Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Opduin 4 stars

Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Netherlands

#8 of 17 hotels in De Koog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1000 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    The area, the beach nearby, the hotel lobby, the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love this hotel (I already came 2 years ago) but what I really dislike is the fact that for 160 euros per night you can't even sleep as late as you want as you are woken up by incessant vacuum cleaner noise from 9:30 am, and you have to be out of the room by 11 am without a possibility for late checkout...This is not what I expect from a "Grand Hotel" as this is the kind of place you go to for a bit of rest! Also, I tried for the first time to have lunch at the hotel and the service was oddly unprofessional... I will be back anyways...I just hope that they change their vacuum cleaner "policy" in the early morning and the possibility of a late checkout.

    The area, the beach nearby, the hotel lobby, the great bedroom and its view, the reception welcome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic walking and cycling area with a good hotel to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A robe to go to the swimming pool would have been good.

    Breakfast was exceptional. We had a standard room which was a good size. The hotel was ideally situated for the town and the beech.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place for a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to the beach, very clean and spaceous room, very comfortable and big bed. Superfriendly staff, made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you’re looking for a place with a friendly, relaxed, warm and very positive atmosphere and also lovely views and great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    General v good with one major flaw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT accept room 321 (our room) It’s right near the elevator, and after 7am you CAN NOT sleep because all you hear is ‘CLUNK whhiirrrrrrr CLUNK’ on loop. We only stayed 3 nights and the 1st morning I didn’t notice as I slept so heavily after a long day - the 2nd morning I noticed but ddn’t know what it was - again the 3rd morning the same - but we were leaving anyway. I think when a guest reports this on check out a hotel would be clever to give some kind of concession, especially given the price. But they didn’t - so here I am. (I have to mark the ‘Personel’ down as it was down to them to consider the concession and they didn’t)

    In general nice place, friendly staff, done out tastefully, good facilities, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel on a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff is not very welcoming and the charges for breakfast are too high for what is offered.

    The location is good and the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good stay with areas of improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room wasn't at its best Drinking water was only provided in room once on arrival Bed sheets are too small for the mattresses and slip off during the night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great location, great food and a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, very well designed, nice location to the beach & good food. Staff is very good in speaking English which is also nice when you don't speak the local language. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay with great food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    can't think of anything. room very roomy and comfortable.

    Swimming pool perfect for swimming laps and relaxing. Very clean. Restaurant breakfast was wonderful - everything including fresh orange juice and all the coffee we wanted. Wonderful place to relax and beautiful décor with beachy blue and white color scheme.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    A Great Short Break and a wonderful New Years party - we will be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive for pets - at 25 euros per pet per night but other hotels in Europe have similar pricing structures

    Do not be put off by the outside appearance of this hotel - given the potential stormy weather sometimes the exterior is for a purpose. Inside is a warm well decorated and friendly hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar is out dated, rooms are ok but windows were very noise when it storms. also the bathroom is outdated. i would have understood at lower price rate. value for money is really out of balance. we have stayed several times before at this hotel but we were this time disappointed.

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    We would go back !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dogs aren't allowed in the breakfast or dining area of the hotel, so we didn't use it. But It looked very nice. For us this wasn't a problem because there were a lot of opportunities nearby were the dog was allowed.

    Very close to the beach but also very close to the village center. Everything in a short walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay for the whole family including dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, super location, friendly staffs, big family room, very dog-friendly, very impressive breakfast. We have enjoyed our stay and will come back soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in perfect location. Breakfast service could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When arriving slightly later for breakfast (not "late", but "later"), one is confronted with tables that still contain the dirty plates of previous guests. We were forced on two occasions to clean the table ourselves and get our cutlery, since staff was occupied elsewhere (serving coffees). It seems the policy to leave tables as they are and only clean them up once breakfast time is over. This is not what one would expect from such hotel and leaves a slight impression. A pity for a hotel that is for the rest excellent.

    Very spacious room with good facilities (WiFi etc.) and view on the dunes (room option). Good restaurant and bar. Located close to the beach and the centre of the village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff, the environment and the location of the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To much pets in a, sometimes, noisy mood! No indication at the doors that pets might have been in the room before.

    The staff, the environment and the location of the hotel, they are all superb!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Dogs are welcomed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs are welcomed. It is right in the dunes, few minutes walk to the beach and to the town. Upon our arrival we were invited for an afternoon snack and a drink in the terrace for free! Nice gesture!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Room was incredibly comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not as great as the reviews boasted...

    Room was incredibly comfortable! The hotel has a great swimming pool that has great hours ( early morning until 11pm!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, but there are a couple of things you should be aware of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest, the beds were not that great. We had a room with two separate beds (because we like separate blankets) and the beds were less wide than usual. I haven't measured it, but they were probably 70cm wide. Also, there is a thing mattress on top of the big one that is really too soft for us. Much softer than in other hotels (and I get to stay in quite a few throughout the year). Not so great either. Finally, our room was in the third floor (all the way up) and we had nice views, but it was actually a bit on the warm side. Could be fixed by the AC, but then you'll have to leave that on throughout the night. Maybe it's a not so nicely insulated roof that is to blame for that. But again, overall we still had a very nice experience and would come back anytime. Still, you may want to be aware of these little details.

    We had a lovely stay. The hotel is probably the best on the island and the breakfast was a real treat, with local Texel products and quite good cappuccino. I'm a bit of a coffee snob and was quite happy about it. The location of the hotel is great, exactly at the right spot on the island, next to a lovely beach (many other locations of hotels are not so good, actually).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water kettle had been used to make tea, which was left behind in the kettle and was growing mould. Not a pretty sight !! Not sure how housekeeping could have missed this.

    Great room with a sitting area. They provided us with a baby bed. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    relaxed luxury with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rather hard to my taste. Restaurant feels a bit 'stiff', looks as if it mostly caters to senior citizens. I (age 46) felt too young to have dinner there, so went to one of the many lovely beach restaurants.

    Location is perfect, beach is right next door. Friendly staff, nice and big room, very quiet. Great breakfast, easy parking, all very effortless.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    We would like come again sometime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would of preferred a double bed not two singles pushed together. But it was OK.

    I liked the location and quietness. The staff were very helpful and the food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The barkeeper. He really gave us an uncomfortable feeling and was not friendly. Think he don't like his job. We had a 4 year old in our group and she wanted to swim with our kids. We thought in the meantime having a drink, but after 2 rounds we left because of above mentioned and the next day we decided not to go there any more.

    The pool, gym, rooms and breakfast perfect, same as the location. Would definitely come back in this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    great location near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room - booked with dune view was in reality the parking lot and missing bath suit.

    Location - near to a vibrant (small) city with many shops and restaurants and to the national park, cycling path and beach! Breakfast - with opportunity to sit outside. Staff - always supportive with table booking for dinner or any other advice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Pet friendly top notch accommodation!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problably best accomodation in the area. Seems like it was remodeled recently. The room are bright, clean and modern. They allow pets (at extra charge) and provide a bed, bowl and treat for them. Location is great right next to the town and beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Awesome relaxing weekend get away for family with dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really good, with some local products. Dinner was expensive but really good, I recommend the lamb. The swimming pool was really good. The location was awesome, a few meters from a beach where dogs are allowed until end of March. Ask in advance for a late checkout, it's totally worth it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.1
    Ok, but I'm not rushing to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs were awful, worst I've ever tasted. I guess they used a powder mix. For 18.25 for a breakfast I expect real eggs. No toaster for the bread. I saw the egg chef getting his own breakfast and using his fingers to pick up the cheese... not very hygienic. Also, when I ask for a pot of tea I don't expect to get a pot of hot water. The staff were happily making cappuccinos, lattes etc for the other guests, so why not a pot of tea? The opening times of the sauna were too short.

    Room was nice and comfy, and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location and stay in the dunes of Texel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking place on Saturday (10/12). Waiters at breakfast slow. Apparently too busy.

    Breakfast and seating excellent. Did not try diner as this was not recommended by family travelers. Enough good restaurants available (i.e. Vincent, de Luwte, Jeff etc.) but for a longer stay one would also like the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in Texel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 40 euros extra for a room with view over the dunes. but the room was on the first floor, so we could not see much, because we were lower than the dunes. Ask for a room on second or third floor

    big room, clean, nicely decorated. fantastic restaurant. also swimming pool was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    A very comfortable hotel which generate a relax and feeling of wellbeing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the temperature of the swimming pool was too low.

    The location was close to the beach, the views from the room to the dunes were great. The room was big and comfortable, free nespresso coffee on the room. The bed was really great.The swimming pool and sauna was great, with towels and all you need at your disposal, no extra payments for that. They prepare for your dog a bed and a bol with water, even a bone for him/her.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great..hotel was great and the staff was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, right next to the beach with access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, right next to the beach with access. Open seating outside, nice atmosphere. View

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness. Hard to switch on. Very small.

    Ambiance and people. Breakfast worth it! Best to the sea. Great room with bath and bubbles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant, comfortable, stylish and well-run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish. Comfortable, light and airy. good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, great with pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a great stay here together with our German shepherd, comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    great family gathering
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very happy but hair dryer old and dirty. Broken glass on (old) balcony.

    Large family room with additional separate sleeping room. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is amazing - highly recommended, lots of local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is amazing - highly recommended, lots of local products!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Very good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seems the hotel is very business oriented. They even charge for small kids.

    Very good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, super pet friendly, great breakfast. Had a facial treatment also - good products and all well done. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a great stay in a good and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room doors close with lots of noise; the limited opening hours of the saunas

    The check-in, the room, the view and the swimming facilty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    everything was fine !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was fine !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    perfect breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    diner in the restaurant is very very bad , never again that i will eat there ,far to expensive and the food is not oke

    perfect breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    The hole stay was verf comfortble
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little bit small

    The hole stay was verf comfortble

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the gym facilities

    Overall just very nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Everything was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just perfect. Great location, nice room and great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    bathrooms are in need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathrooms are in need of renovation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel overpriced and SPA in poor condition

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    It was well worth the trip, and we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was clean, and access to the beach was easy. It made a memorable trip even better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The atmosphere of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning

    The atmosphere of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    Swimming pool and little spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money, room was clean but somewhat old and "cheap"

    Swimming pool and little spa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect beach and dune location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bubbler for hot tub not working ... breakfast too expensive thought it was included

    Pool was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Paradise in the dunes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The fantastic location The kindness of the staff The silence ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel right by the dunes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive.

    Nice hotel right by the dunes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortabel maar matige prijs kwaliteit verhouding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The costs for one small dog were 25(!) euros for one night

    The beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location. Large rooms with wonderful view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Excellent service and perfect in every detail! We were in the lap of luxury:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The combination of luxury and informality! Excellent!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    More-or-less everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More-or-less everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant closes around 9pm. in the town as well ;-/

    all good. nice place. close to the beach. good breakfasts. good wifi. friendly stuff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Super-relax hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super-relax hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed very early.

    The pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Super Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Dune View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.1
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mould in bathroom/shower. Suite isn't a suite but a large room. No fridge. Only one piece of small soap for two nights.

    Location great. Friendly Staff. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    We felt very much at home in this hotel with its relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We felt very much at home in this hotel with its relaxed atmosphere and excellent location close to the beach. The staff could not have been more helpful. Even our dog was made very welcome! A hotel we would definitely return to ...

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    Pool - clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a family suite for a lot of money and had to pay for an extra child bed... we were with 3 people and the room a double bed and a big bedcouch and they forced us to pay for an extra bed... Weird.

    Pool - clean

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    What a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe they could provide a little more information in the rooms about spa services in English language. I would have liked to have booked services but was daunted by the language barrier.

    What a great hotel. Close to 28 bus line, with bus stop right out front. Walk to beach, forest trail and Ecomare. Excellent food from room service, delicious breakfast with good selection, nice coffee/tea maker in room. Lovely staff who treated me (and my lack of Dutch language skills) kindly. Clean room and great bathtub!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    The location near the north sea (100 m), the spa (sauna and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing, except the (over)posh atmosphere in the restaurant, the food being not that extraordinary.

    The location near the north sea (100 m), the spa (sauna and pool), the friendly and helpful staff, good access with public transport.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    4.6
    Great Place and Location inmidst the dunes in Nationalpark...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a four star rating "Grand" hotel (and according to the high price) you can absolutely expect much more. The room wasn't clean (Tiny broken glass, frayed towels, hair), few extras (open and used shampoo, ...). It is not a bad hotel at all but it does absolutely not correspond to the indicated class. Sorry!

    Great Place and Location inmidst the dunes in Nationalpark in Amsterdam! Quiteness!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.5
    Great place for families with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great place for families with young children. Play room, pool with kid space, baby phone service and understanding restaurant staff. It rained the whole time we were in Texel and didn't stop us from having fun inside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    4.2
    Arrangement for bicycles with vendor several hundred meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Grand Hotel Opduin is not, repeat, not a four star hotel . . . barely three star in my opinion. No airconditioning or cross ventilation in the rooms! Hot & stuffy in room all night. Couldn't find any staff in hotel to ask about fan at 2am. Finally found them but no fans. No ice in entire hotel. I was told that the ice machine (one?) was broken. So instead of ice we were given an ice bucket of cold water. Hey, they tried. The staff is working with one hand tied behind their back due to the hotel's shortcomings. Pool was closed. No notice at booking.com.

    Arrangement for bicycles with vendor several hundred meters away. Friendly staff and mod attempted to make amends for shortcomings of this hotel property and the facilities with a price concession at checkout. Location is a relatively short walk to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    6.7
    Wifi is free and accesible everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel could do with some investment in new drapes and room upholstery. Room 232 was smelly and looked tired. Furniture is stained from moistured things (clothes?) and does not smell fresh (the sofa), the bathroom was OK.

    Wifi is free and accesible everywhere Wellness treatments and massage are very good. Location close to the Dunes and view is excellent. Spatious dinery and breakfast area with very nice designed furniture.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    The hotel in general, outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff couldn't tell us how to go to the lighthouse. And we ended up going to the Visitor Center to find out that it was only 20 minutes away from the hotel. So we lost almost 3 hours. Hotel staff should know how to navigate the place.

    The hotel in general, outstanding. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    6.3
    We thought the location wss great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was okay, nothing special. Shocked breakfast was €18 per person! We skipped it & had a late lunch instead. Might be the nicest hotel in the area but not comparable to other luxury hotels around Europe.

    We thought the location wss great. Walking distance from the beach & town. Staff was friendly. Its a small quiet area with mainly locals & Germans there, a little hidden from tourists. The beach is beautiful, great place to watch the sunset.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff, location and view of the room, many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we booked the superior junior suite we were expecting a bit of luxury. Unfortunately we were disappointed due to the outdated room, no standard miniature bar in the room (they do provide this on request) the outdated bathroom with old hairdryer. Would come back however we won't stay in this room for that price.

    Friendly staff, location and view of the room, many facilities like a pool, sauna, wellness, restaurant and big terrace

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    6.3
    Beds were extremely comfortable and the position right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Facilities and furniture need to be refurbished. The breakfast choice is limited and definitely overpriced given what it is offered. We had to wait quite a bit to get our coffees. The gym has 4 machines in a tiny space. WiFi did not work for my phone - the connection was often reset.

    Beds were extremely comfortable and the position right on the dunes is excellent. The swimming pool is nice for a break and have fun (too small for real swimming)

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    5.8
    There was construction work ongoing which was not announced...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was construction work ongoing which was not announced anywhere when booking. Overall too expensive.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    We liked the location of the hotel, the short walk to either...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very nice, but the carpet could need replacing

    We liked the location of the hotel, the short walk to either the beach or town

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.6
    Super welcoming and nice staff, great place to take your pet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wouldn't change a thing :)

    Super welcoming and nice staff, great place to take your pet and the breakfast was heavenly

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: