Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Amsterdam Schiller 4 stars

Rembrandtplein 26-36, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 CV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#245 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1862 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping was terrible. Our room wasn’t cleaned on the first day and on the second day only the bed was made, bathroom not cleaned and room not cleaned.

    Location and we got an early check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of towels and bathroom not well cleaned.

    Hotel is not 4 star. Bad services and amenities, no air conditioner and unconfortable lobby and others. Every day at the evening the hotel occupied by events and no room for guests. Unacceptable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location is the best in the city center! Personnel is very friendly, helpful and professional. Super clean floors and the room. Nice relaxing atmosphere in the hotel, big and comfortable lobby. Can leave luggage after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk for tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast expensive for what one eats but an excellent selection.

    Excellent location, staff very friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable and rooms kept clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC in the rooms, although they do provide a fan in the room. It is loud if you face the square (as some of my friends did) but my room was great and we slept with windows opened.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful! The breakfast buffet was excellent. Location is great and walkable to everything. Restaurant staff was awesome especially Cherie who decorated the breakfast table for my birthday and always remembered what we drank 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and the hotel needs to be refurbished big time

    This hotel is in the centre and within walking distance of everywhere you want to go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with bad smell and alot of mosquitoes in our room, also ther is no A/C in the hotel. Even when we ordered for extra blankets they told us it’s not available. And the location not good for the family because it’s surrounded by the bars and smokey coffee every day there is fighting from drunk peoples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a bit small for the amount of money we paid but we would still go back. Very hot, no air conditioning in bedrooms.

    Staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Hotel spotlessly clean. Loved the location - didn't realise when I booked that it was in such a busy square but slept like a baby and noise wasn't an issue at all. Tram stop right in front of hotel which is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the furniture in rooms was renewed and looks fine. But chairs in rooms need to be replaced with new ones.

    Nice location, staff does their work perfectly. Pretty good breakfast and nice view of Rembrandt square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came to the hotel, they took us to our room at 3 pm. That was a disadvantage for us. For that high price of accomodation, it would be better if it included breakfast too.

    The location was really good. It was clean. The behivour of staff was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean at all and the cleaning during our stay was not acceptable. The info re the hotel's location should have clarified that the area is crowded at night and very noisy.

    Staff were very kind and efficient, incl reception and breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant / bar was a dutch Late night tv show every night. The room was not clean when we arrived so it was cleaned properly After we complained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty in access. If you have a baby with stroller or someone on wheelchair, don’t go. There is no help even from staff to hold a door or bring up a suitcase.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and I felt the hotel was overpriced. The cleaners weren't consistent.

    The location couldn't be beat and the staff went out of their way to be helpfully and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not very clean. There was dust on the old furniture, the carpet is too old and the heating was not working properly at our arrival! It was fixed upon request...

    Excellent breakfast! The location was great to walk toward all the touristic areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed each night at 7pm for filming of rtl late night tv show. We were unaware of this before arriving so it was disappointing.

    Location is so central, rooms are spacious and clean, staff are all very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the girl who served me on the front desk blindsided me by asking for a credit card to pay for a deposit. Something I've never been asked before and i've stayed in several Amsterdam hotels before. I only had my debit card so paid for the room there and then. Not that big an issue really, it was more the way she asked and spoke to me which was quite patronising, not what you want when you're tired and been out walking in a very cold and windy Amsterdam all day! The room was generally clean but the towels looks a bit dirty with brown stains.

    the room had everything I needed with a nice view of the square with the Rembrandt statue. Warm and comfortable, perfect for one night in a useful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was rude - they didn't welcome us, provide any help and during our check out they didn't even asked us how our stay was. Rooms were dirty - full of dust on furniture and bedside tables and a friend also found nails on the bathroom's floor. Everything seemed so old inside the hotel - I would definitely recommend a renovation. We asked for 1 twin bed and they gave us 2 single ones - they said it was Booking.com fault and not theirs. We also saw a rat running at the lobby but staff ignored us and behaved like we insulted their pet. Shall I write more?

    Location was fine but you can definately find better hotels in the same location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested balcony 4 months before stay, not given, €30 extra per night.. meant stay for 3 nights would be €520 The bar and restaurant were closed from 6pm every night, we were not notified before and this made our stay less comfortable as we could not eat or drink in hotel which was why we chose this hotel in the first place

    View from room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is old and poor. The wifi is slow and unstable. With such wifi, even very basic web-page cannot be open. The room is cold and laud noise outside in the very late night makes you unable to sleep.

    The bed is comfortable and the location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no electricity when we arrived, not offered any kind of complimentary drink etc, waited over 5hours to check in to be met with a very rude receptionist.noisy room, could hear the street noise and band playing in restaurant downstairs

    Great location, central to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complimentary water Couldn’t use the bar because first night they was filming a tv show & 2nd night there was an event, this was very disappointting.

    Room, breakfast, barstaff, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that i had dirty bedding and a rusty kettle. I know this was out of your control that the powercut and technically was not your fault. I would stay again to give it another go.

    Once we were settled into our room we enjoyed the time we spent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds need to be renewed. We had an over heating problem in our room because some hot pipes passing through the room that we couldn't control (Outside was around zero Celsius).

    Very good location. Excellent staff. Good room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv show recorded every nite in bar from 7 was closed no access to bar/restaurant was not pre-warned otherwise would have went elsewhere

    Good location good standard of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right on the square so we asked for a balcony room which we got but it was facing the back of the building where there wasn't a view just other hotels etc

    It was really nice the bed was comfortable and so close to everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are always rather unimpressive in comparison to a double, the room was very small - but did have everything I needed, so maybe this doesn't really fall within this category!

    Lovely view over the square and the rooftops! (I was on the 5th floor!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors and rooms smelled of cigarette smoke, and the room was too warm and dark.

    Very comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and cleanliness. The breakfast room was lovely and bright, very friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Better instructions on how to get to hotel would be good

    Excellent location and super helpful staff! Great views over the park.Close to lots of canals and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The RTL TV production made in the hotel every week day evening means that hotel guests don't have use of facilities.

    The hotel is in a beautiful square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good. Staff and hotel. Thankyou. My second stay first 10 years ago and now. Happy with both stays and glad it hadn't change or gone down hill over time. Brilliant will be revisiting 10 0ut 10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When checking in, told receptionist I only had visa debit to give for them to use as security before we actually payed on checkout. Was told money would not come out of that account, it was just as a security. However all the money came out of that account which left me with no spending money as I was going to split it with other guest when checking out. Staff were not apologetic at all and just said I should of known what kind of account I had even after they assured me money would not come out.

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Don't look nothing like the on line pictures the bath was dirty the room was box I asked for to single beds then got a double then box to a next room witch was stil a little box

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel room, we also had a great view of the square from our room, however the hotel took a £50 security deposit that hasn’t yet gone back into my account but can’t fault anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 star i would say needs alot of updating especially the bathroom

    Great location, although obviously very noisy at night as right next door to a coffee shop/bar/nightclub and in Rembrandt square with bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    HI, ALL WAS OK, EXEPT THE NOISE FROM THE STREET ALL DAY AND NIGHT !!!, THE ROOM ON FLOOR 2 TO THE STREET AND SQUARE, THE SHUTTED WINDOWS TRANSFER ALL THE NOISE SO THAT THE 4 STARS HOTEL CHANGED TO ALL STARS HOTEL, WE DIDNT SLEEP FOR 2 NIGHTS. WE ASKED FOR A HIGH AND QUIET ROOM AND GOT A LOW AND NOISY ROOM. ON THE BOOKING DEMAND FOR A ROOM FOR 2 PERSONS THERE WAS AN OFFER FOR A SINGLE ROOM !, THIS IS A MISTAKE IN WICH I FAILED AND ORDERED BY MISTAKE SO YOU MUST CORECT IT.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like how they treat they regular gusts requests. Also the breakfast was not so rich comparing with the price of the hotel nights.

    I liked the location in the center near Dam square and the surroundings are fantastic especially the narrow streets and alleyways with beautiful shops showcases, the area full of multi kind restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. All of the main attractions were only 15-20 minute walk or if you wanted to get the tram the stop is just opposite the hotel. Very friendly staff too and lovely and private rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is quite high. I understand this is probably due to the hotel’s location, but still, the hotel itself (cleanliness, general state of the sanitation and rooms) is “so and so”. It comes accross as a bit worn down. Breakfast is pretty standard. Not what you expect for such a high price.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old and tired hotel. Great Location on rembrandt plien but windows do not block out any noise from the square so it is very very noisy. Big screen opposite reflects light into room over top and side of curtains 24 hours a day. Room was not cleaned for 2 days and we had to complain on 2 consecutive days to even get the room hoovered and the bed made! Staff in bar are lovely but the receptionists are distant and unhelpful. Breakfast at 19.90 e each should have been amazing but at 9.30 am everything was picked over, rubbery eggs and little choice.

    Great Location on rembrandt plien not a lot more going for it to be honest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to leave

    The hotel was fantastic , great location great breakfast and even left something special in the room as we had a celebration

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren’t very comfortable. The first night we were kept awake as we were near a nightclub that was playing loud music until 6am. We spoke to the staff in the morning and they immediately moved us to a new room and gave us a free upgrade so couldn’t ask for more.

    Really helpful and friendly staff and nice big rooms. Excellent location and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit chilly, the duvet was very thin. The restaurant and bar was closed every evening which was a bit disappointing

    The location was perfect, the staff were wonderful. I informed them it was my partners 40th birthday and they left a chocolate message and balloons in our room. I also asked for a view and that we definitely had. Lovely stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy until 5am all weekend. Room not hovered or cleaned properly 2 days out of 5. Breakfast poor value for money. Room tired and bathroom had broken basin and old fashioned shower curtain

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 complimentary bottled water in the room daily for that price would not hurt right?

    Price was too expensive for a single bedroom with almost nothing in it. Twice higher than any other day. Amsterdam is too expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish there was a way to connect the twin beds so they didn't move apart during the night. But a very minor thing

    Everything was great. The staff was very nice and kind. The breakfast and the location were superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotels is a bit old, so even if it is renovated there were details like the shower or the hair dryer that didnt function very well. However while reporting this to front desk, it was fixed.

    Great location right in Rembrandtplein where you have plenty of stores, restaurants and bars and also walking distance from a lot of attractions. Good breakfast They actually asked me if I wanted a room with a view or a quiet one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't let the property deteriorate Please make the furniture in the room comfortable again.

    Great location. Near everything. The tram is just across the square. Very nice and good staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bed sheet, just a comforter. This was probably an oversight and I'm sure they would have corrected it, but we just passed out. I would stay here again.

    Gorgeous, amazing location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get slightly noisy outside at night, but that's the price for a lively popular location. Ear plugs are provided for sleeping. It's worth it for the location.

    Location was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel rooms could use a little up-dating.

    Bed comfy and firm. Fresh air from open window. Staff wonderful. Great Location . Would definitely stay again. Room small, quiet, comfortable and perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was dirty when I arrived. The hotel was not worth 4 stars.

    Breakfast was good. Tram stop was right in front of hotel, easy to get to the railway station. Shopping street was close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, it is right in Rembrandtplein, there are a lot of bars and restaurants there, even on Wednesday at 3 am people were extremely drunk and shouting outside. I was traveling for business so getting a good night sleep is important. I stayed at the 6th floor. The bathroom is pretty old and small, also the windows don't isolate very well.

    Location, in the middle of the city, close to the metro sttaion, well equipped room, even hand cream and body lotion, iron, ironing board, Nespresso capsules and machine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No power in the room for the complete stay. The only light working was in the toilet. I managed for two nights. Staff tried to help, but couldn't find the problem. A hotel room without lights and without electricity for that price - not good. Also, the room was not very clean, especially toilets.

    Friendly staff, great location next to bars, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is always good to stay in NH Schiller, for the past 5 years we stay in the same place because of the treatment and care we usually receive from this hotel management.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the ceiling of the bedroom had a lot of water stains which gave the room a tired feeling. The room was also very dark. Only one light point in the ceiling, above the entrance. Even with all the lamps on, it still felt dark. There is a Dutch tv show broadcasted from the hotel bar every night, which that you have to go through an airport like security when you want to get into the hotel. This can be anoying.

    Nice bedroom with very good bathroom. Really good amenities. Amazing location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room faced the square. It was a top floor. The curtains did not cover the rounded top of the windows. Although we wanted a nice weekend away, we did want to sleep well at night. So between the noise from the square and the light coming into the room from the windows, it was not very peaceful at night. It was the wrong room for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV show in the hotel was a disappointment. It restricted access to bar and dining from 6:30 onwards . It was a shame because you could not go to the hotel for a drink after the evening out. That was the only real bad thing about the hotel but it was enough not to go back to the hotel again.

    Location, Cleanliness and Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed, it was a bit to hard for my taste, but for people who like a very firm mattress it would be perfect. The channel list needed to be refreshed I think, because it was illogical, and some channels that you should have standard in the Netherlands just were not showing. The shower not being separate, but in the tub.

    We stayed in our own city for a weekend celebration, and we had a great stay at this hotel. The location is pretty much the best in town, right on the Rembrandt plein. The staff is super friendly, and the breakfast buffet is extensive. The room was quite small but clean with a large bed. The room was facing the inner yard, so it was quiet. You could hear some very faint disco music in the early hours, but nothing that bothered us at all. They provide earplugs for people that require total silence. The bathroom had a tub with a shower handle. If you some form of disability you might want to make a note of that, as you have to climb in and out of the tub. There is a flat screen TV with predominately Dutch, Belgian, German and English channels. To summarize we were very comfortable here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. I have paid considerably more for hotel rooms.. but never this much for so little..

    I love NH hotels, from the posh Palacio de la Tepa in Madrid to the more simple ones on Rembrandtsquare. I normally think they give very good value for money.. except this time.. The NH Schiller at over €200 a night?? Great location but so is the NH Central in Barcelona and the Schiller was way more expensive, way over the top. Otherwise, location superb, room comfortable, rather small though for a double.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price may be overrated

    Location & staff were awesome. Room & bathroom were spacious and nice. Overall if you don't sleep early this will be a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Coming back again for sure :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could of been a bit cleaner for a 4 star also extra pillows or cover

    The rooms where big and bonus we has a bath and shower also the view was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was led to believe when I booked on booking.com site i had booked a double room and that breakfast was included in the price of €200 PER NIGHT but the room had twin beds together and i was informed by the hotel i had booked room only at that price and if I wanted breakfast it would be at an additional cost. Bedroom quite small and awkward to get to bathroom as only about 1ft between the bottom of the bed and the wall which had a tv on it.

    Staff very friendly and helpful as I needed to check in for my return flights which i did on my tablet but wasn't sure how to go about emailing my boarding passes so they could print them off for me. The girls on the desk were so helpful and sorted it out for me. THANKS AGAIN GIRLS

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of night life in the square so it is a noisy location. Earplugs are provided in the room!

    Location is excellent--on several tram lines and close to major sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue we had was that the square the hotel is located on is a little noise, so it may not be best hotel if you are a very light sleeper.

    This is a wonderful hotel with excellent staff. Very helpful and accommodating. We were able to check in early and when we had unexpected circumstances arising they credited us the night we were unable to use. The facility was clean, spacious and comfortable. I would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff with a special welcome in our room for our 50th anniversary. This place is full of character and sits in a prime location. Lovely breakfast room and food selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was superb - in the center of all the action - The staff were very polite. The breakfast was a good spread and waiters were at hand to assist. I was particularly impressed by Kelvin who was always at hand to assist us. Annamarie and Shirwani at the reception were jolly and always willing to assist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Art Deco style of the hotel was lovely and the art of the original owner was a nice touch around the building. If you want to be in the heart of Amsterdam this location couldn't be bettered. The breakfast is good value if you decide to opt for that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel really needs some renovations.Small room with quite a dirty rug and dirty curtains.Very old and tiny bathroom with a bathtub and shower curtain,also very slippery.Doesn't deserve 4 stars.

    Great breakfast,comfortable beds and right in the city centre!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, the place was great!

    The room was spacious and quiet, even with the loudness of outside. With the windows open you get a nice breeze. Staff was very nice and flexible when we had to cut our trip short to return home for a major hurricane.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time we came in the hotel we got interagated by a bouncer as we must of not fitted in with the average customer, but we paid more than average to stay here so I was not impressed with that at all. Staff were great in general though

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, the noise, the fact the bar is closed weekday evenings - this wasn't obvious when we booked. Erratic provisioning of the tea and coffee making supplies in the bedroom.

    We liked the kettle in the bedroom and the atmosphere of the building itself, the fluffy bathrobes and the handcream.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked small packets of biscuits in the room for the tea. Also would have liked sachets of long life milk in the room. We had no milk. Didn't know how to work the espresso machine so I would have liked coffee sachets that you just add water too

    A great selection of food for breakfast. Very friendly & helpful staff. Very clean & comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed about extra tax charges which in our booking confirmation stated that 'all payment including taxes has been paid for'. On arrival we gave a €50 deposit, of which the man called Ali said we will get 44 of this back on departure. (We assumed we would be able to have this money back, leaving this for lunch at the airport). On departure day, we only got €23 back, and were told we had to pay an additional tax on top of the taxes we had already paid. This was not made clear on our email confirmation at all.

    Bedroom lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not worth the price we paid. I would also not want to stay in this hotel with children and be walking back at night from dinner with so many people drunk and partying in the square until all hours of the night. For the price of the hotel, I would have expected much better facilities, better bathroom, bigger room, a lift that you don't have to wait ten minutes to arrive. It is a very expensive hotel with very little in the way of hotel facilities, I would have expected at least a gym, or them to have an arrangement with one (there is a gym around the corner with drop in prices for 9 euros). The minibar was also expensive and for this price, many hotels would at least give away bottle of coke for free. There was nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, but I did not feel I got value for money by staying there, and will not be back based on that fact alone.

    The location of the hotel is good if you want to be close to clubs and bar and all the action in the centre of Amsterdam, but if you have a room which faces the street it can be very loud at night. We stayed in a room not facing the street with much less noise, but friends facing the street had problems sleeping. They provide ear plugs, so they clearly know it's an issue. This is something which comes from staying in the busy downtown party area and not avoidable, so best to be realistic and know what you are getting into if you choose to stay in this area.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Amsterdam Schiller traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: