Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkhotel Hugo de Vries 3 stars

Dorpsstraat 13, 6741 AA Lunteren, Netherlands

#3 of 4 hotels in Lunteren

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 681 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Room was big, and had everything needed for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit on the soft side, could have been more firm. The shower did not have any curtain or door which meant eventually the whole bathroom was covered with water. Especially inconvenient if you needed to use the toilet after someone showered, since you needed to dry the toilet first.

    Room was big, and had everything needed for a short stay. Staff was friendly and offered a good tip for dining in the area. Photo's of the hotel's former purpose and the scientist that used to live there in the 1800's where cool to see.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Could have been good but was very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar and restaurant were closed due to a wedding, with no alternative for hotel guests, Flies were walking all over the breakfast. Was asked to leave bar area when I did try to get a drink. Customer I had arranged to meet in bar, were left waiting outside front door on plastic chairs

    Bar area looked inviting, just could not use it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spotlessly clean but the room smelled a little like dampness.

    Our bed was very comfortable and clean. The shower was great and breakfast was excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed and spacious room with good internet access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant closed at 7.30 so I had to go out to find an alternative restaurant. There were no taxis available to be booked in the morning but I was directed to the railway station and I was able to go by train to my destination

    Comfortable bed and spacious room with good internet access

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    The restaurant was closed both days I stayed in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed both days I stayed in the hotel. This information was not given on the website. I couldn't have dinner and had to find a place to eat in Lunteren which, being a small place, doesn't have many of them. Apparently the restaurant in the hotel is closed on Wednesday night anyway, on the second night, which was Thursday, I was told since I am the only guest, they wouldn't open the restaurant just for me. Made me feel quite undervalued. Otherwise - reasonably priced clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.8
    Horrible mattress!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was unbearably bad. The worst mattress I've ever tried. The other mattress in the bedroom was a little bit better, but still very bad. Not worth it at all...!!

    Located in a nice village. And quiet building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    The village Lunteren is a really picturesque traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The village Lunteren is a really picturesque traditional village. When getting to the village you will pass many cute little farms with animals. We even managed to jump on the train and went to a town Amersfoort and same evening back, 25 min by local train. We stayed 1 night to go to a national park Hoge Veluwe which is very close. We booked basic room, the windows does not open but there is a ventilation. For 1 night we did not mind. The room and bathroom were clean. We feel it was a great deal and we really liked the location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a dog with me, would prefer a bigger bin on site for dog related items

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff, quiet area and comfortable clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.0
    Perfect price-quality
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had windows but unfortunately you could not open them. So we definitely missed a breath of fresh air

    + price per night. It was really affordable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Will stay here again, not the best breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not able to book breakfast on booking.com so I had to do this at the accommodation, price of was okay for what you get. Breakfast was not the best I have ever had but also not the worst, selection was okay but not spectacular. Beds were comfortable but a little bit small (I'm 1.90 so this could explain). Bathroom was really outdated and I felt like being in a hostel. No separate shower tub but everything in one room.

    Very friendly staff which really tried their best to make our stays nice. Beds were nice (single bed) and comfortable. Room was daily cleaned properly and smelled fresh. Great location and venue if you are hosting weddings. Lunteren has a great atmosphere because there is a lot of nature and this fits in the setting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, is a bit far away from bigger cities but you are ready for that form the beginning. Depends of your travel purposes.

    Rooms are clean and good equipped. Good breakfast Friendly stuff. Overall good price for provided service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    6.3
    Fair, more or less cozy room for the non-waking hours
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably a personal preference: didn’t like the box-spring. Room too warm for me to sleep comfortably. Hated the smell of the washing soap from the bathroom.

    Clean, cozy lighted room. Small, but just right for your non-waking hours. Room was not in the stylish, old part of the building, but in the more recently added, connected facilities that look more like your run-of-the-mill cheap American hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Large airy room overlooking inner courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large airy room overlooking inner courtyard

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    No fridge in the room, no wake up call early morning.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room, no wake up call early morning. Difficult to find where to return the key as no staff early morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    no other guests
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    people close to our window

    no other guests

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    One night in Lunteren
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No public areas available for a drink or meal because of a wedding do.

    Pleasant enough room, adequate but not special

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a problem at times as they also organise weddings / functions.

    The area around the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's dark in the night. Maybe the hotel is in a village?

    nice room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good in general.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not really soundproof.

    Comfy room, great bed, big bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    The night door makes too much noice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night door makes too much noice. This door is used the entire night and early in the morning. Impossible to sleep Breakfast poor for 10 euro

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Nicely renovated villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit dusty.

    Comfortable Quiet room Helpful staff Good breakfast Good internet connection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Probably better in the summer season...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of creepy at night

    Kindness off the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice breakfast considering the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little chilly in the room when I arrived.

    Nice breakfast considering the price. Staff was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.0
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distrube

    Fredge is not the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Not good wi fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Good Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good Rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Quiet hotel and easy parking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet hotel and easy parking. very good price quality/ratio. Perfect for business trips.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    5.8
    Good enough for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor bathroom facility, a lot of noise from other guests in the corridor

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    vending machine in the hallway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no heater in the bathroom

    vending machine in the hallway. backyard for smokers ;-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stay for a good price, breakfast was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a little noisey, with the sounds of vents

    Great stay for a good price, breakfast was really good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    Free wifi with good signal, convenient location (just 600...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing I can remember of.

    Free wifi with good signal, convenient location (just 600 meters from the train station), comfy room, nice staff. Lunteren is a beatiful little town!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    Restaurant was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is a little tired, needs some updating. Carpet especially scruffy. But still very clean and bed comfy, need new pillows.

    Restaurant was amazing. Great food and fantastic staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly staff and a nice ambiance.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The radiator was switched completely off yet it was warm, making the room too warm for during the night and the windows couldn't be opened. Also the drain from the bathroom emitted a very unpleasant smell and we killed a silverfish in the bathroom and in the room itself.

    Very friendly staff and a nice ambiance. The entire place was kept nice and clean. The beds were on the soft side for me personally, but still firm enough to not lie in a V.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.3
    Stunning looking hotel, in a beautiful little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a total let down. In an annex on the ground floor - very dark and "used" and felt rather oppressive. Quite frankly, one night was more than enough and quite a shame as we were thinking about staying there for a couple of nights on our journey home.

    Stunning looking hotel, in a beautiful little town. Breakfast was very good, situated in a lovely beamed dining room.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.9
    quite hotel is close to the village centre,friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the ventilation of the single rooms is really poor.

    quite hotel is close to the village centre,friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast simple but sufficient and ok.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    6.7
    good location, walking distance from the venue.
    • Group

    ordered a double twin room with two seperate beds but on arrival we had to pull the beds apart ourselves. Bathroom was big but no shower curtain. After asking we were given some extra towels to dry the floor. Toilet seat so high that my legs were dangling from the floor [I am 1.70 m tall].Light very dingy. It felt as if we had gotten the invalid room.

    good location, walking distance from the venue. nice interior of the hotel, friendly staff. Quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.3
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is set for events, i.e. weddings, thus very big spaces but almost empty. Breakfast was very standard (expecting a little bit more).

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.3
    Staff very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly. Nice informal atmosphere. Dinner was very good. Breakfast was also very good; great eggs!

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast & location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast & location.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    5.0
    The room was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closed 75% of the week. No electricity in my room the first night. No solution from the service.

    The room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.8
    Very nice rooms, good localization.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice rooms, good localization.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Overall great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall great value for money. Difficult to find any negative comment.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Quiet, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.6
    very good for the price range .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    you can't open window .

    very good for the price range .

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent value for money. Clean. Good breakfast included.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Parkhotel Hugo de Vries traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: