Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Amsterdam Centre 4 stars

Stadhouderskade 7, Oud-West, 1054 ES Amsterdam, Netherlands

#249 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2321 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    I was charged x2 the toilet was not clean and had skid marks in it on arrival. One day when we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged x2 the toilet was not clean and had skid marks in it on arrival. One day when we got home our room door had been left OPEN !!! By the cleaning staff.

    Shoe cleaners at the doors were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning difficult to cool down but hotel staff kindly moved us to another room.

    Location good. Close to museum area and Leidseplein restaurants. Also close to Information centre and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    overall fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the rooms are big, the property needs a refurbishment. Furniture is chipped, the bathroom quite basic.

    good location. central to all activities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and attentive, hotel is in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and attentive, hotel is in a good location 2 minutes walk from Leidsplein were there plenty of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and public transport links to the rest of the city. Room was very clean and well presented. Gym was quite basic but the Gym instructor was very pleasant and welcoming. Overall the hotel is great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Poor service good location stay in Marriott next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor service - kept running out of food a breakfast no butter no croissant s Basic breakfast food Put us in double rooms when asked for twins Size of rooms were shoeboxes for price Lifts not working and ones that were wouldn’t stop at lev 5 Most disappointing hotel we’ve stayed at and we use booking .com weekly

    good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    the bedroom we stayed in was in need of updating.very polite staff.well run kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the unforeseen 50 euro retention fee to cover for damages e.t. c we should have known of before hand.every one we witnessed at check in had the same misunderstanding.check in was very very slow

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, friendly well located stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 24 euros was a bit expensive and that was eating downstairs . There was a good selection of food and drinks though.

    Comfy beds. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok, won’t be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 hour check in, long long long lines at reception, staff were friendly and helpful but took a long time to answer queries. Room wasn’t cleaned regularly and when it was it was just the bed made. Breakfast was expensive but breakfast as room service even more so! €28 for one sauasage, asked for scrambled eggs but received fried eggs which were undercooked, no butter or jam with the toast and just disappointing all round.

    Beds were extremely comfy and the location of the hotel is second to none.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Close to many tourist attractions, just 15 minutes on a tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small park across the street had some shady characters in it at night, so I needed to avoid the park on the way home.

    Close to many tourist attractions, just 15 minutes on a tram from central station, close to restaurants and bars, clean and comfortable, close to Vondelpark and there was many stores for shopping just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location - nice room and friendly restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Waiting times at reception were a disaster. We stayed for 3 days and learnt to allow 15 minutes for any routine question. Staff left their desks for breaks even when there were long lines. Other hotels deal with this better.

    Great location - nice room and friendly restaurant staff. Would stay again but mainly for location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. I appreciate that the location was really more important to us than a luxurious room, but the hotel was not cheap so we did expect a better sized room; that said, the bed was very comfortable.

    The location was brilliant for visiting the Rijksmuseum and getting canal boats. The breakfast was excellent - so much to choose from and great quality; it even included champagne! There was a comfortable lounge area at reception.The receptionists were very helpful in organising taxis when we needed them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast, central location close to the canals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing whatsoever to the hallway! Late into the night you can very clearly hear people talking there as they pass, when they close their door it sounds like a loud bang. Something clearly should be done to the acoustic there! Toilet was leaking on to the floor, but this was apparently fixed after cleaners visit. For 250e a night, I would simply expect a bit more.

    Good breakfast, central location close to the canals

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Awesome!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with my sink being clogged when i first checked in but it was very quickly solved. Room was a little date and windows were a little dusty on the outside but interior is still clean.

    Awesome bed, perfect view over the lively streets and great coffee in the morning! Staff were amazing, accommodating, friendly and very helpful. Early check in was a nice touch since my flight arrived in the morning. My room was always spick and span and well stocked each day. Great location. Great price. Loved it. :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, also 2 staff I got to be thankful for for helping...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced, it took for ever to get what was asked for and sometimes it never came lol.

    Location, also 2 staff I got to be thankful for for helping us Rebeca and Jaap they made my un expected stay very pleasant. Thanks for the smiles and always eager to help 👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Everything the rooms are tiny and dirty the staff are rude. And its definatley way over priced .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing nice about the hotel smells off dogs . Hairs on the bed. thick with dust in rooms not exceptable wheb you pay £171 for one night. The mini bar is a joke couple choclate bars ans sweets left on the side that no mini bar to me.

    I didnt like anything about this hotel. Hidden deposit cost tourist tax. And they have taken payment twice from my account. Its way over priced as it is .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Long weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    I arrived for a weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. On the day staff had delivered a birthday card under my room door with a personalised message. Was very thoughtful and a lovely touch. I was very pleased. Location is close to trams to visit all areas of the city. Around the corner form Vondelpark and Iamsterdam sign is located 5 - 10 min walk tops. Balcony was an added bonus. Would return again.!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Really great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi network is so slow and disconnects from time to time.

    Really nice hotel! the best value for money. The staff were so pleasant, and room exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay thank you to everyone at the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I disliked about the hotel or the holiday! Brilliant place.

    Great location- trams were frequent also. Good value for money Very clean Friendly and helpful staff- quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Very frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was supposed to be a quick stay, less than 24 hours, but unfortunately we did have several issues for checking in at the Hotel. We did arrive earlier, around noon and was requested to wait until 03 pm for checking in, the feedback was that Hotel was having a system issue, it was not related to availability of rooms, but a system issue. However, we did come back at 03 pm and had to wait another two hours for checking in, other than waiting hours the room that we initially requested was not available and they had to rearrange it. Even with all issues we did not have any contact with Hotel management team, instead, we only spoke to trainees that did their best for supporting us, but it was clear that they did not receive any coaching from management at all. In the end we did not receive any formal apologies, not a single word from the Hotel management over all those issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Shocking was not what we was hoping for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was a nightmare when we finally got there said would upgrade my room for free i thought lovely but i got put in the smallest one went back down to say that we have got the wrong room and he must have not even looked at what we had paid for because it was the largest room with a view and patio 29m2 he said would sort it out and puts us in another room on the wrong side of the building with no patio so we have to go tell them they have it wrong again then after we complained again get put in another room that we just settled for because it had the patio but was a tiny room with no extras was not what i paid for went down for the last time to say I’m not getting what i paid for they said they have none of the rooms available that we reserved and if something comes up they can change us too the room but that never happened they said booking.com is not the best for booking it on and was blaming them managed to get some money back in the end because stayed in the wrong room the whole time worked out as a high price for a out of date room curtains were hanging off the shower was leaking and got my mates clothes wet on his 21st birthday and there was a fu***ng sofa on the patio that looks like it was dumped there was lovely too look at lol they diddnt do anything to help us or try to sort their mistakes out bad service forget everything u asked them to bring you on room service and in person. Just stay away if you can till they update the hotel give it a clean and teach their staff. Wont be visiting this nh hotel again and put me off others if the services is all the same.

    Food is ok and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was in a perfect location and was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have towels. It took time to get them and never got what we needed without asking for them. The thermostat was also broken. The room was freezing.

    It was wheelchair accessible, which most hotels in Amsterdam are not. The hotel is modern and the staff is nice. Included breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, too expensive for the value. Disappointed that hotel was so over priced and the size of rooms that appears in images does not match the reality.

    Hotel is in a wonderful location, renovated, nice rooms and hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    We liked the property’s cleanliness down stairs, rooms could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, reception staff are rude. We paid a 50euro deposit and didn’t get offered this back when we checked out... yet didn’t use anything from the mini fridges

    We liked the property’s cleanliness down stairs, rooms could do with a little more cleaning, upgrade?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced, deplorable service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Service was well below standards. The hotel was overbooked, so our colleagues had to sleep in double beds for the first night instead of twins, and then had to change rooms several times during their stay. Then the hotel tried to charge one of our colleagues for the rooms, although it was already payed by our company. In the confusion some people were locked out of their rooms. For a hotel that charges these rates, the organisation is deplorable. Apparently there are more than enough tourists in Amsterdam, so providing service is not needed to retain customers. Next time we have colleagues over from abroad, we'll not go for an NH hotel.

    Centrally located

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    We loved the city the weather it was a great trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overpriced for services it offers raging from room quality cleanlinless and other services

    Location is perfect it is the best location in amesterdam close to everything restaurants casino fashion district museum all walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was poor there was an error by the check out staff who cancelled our euro card which we had loaded specifically to avoid additional costs. It couldn’t be resolved so we ended up paying with a Stirling card and are now waiting for a refund on euro card which price of room plus extras deposit taken. Whilst the staff member did try to resolve the issue we felt it was our problem for us to sort when home.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, you can walk to the city centre, yet you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi wasn't working properly in our room, did not manage to load a single page.

    Great location, you can walk to the city centre, yet you are far from all the stag parties and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for what you got or shall we say never got. Wouldn’t go back breakfast was so expensive also the coffee facilities in bedroom were appalling .

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Adequate and great location- this was an overnight layover stay for us between very long flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awful. We waited in a line to check in when our flight landed and we got in at 11:30. Then we waited in a line to get our key st 3:30 and then we had to wait an additional 15 minutes to reclaim our luggage - if the hotel is too busy they should have adequate staffing. Shower is very very difficult to get in to. They automatically charge an extra 50 Euro when you check in - not just a credit card hold. We were told it might take over a week to have the money returned.

    Great location. Staff member at check out was extremely helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Location makes this good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was spider webs in the corners under the drapes and dirty areas in the corners of the shower. Check in was quite slow. Bath tub was tall and difficult to get into, especially if you are short.

    Location was excellent for walking tours of museums, canal tours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing. Very old hotel with old AC that makes sounds all the time. Housekeeping is a catastrophe they don’t clean properly even for new guests checking in the room was very dirty. Never again to go to NH chain. What a Shame

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    The location was good and close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this amount of money, wasn't worth it at all, the photos in booking.com was completely different than what we got when we enter the rooms

    The location was good and close to the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a fab hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I couldn't fault the hotel.

    Lovely hotel in a great location. We visited on our Honeymoon and the staff were lovely and gave us a bottle of Bubbly in our room and a drink in the bar which was a lovely unexpected surprise. Breakfast was excellent and well stocked. Location is fantastic and is close to the tram stop. When we return to Amsterdam will definitely stay here and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    I would book my room next time from this hotel but i think i will upgrade to something bigger since
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels seems old and heavily used. The toilet is little bit small, this is understandable in Europe since most of the rooms size is below 20sqm.

    I booked a stander twin bed room, its really good and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very stern and not interested in helping guests achieve their goals. I had to wait on a line for many minutes for my check out , along with people making check in, which made me miss my flight. They should be more organized because their jobs depend on the way they treat clients.

    Mr.Michiel, responsible for serving breakfast, is a kind nice competent man. His existence made my staying at the hotel much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Location with price is reasonable and that's all.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk I meet is impatient maybe my English is not as well though but I stay for the other hotel in a same week but didn't feel that. Maybe just maybe personal problem.

    Location is not bad for the ppl who love events and museums. The room is big enough for two 30" luggages.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Won't stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is way way way overpriced. Go across the street to American Cafe. Three days without maid service. Rooms are tiny. Overpriced room for the size, cleanliness and comfort. Noisy street.

    Friendly staff. Onsite bar nice. Location close to museums, shopping, parks and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced, for the price we paid I would expect my bed sheet to be changed daily. This wasn’t the case. Drug dealer outside the Hotel, every evening we left the hotel we were asked if we wanted to buy drugs.

    staff lovely and very helpful. Birthday card send to my partner on his birthday and a drinks voucher provided. Good gesture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Hotel added to our stay in the wonderful city of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Delay in checking in. Had to wait pass 3:00 P.M. to check-in. Room not ready. Irritating to sit and wait for an hour.

    Very friendly and responsive staff, a great selection of foods at the breakfast buffet and the central location for riding the trams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.5
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the room. Felt like sleeping in a 2 star hotel. The floor/carpet is not comfortable and looks old. The staff was not helpful/friendly at all. I forgot my charger and asked if I could borrow one from the reception. They did not have one. Subsequently, I asked where I could buy one. Answer: at Schiphol Airport, which is 40 minutes by car from the hotel ;-). Note, it was 9 PM so the regular shops were closed, but the answer was not helpful at all.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    One of the members of the staff was really rude and helpless...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the members of the staff was really rude and helpless to attend us for the checking. However, rest of the staff was friendly and professional.

    One of the members of the staff was really rude and helpless to attend us for the checking. However, rest of the staff was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    bad experience, very bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff mainly and the service.

    The Staff was horrible. Especially the manager name Rebbeca. service was bad, we asked a room with a connected door and even though we paid for upgrade which was not available in a room with a connected door, they did not refund us for the difference and when we asked for a late check out, they forced us to pay for an EXTRA NIGHT, and they wouldn't even agree to charge us in a low price that we found on Booking.com. Really bad hotel, bad service, never coming back here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Stay away, poor value despite being close to city. Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bath lights, rusty pipes, cracked ceiling paint, worn out spotted wood floors, air cond never cooled below 22.9 C window ledge filthy w cigarettes. 7th Floor smelt horribly of bug spray. Some very Dirty towels with grease spots.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Good stay at this central city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Good quality hotel close to all amenities with friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast and bar food at night. Price for central hotel was good and cheaper than other European cities we have been.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Have stayed here before and was better before. Saving grace is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in room, just in bathroom. Dropped a pill under bed the 1st day and never cleaned over the 3 night stay. No zoom mirror in bathroom. Heating coils had yellow dirt which was never cleaned. No wake-up call on last morning. Tired looking furniture. WIFI very weak.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    the location of the hotel is very good, also the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the house keeping is the worst i have ever seen... they have no clue how to make up your room... it was a real mess.

    the location of the hotel is very good, also the front office staff are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel response to problem made it great. Upgrafe to superior room, free breakfast and 15% discount
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is way over-priced Standard rooms are too small for 2 people and for 300 Euros per night Rooms need maintenance in bathrooms and flooring

    Location and staff response

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is being refurbished which is good news for them but not so good for the guests. The gym facilities were a laugh, the staff at reception (except for a select few) ought to be back in training for hospitality, and their finance department ought to stop charging indiscriminately without authorisation. This was after I told them specifically they should not, and they agreed not to charge me. The room was big and new but we had no handle to turn the deadbolt installed in the door. The toilet door’s handle and lock installation also had screws coming off which meant every time we turned the handle we had to be careful. Water pressure in the shower was a joke. There was no telephone installed which meant whenever we needed to call reception, we had to run upstairs. When I initially told them there was no telephone, they imperiously told me of course there was, and then handed me a telephone set to plug it in. But there was no phone line even set up in the room in the first place. And one of the reception staff even asked me to use my mobile line to call the reception if required. This was NOT something I wanted to be dealing with after a long haul flight.

    Excellent location. Staff is a hit or miss. We adored Sarah at Reception and Cecile in Housekeeping. Our room is one of the newest and furnishings were great. Except it was in the basement. Size of room was fabulous though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location, friendlyish staff, comunal areas looked nice but the rooms very tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance is obviously really an issue at this hotel, we stayed for 3 nights and had 4 rooms during that time. Air conditioning is a real problem, 2 of the rooms had a picture placed over the hole in the wall where the air conditioning controller would have been (rather than fix it). One had the hairdryer hanging off the wall with a cracked casing, and the air con controller was broken and couldn't be altered. The room we ended up in had air con but it didn't actually blow out cold air.... By this point we had given up complaining and preferred to fry at night instead.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature control was a little off. But, it was one of the hottest days of the year so we understood.

    Prime location. Perfect for couples who want a mix of the city and the relaxing Vondelpark. Staff was very helpful with directions & acitivies, i.e. bike rentals and peddle boating!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Birthday Trip, great location but problem with cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room looked like it hadn't been cleaned thoroughly, i booked for my boyfriends birthday and was embarrassed when he found someone else's half eaten packet of sweets at the side of the sofa on the day that we checked in, there was a constant clicking noise in the room (433) that went on all night and we didn't call reception because we didn't want the hassle of swapping rooms seeing as it was only a short stay, just wish that everything was a bit tidier like the curtain hanging off in the corner and a thorough clean and then the stay would have been perfect as the rest of the hotel looked lovely and clean and the staff were all extremely friendly.

    the location of the hotel was great, close to vondelpark and the Heineken experience which i would definitely recommend, walking distance from everything, including bars and restaurants and even if you don't want to walk the tram stop is close by, staff were very friendly and said happy birthday to my boyfriend as i had emailed to say that i had booked for a special occasion. The room was very spacious and the bed was also huge!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location but not worth the price- not the bed rooms of a 4star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby and bar were shining but once you went upstairs to the bedroom it wasn't nice! Couldn't open the window properly and when it did open there was cobwebs and dust.

    The location is perfect, tram and canal stop outside the door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, away from hustle and bustle of city but near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel have charged me twice for my stay. This obviously has had an impact on my family finances.

    Good location, away from hustle and bustle of city but near other points of interest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Throughly enjoyable!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a balcony would have made this perfect , haven’t anything bad to say about our stay.

    Brilliant location , the staff here were lovely I’d had a nasty fall outside the airport and they very quickly produced a bag of ice. Beautiful city view and comfortable room .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Wall paper was coming off the walls, seems that the walls...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wall paper was coming off the walls, seems that the walls are humid. Air-condition not adjustable, safe did not work, electrical socket detached from the wall. Terrible room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Good for business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricing.

    Easy to reach from central train station - 15 minutes ride by tram. Tram stop was 1 minute from hotel. There are a lot of bars and restaurants within 5 minute walking distance. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Location fab, comfort of bed very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and uncomfortable, woke with back & neck ache. Pillows would surround your head when you laid into them like sand bags lol. Staff would try to enter room each morning around 8.30-9.30 to presumably clean room, would open door and walk in before they understood we were sleeping and didn’t want them there (do not disturb sign up or not). City tax taken out of deposit for stay & we weren’t informed of this when leaving the deposit.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location staff friendly but rooms could do with some updating on furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very clean and dated furniture we were above the service entrance and very noisey. We were moved to a quieter larger room the next day but again room had same dated brown scratched furniture

    Central location. Staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Quick and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive for what it was, staff on arrival said if we booked breakfast on arrival,it would be 20 Euro if we wanted to book after check in this would be 24 euros not good after travelling should of given more time to decide

    Quick and efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    The stuff was always ready to help, though I would not say...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was always ready to help, though I would not say that the readiness was truly effective. There was constant noise at night and a leak in the room's bath. The circumstances surprising for a 4-star hotel. Otherwise the rooms are clean, the location is good and close to Rijkmusem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conflicting information displayed in hotel in comparison to the website - “free shuttle bus” which costs €6/ €10 to use the sauna when in actual fact it is €20. Also when I stored my bags, the porter didn’t even bother to help me with them, made me lift them from very high shelves.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Horrible. The trip was completely spoilt by the hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in the early hours of the morning. We were not told about the extra tax we had to pay and only found out when a letter three days later was pushed under our door. The room was disgusting. There was a live insect in the bed and what looked like droppings. I complained, the room was inspected. The member of staff said it was disgusting and in his nine years in the hotel business he had never seen this. We were offered complementary breakfast and our room changed. The new room seemed insect free but the room cleaning was very poor. Dirty cups, poor cleaning. When we checked out we were given a voucher for a free room upgrade when we next stay at NH Hotels. I don’t think there will be a next time.

    The hotel was near to my family. I could walk to their home

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed with room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third visit to Amsterdam staying in NH hotels. Disappointed with cleanliness of room and smell of sewage in corridors. Not up to the same amazing standard of your other hotels in Amsterdam! Hotel and room seemed a bit tired and dated compared to other NH hotels. We were expecting the usual superb NH experience, but were sadly disappointed this time.

    Staff friendly Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    The two gentlemen on the bar were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very slow, not attentive. The property promotes 4star to why I booked in the first place however I have stayed in better 3star hotels. When I made the booking I was under the impression that I had booked B&B. Turn's out that my £510 3night stay was just room only. Very over priced and rather disappointing. Rooms offered 3 coffee pods and 2 green mint tea bags, not really expectable when you've been out exploring all day and just want to get back and kick your shoes off and have a brew. An iron that was screwed down to the ironing board so that you couldn't run away with it, thus giving the property it's 4th star. I wouldn't recommend for the expensive for what it was reason and in fact while I was sat in the bar a friend called me to say him, his wife and 2 other couples where about to book, I told them to choose another hotel to which they did. The American hotel opposite would have been a better choice

    The two gentlemen on the bar were very friendly and attentive. The property was in a great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Toilet didn’t work in the first room we were given.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t work in the first room we were given. Upgraded (if you can call it an upgrade) to the basement floor where hotel work began at 7.30am not 9am as stated on the memo left in the room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when i booked this it was because it had a resterant on site it was closed the whole time we were there we had to go to the 1 next door

    the beds were 2 single beds joined together not good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.0
    Horrendous night sleep, room very basic and worn down, uncomfortable will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very outdated compared to the hotel, marked floors and furnature, wonky units, glass of the picture frames and pictures peeling off, dead flys and cobwebs in bathroom and main window, iron borken, shocking quailty or pillows, flat and floopy, wasnt even pillow shaped! work going off behind hotel from 8 in morn, work going off in the hotel which we was not pre warned about! Not very sound proof, could hear everything and everyone in tne corridors at all hours! Window disnt seem to fit the seal properly, massive gap so cluld builders outside and a massive cold draft from it

    Location was perfect , staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    When we arrived at our hotel it was like a building site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at our hotel it was like a building site. Panels hanging from the sealing along with wires and there was tools all around the place on our way to our elevator. Very unhappy with this. Way to expensive for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Good value hotel in an excellent position .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay bar and Italian restaurant closed for refit . Not really a problem, will be completed by 19th March. Otherwise score would have been 10

    Excellent position for easy access to the centre and sites. Hop on bus stop almost outside. In an excellent restaurant quarter!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Very smart friendly staff. Good hotel - will be better in a few weeks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No obvious bar area, however the hotel is undergoing renovation and it looked like they may be incorporating one. Would like to have had breakfast but because we hadn't booked it when booking the room it was too pricy in my opinion at €25 each.

    We got a nice big room with a big comfortable bed and a good shower. A lovely piece of cake had been left in the room as they knew it was a special birthday which was a nice touch. The staff were all smart and professional. Only a short walk to get to the start of the shops and bars/coffee shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of refurbishment work going on, lighting wires hanging down where you had to walk to the lift which is didnt think was very safe.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice center real location as you are around the corner from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. Even though we turned off heaters we had to sleep with the windows open which was far from ideal.

    Nice center real location as you are around the corner from the vondelpark and the city centre. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    I stayed In the hotel from 28.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed In the hotel from 28.2 till 5.3 in I wasent satisfied with my stay to say the least. The lobby had a bad smell due to renovation going on witch I was only informed when i checket in. From the first day The heater in my room didn't work and although the reception send someone.it still didn't work and only on the third day they gave me an electric heather for me to use. Wile the view from my room was nice the windows weren't sealed completely witch let in loud noise and wind inside my room with dosent let me sleep. Furthermore on 're last day the elevators didn't work . I use the booking site all the time and this was the first time I was disappointed with my stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is under construction, so you are staying on a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under construction, so you are staying on a construction site! Also, even though it says there is parking, you pay €68 for 1 day in the parking garage close by! The hotel does not offer a discount for the parking garage!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    2.5
    Nothing - thieves
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact sterling money was taken from my zipped purse in my zipped bag whilst in an occupied locked room .. yes the money was in a safe for the entire stay apart from the last hour whilst we went for breakfast JUST before checking out .. the fact nothing other was taken .. a staff key was used (confirmed by duty manager) the cleaner advised the room WAS entered within the hour by staff yet nothing in the room had been touched .. no reason from management given ... other than no proof of theft .. I have 4 witnesses to the money being there and 4 witnesses who where me through all movements of that hour, these people also witnessed the cleaner confirm to me someone was in the room .. no investigation was carried although I have been told there was!? Nothing because you WOULD have found the money if you had done a intense investigation.. the fact this happens just before leaving for the airport also confuses me as they know fully well we couldn’t contact the police in the 20 mins we had .. don’t bother staying and if you do take absolutely nothing of value as there is no consideration for their customers and their valuables .. absolutely disgusting! this money was fine through the entire stay to be taken within the last hour whilst eating breakfast is just astonishing. I know I should have taken the purse now but when paying £260 for 2 nights you expect better - NEVER AGAIN

    Nothing - thieves

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Amsterdam Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: