breakfast was too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that 2 members of staff counted our money, gave us 20 Euro back overpayment, then the next day decided to tell us we was over 100 Euro short ! We missed a booked excursion because of there original mistake ! The whole experience was ruined by the staff !

    Location was brilliant ! Hotel itself was fab !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The room and bathroom were very nice and clean.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mirror was missing, only the bathroom had one. There were 2 separate beds instead of one big bed. The old towels were taken but they did not put new ones.

    The room and bathroom were very nice and clean. Quiet and great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Completely forgot to clean my room, promised it would be...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely forgot to clean my room, promised it would be done and just dumped some clean towels on the desk, leaving the old ones and not even making an attempt to make the bed or clean the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was good and location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have better water pressure. At checkin we were told that room with double bed was too small so ended up with room with two single beds put together - hotel could manage rooms better to avoid that.

    Room was good and location is excellent. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is good and also the stuff is hospital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the fee for one night is too high considering how poor the size, decoration and ergonomic state of the room provided to me. Also the room service menu is very very poor. I would expect way more than that when I pay around 320€ per a night.

    The location is good and also the stuff is hospital.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointment. Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a super dark room with a small window with no view. I was told this is their standard room, not like what they display on booking.com nor their website . We arrived around 16.00, 1 hour later than their check-in time of 15.00 and were told our room was not ready. Our room was not cleaned the first day and we heard from other friends staying in a different room they had the similar problem. The room was super dusty and not properly cleaned. Staff was not very helpful when I raised the problem with them, just listened and apologized. The hotel was a big disappointment and definitely not worth the money I paid.

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is great,beds are very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costumer service at reception very bad,small room,very overpriced did not Mach 4 star facilities.Different charge of what booking.com shows of the time of booking.

    Location is great,beds are very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Central position, staff welcoming, room lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff warm welcome. Room spacious. Bed very comfy. Only one point the room was on ground level overlooking street. Quite noisy early morning. But that was only fault.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Would recommending the hotel to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was gloomy with not a good outlook - prospective customers should perhaps request a better outlook. Also, they should make clear the tax situation as we had to pay an additional amount on top,of our stated bill. Also, perhaps a little bit on the pricey side for breakfasts etc.

    The location was excellent within 5 minutes walk to Dam Square. The staff were very helpful and well presented. The cleanliness was of a high standard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    This is an outstanding property with well managed with very cordial and trained staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an Excellent and Conveninet location within Amsterdam. The breakfast offering was outstanding. The front desk and restaurant service staff were outstanding without exception.. The room was a little small but very comfortable. If driving, the availability of underground private parking was a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel in Amsterdam city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No sleepers in the room

    Location is excellent, the most important city highlights are very close. Room is clean. Breakfast is very good. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room XL with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny and very overpriced for what you were getting. €400 a night for a superior room. The hotel had a policy where you were asked to pay upfront upon check in for the entire stay. Whilst this would be expected when staying at a hostel, this should not be the case for a 4 Star hotel. The management were very rude when we challenged this and even cancelled our door keys in order to ensure that we had to return to the front desk, even though we had been explicit that we would pay on check out like all other hotels.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable if it wasnt for the luggage issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue which i would not recommend the hotel for is the fact that there is no bell boy meaning we had to carry our bags up and down the entrance stairs; not having a ramp to ease the transfer of luggage into/out of the hotel made it worse with all the luggage we had. But if you are a light traveler I would highly recommend this hotel. I will make sure to ask about this next time i decide on booking if it has not been resolved i will not stay.

    The location, staff and breakfast is amazing. Supply of toilet amenities was generous; espresso machine was a plus. The fact it had a 3 and 4 bed room was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BUT the change was with extra charge 20€/day as some “upgrade” and I didn’t see any diference just the type of the bed and the room seemed even smaller to me! There was no nightstand at my side of bed. Small Rooms are probably usual around the old town ... :)

    Location is perfect! Breakfast was nice and satisfying. Hotel staff was kind and very helpful when we asked for change of our room because of bed (twin to double) in fully booked hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location in a great fun city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rate I got on booking.com was excellent but it is not always available, but you can never get that sort of rate via directly the hotel. So even though this is one of my favorite hotels I cannot guarantee that i can stay there.

    Friendly staff who know their city, nice lobby area that is chill and unpretentious. This is one of my favorite hotels in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Lock up your things
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First, I arrived to two single beds instead of a double, with no other rooms available. They moved me the next day, but someone came into the new room and took my belongings after they were moved. I confirmed during the day that everything has been moved okay, but when I arrived back late and tired after a business dinner, my things had vanished. I was up until about 3am with the staff running back and forth trying to find my things to no avail. They gave me a toothbrush, and later a robe to sleep in, but i had to wear my contact lenses and full face of makeup. I barely slept, and had to be up and presentable for more meetings the next day. I called reception again in the morning and they still couldn't find it. I was preparing to go out to purchase makeup and a something to wear to the next meeting, when they knocked on my door with my things, stating they'd been found in lost property. The woman apologised briefly, but nothing more was said or explained at any point. My things were in a plastic bag with a note saying 'found in room 158' which was my current room. The room had already been cleaned when i moved in earlier in the day, so there was no reason for anyone else to enter and check it. I can't believe that someone would come into my room and take my belongings while i was out, and no one has even explained to me how this happened. I spent the night incredibly distressed, and am so disappointed that it was simply dismissed by staff as not being a huge inconvenience. I am in Amsterdam again next week and have booked somewhere new to stay.

    I've stayed here several times for business as it's basic but quiet, clean and sufficient for what we need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent near the centre of the city, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was very small but They changed it to a larger room. The house keeping service is bad

    The location is excellent near the centre of the city, clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was great, a short wall rom dam square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money.

    The location was great, a short wall rom dam square and central areas, just across the canal was a local shops area. Several good food spots in the area. Tram stops were also close and convenient for going to areas a bit further like the museum quarter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely returb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither my friend or I are very tall ladies and the magnifying mirror in the bathroom was so high up it was totally useless to us should we have wanted to use it. Also coat hooks and towel hooks, ok if you are 6 foot tall not 5 foot . We reported a faulty light in our room which they were unable to fix but we were given free drinks in compensation .

    Good selection of gluten free food at breakfast. Great location and friendly helpful staff. Quiet air conditioning in our room .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant if a little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would usually leave the room around 9am and not come back until 4pm. On several occasions my room still had not been serviced when I returned. The showers and tubs need either some type of non-stick strips placed in them or a shower mat needs to be provided. Both of them were very slippery when wet and I had to be very cautious about not slipping while using them.

    Nice comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet is great. Great location but sometimes the street noise at night is an issue. It would be nice to have a clock with a white noise feature to drown out the noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very overpriced. It is stated that room is 15 sq m, but it is twice as small. I paid EUR 342/night for "living in a wardrobe" (and without breakfast). No complimentary water in the room. Only instant coffee. Poor complimentary wifi. Average breakfast.

    Location is the only advantage, I suppose. The hotel is close to a lot of tourist attractions. Plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants around. But I visit Amsterdam at least twice a year so I know this advantage is not enough to be that pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable! Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!!

    We visited Amsterdam for the second time in April and stayed at the NH Central for 3 nights. The hotel is in an excellent location close to bars, restaurants shops and is approximately a 20 minute walk from Central station. We had a standard double room which was a reasonable size. There was a double bed, safe, tea making facilities and a fridge. The room was kept immaculate at all times and we'll stocked with tea, coffee and toiletries. What impressed us most was the exceptional kind and helpful staff who were always willing to help and had excellent communication skills they are a credit to the hotel. We will certainly book this hotel for our next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is overpriced in relation to what they offer (very small rooms, only shower no bath, no view from the hotelroom,... paid >700 euro's for two nights (incl. breakfast) and got the feeling of staying in a hostel.

    the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent experience for 4 nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stair at the entry, really make me stress with a big luggage and no body to help and also lift is very slow motion, so if you are in hurry you will be in trouble.

    The property is really in the centre of Amsterdam, just 5 to 10 minutes walk to Dam square, restaurant and bar surrounding, so if you don’t like to have a food in the hotel, just go outside, plenty available next to the hotel it self, near by tram stations, flower market just walk away, event rijk museum, you can reach by walk and the staff really helpfull, reception and specially Nathalie who as guest relation, she is ready to answer what ever you ask.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in a good location, thoroughly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room slightly small and odd shape but not a problem and bathroom very good

    Staff all very pleasant and helpful, breakfast very good selection and high quality (bacon really good) Great location easy walk to everywhere and only 15 min walk from Central Station. Good restaurants close by for dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH City Centre Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: