Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Oorsprongpark 2 stars

F.C.Dondersstraat 12, 3572 JH Utrecht, Netherlands

#28 of 30 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1404 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.2
    Although it is in a quaint neighborhood, it is a charmless place in need of a complete renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The slap-dash style of color-blocking and remodeling is unattractive. Everything about the place read as a 'cheap shortcut'. The shower smelled moldy beyond anything I have experienced, so I ran the fan at long stints and minimized my time in the room. Even though I drank coffee at the property in the a.m., I found the breakfast room to be unkempt and unwelcoming. I was traveling alone and, luckily, upon arrival a friend helped haul my heavy luggage up to the top floor room. There was not a lift, and I wish I had known to ask for help with my bags at checkout time, as the stairs were narrow, winding and lacked handrails. In all, there is so much room for improvement my list of negatives could easily continue.

    The tiny room had one window with a pleasant view overlooking a small canal. The bed was standard and comfortable enough. The hotel, although quite far from the center, is convenient to public transit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    They waited for me for check-in as I arrived after 11pm.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little water running in the shower.

    They waited for me for check-in as I arrived after 11pm. That was very nice! The room was very clean. Short walk to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, size of room, accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was warm at the start but second person had a cold shower also the shower head did not distribute the water in an even manner.

    Location, size of room, accommodating staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Great if you have an early start in Utrecht
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, you have to drag your luggage up on very steep stairs. Very basic door to the hall, you can hear everything.

    Good reading light in bed. Really close to bus station, direct connection from the main station. They let me leave my luggage behind to run my errands in the city. Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel, near bakery , restaurants and supermarket. great location,
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Basic bathroom, no shower head in the shower. No fridge or safe in the room. Dutch house, so no elevator to the room, and stairs are steep.

    The location. room is clean and nice. TV ok. basic bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff was friendly and held my bag (and my friend’s, who was not staying there) for several hours. 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, but that’s the Netherlands.

    Breakfast was cozy and excellent. I walked past this hotel daily and was excited to stay toward the end of my time in Utrecht.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    we had a lovely stay, in utrecht , thank you !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the double room have small bed. the room is not so clean, i found a used chewingum in the room.

    the location is very beutiful. the receptionists are very kind. you can rent a bike for 10€ a day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Only if you're fit and energetic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the hotel is a pain, aside from the steep stairs with balustrade on only one side and there changes in level. Not suitable if you have large luggage, any mobility/ fitness issues. The layout is a maze without signage to make it easier. The bathroom is very tight, and the room would have benefited from more hangers in the wardrobe, and a safe. The hotel is also a long walk from any attractions.

    The room was bright, colourful and well finished. The bed was fine, if quite small, the television a good size for the room, there was enough sockets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    It is what you see in the pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is what you see in the pictures. Regular hotel, good location as it is half block away from the bus stop that gets you anywhere in the city, regular rooms, no highlights but no downsides either. Although I think the Hotel should be a bit cheaper for the kind of property and rooms they have, it was a nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Go with another option - the price doesn't justify the accommodations and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel appears to be a former home and feels like it could have a lot of charm - for example, it backs up to a canal and has a small yard, but access is not provided to hotel guests. My room was in the next building and in the basement, so it was stuffy and warm. The room and bathroom were very small. Some of the staff were quite helpful and nice, and others did not seem to be too interested in helping. It's on the outskirts of the center - you can walk to the sights, but it's a good 20 minutes at least (and the map they provide is not helpful at all). It was a disappointing stay.

    Breakfast was good (although not included in the price). The hotel has a lot of potential, which is unfortunately not meeting at this time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Was neat and clean and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After getting my bicycle stolen from outside the front of the hotel, the front desk offered little to no help. Maby beforehand tell guests about the rampant theft in the area. As the police did.

    Was neat and clean and central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Simple and clean accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good 20 - 30min walk to any of the sightseing places. Bus service is closeby. Remember to buy a €6 day ticket at the Main Train Station before embarking the bus. Otherwise you could pay €2.80 to get to town by bus and then buy the day ticket. Very steep steps to all rooms either on first or second floor. It could be a challange with large luggage pieces

    Clean, comortable and sufficient service. Good breakfast for extra €8 Good place to stay especially when you plan to hire a bike and join the students constantly moving around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much equipments provided in the room.

    Helpful Staff Not Located in the city center but very easy to get there either walking or taking the bus (Bus stop next to the hotel) Very calm and peaceful neighborhood (Park nearby)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning the room and the bathroom after the previous tourists was not done properly.The access to the garden was limited to breakfast time.

    The bed was comfortable.The location was quite close to city center-around16 min walk. Value for money good considering one bed accomodation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    A proper bed. Staff were rude.

    The bed was 2 single beds put together and these single beds felt child-size. Very uncomfortable. In the morning, 2 hours before checkout, the cleaners walked in our room without knocking and woke us up. When I told the manager he just laughed. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Pretty good for 2 star!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is 2 star but was better than expected ... rooms decent size beds comfy. no air con but windows opened for ventilation. Not noisy as it is a little further from centre. Not much not to like!! Clean. Bus stop just round the corner. Stairs to rooms are steep ... but thats the was it seemed to be everywhere we stayed!

    Bus handy as stop is around the corner. Free tea and coffee in reception. hairdryer in room. Bathroom has shower sink and toilet. Rooms very clean. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast is not included but can be paid for in addition. Handy to have this ... self service breakfast buffet style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    As from 2-stars hotel, you cannot expect much, though what you can find there is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For someone it could be difficult to reach top floors because the stairs are very steep and there is no lift. And, it could be cheaper as for the 2-stars hotel.

    The environment is pleasant, the city center is within walking distance; the bus stop is also nearby. Liked cleanliness in the room and in the toilet/shower. The bed is comfortable; the other furniture and facilities are very basic. Wi-fi works fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Quite disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a bit far from the city centre, so prepare to walk 20 minutes/rent a bike/pay €2.80 for a bus ride. Those red curtains are not dark enough, letting the sunlight come in early morning. Cleaning should be improved, we had a dead fly close to the window and it has not been removed for the whole duration of our stay, plus the balcony was useless because full of cigarette butts. It's quite expensive for the overall quality.

    Quiet area, comfy beds, bike available to rent and close to the bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    The bedroom was nice, with a beautiful view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was very difficult to connect to. very low reception and sometime just switch off. Since I had the same problem with my phone and my computer it didn't come from my material.

    The bedroom was nice, with a beautiful view. The staff was friendly. Really nice stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could be opened wide, but no safety lock to leave them open for a bit of air while away.

    Room and bathroom were clean, bed good, breakfast very nice, location nearby busstops and cafe, restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Would come back!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been a little bit bigger, especially the shower. It was difficult to even turn around. But no weird smell, it was actually pretty clean.

    The location is perfect! The reception guy was friendly, kind and helpful. The room was nicely decorated, clean and quiet. The bed was extra comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room and bathroom. Very hot room. Somewhat noisy because on the road, but the window isolated the noise.

    good location. Confortable bed. good to rent a bike. Good breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.0
    its not worth at all for paying single bed 95 euro per night.....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was disgusting.... my room was like a small kitchen and toilet was horrible... very noisyas well ..i cudnot sleep all night.. thank god i stayed only one night.....

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Good connected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. They could invest some money in an updated shower tap or change the cloth curtain by something more hyginec, like a shower panel.

    Good connected. Not much in the center but easy to reach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, bike rental possibile, friendIy staff and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great and place was a bit worn out. Considering price though, can't complain.

    Good location, bike rental possibile, friendIy staff and overall good, considering the price. Room was small and old but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet ... close to Utrecht center .... some excellent restaurant 300 m from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little small .... and the colors of the walls are a bit psychedelic !!!! They should use their beautifull garden for customers to have breakfast/ relax .... or even departs by row boat to Utrecht

    good beds .... breakfast fine. Location is good in a quiet disctrict .... parking is a little scarce though !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing and convenient
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is lovely - the apartments compact/clean/warm/welcoming - we had a very appetising breakfast at 7.30 - food was warm and delicious. I will be coming back and will definitely stay here gain - I have already referred it to other family members. Thank You!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    find something better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything - terrible staircase - terrible room - most expensive hotel that I stayed in Europe - with the worst quality room Not value for money

    Proximity to city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    It was clean, comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little pokey and the shower jet wasn't very strong. It took a while each time to adjust the temperature of the shower.

    It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem it was that the room was under-earth level. But I had to check it before. In general it was a good choice!

    Very friendly staff and nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    No welcome when we arrived unlike the previous hotels stayed at in Holland we certainly would not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pushed against the wall making access difficult, shower inadequate, the lack of contact when we booked no welcome at all. The coffee machine did not work. No offer of help with luggage despite the very steep stairs. A plus was the help received when my husband fell and damaged his leg badly while loading the car.

    The breakfast was very good but it would have been nice to see some friendley staff to wish us good morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    I liked the restaurant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the restaurant next door. That was wonderful and made the stay there worthwhile. Otherwise, the hotel rooms were outdated, beds were tiny, and WAY overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Very good coffee and tea at of the 24 hours in the hotel...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not accepted dollar They have not elevator The walls conduct sounds between the rooms easily Stairs was very bad and dangerously position

    Very good coffee and tea at of the 24 hours in the hotel lobby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Run down and overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place is drab and run-down, with indifferent service, no lift and rooms that are beyond grim. I had to book a hotel at the last minute and needed to keep below £100 a night. This place actually cost more than my budget, but for that price I would have expected a clean, dry room and bedlinen, and facilities for making hot drinks in the room, as well as basics like a bedside table. Instead I got a stained duvet cover, damp pillows, a room that smelt overpoweringly bad (cigarettes, damp, weird odours coming from the drains and goodness knows what else), dirty carpets and bathroom, cobwebs, dusty furniture and some very dodgy wiring. The washbasin was too small to use safely, and had no plug. This inconveniently-located basement room had clear signs of damp and looked like it had not been decorated since the 1980s.

    Despite being away from the city centre, the location was quiet and very close to bus stops and shops. The walk into town, although quite long, is very pleasant. The breakfast (quite pricey at E8 extra) is average but plentiful and served in a pleasant but slightly drab area overlooking the garden and canal. The radiator in my room worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were poor quality for the price paid, up stairs that were so steep it was difficult to negotiate with a suitcase. Had the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    All Very Dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Very Dated. No soundproofing so TV and conversation in next room loud. A bit grim really. Very expensive for what it was. Suggest spending a little more to book somewhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Was a nice stay for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like was the amount of dust in our room, clearly hadn't been cleaned before we came dust wise. The carpet could have done with a good hovering as it had a pile up of hair stuck to it from previous also toilet seat needed to be cleaned properly.

    The location was good and very quite area, we was able to get a good night sleep with comfortable beds. The building was very attractive at night when lit up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    The position was perfect, close to the city centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you get a room on the top floor, it could be trick to go upstairs with a suitcase due to the very tiny steps on the stairs (but this is typical in the Netherlands, all in all). Unfortunately, on the first day I realised that somebody used the toilet before my arrival, and it was not cleaned afterwards. The days after everything was always clean, but that was not the best welcome.

    The position was perfect, close to the city centre of Utrecht so that, unless the weather is really unfair, you can easily have a walk and reach almost everything. The bus stop is behind the corner, so you are really independent. The staff was really kind and helpful whenever I had questions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    It was fine and because of the price and the location, I would probably stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not that great and more expensive than advertised on Booking.com (8 euros instead of 7 euros). The double room with two people in it was very small. Also the bathroom is tiny. A large person could get stuck on the toilet.

    The hotel was really close to public transportation. This made it very convenient to visit, relatives outside the city center and to get to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place. Good beds. Friendly people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok but some omelette stuff would make it complete (but it is 2 star so what am I complaining :)

    Staff friendly and helpful free coffee tea. Good wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a lot of spiderwebs in my room and the bathroom was pretty cold.

    I really liked that the room was spacious enough and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    The room was okay, but it was expensive for what it was.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea/ coffee available before we left in the morning (6.30 am), a kettle and some sachets in the room would have been good. Although we were given a wifi code, it didn't work with any of the available routers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Dirty-dirty-dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived less than one hour before check in and front desk agent sent us away without even bothering to check if any of the units might be ready. Even though we have asked for that. He told us to come back in one hour. Obviously we weren't welcomed much. He looked highly bothered by any questions that we had. Maybe we interrupted his lunch or something?? An hour later we have got in ( this time another agent at the desk was much more welcoming!). The room was dirty. The wall lights above the bed were covered with thick dust that was accumulating there for months! Same goes for wall decorations and heating unit. Full of dust!! I had to wipe those myself. Stains on the bed sheets, don't want to guess the origins... Shower was the worst. Shower walls between the tiles were covered in rust and mold, the glass wall from the inside of shower was covered with black mold that was growing there for centuries. If there is any housekeeping they are not doing a good job. Parking is a whole different story. If you arrive on Saturday or Sunday you might be lucky to get a free spot on the street outside the hotel. On any business days be prepared to pay 18+ Euro as a daily rate for parking. Hotel offers 5Euro per day parking however it's VERY FAR (park and ride location outside of the city) that includes return ticket for the public transit. So if you are seeking to experience housekeeping extremes and cold unwelcoming treatment - this is the place to go!

    The room provided with basic comfort, internet connection was good. Property is located less than 20 minutes walk from old city centre. Quiet, so you can get a great night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant accommodation in an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought I had prepaid via booking.com so was surprised to be asked to pay on arrival. I assume I have not ended up paying twice. My room was on the top floor, in the attic of the original building, accessible only via a steep staircase with very narrow steps, there being no lift. This staircase was difficult to negotiate, especially with luggage. My bed was rather narrow and short, although the room was large enough for a normal sized bed - possibly the bed was the largest that could be squeezed up the staircase. The internet connection was rather slow and failed completely one evening. For 7 euros extra, the buffet breakfast was disappointing - with only limited choices. The late start of breakfast (07:30 - not stated on the booking form, to the best of my recollection) was not helpful when on a work visit to meet people whose working day starts at 08:00.

    Excellent location, ~50 m from Oorsprongpark bus stop giving frequent services to the city centre, the station, and (in the opposite direction) the Uithof University/Hospital complex that I was visiting. The city centre is also within convenient walking distance (about a 15 minute walk). The room was very clean (although unfortunately with some mould between the tiles in the shower cubicle) and quiet. The heating was controllable within the room. The hotel also offers cycle hire, although to the best of my recollection this was not mentioned on their advertisement - they should make this clear in advance and explain the cycle booking procedure. There is a cafe and an excellent (but expensive) fish restaurant nearby. However, the cafe does not open until lunchtime so is not a substitute for the meagre breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts and steep stairs, did not bother me but could be a problem for some

    Basic but clean and comfortable hotel. Would have no hesitation staying here for a few days if visiting Utrecht again, very good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, I paid only 50 euro for a rather...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    Great value for money, I paid only 50 euro for a rather spacious room with a double bed, private shower and toilet, and really close to the city center. Everything was clean and tidy. Haven't tried the breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    It was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The stirs to the room

    The room was excellent and the breakfast was supper. The location of the hotel, also excellent, you can easily find a bus to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    Location of the property;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated interior; ikea bedsheets; small room; outdated shower; shower wasn't entirely clean; sound-isolation not up-to-par

    Location of the property; friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    this was not a positive experience :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness, air quality, room attnedance (see above)

    very nice staff, so feel bad writing less-than-+ review, but this place was terribly equipped to be a "hotel". upon arrival, the room i was given (room 8) smelled so bad from the pipes backing up in the bathroom that i literally couldn't breathe in there. the entire building had a general mustiness/cigarette-laden smell, which is bad for someone even moderately sensitive to air quality, but the smell in the room was just intolerable/nausea inducing. i explained this to the nice/somewhat diffident guy at the desk, and he offered to move me to a room int he basement (room 30). this room was tolerable, but v dusty, smelled more of mold/mildew than the rest of the hotel, and had just a small window looking up to street level...nowhwere near worth what I was charged to stay there, but I didn't have the heart to argue over the pre-paid rate...w/that said, any reasonable hotel manager would have compensated me for the lesser room, and the crappy (pun intended) arrival/inconvenience. To add insult to injury, noone made up the bed or attended to the dusty basement room while i was there. Sorry to say, but this place is to be avoided unless they entirely renovate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, nice breakfast, cozy atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in the room is very tiny: small bed, crammed bathroom, even smaller closet. It's a bit too far to walk to the city center, so you have to take a bus (they also do rent bikes, but I am not accustomed to biking around in a business suit). The WiFi sometimes worked well and other times not that well. There was no fridge in the room.

    Good value for money, nice breakfast, cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    We very much enjoyed our stay here and will come back, often!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Those steep stairs! No plug in basin, that caused much hilarity when I asked for one! We managed without!

    The lovely and very helpful staff and delicious breakfast! The room and bathroom was small but had everything we needed and we were out all day! Great location, walking distance to medieval city centre and Uithof. Bus stop to all locations a few metres away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    Like a hostel with private bath, caution with stairs...many stairs..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge stairs to take the luggage upstairs. There were some hair in the bathroon. It is more like a hostel. Worth for the money.

    The price was good but it is like a hostel with a private bathroom. Location is good but not centrally, however you can walk nicely and University is close.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    It was quiet satisfactory for a short business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was far from the centre. However, getting there on foot or by bus was easy. Stairs were too steep, so that one foot cannot fit in a step.

    The hotel was quite. The room was far enough large for one person. Cleanliness was satisfactory. The hotel serves free coffee and fruits all day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    simple but comfortable room with everything needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit further from the city center but perfectly accesiible by longer walk or by public transport (bus stop 1-2min from the hotel)

    simple but comfortable room with everything needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea machine in the room. Needed a shelve next to the mirror outside the bathroom. They need to wash the walls under the vent in the shower and on the bathroom door

    It was a well laid out room. Small but the mirror that was well life out side the bathroom was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good to know the room was downstairs, since it was difficult to access with large suitcases

    The location is very near to city centre and has a bus station very near. Breakfast is good and has many choices, however you have to pay 7 euros for it. The staff was very friendly as well, we needed extra things for the room and the staff could provide us with no problem or extra charge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    On our arrival, our room smelled like cigarettes but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small single beds.

    On our arrival, our room smelled like cigarettes but the staff promptly changed us to another room, even when the hotel was almost fully booked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stinks..small..housekeeping doesn't knocks.. and they pre authorized money from my credit card what I still haven't got back after a week. Both times when I mentioned it they started with an immediate no we haven't pre charged your card without even considering that they indeed might have. When I show them my bank statement they answered oh we didn't used to to that. But manager wasn't there during check in or check out. Way too overpriced for it's value. Look for something else if you don't want to waste money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Cute colourful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Joined beds are not equal to a double bed! The cover was not warm enough and the room was cold

    The facade outside is really romantic and a perfect spot in Utrecht

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    Room in the basement...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a room in the basement (!), which was slightly humid (you could feel it on the linens) and with a window that looked at the street from below. That's almost unacceptable for any hotel/bnb, certainly so for the price.

    The room is located in a very nice neighborhood, just next to the Oorsprongpark!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communal tea and coffee - would be nicer to have tea/coffee available in the room.

    Location, cleanliness, friendliness, helpfulness, safety, good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely expencive, small, damp, smelly, no hooks to hang up jacket ect. , ventilation in the shower was a dusty hole in the ceiling, water-tap on the wall instead of shower head, very steep stairs to the downstairs rooms. We had Room no. 47

    Location was good, near to the center and Park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    It had a nice view and the furniture was placed very...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small. And the colors that they chose for the walls were a horrible combo. The green was to vivid and the grey made the room even smaller. Also the stairs were too tiny and too many of them to get to the floor.

    It had a nice view and the furniture was placed very thoughtfuly.the staff was very helpful and helped carry my heavy suitcase into the tiny staircase.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    A great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, my first surprise was the staircase it was too steep and difficult to climb with my heavy luggage. (I later realize it was similar in the Netherlands but this was particularly just too steep for me)

    Small room but all the basics were there for me. Clean room (including washroom). Good breakfast plus a cool restaurant just in the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    it was a wonderful stay, i recommend this hotel if the price is fair to the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i did not like the that the employee girl in the coffee bar in the lobby she was not so kind in her way of talking, she is a far eastern and i like them and respect them, so i was surprised how she talked to me when i wanted to buy a coffee. The cleaning was good, but the coffee table was not cleaned in details. Finally the breakfast was so good and rich, but the same always i would recommend the have some vairety like who stays for more than couple of days can find it interesting

    I liked the hotel, i liked the room so wide and comfortable and the staff were perfect and the facilities and its nearness of the metro and train station. the room temp was great, the bed was great, the the bathroom and shower was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Charming, old-world central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of its charm was great use of a narrow space but that meant steep staircases - good fitness training, ask for a room at the very top!

    Charming, old-world central location. Lots of extra touches, like free apples

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Bed is soft, hotel is very quiet, view of a canal in back,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A paper napkin to go with the free gingerbread would have been useful.

    Bed is soft, hotel is very quiet, view of a canal in back, very close to public transport and also walking distance to the center. Steps are very steep, so no big suitcases and it's a little tricky to carry the free coffee and tea up to your room, but doable if you're patient. No frills, but very pleasant. Staff very helpful. Next to a street full of shops, groceries, pharmacies, etc. that can be sometimes hard to find in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed way to soft, you rolled out of it. Shower just too small. Small balcony used as an ashtray. (Why wasn't it cleaned prior to my visit ?) Yes a 2 star, but way overpriced for this rating. Very steep staircase

    Tea and coffee maker downstairs. Young staff helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    easy to park your car in the neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in really needs some refreshing. Decoration was very poor, small bathroom with old showroom.

    easy to park your car in the neighbourhood 30min by walk to the center of Utrecht so if you want to jump of your room to the city, you will be disappointed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely small hotel in great locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Double" actually means twin beds pushed together. Room was very very hot, but we visited at a very hot time so not their fault!

    Friendly staff, nice buffet breakfast, nice touch to have self-service free hot drinks during the day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.2
    value for money if you don't mind tired interiors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room areas are pokey and mine looked more like a 1 star hostel room - very dated and very tired. The mattress was foam based...not good in summer temperatures

    A beautiful street and full of character in the front. A nice size breakfast room with a good view to a canal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Quiet and nicely located hotel in Utrecht
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I thought the coffee and breakfast wasn't very good for the price. I also found the room price very high perhaps because of the time of the year? Guests would smoke cigarettes on the balcony outside of my room which was unpleasant.

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, my room was cleaned and I was given clean towels every day. I requested a quiet room towards the back of the hotel and I was given one. I loved the view from my room (a canal) and the restaurant next to the hotel on the corner (De Kust) was really nice. You're close to many green areas and parks and you can many different streets to arrive in the city center which was a great way to explore the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    cracking little hotel near to Utrechts lively centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got too warm during the day making it hard to sleep at night but then again it was warm weather

    Really helpful staff. Good clean room. Convenient location. Great value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We found the check-in very neutral. We asked if we could checkout a bit later. The receptionist didn't even check if it was possible. He could have asked us what time was suitable for us. Even if it was for 30 min we would have appreciated the effort. - Also we booked a garden view and we got a street view but we didn't complain because the street view was nice too. - Wifi was extremely slow. - Very small shower.

    - The room 24 with the view. - Bed was comfortable. - The location in a quiet area with nice cafes and restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean and Basic Shelter for a Reasonable Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a disappointment. I cannot say it was worth the seven euros. One might be better off heading to a local bakery. The wifi was really spotty. The bathroom was was tiny. To use the toilet was to sit with the sink in one's lap. Still, these are minor drawbacks that did not seriously detract from my stay.

    The room was clean, comfortable, and very basic. It really was just a clean bed, a place to shower, and a roof over my head. The location was very good. I could walk to everything I wanted to see in Utrecht, including the Dom tower and cathedral, St. Peter's, restaurants, parks, and really all of the core of Utrecht. The train station is also about 30-35 minutes away on foot as well. I found the staff helpful, especially in helping to arrange my transportation to the airport. Overall this was a good deal for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Oorsprongpark traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: