Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Hotel The Orange Tulip 1 stars

Damrak 32, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 LK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#391 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 783 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a place for a romantic evening, think of it as a place to go after it goes dark and it’s probably best of your not sober so the surroundings don’t matter so much.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No daily cleaning and the hotel is practically falling apart. You have to go up to the first floor to get the elevator, although that wasn't really a problem for me. Extreeeeeeeeeeeeemely expensive for what they are offering.

    Comfortable bed and good cleaning - at least in my room, although i see other travellers weren't as lucky. Very central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the weekends its very noisy, you can hear everything on the street. The duvets aren't clean.

    We stayed on the 3 bed room, the room was cleaned and so were the bed linen and towels. It seems to me that they did some renovations on the hotel, it is better than the photos on the reviews. Don't expect luxury but the location is very good. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked well and was very nice and warm. They changed the bed and towels daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so unclean and unhygienic and run down. The hallways were extremely noisy. Our room was next to the elevator and any time someone was in the elevator it was so loud and would beep annoyingly. Wouldn’t stay here again. You need to upgrade the facilities.

    The location was fantastic and walking distance to everything in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No boiling water, no drinking water, no microwave, no kitchen, no common area, its a hostel but not a place to make friends or mingle... they could go the extra length to provide all these but they didnt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expect step stairs. However, this is common for buildings in Amsterdam so I wouldn’t suggest having a big suitcase to carry. Tape on one of the light switches in the room to hold it towards the wall. This still worked and there were 2 other sockets in the room as well as one for the tv. I didn’t use the WiFi that is advertised and I didn’t ask so I’m unable to comment on how well it worked. Looks slightly dated and paint Is on some of the carpets.

    Great central location. 5mins walk to the station. Lots of great restaurants close by which offer breakfast, lunch and dinner and stay open from about 8am til late. Clean bedding and fresh towels given everyday. I was expecting a shared bathroom however we had our own one with the room. Good view of the canal at the front of the building. Ideal for travellers, backpackers and small groups of friends for weekend trips. Price May seem steep but it is Amsterdam and it has a very central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description advises that the hotel does not have a lift, but it is good to know that the stairs are very narrow and steep. It was quite difficult to get on and off with our bags up to the third floor, mainly because we had a 62 year old in our group. At the exit we asked to use the emergency stairs only to get off with the suitcases and it was not allowed. The room is good sized and light, but the shower was broken, the shower stall is not closed and the water runs all over the bathroom. One of the bunks had one of the support beams missing and no safety grille on the side. The two bunks are metallic and make a lot of noise at any movement.

    The location is excellent! It is in the central area, close to everything. You can walk to everywhere, including to the train station. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is really local and close to train station and I know the property staff almost 8 years Stephanie and ychang really helpful and I would always recommend this property to everyone thankyou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with breathtaking views from the top floor. Very polite staff, they are happy to help and they made me feel very welcome. Clean towels, sheets and bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the worst experience in my whole life. If you wanna be treated as live human, please do not choose this one! If not, you will experience hell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under construction. They started renovations and drilling in the hallway early in the morning. Opening the window wasnt a good idea because foodsmell from some downstairs restaurant/snackbar came in. Room only accesible through emercency stairs. Im not very picky but the standard was very low for the price paid.

    Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't imaculate. Outdated feel. Needs a bit of love. Mould on the shower curtain? Good for a last minute booking. It does the job

    Fantastic location, easy to find with plenty of options for food and fun nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. MY SON WAS ROBBED WHILST HE STAYED HERE FOR ONE NIGHT!!!!! STAFF OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE WHATS SO EVER. HE HAD ASKED ON ARRIVAL ABOUT A SAFE AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS NOT ONE. HE KEPT HIS MONEY ON HIM AND IT WAS STOLEN WHILST HE SLEPT. STAFF SAID NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM AND STRANGELY ADVISED HE SHOULD HAVE PUT IN SAFE THAT HAD MIRCALOUSLY APPEARED AFTER THE ROBBERY!!!!! WOULD NOT CONTACT POLICE FOR HIM ADVISED HIM TO GO THERE AS IT WASNT THERE PROBLEM!!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID BOOKING.COM I HAVE ALSO USED YOUR SITE MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE YEARS AND I AM CONCERNED YOU HAVE OKAYED THIS ACCOMDATION. I AWAIT YOUR RESPONSE!!!!!!

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO LIKE ABOUT THIS DEN.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to be honest. Overall it was all good. Nice location. Will definitely visit again for sure..

    The location, its situated in the heart of Amsterdam. Easy access to almost all the prime locations & amsterdam centraal station plus the cleanliness of the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noisy all through the night closing the windows did nothing. Duvet and pillows were filthy and old. We're not notified that construction was being done on the hotel so lack of sleep because of the noise outside then work started at 7 am.

    Location was excellent over the road from were you wanted to go shops restaurants and boat tour right outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs everywhere, got charged for a night when we didn’t stay there because the room was disgusting, and they have took a pre payment and not have t back as of yet! Won’t ever be booking here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely overpriced! Poorly soundproofed, no comfort, no facilities (not even a remote control for the TV). Could even hear rodents running around in the hollow area behind the headboards! Bathroom extremely tight. Hotel like a labyrinth (narrow corridors and steep stairs). Never again.

    Central location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By paying 125 euros per night, I would expect a better quality room. Bathroom smelled Bad smell in hotel Terrible windows. You could hear everything from the street. Hard to sleep. Furniture was terrible

    Location Big room for being Amsterdam Big bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my 4th time to Amsterdam the Location of the hotel is perfect,as soon as you come out from central station its only 3 minutes walking towards centrum,hotel stairs are very norrow as this is same with most places in Amsterdam I think.room has no wardrobe so u must live in your suitcase,water is always very warm as well as the room.no breakfast Guven but you can have it downstairs with 10 percent less for the hotel guests.must give a big thank to reception guy(Italian sorry I’m no good with names)he is very helpful and very nice man.will be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible... in every aspect.. narrow steep stairs no lift. V small room and dirty. Don’t stay

    Nothing much but the location. But it’s pretty expensive so nothing much to talk about

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That place should be closed.. dirty , small bed was not clean, toilet smell. Lots of mould specially in the toilet and the shower was disgusting.. we had to change the hotel after the 2 nights we spend there.. I didn’t get any money back . I wouldn’t recommend to anyone. I know it s a budget hotel and you get what you pay for but that s as bad as you can get.. so disappointed..

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy rooms, matteress poor, cleanliness low - first time I felt I had to sleep in my clothes. Some staff excellent some very rude. More of a hostel style than a hotel.

    checkin open all hours

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room itself; the shower was awful; curtain wasn't long enough to keep the water in, so the whole bathroom was wet and slippery when you finished showering. The wifi wasn't very good; which was disappointing. And the other people in rooms near me were so loud. Also the stairs up to the rooms were so tiny it was so hard to walk up and down; very difficult with a suitcase.

    Location was good; close to train. Easy to get around from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like, it was very basic, but clean and good for the money

    Good location, close to Centraal Station, Dam Square and the Red Light District.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of this tiny dirty room was outrageous! 157 Euros? I would have not paid more than 20 Euros at the most!

    The italian gut at reception was helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, I booked a single room to the price of 250 Euro. The reception seemed quite surprised but since almost everything was booked in Amsterdam this was the cheapest and I travelled in business (working for a government institution and always have to pick the cheapest). The room had a plastic madras so I quess the purpose of the room wasn't for sleeping... the room was dirty and small. The elevator was broken. The window led to a electrical room were there were cords hanging everywhere. When I came home at night after dinner there were a bunch of people sleeping in the entrance that I had to step over. If I'm going to stay in this hot place again.. someone has to pay me!!!

    The only thing I liked was the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room is tiny, view from the window was awful but for a one night stay for a couple.. you cant go wrong!

    location is on good.. on damrak right opposite the grasshopper. Rooms have everything you need and theres an elevator in the building! Bed very comfortable and decent shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise can be heard from the street but that is to be expected right in the centre.

    Good location close to central station which was ideal as I had to get to the airport in the morning. Basic but ideal for my needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Duvet cover opened and showed a dirty duvet underneath. Only one towel per person. No washcloths or hand towels. No remote for the tv. Didnt realize we had to ask for the hair dryer at reception and girl at reception did not offer that information. Shower had very low water pressure. No light on night stand. Beware very steep stairs to lug luggage.

    The view from 402 was lovely. But 401 had no view. The location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrendous. The room was absolutely filthy. There was insects, blood and make up on the sheets. The walls and floors were very dirty and it was terrible value for money. We were let down by original property we booked and played €750 for 1 night for four people. Terrible value. We slept fully clothed and hoods on our heads because of the dirt and there was only a half of a curtain on the window so we were woken as sunlight was coming up.

    The location was the only good thing about this property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    beds are super comfy toilets are super clean i got a room with a good view! the girls at the reception are super friendly and helpful there is a 10% discount at the resto below so mention that you stay upstairs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and had tiny stairs inside.

    Great location. Nice personal. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean. Great budget place. Fast WiFi and great place for delicious breakfast in front of the hotel, where the hotel customers get a discount.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was terrible and very unclean, my friends and i honestly did not feel comfortable at all and was hard to find, I payed 300 euros for a six bed room and it was a tiny enclosed area at the top of the hotel with a single window and you could not see outside through it. Definitely do not recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit tired, bed very small! Sheets didn't cover the mattress! All very dated. Only 1 plug socket. Common areas very dated, windows dirty, overall needs sprucing up!

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my only problem was only the bathroom light worked and it was a little over priced as this is not a 4 star hotel but i would still stay here again

    The staff were very nice and it is in a fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhappy with my stay. bathroom smelt of sewerage. couldn't get a shower in the morning due to The over powering smell from room 302. I Was told to email my complaint as nobody was willing to help at the front desk. Tried to get refund Through email no response.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything - the room was not really fit for occupation. The corridors, staircase and the room were shabby, the beds were narrow and uncomfortable. The window opened onto an indoor corridor where rubbish was stored and collected in the middle of the night. There were extract vents from the restaurant below close to the window. The room was the worst I have ever stayed in.

    Nothing - This accommodation was so poor we checked out after one night and stayed at another hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You are paying for location. For the price i paid, it was by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in however. Tiny room, extremely loud and no A/C meant the room was a furnace.

    Located right beside the central station which was ideal. Staff were helpful, especially when i lost my phone (they allowed me to use land line to phone it numerous times) and eventually i found it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down property, dirty, bathroom smelled like sewage and didn't even have toilet paper. The Internet was ok in some areas and did not work at all in others. Too expensive hotel, regardless of the location.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    grimy, needs painting. noisy location on a weekend and with noisy other guests coming back at all hours. wifi in the room was super bad or non existent.

    location is great for station and getting around

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last minute booking because our Airbnb fell through the night before we arrived in Amsterdam. You get what is advertised. 6 people in one room so we had 3 bunk beds. Shower and toilet facilities were clean. Room was cleaned before arrival but still very dirty. Floors were sticky and walls dirty. Graffiti underneath the bunk beds, left over rubbish inside the wardrobes from previous people who stayed in the room. Dusty surfaces. Your classic dirty hostel!

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been clean. Misleading advertising

    The room was ill lit and dirty. Linen was clean bottom ensemble was dirty. Curtains were brown with dirt. Carpers looked they hadn't been cleaned in years (vacuumed yes , cleaned no)As we expect basic but cleanliness this hotel did not even come close. Had asked for a refund, the receptionist refused and she refused to put me onto the owner. There was another hotel close by. Basic but very clean. Also cheaper. Am very disappointed with booking .com as would have thought there would be a basic criteria for advertising with you. My bank is holding/ challenging payment. We walked out

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this to anyone. The whole place ie hall,stairs,lift and room were unbelievably dirty and the mattress was too lumpy with a great dip inthe middle to allow for any sleep. Appalling!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom seemed very dirty, bed was hard and room tilted a lot (older building).

    Excellent location and view of canal from 4th floor room we had was amazing. Staff changed sheets and gave us new towels daily. Staff was friendly and quick to check in/out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night we got put in a room with 1 double bed instead of 2 singles which was a nightmare as a didn't sleep the full night

    When we got our originally ordered room it was comfortable an a great view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy as my room faced the busy street. Outside my door was the hotel desk,and the public restroom for the restaurant downstairs,People running up and down the stairs all night. Good luck getting some sleep. It was a very small room, like a prison cell small.

    It was right in the center of all the action.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room; steep & narrow staircase. Wifi too weak in the room, need to go to reception area.

    Great Location, right on main street. Near the train station. Reasonable price, based on location. Good for backpacker, not for family.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no chair or a hanger on a wall to put stuff/clothes,dimm lightning ,old uncomfortable windows,no lift

    Great location ,24 hours desk,helpfull staff,hot water,good shower,good toilette,good working heating

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already provided a card on booking and still had to provide a card when arrived. They were thinking about not letting me stay. Apart from that it was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a broken sparking plug socket in the room. The bathroom had mould in it. The toilet and sink were too close together so you couldn't use the toilet comfortably, which had a broken seat anyway. The shower was actually quite good. But unfortunately the poor ventilation in the room caused the main light to flicker on and off when using the shower so that was a bit disappointing.

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little cramped, but still good for the price.

    Very close to the central station, which I needed it to be. The receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities are very old and cleaning was awful. As soon as I entered in my room I found a mice inside the trash can, it was removed by Hotel´s Crew however this situation was total undesirable. Based on my experience I do not recommend this place.

    Location is pretty convenient!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom/ toilet was not good, no toilet papers. The rooms were very basic. There were not much lights in the room.

    Location was good. Staff was good. Beds were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't really want to work (I was on the top floor, maybe that's why?), which was a bit annoying. Fairly paper thin walls so I thoroughly enjoyed the conversation amongst the guys in the room next to me when they rolled in at 2.30 am ;)

    Very nice girl in the reception, great that it was manned 24/7. Also perfect that it was just a few minutes walk to central station, I was leaving at 5 am so worked fine for me. This place has really no frills, but you get what you pay - very little. I just wanted a comfy bed, a roof over my head, dead in the middle of the city, shower, towels, and that's what I got. If you don't need much then it's perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small, tight room which was in bad need of redecoration

    Location was excellent because it was within walking distance to many places of interest, and transport. Pleasant receptionist.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great 2 min walk from central station and coffee shops at either side of the hotel. Went in a group of 6 men ages between 18-25 and didnt have a problem in the hotel all weekend. All in all great visit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was really small and messy. In room was really cold. Also there was horrible smell from sewage system

    The location of hotel was perfect. Everything was near us. Also staff was quite nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and as we entered we noticed a No Vacancy sign. Working our way up the narrow stairs and wide corridors to the rooms with dark carpets which looked dirty from the heavy traffic of guest throughout the day, put me off completely, but on seeing our room changed everything. The next morning with the place freshly cleaned it looked so different.

    Location, location, location was a huge Plus. Staff were helpful and accommodating. The beds were comfy, the room, bathroom/ toilet was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, I could here people in the dormitory in the room next to mine

    The price is low , I was not expecting something else than a very tiny room.. But it was clean and shower had hot water. Personal was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got there they didn't even have a room for me so they sent me next door to another hotel and these are the pictures of the room and how easy it was to Break in plus they charge me €20 more than stated freezing cold and draughty total waste of money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, apart from the stairs being a bit steep

    This hotel is right in the main strip, no need to take trams everywhere as its so close to everything, ie shops, cafes pubs,red light district, restaurants

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steepness of stairs and quantity as well as lack of sound proofing. Lack of sockets in room limited to one.

    Hotel was average couldn't have been in an better location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Group was separated. One room was in one block and the other was in the other block.. mould on the walls in the room.. couldn't believe the money we paid for the small rooms and there wasn't even a toilet or shower in the bigger bedroom.?

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When i made reservation they took 210euros from my account. I want my money back!!!! I talked in person with someone from the reception and he said the extortion would be done soon. More than 15 days has passed and no money back. Its frustrating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive for such a small room! don't pay to spend time in the room; just pay if you need central location, clean and safe place.

    Location, location, location... super close to central station, it is possible to walk anywhere in the city. Plus, you can easily rent a bike from the reception if needed. We stayed in a private room for 2 person with a bunk bed, as it was all cleaned and comfy haven't seen any problem at all. Everything was very basic but enough!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were small as also room and toilet size; tariff was higher than usual for a hotel with poor facilities.

    Helpful staff and excellent location; though b/fast had to be taken in restaurants besides the hotel, the arrangement was reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Except for the location, everything about this place is a letdown, even misleading. Just stay away. Surely there will be other places.

    What is shown on the website and what is actually available - no comparison between the two. Please do not step into this property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty once I arrived and they don't clean the room on daily basis because they are busy are very dirty and the stairs was very long and uncomfortable and no elevator. The receptions was tough and uncooperative.

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty, we are covered in bites from the beds, the hotel is above a restaurant but the Window looked out on a small dark courtyard where the extraction was and so everything smelled like grease, we were charged more on arrival than quoted on the website.

    location of hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is two seperate buildings and the one we stayed in had no staff present at any time and the staff in the main building weren't much more of a help! The room itself was filthy and you couldn't swing a cat in it!! The water didn't work at all in our room and we informed a member of staff about this and no further action was taken, definitely wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone! I (incorrectly) assumed that it would have been a nice room with adaquete staff and fully working facilities for just over two hundred pound for a two night stay for two people, ruined my experience of Amsterdam and has highly disappointed both me and my partner.

    The location was good and both central station and dam square were within walking distance. You got ten percent off your food bill at a local restaurant next to the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do think that this hotel should cost much less. For one star hotel it is far too expensive - like a four star hotels in other metropoles.. The hotel seemed to be like an average hostel with very small, uncomfortable rooms.

    The location was perfect. There was a safety box in my room which was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smile and no proper response received from staff at the reception when we checked in.

    Though the room was small. It had all the required facility in it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No air conditioning. Bad is not comfortable. Too much smell coming from outside (from a nearby restaurant) Too hot because we couldn't open windows due to food smell and no air conditioning.

    Location is perfect. Bathroom is clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep narrow stairs. Some noise at night.

    Friendly staff. Basic facilities but more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs. Place was rotten.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budget Hotel The Orange Tulip traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: