Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension B&B het Smidsvuur

Sylspaed 27-29, 8711 EB Workum, Netherlands

#1 of 13 hotels in Workum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 353 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Workum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls between the rooms, though it didn't bother us as we had quiet neighbours.

    Great location right next to the canal, super friendly and nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great location on a canal, we used one of their free canoes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold but we added an extra blanket and all was good!

    Great location on a canal, we used one of their free canoes and had a marvelous time exploring! Very nice host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Love it :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..simply nothing.

    I love everything, the breakfast was perfect, the hosts were wonderful and the room & establishment was to dream for. I will come back again for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently on a road trip around Europe I had the chance to find this amazing and beautiful B&B in Workum! Martin and Ellie made me feel at home and helped for everything and always with a smile! =) Don't change! Everything was perfect!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. I'm planning on staying there again, for the third time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin, so you could here people on either side of us.

    Good location. Water view. Clean. They had bikes to use.Martin and Elly were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Excellent for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small and there was not enough space in the diner area, so not everybody could sit at the same time.

    The accommodation was very adapted to our way of travel. For example, we could use the kitchen provided and avoid going to the restaurant. The staff was very attentioned to us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay and meet other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner and his wife. The guest also. Ferry nice place to talk with other guest. The owner brought me a big towel by swimming and cleaned mine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, we knew it would be shared shower and toilet not a problem for us. Room was small but comfortable, we were offered a larger room but were happy with what we had.

    Immaculately clean. Welcoming, friendly hosts who couldn't do enough for us. Dog friendly. Great location. Nice breakfast prepared by host. Excellent value for money. Would recommend and stay again. Lovely couple Elly & Martin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    The price was very low and the people and the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was very low and the people and the facilities were very nice. The room was tiny but well kept.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Relation price/offer is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views at terrace are not very pleasant.

    Relation price/offer is good. Don't expect hotel ambiance because this is a basic but fair place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The owners are really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are really nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfartable and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast on the terras at the waterfront. Bicycling through the Friesche Meren.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Good stay in Workum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. The beds were good. Breakfast was excellent. Hosts went out of their way to secure our bike. Near resturants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ligging

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Very recomanable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing i do not like.

    Its such a lovely house, spotless and run by such friendly and helpful people , nothing seems too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms,friendliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Relax by the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next to the canal - a thoroughly delightful spot. Wonderful hosts.Relax

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Awesome hosts, delicious breakfast - GREAT place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Awesome hosts, delicious breakfast - GREAT place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Affordable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the canal in a canal town in the country.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and canal front location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Great B&b in nice small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great B&b in nice small town. Perfect owner!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Very nice hosts, all was very clean and the kitchen very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything

    Very nice hosts, all was very clean and the kitchen very well equiped so we were able to cook our dinner. You can also order breakfast. The city was also cute, we had a good beer in the local pub.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    I had a fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a fantastic stay. I was on a cycling trip and just stayed for the night. Very friendly staff and extremely helpful, he even helped storing my bike in a closed unused room! Nice rooms, comfy beds, nice showers/bathrobes/towels/showergel. Everything is here, even a kitchen to prepare your own meals, and also a fully filled fridge to buy some drinks. Wonderful breakfast. Everything there. Absolute a 5 star 10/10 rating. Best value for money I've seen in a long time. I'll definitely hop by again soon.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful small town with an old centre, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful small town with an old centre, great place to stay. Our group of 4 friends , 1 little kid and 2 small dogs enjoyed the stay and the very friendly welcome from the owners Martin and Elly.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice facilities, open yard onto canal, good kitchen,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bedroom was a little cramped & bathroom not ensuite (which would be OK only if the price reflected that). Mattresses were far too soft (basically felt like a massive marshmallow). Definitely need firmer beds & mattresses!

    Nice facilities, open yard onto canal, good kitchen, excellent breakfast, very freindly owners. Good place for a relaxing, easy going environment to stay in

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.1
    Very cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The split beds are not ideal for couples. The rooms are badly isolated and you can hear everything your neighbour does.

    Very cosy atmosphere. Very good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    Right on the canal , fun to watch the water traffic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the refrigerator was filled with soft drinks , energy drinks and ice cold beer available 24 / 7 . . just help yourself and pay into the Honest Box !. . . this was almost too tempting .

    Right on the canal , fun to watch the water traffic ! Unlimited towels , bathrobes and good soap ! Excellent WiFi . . . big sunny windows on canal side rooms . . . lots of open space to chill out . . . helpful owners . . . safe parking close by . . . supermarkets in town . . . convenient cayacs and bicycles . . . private entrance for some rooms , the atmosphere is very Dutch and I love it !

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Great place, we received a free welcome beer after arriving.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great place, we received a free welcome beer after arriving. The lady was so kind to borrow the bike for 5 minutes. Absolutely hospitable owner and a stunning location.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Great breakfast, nice restaurant choices nearby, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, nice restaurant choices nearby, quiet

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly owners Well equiped common kitchen available

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: