Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plantage 2 stars

Plantage Kerklaan 25, Amsterdam City Centre, 1018 CV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#371 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1565 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    We would never return to this hotel as there are far better hotels available for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a steep climb up narrow dangerous stairs (with our bags!) to the reception floor which was NOT mentioned on the website. The physical building is in need of repairs/upgrades. The room was very small/cramped for two And the bed was horribly soft and floppy, NOT good for persons who need a firm bed. Our room faced directly onto a busy street full of late night bistros/pubs...NOISY! Overall should have been lower room rate for this compromised quality.

    The neighborhood was near a number of good tourist sites: Zoo, Arboretum and canals, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    It was okay, not great value for money but is okay if you don’t plan on spending much time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were really narrow and the steepest I’ve ever seen, and quite dangerous to be carrying large bags of luggage up and down. People with mobility issues or who aren’t strong enough to lift luggage up three or so flights of stairs should not stay here. No lift available. No air conditioning, the room got very hot at night. The bathroom must have been recently redone, however no tiles on the walls?? Just plain walls, which get wet with water and will likely create mould problems. It’s a funny little set up and I probably wouldn’t recommend it.

    Central to the main part of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.2
    1.5 stars for Hotel Plantage 😒
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny, unclean and smelt of drains. Shower overflowed every time. Towels and bedding unclean. Staff went through our belongings and ate food we were keeping for presents for family. Worn down building and not very professional at all, dirty laundry often on show on the landing. Extremely loud when any neighbouring rooms made any noise although hotel boasts 'soundproof' rooms. 24hr luggage holding was a pile of suitcases and rucksacks on the reception floor.

    Good location, easy walk to most attractions and overlooking the zoo! Beds were comfortable. Most staff spoke English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    ""EMPLOYEE STOLE MONEY FROM THE ROOM""
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the 2nd day of our 4 day stay at this hotel,employees of this hotel entered our room and went through all our belongings/ bags and STOLE €300 from my bag. They had entered the room to supposedly change the towels/ beds etc but unfortunately instead of doing the job at hand they were more interested in the belongings/bags. On approaching the staff on reception and telling them what had happened I was refused my request to speak with the hotel manager and for the police to be contacted (went to the police station myself and reported the crime). Hotel staff also refused to view cctv cameras showing who entered our room.With the failure of any cooperation from staff it is only fair to assume that more than one employee was involved.With a further 2 days of our stay after the theft not one member of staff made any contact with us and the manager never appeared after several requests by us to speak with them. This hotel was a shambles from the moment we walked through the doors. • Did not get the room advertised also photos of the rooms are deceiving. • views from window blocked in from all sides. • window ready to fall off each time it was opened. • Shower head snapped and held togeather with tape. • Towels provided are worn and stained. • Bedding and pillows are stained. • Bed bug bites nightly. •old lumpy mattress. •toilet/toilet floor stained with urine. •carpet has big stains everywhere plus stale smell from the entire room. •raw plasterboard and screws. •old outdated furniture,fan on table covered in mold/dust. •no room facilities •no check in until 2 o'clock and no safe place to leave luggage. •aggressive/thuggish man walking around the hotel. • Rude staff For the price I paid for my stay and the service I received it has to be one of the worst hotels I've stayed in,and without a doubt the worst in Amsterdam.Its no more than a cheap budget hostel with a 20-30 minute walk to central.Photo attached is the police report.

    NOTHING.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    Only coffee machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator, there was no officer to carry our bags. The bathroom was extremely small and there was not a shower curtain, so after every shower the whole bathroom was going to the lake. The room was not clean enough. Especially the double room and the bed were joined by two separate beds, which I did not want and the comfort of the bed was zero. In short, it was a big disappointment.

    Only coffee machine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    52 steps tp attic room, which we were well warned about earlier. But still surprised ar how narrow staircase was. Room OK and ensuite good. Coffee machine was very welcome. Cleaned every day.

    See above

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    3.8
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dirty. They only cleaned our room once in a 3 night stay and even then it was still dirty. Sheets weren't changed, bins weren't emptied, bathroom wasn't mopped. It was quite disgusting to be honest. Also the excuse as to why the other days it wasn't cleaned, was because I told the cleaner I didn't want the room cleaned (which is a complete lie). Last but not least, a couple door knobs broke off on our first night and we discovered the mini fridge does work.

    There was one receptionist with the red hair who was very nice and very helpful. The other staff did not care.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Best in amsterdam..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was already mentioned before that we have no lift so there is no way feel its incorrect as its dutch heritage beautiful building and changes cant be done. Everything head to toe is perfect

    Rooms beautiful and spacious. Location is perfect central. Staff are much polite and helpfull like family. All perfect.....love you plantage team.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    A cosy little place with easy accessibility to all the main attraction! And...it’s opposite the zoo^
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase was abit scary for ppl with big feet....One of the windows in the room was broken so it was abit noisy but I Guess the windy ness cancelled it out! Haha

    The bed was comfy...the body wash smell so fresh & the location to the main attractions is very accessible. One of the windows was broken so it was pretty windy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Good place close to the city but loud and hotel needs a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's time for a renovation of the rooms. Not the cleanest place. Very loud because of the tram. We where at the top floor and it sounds like the tram where passing right next to the bed.

    Hotelier is very nice and is always there for some tips where to go. Great breakfast at the cafe below the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    not recommended at all for any traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of hotels with the same name , so always there will be confusion . hotel was extremely small. no lift provided , I need to carry my 4 luggage to the third floor without any help. disappointed.

    Location was cool , near to tram station and park .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs but the whole of Holland has steep stairs so we expected it!!

    The staff were superb. So very helpful polite and friendly. They went out of their way to be of service. I also liked that 24hrs per day there were staff on reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location, average place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't comfortable, it waa very hot in the room ans only a noisy little fan to cool down.

    The sheets and the towels were replaced everyday which was nice. The location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets and shower room weren’t great

    Good value for money, large rooms and comfy beds, cute little cafe just downstairs and near to muesusms and a tram ride away from the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn't go back ever
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of drains. Suitcases up stairs, very steep and thin. Bitten to pieces and not being able to sleep. Overall the biting bit was the killer. Property was not managed well, or complaints process.

    Nothing. It was close to where I needed to work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    should have chosen a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad bathroom which was never cleaned, got locked out of my room one night because of rusty keys!! had to sleep in my day clothes without toiletries or anything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Kurz Trip, der sich gelohnt hat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not the best, shower head broken, U had to hold it by hand.

    The room by itself, the friendly staff at reception, the free coffee, the place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    The location is good and cozy, next to the zoo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an old property where the noise from the room drove me crazy and the noice from the tram outside is annoying also.

    The location is good and cozy, next to the zoo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was so nice there, staff helped me so much, they showed me where to go, where to enjoy food in Amsterdams. Beside that, they kept my luggage for 3 hours for me while we travelled to Giethoorn, they help us to bring our luggage to the Tram. I loved their window to see the beautiful street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Horrible and without electricity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no light in the room. When we got there our reservation was unknown, or the guy at the reception just prefers receiving cash. When we asked for a compensation, he said his colleague Dina could arrange it, but Dina wasn’t even aware we paid cash. This hotel is a mess and the staff did nothing to fix it. Many places in the neighborhood that are better, so don’t come here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    Was 4 team stops to dam square or central station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When having a shower the water went all over the bathroom floor the bathroom is really small and the stairs to get to rooms are really small

    Was 4 team stops to dam square or central station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Untrustworthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners stole €50 out of my bag while we were out of the room. And there was no safe in the room. The value for money was terrible. I paid for too much what was given.

    The location was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and the hotel in general was not very clean. There was no closet to the room

    The staff was very kind. The hotel is located very close to the center of the city (just 10' with the tram)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced to be uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the top floor. The attic is what I called it and certainly felt like that. There was 2 windows and one didn't open as it was screwed shut. There was no fan in the room and it was horribly uncomfortable for a 26 C + day. I felt like I was in a closet and not a bathroom. The sink was tiny, it was the size of one you find on an airplane. This place is way over priced for the mediocre accommodations they have. Currently there is renovations being done next door and if your not an early riser expect it to happen. There was a jack hammer going on at 730 in the morning. The hotel staff could at least provide this information.

    The location was near eateries, the zoo and public transportation. The stop nearby was a straight shot to Central station. The beds were descent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, small & simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of small stairs

    The staff is very pleasant, the rooms are pretty clean, right next to the ARTIS zoo and a supermarket. Lots of good cheap restaurants near by, 15 min walk from city center and the tram stops right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Every bit as good as expected and outstanding, friendly proffessional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed at this property before which is why I stayed here again. The place is fairly local, away from the main centre which is perfect for me as it gives me a chance to be around Dutch locals as opposed to tourists. The thing I must stress is how great the staff are here. Each time they get better and better which makes the stay perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    really poor/average hotel and very expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our top roof room was tiny and in a very bad condition. The blinds in the windows were broken so there was lots of light coming through in the early morning. The shower is mainly the floor of the bathroom, no curtains, no nothing to stop the water going everywhere...

    The hotel is in a good walking distance from the city centre, so this is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Cosy little room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed on the 4th floor - no lift available. Stairs very steep and narrow. Beds should be replaced.

    Location is very good. Nespresso machine in the room - but no creamer / milk - a bonus, because some of the other places did not even had a kettle for morning coffee. Cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, can get to most attractions in minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the bathroom was quite small, and had to wiped after every shower.

    Very good location, can get to most attractions in minutes by tram, or bicycle if preferred.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Good to have coffe machine in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Huge toilet waste water smell in every room as my friend also confirmed. no double bed, only twin beds which always slip away from each other. Not confortable for couples.

    Good to have coffe machine in the room. Comfortable room. Enough space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is good but the street noise seeps in and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is good but the street noise seeps in and the stairs are bit steep. The location was excellent and with good cafe's around. The rooms are fine but the bathroom could have been bigger....at better rates it can be value for money stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    It was overall okay get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small no fridge in room was moved room as window did not open. Kept finding insects on the wall

    Location was good the area was nice staff were helpful and friendly moved us room without a problem

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Impossible to sleep since 6 in the morning. After they finish to build or repair something, it will be a good place to stay but not now. A little bit far from night life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Not the best, wouldn't stay again however great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and when we asked for an additional pillow there were none available. Room was noisy, however this was to be expected (although the room shook every time the tram went passed). The fridge in the room didn't work and our towels were only replaced twice in 4 days.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff and service! The bathroom could do with some work. Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a shower was a huge task as the water went everywhere, they left a squeegee broom thing but the water would go everywhere which made it difficult to shower without worry that you’ll flood the whole bathroom to downstairs.

    I mentioned it was my boyfriends birthday and they printed off signed saying happy birthday and gave us free snacks on the fridge. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much to ask. Great location and close to central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location but for the price I would expect more tasteful interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings of the room was quite old and not really elegant, dirty windows and there was no socket in the bathroom (just the hole, no outlet) and no mirror in the room or the wardrobe.

    The Location and connection to the citycenter is great, a very nice Cafe/Bar "Koosje" right downstairs and the beautiful restaurant "Plantage" across from the hotel. I liked the soft bedsheets and the view from the window. Every room has a coffee machine and coffee tabs for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent, the staff were all very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't worry me but it is very close to the tram line, which made it excellent for transport, but you could hear the trams going past.

    The location is excellent, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Staff and cleaness was good.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was not available. Did not comfortable stay with child. Booking.com did not provide proper information to Hotel, as hotel staff did not get information about 2 adult and 1 child need a room. booking.com informed them, as room is required only for 2 adults and no child. This was created misunderstanding on first day itself. No space available to keep the stroller at ground floor.

    Staff and cleaness was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was ideal for a couple nights, Perfect location, tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room could have been more clean! Strange smell coming from bathroom,coffee machine broken, toilet seat cracked! Defo in need of a revamp.

    Hotel was ideal for a couple nights, Perfect location, tram stops right outside apartment! Only a short walk into town, and close to central station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Fair, compared to other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a vacuum cleaner permanently in front of our room, and cleaning supplies everywhere in the corridor. It looked like a construction site. There was no mini fridge in the room. The room was set up as a twin room. Never received a response to our request of double room.

    Location is superb - just by the Artis stop of tram 9- and staff was helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Location, service and friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found in the room (drawer of the dresser) a packet of old wafers ... which reveals a bit about the cleanliness. The room has an old decor, the furniture is somewhat worn, the renovations they have done are poor and made without taste. The bathroom is rudimentary. The TV remote did not work.

    Location, service and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Plantage - 👌👌👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs!! Didn't have a kettle/coffee machine in room, there was one at reception though

    Friendly, helpful staff, hotel in a great location, cleaned well every day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Basic but clean, good location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very soft as other reviews - not uncomfortable but not to recommended for anyone with back issues. It was very hot in the room but the traffic noise, although not especially loud, meant it was difficult to sleep with the windows open.

    Location good - easy to walk into the centre and close to good restaurants and bars. Clean room and good shower with plenty of hot water. Fairly but it was exactly what we expected from other reviews.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were 3 sockets in the room: 1 for TV, 1 for the fridge and 1 for free travellers - not enough nowadays (with everyone having his own gadget(s)). Also, just 2 bedlights for 3 beds seems not enough too. Thin walls indeed. Hotel internet was working better in the street than in our room.

    Our room for free was really spacious (it had the highest ceiling we ever saw in a hotel) and cozy. Carpet on the floor is a good idea (if it's cleaner - would be even a great idea). The stairs created a feeling that it's something traditional in Holland. Tram stop was in 20 meters away. Getting around was really easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    It was my second time visiting this property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my second time visiting this property! I really recoment this property with a good location 10 mins walk to dam squre !! Also tram stop , exactly outside from my room! ATM in front of the building and one small fast food open until 3 in the mornig !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Receptionists were friendly and helpful, the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New mattresses are a must. Most of the equipment needs updating: leaking sink, bedside lamp not working, carpet stained beyond repair. No help with luggage.

    Receptionists were friendly and helpful, the room and the bathroom were very well cleaned, the location was perfect for us and there is a good WiFi signal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.0
    The location is good, the quality bad, the price shifting between those to reference points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we got was tiny, no wardrobe or much else to place your stuff on. But most of all there was a horrible stench coming from the bathroom that never stopped. And of course the windows were locked, so there was no way to get some fresh air into the tiny room. After one night we asked for another room and got it the next day - it was much nicer, but still not very comfortable. As in the other room, the mattresses were super thick and soft, bending like a banana. The floor was very dirty and the general feeling was: good enough if you don't want to spend any time there. After complaining to the staff that the bathroom smelled horribly, we were offered room freshener and after insisting another room. But we felt lied to when they said, that the problem is a new one. After reading many user stories on Booking.com we saw, that there were such problems since more than a year. Plus: The glossy, super-clean renderings of the rooms on this website don't realistically reflect the quality of the rooms we stayed in.

    The beds looked clean, the staff was friendly and the location great. The hotel is situation right across from a tram stop and there are nice cafés, restaurants and bars right around the corner. The bathroom looked freshly renovated and there was enough warm water to shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    The weekender
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very difficult to shower in etc because of the slopes, the stairs are very narrow and steep extremely difficult to get luggage up and down

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    2.5
    Upsetting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The wifi was slow. 2) Location wasn't as advertised. 3) Not comfortable. 4) Rooms were to hot. 5) staff were rude regarding lowering the volume in Mid Day Firstly, Hotel Plantage provide Wifi, although there is no point them advertising it as i was unable to use it due to how slow the speed was. To load a page it took 30minutes if the speed and usage was checked by booking.com and advertised more accurately I could have possible have re-evaluate my decision on hotel. Secondly, booking.com advertised it to be in the city centre. Infact it was not in the city centre it was around a mile away being a 20minute walk! Booking.com need to be more accurate with what they advertise! Thirdly, pictures were in fact nothing like the room I was given and it seems as if booking.com have not actually been and take. The pictures themself.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    3.8
    Not what I expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My expectations where different. I booked a room for 2 adults and a child of 4, there where only 2 beds and the staff where not able to fix it in 3 nights that we were there, no extra bed for the child and the solution was to sleep with the two beds together for 3 people. The room was not clean the first day (the bin was full from the past reservation) (also no towels, I have to asked), not even the second (bathrroom) and not even the third (the bathroom is still dirty) after complain 3 days in a row. The room was not tall enough to have shower an adult of 180 cm in a normal position. The room smells bad because of the bathroom water exit.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.5
    Dly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed so low and uncomfortable, staff not very friendly, roadworks outside room from 6am in the morning so warning at all from hotel to say so. Rooms very small for money had much better at cheaper price. Lightening not very good. Shower room tiny.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.4
    Be careful which room you are offered. Don't accept room nr. 20
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived late night on 5.2.2018. We were given Room Nr. 20. The first impression was the bad smell in the room which would not go away even when opening the window. I belief it was from the kitchen on first floor and it smelled like cauliflower. The room itself is too small for 2 people. There is no wardrobe, no hook for clothes neither in the room or in the bathroom. You can not even hang your wet towel! This room does not meet the basic standards of a Hotel. I went to the night clerk and asked to change the room. He told me that there is no other room available so we had to spend the night in this camping like situation. On the next day I asked the young lady from reception for another room. She gave me room nr. 24 which had been available the last night too. I felt betrayed and angry that we had too stay unnecessarily in a bad smelling room which is not worth my money.

    The young lady from reception gave us the better room on day 2 of our stay and saved our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds where not that comfortable to sleep in.

    I loved how close it is to the city centre, the tram stop was literally right outside which made travelling so much more easier. The hotel staff was lovely and the room was really nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Over priced for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being 5ft 9 the bathroom was extremely difficult to use. There’s was no head room when using the shower. The room felt cold with no way of turning up the heating. The tea and coffee facilities were down 3 flights of stairs. There was no kettle in the room.

    We were able to leave our bag at the reception on the day of checkout and return for it later.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Wasn't long enough and it rained more than I wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tram was loud but I loved that it was right there.

    Close to the yoga studio I came to practice at. Super close to the tram. Close to a coffee shop that was not over crowded where I could get some mint tea and smoke. Quick tram to the heart of it all but far enough away that I got some peace when I came back (it was New Years weekend(

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Room smelled like bathroom sewage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the smallest room in the attic. The worst thing about it is that it smelled like the bathroom sewage the whole time I stayed there, day and night. The wifi was horrible in the room, with a very inconsistent connection. The room is indeed very small with an inclined ceiling, which made it difficult to walk around and especially to take a shower. The space in the shower is REALLY limited and the whole bathroom floods when you do it (they keep a squeegee for you to drain the water). There's no space to stand in front of the bathroom sink, so you have to brush your teeth seated on the toilet. The heater was not enough to keep the room warm, and temperatures were not that low (between 5ºC-12ºC). The mini fridge in the room didn't work.

    The staff was always very kind and helpful. I appreciated that there were towels, toiletries, hangers and a blow dryer available. I also liked the number of electric outlets available throughout the room. The room was kept clean everyday and bed linens were clean and confortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.2
    Location close to the Old Town (15 mins) and close the tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean, not comfortable, there was no blow dryer, the room was extremely warm, even for the winter time.

    Location close to the Old Town (15 mins) and close the tram station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend for sure nothing negative to say about the hotel at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of convenience stores in the area made it difficult to eat varied diet but obviously this isn’t a problem of the hotel. There’s a Spar shop almost a mile away which was a bit long to get to.

    Welcoming staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    The heating in the room is excellent, the location is close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room is excellent, the location is close to the train station and a short walking distance to the super spacious shower, the arrangement of the beds was definitely nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    4.2
    I understand that I had a budget room but I was disappointed by the attic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi connection in attic room, no water available or cups in room, the sink had a bad sewer smell, rusty shower, no toilteteries supplied, vending machine in the reception did not register money, put in €3 and the member of staff did not offer to give us the drink!

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff wasn’t friendly. In the shower the water was spilling everywhere due to the fact that they didn’t install the shower door.

    Nobody complained about our stay in the room, which might have been a bit loud.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy place in a quiet district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel in 10 min walk from the center of Amsterdam. Located in a quiet place but you can easily reach the city center by a tram. The hotel and rooms are quite "compact" and miniature but have all the necessities. The personnel is very friendly and helpful. Be prepared that some rooms are located under the roof and the only path there is a spiral staircase - but it gives some romantic atmosphere to your stay there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    We stayed out in Amsterdam and enjoyed all of our time outside of Plantage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude from the woman that checked us in.

    The person who checked us in was extremely rude to our security detail. Told him that “guests must be gone by 10” when we already notified the hotel that we would have a security guard as an additional guest. The housekeepers were wonderful but I couldn’t help but be bothered by the rude lady that checked us in. We had just come off of a 10 hour train ride and we did not expect such awful hospitality from the first person we spoke with at this establishment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Next to centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are not ok..

    Workers are really nice , essentially Adina she is great helpful.. tram stop next to hotel.. 3 or 4 stop later you are will be at centrum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid 95 Euros/night which I think is way too much for the value offered. While the location is great, cleanliness was less than what Hostel Standard is: The bathroom was not cleaned well with hair on the floor and a lot of hair on the bed-sheets (even on the pillows). The room I was in was quite noisy due to the adjacent tram and a window that does not close 100%.

    the location is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Not good for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sink is poorly fixed and starts leaking sometimes. Mattress is too soft and easily deformed, that's why one day I woke up with pain in my back.

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    The staff was very nice and welcoming.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we reserved the cheapest and smallest room, it was on the top floor, with very narrow and long stairs. The shower was super small and very comfortable even for a person to take a shower. The room was also cold in the evening. Under the bed was also not very clean, still stuff left from previous guests. We will not reserve again.

    The staff was very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    Okay for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase , the area

    The first room we entered was number 1 and I couldn't not imagine sleeping there. Luckily the lady put us in room 36 and although it was basic we could sleep and seen beauty in its simplness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    We had a leak in our room and the hotel were more than happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was a bit small and had a leak

    We had a leak in our room and the hotel were more than happy to move us to a bigger better room with no problems

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    The staff was very helpful in giving us information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tiny and smelt bad.Also there was no closet to hang our clothes.

    The staff was very helpful in giving us information.The location was in a nice neighbourhood quite near to the city center.It was also next to the Artis zoo and the public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Great location, helpful reception. Uncomfortable bed. no elevator. Beds were not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are super uncomfortable. no elevator. We stayed at the second floor and we didn't have any problems. If you've got any, be careful.

    The lady in the reception is very helpful. Location is amazing, some steps to the Tram station and 15 mins walk to center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Good enogh.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They offer safety box in the room but it had not. If you are with " medium or big" suitcases..."big" problem, cause even to get the reception, you need to use the stairs...

    If you do not mind to be 10 minutes from city center, is fine. The best for this location is that you are IN the Jew's Quarter, with the tram and bus station by 50 meters away and excellent restaurant downstairs (with vegan options) or crossing the street in the zoo Artis cafe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    A nice cozy hotel for affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is not offering any breakfasts so we needed to find some other place. But there is a nice bistro/pub next to the hotel so it was not a big deal. The sink in the bathroom is classy, however unpractical for washing face, brushing teeth, etc. As well as other houses in Amsterdam, the rooms are situated in many floors so we had to climb to the 3rd floor which can be difficult with a big luggage or for people with limited ability of walking (no lift in the hotel)

    The hotel is well situated - about 10-15 mins to the city centre, next to the zoo and silente neighbourhood. I think this is one of the best options regarding price/quality value. Do not expect a high class hotel but for couple nights in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value and helpful receptionists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are always things that can be better in a hotel but I'm not fuzzy!

    This hotel provide good value, would you like a budget hotel in a central location it's perfect! If you are fuzzy about details choose a posh hotel and pay what it cost! The receptionists are very nice and helpful, it is close to the tram 9 stop Artis. The room was warm and the bathroom fresh. The hotel will be nice when the painting is ready. Good size triple room! Would come back for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My experience was not pleasant at all; the room smelled bad but it is nothing compared to the toilet which I couldn't use the whole trip. Staff were not friendly at all. I do not recommend.

    My experience was not pleasant at all; the room smelled bad but it is nothing compared to the toilet which I couldn't use the whole trip. Staff were not friendly at all. I do not recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Plantage traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: