Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Okura Amsterdam – The Leading Hotels of the World This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Oud Zuid, 1072 LH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#44 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2630 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Access to Nagomi Health
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could be more spacious!

    Everything is very nice! Rooms are very comfortable, clean and very well decorated! The location is not in the centre, but it’s good place, very close!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    the hotel employees are very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the hotel employees are very friendly and professional. The hotel is very clean. The restaurant in hotel is a litttle but expensive but quality is very good. If the breakfast can offer a little bit more choices of Japanese foods will be perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff with great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double/Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some distance from center but accessible by tramway or taxi.

    Very comfortable room and good access by car. Staff really friendly and professional. Good food choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    we had to keep asking housekeeping to come and clean the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double/Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had to keep asking housekeeping to come and clean the room. the only time housekeeping actually comes back to clean the room is if we tell the concierge. simply telling housekeeping staff to come back in 10 minutes didnt work AT ALL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    High standard and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only minor point, quite busy at reception and I had to queue up for more than 10min for check in.

    Best location for both sightseeing and attending Congress in RAI. Clean room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was rather expensive. Then again Amsterdam is an expensive city.

    Our flight was an early flight. Front desk offered changing room facilities for us to freshen up because our room wasn’t available yet. Our room was ready earlier than expected too. Lastly we asked for late check out and front desk was very nice to offer it to the time we requested.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    These might seem like minor details to some but I wish the music in the Spa was a little bit more tasteful than the usual minimalist crap. I'm sure that everyone will feel more fulfilled by hearing Faure or Satie in the background rather than to the common commercial garbage muzak. Another wonderful option that is often forgotten today: Silence.

    I enjoyed the comfort of the room, the relative peaceful silence which is unfortunately so rare in our age, and the regular daily maintenance throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is clean, comfortable and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.. could be a little more luxurious for the price. Quite a bit of noise from the elevators at night on the 16th floor.

    The hotel is clean, comfortable and safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bed was comfy. also had the option to choose my pillow. the room was cleaned every morning and they even prepare the room for you before you sleep. the service was great. the location was also in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.9
    Very Comfortable and clean Rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you arent Fair Visitor Location not good . You should take Taxi or Uner for go to Dam Square or RL Districts.

    Very Comfortable and clean Rooms. Thanks for the Hospitalty and Welcoming . The Staff is very kind .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend Okura!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very good 5 star hotel, exceptionally clean spacious rooms, lovely interior design, very friendly staff - always ready to help, great breakfast selection, good location- easy to reach the city center by public transport - I loved just about everything about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.3
    Take a second look, pricing isn't completely reflective of offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Has all the components to be a fun place with a spa, sauna, and a cooking school; however the cooking school wasn't open, the sauna hours are limited, and it's difficult to figure out all the offerings. Pricing is the main issue. It seemed like a very average 4 star at best experience for the 370 euro evening. I really like the concept and design, but at half the price at best. AND Where are all the Japanese Whiskies? I would expect to see the five or six well-known ones and maybe a Nord Gin to go with. And since we are on the subject some wine from Portugal would be great too. It's missing that sort-of-thing that a property this well-designed should have.

    It has everything! A top-notch cooking demonstration and maybe hands-on class space; a spa; and pool/sauna. On the 23rd floor you will find a nice little pearl that artfully displays the district while the artisans craft the perfect concoction. The gym is perfectly situated with everything one would need for a small workout and the pool must be special because it's instant relief from a day of walking. The sauna has a great routine, but I'm used to larger ones for a sauna worthy property. It's more of a small good-enough to get the job done space, but you can have as many linens as you want. There is no shortage of soft, comfy, and soothing. Parking was easy and expensive. The rooms have everything you need and feel fresh and predictable. They provide great magazines and newspapers, but nothing in English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    The staff did their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    €59.00 rate for breakfast per person for a very small and average buffet was an insult. 30 minute check process was disappointing. I called before I booked on Booking.com to see if I could get a direct booking and was told they were full. 5 minutes later I was able to book on Booking.com. It’s a nice hotel but at the lower end of 5 star. There weren’t enough seats in the pool area .

    The staff did their best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have to say I got very lucky. I was upgraded to a 21st floor executive suit that was bigger than my house with smart controls and amazing 360 views. I was there just for a day for a trade show at the Rai which is conviniently walking distance but wished I could have stayed more. Very friendly and smiling staff. I would highly recommend staying there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel with all the facilities that you need but a good 20 min walking distance from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price that we paid, they could have included breakfast.

    Although our rooms were not ready until 2 pm (as expected), we were given access to the Executive Lounge to relax and shower as we arrived very early in the morning and were on a long haul flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel with poor client service trained staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The approach of the staff at the reception - they did not provide any extra info about the hotel facilities at check-in; they were not very clear about the money that they kept from our credit cards and did not provide any receipt for that. The concierge was on break when we wanted to ask for information. We left the luggage to be transported to our room (as we arrived before the check in time) and even at 16:30 pm (1 our and a half after check in) it was not sent to our room.

    The room, hotel facilities, cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    5.8
    Room service took a lot of time
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service took a lot of time Even waited in room for 10min to get my luggage Check in and out took a long time Breakfast was okay but not that good compare to Hilton Dusseldorf

    Room service took a lot of time Even waited in room for 10min to get my luggage Check in and out took a long time Breakfast was okay but not that good compare to Hilton Dusseldorf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Fantastic breakfast (on top of the usual 5-star menu, we...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting scheme in the room was great but too complicated - it needs a manual (no joke)

    Fantastic breakfast (on top of the usual 5-star menu, we were impressed with the variety of the fresh jouces, fish and the quality of bakery products). Very stylish interior design. Super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel - very welcoming staff - wide selection of restaurants and nice breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym facilities a bit jaded bit otherwise experience was very good

    Breakfast selection excellent. Really attentive staff always with smiles on their faces - very welcoming hotel. Rooms very nice, good size with excellent facilities. Gym not bad but could be improved - equipment a bit old. Pool fantastic. Overall would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Behind the bathtub tap was cotted old dirt from previous baths. Please put more attention to that. Other than that.... the room was clean to expected standards. Sound proof of the room was not good. You heard just about every knock or voices nextdoor.

    Great city view, comfy room / beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    A Great Vacation Begins with Great Hotel Selection - Hotel Okura definitely for Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air-conditioning had a mind of its own at times, but nothing too worrisome. At times, our room service for the wines / glasses, etc. that we asked for would take a while, but again, it was a busy period (King's Day) and that particular weekend, so we understood.

    The best way to begin a fantastic holiday begins with the right hotel. Hotel Okura is the place in Amsterdam with excellent staff/concierge services/cleaning services/receptionists, etc. who were always happy to help. Anytime. It was the first time my family (mum-dad-sister-and I) were holidaying together after more than 25 years! We were upgraded to a Junior Suite from a Double Superior Room and automatically could access the Executive Lounge on the 22nd floor. The Exec Lounge provides free snacks and breakfast (minus hot items like omelettes, sausages, etc.). Water, Beer and wine are available for free as well. We had other family fly in and they too stayed in the same hotel with kids aged, 14 and 5. Everything about the rooms was excellent and see my pictures for more info.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to book well in advance to get in the Michelin starred restaurants book you can usually get in the Serra Restaurant and the food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, clean and friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath (rain shower) area is too small to fit in!! A bit steeply priced for the services / facilities available.

    Clean rooms, good view and suitable location (for me), decent buffet breakfast, very courteous staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    I would like the hotel to renovate its shower cubicles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is my second time staying here, but this time we got a room with a weird tiny shower. Every time we took a shower the floors will be flooded with water spilling out from the shower area, and also it was sooo tiny, that I would knock my arms onto the glass or walls every time. Not ideal at all.

    Although the hotel is slightly off the tourist areas, but it was in a safe location and near public transportation and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    5.0
    This is expensive hotel with nothing to get for that
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. No water, no coffee at room All 5 star hotels provide these for free This hotel 4 star max 2. No hot water coming out at shower only warm 3. TV only local channel in Dutch language

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.3
    A quiet, serene location for a relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had booked a room with king sized bed but found that I was a given a room with twin beds. They could not change help me with this request. I was told if I wanted a room with a king sized bed I needed to pay for an upgrade. I refused.

    Staff were very helpful and smiling all the time. They would go out of their way to help you. Being a few minutes walking towards the metro system is a big plus. Location is a quiet relaxing place but not far from any place that you want to go. Breakfast is something to look forward to every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.3
    I was generally happy with my stay and rated accordingly but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was generally happy with my stay and rated accordingly but we had a disagreement with the room type and I am afraid could not resolve it. I booked an Executive Suite and received a room called Executive Junior Suite. These rooms were priced differently on Booking.com and the Junior one was cheaper. Hotel now says that Executive Suite is in fact Executive Junior Suite. I do not understand why I paid the difference and I could not explain this to the hotel. If you visit Booking.com, you will see that these two room types still exist with different rates. There was also a problem with air conditioning and was turning on a few minutes after turning off. Also it was not possible to adjust the temperature. This was fixed but we had a freezing night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Amsterdam view, culinary art representative of Japanese cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Late check-in, but compansated by the warm wellcoming of the front desk.

    1)Nice view of Amsterdam from upper floors. 2) Excellent Crew: Consierge:Lex, CRO:Zehra 3)Very rich culinary. Two Michelin starred, 1 Michelin recomended, in total 5 restaurants in the Hotel. (But Yamazato was not sufficiently reflecting the traditional Japanese cuisine; maybe worth to try the other ones.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and upgraded our room, we were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed wasn't as comfortable as it could be. Firm beds are much better for the back but the hotel's bed was too soft. Food was too expensive too.

    Staff were very friendly and upgraded our room, we were very happy about that. The location was also great if you are interested in visiting the museums and in general most places are very close with two tram stations close to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed repainting, there was paint peeling off the walls, but other than that everything was great.

    The staff very sweetly upgraded us to an Exec Room for our anniversary which was amazing, such a lovely room. They had written us a card and there was a cake waiting in our room. The room was so comfortable with a lovely bed and well stocked minibar and Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic and memorable stay! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Hotel was clean and the staff were all very helpful and interested in us having a nice stay. It was a surprise for my wife and the manager even sent some chocolates and strawberries which was really sweet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was overpriced for what you get.

    Great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was a perfect size, clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurants were delicious but recommend making reservations ahead of time. We had a small dog traveling with us which cost us EUR 35/night. The hotel is pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge gave false information when we asked about a "National Holocaust Museum". We were told there was no such thing in Amsterdam which is not true. One night we came back to the hotel and the staff member at the front desk argued with us that we cannot be guests of the hotel because apparently there is another name under our room. However, after we showed him the key cards and he checked the records once again, he finally believed that we are guests of the house. The response was: "yes, correct, your name is there, thank you". No apologies, nothing. Not very professional. Another problem was the coffee machine that was not working properly. Three days we stayed at the hotel and three times we asked to fix or to change the machine. A technician was sent to our room but also he couldn't fix the machine. In the end, the issue had just been ignored until our departure. The bathroom could be more clean. We are really not that demanding, but the drain whole in the sink was so black with dirt that you could see it every time when brushing the teeth. There was also always hair on the floor and even a hair in the closed houseshoe plastic bag.

    Great breakfast. Mostly nice and friendly staff. Good location. Very nice view. Great restaurant 'Ciel Bleu'.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    The service was excellent and we enjoyed our holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None at all.

    The service was excellent and we enjoyed our holiday thoroughly . We loved the restaurant sazanka . We enjoyed the buffet breakfast . The swimming pool staff were very good and courteous , especially a lady member of staff at the swimming reception desk on Sunday night was very helpful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    #escapefromthekids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't experience any genius benefits at the hotel but this may just have been a timing thing

    On arrival the staff quickly attended to our baggage and valetted our car. We checked in quickly enough but our room wasn't available until after 3pm so the concierge arranged tram tickets for us so we could head straight out to sightsee. The number 12 tram was very close to the hotel that took us directly to the Rijksmuseum or the No 24 that would take us to the Old Town. The room when we returned to the hotel was very well appointed with a luxurious bathroom and separate rain shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury hotel. Perfect for couples. Friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was exceptional!

    Staff very friendly and professional at all times. Lovely hotel with everything you need near by. I don’t often stay at a hotel more than once. This is my second visits and I WILL be staying here again next time I come to Amsterdam, would not want to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    Really good stay, excellent service, restaurants definitely worth a try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we get back our luggage and about to head to the airport, the staff friendly took the luggage for us but insisted to call the taxi immediately even when one of us told him that we were not yet ready, and the taxi driver charged us additional fee for waiting.

    Really attentive staff, we had our dinners in the hotel, one is yamazato and one is ciel bleu, the Michelin restaurants are really good-tasting, good view, and services are well above expectation. Our room was updated for free with a canal view. Will definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Fully as expected - helped by an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room Service failed to respond to my request for a Comfort Pillow, despite there being an invitation to select from a wide range of pillows.

    The beds and all room facilities were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.1
    would not advise to others ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area was way too small, there was even a queue in the morning to wait for a place to sit. This really created a very negative experience although the rest was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, eat at Ciel Bleu, you won't regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ciel Bleu restaurant is sublime, the staff are very friendly and helpful, Noel the sommelier's knowledge is mind blowing and the food outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    THE best hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Simply amazing stay!

    Fantastic staff, great service by every single person at the hotel! Lovely spa area and u get help with everything! Highly recommend bike rental from the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable, clean, luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Services. We came at 12.00 in the hotel. Without any explanation they charged a 320 eur deposit on our card; then they told us that they don’t have the room ready. At 15.00 they gave us the room; it took another hour to send our luggage from reception to the room. At breakfast they charged the second person in a double room; this was done in the middle of our breakfast, interupting us in order to pay. At the end we asked concierge to print our flight tickets, they confirmed that the tickets are printed and waiting for us but when arrive ar concierge nobody knew anything so after 10 minutes they decided to print them.

    Comfortable, clean, luxurious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - room interier design - soft mattress + "king size" bed is only 160cm wide...adequate but definitely not comfortable. - unable to cool down room below 23°C...window cannot be suficiently open, airconditioning allowed setting of minimum 20°C, but temperature never fell below 23°.

    Location, view, caffe in the room, cool bathroom design with outside view...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    8.8
    It was very relaxing and staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to fault anything really, there wasn’t much to pick from the room service menu at night

    Staff where very good, bed was comfy,easy access to the town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trying to find the controls for the auto blinds in the bathroom.

    The good sized bathroom and the automated curtains! A comfortable bed and quiet air conditioning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel, racist staff receptionist except manager and room services. To far from dam central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were racist, unpleasant asked if I even paid for the room. Made our stay really uncomfortable. But the manager was lovely and she made the stay more pleasent. On the last day they tried to cone us out of money also

    The rooms were beautiful and so I as the hotel decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that could have gone better is that we booked the room as double/twin and I didnt notice that it was indicated it was only one bed. When we arrived I wanted to change to a room with two beds but then we could only upgrade and not just switch rooms.

    Very clean, Nice spa facilities, good service all around: reception, restaurants, spa, room service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Great hotel and hotel staff. Japanese restaurant was not up to the hotel standard given the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner took 4 hours - we received sorry's and sake, but what we really wanted was the best meal to match the hotels service level. This was lacking on that evening.

    Authentic japanese courtesy and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    10
    Fabulous. Will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was exceptional. When there was confusion with paying a big amount of money up front for extras it was soon sorted, halfed and I had a letter of apology for the upset plus some gorgeous chocolates! It made my first time abroad with out my parents a little less scary and definitely comfortable! Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming, spotlessly clean, perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double/Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Great concierge service - super helpful and knowledgeable. Fab spa and pool. A little way out of the centre but very easy to get in via trams or cabs. Loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful service, room facilities of required standard for...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get a table in either of the main restaurants so ate in the lobby brasserie "Serre" which is pretty expensive for the quality / food. Cocktail menu in the 23rd floor bar is from the 1980s and could do with an update. Nude only sauna / steam room a bit of a culture clash for some international travellers.

    Wonderful service, room facilities of required standard for the price. Wifi lightning quick.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    can relax,modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    too cold to swim/I hit 2times my head at new system desk which was not flat

    good breakfast/new room/nice japanese restrant ,happy new year course was super good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.2
    Superior hotel, very nice decoration, professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool and gym could be a bit better equipped.

    Superior hotel, very nice decoration, professional staff. Breakfast was very good, great quality versus size (it's always better to limit the choice and offer superior products, as is the case here). Will most definetely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Empty water bottles were not taken away despite us requesting it to be removed from our room. Walls were thin so we can here some yelling from another room while we were trying to sleep. We had to call front desk about it because baby might wake up. They were apologetic and promised to check up on it immediately.

    Room was very spacious and convenient especially with a baby; Staff warm and friendly; Awesome restaurants with attentive staff. We had dinner at Sazanka on a lactose- and soy-free diet and the dishes were still so good that I didn’t feel like I missed out. Baby was able to eat too. Also had dinner at Serre and staff was very attentive and suggested food that our baby can eat. Bread basket from room service very good; Convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Great location for a city break, particularly on New Years Eve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet is far too expensive at 30 Euro's per head! We ate outside the hotel every day except for the last when it was provided FOC due to an issue with our room. The bed was comfortable but showing age. The hairdryer was useless. Not enough plug locations in the property, for instance my wife likes to dry and straighten her hair at the same time, you can't unplug straighteners without them cooling down, ended up plugging in under the coffee machine and using the wardrobe mirror. Bar on 23rd floor didn't want to serve cocktails after 11 on NYE. The TV's electronic program guide doesn't work so you have to flip through 59 channels. The bluetooth connection to the TV doesn't work so you have to bring a speaker if you like to listen to music in your room. We had an issue where ammonia was pumped into the room from the aircon, i'm sure this was a one off. The staff were keen to assist, unfortunately there were no spare rooms to relocate to on NYE so we slept with the windows open having thoroughly aired the room. The Manager Pock was very helpful and refunded our fee for that night and provided breakfast for my wife and I and the others in our party.

    Excellent location, far enough out of the centre to be peaceful without too much of a walk to the sights. Lots of great places to get breakfast near the hotel, especially Coffee and Coconuts. Great Steak restaurant nearby, Loteje. The staff were plentiful and knowledgeable. The Pool and Jacuzzi were great. Great view from our room on the 15th floor. Plenty of lifts. The bar on the 23rd floor is a great asset, wicked views especially of the fireworks on New Years Eve. Umbrellas available, which is very handy given the weather we had, and bicycles although we discovered this on leaving which was a shame.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast buffet and SPA is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    four nights on the 7th floor ... the reception could also have done a favor to us, and book us on a higher floor; even the room might be renewed recently, one window is not in a good shape; stronger winds are very well to hear ... for a leading hotel of the world this is not acceptable; the parking fee of €uro 40.-/per night is simply overdriven and should be corrected, especially when restaurant only guest receive free parking, but hotel guest have to pay for

    Breakfast buffet and SPA is excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    8.3
    Consistent comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much really though the I thought the pool didn’t enforce the age restriction after 8 pm.

    The comfort and general courtesy of the staff. With regard to the first, the room is designed well and has a wagon ambience due to the soft lighting and textures. The Nogami pool is also worthwhile and especially nice in the morning with the natural light.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    Christmas at Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We initially had problems with the room overheating and were a bit disappointed - given the Hotels green credentials - that once fixed the AC was almost continuously needed to keep it cool enough 18C for sleeping (as this was in December it was certainly cooler outside than in so why the AC?)

    The room was very nice, the executive lounge was good, all the breakfasts were very good, everything we had from the downstairs restaurant and from room service were excellent. The best part was the health spa, saunas and pool. On the whole our attempt to avoid all the Christmas blather at home in the UK was almost entirely successful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    6.3
    Staff members at the reception desk need professional trainging in order to work in a five star hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff members at the front desk are not trained professionally as the five star hotel level, they were very rude and I felt they don't have any empathy. However, all other staff members - the cleaning ladies, the door men, the staff at the spa and the staff at the concierge - they were all excellent. The restaurants at the hotel were all booked for two evenings, except one they suggested (more bar type) - it was too expensive. The receptionists at the front desk said that those restaurants are popular, so you need to make reservations a week ahead. Usually travelers don't stay for more than a week in a city - haha. In my opinion, the hotel should not advertise on the website about those restaurants, if guests should make a reservation a week ahead. It could be only available for the local residence.

    swimming pool, spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.2
    High level of services and superb restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wellness facility wasi under to our expectation either in level and design. Sky Bar design is far under to overall environment.

    High level of services and superb restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    Only a 20 minute walk from centre, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a 20 minute walk from centre, quiet location. Amazing facilities & staff where even better. Although there was a mix up, they handled it amazingly which meant we could stay at the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely luxurious room and hotel with wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No swim wear allowed in sauna/ steam room, we were uncomfortable so didn’t get to use this facility. I didn’t know we had to pay room tax at the hotel so this was an unexpected cost as I thought it was all covered upon booking. A discount at Sazanka should have been offered with room bookings.

    Complementary upgrade to a lovely room. Friendly staff. Late check out. Amazing food at Sazanka.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.2
    beautiful Japanese Themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rates + location

    Very nice hotel. located at outskirts of Amsterdam central. There some nice restaurants and bars near the hotel. Very good Fitness facility and good restaurants. The executive lounge could be better by providing some snacks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.2
    New decoration of the rooms is nice but bathroom slightly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff speak little Englush and no Dutch at all. Parking is a problem.Very expensive and takes 10 minutes to valet to get the car.

    New decoration of the rooms is nice but bathroom slightly smaller than before. Swimming pool and spa are outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.3
    Amazing sports/swimming pool complex, staff was helpfull...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water bottle in the room,the room was overheated the first night so we put the AC lower the second night and woke up with a cold.

    Amazing sports/swimming pool complex, staff was helpfull but depends on who you are talking to, rooms are kept very tidy. Very quiet and peaceful location, yet the center is reachable easily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent - this is our second visit to the hotel and we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have like a kettle to make tea in the room as I do not drink coffee. The coffee maker did heat water and so I could make tea but I would have preferred a kettle. The cocktails were very expensive approx. 15 euros each.

    the executive lounge was very good and the breakfast was excellent. All staff were very helpful and charming. They allowed us to check out late at 1.00 pm and extended our access to the executive lounge after we had checked out for the rest of the day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay for comfort and luxury.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful quiet room with panoramic views. Super comfortable bed with a luxurious pillow selection, prompt room service. Convenient location for the Rai Convention Centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.1
    The room was confortable but old and all the hotel need a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was confortable but old and all the hotel need a remodeling. Breakfast is very expensive and location needs a bit walking for everywhere or a bike.

    The room was confortable but old and all the hotel need a remodeling. View was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.3
    Nice property. Could use some housekeeping training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maid service was less than stellar. Didn’t clean up trash.

    Executive Lounge is awesome. Stayed in 2 different Jr Suites and had 2 different beds. The first was much more comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.5
    Dissapointing .. lacked attention to detail which makes a stay Extra Special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath robes .. 1 had holes in it ! The other had belt loop missing .. hardly 5 star !! How to work lift not explained well on arrival .. was a mess .. other people had same issue i saw . Funny smell of SEWAGE or something similar in corridor outside room for first 24 hours .. 5 star ? Not enough coathangers in wardrobe provided for 2 people .. very few .. had to request 9 more ... really basic provision that . No water provided .. common for the price .. costs them v little to do that included !! Way too many light switches in room .. v confussing .. even after 3 nights still couldnt remember which did what . Coffee machine had a mind of its own .. lol Overall would i stay at an Okura again ... No ! for whats suppossed to be 5star it was lacking re the above and didnt have the attention to detail . Not worth the price im afraid .

    Bed was good . Location was good . View was great .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    40Euros per day for parking is a lot considering if you are spending a few days at the hotel. Gift shop doesn't open until 5pm, hotel doesn't have any shops for little snacks/bite food/crisps & chocolate etc which would of been handy. Location is pretty far from central Amsterdam! It's not really walkable, took about 15 minutes in cab and cost around 20-25 euros one way.

    Nice modern hotel, however a little over priced nothing too special or fancy. Good indoor & outdoor car park facility that connects to the hotel. Quiet hotel and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues.

    Great facilities. Nice views of Adam from the room. Comfy bed. Steam, sauna, gym facilities were tops! Definitely will consider whenever back in Adam.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.1
    Spacious rooms, dissapointing spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double/Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very difficult to book a treatment at the spa. On Mondays it was closed, in the mornings also closed, and the rest of the time they were always fully booked.

    The rooms and ambient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    6.3
    i was not happy and i expected more from this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was first given a bigger room but it had two beds and I wanted one bed.. the bathroom had a tub. I asked that I get a room with a double bed. I was moved to a smaller room with no tub in the bathroom. I had booked an executive room. I could not get access to the executive lounge and had to go back to reception. I asked for two pillows and only one was sent. I requested for an extension of an hour extra for check out and that was refused. I enjoyed my stay at a 3 Star more than at this 5 star. the breakfast was good

    the pillow provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was very accommodating. We were traveling with 2 adult sons and I wanted to ensure they had twin beds in their room. Although the hotel's policy is that they cannot guarantee bed choice until check-in, we exchanged emails and they said they would do their best. They certainly did. They gave us connecting rooms, and the twin room was a corner with two walls of windows and great views. Both rooms were very spacious, which is unusual in the Netherlands. Everything about the room was luxurious and the entire staff was great. It was a perfect location--away from the crowds but a quick walk to major attractions or a tram ride to the center. Of course, we paid a good amount (although the same or less as we would have paid for other hotels with smaller rooms), but it was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. I would love to go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: