Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nova Hotel 3 stars

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 RS Amsterdam, Netherlands

#187 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2083 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with the bathroom inside the bedroom. Price is to high for what it offers in accommodations

    Excellent location and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like with all old buildings in Europe, this hotel has narrow stairs and most rooms are not on lift landing making it difficult to move in and out of room with big luggage.

    Love the location. It's very near dam square and walking distance to Amsterdam central station. Hardly need to take the tram when exploring the city. Breakfast is also pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows in our hotel room are not double-glazed.

    Location, breakfast and newly furnished hotel room. Small elevator, but it is good for 4 persons with luggage. Very convenient, if you stay on the fourth floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family friendly hotel in a good location. Family room was very spacious and comfortable. Hotel was clean and modern with a nice breakfast! All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed some repairs (bathroom sink faucet about to fall off; window held open with block of wood) and some sprucing up (paint). Stairs very narrow and very steep. We stayed in #303 and it was a trick to remember how we got there through many doors and short flights of stairs after getting off the elevator on the 2nd floor as instructed. We chose a room on the front so we would have a bit of a view. Maybe a mistake--very noisy. But we had been warned so did not complain.

    Headboard with large picture of Amsterdam canal; Luggage storage for early arrivals; WiFi. Good Dutch breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little dated (worn carpets, old shower/toilet). There is also something funny in the layout and we had to descend four steps and then climb four steps when walking from the lift to the room or back (not so comfortable with the luggage). There was no a/c in our room which was a problem since it was hot and the noise from the traffic/trams outside made sleeping with open windows less of an option.

    The hotel is located just a couple of minutes from Dam sq. The staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast was good. The free wi-fi worked well throughout our stay. Our room was very spacious (although from looking at the floor plan you can tell that some rooms are much bigger than others).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility in the room to make tea or coffee but there is a coffee machine available to use all day.

    Nice welcome and very helpful and pleasant staff. The bedroom was comfortable and the hotel is within walking distance of nearly all Amsterdam has to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC and the fan was not enough. It was very hot in the room!

    Great location. Walking distance to major sights. East access to public transportation. Good breakfast selection!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should strike a deal with a close by parking lot as otherwise you need to park on the street and pay 40euro for overnight street parking which is absurd

    Friendly and helpful staff and overall good room although no air con

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no AC in the room and the fan provided was very small. So we kept the windows open but at times it could be hot. Other than that, everything was great!

    We booked the Nova Hotel at the last minute and reserved a family room with 4 single beds. The room and bathroom was spacious and clean. It also had a mini-refrigerator which was great for keeping drinks handy. The check-in process was very smooth and the free breakfast in the morning was excellent! There is an elevator which is a big plus! The hotel is centrally located to walk to everything and highly recommended. The Front Desk staff was very helpful in helping us buy museum tickets and plan our day. We would stay at the Nova Hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything. The hotel had an odd odor about it. There was no ac at all. To keep cool we had to leave our windows open but that meant we heard everyone else from every other room as they did the same. The hotel itself was a wandering maze with stairs going up and down on the same floor and hopefully you find your room. It felt like a rat in a maze trying to find the cheese. The lift was so small only two people could fit in it at a time. The shower leaked so watery spilled into the room once you got out

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs are very narrow and carpet in the room was a bit old and maybe ready to be replaced

    Great venue, great location, concierge staff were extremely useful and patient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very close to the city center, as well as a local grocery store (if you plan to stock up on snacks there's a small fridge with plenty of space in the room). The room was very quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lift to some rooms but other rooms had additional stairs to access so inform hotel if this would be an issue.

    Good buffet breakfast, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yogurts, scrambled or boiled eggs, bread, juices, tea and coffee. We appreciated the additional coffee machine in lobby which was available all day. We had large clean room shared between 4 adults and we had plenty of space. We had 4 proper single beds which were very comfy (and were pleased to find no pull outs). Quiet room facing inner courtyard. The pictures are a true reflections of the rooms. Staff were very helpful with directions, storing luggage after we had checked out and dividing the bill for us. Really appreciated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it wasn't warm outside, but the room was very warm, a fan was there, but i had to keep the windows open and fan on me to stay comfortable. Not great, but it's not their fault at all. It's perfectly tollerable, just not ideal. The bathroom isn't super great, but again, totally acceptable, just nothing notable or memorable.

    perfect location, quick and easy check in, bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is composed of 3 buildings connected together. Getting to the room, a person needs to go through a maze like passages going up and down. Not convenient at all when you have luggage. The first room I got smelled of cigarettes. The lady at the reception gave me another room, no cigarettes smoke this time but body odor. The room had single glazed windows and was very noisy, and one could hear all the sounds of cars, trams and people partying. I would not recommend this property, especially not for the price

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappoined, for the rates that you pay for a family room, it's under the level. Bed not confortable, sleeping not well, breakfast of low quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did,nt like the stay in this place except the size of the room and neatness

    Every thing below expectation except the location. very thin corridor. with 4 to 5 steps though out the corridor and has to carry the baggage and no help from staff at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very far walk from reception The breakfast I expected a full English for the price & reading other people's reviews about how amazing breakfast was but we were very disappointed. There isn't a full English just a continental which isn't clear when you book! I think there may have been some bacon although this ran out before we even got to breakfast and was never re filed!

    Clean rooms Great location dam square is only 5 min walk Big room & nicely furnished

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff not very pleasant rooms and the whole hotel - nothing special regarding the high price. bathroom very "basic". looks better on photos

    the location is good good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was too small to carry a buggy and luggage at one time.

    The room was large enough for family.After 5 minute walk,there're many options of restaurants and was a bug supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of accommodation in Amsterdam is more expensive the closer you get to the center.

    We travelled to Amsterdam for a short Easter break with our two boys (under 16yrs) we were supplied with an extra large double room (almost the size of two double rooms really) which made the stay more comfortable. All the staff were most pleasant and helpful at all times. The location is central and easy to access Damm Square by walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was expensive for what you got. The rooms were fairly basic as were the facilities for 245 Euros per night.

    Location and breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was expensive

    The hotel is central. Our room was clean, big and nice. They offered a child cot. The breakfast was perfect (egg, cheese, slices of turkey, baguette, croissant, jam/honey/peanut butter, tea or coffee, juice, pastries, fresh fruit salad with yogurt and musli. Staff were friendly and nice. We would consider this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the attitude of the staff-they were really friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is also good and has good transport accessibility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside table covered with crumbs. Hairdryer broken. Stairs to room and room could of done with a good vacuum. Not enough toilet paper left.

    Staff very helpful. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door to room fitted badly so let lots of light in from the corridor. Staff were not that helpful during the day. Room showing signs of poor maintenance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no toilet brush in the toilet o.0 it’s not such a big deal, but if you don’t want cleaning during the stay, it could be..either for you or for the cleaning lady :D in order to respect those ladies and help them a little bit, hotel manager-please-put a brush overthere!

    The location is great,close to all main attractions! Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice for everyone. Free coffie during the day was a nice touch as well! Clean towels left each day by the doors,even though we didn’t ask-this was so much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less clean than expected. Even had a mouse in our room!!! Carpet not clean. No slippers available, no bottles of water in the fridge.

    Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. Got partial refund after finding a mouse in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day staff were not so helpful, night staff member was a lot better. Overly priced in my opinion.

    Location was good, the hotel room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but it is impossible to live in such noisy room than you hear everything from your neighbors and the doors is very-very noisy. The room number 8 is just very small and located just near the door to lobby and you hear all people who go through this noisy door.

    The location of the hotel is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found some of the cleaning staff that we met along the corridors a bit rude and not friendly.

    The breakfast has a great selection for everybody and the staff are great at refilling everything again. The bed was really comfortable and the reception staff are nice and friendly.The location is perfect, the tram stop is outside the hotel and Dam square is only a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin. Room was very basic. Elevator was tiny. No kettle for room. Could make tea and coffee at reception but when we asked for milk we were told no.

    Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light and extracted fan in bathroom couldn’t be turned off which meant it was noisy all through the night. They looked at it but said it had been wired to outside lights therefore they couldn’t switch it off. So if you’re a light sleeper better avoid that room!

    Place was nice comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a mouse in the room. The lady at the reception was a little ugly. The rest of the staff ok.

    It is clean, comfortable beds, nice room, good breakfast, good location in the old center.It is located close to the fashion shops area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The soundproofing could have been better. There are a lot of stairs (and small) around the building but it is ok because you would expect it in a building in the center of Amsterdam. The hotel offers you the option of storing the luggage after check-out, but it would be nice if they have given us a label that you left the luggage, just so that you avoid that someone else takes the wrong bag by mistake.

    The personnel was very friendly and helpful. The location is quite nice in the center and the tram stop almost next door. The facilities were very clean and with all required equipment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pricey; no secure facilities to leave your suitcase after checkout or before you get the room (anyone can walk in as the room is usually open, and hotel does not ensure security of your belongings). I would choose instead a hotel that is actually in the canals, rather than facing a big avenue.

    Good location, good room, comfortable bed, great staff. Close to shopping center and good supermarket and cafes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for what you Get, but a good alternative to a really expensive hotel and a cheap hostel.

    Close the centre but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in particular a lady at the reception was very rude at some point, you cannot request for late check outs and they will kick you out if you are in a room past 10 am.

    The facilities were good, clean, warm and cozy place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location very central and close to the dam square! spacious rooms we were 4 girls sharing and had plenty of room! Lovely breakfast and friendly staff! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Like that they took the room key everytime you go out which saves the stress of perhaps loosing it. WiFi was good Breakfast buffet was excellent !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not clean and the noise outside of the hotel (lot of people and tram) during the whole night was a bit annoying.

    Good Hotel in a perfect location. Great Breakfast und renovated rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had two individual beds, individual bed sheets and blankets. Breakfast only has bread, cheeses, ham and turkey.

    Location was great and hotel facilities and room are nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel. Exactly what I wanted, very central to Dam Square, clean, pleasant staff, good breakfast. We had 1 triple room and 2 quad rooms. Rooms were very spacious, especially one of the quad rooms! Will book Nova again on our next trip to Amsterdam. Thank you Nova Hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the windows faced the inner courtyard The water in the bathroom did not pass and filled the floor(room 37)it caused great inconvenience

    Location Big room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms and both 4 beds has a bad quality spring bed as it would sink the moment we got on top of it though we are petite asians, it would be greay if they can use a modern heater-cooler (air conditioner) instead of the conventional one considering the room size, the cleaning of the room can be improved because we often find some of our goods that we left on the bedaide table are on the floor and one of our cosmetic (cheap) cap was broken but there was no intention to inform us about it nor any apology offered.

    It was soundproofed, only a mere minutes from the central of Amsterdam by walk yet not on noisy, the tram is only 5 mins walk, complimentary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate throughout the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smokers could be encouraged more frequently not to smoke blocking the main entrance and welcoming the non-smoking guests with a beautiful cloud of smoke but rather move to a more discrete place.

    Perfect location. The staff is very nice and helpful. They go an extra mile to please the guest. Good breakfast, great rooms, interesting hotel architecture: short or long staircases that lead to all unexpected directions give the visitor a genuine annafrankesque feeling of space and dimension.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very arrogant, unfriendly and insincere lady at the reception. Her understanding of guest relation was very poor. She doesn’t a solution provider, she is a Lady No!.. Nevertheless, the hotel has some considerate staff and helped us about our request.

    Breakfast team and breakfast was very pleasant. Pascal was very helpfull about our reservation and airport transport. Thanks a lot to him.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular, just one of the corridors toward our room really smelled funny but other than that it was a lovely stay

    It was clean, cosy and had all the necessities! Loved the coffee machine downstairs too. Staff were super friendly and the breakfast buffet was delicious and definitely value for money... location was superb too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doors have a mechanism so they close more easily which is pretty loud though and the ventilation in the bathroom runs all night..

    Very central, clean, friendly, free coffee and tree and for a basic hotel very nice rooms even if the one i had was towards the inner courtyard, eg no street noise but a little dark..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the floor creeks when you walk. we could hear people walking above us which makes me too embarassed to walk around the room because I am sure people below us could also hear the creeking floor. Other than that, our stay was really good and I would recommend the place.

    The staff were friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was sufficient and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively expensive but nice accomodation.

    Nice familyroom, - all in all a nice stay at the Nova Hotel convenientley close to the centre of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The female reception staff member was very surly and did not smile. The men were more pleasant. The floors of the rooms squeaked like crazy which meant no one could use the loo in the night without waking every one else up. All common areas of the hotel require refurbishment and a lick of paint.

    The location was perfect - walkable from the station, and all attractions. The breakfast was good. The room was really warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There appeared to be very little if any soundproofing. We heard everything on the street and everything in the hallways. On a Friday in Amsterdam that is a lot of noise.

    The night clerk was very helpful and took plenty of time with us to get us the tickets and directions we needed. The bathroom and shower were extremely big for Europe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was located by the main road so it was quite noisy.

    Stayed in the hotel over Christmas. Very nice hotel in a very good location, just 15 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is buffet style with a wide range of choice. A big supermarket is just around the corner. Free wifi, fridge in room and 24h coffee & tea service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last moment my reservation of hotel cancel and that time I was in airport that moment I was in trouble

    Hotel is nice but the lady receptionist not treat well but other receptionist was very good beheviour and also last moment my reservation was cancel by hotel or booking.com I don’t know then I call booking.com but they can’t help me and many more

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast isn't exciting not much choice and breakfast times are inconvient

    The cleaner leaving clean towels and extra toilet roll when we didn't need to room cleaned

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are not insulated and trams can be heard passing by every few minutes.

    A compact bathroom but the exhaust was under power. Location close to most attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Very dirty stains on the sheets window are horrible (windy) Breakfast is just okey2/5

    Nothing except location Dirty,dusty wind from the window Far away to what i seen on the picture

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception didnt accept big mony ( 500 euro ) and order me to go out and change my money to small mony and come back to give my room .

    location was great . very clean .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Breakfast was execellent. Reception staff are brilliant. Nova hotel is around 15mins walk to all leisure activities in amsterdam. Nova hotel - highly recommended +++

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was still a dirty towel and a plastic casing of trash from the previous guests in the room when we checked in . One evening other guests were fighting until the wee hours of the morning which kept us up. The hotel would have no control over that though.

    Breakfast was good and included scrambled eggs, Bacon, Fruit, Cereal, Juices, Small Muffins and assorted breads with meats and cheeses. The coffee machines for Cappuccino, Hot Chocolate or Expresso was especially nice. The Location was excellent and the beds were comfortable. It was nice that our teenagers each had their own bed in the family room. Everyone who worked the front desk was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff are quite grumpy and not so friendly, a simple smile could do wonders to the hospitality, they could also improve on the breakfast which is ok for the price, but use very basic (if not below) quality of products.

    Great location, pretty new and nicely decorated, in overall good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like cigarettes and had ths feeling that a few parties had taken place there. On arrival there seemed to be only groups of young men staying in the hotel and in Amsterdam to party (arrived Frdiay nignt). Was relieved to meet some older couples in the lift. Brakfast was ok. Could have included some more healthy options. Generally felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

    The bathroom was great - new and very clean with a good shower. The bed was also comfortable, big and clean. Friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that the check-in can take place only after 14.00. The bed was small but still very confortable so it was ok. The price was too high.

    The breakfast was great with big variety, even though coffee could have been better. The location was great, the room was very clean and the matress and pillow very confortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds at the top of the room were cold, a heater was needed up there too! The curtains and window sills were dirty and dusty! I would have liked there to be more hot breakfast options e.g. warm milk, sausage, bacon, baked beans. The second receptionist on Saturday morning was very rude and obnoxious. His attitude only changed once we informed him we had messaged the owner.

    The beds were super comfortable! The bathroom was nice and clean and modern! It was very good that we got a quadruple room so we could all stay together. Our first receptionist Justin was amazing very good customer service, kind, helpful and understanding!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds at the top of the room were very cold! A heater should be up to there too! The curtains and window sill were dirty and dusty! I wish there was a bit more hot options for breakfast e.g warm milk, bacon, sausage, baked beans. The receptionist after Justin on Saturday morning! He was rude and obnoxious! He only had a better attitude after we told him we messaged the hotel owner!

    The beds were very comfortable! The bathroom was clean and modern! I liked that we were able to have a quadruple room so we all could stay together. The first receptionist Justin, was amazing! Very kind, helpful and understanding!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel the value VS the service given is a bit high

    Staff are very friendly, breakfast was delicious, location is close to the city center and the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of building work going on so some early morning banging, and the walls and floors are not at all soundproof so i struggeld to get a really good nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit labyrintic and some parts have been reformed with a fresher and more modern look while others are still bit a dated. Acording to a sign these reform works are ongoing, although I didnt notice them.

    I had a really large room that was well equipped and confortable. Pleasant and easy going staff. All a bit no frills but OK

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was shocking. Reported it to reception and only half of the points mentioned were rectified. Bathroom was distusting. Dead spider in door frame, dust all over, shower mouldy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street, which was busy with smokers almost constantly. The smell stayed in our room. Request a room that isn’t on the street.

    Clean, comfortable, no hassle

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hard to find anything to criticise, but if you really want one thing, it’s having to leave the room key at reception every time you go out. But, really, so what?!

    Incredible breakfast! Really great choice and quality of food. Also liked the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate available all day long at Reception. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is limited but because of the fact hotel is set back in a little access road, it is easy to unload the car without hassle. We then parked at Oosterdock by the main station for Eur15 per day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accusation we were smoking weed in our bedroom despite telling reception it was the room opposite. Felt it Was race driven given 3 black guys and1 White guy was in our room

    Free hot drinks was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are not for everyone! There are lifts but they do not reach even floor on the hotel. Didn't bother us as we are young & healthy but I could imagine it being very difficult if I had a disability. Also HATED the fact we had to give the key in & retrieve it from reception every time we left or entered the hotel. *really annoying! Also the baggage room is very unsafe, we left our luggage as the checkout time is 11am and we wasn't flying out until 9pm l, when we arrived to retrieve our luggage the luggage room was left open unattended and a number of hotel customers were inside the luggage room doing numerous things. Really worrying not just with theft but with current world events!

    Loved the area was really close to a lot of prime locations we wanted to visit such as; coffee shops, bars, shopping & food! Room was HUGE! VERY VERY CLEAN! extra €30 for champagne on ice in room (worth it) 4 girls stayed and didn't get home until 5am no problem entering back into hotel as 24 hours reception. Would stay again & recommend to family & frinds.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nova Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: