Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam 4 stars

Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, Netherlands

#3 of 9 hotels in Schiedam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is far from any convenience store or restaurants / eateries. You will have to travel out a bit to find any of those.

    Breakfast was satisfactory as it is a typical European breakfast. Nothing too fanciful or mindblowing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i would say the breakfast is overcharged and its not for euro 19,00, unless some would stay a couple of hours at the breakfast and eat 12 rounds in a row. well, it is not bad at all and has all the breakfast basics.

    its a very good choice if you need to spend a night, a week, a month,..... in Schiedam. very clean, nice and comfortable. may be the menu is quite short for a month stay but cuisine is super "yummi", any dish you order will be recommendable and "lecker". stuff is very friendly, nice and helpful, special thanks and regards to bartenders

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly but no English tv in room. Upgraded, but only difference was an ironing board and one bathrobe for 2 people! Still no English speaking channel on tv.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-Fi was a bit complicated to get into and stay on line but Ethernet cable in rooms was spot on

    Staff were truly excellent; it felt like home from home. Very well run bar and reception. The whole place was scrupulously clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water was lukewarm. I had gone for sports competition and could have done with a hot shower each evening.

    Staff very helpful. Rooms comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all we arrived there late in the evening, really tired and exhausted. The receptionists haven't received my request for twin beds in a double room so we got a double bed. We didn't complain about that and proceeded with the check-in. They asked for a credit card upon the arrival telling me that the one they had in their system was cancelled (yet I had updated my card detailds on booking.com) - I gave to the receptionist my debit card so she could update it, but as I realised upon my chek- out they have put an authorization hold on my debit card and specifically for the whole amount available on my bank account (at least let's say I would understand it if it was an authorization hold for the cost of the room for the whole stay) . Long story short, I couldn't pay my share on the check-out because my credit card was declined from the system (since there was no money available due to the authorization hold) and ofcourse the staff didn't inform me about the authorization hold. I called my bank and found out it through them that this happened, I informed the receptionists and they called their bank to cancel the hold - but this can't happen instantly and especially on a Sunday (even though they emailed me the cancellation).... So my holiday ended up was bitter sweet with very little cash on my wallet, not beeing available to grab a bite or shop souvenirs and ofcourse owing money to my friend paying for the whole stay in the end. This was disastrous and I don't want anyone to experience such things.

    I booked this room because of its location (close to Magrithall, WTSD event).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations. Skips located outside our window. A lot of noise Saturday afternoon, then workers congregated to chat and have a beer in the car park outside our window. Sunday morning the workers appeared to all meet up in the car park again. A lot of hammering in hotel - on Sunday morning....really??? Rang reception for an iron. Constantly engaged. Went down to ask in person. She was on the phone. Eventually she said she couldn't leave the desk as on her own. Smiley receptionists but not much help. She'd also mentioned when checking in about an executive room. We went back to ask to look at one, she checked her system and said none available! She could have mentioned this when we checked in. Eventually ordered a taxi by asking the very helpful bar staff. Restaurant closed at lunchtime - it was suggested that we could get a tram into town in 10 mins. No other eateries in immediate neighbourhood except McDonalds. Didn't do breakfast - silly prices.

    comfy bed. Good pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hmm, can't think of anything.

    Nice quiet surrounding. The pool was great! A gataway from the hectic city but still in reach to get to Rotterdam quickly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good and quiet hotel. But! The car is a must have. Othervise you should walk for a big-big distance to reach any store or bar. Tram stop is quite far.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast and dinner. Room service too. Nice restaurant and bar area. There was a problem with our booking and it was resolved to our satisfaction. Our room and bathroom were spacious and both very clean. Amenities and a minibar and coffee and tea facilities were provided. The location of this hotel is perfect for visits to nearby cities, including Rotterdam. The staff are friendly and efficient. All employees we talked to were always friendly and approachable. Despite the hotel being fully booked, our room was quiet. The free on-site parking facility is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor was not clean. One of the receptionists was very abrupt and had no interest in helping one of our disabled members

    The showers water pressure was perfect and so warm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The housekeeping lady needs to be more cautious as the sink flooded after her service, though the staff fixed that immediately and needs to wait more before making sure she can enter the room.

    Friendly, helpful and professional staff, good wi-fi connection, big rooms and nice yard with rabbits. Unluckily March was not the right time of the year to try their pool as well! I was the 1st to use their brand new bike rental service. The food in the restaurant is excellent! There is a train stop near by to connect you with the rest of the country.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit expensive

    Clean and nice room, comfortable bed. Free parking, good wifi. Free coffe and thee in the room. Polite staff. Good location to visit Delft, Rotterdam and Schiedam.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast not enaugh. air condition not heating room as enaugh capacity. Quilt was dirty and my room was not cleaned in secondday. mattress was vert thin and uncomfortable.

    all staff were great, amiable and helpfull. location was great and very quiet place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put in the first room next to the reception , it was a room with disabled facilities, I , nor my friend , do not have a disability! The room Did not have a bath, just a shower with a seat in and I was unable to sleep the first night at all due to the public toilet being next to the room and the chain being flushed and the reception phone ringing and the front door bell ringing throughout the night, awful, I paid for a room to sleep in and was kept awake all night, I asked to be moved for the next 2 nights which I was, It was okay for the last 2 nights of my stay,

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the set price for breakfast was €19 (£19 at today'so exchange rate) and it was that even if you just had a coffee and croissant!! Not good and certainly needs looking at.£38 for two small breakfasts! Guests need to have this pointed out.

    The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Shall be included at the time of booking. At present we need to pay as Extra at the Hotel.

    Staffs were very Friendly. Hotel was Clean and Tidy. Rooms were Clean too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a fairly long walk from train station and central Schiedam. No restaurants nearby. Good hotel, just not ideal for tourists.

    Very accommodating and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the accommodation was hard to get too after hours if you are using the ret metro, we once got stuck at the schiedam centrum and couldn't get to nieuwland

    walking distance to stores

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very basic

    Hotel and room really clean, beautiful, relaxing, quiet, comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly helpful staff,nothing to much trouble,creating an enjoyable relaxing stay. will certainly return again thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could't find a dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small rooms

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean and cozy place to stay, friendly and responsive staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant with very nice food. Comfortable rooms. Per friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff, Great accommodation, great value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the smell in the bathroom coming from where you wash your hands.

    The bed was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive for what you got!

    Easy to reach from the highway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very good and very pet friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving.

    Friendly & Helpful staff, comfy spacious rooms, excellent facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot and blanket too warm. Was not that comfortable to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soulless place, extremely basic, Will never return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maintenance work on first floor was very noisy at times ( 8 -5 pm) no alternative room available no discount for our inconvenience

    parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant, quality and way of preparation was rather poor

    room was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the restaurant was very expensive and limited. The back stairwell smelt of urine.

    Comfy and clean, very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups and instant coffee in the room.

    Friendly staff, clean room, good bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nice breakfast,croissants if they were available.,everything was good,too much to choose from A pity we couldn't use the swimming pool,too cold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners making a lot of noise whilst cleaning.

    Service from the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy coach parties again making it difficulty getting to sleep until about 11.30pm each night.

    Good size rooms, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well designed rooms, comfortable bed , silent and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My booking at booking.com, i had to go to the Novotel myself to book it.

    Everything at Novotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included.

    Very friendly staff. Very nice room with a separate seating area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rien Nada

    Goos staff and good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean hotel to spend a night in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far, public transport not close

    Nice and comfortable, free car parking, play area for children

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paperwork to finalize stay was incomplete initially. (A card-holding amount was not cancelled despite full payment; I had to correspond with hotel)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Consider low salt food options - important health issue

    Flexiblity

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not colgatte in the bathroom

    Was very comfot

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 3 nights and bedsheets were not changed We had to ask for fresh coffee cups

    Warm comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive

    The new dinner menu was really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast good but very expensive @ EUR 18.50.

    Pleasant staff, good sized rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really clean like for 4 stars hotel Location as well not really special

    As always beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More choice of dinner would be good!

    Great breakfast, large rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 stars hotel , not worth to pay 100 euro per night

    Quiet place , close to highway, clean room, easy check in/out

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a bit more choice but it was adequate

    Location and standard was ideal for my business trip. Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little in walking distance location wise. Also the breakfast was a bit average.

    Nice facilities and very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu needs to be changed and maybe have some specials

    Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting fed up of been woken up by noisy coach parties

    Clean rooms and great breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is dirty The room were small

    The garden 15 minutes walking to city center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff and place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location

    environment

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was expensive and the temperature at night in the hotelroom was too high

    The room was oké, it was clean and the hotel is close to the railway station

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the simple access to the Hotel (Located near the main road, Very easy to find)., Free Parking, Nice Breakfast, Good Wifi. Kind Staff. The Hotel has a restaurant and a bar.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the toilet is so close to the wall and door it is uncomfortable to use the tv had poor channel content. not all channels listed were working

    helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows are horrid my neck is broke! The bed is rock hard, it's in the middle of no where and at lunch at weekends they only serve pizza so your a but stuck

    The shower was great that's probably about it

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I do not like the loud modern music in the reception and the restaurant/bar. It should be background music! Also I do not like cement walls in the rooms.

    NIce view from the 23th floor

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small bottle of mineral water in the room costs 3 EUR (!), breakfast also quite expensive, lack of warm water in bathroom for a one day,

    good localisation as a main point for sightseeing the region, spacious room, free big parking area, nice personel

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi worked fine first night but the day after it had connectivity issues. i didn't ask the staff why though..

    great value for money - pool - comfortable and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Novotel is ideally located, very close to the motorways for access and departure, without any traffic noise at the hotel. It is also very close to the tram line service to Schiedam central and Rotterdam, we were very impressed with the services. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, the staff were all very helpful and happy with it.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff on desk were rude, a man on the desk talked down to us when we arrived, they also tried to charge us extra for a breakfast we didn't have. Cleaning ladies came into our room even when we had the do not disturb sign on the door. I wouldnt stay here again.

    It was clean

There are also 74 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: