Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3 stars

Nassaukade 368, Oud-West, 1054 AB Amsterdam, Netherlands

#300 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 698 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    I loved the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the rooms are very awkward to walk down. Very hard to carry big suitcases.also tv was broken and was told it couldn't be fixed during our stay.Also payment is done terribly

    I loved the room. The bed was great and bathroom was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    I stayed here for the 2nd time now and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our basin in the bathroom did not drain properly - but this did not affect our comfort much. When it’s fixed than this would be a perfect stay.

    This hotel is very modern and relaxing - it was my 2nd stay in the hotel and i would definitely stay again. Not the cheapest stay but definitely good value for money. Highly recommended. Breakfast is very nice and we had a basement room with an access to a small garden. It is also very quiet in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Would not recommend or stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Noisy (they provide ear plugs in the room. Do I need to say anything else ?? ) Also, bathroom is horrible. No shower door or curtains and the water splashes all over the floor Into the bedroom.

    It was clean and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Good enough
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the basement can be reached by using a straight and narrow staircase, then be careful if carrying large suitcases. Room more beautiful on the pictures but still minimum standard respected. Do not expect a bright room in the basement. In my room , no available sockets around the bed.. pity. Minimalist breakfast but still ok.

    Hotel located roughly 20 minutes from Dam square and Royal Palace. Room quite calm and minimum standard of confort (Bed) reached. Cute and tiny bathroom for rooms located in de basement. The room was quite clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Last minute one nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute and were glad to find this place but generally speaking accomodation prices in Amsterdam are becoming crazy.

    Nice friendly staff, cozy accomodation and very good position to visit the city. Room good for couples since the bathroom is separated only by a thin glass door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, with a good cost compared to other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ticks in our room and bed. Definitely not a nice experience as we got bitten.

    Nice place, with a good cost compared to other hotels. The staff was amazing and super friendly, helping us out all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    ok, but very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked 3 rooms on Booking.com, 1 double and 2 twin rooms. When we arrived we were told the hotel does not have twin room, and I feel it was unfair to expect to men to share a double bed. The hotel manager tried to say we booked incorrectly, but that is not true, the rooms are therefore incorrectly advertised, twin rooms means 2 single beds!!! Rooms were extremely small, box like and you can hear everything through the walls!! Pictures are extremely miss leading. Our group managed to sort out our own sleeping arrangements as the hotel said they could not, but have said they will refund us 1 night - so I will wait for that?? Sorry just being honest.

    Location and front of house staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electric-plug in the double room basement is too far from the bed. No kettle in the room.

    Nice and helpful staff, nice bath-tub in the double room basement. The location near Rijkmuseum I amsterdam sign (walking distance)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Okayish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had walls through which you could hear movement at all times. The heater didn’t work. The bathroom doesn’t have a shower curtain and door is see through, not ideal for friends

    Towels and toiletries provided

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities. Stairs are steep and rooms very small. This wasn't a problem for us but might be for some people. Quite expensive too!

    Location was great! Short distance from most things. Amsterdam is beautiful, you wont regret going! Great transport links near by and lots to see and do within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    Central location but very basic. At almost €100 per night during mid week I expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room TV did not work it would turn on but lost reception in about 5 minutes, couldn’t relax and watch a programme at night very annoying. Bathroom was very very very small with see through door, shower was poorly positioned meaning water went everywhere and the floor was sopping wet. Beds were changed most days but the room was very dusty. Pictures on booking.com are misleading for this property

    Staff were friendly and location was central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel would book again - basement room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, maybe the noise but this couldn't be avoided and it wasn't an issue for us.

    Nice room, great bathroom, convenient location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.6
    Not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was located in the basement below the lobby of the hotel so we could hear all the floor creaking and stepping upstairs. We booked 3 rooms, same type and price but all of the rooms had different sizes, one of those incredibly small. Way overpriced compared to the experience. They charged me in advance so I couldn't cancel. Wish I could dispute the charge on my card.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable two night stay with very good staff service. Room slightly worn but still good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sealant in bathroom needs redoing, picture/headboard colour clash, paint mauve wall above wardrobe to match rest of walls, replace marked desk area.

    Blue Pepper Restaurant next door, comfy bed,good view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Small basement room, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far walk from the centre for the money we would have liked to have been closer. Had a room in basement very small and basic

    The hotel staff were very polite and welcoming. Easy check in and out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The only thing - the bathroom is literally merged with the room and it's just got glass transparent door so there is little privacy when you need to use it ;)

    +Great location +Really friendly staff +Comfortable bed +Nice bathroom +The "small room" isn't small, it has plenty of space

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, good value for money, not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy because you hear the water flushes from other rooms. Strange glass doors in a bathroom which don't provide the necessary level of silence in a room

    Very helpful staff, good value for money, not far from the very centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, right near everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase was a challenge every night!! Haha, and you could hear everything going on In the next room and all over the hotel but appart from that nothing, everything was great 👍🏻

    Lovely hotel, right near everything! The staff was amazing.. Friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a lovely view of the canal, also the maids let you sleep.. They didn’t come knocking at the crack of dawn to clean your room, couldn’t comment on the breakfast as we was never ready before 10 to go down. But would defiantly recommend staying here to anyone going to Amsterdam!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    perfect sleepover after a Melkweg concert. No more, no less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    the woman at the reception spoke 'Dutch' (our native tongue) but is was really hard to understand what she was saying.

    we booked the room to spend the night after attending a concert at Melkweg. That was pretty much what this hotel was: close to the venue and a comfortable bed to sleep in. Clean but also just. Not much to it but we slept well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved it. Really friendly check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass panel “door” in the bathroom was a little off putting. No lock, and a clear visible window in the middle of the frosted glass meant you couldn’t hide! A towel helped cover it, but a real door would be an investment.

    Check in was really friendly. Went to an event in the Melkweg, which is only a few minutes walk. Was perfect for our trip. The stairs were steep as described in other reviews, however it is a house converted to a hotel, so we lugged our suitcase and didn’t move it until departure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    The staffs are really friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staffs are really friendly! We all enjoy staying in the hotel, and if I visit Amsterdam in the future, I will definitely stay here again! Highly recommended for everyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice for a weekend getaway, not that nice for comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was not very good and sound proofing is next to nothing. You can hear everything comining from the other rooms. Also, our rooms looked like it was not ready to be a room. The bathroom had a half-door transparent division which gave us 0 privacy.

    Staff is amazing! Super nice, helpful and location is really good as well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.6
    Good location but uncomfortable room. I will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was poor value for money, the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were shocking. The room was very cold and I had to go to reception to get them to fix the heating in my room. The reception closed at 8 which is too early. I would not call this a hotel. It was a glorified hostel, I will not be staying here again.

    The location was very good, it was close to transport and only a 10 minute walk from pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Close to shops, bars etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 30/40 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal, public transport was available however. The room was small.

    Close to shops, bars etc. Room was really modern and had everything we needed. Check in was really easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    We had an amazing few days over new year made better by the excellent hotel, location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more room!

    Excellent location within walking distance of all sights, bars etc. The staff were lovely and the breakfast worth booking. This was a lovely hotel although the rooms were small, they were clean and very well presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one gripe- there was an eaten bit of fruit in the bowl in our room that had been turned over

    The staff were lovely on arrival. The safe wasn’t in action so they were straight on it. Warm and comfy room with a nice spacious bathroom. We felt safe here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the ground floor of the hotel which meant you were woken whenever people returned from their respective nights out. In addition the layout of the room meant it was difficult to open the toilet / bathroom door fully.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in at 3pm and check out at 11am, it means that for one night you have the facility of the hotel available for you for less than 24 hours.

    The hotel location is perfect. Not far from the Museums square and walking distance from all the main city attractions. Right at the edge of the city center. The staff is very friendly and available in giving all information needed for tourists. The room we had was in basement and it was lovely: I have never seen such a nice bedroom in a basement, nice big windows, comfy and warm room. Very nice bathroom with all you need in a very small space, cozy and perfect for a short stay. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Quirky little hotel in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a leaky shower and taps.

    The location was great! It was a 5/10 minute walk to Leidseplein and Museum Quarter. Great tram links for the centre of town and for the airport. Loved that it was in a traditional town house. Gave the hotel real character!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for me, and the door of the bathroom was from glass, and even a mirror was on the front door so from certain viewpoints it was visible when the other used the toilet... This is not for new lovers :) And they gave us only one towel, which was torn.

    Some clubs were nearby which is a good point for me. We've spent only one night there, so I can't actually say nothing special, but it was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Lee was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs but this is the norm in older properties in Amsterdam. Not a criticism though. Quirky. I liked it.

    Lee was very helpful and friendly. Location was excellent for museum district and most other popular attractions. (10 to 15 minutes walk)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom has a glass door, a bit troublesome when your doing your thing. Room is tight.

    Its's near Vondel Park, Heineken Experience and Rijks Museum. Close to restaurant and shops. Friendly staff and we had no problem checking in at 2am in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, no tea/coffee facilities in room, no iron in room despite description stating there would be, no clock/alarm in room despite stating there would be. Leaking shower which wasn't fixed during our stay - it was very noisy dripping all the time as the bathroom isn't separated. Room needs painting.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is in an ideal place and is adequate for a few short days. It is small but friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi fares are expensive. Watch out for the trams. Wear flat shoes/trainers

    Lea and Sabastian were both polite,helpful and welcoming. Our room was small but it was adequate and had a nice ensuite. The hotel is near to the museums, canal boat cruises and there are shops and restaurants about 5mins away. We found our room to be quiet although you do hear others coming in to the hotel late at night on and off as we did ourselves but it soon settles down again. We thought Amsterdam was very pretty. Beware of the bike lanes!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Great location but rough around the edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a trickle and at extreme temperatures which wasn't great if you're there for more than a night and there were marks on pretty much every wall and surface. I know Amsterdam can be quite pricey but this is not what you want when paying so much!

    The room was quite large and was nice that is had a dressing table and couch. Was in a good location near all the theatres with great restaurants, bars and shops a short walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Location was good for walking distance to centre or for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom doors were glass so no privacy here wen using shower/toilet. There was a kettle in the room but no coffee/tea facilities which is something I always like in a hotel. Definitelyget train and tram from airport which will only cost about 15/16€ for 2 people because a taxi will set you back 45€ which is madness but we got taxi when we arrived at airport as we didn't know where we were going butility found ithe easy to get back to airport by train.

    Location was good for walking distance to centre or for trams if you don't feel like doing too much walking. Bars,shops,and restaurants all within a couple of mins walk and Dam square could be reached by few mins in a tram or walking if happy to do so. Basement room was small but cosy but in Amsterdam you wouldn't be spending much time in hotel as there is so much to see. Room was perfect for a couple. We had a little terrace which was lovely with table and chairs. We didn't have breakfast included in rate so cannot comment on food but plenty of places to get food just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.9
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast was very poor, the salmon stayed outside with no refrigerator - There was no hot water in our room - The bed sheets were not clean - The closet was leaking and was not fixed - The room smelled very bad!

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Beware of he stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you travel with heavy luggage you need to consider there is a stair with narrow steps to get to the hotel door from the street, and, secondly, if you room is in the upper level the stair to get there is even worse, almost impossible. The shower box has no curtain or screen so all the bathroom gets wet.

    The location is good. Breakfast was OK too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I truly enjoy my trip to Amsterdam, the staff at the hotel were super friendly and the hotel is super quite and clean. Thank you so much for looking after us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    comfortable and friendly hotel for people with not to many demands
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room downstairs has much noise though from frontdesk, no utilities in the room to make a coffee or tea. But for the price I paid it didn't bother much

    very clean place, easy acces to the hotel, very able to sleep cause not much noise around, close to museum area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Well connection with the airport, easy to walk to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very noisy. The bathroom door is just a glass, is not very confortable even if you share with familiar or close friends. And the shower needs a curtain or screen, when you take a shower all the the bathroom gets wet.

    Well connection with the airport, easy to walk to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Boutique city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep narrow stairs are difficult for large luggage and poor mobility. The door less shower makes for a wet floor. The frosted glass makes for limited privacy for toilet use. (There is a toilet by reception)

    The location is very good, it is a pleasant walk, maybe 20 minutes from Dam Square but you pass along the main canals and the gorgeous streets. The wifi was very good in the room. Typical of city hotels the room was not very big but was adequate for a stay that only required the room for sleep! We did not have breakfast included but the continental fare we saw looked good. There are some very good restaurants close by if you want breakfast elsewhere. It is very close to the bus station for a direct bus to the airport, take the 197 which is about €5 oneway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy in reception grabbed our suitcases and carried then up the steepest stairs I've ever seen ! Never saw cleaners but every day came back to tidied and clean rooms ! Great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Sweet and simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairwell was tight but manageable.

    The location was great. Right on the water and close to a bus stop. The room we had gave us access to the garden. It was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Very clean hotel, cheerful staff, but room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gloomy lighting in our basement room. My husband is 6'4" and kept hitting his head on a cheap metal ceiling light which dangled down on a wire outside the bathroom. See through bathroom doors, no privacy whatsoever. No shower curtain and sink faucet very stylish but totally impractical, too big and gets in the way, can't bend over the sink. Only one towel bar, which would be ok if there was a shower curtain rod to use. Concrete floor but no rugs so very cold underfoot. Reception closes at 8pm so you have to ring a bell for service to check in if you arrive after that time, which we did. Assistance comes from another hotel nearby. For this reason you have to pay for your entire stay at check in.

    Breakfast was fine. A few cereals, juice, flaky croissants, bread for toasting, salmon, cold meats/cheese, hard boiled eggs ( :( ), decent coffee. Small cake muffins not so good, very dry. Breakfast tables on the small side. Breakfast from 7:15-11am M-F, 8:15-11 Sat/Sun. Our basement room (#4) had a small patio area through a garden door, which made the room feel a little bigger than it is (it's very small). The airport bus (197) terminal is a 10 min walk, direct route, just €5 p.p.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    We had a room full of windows with bright lights at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room full of windows with bright lights at night. The curtains didn't do a good job of blocking the light. It is on the corner and a busy street. They Need eye mask and ear plugs for guest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    The hotel isclose to Vondelpark and museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small and bathroom hasn't got a door. The price is much for the location and rooms. There is no very close market to hotel.

    The hotel isclose to Vondelpark and museums. The officer was helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    A place to come back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairways. Oh God! Those stairs really have put my 66 years old legs to the test. A small inconvenience though, that comes with the beautiful architecture of the city center.

    Nice, warm hosting. From the professional elegant style of the day host - whose name I failed to catch - to the jovial authenticity of Sebastian. If you get to a strange city, after hours, a bit lost and famished, Sebastian is the guy you want to find at the desk. Obrigado Sebastian.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    In the room there was a little problem with the wall and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark.

    In the room there was a little problem with the wall and they fixed it right away! It is clean and quite. The street has awsome caffes :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.8
    Not worthy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very bad and not like shown in booking.com Breakfast also average. They given us the room from the next entrance. Not worthy at all.

    nothing was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was worn and uncomfortable, springs were gone, had holes and when asked for it to be changed it never was. Guy working at reception when we arrived was extremely rude and told us off for ringing the wrong bell to get in(there was 2 bells and no sign) Tv reception was poor. No privacy in bathroom as only had glass panels as doors. Very noisy, could hear people at reception talking clearly and we were upstairs.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.0
    Very dirty hotel, multiple things in room were broken
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lamp, window lock and door lock were broken. Very noisy. The design pillows and walls were stained and there is no secure parking although this is mentioned on the booking page.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the high price, extremely disappointing, NOTHING like the pictures
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - NOTHING like the pictures - no bathroom doors, only some glass - very small and no so clean room - no soundproof - you will hear everything that's happening in the hotel

    Location is OK, but that's the only advantage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.1
    Walking distance to the square in Leidseplein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the basement rooms were a little strange. Shower was over the bath but on the side wall so water goes everywhere, the whole bathroom/floor/door get soaked, but is very clean. Also pillows were uncomfortable.

    Walking distance to the square in Leidseplein. Didn't know there were so many restaurant/pubs near the hotel there, plus plenty of shops too. Great location for transport, Only 5 minutes on the tram into Dam.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    5.8
    There was a little patio/garden that was attached to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were dirty, it looked like they never cleaned the patio before and the bathroom was in need of a deep cleaning. They also forgot to give us toilet paper (they took it away).

    There was a little patio/garden that was attached to our room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    4.2
    Fine for what we paid but I wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They did not replace the coffee or tea in the room and didn't change the cups after we drank out of them. There was a fridge in the room but it was molded at the back. The bathroom door was a glass frosted swing door that you could basically see through. Unless you are very comfortable with your partner it was awkward enough going to the bathroom in there and you could hear everything. Other guests came back late a few nights and were very loud yet there was no staff around to quite them down. Stairs is very narrow and steep if you had big bags it would have been tough enough carrying them up those stairs.

    Very good location near the center of things, easy to get to from the airport, there was a nice view of canal from room which was nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    4.2
    Liked the bath room, bed wasn't too bad, customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights hanging from the ceiling, no bin in the room, no drink making facilities, floor not cleaned, dust around room,no storage for clothes and room very minimalistic (a bed and a cupboard 2 coat hangers and a "balcony" which you climbed out of a window to access)

    Liked the bath room, bed wasn't too bad, customer service was okay too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.3
    Amsterdam for NYE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little expensive for the size of the room and facilities.

    The staff were really helpful and kind. Great breakfast in the morning and excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door is stained glass but you could see everything it didnt bother us but if i was staying with someone else like family member etc.it would of been a bit of a problem

    Nice quiet area but still not to far. Lovely continental breakfast and the staff were brilliant. One member in particular went out of his way for us and always full of chat (cant think of his name)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    Clean but tiny room in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and there wasn't enough space for two people. The loo was covered only with a glass door, so practically not sound proofed while using the loo, which sounds like a minor thing but it kind of creates a little bit of a problem when the room is already really tiny. Could works nicely for a solo traveler but not so much for a couple.

    Location, staff was friendly, rooms were clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Customer Care is excellent and assisted us to all our needs. Rooms are very cosy and very clean Hotel is in a central location (near Leidseplein)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    3 night basement room stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, clean, simple hotel. We stayed in the basement room which had access to a terrace/patio, nice and private too. Our room was super cozy&warm and enjoyed coming back to it each evening. Our bed was comfortable and was made everyday and fresh towels replaced. Wifi was a bonus and worked excellently. Overall, excellent hotel really enjoyed my stay, a 10/10 from me!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    From the time we arrived the gentleman who greeted us was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bloody stairs

    From the time we arrived the gentleman who greeted us was so friendly and helpful and of course the bed was divine. Aircon irrespective of the time of year is always most welcome

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The moment I walked in I was disappointed. The reception was that of a hostel and there is no area in reception to sit or relax at all. We were lucky to be in a ground floor room, as the stairs going upstairs were like ladders. The walls were paper thin and we were woken during the night by the noise of other guests. Worst of all though, the bathroom in the room had a transparent door so there was zero privacy. Also thought the location would be better. I am used to traveling and staying in budget accommodation but I forked out a little extra expecting a nice hotel to stay in with my mother but I may as well have stayed in a hostel.

    The beds were comfortable. The hotel was warm and you could control the heat of the bedroom yourself. There was good pressure in the shower. The place was clean and the location is safe and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.5
    Great limited amenities-budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staircase to carry big luggage up was too narrow. Breakfast should be included with room price like most European packages

    Staff was very friendly and always ready to help with questions. Very clean hotel located on a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.7
    Our room was very small couldn't open the bathroom door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small couldn't open the bathroom door fully without it hitting the bed , our friends had the same type of room which was bigger , so I guess it's luck of the draw Staff were helpful , room was clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful & comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it could be helpful to have an automatic drink/water dispenser for the night because the reception close after 20:00. My room in the ground floor was cute but really small!! Not a real wardrobe.

    The staff was great!! Internet perfect and the position excellent!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    5.8
    Nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a reservation for 4 nights in this hotel. The location of the hotel is great, the breakfast is correct and the staff is very welcoming. Unfortunatly after our first night my husband GOT bite all over his body et face by bed bug. I killed one on the bed. We told the receptionist and said he was sorry, he said the room would be cleaned again. On the second night, same things happen and I killed two other bugs. The hotel was full so we couldn't switch room. So the hotel send us to an other hôtel for the 2 remaining nights... I'm so dissapointed, what's more the hotel where they send us was less expansive... Now I am scared that some bug might be in our stuff

    Nice and friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.9
    The location is good (near Leidsplein Bus stop from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is in our opinion too soft and lacks isolation in terms of sound.

    The location is good (near Leidsplein Bus stop from the airport, museum área and Heineken Experience, etc). Also the staff was very usufully - thank you for all the tips! They were precious! The breakfast has what we consider as essential: fresh bread, fruit, yogurts, cereals, cheese and ham, and a sweat to go with the good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice break great part of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small shower curtain and bigger bed. The rooms are small but still nice enough a larger bed to the wall would be more pleasant with a more comfy mattress especially if staying longer than a few nights.

    Location was good , breakfast OK and staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant and decor enhances atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - You can hear *everything* in this hotel. - Compared to UK, this is a bit overpriced (e.g. compared to Premier Inn) but that is more down to space and flooring than anything else, which is mostly down to old Amsterdam buildings. - Luggage is stored in a small open space just outside reception rather than any dedicated locked room

    - pleasant room with some space to move around with ease (much more so than a local competitor I've also stayed in...) - The bathroom had patterned glass as a door which made the space seem less cramped, along with the full length mirror on the back of the door. - Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.7
    The cost was far too high for the facilties offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internal stairs were narrow to the point of being dangerous. The breakfast was minimal, worst of the three hotels I stayed in in the Netherlands. The room was as pictured, but still turned out to be smaller than I expected. The furniture was less comfortable than expected for a hotel charging as much as it did. I would never stay in this hotel again.

    Location just outside the center was good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    5.4
    Staff were super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a lot of sewerage that came up through the toilet and stunk my room out The other room we had flooded NO discount or compensation was given Only the offer of a free breakfast which was worth 12 euro

    Staff were super friendly good location for the city centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Definately recomment the canal view room. For a great stay in Amsterdam dont look any further.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much could have been better, the bathroom shower is a wet room and a little slippy when wet so perhaps a hand rail would have been good. If you aren't comfortable having your partner seeing you in the bathroom you might find the glass doors embarrassing. We loved the quirky spiral stairs but some might find them a challenge as they are a little steep.

    We loved the fact that there were only a few rooms which made for a quiet break. It also meant that breakfast was a relaxed affair and you did not have any queue. The staff were excellent and helped us by explaining our map and how to get around, where to see and where to avoid. Nothing was any trouble for them and they were always smiling and cheerful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples on a weekend break. Our canal room view was great and only a few minutes walk from the tram stop which goes all over the city although if you like you can stroll to the shops and museums.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    3.8
    A very disappointing start to our visit to Amsterdam.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up a narrow, steep flight of stairs up which it was very difficult to take luggage...plus they were dangerous in our opinion and a friend who came to help us move out actually slipped and grazed his elbow. It was impossible for us to stay as my husband could not negotiate these stairs. Also, noisy - both from traffic and other guests the place being so small. Mention of the access to rooms should be made - not all travellers are young!

    The ' night' manager who came to book us in was not at all helpful - in fact quite off hand. I had informed the hotel we would be arriving after 8pm. The man on duty the following morning was very kind and understanding and in the end we managed to negotiate our withdrawal in a satisfactory manner.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NL Hotel District Leidseplein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: