Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Nieuw Minerva Leiden 3 stars

Boommarkt 23, 2311 EA Leiden, Netherlands

#12 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable place, at the heart of Leiden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I missed a minifridge at the room. No air-conditioning. It was ok for an Autumn stay, but I would not consider it for Summer.

    Perfect location. Comfortable, charming room with nice bathroom. Beautiful view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The hotel helped make Leiden a wonderful place for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing; just the noise, which is not anyone's fault.

    The building(s) has a history of its own--houses built during the glorious age of trade and imperial expansion and refurbished as a hotel in modern times. The hotel is a short and pleasant walk from Leiden Centraal and the major museums in town. I requested a room overlooking the Rhine and did not regret the choice--I had a nice view of the bridges, canals, and shops that surround the hotel. The only minor complaint was the noise, which I have to say is still bearable, given the hotel's proximity to the Wednesday and Saturday makeshift markets and to the two main shopping streets of lovely Leiden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    A quaint old fashioned environment, excellent breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quaint old fashioned environment, excellent breakfast. Clean comfortable and central. The only thing it lacks are tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms . Most people appreciate this first thing in the morning. Very friendly helpful receptionists. Would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff was incredibly helpful with every detail.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was incredibly helpful with every detail. I believe, as an international student, your first time in the city is of paramount importance and Hotel Nieuw Minerva made it even better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Two working weeks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The hotel lacks air conditioning and proper thermal insulation. Of course, air conditioning is not an issue 95% of the time in the Netherlands but it turns out that I was there during a one week heat wave and this was a bit hard. Fortunately I was working in a place with air conditioning. Also the beds are really not at modern standards: please replace them by better beds for people who suffer from back problems! To summarize, the main weakness is that the hotel needs some lifting on these aspects: not something crazy but some equipments are not to the standard of todays hotels, even in expensive cities like Paris.

    The hotel has a great location in Leiden's old center which is perfect for visiting the city. It is not too far from the train and bus station and therefore is very convenient for one day trips to other cities. The hotel has a lot of charm and the personnel is very kind. The bedroom was large with a nice view on the canal. However, there is a bad side to the old-fashioned charms. See my comments.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good bargain with the price offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location and good bargain with the price offered. Some problem to dealt with as our room has not been cleaned one day. And a staffer not very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    It has the best location ever, i can’t think of a better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has the best location ever, i can’t think of a better position to stay in Leiden. The rooms are very nice, with very much attention to details. We stayed here for the second time and now we had the Rembrand Room wich was wow. You felt yourself put back in time. The last tine we had room number 40, wich was also very nice. It is by any means the place to stay when visiting Leiden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Great for young healthy tourists who travel by train
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking space, public parking is not possible without a dutch bank card, parking is expensive and far. No lift. The dutch breakfast is based mainly on hydrocarbs.

    Nice place, big room. The staff of the front desk is very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel far from expectations, the room inconsistent with the description
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room on the third floor without the elevator and with very steep stairs, difficult with the luggage. I ordered one kingsize bed (150-180 cm). Instead of this I had two single very narrow beds, standing together, not connected at all, furthermore both on wheels as in the hospital and they rode on the wooden floor with every move I made. Seems they have never heard of pads on the mattress connecting two beds. The staff did not clean my room and even gave the reception that I did not want to, which was a lie.

    Good location just in the center, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Just OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and unremarkable. I guess we were paying for the location as the room wasn’t cheap. Breakfast was not included which always disappoints me when a room is a bit pricey. The tv in the room was an old portable from the 1990s so really not great with the World Cup on at the time. No fridge in the room. No air conditioning. Not a fabulous stay. Just OK.

    The power shower was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    A very friendly hotel in an ace location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small and very little hanging space for clothes.

    I was initially a little disappointed as our room was rather small. But this hotel grew on us as all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it is in such an excellent location with a great view of the waterside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A 10-15 minute walk from the train station, Staff was helpful and friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although travelers aren't staying there to watch TV ... the TV could be updated .

    A 10-15 minute walk from the train station, Staff was helpful and friendly, Room was great and clean with large bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable few days in a beautiful city and atmospheric hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the street through the night but it didn't wake my husband and after all, it is right in the centre of town with a canal outside the window.

    Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our rooms were full of character and the hotel had a real feel of Dutch tradition. My room had a canopied bed with 'stars' above our heads, pillars supporting the beams and a lovely big bath in the room itself as well as a shower in the bathroom. Huge room. Loved it. The room our friends were in was full of roses, perfect for the young couple they are. Location is great too, right in the heart of Leiden which is a beautiful city. No need to drive, walk around the city centre and enjoy some history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice if you don't intend to spend much time in your room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friday night party is just outside the door so could get noisy if you wanted an early night. My room had no view.

    Staff were very helpful and location great. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The look of the rooms inside. Tea/ Coffee faculty should be there.

    Location is great. Breakfast was just ok. Inside rooms the look is old. Though the room was big. With the kind of tariff they charge, they could have given tea/coffee facility in the room. There was no lift. At my age, it was uncomfortable. Wifi was great. Staff was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Hotel and staff were the icing on our 6 night stay in Lieden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. But would not have wanted to miss staying here because of that. Of course I stayed in May, not summer.

    Location, Location, Location. Room spacious and comfortable, bath very clean and up to date. Within walking distance to train station. Morning breakfast nothing fancy but more than adequate. Eggs, meats and cheese, rolls, jelly, and the best sliced bread I have every eaten. Not their problem but mine, was two flights of stairs (no elevator). The building is very quaint Dutch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Inexpensive for the area but not the most comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is rather old, although some might find that charming. The room I was in was not very spacious and rather hot on a sunny day. The hotel is inexpensive but there are other hotels in the same price range that probably offer a bit more comfort. Toiletpaper dispenser with seperate sheets was cumbersome and placed in an inconvenient spot.

    It's in the middle of the center, staff are friendly. Breakfast is basic (mostly bread and eggs) but relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Really very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a terrace on first floor accessible from some rooms on the first floor, it could be better furnished and clean.

    The interior of the reception and breakfast area is very nicela furnished, it was amazing to stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Leiden is a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leiden is a beautiful city. We are glad to have chosen this hotel. The accommodation was super - silent and no noise. The reception was always nice and willing to provide information. Availability of the hotel to the city - excellent. We recommend everyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Location next to the canal is nice, although our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our room, we heard a permanent noise, like from a water boiler - not horribly loud, but loud enough to affect our sleep.

    Location next to the canal is nice, although our room was faced to a not very pretty inner courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Location, location, location! Nothing fancy or fresh about the hotel. Basic. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a first time visitor to Leiden, and during the bulb blooming season, it would have been nice to have the front desk staff be more helpful and informative on how to get to the bulb fields or even access transportation to the Keukenhof. When I checked in and asked the responses were lukewarm, and really amounted to I can't help you with that. Really? That could have been much better! (By the way, tickets can be bought at the VVV store - which is just about 200 steps from Leiden Centraal station. Or directly on the keukenhof bus. Bus stop is at the Leiden Centraal Train station; front entrance and in front of the bicycle parking garage. Have fun!

    The hotel is in a wonderful location for getting around Leiden. Everything is literally steps ways from the door. As a matter of fact, I would discourage the use of a car in this location. Travel by train and then get on your walking shoes .... or rent a bike! I loved that part of the stay. There are many restaurants close by; and the canal is right outside the door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    O.K. for the purpose of having a party around in the neighbourhood
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough time / opportunity to enjoy bridal suite facilities Could neither discover coffee or teamaker in the room nor fridge. Breakfast quite sober. Slow WiFi. Outdated and very small TV (would one anyhow need it in a bridal suite...?)

    Free upgrade to bridal suite with great bathing facilities and nice lighting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, very friendly. Good location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh shower gels etc are provided everything is from a big bottle which I found a bit deterring. When I arrived fat 11 Pm the windows of the room were still open, it is nice that the room is ventilated with fresh air, however when it is freezing outside and past 8 they should close the windows so you can arrive in a warm place.

    Very nice location in the middle of the city. Nice venue and restaurant. Classic old building very stylish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    A very basic hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is very basic , they aren't allowed to have a lift so you have to carry your luggage up to the room. That is one tough job. The amenities are non existent, there is no coffee or tea option in the room, there is absolutely nothing there. the furniture is dated and somewhat not in the most perfect condition, the sofa's had stains, the bathroom is cold .. the shower is small. If you plan to stay there for a night or two , it would hardly matter. but if you are staying for a week then you usually do need more amenities.

    The hotel is very basic, it is well decorated and is in a beautiful historic building by the canals, and the staff is great. The main bazar is right next to it and there is a bike rental right in the tiny next street. The location is about a kilometer from the central station but mostly it is walkable. The staff is the most positive aspect of the place, they let me keep my road bike up in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    The heatin was turned off, when we checked in and it took...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heatin was turned off, when we checked in and it took some time to warm up the room. It wouldn't be a problem if the weather was not freezing cold outside :-), but otherwise everything was fine and we liked it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel doesn't have an elevator, so I needed to go up stairs with my 15kg luggage.

    I absolutely love the atmosphere of this hotel. I enjoyed the view from the windows every morning during my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    The hotel was historical, yet had modern conveniences.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that I would say could be improved is the variety of selection at the breakfast. The breakfast was good for the price and convenience.

    The hotel was historical, yet had modern conveniences. The staff was accomodating and professional. The room was large and comfortable. I loved the idea that my pet was welcome and could stay for no extra fees. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean, confortable, close to center, but a little pricy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in the price of the room, which was already more than I would've liked.

    Great staff, warm and friendly, at the reception when I checked in. Building is well kept, clean and tidy. I got a room with a beautiful view to the canal, with one double bed and 2 bunk beds. Bathroom equipment worked perfectly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location- the very centre of Leiden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Found yellow stains on toilet seat upon arrival, there was no lunch provided if staff were not present (or something like that) despite being within open hours.

    Fantastic location- the very centre of Leiden. This is a modest hotel and good quality for money. Cleaning could be more thorough (esp re toilet seat) but this could have been one-off slip. Restaurant hours are tricky: I was denied lunch on a Sunday 12: 20 pm despite being open and the reason of it was unclear. Room was ample and quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Nicely located small and cute hotel by the canal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street on Friday night was quite disturbing and the breakfast was very basic.

    Nicely located small and cute hotel by the canal. The reception area was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Just for location, don't expect anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is too bad, keeps getting disconnected every now and then. Breakfast buffet was very limited. And the funny thing they put the same soap for hand wash, and body and hair wash.

    The best thing about the hotel is it's location. Staff is also friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location and staff, room needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room definititely needs updating. The wall opposite the bed had all sorts of scratches from luggage, the lamp shade next to the bed had discoloring, and the remote for the TV did not work. It was a very small room too.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. I also found the staff at the recpetion very welcoming and helpful. Parking is easy - there is a large parking lot about 5 minutes away and free shuttle service to and from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Very spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room for two didn't have a bed for two. Just two single-person beds pushed next to each other. The lobby is nicely decorated, but the room wasn't, at all. It also did not have a view (facing blind wall of opposite building). Vacuum cleaners just left out in the corridors give a sloppy impression. Breakfast - cold bread. No veggies.

    Very spacious rooms. Central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Adequate standards for a reasonable price in an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not easy - Public car park is 10 minutes walk away, but only 6 Euros per day. Furninshings are a little tired - rather a 60s look! Breakfast adequate, but lacked imagination.

    Location is very central, and nicely placed beside the canal. Reception was friendly and helpful. Leiden is so charming!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    location very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the quality of the breakfast is poor. Coffee is awful, no good fruits, no good cereals.

    location very convenient. a very nice house and entrance hall, the breakfast hall is very nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant spot in the heart of Leiden ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea making facilities in the room.

    Brillant location in the heart of Leiden. Historical building with lots of atmosphere. Simple meals and breakfast available. Bars, restaurants, shopping and sightseeing on the doorstep - all within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay if you value location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's so central, it can be rather noisy at night (my room was on the third floor, corner, facing the canal). There's a pub at the adjacent building and depending on your room is located, you could hear the noise through the walls (the walls are rather thin). Also, because it's a very old building, whenever heavy vehicles pass by, the bed shakes a little. Light sleepers might want to take note.

    The best thing about the hotel was its location. It made all the difference because everything (places of interest, restaurants, shopping street, etc) is within walking distance. The room is clean and cosy and the staff members was polite and helpful. Ask for a room with a canal view - it gives you a great view of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    It is petite and pretty in a very comfortable location close to the shopping street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But I expected the room to be a bit more colourful ( like on pictures) than it was.

    Very nice location, the view on the side of the river is really pretty. The reception and other common spaces are decorated very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Exemplary location, however this does not justify the price to quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and damp, which was a perfect climate for the mosquito that was plaguing me at night. Availability of toiletries were minimal, expect only bare necessities. There was a laughably small old CRT TV from the 90s, practically worthless.

    The location is superb! Breakfast was nice and decent for only a small fee. Staff is friendly. Dinning and lounge have a nice relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    good for a night out in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lightning in the room, hotwatertap didn't work properly (I nearly burned myself), room with a view to.....another wall !

    Great location on one the the canals in the middle of Leiden, shuttle service to the parking, discount for the parking, basic breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Very cute and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator could be an issue for some Also had extra bunk bed in our room with yucky view out back, rooms in front are probably nicer to be in

    Very cute and great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Street Noise a Real Shortcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very clean but all of the soap and shampoo dispensers were practically empty. There was no fan in the room which was intolerable due to the street noise from the open windows. This was a front room with direct exposure to the drunken students on the streets making noise into the wee hours.

    Nice staff that aimed to be helpful. For example, I was allowed to store my road bike in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel in the center of Leiden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not something that I did not really like

    I really like the surroundings and the atmosphere in the hotel - really cozy and warm. The hotel is really quiet and the staff is always really nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    Good location, but very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to say that the accommodation was extremely basic. A small poorly-ventilated room little larger than the bed - no aircon, safe or iron. The double bed was actually two uncomfortable single beds that didn't fit together. The downstairs area of the hotel appears recently refurbished, as reflected by the photos online. But the upstairs area can only be described as shabby. Also, unfortunately my room overlooked a nearby bar which was loud in the early morning.

    Location was convenient, directly facing onto a canal with restaurants, cafes, and shops all nearby. Leiden is a small compact town and the central train station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Staff were quite friendly and the free Wifi seemed reliable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Unique, old hotel at the heart of the city by the canals
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather was glorious during my visit which meant that late-night boating and revelry was popular. This meant that my canal-side room was occasionally a bit noisy at night, especially with wanting to keep the window open to keep it cool (no aircon). But it is a student town, so noise is to be expected, and who can complain about good weather in the Netherlands!

    Unique, old hotel at excellent value for money. Beautiful location on the canal-side, close to many restaurants, bars, and shops. Staff were excellent and very accommodating, and of course speak perfect English too. Location is also very walkable to the main train station. The room itself was basic but functional, with a nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    charming little hotel on lovely canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was lugging luggage up two flights of stairs

    Charming little well located hotel on the canal. Nice large bedroom and bath with tub. Only problem was lugging luggage up two flights of stairs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    SWEET-CUTE-PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are quite small, two people have trouble moving around. No Air-conditioning. No wending machine, for late night snacking! Better be prepared.

    Location, Location, Location. Rooms have a sweet Paris view, for first timers like myself, it was not a problem at all. Hotel had friendly staff, not many facilities, but can do. Who wants to stay indoors in Paris! Surrounded by a variety of restaurants, pastry shops and what not, its perfect to spend time near Eiffel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    - The staff was really helpful and patient, thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The WIFI didn't work anywhere in the hotel during our stay, the staff noticed but the problem still wasn't fixed within two days - The rooms are not really soundproof, we can hear other people talking and walking

    - The staff was really helpful and patient, thumbs up! - Overall, the rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Unusual hotel, great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Quaint hotel in a historic building, very well situated for visiting the town. We had a bizarre room, with garden gnomes and a display case devoted to a Dutch singer (room 30). It was fun!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Got to like it with time more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a back room and no view. Bathroom clean but very small.

    Some rooms have canal views. They have more noise but the view is lovely. Brilliant location for everything. Good parking arrangements.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we booked 3 rooms several months ago and wanted a canal facing rooms for my children adult so that they could experience being in a canal house.

    Warm feeling of being real.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was 2 twins together. Individually, they were comfortable, but nothing held the beds together, so they would separate easilly. Room #1 was next to the restaurant and you can hear drunk people laughing too hard while we tried to sleep.

    Large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    The location was good and staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given was below another with the most squeaky floorboards. Our upstairs neighbours were up from 6.30 am and we heard every footstep

    The location was good and staff helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payed a rather high price for a hotel with shared bathroom and a rather average room, I feel like we were paying for the location. Walls are thin, we were woken up by a couple arguing on the street (with closed window). Other reviews are true about small TV and steep stairs but no issue if you are fit and going out in the evening.

    The hotel is located at the very center of Leiden so every site is accessible by a short walk. De Waag, a great place to eat & drink is just a few steps away. Friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.2
    We were given the bridal suite which was lovely and big with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The television was very small and old fashioned, not a big issue but they do need upgrading.

    We were given the bridal suite which was lovely and big with a bath in the room, (there is a separate shower/toilet room !! ) The room was quirky with lots of colours and material and the floor was a little creaky. We had breakfast on the last day , it was ok but there were no sweet pastries. The hotel is in the middle of Leiden and we had a canal view . There were plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    An experience but not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not old person or disabled friendly. Very steep long staircases. No help offered with suitcases. No lift. Room and bathroom very small and cramped. All toilets too low for older ladies, with no grab rails. We survived but felt very tired when we left. We will choose a more modern hotel in future.

    Old Dutch atmosphere. Disabled parking in road just outside. Very old character hotel with lots of Delft tiling and antiques Good situation in centre of town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, clean room with original features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The city cleaners went on to collect the garbagebins at 8 o'clock in the morning. On a Sunday!!! No safety locker available in the room.

    Nice place, clean room with original features. Close to everything, very quiet until ...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Friendly good value hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to be able to make ourselves tea in the room. Breakfast was good for choice but a bit underwhelming

    Loved the box bed in our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    4.6
    Too expensive for what it is. Location OK, nice and central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was small and poorly illuminated. It was impossible to read. I had a room with an Arabic style, maybe they thought it must be like that. The breakfast was also unsatisfactory. Poor choice: no muesli, no yogurt, no fresh eggs, no fresh jam.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.8
    Location is wonderful, and as Leiden is a small city, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -Front desk was nice, but not very helpful in terms of practical questions (such as "where can I buy an umbrella"; they simply did not know!) -No toothbrush or toothpaste in the room -Instead of one big bed (Queen or King size), they put two twin size beds together, so it was not comfortable sleeping. If you move while you sleep, you might fall through the crack (I did). Apparently not all rooms are this set up, so request a specific bed configuration beforehand. But otherwise, the hotel is wonderful, quiet and nice.

    Location is wonderful, and as Leiden is a small city, and the hotel is located in the center, almost everywhere is reachable on foot. It is in a beautiful area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    Good standard for a three star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of a lift which I hadn't noticed when I booked as I currently have a back injury. The standard room was fine for me but a bit small for two people especially the shower en suite.

    The location was perfect for my needs as it is halfway between the University and the station nr the town centre shops and restaurants. I was visiting friends at the University. Breakfast was adequate at 9 Euros which I thought was reasonable. The hotel has Dutch character downstairs unlike the modern ones nr the station. .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    LOCATION brilliant, breakfast surcharge unacceptable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    definitely overpriced, especially since breakfast is not included (and the surcharge is obscene). This means you're gonna get ripped off or waste a lot of time getting your cuppa. This is very cheap of them and totally unnecessary

    very nice hotel at a great location, great staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Single night in Leiden in a super special room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We arrived late at night, and we could only inform the hotel at the last minute. They promptly replied, and it was no problem to change our arrival time. Once arriving in the hotel we got a bonus: we were going to stay in the special newlyweds room! Just fantastic, we couldn't be happier, it was a great night!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location in historic centre overlooking canal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location in historic centre overlooking canal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for business trip to Leiden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just keep in mind that there is no elevator, but OK for me.

    Staff are extremely kind and helpful. Room is clean, nice, bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Perfect stay. Would defo go back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.. had a great stay

    Friendly, helpful and clean. Good spot to tour Leiden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff were very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was hot in mid summer.

    Location and staff were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reallly charming hotel excellent location and friendly staff

    Rooms are clean and a bit different from modern boxy hotels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    very good for reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the noise from outside was terrible

    the view of channel was very impressive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Terrible hotel in good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    The position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Big rooms, great view on the canal, central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit smelly in the hall on the first day and in the room too, particularly in the bathroom.

    Big rooms, great view on the canal, central position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff, good sized room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi a bit bariablet

    Excellent location, friendly staff, good sized room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay in a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    Great central location. Good breakfast spread. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Happy stay in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floors!

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Hotel Nieuw Minerva Leiden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: