Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Piet Hein 3 stars

Vossiusstraat 52 / 53, Oud Zuid, 1071 AK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#275 of 448 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2343 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Worth the cost - wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is open concept in a 'room' with the sink. This in itself was not a problem, but the ground wasn't graded well for the shower, so the water goes EVERYWHERE. There isn't any sort of squeegee provided in the room to help prevent this problem either. It didn't affect our two night stay much, but for those staying longer, you would almost need to require daily service to have this cleaned up.

    The pillows. The bed. They were everything we needed as we ended our vacation! Such a comfortable room that was well designed - sometimes this can be hard to achieve. We really loved the fact that their do not disturb sign was electronic in the wall, so there was no confusion as to what we needed/did not need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Some of the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were brilliant some were not. One day I had the make room up sign all day and my room was never made.

    Some of the staff were excellent. The bed was unreal, so comfortable and the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    I asked for a dinner suggestion from the front desk and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a dinner suggestion from the front desk and they recommended the fish bar around the corner. The food was amazing. I was travelling alone so I was able to sit at the bar. You will likely need a reservation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Location is great, just a 5 minutes walk to Van Gogh museum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely small. I know it’s a single room but when you open your suitcase inside, you can hardly move anywhere. Price is expensive for a tiny room. On my last day, My bathroom light doesn’t work. I reported to the reception but they didn’t do anything because the repairer is not there.

    Location is great, just a 5 minutes walk to Van Gogh museum and about 10-15 minutes to Rijkmuseum. Breakfast is ok, not the best but sufficient to start your day. View from my window is Vondelpark, which is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    Second stay in this hotel. Staffs are always friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Television and room telephone was not in a working condition. Had to make a trip to lobby just to inquire on things. Remote control was not found in the room. Had to request one from the main lobby.

    Friendly staffs. Prompt services. Surrounding environment was quiet and away form the city that make our night sleeps peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    The manager Martin was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Martin was great. Introduce yourself to him. He was polite very helpful and really cared about my stay. I would absolutely stay there again and also would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in a great location great service and staff that really care and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    The room decor was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. You couldn’t open the door completely due to the bed being in the way. The toilet was right next to the bed. The kettle didn’t work and it was replaced and when asked for extra tea bags I was given one not two or three. The air con was directly above the bed which made me poorly the following morning. The staff didn’t offer to move us and was not at all helpful. There were no apologies forthcoming. It was my 40th birthday and it totally ruined the weekend for me. I won’t be staying her again. £300 odd for 2 nights, I wouldn’t ever be staying here again. When we checked out we didn’t even get asked if we enjoyed our stay. Feel totally let down to be honest. Our room was facing the back of the property and all you could hear all night was the fans and air conditioning units from other properties.

    The room decor was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place for a short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity in the bathroom

    Really nice and confortable bedroom, will all the furnitures needed. The localisation was a really good part of the hôtel, close to all the famous places in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room cleaning was a bit of a problem from day 2 on. at one point we had a wild guess that maybe the cleaning lady expected us to tip her on day 1? or was it just a coincidence? you never know, but still, we asked for all the nessecities at the reception so it was ok for us

    + great location + nice and friendly staff, they helped us with food delivery when we were checking in, all that at 1 a.m.! + very nice and cozy terrace in the backyard + we were given four coffee pods a day which was quite enough + tasty lemon water in the lobby + hotel interior, albeit not that super fresh, still looked good + YouTube app in the TV + kettle in the room + good Babyliss hairdryer + warm and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small and need more clean set space and only a shower no bath

    Beds are incredibly comfortable and the staff are nice. When I said it was my birthday the clerk gave us breakfast vouchers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, some staff more knowledgeable than others and the room was small and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baby crib wasn't prepared, even though it was asked for in advance. The staff did not know how to assemble the crib. The bathroom door in room couldn't close fully. It was hard to get a stroller up the stairs or even in to the lift due to how the doors open. If there were alternative ways to enter the hotel apart from using the steep stairs it was never shown to us, so we struggled with stroller and bags. There was an incredibly loud fire alarm at 10pm, after the baby had been put down but that might not have been the staff's fault.

    The breakfast had a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Please sort out the blocked drains in the rooms at the back of the building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom waste was blocked and very smelly. When the wash basin was emptied sewage came up into the bath. Extremely nasty.

    Breakfast room and patio very nice. Breakfast offer was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alarm rang 4 times at 7am because other guest bath was “too hot”. The elevator didnt work when we arrived.

    The location was perfect. Public transport is really close. The room was beatifull and clean, a little small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Did the job for a short work trip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a lot of maintenance at the hotel and also attention to detail on the decor with much better cleaning required throughout the hotel. Bar needs to be better stocked.

    Very comfortable beds. Great location. Staff were helpful when not too busy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Qwerky rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was being renovated but we were not told. No carpets on parts of the stairs. Also NO wet paint signs when painting had occurred. We were given the wrong room on arrival and we entered someone else’s space. Cleaner walked in our room, without knocking.

    Qwerky rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    2.9
    Poor quality accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality accommodation. Fittings not up to standard. Light fittings hanging out of ceiling. Very noisy room on ground floor. Building works going on in room next door. Overall location not good. A long walk to town & especially the station. Pictures used on site DO NOT represent the room we were given in anyway. Advertised tea & coffee facilities in room. 1 tea bag & a non working Nespresso machine. No milk or sugar. Very disappointed overall. Would not recommend anyone stay here until the renovations are complete. Also got charged the city tax again on check out despite the booking confirming VAT & city tax was paid. Very disappointing experience which has overshadowed a man otherwise beautiful city. We would not stay here again or recommend anyone else does. Also being ground floor front room the windows didn’t lock properly & actually fell open in the night. Felt very unsafe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very spacious, tidy & overlooks the Vondelpark. The hotel is located outside the inner city hustle & bustle (but that is what you want, trust) & it is literally only a 5min walk from the main sights/attractions. The bed was very comfy (we got our good nights sleep) & the bathroom was WOW!! All hotel staff were friendly & helpful throughout our stay; check-in/out was quick & smooth. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Modern hotel near the Vondelpark with nice breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is, as bedroom didn’t have that much space and breakfast is not included in the room price.

    Modern hotel near the Vondelpark with nice breakfast (however not included on the price of the room).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property when you look closely and if you really want to pick faults, does need a revamp. But I believe this may already be underway

    The location of the property was fantastic, beds lovely and comfortable. Beautiful little boutique hotel, close to trams and shops

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    I'll recommend the Piet Hein Hotel to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there isn't any ventilation into the bathroom, water on the floor doesn't dry out

    I hardly ever can imagine the better place to stay! The location of the hotel is very convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was to small. The room was not as large as stated.

    The location was perfect. It was right next to Vondelpark and a 3-4 minute walking distance from Leidsplein and Museum Quarter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Would stay in this lovely hotel again when visiting Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar access was a bit disappointing. The person who mans the desk is the one who helps you at the bar when you want a drink, so I felt bad when we came down to get a glass of wine. There should be a full-time bartender.

    I liked the location, the staff and the suite we booked. All were lovely. The location of the hotel cannot be beat! You are right next to Vondelpark, a few blocks from museums and wonderful restaurants. Close enough to the action but not the noise. I would stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -When we checked in none of the room keys were working so we couldn’t have the freedom of coming in and out as we please. -the elevator was barley working (I think one of them was actually not working at all) the door barley opened when you finally arrived at your floor (we were only on the second floor) you physically had to push open the elevator door. -I’m not sure if the place was under renovations and we weren’t aware but the stair case was extremely dirty and ripped up old carpet, wood chippings, an entire window screen shattered (not covered or warning sign, just fully shattered. -our first room was tiny! The bed was on wall to wall (maybe if we got this room at a very cheap rate but we didn’t) you had to actually climb across the bed to get to the other side, not even an inch either side of the walls. -the balcony was joined to another room (normally not a problem) in this case our balcony door had NO handle (just a finger hole) and NO lock - when we spoke to the manager he said to “leave it with me.” This was never fixed. -we spent the whole day out and when we returned at Midnight the room keys weren’t only still not working we had to go up and down from reception to access our room with a manual key as even the receptionist couldn’t get into our room. (At this stage there was many people in the foyer with the same issues) and once we got into our room finally the lock was still not on the door & we felt extremely UNSAFE! -we did get a room change at this point nearly 2AM to a better room (just) -overall we were absolutely disgusted in this hotel. -we don’t expect much from a hotel but cleanliness, and value for money. -great location, but terrible stay & experience unfortunately

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfy and we all slept well. Room was small and very little natural lighting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive (€14.50 each) Room was very dark as it was opposite a wall Toilet was small - behind a sliding door

    Very comfy bed Quiet rooms, no noise Fresh towels left outside room each day (we had do not disturb sign displayed) Tea/coffee facilities Large number of available sockets Free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    A good base for shopping, museums and concerts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is just a little too small. Not to the point of making me claustrophobic, but it could be a little larger. I would also love a small refrigerator in the room, and a little more liquid soap (we didn't run out but I always had the impression there wouldn't be enough for a full shower).

    Location is quite good, about a 10 minute walk from Leidseplein, through the Vondel park. 2 Minutes from the PC Hoofdstraat. Rooms are clean and cozy with most of the needed facilities (hairdryer, Nespresso machine).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in nice district
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property need some fresh paint in rooms and public spaces. The shower system is not really thouth throught because the water gets everywhere. In the room with no door to the shower it’s easely gets on the carpet(

    The location of the hotel is really great, museums, good shops and cafes, park. It’s a 10-15 walk to the amsterdam center. The disign in rooms a very nice. First we got the room with no door to the shower but it was solved the next day (when they got spare room for us) The backyard is very lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    I'll never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be fooled by the pictures for this hotel, they are misleading. The elevator is small and old, the doors hardly open and it smells of damp. The beds are more like cots which don't offer any support and bend at the sides giving a constant struggle not to role out onto the filthy carpet - which runs the length of the hotel including the landings and stairs. The room doors card machine broke and myself and other guests had no direct room access to our rooms for 4 days. If you like total darkness to sleep in then bring something to cover the light switches as they radiate bright blue light into the room - we used paper to cover them. All this could be forgiven if the shower room had a door on it and if the WC had a sink to wash up after using the toilet. Every room in the hotel is like this. There are much better local options, consider staying somewhere else!

    The reception and common areas are nice, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is lovely but everything else is dreadful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with great potential! Good location with comfortable rooms/beds and air conditioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is still under some renovation when we got there so there was a bit of construction noise coming from outside and during the mornings. The elevators are a little slow and shabby. Parts of the hotel look unfinished. Bathroom we had did not have a door and didn't have a divider between the sink and shower which made the floor very wet. The corner room that they provided was a bit awkward so I would recommend requesting for a non corner room.

    Great location to the museums and vondelpark and luxury shopping. Room was spacious and clean with nice size bed. The air conditioning is a plus as it seems to be a hit or miss with hotels in Europe. Front desk was friendly and helpful and allowed us to stow away our luggage with them even after check out. The lounge and bar and garden added a nice touch to the hotel. Provided cold water by the front desk, another plus. Reasonable price for the two nights we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Awful room!!!!! Do not book
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful room!!!!! .We didn't have a place to open the luggage because the room was too small there is no door in the shower... It was terrible, we will not recommend to other for sure.

    The location is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel set in the quiet suburbs of Vondal Park. I will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More lighting needed in the bathroom. More shelving in the rooms to put things. We felt the table was too small.

    Piet Hein definitely exceeded our expectations! I had paid prior our visit so checkin was very fast. Luckily our room was ready so we checked in an hour earlier. The rooms were cozy with a extremely comfortable bed and small array of pillows to choose from. The TV was mounted on the wall above the bed with plenty of channels. The bathroom was spacious. Overall impression of the decor was a modern twist of Art Deco. Rooms/lobby/lounge was kept very tidy and clean. The biggest surprise was the back garden which was hidden behind the main building. The seating area in the garden was well kept and very relaxing after a long day of exploring. Luckily the weather was perfect when we went to we spent 1-2 hours in the garden each day. The hotel is situated opposite Vondal Park and about 1 minute walk from the main tram line (12) to the centre. The hotel is also a short walk away from other attractions, such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Mocco Museum and others. I will most definitely stay again if we were to come back to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Cute boutique hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like, everything was great.

    Very cute boutique hotel at the top of Vondel Park. Great location, just down the street from the museums. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when we visit Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing, would not recommend or stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service, no help with bags, and 5 stairs at the front door. The room was incredibly small, and looked out to stairs and buildings, musty smell.

    I did not enjoy my stay here, the only bonus was the ability to open the window and let some fresh air in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    the people that work for you deserve a week in the bahamas. work needed on hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no telephone in room elevator does not work properly,no clock in room tv sometimes did not work

    the staff is excellent breakfast people magnificant people on the front desk beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with airconditioning in my bedroom which wasnt dealt with properly until I spoke with Chris on the seconf day.The rooms were very small

    The second day I spoke with Chris at reception about my problem about no airconditioning in our bedroom and he dealt with it immediately.He is an excellent member of staff very pleasant and helpfull.We also got help with our Ryanair check in from Samet Atus he was very patient, pleasant ,helpful and a pleasure to speak with through out our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    That wc and shower was in different sides of room :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That wc and shower was in different sides of room :) And when we couldn’t open the doors with magnet card, the stuff was trying to fix, but i had to go to my room 6 times for checking, and only on 7th time they fixed correctly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    The room reminded me of college dorm for a single person (but with much nicer decor)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so small. A single bed, a small round table, and a small chair are all there was in the room I stayed in. There is no fridge. I wish there was another table to throw things on. Amenity is very limited, so bring your own toothbrush and shampoo. While the hotel offers its own facial/body soap and shampoo (3 in 1), I wouldn't want to use it for my hair.

    Room decor is stylish and nice overall. The bed was comfortable. They offer 4 Nespresso coffee pods. Staff were nice, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable beds and quiet rooms. The price was reasonable too!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning. And worst of all I was traveling with my daughter, and there was no door or curtain at the bathroom shower. So absolutely no privacy in that regard. I had to leave the room and go for a walk in the near by part while my daughter had the privacy to shower. I complained to the front desk persons (more than one person) and they relayed that there was nothing they could do for us. This was very disappointing. Also the carpet was severely worn and the walls could use some paint.

    Great staff and location. The beds were extra comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Room very warm and nice, recently renovated furniture and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    More options and facilities at the hotel

    Room very warm and nice, recently renovated furniture and floor still brand new. No view from my room ;( I was on the last floor with a small window. Location is nice near by everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    A well positioned hotel which had both positive and negative points during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room originally allocated was in roof and very small. Second one was a little larger. TV did not work and although we asked 3 different staff to help the problem was not resolved.A light bulb was not replaced even though we asked twice.The TV in the lounge did not work either and we were keen to keep up with news and World Cup! Renovation of parts of the hotel was underway and it was very dusty outside our room and into the stair well for which I think the hotel could have been thoughtful and put a note to clients explaining this on the reception perhaps?

    Excellent breakfast with a wide range of good quality foods. Good coffee. Freshly cooked eggs to order. Friendly staff. Nice relaxing bar /lounge area with free chilled water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, comfy and inviting and in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dark, 228 bad view from window and SO noisy when we woke up due to doors slamming and all rooms being so close together. Had a really poor nights sleep

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Our room was great, really well decorated and way bigger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was great, really well decorated and way bigger than we expected. The staff were very friendly and everything was honestly perfect. Can’t wait to come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located to some major sites like the Van Gogh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. However this isn’t uncommon in Europe. It still had a full size bath which was a treat.

    Conveniently located to some major sites like the Van Gogh museum and beautiful Vondelpark. Beautiful decor throughout including bedroom that represented the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    absurd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Incredibly Expensive! 2. The toilette was a 1-square meter box!, without sufficient aeration. You literally could not MOVE while in the toilette without hurting against the door. 3. The hotel is under renovation and everything was quite messy. 4. the shower had no door, so when washing yourself the water you are really irrigating the bedroom. Electric wires just near the open shower.

    Location near the centre and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, clean, excellent location, quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For environmental reasons I would have wanted to re-use the towels, but they were replaced even though I didn't leave them on the floor.

    Friendly staff, clean, excellent location, quiet neighbourhood next to Vondelpark, several shops and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the cheapest room and it was really small and although the bathroom was clean and nice it has a glass door which in ocasions you can imagine was kind of uncomfortable.

    Location was really good for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Amsterdam is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little bit far than i expected but if you want to be vlose to the most importants museums from Amsterdam is the right place to stay

    The people from the staff was friendly and kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    very good location, directly at the Vondelpark, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good location, directly at the Vondelpark, close to the Museums place with van Gogh and Rijks museum on it. Supermarket within a 5min walk. Also less than 5min to the outer Singelgracht and starting point for boat trips. City centre is about 20 to 30 mins walk, but absolutely okay if you want to experience the city. Hotel offers an excellent breakfast at a nice place with garden and helpful and friendly staff. Luggage storage for the departure day available. free, cooled water in the lobby for a quick refreshment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay but can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Equipment was really insufficient. No hairdryer, there weren't a closet in the room even a coat hanger. There was air condition but we couldn't use because the commander doesn't exist. Also because they are renovating the rooms, it was really noisy; they started crushing glasses at 8 in the morning.

    It was my second stay at this hotel. Location is perfect, just in front of the Vondelpark near to the center. Public transports and all the important squares and nice bars are so close. Rooms are very cozy and clean. They are renovating the hotel so it's going to be even better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    I have never travelled alone so the experience was a huge learning curve for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of cream / milk in room to make tea/coffee waited approx 1hr and went down to reception to be told unavailable did get some milk in the end but service was unacceptable and I felt uncomfortable.

    Excellent breakfast Good location Helpful in obtaining tickets for a museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Don't worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so tiny that we had no space at all to move! The bed was built in between 3 walls and only one side of the bed was accessible. No shower curtain and the watter was splashed all over the bathroom.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very small and dark. No bedside cupboard, so had to use a chair. Shower piping hot. There were workmen in the hotel. Did not tidy the floor every evening.

    Breakfast excellent. Location excellent. Outside garden relaxing. Good coffee in the bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Badly organised hotel though the blow WAS softened by lovely staff, great location, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work was under way and as a result the entrance and stairways were very grubby. I had booked a twin room and we were sent to 2 different rooms which were supposedly twin rooms but were not. In the end we had to settle for a double room. Inexplicably the lift to the ground floor is installed in such a way to make it impossible to exit unless one person goes ahead, closes door and start again - bizarre. Trying to manage it with suitcases was hard enough. I don't know how a wheelchair user would manage although it appears to be a wheelchair lift judging by the position of the buttons. Worst was the pneumatic drilling that started at 8am although to be fair the staff were very apologetic and provided breakfast vouchers.

    The bed was really comfortable and so was the room. We could open the window onto a patio area and there was also air conditioning - very welcome in some very hot weather. The staff were VERY friendly and helpful and they did enhance the visit. Well done to them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel and just booked another stay this week.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are great, super comfortable beds and the Nespresso machine is a nice touch. Very helpful staff and outdoor space is great if the weather is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Uncomfetable room, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, dark and cluttered with furniture. The bed post is shaped in such a way that it is impossible to sit up straight. The room was on ground level, and the small window was next to a private courtyard (not accessible to guests). The kitchen door of a neighboring restaurant opened up to this place. Employees from the restaurant used the area to make conversation and to smoke cigarettes. I had to close the window to get some privacy, keep the noise down, and to avoid getting smoke air in. Also the hotel staff opened the window while cleaning our room and left it open which could have made burglary very easy.

    The location was very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok. I had a cool beer from the bar in their peaceful garden on a hot afternoon :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is completely under renovation and no one alerts about it. My room was at the third floor, with electric cable everywhere, piece of plasters everywhere, the lift door didn't also open well and most of all, the room smells of fresh painting, which it makes hard to breathe and to sleep. In addition, the staff was pretty bored, 0 kindness at all, like they are at the reception by fluke. No discounts at all for all of these inconvenients and the room was very expensive, quite 350 euros for two nights without breakfast.

    The position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good small room, wonderful breakfast, great location, would come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The staff was not very welcoming upon arrival (maybe because it was after 11pm?). No explanation about WiFi or breakfast, had to ask all the questions myself. The rest of the stay the staff was friendlier. - The bathroom has a little moisture signs due to no window

    - The breakfast was better than expected for a 3*. Two ladies are there to bake off fresh bread from the oven. They ask you what kind of eggs they can prepare for you. The salmon has cream cheese and fresh lemon to go with. The coffee machine uses fresh beans, and the orange juice, even though not freshly pressed, is of such high quality that it tastes and looks like freshly pressed. - The room is small but functional, the location great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location but awful stay due to noisy workmen at 7am
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is currently going through renovation and I was woken up at 7am by noisy workmen. A decent hotel should not allow workmen to start work before 8am out of respect for their guests.

    Hotel is good location and a pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Would defiantly stay again.. A*** place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Jacuzzi bath was the ultimate chill out after a long day walking around the city. Big separate shower as well. Bed was extremely comfy, including the pillows and duvet. Our room was beautifully decorated. Staff were lovely and friendly. Also we over slept and missed the check out by about 30/45mins and they were absolutely fine with us (apart from house keeping lol we obviously made them late - sorry!). It’s right next to the wonderful Vondelpark!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Generally it was very good experience, and staff was also very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lights, Lights, Lights. There was no enough light in the room, bed lamp or other small lamps can't give enough light. So when Ams is rainy, the room is always darkish

    Price/location/result ratio is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Accommodating, well situated hotel perfect for a little getaway with your partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff were accommodating and friendly when we checked in, the room was exceptionally clean with plenty of towels. The room was downstairs as requested and we were not disturbed by other guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    It was nice stay bed was very comfortable and staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that they woke us up around 8:30 with vacuuming the hallway and it sounds like they were in our room.and generally it was very loud for about an hour

    It was nice stay bed was very comfortable and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Modern, renovated interior. Comfy bed, wet room bathroom. Quite close to Melkweg for concerts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable selection for small hotel. Anyone wanting a full English will not find it laid out: the server did ask if I wanted cooked eggs. What was available was tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Poor ventilation in the shower room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation in the shower room. Booking said it was a premium double room so was expecting a good double bed but was two single beds pushed together and dressed as single beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Good option for solo travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't have a shower curtain, kinda messy after taking a shower.

    Very good location, 5 mins walk to the most two famous and must visit museums in Amsterdam, Van-Gogh museum, and Rijksmuseum. And also, very easy to get there from the airport. by simply taking bus No. 397 (8 stops to Museumplein).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had building work been done which wasnt stated on the website. Room was a bit over priced

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Wifi was weak past the 2nd floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    rubbish left in bin in bedroom, very comfy bed, boutique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rubbish left in bin in bedroom, very comfy bed, boutique hotel but undergoing some upgrades, very close to museums and a short walk to center. would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Location is great as it’s located in the heart of Adam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very annoying noise coming out of the fire alarm in the bathroom. The single sized bed was too small. They didn’t put any small stuff in the room( even not a shoeshiner)

    Location is great as it’s located in the heart of Adam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was nice and the location was walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of our room on the website were ridiculously deceiving... the room was tiny-you couldn't move in it! Very disappointing considering the price we paid. There was construction work going on at all hours of the morning so no lie-ins on our holiday! The hallway smelled damp and musty! Our room wasn't cleaned-bed not remade up one of the days we were there. Lamp/lights in the room didn't work and coffee machine didn't work.

    The breakfast was nice and the location was walkable distance to most tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Could and should have been better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alarm went off twice at unacceptable hours waking everyone up on both occasions. If that is not addressed I won’t stay there again

    Staff friendly apart from a very blunt man serving breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Bed was big and comfortable for when we could actually sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival to the hotel we were shocked to find that there were two giant skips full of rubble and rubbish, this is because the half of the hotel was being renovated, which we were not made aware of before booking or even leading up to our trip. This should have been a red flag as every morning at 7am they began doing work, making horrendous noise. Leading to me and my girlfriend having no chance of a lie in. When speaking to the staff at reception they were less than helpful and were quite useless. Not happy with the lack of response when we made the complaint in person and the fact that we were not told about any works happening at the hotel.

    Bed was big and comfortable for when we could actually sleep, location was also pretty good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    So so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. We arrived around 9am and even though earliest check-in is at 2pm, they directly checked if they had an available room and gave it to us without charging extra. The room was small but beautiful and well equipped. The beds were fantastic! I highly recommend this hotel. Well worth the money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    A very good hotel to introduce us to Amsterdam on our first visit. Nice, smart location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Amsterdam Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More teabags on the hospitality tray. A mirror near the dressing table/desk. The fire alarm going off in our room at about 1.30 am on first night and then being rung up by Reception to ask if we were smoking - we weren't - we were sleeping.

    Superb location next to Vondelpark and minutes from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Gallery - a favourite. Room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The towels were changed daily and the shower was good - although it did splash over a lot of the bathroom floor. Staff were helpful and the reception/lounge area elegantly furnished and stylish. We did not have breakfast as there are places nearby so cannot comment on the quality of that. Maybe next time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    In general the staff where very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general the staff where very friendly and helpful. However I arrived for breakfast at 11am and receptionset said no breakfast it closes at 11am. I explained I made error of 1 hour time change . Sometimes it is nice to accommodate people.😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    2.5
    My iphone got stolen from the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My iphone 10 got stolen from the lobby and the management team is unresponsive even after being given a location. This hotel needs to be removed from booking.com and i hold it responsible for my phone being stolen. I am extremely disappointed and will never book through booking.com again.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good but could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plumbing in Room 209- on our first and fourth morning the shower and bath could not be used because the temperature control did not function so that it was only cold on the first and only too hot on the fourth. There was a safe, as advertised, but it was on top of the hanging space so that it could be used only by standing unsafely on a chair; it was moved on request. The lighting in the bedroom was seriously inadequate and it was so dark that we were always losing and searching for gloves, socks, shoes etc and it was difficult to read in bed or anywhere else. The lighting designer must have thought customers only watch television! We found that a friend in another room had a standard light so we asked for one on our third day. We were then provided with a table light which was a great help. The poor light probably explains why the cleaner has not noticed the dead potted plant in a container on the headboard of the bed. Ir was dead when we arrived and dead when we left! Perhaps you will find it there still! It must be impossible for the cleaners to do reliable work when they cannot see!

    Location, excellent beds,cheerful staff. Must be particularly nice in the warmer months when the garden can be used.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Piet Hein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: