Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Postillion Amersfoort Veluwemeer 4 stars

Strandboulevard 3, 3882 RN Putten, Netherlands

#13 of 20 hotels in Putten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, perfect for families who want to enjoy the sun and waters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's my second time here and the restaurant experience has been bad both times. The restaurant tries to be premium but fails to deliver. Service is very slow (both times) even though they're not even close to being full. And if you charge €18.50 (!!!) for a burger I expect it to be good, and not overcooked, grey and dry. I told the waitress about this and was met with an 'OK, here is the bill'. The breakfast is also very sparse for the price. Second time visiting there was not even scrambled eggs to go with the sausages which is a bit strange. I will be coming back to this place next summer, but we will skip dinner and breakfast.

    Location (apart from the highway) is great. There's a small beach nearby and a camping on the other side with things to do for the kids. The surrounding area is very nice for bike rides. The check-in staff was super friendly and made us feel welcome after a long trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing hotel surrounded by beautiful Dutch nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel is in need of renovation, the rooms and facilities are quite clean. Since we spent a lot of time on the balcony, we were disappointed to see that it was left without any care (rundown and not cleaned). In my opinion, the peaceful, relaxing view and the chance to enjoy it is the main selling point of the hotel; therefore, it would be wise to invest a bit more in the upkeeping of balconies.

    Fantastic location with rooms straight on the water! It is worth booking the rooms with lake view, amazing sunsets. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the food in the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    We were four ladies and we were all so thankful that we had chosen this accommodation!!
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff & food were excellent. The breakfast outstanding. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. We will share the name of this hotel with friends, we send an applause & sincere thanks!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled (smoke). I booked the room via booking.com were it was not clear indicated that this room didnt had the view on the lake. With lake view are only comfort rooms

    Good breakfast. beautiful view from the terras.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, except for one small detail
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the breakfast room was a bit sticky. It's a detail, but details count.

    Location is very nice. Hotel is very comfortable. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Unfriendly reception staff & sour food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some basic hospitalty training with reception staff

    By checking i find out i was double charge for Toerist tax. i understand when making the booking i did have to change to one person in the room. But a guest can make that mistake. I was corrected by youre reception staff (silvana) in a very unproffesional manner, she told me that she could have sold this room for more money and put me in a smaller room. I think the way she brought this over was very unfriendly and unproffesional. Later i went to the restaurant and order a sate. When delivered i could smell the salad garnish was off and sour. The older gentelman in the restaurant was very good and replaced all. I think its maybe a idea to let him do some customer service with youre reception staff. To be honest you have a top Hotel on a fantastic location. So as you know in the hospitality industry the check in is the first contact with the guest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    An excellent location and hotel for a cycling holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internally the hotel is showing its age and seems to be crying out for a radical makeover. The decor in our 'comfort' room was dated and only the clean and bright bathroom merited 4 stars. There is no air conditioning and the south side gets very hot in summer. Also, there is no fridge. However, the lake view (for which you pay extra in your 'comfort' room) has always been superb. One final remark; years ago the breakfasts at this Postillion were the best in the chain and the bread was superb. Sadly, this is no longer the case even though the obliging staff do their best despite the obvious financial cuts.

    We have visited this hotel many times over 27 years since it was Postiljon and then through the bad Mercure years and also since it evolved into Postillion. Happily, the young and enthusiastic staff members now working at the hotel made our stay so much more pleasant than their predecessors did around 3 years ago. It's an excellent team. We wish them good luck and hope they keep it up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    A great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Longer opening times for bar /restaurant would be convenient for people who were out all day.

    Easy check in, and check out, staff friendly, great English as well as other languages. Comfortable room, nice balcony overlooking lake, and rabbits running around below.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice location stay for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu was quite expensive compared to the quality, quantity of food and prices of other hotels. But service was nice. The breakfast was moderate.

    The location next to the lake to watch sunset, the spacious room and cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cons.

    Very correct hotel, where everything was as should be. Has some conference facitilies, where events took place, which didn't disturb us at all (also - no noise). Good access from the highway, nice water view. Huge free car park in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Close to the motorway, nevertheless beautiful location near...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold, hotel already quite old, but kept pretty well.

    Close to the motorway, nevertheless beautiful location near the water. Large rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is a nice place to stay, with good beds,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a nice place to stay, with good beds, breakfast and a very nice location right next to the Veluwemeer, with beautiful views. The rooms are a bit older and would need some refurbishing, but nevertheless we had a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    A lovely hotel by the shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bedroom was rather poor.

    Excellent view of the water from the room watching a beautiful sunset. A very pleasant hotel and will return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Lovely spot by the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the room a little dated but all clean.

    Lovely location and we had a great view of the marina.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    extra service and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extra service and helpful individual sauna dog accepted

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Just okay for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Close to the highway.Bit noisy because of that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice & close to water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its getting a bit old...hallway very warn. Rooms could do with update

    Nice & close to water

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Televisie was defect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Televisie was defect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    It was near a beautiful lake and the food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    It was near a beautiful lake and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    I'm very happy to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful situated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff were attentive and friendly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the freeway going by it: constant hum of traffic.

    Excellent facilities at a a beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Stop over hotel on route to Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room and beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.8
    Not bad for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was bad, breakfast soso

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    pet friendly hotel with a great view
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need a update

    The view from the hotel Very friendly staf Clean and good beds location very quite with new year pet friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    The treatment by staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The treatment by staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Passing through on our way to Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was most enjoyable. Always love staying here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    4.2
    Retaurant was nice for dinner - good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no idea how they can have 4 stars - deserve max. 2! Room/ Bath in very bad condition, mold, mounting broken,... I also added pictures. Sauna/wellness was closed for renovation - one of the reasons why we booked it (also would have been extra costs - which was not mentioned in description here). Breakfast: replacements too slow, fruits were a joke, pancake out and couldn't be refilled.

    Retaurant was nice for dinner - good food

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    Staff are always friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is a bit fancy for us as my husband is lactose intolerant so there wasn't much choice.

    Staff are always friendly and welcoming. Clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast was good and plentiful

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    surrounding, fitness and wellness area, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed was a bit too soft for my taste, but I haven't been there the first time and it has been all fine before.

    surrounding, fitness and wellness area, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.1
    Quite nice location, decent breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car, otherwise it's difficult to get there and get away from there. Bicycle rental should be for free as there's nothing else to do but ride the bike (it's close to €13 per person per day). I don't think it should be a 4* hotel - kind of renovated old place, you can feel a bit of "built decades ago", but otherwise, nice and clean.

    Quite nice location, decent breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    6.7
    they put their money where their mouth is:
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    fire alarm went off at 3 am. Neighbours of ours messed about with waxine lights. stupid youngsters but from then on showed no remorse and kept on partying. Tried to contact front desk/reception for more than 20 min!!!!! no reply!!! excuse .... he was hoovering and didn't hear the phone!!!!! Impossible to my mind. Interior very dated!! So 80's the corridors. When looking for decor for 80's films; this is the place to be!!!

    they put their money where their mouth is: 15 min policy; no cure NO PAY!!! So money back but no night rest as well; broken all day as a result of that. The latter part isn't a plus of course!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    The ample free car parking and easy access from the motorway...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ample free car parking and easy access from the motorway (only 2 minutes at most) ... Very comfortable rooms set in idyllic surroundings

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.3
    The location and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything.

    The location and the view.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.5
    For us everything was ok, nice staff and good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us everything was ok, nice staff and good room.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    always very nice, this is the second time i live here .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    always very nice, this is the second time i live here .

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    4.2
    The hotel rooms needs renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel rooms needs renovation. The rooms are old and in very bad condition including balconies.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    View fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    View fantastic

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Spacious room, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spacious room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    Marvellous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marvellous staff. Very willing and helpful. Lovely location, good rooms and adequate breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice place, great food, pleasant staff, good value!
    • Group

    Nice place, great food, pleasant staff, good value!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Postillion Amersfoort Veluwemeer traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: