Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5 stars

Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#72 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4032 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    The room was so lovely and the staff where very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like was the breakfast was very expensive and wasn’t good value for the money that Infact we changed our mind on the breakfast and went out instead but was places to have breakfast very close.

    The room was so lovely and the staff where very helpful and kind even let us check in earlier location was amazing everything was short distances would defo come back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at property were very dishonest, we reached early and requested the property earlier as well to try and provide the room early (which they said they will try and let us know on arrival) which is fair. However once we reached they really pushed us to move to an apartment nearby, on constantly rejecting it they "GUARANTEED" to provide the room by 3 pm, whereas we stayed persistent to move to our room. After waiting for almost 8 hours and hearing from them more than 3 times when approached them at 3 pm, they said the room is still not ready and again started pushing me to the apartment saying they can't reach the housekeeping. This moment the lady at next counter checked in 2 of there guests and could successfully reach housekeeping. After 20-30 mins of rejecting the apartment again the manager came and offered to upgrade us to a junior suite in the hotel (it's good but honestly the running around the bush and the long waiting was not acceptable).

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Centrally located hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in there were a lot of hairs from other guests on the bathroom floor. We told the hotel and they tried to clean it several times. Still we found hairs laying around. We got 25% discount because of this but when you stay for only one night this gives a bad impression over all. Unfortunately...

    Centrally located in Amsterdam. Close to Red light district and Amsterdam Centraal. Easy to get to and from. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    A bit of extra cost for convenience's sake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a slightly noisy on the evening because the streets behind have shops / restaurants and lot of people moving around.

    Very convenient location, easy to come by train from airport and head forward by train after check-out. Great options for public transport since you just use the central station as base.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Location vs price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tub in expensive room Same breakfast every morning No discounts for bike rental in comparison to other companies

    Best location Nice view from the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    The concierge Daniel was excellent, kind , smiling , very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We send email that we will arrive early before the check in time well known at the hotel , when we arrive at 10:00 am and the reception told us to wait for a vacant room cleaning , wa waited long time to have the room at 12:30 pm after we talked to the reception about the if it's ready ( too long time to clean the room from 10:00 am until 12:30 pm ) , also our reservation contained an order to have a room in the upper floors and the reception gave us a room in the 1st floor .

    The concierge Daniel was excellent, kind , smiling , very well advisor for trips , well known person , respect people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel for city break, right in the middle of everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is rather dark, lights are dim except in the bathroom. Price of the room is rather high.

    Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is very near to train station ( 5 mins walk) and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Lots of hotels to choose from in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Their ability to keep track of rates and inclusions made months in advance.

    Staff was pleasant. Property overpriced and didn't honor rate confirmed months in advance that included a daily breakfast. Four-night stay for four rooms ended up costing a thousand dollars more than anticipated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Won’t be disappointed in hotel/location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect! Right by central station and Royal Palace. Also red light district steps away. The concierge (Edwin) was so helpful with recommendations and taxi services. Hotel is absolutely beautiful inside and restaurant had tasty cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Location, but it is far from being a decent 5 Star, perhaps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a quite room, they put me in Room 551, don’t ever accept that room or anything facing the canal, the road is full of drunks and loud idiots

    Location, but it is far from being a decent 5 Star, perhaps entry level

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    A good choice for a few days in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction/maintenance at the hotel, and while it wasn't very noisy, it wasn't exactly quiet either after 8 or 9 am.

    Location is excellent and right across the road from Centraal Station. Easy to walk all over the main tourist areas from the hotel. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had inner room, it was was dark, not enough lights for our needs

    clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, really big tv, kind staff, good breakfast, good cofee 😁 close to the center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall very pleasant. The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were obliged to eat breakfast in the room as the price for a breakfast at 29 € was really too much for our budget. I cannot understand why two eggs and a bit of bacon with coffee could be charged so much.

    Queen size bed very good. The room cleaning wan't great - sometimes the bed wasn't made at 4pm in the afternoon but the personnel were very professional on the whole.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service wasn't great. Took around one hour to check in as hotel understaffed. Sent clothing for laundry and clothes only returned just before I was leaving hotel and hadn't been washed AT ALL. No explanation by staff to why the service hadn't been carried out. Will not be returning back to this hotel.

    Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Only place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at this hotel the last three times in Amsterdam and have been highly delighted with everything. The location is fantastic. We travel by car and having the concierge 24/7 to park the car is great. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you would need. The beds and pillows are delightful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Nice hotel but very much overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception very cold. Room was not always cleaned properly. Breakfast with very nice choice, however no bread without gluten. Not indication how to get your eggs cooked. The capucino not very digest.

    I like the room, and the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Fair value for money is an expensive location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is super subjective because there's little negative for me to say. The word 'palace' makes you assume you're getting a hotel that's a bit above average but I found this hotel to be a pretty normal hotel on par with many others I've stayed at. My single occupancy room was what I'd expect from a respectable hotel and so I was assuming for something a little extra that made it clearly 4 star.

    The location was amazing! It's easy to reach from the Centraal Train Station and well situated for the main attractions. The staff were all super friendly and helpful and check-in and out was smooth and effortless. The hotel is clean and inviting. My room was a little noisy from the surrounding city-life but ear plugs were waiting on the bedside table and they were perfect. The bed was a nice long length and super comfy, with 3 pillow options! The bathroom was well stocked, bright and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is ideal for a visit to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning wasn’t as thorough as what the hotel aims to provide. While packing, my earring fell and rolled into a corner under the bed; I found it with the missing remote that was wedged into the crevice with lots of dust.

    The location is ideal for a visit to the city. The staff is superb and their recommendations for food and activities were most helpful. The best schnitzel was in the central station across the street and Daniel’s recommendation [Lt. Cornelis] for Dutch food with a modern is a foodie’s delight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    It said that it had a spa and wellness centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said that it had a spa and wellness centre. If you wanted a massage it would have to be in your room. They had 1 massage chair in the basement and a steam room that did not work !!! We had to travel to another hotel to go to the spa for the day. Very disappointed that this was advertised as a hotel with spa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Good, comfortable stay right in the heart of Amsterdam - a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud service staff - hearing a female room attendant shouting constantly at her male colleague 'vamos! vamos!' really shouldn't be encouraged. Room cards get demagnetised way too easily - invest in better technology!

    Good, comfortable stay right in the heart of Amsterdam - a very short walk to either the cathedral or the red light district depending on your morale direction!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed, totally over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They don't have enough staff at the reception, so check in/check out, any other requests, always has to wait to 10-15 minutes. The rooms was very dusty, so I had to show to the manager the state of my room.( she totally agreed that it was dusty and she tried to find out who had cleaned the room instead of a simple appology ) There is no beautiful view at all even though it says so on Booking.com site. The water leaking from A/C....They couldn't fix the light in the closet which could not turn off all night

    staff are very kind and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    3 Stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and the rooms wasn’t cleaned very well I found spiders and lice in the room when I asked to clean the room they only changed the towels also no body helped us with the luggage. This hotel shouldn’t be 5 stars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Terrible! Mice wondering around the lobby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best staff regarding problems you have around there. There were mice wondering through the lobby! We saw 2 in a 6 night stay! Not good news for a 5 star hotel. There were dirty cups in our room... It shouldn’t be considered a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Got the hivvies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate a croissant in the lobby while waiting for breakfast to open and got told off. Apparently only for guest checking out. Maybe put a sign up or don't put them out at all.

    The buffet was amazing. Great location so close to everything. Red-light, central station, city centre. Would recommend to anyone just don't eat the lobby croissants its a trap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location near everything . Central station and Trams could not be better . Very clean and staff very helpful. The girl on the concierge desk was so helpful . Would recommend anytime . Breakfast was really good

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Not bad, but would expect more from a 5 stars rated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't consider this place as a 5 stars rated hotel. There were no amenities in our room, nothing to make us feel special, not much value for money. Next time I will consider a boutique hotel.

    Great location, good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good location in Amsterdam central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with extra bed (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didnt like that in the breakfast we had to wait for waiters to serve coffee. There was always too many people and only 2 waiters and it happened many times that we had to wait like 15min to order our coffee while our food was already on the table. They really need to change that and make it possible for the people to make their own coffee or put more waiters available. Also the breakfast during weekend starts at 7am or 7:30 and it can be late if you need to leave early. Plus some little things I did not like, like our room was not yet clean after we returned to the room at 6pm, there was no opener in the room to open the bottles in the mini fridge, they forgot to replace the toilet paper, etc. I guess they need to pay a little bit more attention to the services, for a 5 star hotel, some things are just not acceptable.

    The hotel has a great location near the Train station and Amsterdam city center. Very comfortable, well decorated, large room for 3 people. Breakfast included in the room rate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Would not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very understaffed, the staff are literally inundated with guests, concierge, check in and especially the cleaning staff, rooms are not cleaned at all during your stay, beds are done and nothing more, rubbish was not removed, room was not cleaned. The management needs to realise the staff are not enough.

    Beautiful hotel, great staff, restaurant closed,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    First time I face such a problem. Travellers usually are tired form the journey they need a room as
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel at before 12 and we were with a small baby. They told they cannot give the room until 4 . It was hard time of waiting but even at 4 it was no ready. At that time we talked to the hotel manager how was really friendly and he offered us a temporary room.

    We had a problem but the hotel manager solved it in a good way he gave us a temporary room until ours is ready

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Well when you order Breakfast in the room for two people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well when you order Breakfast in the room for two people they don’t bring a table to put it on , and u need to call for that and also they forget a few things like the orange juice and coffee pads. Simple things but still things you need. In the morning they took the two main towels and put only one back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Fine place to stay for quick break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work for my 3 nights stay and the receptionist seems helpless as communication barrier was coming up since English speaking was an issue

    Free car parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location is PERFECT. View out of our bedroom was lovely. A lovely touch was the bottle of champagne my partner and I were given because we were celebrating our anniversary. The concierge were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    All great - difficult to fault ! Would love to come back and stay longer -
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included or excluded is such a small cost, a hotel such as this could offer coffee at least . Would be most appreciated by most- Capsule in the room is ok but quite “sad”

    Bathrooms well arranged and spacious enough -

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A very nice hotel at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Although the room was booked for 3 persons but the staff always leave the complimentary stuff for two. So, one night we had to call and complain about it.

    - Great location and walking distance from the train station - We booked a room for 3 persons and the room was fantastic with a canal view - Nice ambiance - Many restaurants nearby for everyone's taste - Very near to shopping area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    awsome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no view from window a lot of noise frorm the street at night if you leave window open

    The room is fairly small but organized well. Air condition working great! staff was very helpful center location just opposite the central station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was fantastic, and the staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was split level, so we had to go up and down steep steps between the bedroom and bathroom/wardrobes. This is not bad, but would have preferred not to have them.

    The location was fantastic, and the staff friendly. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so cannot say how that was. The bed was very comfortable. The river view from our bedroom was stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    All the staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not happy with my first room because the room felt no energy a bad vibe and the shower had hair on the floor which I felt uncomfortable also the kettle was not working. But the members of staff changed my room straight away. The new room was beautiful. I was really happy.

    All the staff were fantastic The housekeeper can’t remember his name was really polite humble good heart. I enjoyed my stay extra because of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, clean rooms, big beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere Was building work on going which was extremely noisey. Not great considering the large amount paid to stay at this hotel I felt like some gesture or discount could have been made.

    Amazing location, clean rooms, big beds. Rooms have a double door which can be opened which is a nice touch also

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazingly Dutch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very costly to eat in the hotel but wouldn't expect anything else from a 5* hotel.

    One of the best hotels I've visted. Staff go above and beyond. It's located right on the front next to everything you could need with transport to all sights and attractions within a 2 mins walk. Excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, many restaurants, bars and shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fifth floor elevator call button didn't work and there wasn't a set of stairs that were available for non-emergency use. Fortunately it was fixed within 24 hours of arrival.

    Location was perfect, many restaurants, bars and shops within easy walking distance. Boyd at the front desk was great as were the concierge staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On two occasions our parties rooms were not cleaned to the high standard I have come to expect from a hotel of this type. Even after having asked once the following day there still was points missed in the housekeeping aspect.

    Excellent location to see everything Amsterdam has to offer. Fantastic breakfast with huge choice of cooked and continental options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed by the receptionist who checked us in. He could have given a little more time and explain to us that not all our rooms include breakfast in a nicer way.

    Location. Service. Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Generally excellent but would ask for a room on a single level in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgraded from superior room to premium room in the roof space on third floor. Room was fine but didn't like the 4 steps you had to negotiate between the bathroom and bedroom area, especially at night. Maid didn't replace the teas, coffee and milk used on the second day of our stay.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was great and the staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bin in our bathroom had not been emptied when we checked in and in our second Day, the room was replenished of tea and coffee, however the bed was not made and the bathroom only party cleaned.

    The location was great and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of the room I got was superb in the upper floors .. The staff at the hotel were very nice .. Trying to rent the bike was fun with an excellent price.The breakfast was good and the most important thing the hotel's location thought was one of the best places in Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. The floors were dusty and the bed cover wasn’t clean. I had to ask the staff to change the bed settings.

    The location is great. Near Dam square and central train station. Hop on hop off stops were pretty close too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much wrong with this hotel at all! Church bells on Sunday morning didnt help with a hangover but hotel supplied additional ear buds!

    Absolutely fantastic room and great location. Staff were brilliant. Couldnt ask for any more from them! Paid to upgrade to show room, definitely worth every penny! Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    Expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a superior room but was down in the basement with dark stairs and no lift. Very difficult coming in from sunlight and awkward with heavy cases.

    Convenient to the station .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    It was close to the station and centre of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the station and centre of Amsterdam. It was easily accessible from the train station. They were very customer oriented. There were a lot of restaurants to choose from and the overall atmosphere in the area was very good .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all round hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for in Amsterdam.

    Great location, clean, modern and spacious rooms with professional staff. Nice touch with balloons and cookies for our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous city centre break
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was large and beautifully fitted. Outstanding staff We paid for the room with a view - and what a view ... Central Station (very attractive) and canal just outside the window. Very easy to walk anywhere in the city, or take a boat on the canals from close to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Definitely no doubts about it. But it is bit noisy in the night. It is in a very crowded place in Amsterdam. The advantage is that it is a very central hotel close to important places but the disadvantage is that it is very noisy in the night. Front due to the traffic and back due to the bars. The room is ok and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    The location of the hotel is excellent. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and even remember where we said we were going to go for the day and asked us about our day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear people from the road, around 2 am they still make noise. But im the person who can sleep thru anything. If youre not, they provide earplug too.

    Almost all is perfect here. Its quite pricey but i come here for my birthday. They gave us 2 glasses of cava. The staff were very friendly. I loved my stay here. The hotel leaves a great impression. I would definitely go to this hotel again Sparkly clean, great location !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.9
    0 star dirty hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed Sheets were dirty with many hair stuck to it, toilet seat had urine spots on it and dirty in bottom, staff was rude to handle the issue, kept me waiting till they decide how to handle the dirty room, no one apologized eventually and they were only trying to justify dirt and blame it on each other, stayed in 3 star hotels which were much cleaner. Booking.com normally dont publish honest reviews with complains, only the good reviews are published.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Ok stay, but I had greater expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WiFi is limited to 100MB which nowadays is not sufficient to even use stream services (you need to pay extra if you want to use more). There was an unknown problem with the hot water for a few hours and this was very unpleasant since I had to take a very cold shower before I went to bed (this ruined my sleep). The staff was very nice and the hotel applied a discount on the final invoice to make up for the inconveniences, but it will still be better if these kinds of things don't happen.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    This hotel stay gave us a perfect start to our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little problem with the hot water, fixed when we advised staff.

    Great bed, great breakfast, staff very helpful.. gave us great recommendations for an excellent Italian restaurant.. location was perfect for exploring Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was hassle free
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing is absolutely perfect but its great to see the hotel is always improving to reach a better high

    I came back again because this hotel doesnt fail to deliver on improvement. Last time I was around I raised the issue of a very long check in time. This time around was very smooth and as you would like to expect it to be. As usual, room is great, wifi is good in the room, bed is comfortable with enough pillows to rest on, modern furniture, good number of TV channels. Oh yeah new pizza from room service was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff and a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a great room overlooking the canal and it was comfortable and well equipped, breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. The location of this hotel is excellent, we will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great property in a prime location. Just walk right out of your hotel into the streets of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean and comfortable. Property is in a great location. Canal views. Walking distance to everything. Staff was so nice and friendly. They have a buffet breakfast that I would skip and just walk around the corner to eat or room service it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    I arrived a bit early at the hotel after a 13hr flight on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all. Excellent stay.

    I arrived a bit early at the hotel after a 13hr flight on 24/4/18 from Kuala Lumpur. However the staff at the front desk was very helpful and was able to get me a room immediately. If not mistaken it was a Ms Elle at your front desk Excellent & fully appreciated it. Will be a returning guest for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you are spending a few days in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning service coming in the rrom at 8.30 in the morning when we wre asleep. (We did not put up the "do not disturb" sign, but did not think we had to worry about that before 10 am).

    In a central location with great breakfast (large selection and nice tasting stuff) and very helpful services - including tourist information. The hotel is located close to all public transport, trains and also hop-on hop-off boat services. Staff is very polite and the room is large and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly and efficient staff, particularly Didier (one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a city view room which was a little noisy as we like to sleep with windows open. However, the hotel had already placed ear bungs on our bedside tables! Everything was taken care of.

    Very friendly and efficient staff, particularly Didier (one of the concierges) who went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Fantastic location and very good food options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very comfortable, cozy and quiet room despite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive at just under €30 pp and service left a lot to be desired despite not being very busy. We ended up getting our own coffees etc and had to chase down a server to ask for the made to order omelettes. But not too surprising at a big chain hotel.

    It was very comfortable, cozy and quiet room despite the hotel being right off a busy street across from Centraal Station. Excellent location for public transport or walking around central Amsterdam. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping did good job of tidying room. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    During check-in need to ask to show few rooms for comparison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During check-in need to ask to show few rooms for comparison. Some rooms have problematic view to internal square. We preferred to have lower floor but nice canal view. Other then that - nice hotel in perfect location with good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Overpriced. Poor service. Average to poor facilities for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaners broke a glass and pieces were strewn across the floor and injured me and my partner. Despite 2 reminders it wasn't cleaned. Room was dusty and hadn't been hoovered properly. Air conditioning was not working properly. Windows not double glazed so excessive road noise. All in all not a 5 star hotel by any chance. Better to book a place away from the city centre and travel in by metro.

    The staff are friendly and the location is central. Very overpriced and not a 5 star hotel by any means. Not 5 star service. More 3 -4 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive and not a good selection compared to other NC hotels. Also, needs Sky TV in the room. All 5 star hotels I visit worldwide have Sky TV.

    Excellent hotel and staff and lovely room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Location, and made my sisters birthday extra special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had the best stay.

    It was in the heart of Amsterdam, and so everything was in walking distance which was great. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The service in the hotel was amazing and the rooms were beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    The cleanliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff; need more behavior lessons and how deal with customers/ rude disrespectful with zero customer service. This is my second experience with this hotel and unfortunately the same poor treatment during check-in and while requesting a service or information from them. 5-days with same breakfast menu/ no changes or even improving. The concierge employee promised to call back to provide needed information but ignoring is the result!

    The cleanliness and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had a fantastic stay. The hotel facilities were first class. The rooms were excellent and all the staff were so nice and accommodating. The food in the hotel was first class. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and it’s in a great location to access all the tourist spots of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Properly not 5 star. Room issues (fan making loud noise) All issues we had we were taken care of very nicely. Staff is AWESOME hotel just ok. Lobby tired.

    Staff was amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Will come back if ever in Amsterdam again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The availability of the concierges, Didier, Daniel and Edwin. Thanks Daniel for the restaurant recommendation Thanks Didier for picking up stuff i had forgotten and the canal tour recommendation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall a joyful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found. Very dfficult to locate the entrance as were travelling by car. The sort journey which leads to hotel entrance was very narrow and difficult to locate

    The hotel itself, location and the facilities around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small as compared to the pictures. A bit misleading

    The room was clean. The lady at the reception Mariah was very helpful as she changed my room for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great but it wasn’t the most central if the purpose of the trip was to shop. If you want to go to different cities during the day the location is great.

    Very clean. Impeccable breakfast. Great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: