Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Poort van Drenthe 2 stars

Parallelweg 25, 7941 HH Meppel, Netherlands

#2 of 3 hotels in Meppel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tired and could do with an upgrade, but clean and comfortable.

    Great location, to centre of town. Friendly owner, great breakfast. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.2
    Suggest one finds a decent hotel in Zwolle, only 15 min by train to Meppel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is Ok for 1 night, but it is VERY basic. Room is noisy, heard every car and train all the time. Delaying checkout by a mere 30 minutes was deemed to be impossible ( I was the only guest in the very small hotel) When changing my arrival time from mid afternoon to early evening I was informed they hoped to be back home by then. They were, but key needed to be picked up at their house next door

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.2
    Too expensive for what it offers. Should have been charged half of the price for the poor comfort.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, could hear not only the street noise with the window closed but also the neighbours. And the room door had a type of alarm each time the neighbour's daughter opened the door - in and out a million times 😡!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice poeple, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioned, which for a hot weather is very uncomfortable (just a fan, which is barely useful in these conditions...).

    Great personnel, nice building, perfect location (near the train station), great area (shopping, eating, leisure).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    4.6
    Try somewhere else first.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else. VERY dated room, wash basin in the bedroom, shower & toilet small and all urgently requires overhaul. Breakfast so-so, Restaurant shut. At 70 € totally over-priced.

    There was a bed. Coffee was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    5.4
    Do-able if no alternatives are found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and old. Needs a lot of touch up. The beds and tv were do-able but the rest of the room and the hotel itself wasn't attractive at all.

    Breakfast was good..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    The owner was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old and not all well maintained.

    The owner was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Fine and convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room slightly small for 2 people with bags.

    Conveniently near train and bus stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    I do appreciate the owner's helpfulness concerning my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I do appreciate the owner's helpfulness concerning my dietary requirements. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely host and very helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely host and very helpful. Very central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the place. just by the train station. helpful staff, comfortable room, stayed 5 days, have zero problem. thanks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and overall nice cozy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and overall nice cozy hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    The temperature of 27 May was over 30 ℃.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature of 27 May was over 30 ℃. Unfortunately, the room was not air conditioned and the windows could not be opened.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room n price

    Breakfast Cleanliness hotel easily accessible from station, kind owner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Free parking good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    2.5
    I did not check-in because of my schedule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I did not check-in because of my schedule. However I have to make my payment to this hotel. This hotel promised me that I can leave my money in its account and use it for my accomodation in the future. I do hope so.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    6.7
    Easy Parking , Good Location , Close to the Town center for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in my room was very bad to sometimes non-existent. Washbasin was in the room and not in the bathroom - that was a little off putting

    Easy Parking , Good Location , Close to the Town center for a leisurely walk along the canal.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.7
    the hotels near giethoorn were fully booket so here is an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff can not speak English. thebedsqare really small and poor WiFi.

    the hotels near giethoorn were fully booket so here is an alternative choice. great breakfast for a small home-run guesthouse.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was good and location very close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    4 person room was too small. Even to find walking space was almost impossible.

    Breakfast was good and location very close to station

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.8
    practical location at the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    practical location at the train station. Helpful staff & very friendly

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Willingness to facilitate guests requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Willingness to facilitate guests requirements

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    nice breakfast, clean room and helpful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no elevator

    nice breakfast, clean room and helpful owner

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were problems with the internet.

    Very convenient location. The room is clean, breakfast is good.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: