Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen 5 stars

Nieuwe Doelenstraat 24, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 CP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#49 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1724 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great location, excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, excellent service. Rooms are a little bit small, but this is something usual in Amsterdam. Canal view is fantastic and definitely worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Great sray slthough pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy till early hours of morning.

    Very clean. Room was large and more thsn enough place to put luggage. Bathtoom nice and big. Very close t o all attractions. Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.0
    Good...but for the noise one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel outside restaurant right next to my room got very loud one night and the noise kept me up until midnight one. That was very upsetting. Otherwise, the room was very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    We were upgraded to the suite which was a very nice of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ramp for transporting luggage

    We were upgraded to the suite which was a very nice of the hotel to do. Nice clean room. Spacious bathroom! Comfy king size bed! Friendly and helpful staff! Good location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Location is fantastic, in centrum close to Damm Square,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is fantastic, in centrum close to Damm Square, Rembrandt Platz, tram station, red light area. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The hotel is recently renovated so rooms and everything around is new. Wifi speed is decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen has great friendly staff and it's located in the heart of Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rude tourists on the streets. They were everywhere, and had no manners. But unfortunately, that's nothing the hotel could do about that! (wink!). But seriously, I have no complaints. A+++++

    I highly recommend the NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen. I was in Amsterdam for a business conference and the staff were absolutely friendly, helpful and always a delight to work with. There was always someone to speak with and they met all of my needs. THANK YOU ALL AT THE NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was excellent. Our room, albeit compact, was clean, modern and tidy. The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, very healthful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was small. Not enough space to place luggage . Breakfast had same food everyday, not what you expected from the 5 star hotel

    Location, cleanest, friendly staff. Lana from reception was brilliant. She help us for everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff, especially Amber in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom very small. No public space like a lobby to sit in.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, especially Amber in the concierge area and Nicola in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though this was recently renovated (2016) small parts of it still look a little tired for a five star hotel. The restaurant in particular is poorly decorated and (IMO) tacky looking. We only used the restaurant for breakfast so can't comment on the dinner service.

    The hotels location is excellent, all attractions are easily reached on foot and Amsterdam is a pleasure to stroll around as its so flat. The Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Beautiful decor for most of the hotel, our room was comfortable, clean and had a great view over the canal. Some on here have said it's poor value for money - I don't agree you are paying for the location, the history and the service, all of which are delivered in bucket loads. We had breakfast included in our stay and can't praise the quality of this highly enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, exceptionally friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    We had perfect stay in this hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean, nicely equipped and provided an excellent view over the canal. The beds were cosy and comfortable, and the breakfast was nice and rich and was served in a newly refurbished restaurant. In particular, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful!! They all really tried to make this stay special to us: they greeted us with a surprise when they learned that we were celebrating a private event during our stay in Amsterdam and apart from that were simply wonderful throughout our stay. Thank you so much, we will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff! Especially the lovely English ambassadress in the Breakfast dining room & the Reception people who were so helpful with tourist advice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Services were super, location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We got a room facing the street and the mornings (starting 6:30) were very very noisy due the garbage or supplies trucks :(. Also we requested twin beds - the so called twin beds were actually 2 mattresses sharing the same bed frame - this somehow contradicts the idea of twin beds, right ?

    Services were super, location is very good. The price is excellent considering the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The process of check-in and check out is amazing! Super fast))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest despite the variety of pillows I couldn’t find the right one. Most of them were not comfortable ((

    The personnel of the hotel is very professional! So friendly and helpful ! Unfortunately I didn’t remember the lady’s name at the guest relations, but she is fantastic! Especially her sense of humor! The view is amazing , it’s so cool that you can open a window. The room is small but very cozy. The bathroom is nice, clean and bright! And it’s good that you don’t need to go out for a coffee or tea, everything you can make at the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good, excellent location and view! Room with the balkony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was very poor, so that is why we have breakfast at the cafe Jardin next to hotel

    Location was excellent! The room was very comfortable, in spite of small size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location , pleasant service and good rooms on lower floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lounge. Little seating in lobby. Limited catering although buffet breakfast was good.

    Good spacious room.Excellent large bathroom (First floor rooms) Pleasant personal helpful service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was central to everything but in a relatively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive hotel. The accommodations are luxurious, however the room is very small.

    The location was central to everything but in a relatively quiet and uncongested area of the city. Easy walk to most areas or to the tram.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Vg A sA QqStaff here are friendly, effivient and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vg A sA QqStaff here are friendly, effivient and very helpful. I was in Amsterdam on the King’s Day when everything including public transport didn’t suspended. Hotel staff have service mind and are willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was wonderful, in the city center and easy access to all the attractions. Staff were super helpful, I emailed prior to stay about special requests (flowers and decorations for the room) and they exceeded our expectations. Lastly, the room had one of the best showers I've ever used, and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Amsterdam is more crowded than ever. The hotel was a nice respite after a day of jostling crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. The windows do nothing to keep out the singing and yelling that goes on into the wee hours. Take earplugs!

    The bed was fabulous...most comfortable ever in a hotel. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff was great and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was facing the street and we couldn't sleep properly because of the noise outside - people were fighting, screaming and singing just outside the hotel until 4 am.

    The staff was great and very helpful. Great breakfast and conveniently located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The best apartment I ever booked on booking or airbnb, ideal in all respects.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unbelievably clean, full of inspiring light, fully equipped for long term stay, very secure, extraordinary view on the old town, superb location right in the heart of the beautiful pedestrian zone of Ljubljana, and very helpful host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and they didn't give me smoking room unless if I accept king bed although booking was confirmed for what I have requested .. but at reception things changed claiming it's full ..! Any was staff were ugly

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    The Location is extremely central and rooms very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had some issue on the day of our stay Be careful with the Twin Bed requests room

    The Location is extremely central and rooms very well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in my room I had to ask someone to come up. They turned the air conditioner off as it would only warm. The fridge was warm as well so I didn’t have any drinks from the mini bar. I needed to go down and buy two from the bar and take bake to my room.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff were soo nice and helpful, the location is perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt change the towels and bed sheets during my stay and didnt wash the glases

    The staff were soo nice and helpful, the location is perfect and near to the dam , 2 minutes by walking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in great location and with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of things in the washbasin and coffee making area in the room. It was hard to hang the towel by the basin and there wasn’t much space to make a drink - nowhere to put the cup and saucer.This isn’t a huge dislike but it just didn’t really “work”.

    We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    All in all very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhere to go for a sigarette or two, a little better than just close to the entrance.

    The room and the helpfull young ladies in the reseption. My 4. Stay in Doelen out of 5 visits in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Great charm hotel with great service and staff!!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. All great! As a suggestion, it would be nice to have a better taxi arrangement to collect and drop guests from the airport. We did book for drop off at the airport and the service was impecable, but it was a bit more expensive than we were told. Nevertheless, this was just a small detail and overall it was a very, very positive hotel experience.

    The staff was amazingly nice and professional! They went above and beyond to accommodate requests and obtain information I needed on locations. Really, great great staff!! Great historical building. Rooms were very confortable and spacious. The bed was very confortable. The restaurant was under refurbishment but they offered a simple breakfast alternative, that was basic but enough, and for free. Housekeeping was fast and efficient. Well located, in the historical heart of Amsterdam. Overall, a very good experience that we hope to repeat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    The staff is professional, friendly and more than helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was disappointment and nowhere near its 5 star rating! There are ongoing renovations at the hotel, we were not made aware of this at the time of booking - either by the hotel or by Booking.com - there are therefore no facilities available at this time. No lounge, no restaurant, no bar, not even a real breakfast, no social areas at all; things which you expect as standard for a 5 star. Due to the renovation work the beautiful canal side breakfast room shown on the homepage and where we were expecting to eat was closed. The hotel tried to compensate by offering a complementary light breakfast in a side room off the reception area - this was not sufficient. Coffee, cake and pastries - fruit Juices. No plates - no trays so we had to balance a croissant on a napkin with coffee and water in another hand and find a place to sit in another side room, which was a cold unused bedroom that had been prepared with some low chairs and low table. This was not the right way to start the day. Our hotel room was very small – but clean and the bed was comfortable.

    The staff is professional, friendly and more than helpful. All of them a credit to the hotel and their profession. Location is very good. The parking is valet parking and at approx. 50€ for overnight is very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great location! BEST SHOWER EVER!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately restaurant/bar area under construction so no breakfast

    Incredible Hotel!! Room was huge and an such a delight - had a room on the North end with incredible canal and bridge views. Beautiful bathroom -- THE BEST SHOWER OF MY LIFE... marble, builtin ceiling rain shower with separate wand and perfect water pressure... .. Location is amazing with proximity to everything... can't wait to return with my wife and ensure we have the same room!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, but we had a huge window that we could open.

    Hotel location is very close to train station, about a 15 min walk. They booked several tours for us. Service was exceptional. Hotel and rooms were very clean, Quiet area. Beds were very comfortable. Shower was amazing. If you want a good nights sleep, pick this place. The restaurant was under renovation but they served free pastry’s, fruit, hot tea, orange juice every morning. In the evenings we went to Freddy’s, very close to hotel, great place for a glass of wine and they serve food late at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    relaxed comfortable weekend break,will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was having an upgrade so the Bar and Restaurant were closed. There was a temporary area for breakfast with delicious pastries

    really helpful staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time! Excellent location and view from the room. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    There was a construction at the breakfast area, so they offered a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was of a very good quality and the room of it had a very nice view. The location was brilliant, at the best spot of Amsterdam. We were given an upgrade and the room had the best view someone can imagine! Very clean room and the personnel extremely friendly and helpful. Overall we had a great time and definitely recommend it!!! We will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Truly amazing and memeroble stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative feedback.

    This is a beautiful hotel, with a great location and very friendly staff who go up and beyond to help you out. Rooms are so clean and my room had a fantastic view of the canel. My overall stay was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice people for check in Free breafast offered as the main breakfast room was closed for renovation. Nespresso machine in rooms Good location Valet parking for 50 euros

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, needs restaurant. Good cafe next door but otherwise local food options limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose this hotel because of canal side restaurant however this is really only a breakfast room and closed for redecoration during our stay. Onsite restaurant would definitely improve this hotel.

    Everyone was very helpful at the hotel and the canal view room was good; very well appointed. We very much enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The hotel located by two tram’s stations from central station. The desk is open 24/7. Very pleasant staff that always smiling and ready to help. Clean rooms, good facilities. Free coffe and water are avalible at the room. Near the market you can find a supermarket with good prices. The aria is very nice. Sisi and Rembrand were at this place! What else to say, you are the great team, thank you for our perfect vacation. Definitely will back to you !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small... Restaurant was under renovation

    Loved the location. Had a lovely canal view from our room. Bedding very comfortable Great staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly happy and professional service and courtesy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little hard and we asked for a second blanket but that was delivered pronto with a smile

    Very friendly happy and professional service and courtesy. Amazing views over the canal and superb location. will definitely do it again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff was amazing, extremely courteous and genuinely concerned. We will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived exhausted around 11 am and the check in team was very sympathetic. She immediately found us a room, which was an upgrade and we were able to get some good rest before venturing out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, could only fit one suitcase. There was a big gap between the shower glass door and the floor which caused the water to always leak out to the bathroom floor which was a pain. Apart from that! Amazing hotel! Would stay again.

    Location, everything was close by. Comfy bed and lovely staff who were always happy to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    This was my seventh visit to this hotel in the past six...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you accidentally leave anything at the hotel after your trip, you'll be lucky to get them back. Even though they have a lost property room, I've lost two jackets and a pair of shoes in just six months.

    This was my seventh visit to this hotel in the past six months. It's outstanding. The staff are very friendly and love to help you with anything. The rooms are beautiful designed and very clean with amazing views of the canal and city. The breakfast room is elegantly looking over the canal for the perfect start to the day. And the food is amazing,you are freely to ask for something special too (which I often do).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Stuff in the Hotel are amazing, friendly and kind, very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stuff in the Hotel are amazing, friendly and kind, very polite. The best in restaurant Swyche is Nicole - one of the best manager, I've seen. Always with the smile, very helpfully. Very good hotel, small cozy, with the old history and own boat parking place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Favorite place in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much but perhaps to some people the rooms might be a little small. I guess most boutique hotels in Europe are small.

    This Is my second time in this hotel. I'll only stay there in Amsterdam. Best location and most charming hotel. The staff are amazing are extremely friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely experience although we found the first floor (street side) a bit noisy, when we return we plan to request higher floor/canal side. The staff was very accommodating and willingly & politey offered us another room without hesitation (they didn’t appear put out or offended instead offered options to make us more comfortable). I applaud the management for allowing their staff to make such decisions on the spot to keep guests comfortable. It turned what could have been a negative experience into a positive one! :)

    Excellent location, friendly/accommodating staff, very clean, excellent breakfast-fresh breads/omelette to order/fresh fruit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Even though we were just at the 1st floor, the view was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a room with two singles bed and they gave me one with a queen size bed. The room had extremely poor acoustic isolation and the area around the window was quite drafty.

    Even though we were just at the 1st floor, the view was pretty good. Also the bathroom and the shower were really nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel in excellent location with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I contacted the hotel ahead of time to tell them I would be travelling with my mother for her 60th birthday and to request a nice quiet room and late check out (which they offer on Sunday’s free of charge if there’s availability). The hotel went above and beyond to make my mother feel special. They contacted me to ask what her favourite drink and flowers were. I expected a complimentary drink upon arrival but when we got there they gave us an upgraded room with canal view, there were red balloons in the room, a huge bouquet of her favourite flowers and some chocolates. There was then a knock at the door and a chilled full bottle of wine was delivered with their compliments. It really was above and beyond! Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful, from the check in staff to the concierge to guest relations who booked and printed tickets to attractions for us so that we could avoid the queques. The breakfast room and breakfast were lovely, as were the staff who also recommended sites to see and circled them on a map for us. The hotel is small and perfectly located. Everything we wanted to see was generally a 15-20min walk away and it’s at a safe distance from the noise and madness of Dam square and Amsterdam Central. Couldn’t recommend this hotel enough!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, well located, good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have only one note on the heating system. during my stay the room was very cold. I asked if there was something that they could do to help and offered a portable heater. This helped me "surviving" the night. Not exactly the best option but it helped and received the service required.

    I liked the position, the service was good and the quality of the hotel above my expectation. Thank you for this short but very good stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.8
    Not really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t clean the room completely one day, I arrived in the night room wasn’t cleaned they try to tell me that was my mistake because I left the sign outside the door don’t disturb, but wasn’t true and no excuse was given very sad.... also breakfast is not for a 5 star hotel ...

    Very beautiful hotel, with a nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Old charming hotel in excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was advertised as 27 m2. I think it was no where near this size. This was dissappointing, as I was specifically looking for a big room.

    The hotel was beautiful. The oldest in the city. The location was excellent. The showers were fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    nice view, excellent location, very friendly staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No snack bar or resto in the hotel, only room service. No buissness center (printers) in the hotel. The staff at the reception was very helpful in printing for me (reception's printers) , but sometimes a printer is needed.. A spa is missing.

    nice view, excellent location, very friendly staff, extremely nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice location, nice rest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tea kettle was a liitle bit dirty, but that is the only bad thing I can say of the hotel.

    The personal of the hotel were extraordinary and kindly helped me with my requests. I had an extraordinary room facing the channel, well maintained and clean. In spite of being in the centre of the city, my room had almost no noises so I enjoyed of a good rest and the best of a good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is in a great location and staff are extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even a superior room felt small. No restaurant for evening meals. Bar closed at 10pm on Saturday evening which meant the lounge area was also closed to guests. It did not feel like a 5 star hotel.

    great location and staff are extremely helpful & friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so clean and high quality and comfortable !! The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and professional !! The room was amazing and the location was perfect ! The view from the restaurant was VERY good !! We will definitely be coming back !!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    This is a nice hotel in an older building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a nice hotel in an older building. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side and did have a view if you stepped through the window to the landing. The bed was very comfortable. The bath room was also on the small side but nicely appointed, although no tub. The breakfast was too expensive so we passed on it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and best service level
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller space in the room but I guess this is the standard all across the region

    Very clean and best service level Also it locates in the middle of everything in a nice area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Location is perfect, staff are very kind and helpfull,...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and even no place to put siutcases. I use the tea table😐. Not suitable for a disabled person.

    Location is perfect, staff are very kind and helpfull, cleaning also perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't get it why invest in expensive luxury room/bathroom fittings when the windows are last century and paperthin. Very noisy. Like sleeping in the street. Even from closed window you can feel the wind blowing in cold air. First time in Holland. Could be culture thing, don't know

    Great breakfast, comfy bed, friendly staff, great location, nice clean room, well stocked snacks, coffee and mini bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at night at the central station and took a taxi to the hotel. Although the hotel is close to the train station, the taxi had to take a longer way, because various streets in the hotel area are closed for traffic at night starting at 07.00 pm.

    Very pleasant and comfortable hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The best birthday vacay i’ve ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing, everything was just around the corner and we could walk to Dam square or red light district along the beautiful canals, the staff were super friendly and super helpful! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    It was great experiance stay at this hotel, really nice room was clean and perfect view from the rooms. perfect location. staff was friendly and warm welcoming. We will come back again to stay that hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The best hotel experience I've had in years - truly top level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is exceptional in many ways but especially for the competence, politeness and enthusiasm of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to be truly friendly and helpful, always with a smile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful and Romantic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect! View from the beakfast restaurant is beautiful. The staff is really friendly and they really know how to help you. Specially Sven in the Consierge. I really recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Average hotel but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For five star there was no facilities like spa etc. Breakfast was not included and it was expensive, Tv didn’t work.

    For the price we paid there was no facility and breakfast was not included. The rooms were ok, but TV didn’t work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    It is an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough space in the room to keep the clothes. Lack of closets “literally” makes you live out of your suitcases.

    Excellent attention of the employees to the guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely comfortable bed. Cute bar downstairs. Super helpful and friendly staff, which really made our stay that bit nicer (thank you Hakan). Great city view from the room and ideal location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    I loved the whole ambience of this old hotel, our room overlooked the canal which was great. The breakfast was excellent, great variety from cooked to pastries and fruit. The staff were all friendly and helpful. If I manage to visit Amsterdam again I will definitely stay at this hotel,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Not worth a price of ove euros 200 .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged double the price by booking .com for the same room , the hotel was selling the room for much cheaper rate during the period of my stay

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    I would go there again lovely hotel and close to all i need
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Gym Slow lift No in house restuaraunt only and bar and breakfast service. Limited Room service menu

    The Staff were amazing and professional they seemed genuinely friendly and helpful. Proximity is amazing to other shops Tanquil and quiet, loved it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    It's overpriced for the poor facility and poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1- Rooms are too small to the limit that you can not walk without being cautious in order not to hit your toes or legs with bed corners or being looked inside the small shower which hardly contains one person. This forced us to upgrade to suit room which is even to standard room in other hotels in terms of size and furniture 2- They don't care about cleanliness at all, I stayed for 6 nights and my bed sheets never been changed, my room never been hoovered and bathroom was not clean at all. Moreover, they only provide the shampoo for the first night and then i bough a shampoo after i fed up asking for a shampoo. 3- They don't have any restaurants or bar or cafe or any entertainment facility. lobby area is very small with 2 chairs only. Reception area is too tight with 4 chairs in front desk which make the hotel mess and crowded in case a group came to check in. I spent minutes outside waiting my turn to ask the front desk officer a question 4- We bough a breakfast for 6 days and each day we went to breakfast they keep telling us that it is not included and then we wait until they call the front desk and then apologize for their mistake not to put our names on the system. This was funny and shows inexperienced staff 5- They kept having mistakes in financing issues just like charging us the breakfast twice and then correcting the same mistake 4 times with 4 different interim employees

    I like the location as it is close to all attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    charming hotel and beautiful, friendly city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good but staff did forget to get us things eg coffee and when asked they said it's on its way but it never showed up! They might as well have a coffee machine and we'll help ourselves. But honestly, this is a minor quibble and on the whole, I would definitely return to the same hotel on a future visit.

    guest relations, concierge and bar staff were super helpful. Warm and welcoming. Location is super; lovely view from our bedroom. Comfortable bed and quiet room on the fourth floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the central location and service. The staff was very helpful in getting to know Amsterda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a bit high and the surprise of taxes not being included disappointing.

    Older architectural building and main areas with fully modern rooms made a great feel for touring the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful City... We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the NH Collection Doelen Hotel in August 2017 for three nights and from the moment we arrived we were very impressed. Front of house staff are very attentive and helpful. Actually, every staff member we spoken to were fantastic. Very clean and tidy throughout. The hotel is the oldest in Amsterdam with amazing artwork and décor giving a real historic feel. As it was our honeymoon trip, they had organised champagne, rose petals and sweets in our room upon arrival which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was great with an array of cold and hot food. The room was very clean and modern with a coffee pod machine and drinks* and snacks* in the fridge. The staff will be able to help and guide you to places throughout the city centre, and it is literally a 5 minute stroll to the hustle and bustle of the city. We both felt very safe and secure at the hotel and this was the case throughout the city centre too - beautiful city with almost too much to see and do! We will be back...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Reception staff really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were out of water bottles for the rooms. And we got warm beer delivered to the room when we asked for additions. Given the star rating on the hotel we would have expected it to be chilled. Was told when checking in that the windows of our room was noot possible to be "seen-through" from the street (as we were on the street level). But when we looked in ourselfes at night from the street we could see the whole room :)

    Reception staff really friendly. Breakfast room lovely with the windows facing the canal. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen traveller photo gallery