Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prinsengracht Hotel 3 stars

Prinsengracht 1015, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 KN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#203 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2389 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is small, but they were going to charge me for a pod of coffee for their in-room machine for all days after the first. The gentleman at the desk told me there was a charge but ended up just giving it to me.

    The front desk staff couldn’t have been nicer or more accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was too small and noisy as my neighbour open and close his door so loudly.

    The staff was friendly and breakfast was delicious!!! To be able to stay in an old house near the Amsterdam canal the experience is a must have!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tea and coffee facilities were disappointing - in fact virtually non existent. We had a lovely Nespresso machine in our room but only given 2 pods when we arrived and received no more during our stay - despite the fact that we stayed 4 days! We were charged 1 Euro for each pod we required which was quite expensive over our time there. We did also get a token 2 tea bags! Such a shame as everything else about the Hotel was excellent, but this was one little thing which would have made all the difference.

    Excellent location - close to all parts of the city and wonderful views over the Canal. Bedroom was clean and neat and the Bed was exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had inconsistent wifi. My room was quite small, it was narrow, but they stuffed two twin beds in it. it was hard to walk around. The carpet was a little dank. The bathroom was also very cramped.

    The staff was nice, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning or windows that opened more would have been good as it was very sunny - the downside of overlooking the canal.

    The location on the canal of which we had a lovely view was superb. It was peaceful despite being easy walking distance to most places we wanted to visit. The staff were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was the size of a rabbit hut with one tiny widow about 15 x 20inches . The worst room l have ever experienced and at a cost of about £140 per night it was pure orobbery. Also the hotel does not have or supply water and it was one of the hottest May days they have had in years.The only way to get some is out of a vending machine at £2 for a 33cl bottle.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (small single room) was very small, might be the smallest hotel room I've ever been to. It got quite hot inside on a warm sunny day - no air con in the room.

    Location by Prinsengracht was very good, neighbourhood was quiet even if the hotel is quite centrally located. The hotel was freshly decorated. Nice garden. Breakfast was OK. Polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried a few time to make the resvation in different card through boking.com , every time was informed ' something wrong with the credit card ', it never happened before.

    Nice hotel with beautiful view of Amsterdam. Breakfast is good and the hotel also helped us arrange the taxi with reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - walking distance to most attractions. Friendly staff. Comfy beds and overall great view! Couldn’t have been more pleased with my experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need another pillow. One real pillow and a small throw is not enough. Also, the Nespresso macine had two capsules. Never replenished. Bummer on day two with no in room coffee.

    Location is a key attribute here. Close to the areas with all the crowds...but just far enough out to be quiet. Room was inexpensive for location and a bit Spartan. However, it was very clean. TV worked well. Window opened onyo very nice courtyard and it was quiet enough to leave open. Staff was extremely helpful. Ride back to airport areanged by them snd afgordable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have air conditioning, but a free standing fan was adequate at this time of year.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was varied and enjoyable! We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cot bed mattress and sheet were not well-fitted - would suggest that the property ensures that the cot mattress is the correct size for the cot, firm enough, and is supplied with a sheet that fits snugly around it.

    The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed far too soft but a minor inconvenience

    Great staff, very helpful. Hotel is very clean, rooms a little small but you’re only there to sleep. Lovely garden area where you can sit & enjoy a coffee. Hotel has an excellent location & very easy to navigate to the main tourist areas. Breakfast was typical continental fare, the coffee is great, but if you fancy going out for breakfast, there’s a fabulous little cafe on the corner as you turn left out of the hotel just about 50 metres away. Not sure we would visit Amsterdam again (there’s a big world out there) but if we did, we wouldn’t hesitate to book at the Prinsengracht.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) No A/C, so in the summer it can be hot. Opening window helps, but there is no screen, so you have to be ok with bugs being on the river. Also, it is noisier with the window open. 2) It feels like the hotel is run in a mom/pop small business fashion, lack attention to details and not in a 100% professional level. For example, the room was cleaned, but only on the surface. You can see pink in tile grout. Ceiling corner hasn't been dusted for a while. I saw one dust web hanging from ceiling around our headboard. They may be in the process of replacing thing...I notice the drapery liner was torn. The sheet felt clean, but again I saw a drop of coffee stain not bleached. There is a poster in the hallway with a hole in it, and just having a scotch tape over the hole.... 3) The breakfast was ok like usual stuff in a business hotel. Staff have all been friendly and nice during our stay. The area for improvement is in staff training-particularly how to clean table properly. I saw staff mainly just brush the crumbs to the floor, so you see crumbs on chairs and floor. Also, they dab on the placement mat...again very much surface, spot cleaning, and I don't see them using any cleaner either. My first job in high school was working in fast food and we were all trained on how to wipe a table clean on the first day to ensure there is a consistent quality. We were taught to hold cloth a certain way and wipe table horizontally line by line till we cover the entire surface, and then refold the cloth to get a clean surface and wipe vertically till we finish the entire surface, and then refold the cloth to get another clean surface to finish the edge of the table. We also use special solution, and wash the cleaning cloth after each table. never reuse it on another table. Also at home, I sponge clean the place mat. I don't think their staff went through the same training I did....

    Excellent location, living right on the Canal Ring, get the full Amsterdam feeling. Easy to walk to everywhere. nothing is too far. Being in the center, it is inevitable to have some street noise-some party boats passing by with loud musics. However, it does die down after 10:30 pm, then it is peacefully quiet. So overall we didn't have problem with it. It is worth getting the bigger double room. The price difference is small, but it is much roomier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not too clean-especially the carpet-but they did vacuum again and apologize for the initial condition of cleanliness. Further dusting etc. would have also been needed (dust bunnies on desk and thick around feet of bed) but I wasn't going to ask that too :-S. I would say, if quality of cleaning was improved this would be a great spot to stay while in Amsterdam. Location is close enough to everything, but quite enough where you can keep the windows open and have a great rest!

    Front desk staff was very helpful and prompt! We didn't have a working fan, and the gentleman at the desk was right on replacing it-thank you!! Wonderful view and location to many sites as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and fairly basic in it's furnishings. Would have liked a bit more space, particularly given the cost. But accomodtion in Amsterdam seems to be pricey, and as we spent little time at the hotel, we had no major complaints as the location was perfect.

    The location was perfect. In a beautiful part of the city and within easy walking distance of pretty much all the major sites. Lovely area to just wander around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing! Maybe the room can be a bit bigger.

    The sight outside our window is breath taking. The staff at the front desk was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. They made our stay there a memorable nice experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO AIR-CONDITIONING - The weather was exceptionally hot and our windows were South-facing over the canal consequently the room temperature on our first night was 84 degs! The hotel did provide a small fan, but not really adequate.

    The garden area. Lovely for a drink in evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. Furniture was aged and upholstered furniture was not as clean. Insufficient lighting.

    Location was close to museums. Staff was very professional and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a historic building so they don’t have air conditioning. Even with the curtains closed, it is unbearable to be in the room during the day

    Location. It is walking distance to all major attractions, but not too much noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi didn't work at the time of my stay. Which was a little bit inconvenient, but I suppose issues with electronic equipment can always come up and in the end it wasn't of paramount importance to me to have a working wifi available.

    This is a sweet little hotel from where one can conveniently explore the inner city of Amsterdam. The staff is friendly and helpful. I had quite a pleasant stay and although the elevator is a bit on the slow side and the room wasn't particularly large, it's still a charming place to stay for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Canal view from the room was great. So very Amsterdam :-) . Also the room was quiet, no noise form other guests/rooms. There were many features which showed the typical Amsterdam origin of the building - like the original historic windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the breakfast was very little, it had scrambled eggs and a few pastries - as we were checking out a couple checking in received a map and locations to go too, we never received such thing - the members of staff at reception didn’t offer to help with bags - when our flight was cancelled we were offered a half an hour extra to stay in the hotel - they had an 11pm curfew for the hotel and after that we had to ring the door bell

    The bed was comfy af! And the location was so amazing too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not much indoor lounge space, but there is a lovely garden in the back.

    This hotel has improved since that last time I visited, four years ago. Our canal-side room had a renovated bathroom and even USB plugs in addition to regular euro sockets. You cannot beat the location on Prinsengracht and it is also well connected with public transportation. It can be expensive to stay comfortably in the center of Amsterdam, but I found this hotel to be a good balance. I will recommend this to family and friends in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our two adjoining rooms were quite small and shared one bathroom. You couldn’t even move the chair to sit by the window because space was so tight that it had to remain partially tucked under the desk. Also, although we asked the desk clerk to telephone for a taxi more than 45 minutes before we had to catch our train, the cab did not show up for over half an hour. The hotel employee repeatedly assured us that the company would pay for replacement tickets, but that did not happen and each of us lost €49.

    The location was quite convenient, just a short walk from tram lines and an easy distance to many of the major museums. Wifi was strong and fast, and the TV had several English-language stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was normal but I have gone out and when I turn back to hotel the entrance door was closed and receptionist guy wasn,t his place. So I have waited more than 5 minutes in outside. The time was like 22:00. It was not good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a single room that was not very modern.

    It has a nice patio in the back of the house and the hotel is in front of a quiet canal. The location is in a nice neighbourhood. Perfect if you have a bicycle, which is a must to discover Amsterdam (rent one from the hotel).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the third floor overlooking the canal. The room was a good size with a large, very comfortable double bed. The hotel was located in a beautiful, quiet position and only a short walk to the tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing, I loved my stay here.

    This property was brilliant and the staff could not do enough for you. The garden at the back was idyllic and the songs of the birds in the trees made it a beautiful peaceful haven in a bustling city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting and plugs wasn't working on one wall (above the bed) but there was enough plug points elsewhere in the room and we were only staying one night so it wasn't a game changer.

    The location is central and on the canal in one of the quieter streets. The staff were all really helpful and check in was really smooth. Rooms are compact but fine if you just need somewhere to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a tight fit, although quite adequate and very clean. There was a drainage problem in the dual shower, so we would recommend one shower at a time!

    The room was very comfortable and spacious for a downtown hotel! Breakfast was quite good, with great coffee! The location is ideal for walking all around Amsterdam, with the museums only a 12 minute walk and the historic old downtown 15 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room was very small no room between bed and table. TV would not turn around as it got stuck on the wall. Too few tables at breakfast if a lot of people came down at the same time. Sounds petty but no marmalade on offer.

    Location excellent. Nice rear garden. Nice view of canal. Connecting door useful between rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I misunderstood the twin room. I thought it was 2 separate rooms (but with connecting door) with a double bed each. Turns out it was 2 single rooms connected. So it was a tiny for our family.

    The staff were friendly and made us feel welcomed. We loved the canal view and it's not far from the tram station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had virtually no windows, the beds were extremely uncomfortable, the paintwork was very tired and all of this for £200 a night. I booked same day and this was obviously their last room but a very hefty discount should have been made.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were particularly helpful and knowledgeable given we were travelling with an infant. Excellent, beautiful and quiet location. Near to the distinctive Amstelkerk with its child friendly restaurant and within walking distance of both the Royal Zoo and Vondelpark as well as the main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we had paid for breakfast, we would have considered it expensive. Prices were as expected for location and facilities.

    Very clean, in an excellent location. Staff were exceptionally accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was included for our first day, and for what we had, it was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise of the coca cola machine outside the bedroom kept us awake. However staff turned this off on request the following night.

    Bathroom clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fantastic. Our room was #11 behind the garden area. A nice breakfast in the morning and the staff was very friendly. They left chocolate bunnies in the room for my kids, as it was Easter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. The room I had had two twin beds pushed together and you could not walk down the sides of the bed. You had to crawl in from the end. The heater was also at the same place you put your head so I couldn’t keep the heat on during the night because it would get too hot. Also, since there was a crack between the beds you kept falling in between and it was hard to get out.

    The location was good and the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room I was in had a door to the outdoor patio which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    The location is excellent. The bed was really good, slept so well, liked that I could open the window for fresh air and the view out to the canal was awesome. Great breakfast every day - lots of choice and options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was good for a single with a large double bed and comfortable bedding. I would have preferred if it had been updated with an air conditioning system to be controlled electrically.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Only two English channels on the TV which was a pain when we wanted to relax in the evening - Told us they would send up extra toilet roll and pillows when we asked but didn’t get them but this wasn’t the end of the world- we coped without - Shower products (shampoo and shower gel) weren’t very good or nice on the skin - Shower door didn’t close so there was water all over the bathroom floor so felt bad for the cleaners having to mop it up every day

    - Bed was very comfy - Staff were friendly and always asking about your day which was lovely - Staff were fantastic at telling us about places to go and showing us on the map - Ideal location as right in the middle of the old part of town - Very well priced -Very clean and lived up to expectations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite warm when I arrived given the direct sunlight but quickly corrected with fans and windows. Also, the WiFi was a bit slow and couldn’t support some video calls I needed to take.

    Location! Staff were all friendly and professional. Back garden area was nice as well. A little cold when I visited in March but would be fabulous in the summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in time was too late. Its 14:00 o'clock. It should be atleast 12:00 o'clock. The single room was too small and it was not even possible to move away. There is not enough facility in the hotel.

    The location is very good. The room was clean. Personel was very friendly and helpfully. I can advise this hotel only for short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    made our reservation last minute, got very tired at the hotel. but we felt all in all home. warom betifule rooms with a nice canal view which we enjoyed the next morning when we woke up. The service is amazing. the breakfast fresh fruit bread wow. would love to come back :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a large deluxe room however the room size was very small, the bathroom leaked and there was very little lighting inside the room so at night it was very dark.

    It was well located and the view from the room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 coffee capsules were gratis in the bedroom. Very poor for an £85 a night hotel. The desk / kitchen staff burnt the scrambled eggs while we were waiting for them!

    The annexe was nice & comfortable. The breakfast was good. Location was average.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small - hardly any room for our bags. Walls are also quite thin so we could hear all noise from people walking through staircase / hallway.

    Wonderful location - walking distance to main museums of Amsterdam & great restaurants. Staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly small room (at least the ones we had) but probably is typical for large European cities, especially for the good price.

    Excellent breakfast with remarkable variety of offerings, location within easy walking distance of almost everything in Amsterdam, friendly staff members, value, adjoining room options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was quite far out from Dam Square and Central Station, which wouldn't be a problem in the summer months but as we went in March was very cold walking back on an evening.

    The bed was clean and comfy. The bathroom was lovely and very clean and the shower was powerful with lots of hot water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel. Great location and the staff were super friendly and helpful. From the reception staff to the cleaner. Our room was lovely and big. Perfect for my family and I. Would totally recommend and will return again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To simple for too much money. Breakfast without a croisant ? No fresh juice ? Dirty and worn room. Very small for three. Cant move at all. Very noizy during night. Hear other guest close front door.

    Location is perfect. Friendly staff. That is all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff (despite having my card details for months) tried to send me emails stating my card wasn’t working even though it states on booking.com that I pay nothing until I am at the hotel. They sent emails on the day I was leaving from Belfast to Amsterdam and all while I was 30 thousand feet in the air they tried to get in touch with me about my card details. There was no option on the site for a visa debit card only credit card; it did not say that a credit card was the only option, however, in January/ February I was told by my bank that the hotel had placed a hold on some money in my account (which is fine as it was given back) but why did the hotel continue on the day of my arrival to need my card details knowing they had already had a hold on some money in my account. All of this resulted in the man behind the desk cancelling my booking which is absolutely ridiculous. Also, there was work men SINGING in the morning when we woke up, we were also not told that the hotel was getting work done or I wouldn’t have stayed in a room that was near where work was getting done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was shared and the door from one side couldn't be locked and hard to close. But it was just a small inconvenience.

    We booked a room with connected doors and got promoted on arrival to a small bungalow with two big rooms and connected doors. The rooms and beds were clean and very comfortable, with coffee machines in each room and a terrace near the bungalow. I wish only the weather was better :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. They changed our room when asked, despite the fact that it was my fault that I didn’t see on booking what king of room I took. Great value for money. Breakfast is consistent and very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the basic single room which was very small but okay for just sleeping over

    Great location - by a canal, lovely surroundings, in the centre of amsterdam - all the interesting places within walking distance or 5 minutes by bike Lovely breakfast, staff very helpful Good restaurants and cafes nearby, supermarket too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with our changing our rooms months in advance. I had email confirmation & yet they said it was not changed & we had to pay for 4 rooms. The clerk had a hard time understanding that it was not our fault. I showed h8m the confirmation. In the end it might have worked out since we had pre-paid.

    Breakfast was amazing. They forgot to give us drinking glasses the 3rd. night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most things

    The hotel was lovely and clean. However the coffee machine was supplied with two pods. We got two extra complimentary pods but we’re told the price was €1 each to buy. That is ridiculous as ten only cost €3.40 from the shop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was building work going on so my window was covered up by scaffolding, men walking up and down the scaffolding past my window was a little distracting!

    Super friendly, welcoming, helpful staff, immaculate room and bathroom, honestly the cleaners deserve a medal it was spotless! Absolutely gorgeous location, coffee machine in the room, nice size room for one person for one night, not claustrophobic at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Shower cubicle had a very law water barrier. Lots of water ended up in the bathroom itself 2. No sound proof at all. I could hear everything happening in other rooms. 3. The furniture was a bit outdated

    The hotel has a nice private outside space Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could only stay one night here ( I’ll definitely come back)

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with all my queries. The breakfast offered everything I could ask for with a coffee machine full of choices, fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. My room was clean and had a nice renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaned a little better.

    Friendly staff. Perfect location, it doesn't get more Amsterdam than this. Good bed. Nice room. Nice shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    An excellent little hotel, more worthy of 4 than 3 stars. The room was clean, the shower room very recently renovated. Tea and coffee facilities were supplied, including a Nespresso. The location is extremely central, with some parking outside if you’re lucky, but there was an underground car park at the end of the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the location, next to a canal, and being in the 17thc area of Amsterdam. The hotel was still being refurbished when we stayed. Our room on the 3rd floor had a canal view, was spacious, bright and warm and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be picky I’d say it was a shame that there was only coffee in the room - no tea or milk but really that’s such a small thing!

    Surprisingly spacious - very good bathroom and the breakfast was excellent. Lovely staff who were very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is ideal, near to everything - trams, great museums and walking distance to shops. Breakfast was very good. Renovation works were going on during our stay, but it did not disturb at all, the room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is Fab. 3 min walk from 2 tram lines. Near the Centre but very very quiet at night so no noisy bars! I thought the coffee maker in the room was a lovely touch. ( There was also a kettle for tea drinkers) I had a room with a lovely view of the canal outside. The staff were very nice and helpful and soooo well dressed in their uniforms. Breakfast was available .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations going on. Woke up early by workmen. Breakfast expensive and not included in price of room.

    Close to Rembrandt square. Clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance lobby was quite scruffy. Scaffolding at front of hotel ruined canal view that I had paid extra for as part of an upgrade. Could I not have been informed of this when I requested the upgrade just a few days prior to arriving?

    Bed was big and comfy. Bathroom was very nice and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is doing walls renovation or something like that. On Monday they started to be noisy after 8 am. But whole weekend there was quite.

    Very good location (between old centre and museum quater). We had good size room, not small and not huge. We felt really comfortable in this hotel. Breakfast had a lot of options as omlette, choice of cheeses, salami, fish. Or fruit salads etc. I highly recommend this hotel. It is good 3 star place. Helpful staff. Warm in winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a walk away 20-30 minutes to the main attractions and the main areas that we walked around

    Very clean, staff really nice, room was beautiful, extremely comfortable, nice view of the canal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please change the little beds you use in the single rooms. They are too soft, I couldnt sleep properly as the bed seemed to be at an angle. Not great beds.

    Good staff. Wahid on reception was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with a Connecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin , we could hear everything from both sides of the room !! And also a bit noise from outside the hotel !!!

    Excellent Breakfast !!!! Very friendly and helpful staff !!! Very clean rooms !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of central area-plenty of same priced hotels closer. Room tiny and not so clean. Dirty old carpet off white towels. Dark and gloomy. Regret booking for a romantic break. Luckily Amsterdam is amazing so spent as little time there as possible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark and we could hardly see. We had to ask for extra lighting it was that dark. We also asked for and paid for canal view but didn’t get it. The place was being renovated which we knew but workmen tools left precariously. Breakfast was mediocre and definitely not worth 33 euros!! Finally, I was disappointed to see that my account was debited with full cost of hotel payment on the 30th of January even though our stay was from the 13th of Feb! I use booking.com because it gives flexibility and you can change your mind; this was not the case and I was very disappointed and shocked to see my account debited in full a whole 2 weeks before!!

    Central and easy to get to Major attractions. Hotel concierge who doubled up as everything was very helpful and pleasant and tried his best like trying to get us extra lighting.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Prinsengracht Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: