Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nicolaas Witsen 3 stars

Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#196 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1318 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Very poor value for money and a generally unpleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and a window that faces the sun all day, the room was unbearably hot which meant we had to open a window and be bitten by mosquitoes. Room way too small, two single beds (NOT twins as promised) were jammed next to each other. Bathroom was tiny, you couldn’t even open the door to it without it hitting one of the beds. Breakfast was extremely poor value for 12.50, as is paying 4 euros for a bottle of water that likely cost them 80 cents. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels on work and for leisure and have never left a review before - this was really, really bad value for money and should never have been advertised as a room for 2 people, it’s not even big enough for one.

    Not much it was incredibly basic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay - my first solo visit overseas. I will definitely recommend Nicolaas Witsen to any co.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast charge expensive for me as I have only tea and toast for this meal. I wonder if in future, a lesser charge for a light breakfast would be possible?

    I was able to walk everywhere from this excellent location. I was able to book museum entries and other activities at the front desk. I was also able to access a shuttle service to the airport through the hotel staff - and the driver I had was especially helpful in providing me with a trolley for my heavy suitcase at the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I REALLY DID NOT HAVE ANY SIGNIFICANT CRITICISMS APART FROM THE AVSENCE OF A MINI BAR IN THE ROOMS.

    I LIKED EVERYTHING ABOUT THE PROPERTY & ESPECIALLY THE STAFF WHO WERE SO FRIENDLY & HELPFUL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    An adequate 3-star hotel if you can get a room at the lower price points.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room and bathroom smelled very strongly of baby powder-like carpet cleaner -- not something I am normally sensitive to, but the smell was so intense that it bothered me. Fortunately it wore off after a day. If you require quiet to sleep, request a room at the back of the hotel. I had a room on the first floor overlooking the street, and there was a lot of ambient noise: construction across the street and a tram line at the end of the street, which runs pretty much at all hours. It was warm so I needed to sleep with the window open. Fortunately I brought earplugs.

    My room was very clean and nicely, if sparely, furnished. The staff was cordial and helpful with requests (navigating the European-style windows, lending me an iron). The Wi Fi was good for my needs: emailing and checking train schedules, etc. The location is within walking distance of major museums and attractions, and tram and bus lines, while the street itself is quiet and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff who made recommendations on places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could have benefitted from some air conditioning

    Friendly, helpful staff who made recommendations on places to eat, helped book tickets for attractions, & even went the 'extra mile' by providing an early breakfast on the morning of our departure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    The location is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like mold. Entire place hasn’t seen paint in 40 years. Doors need replacing. Stairs are scary. I had bugs in my room. Feels more like an old hostel. Location, location.

    The location is amazing... the staff amazing! Clean sheets and towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great experience: strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I booked in advance and requested a double bed, Hotel offered a room with two single beds. When questioning the staff, I was informed that in all available rooms the configuration would be the same. But this inconvenience did not compromise comfort.

    The hotel is well located, in a quiet street but within easy reach. Close to the tram stop and 10 minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum - where, there is (besides great museums, of course) the stop of the airport bus. The room is comfortable, very clean and adequately heated. The staff is attentive and gentle - as are the Dutch in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay with a nice staff, walking distance to a lot and easy public trans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Literally just AC, but that's not a downfall any more or less than just a heads up. Bathroom was a bit small but again it's a small place and still had everything you need.

    Beds were comfortable and the room was just big enough for 2 people. The front desk staff was helpful with tickets to museums and it was nice to buy a public trans pass right at the hotel. Night caps at the bar after a day out were enjoyable. You leave your key at the front desk when you are out for the day, which makes it safe and sound from losing it. We were easy walks away from the museum district, heineken, many cafes and bars, and the public transit took us everywhere else (there are stops very close to the hotel). Overall, it was a great place to stay if you and your travelling companion are down for close quarters. The only downfall was lack of AC, but that's a netherlands thing and I'm just always hot. I'd stay here again and would recommend for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows a bit too soft but comfy enough.

    The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly as well as professional. Chantal was lovely. The hotel is close to all transport and walking distance to museums Heineken experience, ice bar and hop on hop off boat tours!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional service from all staff, clean, comfortable beds, very accommodating to me and grandkids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    outside seating area would have been nice but, overall, every moment of my stay here was satisfying.

    the staff was extremely helpful and kind. The breakfast was excellent during my stay and the cook was so very helpful in accommodating my teenage granddaughters as they usually slept in too late to arrive prior to breakfast ending. I will stay there again and have told all my friends who are planning a trip to Amsterdam that, they will not be sorry as Hotel Nicholas Witsen was exceptional in every way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and generally the hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny room on the ground floor and it was very noisy outside. You can hear people walking, talking and even hear the noise coming from the kitchen and the diner.

    Staff was friendly and generally the hotel is clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent service good size rooms hotel in walking distance of everything we wanted to do also tram stop at end of road .room was clean staff were great bathroom was good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Great little hotel, among the cheaper of its neighbors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a safe in the room. I could hear the radio from next door, which was unfortunate as it was tuned to a religious station that I didn't particular wish to hear all about, and played way past 1am!! Not the hotel's fault but I was glad for my ear plugs.

    I really liked this hotel! The single room I stayed in was small but well thought out, and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, with a good shower. Very nice breakfast with eggs and bacon or pancakes cooked to order, and very good fresh coffee, served by friendly staff. Fantastic location in a scenic part of Amsterdam, well located for public transport and lots of fun bars, shops and restaurants around. I had a conference at RAI centre, and it was easy to get there, but also much more scenic than staying near the conference centre!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The room was not very large, especially the toilet -Everything is a little retro

    -Good price -Not far from the main attractions and close to the tram stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Will maybe recommend this for those who have a lot of time to explore Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small for 2 people. This is not close to the center, but it is ok if you want to be in a more quiet place.

    The room was clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    We will be back 🤢😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was a tad small.

    The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The young lady who did the weekend breakfast was a star. She cooked us exactly what we wanted. Very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay for my daughter's 18th birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just the best for someone who loves cheese and doesn't get bacon and ham often as she lives in Istanbul. The room was a good size and had everything we needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Nice staff, good location, and a tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room walls were quite thin, so you could hear it as people walk down the hall and open their own room door. This was a bit confusing since it's loud enough to sound as if they were trying to open our door.

    The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was just right. The location is pretty good, it's well situated between the museums and city center -- just a short walk to either one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Warm friendly reception from the staff which is not always the case at many hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately during our stay there was a lot of construction noise in the street Below my room from early in the morning. But that obviously would not be a constant

    Wonderful friendly service at breakfast as well as at reception. Good breakfast selection. Very good central location. Will use this hotel again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Antique, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can easily wake up in 2:00 am hearing guests coming up late to the hotel talking or walking even if their voices were low.

    Everything was good, the room, the bathroom, the beds, the staff of the hotel and its location given that it's nearby the Heineken Experience building, it's like in the center of the center, connects between the museum island and the Dam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, within 20-30 min walk of all major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic, functional.

    Great location, within 20-30 min walk of all major attractions - even quicker if you prefer the trams. Very friendly staff :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Even with the small disadvantages, it was great and I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not changed the towel even that it was a little bit dirty from the day before, the bathroom was small.

    The crew was nice and welcoming, the car service to the airport was great as well. The cleaning was daily and strict.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything, I disliked about the hotel. I suppose the smallest criticism would be more coffee/sugar and creamer in the room

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was suitable for purpose and was lovely and warm..it was freezing outside!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room with all amenities required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room with all amenities required. Location was really good with a 10 minute walk to old town. Very friendly staff who are happy to help and recommend places to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little tired but nothing that wasn't expected. The location could have been more central but it really didn't cause us a problem and let's face it, the location isn't the hotels fault :-)

    The hotel had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was nice and warm. Just what we needed after the bitter cold weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    The staff is friendly and helpful, they were kind enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room isn't very spacious. It would be perfect for a couple, but for three persons is a bit small. The location isn't great if you're planning to walk a lot, like we did. The hotel is located about 2km far from the city center. But if you plan to take the tram every time, you should be fine, it's a quiet and nice zone near Albert Cuyp Market. I think it was overpriced all things considered, but maybe it is the Amsterdam standard price!

    The staff is friendly and helpful, they were kind enough to print our boarding passes for our return flight. They provide clean towels everyday, some nice bathroom goodies (shower gel, shampoo, body lotion) and they offer tea and coffee. The wifi is excelent! Super strong signal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous cosy European style boutique hotel location in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful & friendly .....very easy picture perfect walk or ride to all the action nearby but further enough away so you get a peaceful nights sleep zzzzzzzzz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Firstly I booked a small room for 1.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly I booked a small room for 1. But when I arrived have been proposed to take a room for 3 with 3 small separate bads, looks like dormitory. Thanks to stuff they changed my room finally. Also there were a wiered smell in the morning. I think there were some ventilation problems as starting from 6 in the morning there was a bacon smell in my room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Room was perfect for what we needed, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When leaving the room you had to leave your key with the reception staff, we didn’t on the first night and baisically got told off. When you come back and collect the key, you just say room number, no need to prove who you are- anyone could walk in and take it! Didn’t feel very secure with that method.

    Room was perfect for what we needed, in a great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    My best vacation in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location. Really close to all the coffeeshops and museums in town. Highly recommended if you travel alone. Great breakfast, very nice staff, excellent Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    I liked the hospitality on reception and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like only one thing. All hotel smelled in the morning with fried oil and my clothes and hair was smell like that all day( only one minus.

    I liked the hospitality on reception and very good breakfast. Was very warm in the room and cozy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, relaxed base for inner city sight-seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The doors and steps are really not suitable for wheelchair access.

    the staff were very helpful in moving me around in my wheelchair and making arrangements for me to get to places in Amsterdam. The breakfasts were excellent and it was nice not to have to rush in the morning. The breakfast staff were particularly nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    The young lady at the reception was very kind sympathic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the single room there is almost no space between the lavatory and wc that makes sitting on the closer very uncomfortable. I didn't like it when i got to know by my personal effort that the phone in my room wasn't working and for this reason I should have missed the wake up call i had asked earlier. I would almost miss the flight. It would be much better to have electronic key cards without having to interact with receptionists everytime you go in and out of the hotel.

    The young lady at the reception was very kind sympathic and helpful. 10 points go for her. All the staff was kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really helpful, there is a lot of information...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were small

    The staff was really helpful, there is a lot of information for tourists attractions. You can buy tickets for canal cruise and hop on hop off bus there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Its was warm and cosy
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt have a double bed when we was meant to we had two singles put together and not having breakfast including with the stay.

    Its was warm and cosy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    You'd better stay there
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No toothbrush and no toothpaste

    Everything were good, I liked my breakfast. Location was excellent because it is located in the middle of city centre and the south of Amsterdam so you can chose where to go, both sides very interesting and you will easily find good places such as museum, cafe, entertainment and so on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Quiet cosy place. Amazing breakfast. Close to main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing breakfast. Fresh orange juice. The croissants are just perfect. The place is VERY quiet (restaurants, rooms, neighborhood). It is 10 minutes away from Heineken Factory, cruises. A few minutes away from public transportation. We were allowed to do early checkin on the first day as we arrived at 5:30am.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very soft - keep in mind if you have a bad back. Also some building work going on opposite outside when we were there. Not a big problem unless you are a very light sleeper.

    Good location. Friendly and havevery helpful staff. Lift very useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Clean, accurate ordering, all shampoos good and soap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too soft bad, old fashion facility, problems with temperature regulation during winter, no minibar in room

    Clean, accurate ordering, all shampoos good and soap

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    I AMsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating system was a bit noisy with the water drops.

    The staff were super friendly, 24/7 sitting there and waiting for you. The beds are comfy and rooms are cleaned daily. The location is amazing in the very center of Amsterdam. (10 minutes from everything)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, basic room but has everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cramped, we had to keep moving the towel rail to get to the toilet. Our double bed was two singles put together, they kept moving apart so we had to push them back together multiple times.

    Great location, walking distance to all main attractions but on a quiet street so not disturbed at night. Staff very friendly and helpful, reception manned 24/7. Great free WiFi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Satisfied and happy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On my floor and room specifically, it wasnt very soundproof. So when someone was entering their room next door, it almost sounded as if they were entering our room. It wasnt terribly noisy and once I realised what was happening, it didnt disturb me anymore. But if youre very sensitive with sound, that is the only sound you will deal with (from rooms next door). Other then that though, the hotel is located is a nice quiet street and 0 noise.

    It's not the most modern hotel in terms of design and vibe. Its very old school cosy though. That being said, its very cosy and has all one needs. TV, comfy bed, heating, WIFI, soaps etc. The staff is super duper friendly. Location was great for us. Id go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very outgoing and had few words of welcome or anything else for that matter. Information stated room would have a safety desposit box - but disappointed to see this was v old not v secure and had no key or instructions on how to use.

    Lovely quiet location an easy 10 - 12 min walk from the very centre. Well presented, clean, tidy and quiet. Bathroom especially was in good condition with excellent hot water and shower was very good. Room was discreetly cleaned every day without disturbing me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    A great central base for a stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a lovely place to stay in Amsterdam! The staff were really accommodating and even let us check in early and leave our bags at the end of the trip so that we didn't have to carry them about all day. The facilities were great, and the room was very comfortable! About a half hour walk from Centraal and close to a tram stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 33 at the top of the hotel. Small bathroom, but was only for my son and myself, so was adequate enough for us. Not so much a negative, but just a heads up if you are planing to stay there. I'm sure other rooms may be larger.

    Very friendly staff. Location was excellent. Met the owner on the last day, again very welcoming. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Safe, secure and friendly boutique hotel which caters to your needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I only tried breakfast on the last day. The food is good; just make sure your plate and mug is clean. Better to have your breakfast at the nearby street market on the parallel road behind or close to the hotel... You can even buy it from the supermarket, or walk a few meters to the shops.

    The location is excellent. It's close to the Heineken Brewery, the market, and the museums. Overall the staff was friendly, and informative. They helped me with city directions, and even booked me a shuttle to the airport which was less expensive than the taxi I wanted to take. Good value for money! Definitely suits your purpose if you're looking for a practical venue that delivers your raw necessities; however, if you want something luxurious or more dandy, opt for another place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean Room, Helpful Staff, Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could've done with a repaint.

    Breakfast: One of the best we've had! Bacon, Eggs and Pancakes available as well as Croissant, Toast, Bread Rolls with Cheese and Ham, Lots of Jams and Spreads, Selection of Tea and Coffee. Staff very helpful in the Breakfast Room. Cleanliness: Clean corridors, clean room and modern bathroom. Very good facilities for what we've paid! Location: Just a 30 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station (head south from the station, past Madam Tussauds and head towards the Heineken Experience). 10 minute from Leidseplein (good restaurants nearby) and Rijksmuseum. 5 minute walk from Heineken Experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Warm pleasant and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am a tall person and find the bathroom a little cramped. This is not a complaint as the facilities are clean and fully functional. Just a tiny bit more room might be nice.

    A warm welcome (in very good English) at reception. A lift to all floors. Clean and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Basic but in the City center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite cold room, you have to ask staff to turn on heating.

    Basic but in the City center. Public transport just around the corner, but you can also reach everything walking. WiFi works fine. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, exciting stay, I will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It was rated 3 stars and this was a fair rating for the accommodation but their service was first class.

    They got gluten free bread in especially for me and gave my sister and I a room change without any fuss. My sister hurt her back whilst on the tram and the night manager was so considerate and helpful. We felt well looked after by all the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    few more power sockets would be great :)

    good location, close to the tram, few supermarkets and cafes. It was really easy to get to the city center by foot. friendly staff and quiet street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Very nice hotel in a good location , comfortable and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put the sign 'Do not disturb' but for the room service that didn't mean anything, they anyway knocked on the door and opened it.

    Very nice hotel in a good location , comfortable and clean room with all essential facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfy, nice, would absolutely go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is a bit far from the city center (around 20-30 mins walking), but there are a nearby tram station which will take you there withing 5-10 mins.

    The bed was great, comfy. Windows are large and you can open them. The room had some space. Bathroom was good. The food was great but there is not much variety there. The place was quite. Very recommended. >>> Bonus ( Don't forget to take a coupon from the resection for a 5 euro discount for the canal cruise)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Quiet area at night, location near to both the city center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As everywhere in Amsterdam prices were quite high

    Quiet area at night, location near to both the city center and museumsplein. Friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a fairly minor point in that the room didn't have a personal safe so had to take passports/all cash around Amsterdam.

    The Location was really good for sightseeing and the staff were extremely helpful and informative. I liked the fact that you could book for attractions (with a discount) and also for public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Room was on the first floor and I don't think they had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very difficult to find because of the confusing street structure (it's on a side street)and not well marked on the outside. No one in the area could explain the street structure (odd since they lived there) It was very convenient to the trams once we figured out where it was.

    Room was on the first floor and I don't think they had a lift. The room was clean, functional, and mostly comfortable. There was no A/C or any way to get air moving in the room so it felt stuffy. The room was also pretty small for a triple (but that was expected). They also helped us with some attractions tickets. The staff was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area not comfortable for a relaxed drink

    Excellent location within easy walking distance of museums and canal excursions. Good range of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely traditional building, walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about. Lovely hotel.

    Lovely traditional building, walking distance from Rembrandtsplien, a little far out from other things but it's close to the tram. First class service from the friendly, hardworking staff. Perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Hotel staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were 2 singles on wheels, kept rolling apart! Was slightly far away from centre around a 20-30 minute walk to most places!

    Hotel staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    The front desk gentleman at night was a wealth of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is expensive in this area.

    The front desk gentleman at night was a wealth of information and helped us considerably, The location was good, right near a metro stop, Italian restaurants and a canal tour stop. The family room is in the back and is very quiet. Extra bathrooms located just outside the room were handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Front desk staffers were very friendly, accommodating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staffers were very friendly, accommodating, informative, etc. Location was in quiet, safe area close to museums. Beds were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    The location makes up for the property's shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accommodation was fairly basic.

    The location of this property is excellent. 5 minutes walk to Rembrandt square and multiple tram lines running a stone's throw away from the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Very clean, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue, Tv was old, reception not great (though staff offered to have it checked), limited range of channels and remote very slow to operate.

    Staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Was OK but for an unwelcoming rude evening receptionnist....!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very rude unwelcoming even hostile evening receptionist.... One Feels tied to reception (Receptionnist) because Hotel Still using old give key (to go out) - retrieve key(to go in) from reception, system instead of magnetic cards Quite a walk from Amsterdam Centraal station

    Cleaness , Quite Location.... Two kind, lovely and Helpful Ladies as Morning receptionists

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is greatly located in a very nice and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is greatly located in a very nice and quiet (important because Amsterdam is a party place) area, at waking distance from the center, and close to the Heineken factory and the museum area (including also Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum); so the location gives the possibility to easily reach the main touristic spots through panoramic walks on the canals. The room was not big, but quite clean and comfortable. The staff is really friendly and helpful, and the hotel directly provides facilities like cruise tickets and bicycle rental services. The reception works 24x7 and is available for any need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is situated near to city center, in quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a small room on the first floor ( room No. 2 ). The windows was closed with wood planks. It was not possible to open the windows. On the windows was spider web. Must note that I was compensated for it by hotel.

    The hotel is situated near to city center, in quiet street. Good breakfast. Clean room ( small for thee persons ) and bathroom. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I had an issue with da night staff @first , but it turned out that it was a misunderstanding,

    Jan & Alex are nice gentlemen,They assisted me with change of the booking,cool hints about da city ,cruise tickets, great Taxi to da Airport and so on, The location is pretty well, Room size is sufficient for couple of nights, Amsterdam's downtown is one of da most expensive neighbours in Europe, The hotel is reasonable value for the money paid, Therefore I recommend you to stay @ this hotel, Best of luck,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay probably a bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic Staircase could kill you if tipsy. We had quite a decent size room and kept cool, others in our party had full sun in their room had to request a fan and bathroom a bit small

    Location just the right distance to get around, not near any noisy places shops and eating drinking near by. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Good staff make an average place good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of room was not what I predicted it to be. It was not that clean I expected.

    The staff there were really kind and supportive, especially the Pakistani receptionist, Navid Abid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    3.3
    Poor beds, angry midnight porter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was dirty and towels extremely small. One member was staff was quite rude when we arrived back to the hotel late and didn't like friends visiting, even though we'd paid £200 for the room.

    It was close to the centre and was a nice walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    We were treated with helpful friendliness and thoughtful suggestions. We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have been able to cool the rooms better. The safes for valuables were "funky".

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great. Good value for the cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Simple but sufficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The television did not work, but that was not that big of a deal although I enjoy watching television in other countries even if I do not understand it! :)

    The location was great; there were three tram stops nearby and a Albert Heijn the next street over. I found the bed to be comfy. I also liked the bathtub, which is not so common, especially in Europe. The staff was super helpful: I needed to be at the airport by 5 AM, and one of them arranged a taxi at a fixed rate, so I wouldn't have to worry about figuring out the night bus. The front desk also sells 1, 2, 3-day public transportation tickets (although I did not realize this until my last night.) Internet connection was AWESOME!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Nicolaas Hotel Very good place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nicolaas Hotel Very good place .. it's clean and orderly .. great service and very sweet people working there ... and great location in amsterdam center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    We visited Amsterdam for a congress in RAI.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not the cheapest but Amsterdam is rather expensive alltogether

    We visited Amsterdam for a congress in RAI. The tram Connection to/from RAI und to/from City Center was excellent. Very nice restaurans in 10 Min Walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Basic accommodation in quiet, accessible neighborhood
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel's website says that breakfast is included for all rooms. However, apparently booking through booking.com negates the breakfast, and the staff told us this at breakfast on our first morning. The property is not air conditioned, which can be uncomfortable in peak summer heat.

    The location was good, and the rooms tidy and mostly comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Nicolaas Witsen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: