Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Maxime 3 stars

P.C Hooftstraat 63, Oud Zuid, 1071 BN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#389 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    5.2

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is dirty, not renovated for many years, dirty walls, dirty corridors, bathroom not renovated with armature falling apart, furniture and curtains in a very poor shape. The staff was OK, but I think they did have very limited possibility to improve the whole impression. I did not claim the quality of the hotel due to the busy time of my journey, but definitely I would in another circumstances.

    The hotel is perfectly located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and the room was in a state of disrepair. The window was propped open with a block of wood. It was heavy and difficult to open as both window supports were broken. The window shades were tatty and stained. The basin smelt and the shower and toilet flooded when the shower was used. The shower were located in the entrance to the room without a separate door. There was only one power point that we could find. The remote to the tv did not work and while we asked three times for a replacement nothing happened. Way over priced for what you get. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator to the rooms was old and creaky, and the rooms were very dusty. Throughout the hotel there are patches of plaster and filler on the walls that haven't been repainted. Our bathroom door wouldn't shut because of bad plastering on the ceiling. There were not complimentary amenities except for WiFi, I would have liked a kettle. Some reviews also mentioned no air conditioning which is true - it was 30°c while I was there and the windows wouldn't open. It was often hotter in the hotel room than outside, even when we used the fan. Two out of the three nights I couldn't sleep for the heat. The doors had to be slammed shut or they wouldn't close, which was obviously loud and disturbing in the night. Finally there is no option for 'do not disturb' signs on the door, which I usually implement in a hotel. I would rather have privacy than fresh towels.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location is good. It is cheap while still being close to the centre and not being a hostel. The shower was powerful. We had a nice view down the street from our room, the windows were very big, it was just a shame they wouldn't open.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures were all deceiving from what it is in real. There were painting patches everywhere which looked disgusting. There was no ac. Only a fan provided and the windows didn’t even open which madenour room like a sauna. No housekeeper came to clean the room during our stay. There was dirt near the window.

    Only the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower soaked the wood floor which had warped from years of abuse The toilet flush fell off every time you pressed it The tap to the sink wasn’t fixed just dangling there Air con showing E28 fault code and was like a sweat box Random filled holes in most the walls Hardly any light from the lighting installed like being in a cave Probably to hide how much of a hole it really is The place is far to modern before its time Such a stupid lay out I had to do the limbo under the buildings joist each morning to get out of bed. The front door to building is just a pig to open, then the back side of the door is completely caved in smashed glass NICE !!!!! I’ve been Amsterdam probably 8 times. By far the worst I’ve had an you never get a lot for your money in this city. £500/€560 for three nights Joke!!!! Commanding a high price because your above Prada

    The tram is close to get away from the room Has a lift

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a good deep clean, the actual hotel is modern and laid out nice enough but the rooms could use some deep cleaning and maintenance, found it to be a bit dusty. Lack of air conditioning was a bit disappointing but they did provide a fan! Didn’t mind paying for the lovely central area, hotel definitely isn’t perfect but it isn’t too shabby either.

    In a really lovely area, very central. Comfy bed, fresh towels and beds were made everyday. Really easy to access, excellent instructions in the e-mail.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room and general standard or the lodgings were poor. It seemed like the whole hotel had quickly been constructed with poor materials. Some walls had patched holes left unpainted, the rooms were dusty and the blinds were broken with holes in them.

    There was a bed and a nice shower. That's all I can think of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper attitude! Very rude and condescendent. Receptionist impolite and rude to the point where I said I will never stay in this hotel, his reply was excellent! What a great customer service and a way of keeping guests coming back. Bottom line, the worst hotel and staff I have ever experienced in my life!!! And I travel a lot all over the world! We paid 327 euros for 2 nights to be treated like squatters! Such a shame as I love Amsterdam and this experience spoilled my stay.

    Nothing to be liked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs a serious maintenance : most switches out of order, peeling painting, faucet valve unfixed...` A narrow glass window let you feel to sleep in the street ; don't forget your earpllugs! Discrepancies between access into building and room with explanation received.

    Localisation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Already dirty floor never cleaned over the 3 days, damp patches and plaster coming off the walls/ceiling, fusty smell due to damp, no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, holes/rips in the bed sheet never changed, air conditioning did not work. No wonder we never saw staff, we'd hide as well. Should not be available for booking.

    Good location and comfy mattress

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn’t work that’s about the only thing, but with windows open it was okay

    In good location, felt safe, shower was reasonable. Good value for money and good for an easy going couple or group of lads/girls

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff available on site. And there were no towels in the room. Location is not very easy to find.

    Very cute and efficient. Great location, near museums.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was told we could leave our luggage at the sister hotel who then began to tell us it would be left in the middle of a busy corridoor!!! The glass was smashed behind main door. The lift was awful! The floor was so dirty we had to wear shoes around the room so that our socks didn't turn black. The bed kept coming apart. Single glazing so heard everything. The building was so noisy the in the hotel might as well have been in the same room as you. The safe didnt work!!!!! Marks, plaster and chips in the furniture everywhere.

    The bed was comfy. Good location. Clean sheets, toilet and shower Our bed was made every day but there wasnt a tag anywhere which states not to clean the room so we had to take all personal belongings with us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, you really need to follow up your e-mail and look out for instructions for the entry of the hotel. Otherwise it might be a bit complicating since you require a passcode and you have to go to the sister hotel if you require any assistance since there is no reception. The room met my requirments yet it was very dusty and the walls were thin so you could hear other peoples footsteps. But I guess that what you get within old homes. Air conditioning wasn’t working. I’m sure in the summers it’s all good in the room with the big window open but when it’s cold a small electric heater won’t be much of help. All in all for the location it is a great place but if one wishes to spoil themselves a bit I would suggest somewhere different.

    We were nearly 5 minutes away from the museaum areas such as Rijks or Van Gogh Museum. Also the street was calm and quite. Lot’s of good brands and a nice cafe within the same street. We were close within walking distence to Leidsplein and Vondelpark too. So if your looking for a quite, relaxing stay away from anybody it’s a good place to stay. The room had a big old fashioned window which had a calm rooftop view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in room on first night. Cold showers in the morning when it was -3 outside. Broken electric heater, as room air con doesn’t work the room was freezing cold. Lights did not work in the room as well as side lamp not working. This was so disappointing.. cold dark room.. Hotel cleaner extremely rude too! Waiting on a refund.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed the first two nights at Aurora hotel due to a water issue at Maxime. Aurora was not on par with Maxime, was very dated and wasn’t clean. Breakfast dishes left until at least lunchtime on the tables. Stains in bedroom and musky smell.

    Location of Aurora was very good and breakfast included, which was not in original booking. The room at Maxime was a lot better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non-functioning hot water supply during part of our stay, considerable noise during night caused by a group of hotel's guests. Very minimalist facilites.

    Excellent location (Amsterdam's high street, nearby city centre and museum area - walking distance) and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really dirty and desperately needed a reconstruction. There was enormous amount of dirt in the wood behind the bed and bed sheets smelled as if they were used before without being machine washed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was slightly rough and ready, didn’t feel too homely on first arrival. Check in was a little late because the key wasn’t available. Rooms are tightly packed together and the walls are quite thin.

    Location is great, out of the main centre but within the museum district and close to Vondelpark. Plenty of places to eat and drink that are away from the touristy spots.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looked like it was under construction. Everything. The walls were scraped and had markings on them. The head board had profanity etched into the clothe. The safe didn't work and the staff said none of the safes worked and WORST of all the HEATER DID NOT WORK. It also was poorly prepped for us. The shower had a used bar of soap, empty conditioner, AND HAIR from the previous stay. I would get another place for sure!

    It was in a good location and easy to get into. There is no staff, they just leave a key outside your door or you use a code to get in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very interesting concept and very straightforward. Had a great time and i highly recommend it to whoever is looking for a decent and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are dirty, the bedding is dirty. Neither the towels or bedding were ever cleaned during the stay. There is no fridge in the room to store any food or drink. The Limited TV channels are awful. None of the windows open, so the air is stale. The cleaners only empty the waste bins and that is all. The floors are filthy and the walls are filthy, as is the shower. There is no kettle to make hot drinks and the only heating is a tiny free standing blow heater, which means the rooms are constantly cold during the winter. This is a run down, shabby place and the only good thing about it, is the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was broken, the walls had some holes on them and there was not good sound insulation

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and they cleaned it every day. It is a good place to stay with your partner, so romantic!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hard to use until realised how to work it. Room looked terrible, some major cosmetic improvement needed. No kettle or tea making facilities. Only accessible via a lift. Generally disappointed with value for money. Would not stay here again.

    Room was available for check in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first, they couldn´t process any credit card so you are supposed to personally go to the "sister hotel": a dubiously smelling 2 stars hotel about a couple of Kms away to get checked in! second the Poor condition of the room makes very hard to actually relax Finally there was no heat (well there was an electric heater that what lacked in power made up entirely on with its incredible loudness) do yourself a favor and avoid it!

    the location. Gert, the amazing concierge! give him a big tip if you can!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the inexperienced staff as there was no instructions for the safe and when calling the hotel number he couldn’t of been less helpful so I didn’t have use of the safe for the duration of my stay.

    I enjoyed the location of the premises as it was easy to get to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key cards were a nightmare, stopped working after the first time using it. Dirty stains on pillows, housekeeper saw it and just put it back on the bed rather than replacing it! Damages to the floor and other parts of the room were broken/breaking.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mentioned above.

    While there was no reception, and it appeared that the building was under construction, overall, it was a comfortable stay. The construction of the showers make the bathroom prone to flooding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was apprehensive about the lack of a front desk, but it worked out. The room had some unfinished structural damage--needs a drywaller to fix interior walls.

    The location was great-very near the VanGogh museum complex. The attic unit had a window opening to the street with views of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rom was not clean. The light in the bathroom did not switch off. The bed was uncomfortable. Should be possible for earlier check in.

    The place of the Hotel. Nearby everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is poor and ugly. It’s necessary to do a deep revitalization and fix some problems. I really don’t recommend it!

    The hotel is in central area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay 100euros per night for a room that isn't a room. It looked like abandonned, dirty, noisy, defintely the worst i've ever stayed.

    The hotel was located in a central point.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a dive.

    There was very little to like about The hotel. The accommodation is unfinished. Bare plaster board walls, holes in the walls exposed wires everywhere. Terrible lighting,the wardrobe was falling apart and the window was loose in an unfinished frame. The room was filthy, no hair dryer and the room was freezing. There was however a fan which was broken. The street is very noisy 24 hours. For almost £100 a night the hotel is appalling. Would never stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside the building oing up o the room needed work and wasnt clean. Room wasn't as clean as it is in the pictures, alot smaller. 'Curtains' were very dirty mirrors not cleaned etc. No hair drier or kettle in room. But in saying that it was private and quiet. And we did enjoy our stay.

    Bed was comfy,5 min walk from the Iamsterdam sign and museums. Nice location. All designer shops on your street.although there are no staff at thw hotel, fresh towels, sheets and toilet roll were there dropped in every morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was painful. We weren't told we wouldn't receive a door key card until we chased it & found out they weren't working. Windows only stay open with a piece of wood. Some of the plugs didn't work. The wall was damaged with a big hole from a previous incident. Walls quite thin- you could hear toilets flushing next door & people loudly in the hallway. Blinds were a weird paper material with holes in them. Too many faults for the cost of the room.

    Great location, comfortable bed, good shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in poor state of repair, holes in wall, some plastered over, some not. doors not properly fitted and hanging off the wall, and bathroom door couldn’t be slowed, tv remote didn’t work. Hard to raise issues as staff located at a location that was a significant walk away. Did speak to staff at sister hotel on second night, and they sorted out batteries for remote, and gave a small discount on one nights accommodation, but it didn’t adequately compensate for the level of disrepair

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had 2 go on street 2 ask to some 1 to contact mgr. Mgr was not helpful accusing me of losing key. A nice yng man on street helped get key to get in located in hidden spot in area of rehab in blg

    Not much. The code to get in to Hotel worked but The Room key per email instructions was not on door knob . my phone either didn't work or MGR didn't take call. No one onsite to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as photos, holes in the walls in room and hallways, same key card opened both my room and friend's on a different floor. Very worrying. Room poor lighting and could not turn off light and fan in bathroom. Very disappointing.

    Location good, felt safe in the area. Excellent public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vandalized wall in room. Will send photo if requested. Had to leave baggage At another hotel prior to room availability. Room not too clean.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 44. Very poor decor. Heating did not work. Every time you flushed the toilet the face plate came away. No loo roll holder. Shower tricky to use and metal shower hose needs replacing. Operating cord for the blind at the window was on the floor ...... not on the blind! Plaster coming off the wall around the window. No hairdryer in the room. Dirty. Lots of rubbish/dirt under the bed. Someone's dirty socks in under bed drawer. In another drawer were several tea light candles that had been lit inside the drawer and were stuck in there with wax. No waste paper bin in the room - but was one in bathroom. Check out 11 am - key cards deactivated after this time..... However.....all 3 parties were unable to get back into rooms 1/2 hour before then! No one on site to help. Someone at sister hotel had to give instructions via phone on where to find the cleaners master key in a cupboard to let us all in!! Scary 2 person lift.....unable to access stairs to get in. The photos on the website look ok...... I don't know if those rooms exist! We certainly didn't have one!!

    The location was great......that's it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors very big and heavy. Also rubbed along the floor which made it awkward when carrying bags. Massive holes in the walls, in the corridor. Didn't look like it was finished being built. Gap in the window frame, which made it very noisy throughout the day. No coffee making facilities. King sized bed frame, with 2 single mattresses shoved together and a mattress topper put on them.

    Very good location. Good that it had a lift. Great if you're not spending a lot if time at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was literately falling a part... holes on the walls, painting missing, window didn't open, only a couple of lights working, broken furniture, broken shower, lots of dust everywhere (which made my allergy not fun)... you could only access the rooms by a small lift as the stairs were blocked with a sign of "no entry, penalty applies", which made us feel a bit trapped. No coffee/tea facilities. Pictures on booking.com DO NOT represent the actual state of the rooms/building.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, very untidy, walls were falling apart. Absolute rip off! Will never stay there again. Lights didn't work, no aircon. Overall very unhappy

    Not much to be honest, the bed was sort of comfortable...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black walls were really tacky and made the room like way tackier than the website picture makes it seem. Also they don't tell you but there is a tax you are made to pay on top of the accommodation change. We only found his out when we were checking in. There is also no kettle or hairdryer anything like that in the room, just a bed, shower, sink and toliet.

    Bed was really comfy and the bathroom was nice. Also great location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with being locked out off our room at 1am and had to get another hotel to help us out with issue. The communal phone on our floor also didn't work.Our room was only cleaned twice in the 5night stay. And i still haven't had a reply to the email i sent with all the issue's we had very unprofessional. Its a shame as this apartment would have been great to recommend but the staff have let it down.

    The hotel was in a very safe and clean area also close to transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot. Had heater no fan. Elevator broke and we had to climb outside fire escape stairs to 4th floor without full directions. Impersonal. No local info provided.

    Bed was comfortable. When key was not found where was it was to be the phone call to the number reached a person who provided a code

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from luxury. If you dislike small lifts this hotel is not for you. The fact that there aren't any staff within the hotel makes for an uncomfortable experience. Your room key is provided by being hung on your door at 3pm (not a second earlier). The rooms are in need of a revamp. Chipped walls, dusty sides and mirrors and an overall bland look.

    Brilliant location! Right near to the museum's and the Amsterdam sign.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy apartment! Massive hole in a wall, clearly from room door being opened with force. Sink had discolouring and massive missing piece of marble in middle. Walls in dire need of paint, makeup smudged all up and down the walls. Floor was not brushed once during our 4 day stay, and extremely dusty everywhere. Clearly the cleaners don't clean extensively after each stay as we found junk (tissues, hair ties and bottle caps) behind the chair under the bench.

    Nicely located on high end shopping street. Bed was comfortable however was stated it was a double and arrived to two singles with a mattress topped on top and resulted in large dip in the bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was grotty and needed painting- mattress was dirty so we didn't sleep in the bed we slept on top with no covers. No staff available and no facilities at all in the "hotel". I wouldn't recommend this room to anyone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very un clean there was sick in the shower rubbish under the bed the fan was covered in dust and broken also the front door glass was smashed

    Location was amazing good pubic transport staff at sister hotel also great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room key card/code were left on the door for us which means anyone could have gone in who got through the main entrance door. It's a lovely boutique hotel but needs to be kept a little bit better. There were damages on the walls in the corridors of the hotel, the shower wasn't working and were asked if we broke it when we had just arrived, the door handle was broken and were told it was going to get fixed later on in the day but didn't. Little things that add up unnecessarily to an otherwise really good boutique hotel!

    We stayed on the 4th floor in a loft. The room is minimalistic, pretty and practical. It was really easy to find with everything needed sent to us via email. The location is excellent with lots of bars, restaurants and sights around and the area is super safe and posh! Ideal for a short stay in Amsterdam. We stayed there for two nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff, no breakfast, there was dust in the room. They changed the password for the room entrance but they didn't inform us. Finally we found it in a cloth bag. We spent so much time for it.

    The location was great. It was close to public transportation. Nice neighbourhood. Close to vondel park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slippery bathroom floor. No air conditioner and it was 30C. Key lock did not work for room assigned and it was not in place. We had to call out and another room was assigned. The maid did not have this key number in place for us when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was completely trashed. Bad location of the bed, dirty, extremely hot room and board air conditioning, imposible to open the window and close the curtain, elevator in the poorest condition, no safe deposit, no place to put your bags before check in or after check out.

    Bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought our room was expensive for what it was, a room with loo & shower, no kettle to make a drink & no fridge to store drinks. Thank god we had fine weather as the room was SO hot we had to open the roof window and the fan on, heat was unbearable. The towels were changed daily. The bed was on a platform on the floor so very low down, people with mobility problems may find this difficult.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, to not have air conditioning or the possibility to open the windows made it a pretty hot/uncomfortable stay. Also the cleaner perhaps needs a step ladder as everything was ok up to 6' or so, but above that was very dirty. Plus we found hairs in the bed/fabric headboard & shower head, and a left over dirty sock behind a cupboard door!

    The location was excellent and all of the emailed instructions were easy to use, so we didn't feel the lack of a reception/concierge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were holes in the roof and walls, restoration and building work need to be completed.

    The bed was extremely comfortable! Good location on a good street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no staff seemed to be an issue when on the second day our key card stopped working but was quickly sorted by ringing the sister hotel the agora. Late check in was also a small issue but didn't ruin the trip and the room did have a small area of broken plaster board but it was behind the door so barely noticeable.

    It was really close to the city centre, the room was very clean and the facilities were lovely and the room was very modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad hotel, you could hear other people really good and everything was old and broken. Sink smelled really bad. Not worth the money not at all.

    Closeby to the museums and leidseplein and the shopping area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and the window only opened cm's wide. Wouldn't be an issue any other time of the year but the weather was between 24 to 33oc while we were there and it was uncomfortably warm. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were awful. Sore necks each morning. While it looked beautiful on closer inspection the rooms were very dusty, bathroom covered in limescale and the floors were dirty. Also a coffee maker would have made our stay so much more enjoyable.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was filthy. Total disappointment. So dirty we left early as we were disgusted by the dirt and smell as well as run down status. Sewage was green and filthy with a fowl smell. Lights hanging out and looked dangerous. Dust everywhere, terrible noises from doors opening. Overall a hotel from Hell.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the room was a little shabby, with holes in the walls and a loose door handle (that fell off the moment I entered the room). The light switches were also unreliable, and the fact that the bed was not against a wall meant that sitting up to watch television or work was inconvenient. Providing a fan was helpful, but installing working aircon would be even better; I wouldn't want to stay here in high summer.

    Excellent directions and information provided beforehand (as no staff at hotel). Great location, only a few minutes walk from the city centre. Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception, entrance door to hotel smashed. Holes in walls, wires dangling down from wardrobe, windows would not open, tiles falling down in bathroom. Awful. Would like full refund.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the "double" bed was 2 singles together which kept coming apart which is very annoying. the room could of been a bit cleaner, it needed a good dust.

    The room was very spacious, lovely shower and bathroom, good location, very private and discreet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I reservated two rooms and stayed in room 22. On day 25 a man saying that was your plumber asked to enter in our room to see a possible leek on our bathroom after the examination he said that it's ok. This event ocurred again on day 26 with a older man and he said that we had to go to another room because there was a leek in our bathroom. He gave to us the key of room 34, apologized and said that give discount of 50% in our stay. So we pack up our stuffs and go to room 34. In this time the problems began. When we open the door of room 34 there was people sleeping there! How the hotel not know which rooms are occupied or not????? This is unacceptable!!! After this constraint we call to the reception asking another free room to go and your reception said that all rooms were occupied and we had to pick a tram and go to another hotel. We understand that problems can happen but the hotel should at least give us a tour and arrange a room as close as possible. Before we leave, my rusband call to the reception for askey about our discount and the man who talk to him said that does not know about this. Besides the integral value was discount to my credit card plus some taxs and i not received any receipt to discriminate these values. Another problem was the hotel agora to let our bagages is too far from boutique hotel maxime (9 minutes from tram). In summary, we are very disappointed with hotel organization and commitment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to be honest. No kettle in room. Room was shabby and needs decorating. Holes in wall. Marks all over wall. Dirty curtains. Not much lighting. Hotel didn't feel secure. Very noisy.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no door to the bathroom. I can't change the temperature of the room.

    The staff who gives the keys to us is very friendly. We checked in earlier than it supposed to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found bedbugs on our second night. They were quick to move us and our things to their sister hotel the next day so that they can carry out fumigation.

    Bed comfy. Love the fact that my room was an attic room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms on the last floor are a bit small, no wardrobe and no forniture (they would probably not fit).

    The position is really fantastic (between the rijskmuseum and vondelpark/leidsplein). Beds are really comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny space. No reception but that was okay. A bit far from the center.

    Very clean and modern bathroom. Bed was comfortable. Clean white sheets. Decent price. In the rich fashion district.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was poor and the door handle had fallen off. But other than this it was perfect for us both. Fresh towels were provided daily.

    The bed was comfy and the shower was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noticed that when room was cleaned that sheets weren't changed they were just flipped over. Towels weren't clean, one had like almost fake tan looking stain on it. Rooms were a tiny bit smaller than what it looked in the photo.

    The bed was super comfy, great location was 15-30 minute walk to everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most unhygienic hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was disgraceful and I was embarrassed that I'd booked this for my partners birthday. I have been to Amsterdam 7 times and this was by far the worst, I felt like I was in a squat. Do not book!! Worst hotel iv ever experienced.  Been to amsterdam 7 times and Boutique hotel Maxime was deffinelty the biggest mistake iv ever made.  Firstly there's no reception which is not advertised on the booking page containing the informations about the hotel.  There is also no access to a stairwell just a terrible cramped lift that fits 3 people max. The customer service and after sales service is disgusting.  On our first day we were seated outside our room waiting until after 3 we had been there for over half an hour trying to call the number on my email.  I called on my first morning to query about through the night maintenence that was going on in the hotel but ofcorse the useless gentleman at the end of the phone stated he would contact me back.  Ofcorse that never happened.   I also called one morning as the WiFi was down and I needed it for work reasons, the response I got was "I'm busy making breakfast so I will be a few hours to look at it, your probably better going out and using someone elses" how disgraceful if I knew the is how we would be treated we would have stated elsewhere.  There seems to be one unhelpful unfriendly man looking after this hotel aswell as the sister hotel. Finally the state of the room...where do I start.  Hygiene in this room was no existent, we arrived to pubes all over the shower, bathroom and sink.  There is brown water splashed on the wall with the sink which I don't want to know what it is.  There where no complimentary robes which was stated, no batteries in the TV remote, no heating (one pathetic electric heater 20cmx10cm) dirty tissues and make up wipes in the drawers, dust EVRRYWHERE and not just freshly laid dust I'm talking clumps in every corner.

    Worst place iv ever stayed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under improvements so plaster showing and walls not painted. Looked terrible. Bathroom door didn't close properly. Room cold whole day and night. No hairdryer. Bad lighting in room at night. The double bed was 2 singles put together while came apart all the time so felt unsecure in bed.

    Good location and bed room spacious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any staff any reception just a code to come in???? Hallo

    Totally disgrace, this is a not a hotel is a private for workes so dirty, broke Thks for the Hotel disgrace my Birthday day! GIRLS want work in Amesterdam just book this hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Hotel Maxime traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: