Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Old Quarter 2 stars

Warmoestraat 22, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 JD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#341 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2841 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Surprisingly pleasant.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was no air conditioning, but they always provided a fan in the several rooms I stayed in. I’d lodge here again, but probably not in June/July.

    Lovely staff overall—from girls at reception, to bartenders, to late night hosts. Fantastic location and home base for a weekend in Amsterdam with friends. They’re very flexible in accommodating room preferences if they have them (more/less quiet, number of beds, canal view/street view, etc), and we had no issues of rowdiness or loud disturbances at all in a full week visit in different rooms. They also serve food and drinks in the bar/lobby downstairs, which is certainly convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    It cannot be more centered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and beds are XS, at least ours, but there is probably not much you can do in an old house.

    It cannot be more centered Railway station, boat tour, bicycle rent, Dam square, restaurants, shopping, etc, all at 0 to 5 minutes walking distance

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Right in middle off every where highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ....shower door could have been bit cleaner ....but beds comfy and tidy Tea and coffee facilities would have been good

    Right in middle off every where highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t aware that we would have very steep stairs to get to our room, we were on the top floor, no lift, as we were in a room across the road from main building of hotel. The shower & toilet were on the level below us.

    Staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful. Clean rooms & close to railway station, eateries & funky shops. Bag storage available which was great. We found the room quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very little room is litteraly never cleaned (6days) towels and sheets are sometimes changed, hotel is noisy , stairs are dangerous , there is a stupid alarm when you open the door of the room (and when your neighbours open their own doors), bonus point if you are a woman on your own, you need to go through a bar (normal bar not nice hotel bar) to access the hotel, with sometimes drunk rude customers And during an exhibition the price for this experience is more than 200€ a night

    The bed was quite confortable, location is great (near centraal station)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    claustrophobic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room smallest i ever stayed in i could touch both walls with my arms outstretched,toilet and shower in same area so after shower toilet soaked

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.8
    The manager was very rude, 1 member of staff was great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was very rude, 1 member of staff was great and tried to help as much as they could but the manager was always trying to over see his decisions!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room size was too small for three people and there were Bed bugs, we have been bitten by the bugs and causes us a burning sensation on the skin.

    the location and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.8
    Horrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like it at all disgraceful

    Other than a bed and hot water and shower WITH ONE SMALL TOWEL EACH DAY TO YSE WHICH WAS GRWY NOT WHITE NI WARDROBE OR DRAWS OR HANGERS YOU HAVE TO LIVE OUT OF YOUR SUIT CASE there were NO FACILITIES AT ALL IT IS NOT A HOTEL. I would not recommend this to anyone for £75.00 per night per person to sleep and take a shower is totally unacceptable. I will be complaining.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    The 4 single beds were comfortable and we were pleasantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the attic on 4th floor with narrow steep stairs. Not an easy way up to negotiate when you have luggage.

    The 4 single beds were comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised that here was a bathroom in the room with clean towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Location, 5 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to drag a heavy luggage to an under roof room on 4th fl.with steep stairs which I didn't expected this...

    Location, 5 min. to walk from a main train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    expensive for two star staff very good cleaning poor was charged for better room canal side good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    organization on rooms cleaning standard better building a freshen up laundry needs sorting out

    out priced for value for money rooms not up to standard even though two star

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is just great if you’re arriving from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the top of the building, so we had to pull our luggage all the way to the fourth floor (not a problem just be ready for it) and like it was on the top, the heat was tremendous (we were there on summer) even though we did sleep with our window open, you can still fell the heat… so I wouldn’t recommend it for people with heat problems.

    Location is just great if you’re arriving from the train station, you are on the perfect street for different type of food and stores, and its easy to walk from there to the rest of Amsterdam. Team at the reception is really great and welcoming, room really clean and with good space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    If not for the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had on the top floor did not have sufficient air conditioning or air movement. It was extremely uncomfortable to stay in.

    The location was amazing. The view of the canal - awesome. The street that it was on was full of life and activity which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall good location clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the rooms are very very steep! We booked 2 room one in the first floor the other was right at the top Hard going with big cases and kids

    Beds were very comfortable Check In was quick and easy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Very very small, . Stay only as a last resort .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, shoe box room . Tiolet is in the shower it's so small . Room was unbearably hot . Have to access the room by going through the bar ., which is what this place is --- a bar with rooms above .

    Location ---- in the middle of everywhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Super-cool place to spend a night or two on the way to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the following issues seems to be quite typical for Amsterdam. 1 - oh God those stairs! Stayed at the 4 floor, no elevator, which would be ok in any other city, but not here. Amsterdam staircases are nightmare. If your luggage is over 6kg - well, you've been warned. 2 - also the street is VERY noisy at night. 3 - it's absolutely overpriced comparing to the same conditions in any other European country.

    Location is superb! Close to the central station, easy to find, a lot of restaurants nearby. The stuff is really friendly and helpful. Bonus point for the reception & bar combined! Luggage storage is very convenient (and the particular staircase to storage is not too bad considering Amsterdam standards). Shower and WC are very well maintained. Twin room had two beds at the different sides of a room, that's rare and great. The room itself was pretty clean and had fan inside (no AC though).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    good location, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower curtain should be changed, a bit mouldy! No kettle etc for tea and coffee, it is expensive enough to warrant this.

    Hotel was fine, good location, plenty shops etc nearby, The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good . The bar is nice to sit and have a drink. All the staff were friendly and helpful, great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff were super friendly and the location amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew that the room would be small, okay for a one night stay, but barely any space to move & no fan or air con during the summer

    The staff were super friendly and the location amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything you need and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It's Amsterdam!

    Great location. Easy to walk to, with luggage, from the Central Station. The staff was very nice and their served a fantastic breakfast. The location is in a great location and is easy to walk to all the attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are tiny and unclean and the staff are largely unfriendly; a couple of them were very nice though! The rooms facing the street are very noisy and since there is no zircon you can't leave the windows open

    The location is great ... but ideally you don't want your kids in this location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Woukd stay again and reconmend - perfect for heart of city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was slamming doors from within the hotel and also our bedroom looked onto the side of the next hotel / tiny courtyard and as it was so hot everyone had their windows open so we could here EVERYTHING from every other room which made sleeping difficult (mainly people being sick early hours of the morning !!) perhaps if there was air con then wouldn't have to have windows open all the time.

    Beds comfy and clean, bathroom clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    No fan or air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air con. Room very small Stairs very steep and no lift, so had to carry all our luggage up 5 flights of stairs Room was small considering the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are thin and you can hear everything near the rooms. We were rudely awakened by children running up and down the hallways at midnight.

    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The property is conveniently located near the central train station, restaurants and museums.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Lower budget hotel that is perfect for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in is at the bar downstairs and the rooms are upstairs. This is a lower budget hotel. We only stayed one night, which was perfect. We got a triple room. Three single beds were in the room and there was very little space to move around. The bathroom was exceptional and had been recently updated. The place was definitely clean. If you want a low budget hotel for a one night stay, this is perfect. I don't think this is place to stay for a lot of days, since it is very cramped in the room. Also, there is no air conditioning, but they do give you a high speed fan, which was very nice. The location is very close to the train station, so I give that a definite plus as well. We did have the breakfast downstairs the next morning for $8.50. It was excellent, so would recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice locations, nice decor, friendly staff and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath, was an open shower which mean it had no doors only a curtain, the water from the shower covered the whole foor in the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Ice cream waffle shop opposite, cool stairs, cool card door...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking west of station by ibis, nicholaas, inntel, avenue, Sheraton parijs. nakerd xc*nt..

    Ice cream waffle shop opposite, cool stairs, cool card door location, view,windows, hours, dist. fom Centraal Station. Me going cheaper -ova..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    The main thing that really got to me was they took money out my bank and didn’t take it of the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe / tea should be free for guest but more entertainment needed and also staff need to interact more with customers

    The stairs are a bit much , this needs to be stated a bit more clearly especially when staying on the 10 floor and also the room is no where near the size it looks in the picture , very good photography

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    always a winner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old quarter is a sound place to stay, great location in the center of Amsterdam along warmostratt surrounded by coffee shops and decent bars too drink in , ive stayed here a good few times now and will be back here for the next dutch festival i get on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Views views views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!!

    Views views views!!! This hotel was right on the canal facing the central station. Location was amazing right next to the red light district, lots of food, super easy to get to, and a bar for the entrance to the hotel! Super nice staff I would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Central location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very basic. No aircondition / fan was available. Bathroom facilities including tv with a number of channels is available.

    Location is very central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Looking onto cannel and very central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find it with a car as in old part.

    Looking onto cannel and very central to everything. Breakfast was good. Nice and clean and nicely done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    The only good thing about this hotel is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all it’s not a warm welcome coming to reception that is a bar Secondly it shouldn’t even be called hotel that’s misleading as it’s literally just rooms in an old building The beds are not comfy. No amenities In the room. The room is super small nothing like the pictures. The staff are nice but don’t put extra effort in guiding you around the city. Like giving you a map and telling you where to go or any recommendations. Bad smells kept coming from the bath room. As there is no circulation or a window to let fresh air in. No air con / a fan that was full of dust had to leave it outside the room as I am allergic to dust. The beds, pillows and quilts are poor. And the curtains are not clean. Overall the cleanliness of the rooms are very very poor. Do not recommend it to families with young kids.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is quite close to everything so that was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so expensive for what it was. Unfortunately you get that though booking peak season, however it was very overpriced for the size of the room and what was offered. $1500 AUD in total for 5 nights.

    The location is quite close to everything so that was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable taste of old Amsterdam. Not the Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow steep stairs to our room. Good exercise but pretty complicated even for carry on bags. Other rooms were accessible by small elevator. The street is a party street. Not as crazy as Bourbon Street but similar in character.

    Great location. Old school: you enter through the restaurant. This is an old building so proportions are old world. This is charming but may prove difficult for some. This is a sleeping room only, not a place to hang out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Six square meters room in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was essentially a narrow bed in a large closet. The description says 6 square meters, probably correct. For 100 Euros. Really great location though, so if you don't plan to hang out in your room, it could get the job done.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fabulously close to the city, Dam Square, Canal tours, and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had great views of the canal, sound proof walls & doors. It is right in the middle of town, with two great health food cafes just a few doors down. There is no parking in Amsterdam. We caught the train from the airport (20 mins) and it was a 5 min walk to the hotel. Easy as.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Happy stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be quite loud at night which I wasn’t really that bothered about but I could see it annoying some people

    In a very good location, lots of shops, restaurants and bars in the area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel in perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a couple of things that we couldn’t get on board with. There was no mini fridge so whenever we were bringing drinks back to the room (bearing in mind when we were there it was about 25 degrees so it was very warm) there was no where to store them to keep them cold. There was also no air con so it was very hot. There was however a small fan and the large window which did open fully so that was okay. Also, the bed was quite small, me and my partner had difficulty fitting on it together, and even though the room is small I feel a bigger bed would fit better. Nonetheless we would definitely come back here again as we had a lovely time and the hotel was nice

    Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and we loved how easy it was to get to. You simply get on a train from the airport which takes 10 minutes and then it’s a 5 minute walk from the train station. The staff that greeted us was lovely and friendly, very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The room was absolutely adorable and very very clean. We stayed on the fourth floor in room 44 which was at the back of the building and considering it’s on such a busy side street with lots of bars and restaurants it’s surprisingly quiet. We will definitely be coming back here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We caught BEDBUGS. Both me and my friend had to head to the doctor afterwards as it was terribly scratching and itching. Not normal — proof of a very bad room hygiene.

    The location is great, and the disposal of the room is surprising !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Spent as little time in room as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny, the price was hugely expensive for the facilities! Aircon was essential and not in room two people in an oven is unpleasant.

    The location is good for central station, the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    The view from the window of our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The servicing of the rooms very rough the toilet and shower definitely had some blockage unhygenic .We told them nothing done about it

    The view from the window of our room. Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A brilliant time away, in a perfect location. The staff at the hotel were brilliant, and very helpf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was spot, having the canal room topped it off perfectly. If you don’t like noise I wouldn’t advise, as you’ll hear the traffic etc, but it didn’t bother us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    OK for the price; good location in heart of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast

    This is reasonable overnight accommodation in the heart of Amsterdam. It is nothing special. But they do try to keep things orderly. Not the usual kind of Breakfast served in most Dutch hotels..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole bathroom gets flooded when having a shower, however the rain shower was great itself. A couple of stains on bedding and surfaces.

    Great location. Ideal hotel for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    No frills comfortable hotel in the best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no issues whatsoever with the hotel! Rooms were basic but clean and cleaned every day and as we were attending a weekend long event it was exactly what we wanted, staff extremely helpful and you have 24 hr access at all times.

    A great place to spend a few nights in central Amsterdam! Staff very helpful, bed extremely comfy, in wonderful room overlooking the canal. Good value for money for the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    looks promising so far but its only early
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access very difficult arrive taxi or car cannot get close to this hotel. you need to walk with bags and family all the way down the street. Room is tiny even by Amsterdam standards. Its across the street from the check-in which is just a pub. Staff will offer no assistance to carry bags up the "ladder" of a staircase to the room. This room is for backpackers only.

    Location. Its the only good thing about this hotel if you are a family. If you are backpacker group you will enjoy this location and not worry about walk in and out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very warm, with no fans and needed maintenance. A place not to stay if you cant sleep with noise as it’s noisy till 4 am.

    Location was great, staff were friendly, the bed was comfy and the shower is powerful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all a good experience considering the perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms with very basic comfort.

    All in all a good experience considering the perfect location and the very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Fab hotel, staff lovely, rooms clean! Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the lack of a mirror in the room!

    Fab location, rooms clean (though on the small side!)... Wasn’t sure what to expect from reviews on trip advisor but would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Not so good1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff for the breakfast was slow, you have to ask them to take the order, also the entrance of the hotel is really bad and notable

    Room was nice and amazing view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift has been broken, we haven't been informed about that before our arrival. Using a stair case was a pain, very sleepy, plus our room was on the highest floor. We didn't get any compensation, discount or an apology for this inconvenience. The shower was a toilet-shower combo style. For such amount of money we have paid I would expect much more.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Basic but very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very narrow with about 6 inches between edge of bed and the wall. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Bathroom also very small. Floor in stepping out of shower into room is very very slippy.

    The bed itself was extremely comfortable. Location in city centre superb. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    The location was close to center city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms are up stairs that are very narrow and steep. Do not go with kids or elderly. The staff was also very rude and pushie.

    The location was close to center city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    If you prefer character and friendliness over bland modern hotel style, this is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not suitable for anyone who has trouble with stairs. Chance of disturbance from inconsiderate guests because of thin walls.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (optional extra) good value. En suite room small but with TV and serviced with towels and tissues. Location at heart of old town convenient for walking to many popular places and shops, and only a few minutes from Central Station. Mid-priced restaurants of all kinds in same street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    enjoyable would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would like a coffee machine or kettle in room.

    Room with the view (Room 35) excellent! Enjoyed our stay, staff very welcome and friendly. We spent 5 nights at the hotel and it just went in too quick, would recommend it to anyone for the Dutch experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was excellent, cheap happy hour fantastic location and the staff couldnt do enough to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like the wet room bathroom. You was only allowed one cup of tea with your breakfast

    The room was clean and tidy. Free safe and wifi. I had a brilliant view of the canal and boats

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Recommend paying more and staying elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room, towels had holes in, bedding and pillows weren’t very clean, could hear every thing, stairs were very steep, hard to get up and creaky. Rooms are very small and do not resemble the photos advertised. If someone walked in the room above, it sounded like they were coming through the ceiling.

    Great location. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.5
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small room. very noisy all stag parties around me. Room very hot overlooking courtyard where people were smoking. No wardrobe just 2 hooks on wall. None of hotel details sent made it clear that it was just above a bar in the redlight district

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Easy to get to from station as I'm disabled.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, pleasant rooms, good bar, lovely meals, ideal location to trains but only a short walk to be more central.

    Easy to get to from station as I'm disabled.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could have been better, everything.

    The front desk is actually the side of the bar counter. It's dark and uninviting. The pictures of the rooms online are deceiving.There was two twin size mattresses put on a double size bed frame, so the sides would dip off, so you had to remain right in the middle of it, then a third twin mattress on its own frame was literally right beside it. We had to slide down/climb up the end of the bed to get out/in, with minimal amount of room at the ends of the bed to stand or walk past. Washroom was decent but small. Very tiny closet with no door. Elevator was out of service. The only good thing was the location. Since it was a short visit, being in the tourist area saves commuting time. But maybe there are other places in the area that are better than this one. This room and hotel experience was not worth the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were not so great, it would of been nice to have a mini fridge to store your bottle of water as the heat in the room made them warm. Also it would of been great to have some tea facilities. There also wasn’t a disabled toliet in the bar area which would of been helpful as we either had to go down a steep pair of stairs or up to the hotel room. For someone with reduced mobility this wasn’t helpful.

    The location was brilliant and the beds were comfy. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the wine menu was also very cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    it is very basic but very convenient for Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    elevator didn't work .

    location is perfect in a busy street but we knew it . staff helped us breakfast was good but very poor ,you can choose only a drink and a sweet or salad dish. you must pay extra coffee or scones.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Middle Aged Men’s Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the same down points as any Amsterdam hotel. Tight rooms and steep stairs. For the location though, you full expect that.

    Having been to Amsterdam a few times, we knew this would be a great location and it certainly was. Great bar and reasonable drink prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Wrong hotel for a few days in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more variety for breakfast - eg fresh fruit, yoghurt. Very narrow stairs - difficult with luggage. No air-conditioning in room. Mean with towels. Room furniture slight and tired. Room fairly small for the price. Would have liked more TV channels in English. Slow service in dining area (training issue!). Expensive for what offered.

    Not much. Breakfast was very limited but nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Historic updated hotel in an awesome location in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in the central canal historic area so the room size was cozy.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic! Right out the door are many restaurants, bars, and the hotel is in walking distance to the central train station. The canal views from the room were awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay and our room at Old Quarter, good value for money compared to the price of others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor of building 2. The staircase was very tight and steep. Fine if you are young and fit but still a mission to carry your bags up and down. There was only 1 toilet and 1 shower to service 8 rooms.

    Staff wer helpful, checkin and out was seemless. Great location in Amsterdam and lovely loft room with window to look out over the rooftops of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is fantastic - near the Centraal station and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is fantastic - near the Centraal station and the red light district. The room was rather big and clean. And it has an astonishing view to a channel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Very tiny, basic room, very noisy, but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, especially between 8 pm and 3 or 4 am. Mechanical humming from inside the bathroom wall that was muted when I closed the door, but still audible. Lots of sounds from other tenants heard through walls, through the floor, from the stairwell. Noise from outside, and from the pub on the first floor. Not a good place to sleep.

    The location in Old Town is on a cute street, and is very convenient 10 minute walk from the Centraal train station. Lots of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Not a location for children; Red Light District; exposed my children to mature/inappropriate shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the border of Red Light District - walked past many mature shops from closest parking deck. My 10 year old was exposed to xxx-rated shops - displays of strap on penises, x-rated materials, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Hostel like rooms in the centre of the city
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is more of a hostel than a hotel. If you know Amsterdam you won't mind all the steep stairs. The rooms aren't very cozy nor clean.

    Location is great The bathroom was very clean compared to the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedsheets used were not properly cleaned. The staircases were difficult to manage with poor light conditions especially for elderly people.

    Great location (near vicinity to central station), helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a tad uncomfortable n mattress foam kept moving. No hairdryer, no face washer or hand towels. Lift available but unreliable. Out of action for 2 of the 3 day stay

    Great location. Basic clean accomodation on edge red light district. Canal view room size good. Close to station and major attractions. Lots of variety for dining, drinking etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    We chose the old quarter because of it’s proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 1 floor above the street full of bars and restaurants and was very noisy- we were there on a week night.

    We chose the old quarter because of it’s proximity to Amsterdam Centraal Station. It was about 5 mins walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful hotel. Does not look like pictures at all. Only wanted something clean, it was not. Was given two single beds instead of double both had hairs in, man on reception would only change one. Bathroom was only nice part, shower head was mouldy green but rest was ok. If you type in to google and properly research this hotel you will find pictures of what the hotel actually looks like, not modern and not clean. Do not stay here!!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Old Quarter traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: