Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee 4 stars

Badweg West 4, 8881 HB West aan Zee, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in West aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1075 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No make-up mirror in the bathroom. The ambiance in the restaurant does not match the menu. The meal was fantastic, the decor a bit dated.

    Spacious room with balcony. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annelies at the front desk made our stay so memorable. She even went into town for us to grab us some essentials we forgot to pack for our kids. We can’t wait to come back! Superior location and staff for sure!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steamcabin was not functioning unfortunately.

    The location is amazing, with a few steps you're on the beach. The restaurant is lovely, also for hanging by the fire, or reading a newspaper.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, not special. Meal at the restaurant was ok, not special. We had two big television sets in our room, yet the quality of the images was very low.

    We received upgrade to very large and comfortable suite. Great view on the dunes. Shuttle from port to hotel was included. Special demands for meals were taken into account. we could rent bikes at the hotel. friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms comfortable, but are a bit dated. I think carpet full of stains in breakfast room should be replaced with a surface that is easier to clean. A lot of people take their dogs and a lot of childeren are playing around.

    Beautiful Location. Friendly and very helpful personnel. organising restaurants, taxis etc. Very good bikes for rent. Good breakfast.Rooms comfortable, but are a bit dated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room wasn't working when we were there

    Amazing experience that I willl remember for the rest of life. nature, beach, indooor pool and sunna. so relaxing. I really liked the bike offer, when you check out, you can take the bicycle and go to the port, but leaving the lagguage at the hotel. They are delivered to the port by the time you get there. The cycling pass is amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't cleaned (3 nights); even after instructing staff. Some of the restaurant staff was rude. Others were great and went above and beyond.

    Amazing view - great room - very comfortable. Nice restaurant and breakfast. Superclose to the beach and dunes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very simple and checkout time 11.00 to early. No soap bottle, only piece of handsoap. We had suite and not really value for money

    All comfy, clean and ok. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generally speaking, this is an excellent hotel in an excellent location, which is currently being neglected and mismanaged. They seem to have chronic staffing problems, and no one is taking accountability for details in the restaurant or hotel. There also doesn't seem to be any management awareness (or interest?) in how well the rooms or public areas are functioning. Neither shower is very functional, and I can't believe the current designs were done according to building code or that the changes were approved. The downstairs shower is inside a bathtub with a curtain that only covers three sides. Due to the bathtub having a raised lip with a channel behind it against the wall and sides, water hits the wall and runs down to the channel which funnels the water right around the tub and onto the floor. The drain in the upstairs shower is uphill of where the water naturally drains. So you'll need a lot of towels on the floor in the downstairs shower, and a lot of squeegeeing water uphill into a drain following a shower upstairs. Disability access to the hotel itself is not good. The main door is very inaccessible, with a huge sharp lip that stalled my mobility scooter (it handles moderate curbs with no problem). The door around the back is better, but still has a decent curb that's going to be difficult for wheelchairs, and the button for the door inside is not really accessible. I didn't see a button outside, but wasn't really looking. Rooms weren't cleaned while we were there. Mostly they just swapped out the towels, emptied the trash, and refilled the instant coffee stash. Bed-making was indifferent at best. Balconies looked like they never get cleaned., with large piles of sand in the corners, a bit of bird poo scattered around, and the windows were pretty dirty. One balcony door was badly in need of oiling or repair, and made horrible noises every time it was opened or closed, or even just pushed around a bit by the wind.

    The view is absolutely spectacular. We had a large family suite, and there were great views of the North Sea from the bedrooms and the living room area. From the living room area we could also see south across the island, with a glimpse of the Wadden Sea and even the vague outline of Harlingen across it. Two of the balconies (one on each floor) are large enough for several people to use the tables without too much shuffling around. There's a lot of space in the dining/living area upstairs. There's a full bathroom downstairs, and separate toilet and shower rooms upstairs, all of which look pretty good and were recently renovated. The kitchenette was functional and sufficient. I liked the hardwood furniture and couches. Due to having exterior balcony doors on both sides, the living area stayed pleasantly cool even when the temperature and humidity were very high. Beds and pillows weren't bad, but also not great. The elevator was fast and a nice size. The food in the restaurant ranged between good and excellent. The included continental buffet breakfast was good, and had smoked salmon on at least one morning. Also some good lounge areas downstairs. Staff was nice and generally accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ventilation in the rooms should be improved. All rooms should have the possibility to safely open a window, to prevent them getting too warm, especially during the night. Breakfast should include a basic muesli, and more fruit and vegetables. With the present service the rates should be much lower. With the present rates the service should be a lot better. The restaurant should provide the guest with tap water and bread upon arrival while the guest is hungry and thirsty, the choices of wine per glass should be less limited.

    The location. This is the main reason for my choice for paal 8.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furniture, birdshit on the balcony has not been cleaned, no minibar, staff could be more friendly and informativ, breakfast area gave us the feeling of being in a 70's CCCP hotel.

    Location close to the beach, good beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Seaside
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for improvement: Room was a bit warm, would be great if the balcony door could stay open at night (also when its windy). The balcony was huge and would benefit even more with some lounge chairs. Breakfast abundand in cuantity but after a few days some variations would be welcome. Staff was very helpfull and friendly except for one breakfast lady staff 6 and 7 june. It all seemed a lot of wirk and her phone seemed to have more appeal than the guests. She related to us in quite an unprofessional manner

    Location, staff was helpfull and overall very friendly with a personal touch. They seemed to remember they helped you out and requested if all was at your wishes the next day (restaurant staff 3rd and 4th june, maintenance). The fireplace and the places to sit, read etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Seaside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great. The cost of the boat to get to the island was very heavily priced!

    Comfy bed, breakfast was excellent, we ate dinner in the evening which was delicious. Room facing the beach was beautiful as we could sit on the balcony and watch the sunset amd sunrise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited basic service in F&B. Miscommunication also about breakfast hours on eastersunday, so while having breakfast they are cleaning the already very empty buffet.

    Staff at the reception, friendly and efficiënt

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant were generally inattentive and unprofessional, which is unfortunate because the kitchen is producing a very nice product. A number of smaller maintenance items in the room, eg, door latches, should be addressed.

    Spacious room and beautiful view. Food in restaurant was very well prepared and nicely presented. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. King-sized bed was lovely!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an excellent long weekend. The location of the hotel is absolutely fabulous if you're looking for a quiet stay. We loved the service of renting a bike right at the hotel and taking off from there. We also appreciated the free shuttle bus between ferry and hotel. Those little details make a huge difference!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was not so neat (chairs and floor) and I did not understand the presence of so many huge dogs there. However, the food was very good in particular the morning croissants.

    The location and the confort of the rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early but could only check in after 3 pm although the hotel knew that we arrived early as my PA arranged a taxi with them. They said we should have known but they had to warn my PA because then we would have taken a later boat to the island

    nice area, good hotel for weekend trip

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration is a bit old I find it very expensive You have nothing around not even a small store

    The location and the view of the beach are great The place is clean The rooms are quite big You can rent bikes there The breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment is selection of kids bikes was sparse. Especially for my 9 year old daughter, but I suppose most rent from bike shops and not from hotel. So not necessarily applies to hotel.

    Fabulous stay for extended family celebrating oma's 75th bday (ages 80 years old to 5). We also had a dog and could not believe how welcoming hotel is for pets and kids. Definitely recommend stay here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! This place was incredible and we did not want to leave

    Location is amazing Staff were very friendly Bike rentals were very easy and convenient Rooms were clean and nicely decorated Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Seaside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had huge chalk spots because of the water. That does not look nice in the suite room. Decoration of the room was nice but couches were old.

    Great dinner with a nice wine arrangement. We could rent bikes at the hotel and return them at the harbour when we left. Suitcase was dropped off at the bike rental at the harbour. Great beach club at walking distance. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked more choices in freshly cut fruits, cheeses, pastries, warm dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no information in German or English

    ideal location for walking along the beach or bycicle rides over the island very quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff was happy

    Nice hotel, excellent location near the beaches, good starting point for some cycling and hiking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ligging en suite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect service. Very good beach/ dunes location and excellent pool for the kids (4 and 6)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Extra Large Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gorgeous view from our suite over the ocean and the dunes, friendly personell, dogs are welcome, cosy fireplace, nice restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some (not all) staff talked too snob, making guests feel less welcomed.

    Large family rooms. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could easily get vegan breakfast. They went out of their way to accomodate that

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The OEROL paper suppose to be be there every morning but arrived or to late or NOT.

    Breakfest excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been overjoyed if there were a gym in the facilities.

    Great breakfast, wifi, and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean.

    Location and view

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    attune the temperature in the room

    breakfast location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Seaside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner could be better, maybe more choices with breakfast

    Excellent location close to the beach, very comfortable hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Environment. Quiet, wind, view. Service was good. Kitchen very helpful with my wife's diet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Seaside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit isolated. The Safe was out of order.

    The general ambience and the atmosphere of the hotel. Also its proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Seaside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems a bit understaffed especially in the restaurants area.

    Great location! A bit dated, but Nice and big rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in is at 4pm and check out at 11:00. When à voucher was geven due to the delay, stuff was not explaining the conditions to use.

    Nice locaties, big room

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We are travelling with a dog and stayed in a ground floor room with acces to a terrace and the dunes. Perfect! Just open your own door to walk the dog. The views are brilliant and so is the location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed for our son - was not comfortable and did not fold up easily so got in the way. Euro 50 per night seems a lot of money for such a temporary looking and feeling bed.

    Staff, breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the Receptionist Laura. Very cold manners and treated us like we were visiting a Youth Hostel.

    Great breakfast, very fresh and versatile. Amazing location, wonderful beach restaurant right on the beach by the Hotel to chill and delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too many inexperienced staff members. It's fine to have some, as long as they're backed by experienced co-workers. Balance in this hotel was clearly off. Windows in room were quite dirty (outside). No airconditioning or fan available. Room ventilation options quite limited. Shower design lacking: it would have been more useful if the shower drain had actually been at the lowest point of the shower stall.

    Excellent location: very close to the beach and a very nice, casual and relaxed beach club. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    De schoonmaak van de kamer schoot tekort. Het ontbijt was elke dag hetzelfde, de koffie slecht, en er waren teveel zaken te vaak niet in orde. Het personeel maakte dikwijls een onprofessionele indruk, iets wat je niet verwacht in een viersterren hotel. De bar was 's avonds om 11 uur gesloten, en iets eten 's avonds was slechts mogelijk na reservering.

    De plek is onovertroffen.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too bad that the suite room was seperated in 2 small rooms. The beds missed real sheets.

    Very calm, friendly staff, free bikes, right on the beach, good kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very cosy

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Idea of voucher instead of cleaning the room

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was really nice

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no A/C, no 24hour reception desk, due for an upgrade/refurbishment

    Location, spacious bathroom,breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service has become dreadful in the last few years - unfortunately!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing location and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No a/c

    Within walking distance to the beach

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pets in the dining room;

    The quietnes

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed kan beter

    zwembad + sauna is goed!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbours!

    Hotel near THE beach

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: