Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pillows Anna van den Vondel Amsterdam 4 stars

Anna van den Vondelstraat 6, Oud-West, 1054 GZ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#8 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 397 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic boutique hotel with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, friendly, efficient, top class Charming hotel beautifully furnished and set up Gorgeous old house Excellent smallrestaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    First time staying in this hotel, it is now our new home in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    First time staying in this hotel, it is now our new home in Amsterdam. We arrived off a US flight at 8am - thinking we would just drop off our bags and come back when check in was open - but they welcomed us by name and said they have a room ready. Every member of staff we have interacted with has attempted to make our stay more comfortable- super friendly! I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough, it’s very comfortable and quiet, but it’s the staff that make it! We’ll be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very very nice helpful and smiley. Very comfortable and clean room, the best i hve ever been. They also upgraded us to a bigger room because of the baby crib

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing we didn’t like.

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like! The unassuming look of the hotel from the outside, the quiet location next to the beautiful Vondelpark, the check in experience, the layout of the rooms in the hotel felt like a boutique B and B, the comfort and comfortable size of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, and the lounge/dining area. All was subperb!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    A lovely boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small and the food cooked by their staff is not that good.

    The location is nice but the entrance is a bit difficult to find. This is a rich neighborhood next to vondelpark. The deco is really nice and very elegant. I really like to hotel and its location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    the service is excellent, room size too small for the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fire alarm went off (false alarm) at 9am on sunday morning, we were not happy about that but the reaction from all the personnel was very good and they made up for it.

    the service is excellent, room size too small for the price but otherwise very good. Breakfast is excellent as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and genuinely welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in the "museum district" which we thought would be a good thing but it actually meant quite a lot of walking to and from the centre and the "nine streets" area where we spent most of our time. However, if you really are there for the museums you might like this area. It was safe though and on a very quiet street so we slept really well!

    The staff were very friendly and genuinely welcoming. Their tips on what to do and see were great and led us to the prettiest and more authentic parts of the city. You also have a welcome drink on arrival which was a nice surprise! The hotel is very nicely decorated and the bed is seriously one of the most cosy I have ever slept in!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The location is great if you don't want to be right in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great if you don't want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. You can walk and bike everywhere, but sleep well in a quiet neighborhood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location near Vondel Park. Neat, well run, friendly and efficient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exceptionally efficient and friendly. The welcome briefing covered all that we needed to know and they even organized our tickets to Keukenhof for us so we had a stress free outing. Nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    I think it would have made my experience even better if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it would have made my experience even better if there was a full length mirror in the bedroom, even in one of the cupboards! I'm quite small so couldn't properly do my make up in the bathroom mirror and didn't get a chance to look at my outfits on myself so didn't know what I looked like!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    lovely botique style hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    botique style, superb redwine in minibar, great breaksfast, lovely staff, nice garden view, neighbours has horse and dogs, i was just astonished!!!! more than I expected!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Charming staff throughout. Could not have been more helpful. Great location and we loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail when room made up in the evening. Ie teacups not washed up or blinds pulled down. . Sometimes done other times not. No problem for us but sloppy for your standards. Also shampoo removed one dayand not replaced had to ring down from shower. Instantly sorted. Maybe more training needed to look and have a check list.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (especially bathroom in our room) was tiny

    Great breakfast, beautiful boutique hotel near Vondelpark and the museum quarter . Very clean, beautiful decoration. we really enjoyed our stay, and will come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    This hotel is really one of a kind! Great service, great location, great design, great staff and really unique vibe. This hotel was perfect, there is a lot of attention to detail and everything is made to make you feel at home. The room was perfect, although a bit too small but mowt rooms in Amsterdam are. The staff was super friendly from start to finish and we really enjoyed our stay and tha attention to detail that the staff provided!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    -clean, nice white rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 1 night

    -breakfast expensive -prices generally a bit steep given the location and room sizes

    -clean, nice white rooms -comfy bed -lovely bathrooms -nice staff and overall facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable boutique hotel very near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We left a little late and took a taxi, but the staff didn't mention how much it would be, which was significantly more than I expected. I would have just went for the train anyway.

    + Big really comfy bed + nice bathroom with 2 sinks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the bed was so comfortable. the bedroom was on the 1st floor ( lift) brightghful ,refined decoration and offering a nice view on the garden. hotel has a great design, very modern but warm & cosy too. Staff is polite and super friendly, it feels like home. Hotel is located 20 minutes by tram line 1 from Central Station and max10 min from museums. Neighbourhood is charming and quiter than Leidseplein where you have too many bars and noise at night. i look forward to coming back there, hopefully during summer time to enjoy the lovely garden!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating system needs an improvement cause Amsterdam can get really cold even if there is plenty of sunshine :) Also the wifi speed was disappointing.

    Bed was extremely comfy as always in Amsterdam. Staff were friendly especially Liam who checked us in and helped us out to print our concert tickets. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in greatly located boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was amazing! We were offered drinks immediately and the check-in was fast and smooth next to fireplace while sipping sparkling wine! The property is amazing and everything was spot on! Couldn't recommend more this hotel! Definitely will stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    The property is well managed, very clean, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear footsteps from the reception above the room

    The property is well managed, very clean, comfortable and private. We loved that it provided a home-like experience and the staff were very well mannered and helpful. We loved all the little details that were all in place which makes a big difference in ones experience once traveling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    It’s the second time I’ve stayed at the hotel and would be my first choice again if I return to Amst
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I very much like the design and elegant style of the place and all the people who work there are really attentive and friendly - can not fault it at all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    The staff were exceptional but sadly this didn't make up for the awful bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was awful. We were in a cramped and charmless attic room and I kept on bumping into the wall every time I got out of bed. You couldn't do any work because the table wasn't big enough and outside the toilet so blocking access. I thought it was over priced.

    The staff are amazing and it's a lovely location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent design and overall atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent design and overall atmosphere. Very relaxing ambient away from the hectic city Alfonso, Liam and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    301 is a wonderful room and the hotel is very elegant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system was not working. We expected to have been notified. However when we complained they promptly brought a portable heater.

    301 is a wonderful room and the hotel is very elegant and stylish. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Excellent staffs
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to stay in Amsterdam for one night because of the cancellation of my flight. It was hell of a day, but I was glad I chose this hotel. The staffs were super friendly, thanks to them my day was finally saved. Also the hotel was clean and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    This place is a real treasure. We felt like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was really perfect.

    The location is perfect, in a quiet neighborhood near a large park and several museums. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The food was great. I loved sitting by the fire, reading with a glass of wine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very comfortable and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very comfortable and charming. The furnishings, atmosphere and location are all great. However, the service was not in sync with rest of the hotel. For example, the concierge gave us restaurant recommendations for a chain steakhouse and had never heard of basic architectural references in the city. The breakfast food was wonderful and the dining room is lovely. However, it took them over 15 minutes to bring us our order and there was confusion about our bill among the people who were working the dining service. We would definitely stay here again, but the hotel staff seem very young and still need more experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A memorable sanctuary!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was exceptional. The staff, the comfort and the breakfast were exquisite. I felt that amidst my very hectic schedule during the day, I was able to come home to a little sanctuary in the middle of Amsterdam. I will definitely recommend this wonderful gem of a place to anyone!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Somewhat disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is outside the heart of Amsterdam and everything is at least 20 minutes walk away, if not more. The closest attraction is the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. I choose this hotel because it promised rooms with a garden view. It turned out that only a few rooms have a garden view, and only some of those have a balcony. Very disappointing. The rooms are fairly cramped

    Great shower and very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff and great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfiest bed and choice of pillows. Lovely,new interior. Staff were very friendly and helpful with lots of reccomendations. Free welcome drink and luggage storage available. They even had umberellas for you to borrow!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great ambiance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great ambiance and the staff really makes you feel like the place is your actual home for the time being. Interior design is on point! Would definitely come again as soon as possible :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel the staff were friendly nothing was to much trouble.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Hotel the staff were friendly nothing was to much trouble. We were greeted with a welcome drink of your choice and made to feel very welcome after a long day travelling. Breakfast was first class and the rooms are excellently appointed. Very well situated for exploring the City.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Long weekend in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside early in the morning

    1. Location is perfect, just near the vondelpark and museum plaza and a few minutes wall from bike rent service 2. Good selection of food for breakfast 3. Attractive interior of breakfast hall with nice view to in-house garden 4. Quite small 17m2 room but well innovativly equipped, clean and fresh 5. Soft but comfortable bed and pillows insure perfect sleep 6.Friendly staff and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, would rec
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing would be how soft the mattress was.

    The staff were extremely friendly, the room was lovely and clean and comfortable (although the mattress could be a bit harder), and the location is a nice distance from the town. About 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was literally like a cloud, and the hotel has fantastic transport links nearby. The staff are warm, welcoming & incredibly helpful, and the turndown service with slippers by the bed was a lovely little touch. I will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms & setting. Very luxurious. Staff friendly. Didn't try the breakfast as very expensive but looked good. Great location near the park and a bit away from the tourist centre but walkable, good transport links and lots of bike shops nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anyrhing

    Superb hotel, real extra attention to detail, felt like a really exclusive hotel, staff very friendly and attentive, real personal service. Whilst some people might not like the 10 minute walk to the centre we saw that as a bonus as it was just do peaceful. We would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil retreat on the doorstop of the lovely Vondelpark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were helpful and friendly. We were able to check in early which was good. The hotel smells wonderfully of rosemary as do the shampoos etc. The bed & pillows were super comfy. The decor of the room was soothing and nicely done. The window area in the room was great, nice view out over typical Amsterdam houses and trees. It was very quiet and peaceful. The transport links were easy and the museum district and the canal zone district within easy walking distance. Great to be so near to the park too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the peace and quiet in this hotel. It was within walking distance of museums and concerts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the wardrobe/tea cupboard was supposed to go off when the cupboard was closed. It didn't! So, light leaked around the cupboard door all night. It was reported but wasn't repaired.

    The staff were particularly helpful. We enjoyed the Table d'hote meal with a visiting chef.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not recommend this hotel highly enough, staff were fantastic and were only to happy to help whenever needed. The hotel itself is 10/10 location, comfort etc etc, me and my partner have booked a long weekend for next year already.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Minimal and modern, cosy and comfortable, home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A!

    When you first walk into the hotel the first thing that you notice is the wonderful calming smell of the candles. The decor is stunning and the whole hotel has a wonderfully relaxed feel to it. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was stunning, very clean and tidy (and I am very OCD), minimal and modern. A cosy room which feels like home from home which is just what we wanted after a busy full day seeing the city. Located by the beautiful Vondel park and if you hire bikes, which by the way made our visit, you can get to all tourist locations within minutes and a ride around Vondel park at midnight and then riding back to this beautiful hotel was just wonderful and very safe. We will definitely be coming back here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    5 days in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small, which is quite normal if you staying in the center of Amsterdam i guess

    Interior is beatuful Location is great Hotel staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have the breakfast as I think it was too expensive.

    Immaculate, clean and comfortable hotel with great attention to detail. Best shower I've ever had in a hotel. The staff are super friendly, very efficient and smart.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant Amsterdam Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There ws nothing about this hotel that we did not like and I do not recall ever having been able to say that before!!

    This was a brilliant hotel. It was run efficiently, had great facilities and the staff were polite, attentive and could not do enough for us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was the price of the breakfast which at 25 euros was over priced in our opinion.

    The hotel was very well presented and the staff were very attentive. The room had the most comfortable bed and pillows. Its set in a beautiful street next to the lovely vondelpark. And has easy access to the centre of Amsterdam by tram.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    clean room and clean hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room available was not the book I booked, I book a superior room and got a normal room staff offered us breakfast that we didn't want

    clean room and clean hotel with lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    We will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    These a small details which did not detract from our appreciation of the hotel, however I will mention. I am 5'2 and could not see the mirrors in the bathroom. It would be nice if they were lowered a bit. Also, I would have liked a wash cloth.

    This is a charming, boutique hotel in a quiet, off the beaten track location. Although not in the hubbub of the central rings, the location provides quick access to the park, transportation and the museums. After a busy day of touring, the hotel provides a wonderful respite. The staff was very eager to please and worked hard to fulfil all requests. There is a sense of personalized service and attention. Our room was nicely sized and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels I ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I ever stayed in. The attention to detail in the rooms and living area is amazing. The restaurant is beautiful, tranquil and the food is out of this world!!! I enjoyed eating at the hotel much more than eating in town. Staff is relaxed and friendly, yet extremely efficient. It is a real retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    This is what real class feels like
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gorgeous "home from home" boutique hotel. Wonderfully friendly and accommodating staff. Terrific location. Lots of class and style without being pretentious. The smell of cakes baking when we came down to the (delicious) breakfast was to die for. Pretty garden. Couldn't fault it and would love to stay here again, for longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Luxury on the Vondelpark, but be prepared to pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Awkward light and temp control (as mentioned above). Feeling a bit nickeled-and-dimed when spending over $400 a night.

    During a previous visit to Amsterdam I had stayed near the Vondelpark, a lovely location which we chose purposely on this trip for its being a bit out of the usual tourist rush of the Centrum. We splurged on the Grand Suite for our tenth wedding anniversary. The staff were extremely professional, helpful, and pleasant. We were delighted and touched to find a split of champagne and some macarons waiting for us upon check-in, as a nod to our anniversary. When we needed our soap replenished after three days (of a six day stay) it was handled promptly. Adrian arranged for a bit of breakfast for us to take with us as we departed for the airport at the end of our stay, which was beyond kind. The newly-refurbished property was stylishly and comfortably furnished. There is also a private, leafy garden with tables out back, which is a lovely retreat. Our suite had ample, well-designed storage. The only complaint on the ambience score was the electronic system which programmed the lights, temperature control, and indicators for "do not disturb" and "please make up room." Perhaps we missed something in our room orientation, but we were not able to put the lights on in only the living area, for example, while leaving the lights off in the sleeping area. And although the bathroom lights had their own wall switch, for some reason they, too, would be turned off if the "all lights off" indicator was touched by someone in the other part of the suite. You've never known pitch black until you've been in that toilet cabinet without illumination! Quelle surprise! I underscore again the charm, warmth, and professionalism of the staff, because I now have a few words for the owners of the property. We were told when we checked in that the goal of the experience was to replicate the feeling of being at home, which I guess was to arise from the open kitchen at the end of the dining area. (The chef and his staff were also extremely lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    A Dutch Delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a bit cramped with little, to no space for big luggage. No bidet

    Faisal from reception was just a delight to deal with. Incredibly helpful and cheery, he made us feel incredibly welcome and was super efficient in assisting us with restaurant recommendations and laundry issues. Located perfectly, blocks away from the Museum quarter and steps away from gorgeous Vondel Park. The reception area smelled amazing :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, well positioned. Our host on arrival was the clincher though, great recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room could have been bigger.

    Our host was brilliant, his recommendations were all right on the money. The room was comfortable, although small. Facilities in the room were good though. Shower was really good which is always hard to find in a hotel when your 6 ft 4! Overall, a good stay. Would recommend. Would say it was a little expensive based on room size.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful upgraded property but now missing the charm and character that the hotel had previously
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent ages trying to find the hotel.There is a small plaque on the wall that identifies it-that's all.ialso would have preferred a buffet style breakfast with bacon eggs cheeses and breads rather than a served breakfast

    The bed was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully decorated, convenient and friendly hotel. We will pay another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Large
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little pricey so we didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

    Lovely hotel in an ideal location for exploring the city - a short tram ride from the city centre. The hotel was comfortable and has been refurbished to a very high standard - modern, clean and bright. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our only regret is we only booked for 2 nights - So much to see and do and unfortunately we didn't get time to do everything. We will come again and stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay in a nice friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything met our expectations.

    Very comfortable room. Hotel recently renovated with new plush carpeting throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for exploring Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is ideally situated just outside the old city centre on the No.1 tram route. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good Hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House keeping did not always replenish the tea and coffee and we had to ask for more.

    The hotel was very good and the facilities are good. It is located near to a tram route which made it is to get to and from the centre of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Oustanding Boutique Hotel, this hotel puts the "S" into Service ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff, were professional, and very friendly, nothing was a problem, with staff being very attentive to your needs. The room was very comfortable, also was very quiet, with emphasis given to soft closing doors, and sound proofed windows. "What an amazing nights sleep" the best I've ever had in a hotel room.

    Comfort & Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Delicious boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    The hotel is brand new, with an impeccable decor, and is very cozy and comfortable. The bed and the pillows are amazing! All the staff was very kind and attentive. We loved everything and we'll definitely come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Best cozy hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The best hotel ever - stylish, comfortable, with nice service. The bed and pillows are amazing! The room was small, but it was a pleasure to live here. A small round table and chairs made a perfect combination for drinking tea and wine!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice and elegant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a new hotel, so there are still something that needed to be improved, such as some facilities and the smell of the paint.

    The staff is really nice and helpful. Although there are some problems at first, they helped me to resolve them very soon. Plus good location, easily access to the public transportation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    some issues...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couple of issues... Minor / moderate ones: - I specifically asked NOT to get service. I just do not like housekeeping going in my room when it is just a short stay. When I returned to my room I could notice my request was not respected. What is even worse, the cleaning lady emptied the trash bins but left them in the middle of the room, next to the empty tissue box (from the bathroom) that she did not refill. Seemed like she kind of left the room in the middle of the cleaning process... - I asked for help for a specific restaurant and I was suggested to visit one. When I got there I needed to realized that they have no items on their menu according to the specific diet I was asking guidance for. Major ones: - Needed to wait cca 20 minutes for my invoice at check-out because they could not manage earlier to figure out how to add the name of my company, even though I requested this already when I made the booking. - I was offered a € 25 discount due to the inconvenience with the room - I did not ask for it - but when the staff realized that I pre-paid my room they just simply said "Oh, okay, so then there is nothing to pay." Well, this is quite unprofessional.

    Brand new hotel with all the advantages and disadvantages. Bed is super comfy, the whole hotel is charming. The design is beautiful, the location is great. One can sense that they are doing their best to do the whole thing right, but it seems that they kind of lack the experience to accomplish this goal. The staff is trying to be nice and helpful, but they sometimes lack experience, confidence and / or genuineness to really do so. Entire staff would need better training.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Close your eyes and go there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really great stay @Pillows ! The hotel has been totally refurbished 2 months ago. The room was great. Breakfast was great. We had a perfect brief of what we could do in Amsterdam wihin 2 days upon up arrival. Hotel is just close to a lovely park and from tramway 1 - The you are 10 minutes away from the center. Definitely a place to go for a lovely lovers week-end

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Excellent small hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a newly renovated hotel in a quiet location next to Vondelpark and easy to access the old city by tram or foot. My nicely decorated room overlooked the peaceful back garden. Breakfast was very good and the sitting area is a perfect place to chill out after long days of touring. I will be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs would be difficult for disabled persons

    We had a room in the upper floors with a view to the garden. It was nice to see the squirrels (also birds)play in the larch. The room was well equipped and the interior design was just beautiful. Although the room was small it was well planned and functional. Bed was excellent with lovely bedding not to mention the superb towels. The shampoos and shower gels had a lovely fragrance. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Lovely experience!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and the front door was locked. No door bell to get in so we weren't sure what to do. Ended up having to switch data roaming on and call the hotel to let us in.

    Beautiful hotel, room was great albeit a little on the small side. Great location, great staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No ironing board in the room.

    This was one of the best hotel experiences. Fantastic service with a smile from all of the staff throughout the 3 days we spent there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Best. Hotel. Ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My boyfriend and I have just returned from Amsterdam, I had surprised him with a trip for his birthday. We had the most fabulous stay at Pillows hotel. I couldn’t fault one thing from start to finish. From reception to bedrooms, the hotel was clean and modern with a boutiquey feel throughout. You could sleep for days in those beds and make ‘snow angels’ in the thick plush carpets, what comfort dreams are made of. As for the staff, I can’t stress enough how fabulous they were – friendly, calm, up for laugh and incredibly attentive, they did everything to make our stay the most special it could be. At the start, we experienced a slight mix up with our room (thought what we had booked had a terrace) but this was quickly resolved by the fantastic staff who showed us to a different room (equally as fabulous) that was better suited to our requirements (if of interest, swapped to basement room - it had doors that led to an outdoor patio). Since it was a celebratory trip, I had asked the hotel to decorate the room with balloons etc for when we arrived back to the hotel after a day in town. Normally a hotel would just put a bottle of champagne on ice but on hearing my boyfriend has more of a sweet tooth than love for alcohol, the hotel manager kindly went out herself to source a selection of sweets and chocolates to sprinkle around the room with balloons and a birthday banner. What a woman! All in all, I can’t recommend this place enough. I will most definitely be returning there on my next trip to Amsterdam and can only hope that they expand to more cities around the world.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel. As soon as you walk in the door you feel welcome. The staff is friendly and really helpful. Interior is exquisite and every corner and detail is obviously well thought out. Breakfast was delicious and high quality as well as dinner. The bed is almost too comfortable! Location is perfect. I can definitely say this hotel manages to be home away from home.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very stylish boutique hotel set in a lovely neighbourhood near the Vondelpark, just a short walk from the Rijks and Van Gogh museum. Super comfy beds, modern appliances and decor and great variety of breakfast options. However, the best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff who were so welcoming and helpful throughout our entire trip. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Perfect. We will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful welcome on arrival; the staff were so friendly and helpful. A drink by the fire on arrival was just what we needed. The bed was super comfy and the room was well equipped. Good shower and loved the lighting control in the bedroom. Great location, near the centre but quiet and a nice view over the park at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    The best in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing this hotel was brilliant.

    Perfect location and friendly staff who helped us with all the directions and the perfect spots to visit during our stay. They provided a perfect warm welcome with a great breakfast and brillant rooms. One of the best hotels I have stayed at in Amsterdam. Its perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really really enjoyed our stay at Pillows Anna. This charming hotel located very close to the city center has a wonderful setting. The beds and the pillows are extremely comfortable and the whole hotel has such a cosy atmosphere that you always feel like you are at home. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. We have really really enjoyed our stay and the way we were treated. Thank you very much, Pillows Anna! I'd definitely stay here everytime I come back to Amsterdam

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel with a homely feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is just fabulous! We, a group of six females stayed 27 to 29 January when the hotel reopened as Pillows Anna formerly Santon Hotel de Filasoof. The decoration of the hotel is exquisite and makes you feel at home. I highly recommend for solo travellers, couples and small groups. Upon our arrival we was greeted by the staff who welcomed us and sat us by the fireplace. This was so cosy and warming given the very cold weather. We stayed in the luxury double small rooms. Each room is slightly different given the shape of each room however each room is as nice as the other. My room 103 faced the front of the building which gave views of the street and the beautiful buildings opposite. We also had a balcony which added another special touch. The large double bed was very comfortable and allows for a good nights sleep. The shower was also great with a good amount of water pressure. The hotel is a 13 minute walk to Leidseplein or the number 1 tram can be used. There is local supermarket nearby as well as coffee shops for breakfast. We had breakfast at the hotel during our stay for the two mornings and this was delicious. The staff are very attentive and willing to go the extra mile to please you. I had yoghurt and granola, scrambled eggs and toast. Other options are available including smoked salmon, local cheeses, pastries and fruit to name a few. The selection is good and it is nice that the kitchen is open for the visitors to see which also makes you feel as if you are at home rather then in a hotel. The dining area has views of the garden and the neighbour's gardens. This was extra special as two horses can be seen which is unusual to see in a city. The hotel has a traditional spiral staircase which can be used however there is also a lift so would be ideal for any visitor with any mobility difficulties. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at and will be staying at again when I return for a future visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room - Small (15m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel situated in a quiet side street next to a beautiful park. It has just opened after being refurbished and has a wonderful homely feel about it. The staff were charming and we are looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75