Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palanka 3 stars

Walramplein 9, 6301 DC Valkenburg, Netherlands

#46 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic in as much there were no coffee and tea making facilities in the room or a fridge. Air conditioning would also be useful and the hotel is not suitable for disabled people due the the rooms being on so many levels with many steps.

    The breakfast spread in the morning was amazing!. The staff were very attentive , friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly multi-lingual staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning Building work in the square at the front of the hotel - started at 6:30am on Saturday €10 for parking was a bit steep but when work completed in main square it will be easier & cheaper to park there.

    Friendly multi-lingual staff Large clean room Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location to the town centre, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking was a little unfair for guests and the bar was not open in the evening, though the receptionist did get us a drink when we asked for one.

    Very convenient location to the town centre, good breakfast and the room was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional value for money, excellent facilities and staff and superb location in Valkenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, exceptional value for money and an excellent hotel.

    The hotel offer exceptional value for money and is located in the center of Valkenburg. The staff, rooms,breakfast and facilities were excellent and i shall not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others and stay there again on my next visit to Valkenburg. I only wish more hotels were as attentive and like minded in offering the value for money this hotel offers. Parking is at the rear and the breakfast buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    not the best housing experience @ Palanka Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water pressure in the bathroom (very low) the shower hose was broken/ leaking the pipes conducting the water to the bathroom are passing through the room (near the right bed) making quite some noise when you flush the toilet or when using the shower the bathroom door couldn't be locked the pool was pretty small the parking had to be paid no hair drier no airco TV remote control was broken smell of cigarettes on the hallway

    the luxury of having a swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    This hotel is in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking for the hotel costs an extra 10 euro per day which isn't bad at all, but I went there for a car show (Corvette) and didn't know that the parking lot was gravel so I paid for parking that I didn't use. The stairs are relatively steep and shallow for lack of a better word, so be careful on them or take the little (2 to 3 person) elevator. The instant coffee was, well instant coffee. (One of the ladies made us some espresso which was pretty good, so if you like good coffee ask one of the nice ladies roaming the cafeteria) The shower is relatively small. I'm 6'2", 270lbs. (muscular build, not rotund :-) ) and it was really tight in there, so if you're any larger be sure to get a room with the tub as I'm not sure they all have both. And whatever you do, test the water temperature before you get in there, the water is always scalding hot. There are no fans or air conditioning so if you like it cool, you'll have to sleep out on the balcony :-).

    The location of the hotel is great. Valkenburg is a great little city with plenty to see, and a lot of it is within short walking distance from the hotel. I liked the table assignment in the cafeteria. The tables are assigned according to room numbers so you never have to worry about finding a place to sit and eat. The room had a large bathroom with a full-size tub and separate shower. We were on the second floor and our room had a large balcony facing the front of the building so the view was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    2.9
    Worst place in valkenburg DON'T GO HERE 😵
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is horrible and rude. The pictures on the website don't match. There was a bad odor on the floor I slept. The building is not well maintained. Total letdown due to the false advertising. DON'T GO HERE!

    Getting away from there as fast as I could

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    3.8
    De locatie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was very rude in the telephone. Due to work we were only able to arrive before 12 midnight. I called to informed but she insisted rudely we have to come before 11pm. When arrived we found out they actually closed at midnight every night. Very unprofessional!!!

    De locatie

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    2.5
    A night of terror which I hope that I will never have to experience again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drunken Dutch men tried to break down my bedroom door in the early hours of the morning. The late night security door which was to be used with a code when returning after 10.00 pm. at night could be opened without the code simply by leaning against it. This meant that the hotel had no security whatsoever. The men did not get my room as I braced myself against the inside of the door as it was bowed and about to cave in. Luckily they then gave up and I heard them trying to kick in another door further down the passage. Approximately 2 hours later drunken men returned and this time they had a key to a room - I do not know it it was the same group as before. I complained to the maid when I left at 6.00 a.m. the next morning as the owner was not about. I also checked the security door when I left and it was still faulty. The owner then called me and tried to blame me for not telephoning security from my room when I was far too busy trying to stop the bedroom door being broken down. She refused to offer compensation for my night of terror or to reimburse me for the next night as I left a night early. My mother contacted Booking.com and they also tried to negotiate with the owner on my behalf. They had no success either but have offered 25 Euros compensation as a gesture of goodwill. I am very grateful for this and the professional way they have responded to my complaint. I am disgusted with the way the owner has responded. She does not appear to be interested in the well being or safety of her guests

    Nothing about this hotel would make me want to stay again. The swimming pool was not very clean, the bedroom was airless and the owner was very unhelpful when I complained about my terrifying night time experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.0
    Mooie ligging, redelijk hotel voor te hoge prijs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old building, old bathroom, faded glory, poor maintenance, Single room for old lady very small and sober.

    The big room with a kind of Loggia, in the centre with parking (E.10 p/day) nice pool,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The cleanliness of the the hotel The rooms were exceptionally clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic hotel

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Okay, would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy but that was because of other guests

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    If visiting Valkenburg stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complaints

    Friendly staff, great location and nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    staff very nice food very good clean and tidy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to complain about

    food great bed comfy clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    Pleasant but always is due to the company
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertising with parking, then charging 10 euros a day. This should not be allowed.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Adequate stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uneven floors walking towards room, got dizzy

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    very basic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in huge need of renovation! very outdated design. breakfast was very basic

    great location! near lots of good restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    central location, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is very poor

    central location, quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    4.6
    We had decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building was old, looking like a prison from outside. There were some outdoor stairs, looking creepy. Also inside, we felt like we traveled back in time (~20 years). When we arrived, around 12:30 PM, the front door was closed so we had to carry our luggage two more hours around this beautiful town.. There was no hair-dryer in the room; Kind of cold in the huge big bathroom;

    We had decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    My husband and I spent 5 nights here, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    My husband and I spent 5 nights here, the staff were very nice and welcoming, they upgraded our room for the last three nights as they had vacant rooms. The hotel is very clean and there was a good choice of buffet breakfast, hotel is in good position and we will definetly be returning on our next trip to Holland

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    central location

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: