Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Bussum Jan Tabak 4 stars

Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, 1401 CV Bussum, Netherlands

#1 of 2 hotels in Bussum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms published by hotel are the newly refurbished ones, you think you've booked, however, this is misleading. I was accommodated on the third floor, which still has the old rooms that badly need an upgrade. The wifi signal was very poor in the room (just one bar sitting on the bed), I had to stand by the door to get a good signal. For these reasons it was very disappointing and not good value.

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were some issues, such as water leaking from the bath tub, and tabaco smoke from the neighbour guests coming into our window...

    nice environment, comfortable room and nice bed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matrass a bit too hard for my liking.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. I liked the lobby area and the dining room with access to the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Many of the rooms have been refurbished however these rooms are very 'Spartan' in comparison to the original decor - This is our go to hotel in Bussum but we always prefer a room with original decor.

    Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of cheeses, fruits and cold meats with a good cooked section available also. Excellent bakery items with coffee/tee and fruit juices - highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is VERY outdated, WiFi incredibly slow and noisy road next to the room.

    Great locaties close to Spant theatre. Nice room, great bed and desk to work at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit out of date and the room was really noisy. The duvets are really to small. And looking at the price I really think that a room like that should not cost that much.

    I really liked the staff very young but well aducated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at dinner was far too slow. It took one hour to get our starter (which was a plate of cold meats so required no cooking), and another hour for the main course, then another 20-30 min before someone appeared whom we could ask for the bill. The restaurant was far from full, so this was a bit frustrating - though the food was delicious. The guys (they were all guys) were friendly when we saw them, but they were also looking after the bar and the restaurant did not have their full attention (and maybe they did not keep an eye on the time either). Last time i ate there, there were two staff in the restaurant, but this time the restaurant was managed from the bar...not such a great idea.

    Big spacious and quiet room, proper desk and storage space, nice toiletries, good shower, friendly staff in reception. The Jan Tabak is a reliable business hotel (though this time it took several times to get the wifi to work). Good breakfast with plenty of choice, nice decor in the lobby, very prompt & efficient to organise taxis etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit expensive. And the heating was turned off in the room when I checked in though it was easily fixed.

    I was given an upgraded room which was v spacious. I also was super grateful for the fact that there was a desk and 2 plugs, one of which a British plug, as I had forgotten my adaptor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little outdated. I didn't have power outlets near the bed to charge my phone.

    The breakfast was really great. Wide assortment of foods. The hotel had a very nice lobby and bar, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when checked in, front desk did not inform about hotel facilities, i used to work in hotel industry for 15 years, and it's good chance to do upselling restourant or excursion or spa if they have, to check in guest.

    The staffs are helpfull and services are fast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was good but got very slow at busy times.

    Staff super friendly and went out there way to accommodate us. Needed a super early breakfast on one day (5am) and they arranged for the night porter to deliver us a breakfast box.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a queen/ king sized bed rather than two separate beds.

    Very friendly staff during our stay, but also before. Requested a baby bed in our room, which the team already prepared before arrival. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We selected a hotel suitable for invalids. We announced my wife as such and asked for an adapted room. She could not take a shower, because that was in the bath. Fortunately she can still walk a little bit, because a wheel chair would have given real trouble. We had our dog with us. Paid 20 euros for that privilege. No drinking bowl and we had to improvise.

    silence

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathtub with (too) big of a step to get out. Poor wifi in the room (good in central areas).

    Excellent bed, nice modern deco, good breakfast. Especially good location when traveling by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 25 min train ride into Amsterdam. Wasnt terrible though. One of tbe plug ins wouldnt work if one of the lights was turmed off.

    Bed was seriously amazing! Ac worked great. They were very accomodating esp arriving super late. I live that they had bikes on site to rent as well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The one problem we did have so far as the room was concerned was the cleaning staff did not appear until very late in the day and we had often returned from little trips out and about and the room had not been cleaned. Some days 4.30 p.m. others 3.00 p.m. The other thing is when we put dirty towels in the bath to be changed for clean ones, they were not taken and yet the cleaners spent time replacing toilet rolls with the little triangle being made on the front. It begs the questions as to why they spend time on toilet rolls and not cleaning the bathroom.

    The bed was very comfortable. We had room 327 and so a balcony which was very pleasant. The room was extremely quiet. We enjoyed the company of the bartender who always remembered what our favourite drink was and had these ready for when we arrived from a hot afternoon's travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of bathroom, is in need of refurbishment but seems because of this cleaning is minimal, floor not cleaned to good standard.

    The overall layout with area outside with fish pond is good. Breakfast was good. Room and bedding all clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Individual Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar drinks are a bit expensive.

    Located in a quiet area at the limit betwwen Naarden and Bussum. About 1 km away from the Naarden-Bussum train/bus station. Bus stop close to the hotel (but unfrequent service especially during weekends). Spacious room (some with balcony). Small bathroom. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. Road to hotel is tricky but is doable.

    A perfect out of the city location for Amsterdam. Easily accessible by road. Quiet, grand hotel - not a concrete box. Great breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware of mini-bar charges! After paying for my stay I was given the invoice and it was only at that time that I realized I was charged for something I did not consume from the mini-bar (a granola bar of about 2 EUR). I mentioned this to the lady on the front desk but she did not seem to care too much; she mentioned that they would refund my card but obviously this has not happened (and I have the feeling that they will not give me an money back). I left the hotel feeling like a liar and being fooled at the same time. I will never stay at this property again and I will most likely will not stay at any other NH hotel anywhere.

    The hotel is in a good location just outside of the A1 motorway. From there it is easy to move around to a lot of places around Amsterdam and beyond. There are plenty of parking spots so do not worry about that. The hotel is in a good condition and in my case I stayed at a recently renovated room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection was not very good; there were works on the suburban railway system which took us 1 hour (one way) instead of 20 minutes to Amsterdam and we were not informed about that

    bed was very comfortable; staff was quite nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dutch Pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup wonderful, breakfast very nice. Rooms nice we had a superior one so don't know what standard like. Staff very friendly. Lots of room in the hotel and it was peaceful and calm. Garden very nice to have a drink in when weather allows.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great. Hotel was conveniently.located and really good value for money being outsideAmsterdam. An easy 20 minute train ride from Amsterdam. bed was comfortable and rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was OK, but the blankets could have been bigger....

    The Location, friendliness of the staff, my room, the breakfast very well served with great variety of fruits !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    more options on the menu

    Comfortable rooms Lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service came too early in the morning to ask if they can do their service

    The king size bed, the large room and the big bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, free parking space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower above a very narrow bath; difficult to find your balance!

    The breakfast spread / choice was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work. Woke up undercooked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, room, bed. We often stay at this hotel and are never disappointed. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road and extremely expensive breakfast.

    The friendly staff. The bed and shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's time for a renovation in the rooms, getting to old.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little refreshment to some areas would make it perfect.

    Very good beds, very friendly staff at breakfast !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet a bit limited.non carpeted floor in the room was a bit basic

    We liked the trouser press and the bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, tatty, rooms outdated, prices restaurant not in relation to quality food. Actualle food was extremely poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large rooms, good breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second Floor is renewed, so it was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not good, fish and chips not recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    access to main roads, silence and confort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    All Staff were wonderful!! No complaints!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n.v.t.

    nice hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered un upgrade for a superior room,for 20 euros extra but room was very noisy and decoration a bare minimum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least one bedside light needs to be bright. Both lights were too dim to read by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was even better than the photos! Breakfast in the garden setting was gorgeous. Open fire, lovely bar equaled added bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room. Nice breakfast, dinner in the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been more powerful, but was OK.

    Excellent breakfast, great choice of food. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room and bed, very good breakfast. 20 minutes to Amsterdam center, easy access with a car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet and confortable

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothimg

    Everething

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have refurbished the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and the staff everyone was very kind and helpful could not fault them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room New Style
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    The hotel and the staff waas excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely stay, in a beautiful town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    look above....

    there was a false alert in the morning that caused us wake up early, quickly and frightened the room out from the hotel to the yard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals in the restaurant were only average

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 52 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse NH Bussum Jan Tabak traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: