Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 RH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#390 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1309 hostel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for the money, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were very cramped. There are three -- one with only a shower, one with only a toilet, and one with both. The one that's only a toilet is so tight, as a 6'2" man I could barely fit myself in the room seated in order to poop. The other toilet was alright though. Clean enough, too. The breakfast is just a piece of bread with coffee or tea, which given the cost of staying there is better than nothing I guess. Beds were a little small but if I were a bit shorter they'd have been fine. Noise outside is quite loud until really late, but I was always tired enough that it didn't bug me.

    Location is pretty unbeatable, though it is loud outside until pretty late. Staff were nice, weren't always smiling but they answered my questions very clearly, always, and the only time I had a problem (toilet paper ran out in a bathroom) they resolved it immediately. Beds were somewhat comfortable, sheets were nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    There is a market nearby, not allowed to smoke inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hour is 0800-0930 (so limited). 15 mins to walk from dam square.

    There is a market nearby, not allowed to smoke inside. There is a common kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    some body stole my Iphone worth 900Euros from washroom !! And person at reception didnt do anything about it. there are no cctvs....

    some body stole my Iphone worth 900Euros from washroom !! And person at reception didnt do anything about it. there are no cctvs....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Not the worst, but I would not choose it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To begin with.. the payment. They accept only cash. Room price + 10 Eur key deposit, 3 Eur for if you want to leave your luggage after you check out. Also, they do not have lockers in the rooms, so if you have anything valuable, you have to leave at the reception (at least for free) but clothes, etc, in the room. I found it uncomfortable.

    The staff were friendly and helpfull. The breakfast were simple, but ok for a hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location in an area packed with bars, resteraunts etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's in an old Dutch house, so the stairs are narrow and steep. The top floor where I was, got very hot and didn't have enough windows so it got rather smelly.

    Great location in an area packed with bars, resteraunts etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like or can't be do stairs, this isn't the place for you. Also, the room didn't have many plugins and the wifi didn't work in the room either.

    The location is solid. Everything else was satisfactory, more or less.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Does not worth the money at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My three days stay for one people cost 220 euro, which is definitely too much for a hostel that 1) doesn't provide any locker in the room. 2) The wifi could not be connected in my room, which is at the top floor. 3) The key to the room doesn't always work. 3) They don't provide any shampoo or shower gel or towel in the room. 4) The downstairs cafe is only providing toast, instant coffee, peanut butter jam and chocolate jam bought from super market. The environment of the coffee is poor. 4) There are bars just next to hostel downstairs, which sometimes make troubles for sleep. 5) The room is no way close to the picture that's shown on website. 6) It's 100% not refundable. 7) And most importantly, they only accept cash !!! No any kinds of credit card or debit card.

    The location is in the circle of city centre and easy access to different places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Cheap hostel which reflects in the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the room were very steep and the beds were very high which made me uncomfortable. You have to pay a little more when you arrive which is annoying - should probably be precalculated on here when you book. The crowd here isn't too great either but that could've just been the time of my stay.

    The staff were lovely & coffee 24/7 was great! The location was also great, just between museum quarter & the centre!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    I have taken this property for location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mostly cleanness

    I have taken this property for location... which is good but cleanness was disgusting and breakfast was only name breakfast they give bread with source and jam that's all. staircase is too small and stiff, if you have big baggage never prefer this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has clearly never been cleaned, the room made everyone sick, dust balls everywhere, mold and hair. Bathroom was disgusting, piles of hair and no toilet paper for two days. Bedrooms had dust bunnies everywhere and piles of dirt, the room made eveyone sick and had a really burning your throat mold smell. The stairs are 6 floors up, and have piles of dirt, vomit stains and mold. Whilst I was there (4 days) the sheets never got changed and the room was never touched, even though people checked in and out several times. The photos are TOTALLY different from what you see. Dirtest place I've ever stayed, do not come here.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    The location is good, a few minutes from the Rijsmuseum and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staircases are too dirty. Some bedsheets are also dirty. The bathroom are extremely small, one can barely move there.

    The location is good, a few minutes from the Rijsmuseum and near the center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Everything was dirty, including the bed sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the dirtiest hostel I've ever stayed in. They weren't even changing the sheets between guests in the room I was in. I saw the staff come in to clean the bathroom, but all they did was take out the trash and leave. We had to ask for more toilet paper 4 times over two days before they gave us some. There was a barf stain on one of the stairs, dust everywhere (enough that you could tell the floor hadn't even been swept in weeks, if not longer), and everyone in the room was coughing after one day of being there. In short, don't stay here. There are better places for much cheaper in better parts of the city.

    The location was good, but not the best and not worth everything else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    If you go there with the expectation of a "hostel"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were terrible. No soap, shampoo, towels, whatsoever. Rooms were overcrowded with 10 beds in a single room, but the people were cool and not annoying.

    If you go there with the expectation of a "hostel", you wouldn't be that surprised. Yes! Things could have been much better for a hostel, but at least the staff were cooperative, breakfast was there, and the location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.9
    I dont recommend any individual or group travellers to stay in this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel room, toilet, bathroom, reception area is not good though i paid euro 97 per night for a dormitory. Simply its not a place to relax....

    Its location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Sociable and calm hostel, really nice to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The noise in the night could be a bit annoying, but not too much. The rooms are really small and so the bathroom, but everything is really clean and you can stay in the big room downstairs if you don't need to sleep.

    The hostel is in a great position, the location is in the city center and in a beautiful area, close to the canal. There are many bars, restaurant and pubs to enjoy (in the street I suggest you to visit Bourbon Street and Café Alto, really special for live music). I like the place and I loved meeting people downstairs. It's a very calm and sociable hostel. There is also a kitchen, but you cannot really cook, just warm dishes with the microwave. Thank you for everything!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does get noisy at night, so bring some earplugs and your own towel.

    Staff were great. The location was really central and close to everything. I stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. I had the whole dorm room to myself most nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    There was a so called breakfast which consists of just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had some bad odour. The room was very small and conjusted. There were not enough electric sockets for all to charge your electronic devices. Check in time is too late and check out time(10 am) is too early. if you are staying just one night it's problematic.

    There was a so called breakfast which consists of just coffe/tea with very poor quality bread and nutella. It's not great but ok for morning coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Bring earplugs and some breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are paper thin, you can hear everything that goes on in the hostel. The breakfast was pretty bad, just getting bread and a few sweet spreads is not a proper breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Place, Nice Location, Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too high compared to the services. 40 Euro for one bhnk bed too expensive.

    Located at perfect location, lot of food options around the hostel. Good bed but little compact.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Quality price not fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi never worked They charge you for saving your luggage Breakfast wasn’t good Some members of staff not so nice

    The place is really well located, in the city center of Amsterdam. Close to restaurants, bars and tram stops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    a bed, a shower, and a simple breakfast thats what you get. dont expect more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i arrived the hostel to check in and found out they only accept cash! only cash accepted in 2018??? it didnt say that when i booked and you cant expect everyone to have euros in cash. ok, i went to an atm and got cash. 1 hour later i found out they did have a posnet laying on a table to charge with credit card...... if you add a 10 euros electric toaster to your breakfast it would be much nicer, i mean.. come on! rooms were small but clean, beds were ok, no usb port anywhere, no lockers avaliable in the rooms, but they did have a safe offered at reception. bathrooms looked new, but an airplane bathroom is bigger, the first day at least i was glad because they were really clean, two hours later there was no more toilet paper and it was a mess. you need to take care of bathrooms more often.

    the location was good. the staff was just ok. they did what they had to do nothing extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a total abomination in the name of a hotel. I had never stayed in a dormitory, this was the first time as I just had to find a place at the last moment. They take payment in Cash, the only hotel that does this , as far as I have seen in my life. No lift and the stairs are curly, good luck with getting your luggage upstairs, no one will help you. I don't think they ever change the bed sheets or clean the room properly. The toilet stinks and the bedsheets are stained. The guy who was living with me told me , previous night they put a couple in a single bed in the room that is supposed to be for 4 persons, can explain the stains. People will check in at 2 am, 4 am at night, will wake you up. Very noisy restaurants and clubs next to the hotel, it's a challenge to sleep. My bed was broken and was just holding on by some wires. They don't even give you a towel, if you ask for towel, they will try to sell you one. Overall the worst experience in my life. Stay away as far as you can.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had scaffolding outside the window and workers making really loud noises from 7am, so literally got no sleep over the 2 nights. Room was very dirty, the floor obviously hadn’t been cleaned. It would be useful if they had a card machine to pay for stays or at least warn people in advance that you have to pay in cash the full amount.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.4
    It has charm...? I guess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds aren't very comfortable. The room was not very clean. There was mysterious blue goo on the wall. The bathroom could use a hook on the door. Kinda annoying having to pay in cash, but not unreasonable.

    The location is spectacular. The staff is nice and will help you find places. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    I see that it is a hostel that is possibly growing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some tips: - Clean bathrooms more often during the day. - try to put lockers in locked rooms, so we can leave our things with more confidence. - At breakfast, include butter or something salty to pass on the breads.

    I see that it is a hostel that is possibly growing. The staff are super polite and leave us at ease. The positive point of the hostel definitely are the staff. I did not have any problems with noise at night, but if you have, ask for one of the rooms at the back of the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Not for me. Maybe for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be okay if you book out the whole dorm room, but not on your own. I left the bags there went back to sleep, I realised I'd rather do it at the airport. Never again.

    The location is decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Love the city, the hostel not that much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom, the noise rooms, the no music on the relax room rule, etc. Too expensive for the facilities they offer. Also the people working the should be more pacient and happier. Finally the rule don't roll a joint or neither smoke and drink inside i disapointing cause the hostel is on Amsterdam.

    I like the wifi, and the water was hot and cold as i spected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Pricey hostel, bad and boring breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment system. It was never told to me by booking.com that I have to pay upfront on checkin and I can only pay in cash. Breakfast was too basic. Just bread and peanut butter. No other options available. The price I paid for two nights of stay was €200+. For a hostel that’s not even 10 minutes of Amsterdam central??

    The staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    I didn't like anything in the hostel except the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we reached the hostel, thought it was a pleasant place to stay but; 1. Very congested room 2. Extremely dirty- can't even explain 3. Damaged and broken beds 4. Blankets were smelly,used bed sheets 5. Blood in the bed sheet- annoying and disgusting 6. Poor standard of bathroom- hard to use by an individual too 7. Very narrow staircase So so disappointed as we reached and saw all of these things. Instantly i searched for other hostel/hotels nearby but nothing was available in booking.com that we can afford at that time. Anyhow we managed to stay but most of the time we just spent our time in bar or in a live music places. The most unpleasant stay ever in Amsterdam. 2 years back, the stay was very awesome and the hostel was great too(Amigo budget hostel). I regret not booking Amigo Hostel this time.

    I didn't like anything in the hostel except the location and the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices at weekend are more them double. It's probably a thing in Amsterdam.

    Room newly renovated Clean shower and toilet in the room. Very fast wifi connection. Nice staff. Close to public transportation Great location especially for night life.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location, helpful staff. Good place for short trips to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location near station, city center and all the interesting attractions. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. The price I paid was more than fair. The hostel itself is fine for a short visit to the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    This hostel was perfect for the price that you pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom wasn't clean when we checked in, but we let them know and they cleaned it for us later. One of our blankets was also very dirty, but the staff got a duvet for it from a hostel next door. You have to pay in cash which is inconvenient, but lots of places in Amsterdam don't accept card so you'll need to keep cash on hand.

    My group was extremely nervous about staying in this hostel due to the awful reviews, but to our pleasant surprise, it had just been renovated and was actually very nice! The staff was so kind and put all 6 of us in the same room, even though we booked separately. We had our own private bathroom and the beds were actually very comfortable. Location is PERFECT! They also let us print for free and store our bags with them for free after we had checked out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Location is the main draw!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is old and cramped, the rooms are small as are toilets and staircase. So in the room there is not much space for your things. The mattress was not comfy, too many people had used it already...

    The location is wonderful, in a very atmospheric, "real-Amsterdam" region of the city. Public transport is really handy, easy to get anywhere you need. Staff is very friendly - e.g. I had to go early to the airport, and they were so kind as to prepare breakfast for me an hour earlier than their usual time is. Also, there is a nice rock-bar right next door which has really long hours (to get your late-night beer!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.6
    Really Dirty Place
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am really not spoiled but this was the dirtiest and stinkiest place I have probably ever been in. Facilities were dirty, smelled terrible, doors at the room and shower were nearly impossible to be closed and if managed, opened. Rooms were so small that two people could not pass each other. I do not like to write negative reviews, but this was simply bad experience.

    Receptionists were nice and location is great for turists (but very loud, so cannot be recommended to people who need quiet). Also wi-fi was fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.9
    The beds are uncomfortable and no privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are uncomfortable and no privacy. The rooms are very small and the cleanliness is not good. There are no plugs and lamps in the rooms. The bathrooms are really crappy. The hallway lights were not working. The atmosphere is not friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    3.8
    Nothing because soooo worste experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility and inspire of such a bad condition they charge 3 euro just for keeping luggage if after check out it is needed for dome time and the chocolate costs 7 cents and not sale for individuals is being sols one euro and 50 cents anyways not suggest yo any one for this property

    Nothing because soooo worste experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    Worst place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place to stay. Very very cosy rooms. U will die off suffocation. Worst breakfast system they have only bread and coffe for breakfast nothing more.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.0
    Value for money, tho next time will check out different hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heavily sagged in mattress. Squeaky metal bunk beds. No mirrors and shelfs in the toilet and shower room. Receptionist on my late check in was unfriendly.

    Location. Free towel, breakfast, valuable item storage. Man on the check out was really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    3.8
    Yoga Teacher, Artist, Writer, Poetess
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was one of the most horrific as disgusting hostel, that I ever experienced, in my entire Life. The Staff is not hospitable at all, the room was disgusting, the sheets are not changed, and the room is alsl not properly cleaned, the floors are teared up, it has a very poor quality, the shower as toilet are horrific, they are not properly cleaned, a sentence, that derives out of me, is plain disgusting hostel. I would never suggest this Hotel, to Anyone ! Bye ;)

    Two great things about this Horrific Hostel, the Location is central, closed to everything, as the museums, so perfect, and the internet has great connection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    The location is close to the major museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a badly managed place. The staff are unprofessional and unhelpful, the breakfast is just self-service coffee/tea and peanut butter and jelly sandwich everyday,the room, with a small window, has 3 elec. outlets for 10 people, no daily tidying or sheet change. The one shared bathroom gets flooded and dirty but is strictly cleaned only once a day. No extra consideration for women (as all their dorms are mixed) like bed curtains or option to be transfered when feeling unsafe. I booked about 3 months in advance (at about €30+/day) and found out the walk-ins pay half of what i paid (€14+/day). In addition, i was charged VAT + city tax.

    The location is close to the major museums. A couple of staff are courteous enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    I
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only booked this due to friends booking it, loo was smelly and unclean bed was ok. If you need a cheap place and are use to hostels maybe its ok. First times hostels never again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    It was ok, just somewhere to put our heads for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist seemed totally lost, hardly knew or could explain how things work in the hostel. Was pretty much indifferent to the worries I had about giving what seemed to me too much personal information at the check-in and generally gave away a somewhat unfriendly and unacommodating vibe. Didn't smile once.. They don't take card payments either.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Only for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay longer youll find it not very convenient. The rooms are pretty small. Lack of electrical sockets in dorms. The bathroom and shower need some cleaning and fixing.

    Nice location and cheap price if you need short stay! Fast internet. 24hour reception. Good heating in autumn.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    Does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation - no frills (particularly toilets). Stayed on a weekend which was busy with a livlier/partying crowd.....this also pushed cost up significantly!!

    Good location. Bars and restaurants nearby, public transport also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.0
    Ideal for budget travellers with no serious expectations, whom just need a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a few power outlets didn't work in the room - "Breakfast included" means: white or brown bread + peanut butter / jam / chocolate cream and nothing else. I wouldn't call this breakfast. - The neighbourhood is little noisy.

    Location is very good. Walking distance from many popular places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    2.9
    Avoid at all cost... and avoid Booking.com too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is terrible! It was horrible, horrible and horrible.. from the room to the only toilet shared among a few rooms to the shower...we couldn't sleep the whole night and and didn't shower.. Avoid drinking water to avoid having to use the toilet. At breakfast, we learned from people seated at left, right, and next table all wanted to check out immediately and money back.. They will not refund at all.. We paid 4 nights in cash and wanted to check out immediately but it was midnight. We said will checkout the next day and asked for 3 nights money back and they will not refund.. Booking.com won't do much except a reply of email to say will look into it and another to say nothing can be done...

    Nothing I like

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.5
    Very bad place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the way they treat the person plus they take money for the key and for the towel and the from it has one place to charge ur thing and every one fight for it , Check out they say at 10am washroom so nasty and dirty

    Nothing good in that place even when u come to pay they tell you their machine not working so they can take a cash but if u tell them I don't want to stay her the accept the card payment .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location for those just wanting a bed to crash after a good night out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast (purely because I am not a fan of bread and spreads).

    Great location abundant with bars and restaurants. The breakfast was minimal. Minimal communal area. Ideal for lone travelers who are passing through to enjoy the nightlight and just need a bed for the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    i've paid 280 euro for three nights in 6-bed room!! incredible expensive and no quality room at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging 3 euros for leaving luggage at the hostel?? Are you guyd serious??? A "free" breakfast consisting in only white bread and peanut butter/mermelade/nutella cream-menu?? I would never recommend this hostel to anyone!!

    Location ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Id come back
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All they served to the bread was Nutella, peanutbutter and jam, the only thing I could eat was jam, because I have bad nut allergies... I'd love if there had at least one more thing available.

    It was cozy and colorful, not luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Rather good value for money overall, in comparison to accomodation prices in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were small and wobbly, there was no way to turn off the light in the bathroom so it wasn't entirely dark at night. There's no curfew, which is probably good for party-goers, but is majorily annoying for people who'd like to sleep at night - you can expect slamming door and light at 3am. I would also be more satisfied with the stay if they had women-only dorms there.

    Very friendly staff, close to Museumplein. Free wifi and bag storage. Simple breakfast in the morning and accessible kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    It was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast. Something else other than bread and spread can be added. It was too dull and not worth.

    The staff at the reception were very helpful and friendly. The location was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    Amsterdam and company fantastic. Hotel awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were too basic, beds uncomfortable bedridden old and bubbly,breakfast rubbish,noisey Street all night, staff not interested in fixing broken light.

    Not much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location not far from all needed essentials, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many stairs, last night I was at a rave till about 4am and the last thing I needed was to climb 4 flights of stairs lol just me being a lazy f**k nothing else I could really mention :-)

    Great location not far from all needed essentials, staff were absolutely amazing and provided all needed directions :-) already re-booked see you in January :-D

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Just don't go
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible rooms! No lockers whatsoever! Like... It's a hostel you're supposed to have lockers in the rooms but no... If you want to leave anything valuable, you leave it in the desk at reception (so safe!!!!). 6 rooms with God knows how many beds and just one toilet and one shower. By the way, the toilet stinks! Absolutely disgusting. No ventilation at all! Because the location is great but the windows and walls are terrible you won't be able to sleep, like at all! Because hey! It's amsterdam! There will always be drunk and drugued people in the street screaming or laughing or whatever.. You have to pay 6€ if you want a towel. Seriously, who the hell charges 6€ for a bloody towel?! Having to pay 71€ for one night in a dorm with 6 beds on these conditions is an absurd. My advice, don't come here.

    The bed was comfortable Location was good Wifi was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    The place doesnt have the best atmosphere in the room but the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small as the toilet and bathroom that are shared with 4 more doorm rooms, breakfast is a complement compare to what I reseved

    It was in a central area and the staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    please do not go there, they cheat people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    they cheat people.. you book some thing and they give you some thing else...I booked a 4-bed room for 54 (or 57) Euros but they asked me to pay them 67 Euros and gave me 6-bed rooms for one night! on the other hand, other travelers at that room paid just 25 Euros.

    good location+ breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open electrical wires from the wall and mold behind the mirror!!! Just disgusting and too expansiv for this kind of room!!! The flush of the toilette is really loud, although it is just a hostel, but nobody needs to sleep in a place like that, accept is for free. I do not understand, why my rating could hit 4,2? The inly things which are positive are the location and personnel!

    The location is great. A lot of bars and restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    If all you require is a simple bunk to crash in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy in the reception was definitely high when we arrived, and was more focused on trying to flirt than provide good service. Bad beds, not particularly clean, only one toilet and shower, that a lot of people had to share. It was so noisy when people were walking in the stairs to the wc. Also noisy from the outside. And the breakfast was not even worth looking at.

    The only good things was the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice staff, great location, small shower, lacking breakfast, money value very affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast provided was just bread and jam that's all. There was only one small shower and one toilet for the entire floor.

    Liked the staff and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to argue my way to pay with card. They should state on the website that they only accept cash

    Very nice location. Especially when you want to go out later in the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Quote from another traveler "its like having ur own hotel room with 9 other stangers in ur room!" 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The negitive reviews i read b4 going! I had pretty low expecptations of this place but was pleasantly surprised. Room door lock was a bit tricky but all works fine.

    I had a great stay in attic room, really nice and quite, other travellers were considerate with noise in room. cool dutch building with steep narrow stairwells up to room, climb to the top floor ☺ Good size room for 10 beds and perfect size bathroom on top floor. Clean sheet pillow case and duvay cover. Simple bread and spreads breakfast which was fine. Fresh coffee brewed in kitchen all day. Staff were helpful and friendly. Awesome location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    not bad not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They said breakfast included your reservatşon but the breakfast consist from second quality peanut butter and a kind of jam, coffee or tea. That's it. You have to pay 3 euro for leave backpack after the check-out if you want. Not bad but not good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    I will not go anymore
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot sleep, the bed is not good and you can hear all the noises from outside. Ps. It's location is surrounded by pubs and bars so you cannot sleep at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    Very bad experience-not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities in general, the fact that they don't take payments on cards (contrary to what Booking.com says), bathrooms were horrible, room was cramped. Breakfast was very basic-below par than comparable hostels

    Hardly anything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Excellent place near restaurant, bars and transport. Bread only Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices, cash only although booking.com listed it with all payment methods accepted. I had to run out to get cash, safe area but 200 euros cash is a lot, I hate carrying that much cash even in London.

    Close to everything anyone would need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Okay hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lockers in room. You have to leave your important things at reception which isn't ideal. €55 euros is a rip off for a 6 dorm bedroom.

    Decent clean hostel good location with excellent wifi everywhere. Near to lots of shops and restaurants. Fine for one night passing through.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    The worst place I've stayed overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way overpriced for the quality of the hostel. I was given a number for a bed but there were no numbers on the bed and this resulted in mass confusion and being woken up early in the morning by someone who claimed that I was in their bed. Either the room was overbooked or people brought in others so there were too many people in the room. The bathroom didn't lock and was in horrible shape. It wasn't clean at all. My friends staying at another hostel stayed there for less and got a free breakfast that included pancakes and my breakfast included toast. Overall I would never recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Not worth for its price....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom's lock was broken. And only one power source to charge your cellphone for a room of ten people ?! That wasnt really nice for the price.

    The staff was really nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    High price, only in cash. Rude night host old man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A night host old man that was very rude with me one night I was coming late to the hostel. Also I had to pay the whole amount, $200 eu, for the 3 first nights absolutely in cash. They don't accept credit card, and that was pretty surprising and anoying to get that amount of cash to pay just on your arrival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    Very expensive for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor, cramped rooms, no lockers or safe keeping. Very noisy outside of the hostel at night so hard to sleep, bunk beds very wobbly so every time the person underneath moved the bed swayed about

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock on the bathroom door was not working, so that was really uncomfortable! Secondly, the breakfast should have had more options, just some bread and spreads is not everyone's ideal start of the day.

    Location was good, in the city centre. Neighbourhood was quite nice, filled with cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    24 hours reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy, it was hard to sleep in this place. No space to keep things in the room (no wardrobe, shelves or chairs) just beds.

    24 hours reception. Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    2.5
    Worst Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was creepy, dirty, shower broken, said breakfast included, only bread was left at the table downstairs. I could not shower because of the bathroom condition and the toilet was extremely dirty - stinks.

    Extremely bad experience. Bathroom broken, if booking.com is listing property on their website they should ensure property is well maintained. I had to change my flight because of the bad experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location. Decent Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surely the small place for the money I paid. Room was bit congested as I shared it with five other guests. I expected bigger rooms.

    I only liked the location of the property. Everything was easily accessible from here. Also, staff was very polite and cordial.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: