Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Prinsenhof Amsterdam 1 stars

Prinsengracht 810, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 JL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#97 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 984 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Great spot, lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steep stairs were a bit hard to manouvre with heavy luggage, but the staff were very helpful and carried my suitcase for me.

    The staff were super friendly and the hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood, walking distance to popular squares and museums. It has a tram stop right outside should the rain make walking difficult.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Canal, cafes, and a flower stall at the doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs may not be for everyone! We were ok though.

    Helpful staff. Location was excellent. Canal and cafes steps away. Also, trolley 10 steps away. Very good restaurants blocks away. Cant beat location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful vintage hotel, excellent location, lovely and friendly staff, clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything about my stay in this hotel and location.

    The hotel building is a beautiful vintage structure overlooking the canal in a peaceful and friendly location. It is close to the centre but is not in a noisy or overly busy part of Amsterdam. Is extremely close to the tram and has many lovely shops, cafes and restaurants close by. The hotel staff were super friendly and welcoming and the hotel room was excellent for me and my partner. Thank you so much, I will definitely be coming back here again! :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    i liked the location and the room , it was little small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i didn't like that we need to always climb 4 storeys and that too the stairs were too small and moving with heavy backpacks it was inconvenient

    i liked the location and the room , it was little small but enough for a couple stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Location: one minute walk from tram station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise: My room was very noisy. The neighbour was playing loud music at 11pm and I could hear footsteps whenever the people above my room move about. Hence, I couldn’t sleep well. Amenities in the room: There is only one powerpoint in the room and I have to shift the table just to use the electricity. The toilet is very minimal. Only hand soap is provided. Don’t expect too much. This hotel feels more like a hostel.

    Location: one minute walk from tram station Breakfast: very sumptuous for 5 Euros Cleanliness: Room was very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Very bad place the room is too expensive for the price . Will never do it again there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is over small . There is no closet in the room . The ceiling is too low . There is no elevator and even in my check out there is nothing to get my bag down and it was heavy so the bag it fell from the first floor to the ground floor . So most of the things are damaged . There is no AC and the weather was 38 degrees. The beds are less than 1 m 😂 And more and more

    I liked Only 1 things - that’s the location is near the station .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend it at all, worst experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a flight early in the morning as a result of this we needed to check out early. I got told early check out was not available as there will be no member of staff on the property till 8am. So had to do check out there and then. We had lots of bags with us one of which was a 20kg bag, the rest 10kg each plus our handbags. Initially the member of staff put our suitcases on a pulley system which got it to the 3 floor and we had to carry it the rest of the flights of stairs up. With no help from the member of staff. The following morning we managed to bring it down to the third floor and put it up on the hook for the pulley system. My friend went down to the ground floor to see if we could press the button to make the pulley work. A member of staff woke up and refused to help us (all he had to do was a press a button) he kept saying it’s too early take the suitcase of the hook and carry it down the 3 flights of stairs. The stairs which were incredibly narrow and steep, It was also 7-20am! All the member of staff had to do was to tell us which button to push. Staff were rude and unhelpful. The room we got was old and dated in the attack with slopping roof. Had to duck and dive for most of the time we were there. I even hit my head a couple of times. No fans or AC available, it was 34 degrees centigrade out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall a very good experience.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old charm comes with steep stairs. The bathroom has little space to put anything.

    View of Prinsengracht was beautiful. Tram was nearby, nice restaurant s nearby, cause to attractions.. charming place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in a good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice spacious room for the 3 beds. Good location, nice view of the canal - just remember to close your windows at night or mosquitoes will enter the room!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really accomodating and helpful. Great location for sight seeing, room really clean, beds comfy. Thank you for adding to our memorable trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    fabulous location on canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    steep stairs-this is amsterdam after all. powerplug either on floor in inaccessible corner behind curtain (extension cord would be useful) , or above bathroom mirror.

    fabulous location on canal. walk to reichsmuseum. on tramline. great value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful, authentic canal house experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a room on the top floor where the ceilings were slanted (as it was just under the roof). I enjoyed this quaint, authentic Amsterdam experience of living in a canal house with steep stairs & no lift. I enjoyed looking out the window which faces the yards & backs of other buildings. So quiet & I could hear birds chirping. Embrace all this & you will be able to bear with the steep stairs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and room size but these are nearly common in Amsterdam so it was not a big deal.

    The room was clean, bright and comfortable.The staff was amazing. Location is priceless :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice for the price I paid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit daunted when I realised that I am sleeping under the eaves on the top floor and no lift to take me there (good idea to enquire first where your room will be because the stairs start as you open the front door of the hotel)

    A warm welcome when I arrived, comfy bed, bathroom ok - place very clean. Breakfast next morning was enjoyable and I loved the old building and the way they tried to keep the integrity of the building from centuries ago.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    10/10 !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Hotel is clean. Staff friendly. Our flight was cancelled and we were refunded one night stay which is nice thank you very much! 10/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money accommodation, clean and welcoming Cost reflects no lift or air-con to be expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in an old canal-side building where, of necessity, the triple room is located at the top of the building resulting in many steep stairs to climb.

    Warm, friendly welcome. Triple room adequate size for a one-night stay. Enjoyable breakfast. Excellent location, a short walk from Rembrandtsplein.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location isn’t the greatest if your looking to go amsterdam for the coffee shops bars and so on, unless you LOVE walking you wil need to buy a tram ticket

    it was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    this is how you experience real Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel represents the way of living in Amsterdam. You are in the middle of the town and still can hear the birds singing in the morning. The owners are dedicated and very helpful. Fantastic location to discover the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    In a typical house in Amsterdam, along the canal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bedroom was under the roof and climbing there with a big suitcase was tricky Bedroom looked like as the hospital Pricey : we pay for the location not the bedroom

    In a typical house in Amsterdam, along the canal. Nice staff Offered me 2 breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful canals...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about it.

    The hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful canals with a great abundance of restaurants, bars and beautiful Dutch houses.Tram number 4 practically leaves you at the door. The staff was very friendly, breakfast is good and economic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Sonia was real helpful on check in and providing information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the extremely steep stairs to the first floor. We could not get the door answered on arrival and were about ready to leave when someone staying came back and let us in to check in. This property is not suitable for seniors or anyone with stair climbing dislike. You have to carry the bags up a long, steep flight of stairs to the entry for check in. Parking is an issue for a car. There is a parking garage 20 minute walk away for 30euros/24hrs. Parking on the street is hard to find and is 5 euros/hour.

    Sonia was real helpful on check in and providing information. The room was clean and beds were firm but comfortable for us. The baggage hoist after getting to the first floor was a life saver to get the bags to upper floors. There are many good places to eat and drink in the immediate area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Location to most major sights very convenient and walkable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries in room. Breakfast began at 830 am and no ability to access earlier or get coffee for early start back to airport. Stairs could be very challenging for some people. Workers painting outside building and right outside window. Had to keep windows and curtains closed during day hours of work. Poor ventilation in room unless window and door open

    Location to most major sights very convenient and walkable. Local tram about 100 feet from hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay and very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small.

    Our room was very nice. We could see the canal from our room. The location is also good. In the center and with tram in front of the hotel. And it’s quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hot weekend, so no to spacious room was also pretty hot inside.

    Great view Great location Magnificent building Very reasonable price as for Amsterdam standards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities - clean and easy - convenient and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drilling in the morning on our last day was a bit annoying but some things can’t be helped

    Sonia was very very friendly and happy to help - location was great and convenient. Situated next door to a super market and atms. Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One window couldn’t be closed tight so cold air kept coming in the room the whole time; I can imagine it could bring down the room temperature a lot when outside is cold and windy....

    We had a attic room with a window looking out to the canal; and as it’s on the top floor it was quiet as you hear nobody walking up and down the wooden stairs anymore. Our room was very spacious for Amsterdam. Bed was comfortable. Everything looked clean. Tram stops are close by the hotel. The gentleman at the reception was welcoming and funny.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful postion but very small and noisy room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we received from the owner was on the top floor, under the roof, with no elevator. It was very small, with a small bathroom and the soapcase of the sink was empty... above all there was a periodic mechanical noise every 20 min all day and all night... The positioning/price ratio was instead good.

    The position of the hotel is simply marvellous: the district is the most beautiful of Amsterdam in our opinion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hair dryer would have been useful but other than that it was very good and I would 100% stay again.

    The reception staff were very friendly, the rooms very clean, location very good. I was able to leave my suitcase with reception after checkout but only till 5pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    Dirty small room, nice bed but drilling at 7:40am, means not carring for guests
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, wasnt cleaned properly. Under the bed empty can of cola and used tissues. Room outdated with stains on the ceiling, looked less then a cheap hostel i have been in Bankok. Were also drilling at 7:40am....

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Easy & practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be concerned about

    The location was central but away from the hussle & bustle of the tourist areas. The staff were helpful & friendly. Just a practical quaint hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Simple inexpensive hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to access our room on the top floor were very steep. This hotel wouldn't be suitable to anyone with mobility issues. Although the hotel is non-smoking, the hallways smelled like smoke. Our room was fine, though.

    Located close to Rembrandt Square, this is a great low cost hotel in a perfect location. Rooms were spartan but clean. Good breakfast for 5 euros. Easy check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was nice, clean and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just 1 socket to put in charge my mobile and was far from the bedroom.

    The room was nice, clean and warm. You can see a nice view from the window. Really close to the tram station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Amazing and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay for my Sisters hen weekend , perfect location, lovely friendly staff who go above and beyond , great breakfast, lovely light clean rooms ... just a lovely place . Can’t wait to re visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable with strategic location, very convenient to walk around too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs but that’s an Amsterdam experience

    Friendly staff ever willing to help, Sonia was great in her welcome and concerned. Touched by her hospitality and friendliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is in a great location, near multiple tram and metro...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, from every room. Even with earplugs I could hear my noisy neighbours. Wi-fi was okay but sometimes my iPad mini couldn't get a signal. Stairs are steep. Staff are nice but barely there. Would like someone there more than 8-5. Couldn't have breakfast because it was served too late (8:30 start) - I was often gone by that time.

    Hotel is in a great location, near multiple tram and metro lines. It's right beside the canal so has a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    The people working in the hotel were so friendly they made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people working in the hotel were so friendly they made us feel welcome, and gave us lots of information and tips about getting around Amsterdam! The bedroom suit our stay perfectly, view from the room was gorgeous, and breakfast in the morning was basic but nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Simple, clean and small room which was prefect for my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I passed on the paid breakfast option after seeing the limited selection of the 'menu'

    Simple, clean and small room which was prefect for my business trip - great value for money. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean and central with helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single glazed window allowing noise and smoke from smokers below. Walls were too thin allowing noise from other rooms

    Clean and central with helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was not so close to dam square, about 3 km or so. but it was pretty close to rembrandt square so it's cool

    the room was great, big and very clean. the hosts was lovely, and the view of the room was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Nic place in a great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi stopped working for monday morning and there was constructionnalso at 7 am on Monday right out the back window

    Location is excellent. 1 block from the 7 bridges. On a transportation line. Walk to Rembrandtplein. Great food and drink all around

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    A traditional canal house in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a great hotel. A traditional canal house in an excellent location. The room we had was great, the breakfast (even though a small additional cost) was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. I had a dental emergency and the manager went out of his way to help me find a dentist in a city I did not know. Greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and well ran hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so hot during the night with no thermostat control in individual rooms, so we had to pin open our room door for the breeze and risk our belongings. If I was to be very harsh/picky - the walls are quite thin, but is expected with the architecture

    Staff were fantastic - very welcoming and attentive, catered to our specific needs. Location was great, building itself is lovely. Room was spotless and facilities matched.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous centrally located friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I borrowed a hairdryer and it started smoking haha. That was a bit scary so I just borrowed one from another guest. No big problem

    I can’t compliment the hotel staff enough- so friendly and welcoming and how much value for money it represented. I want this hotel to stay a secret, it is was that good! Borrowed an umbrella and they gave me complimentary coffee. Great! ✌🏼

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    A good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we'd had was the steep stairway. Accessing the property becomes a bit hard with luggage.

    The location was great and the staff was very helpful and kind. We were late for check-in as the reception shuts at 5pm. But the staff checked us in the next day. Getting here is very easy, it's a short tram ride from Centraal station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, clean rooms, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t affect us, but if you have any mobility problems, all the stairs would be a challenge. They do have a pulley system to help you get your bags up though.

    Excellent value for money, clean rooms, friendly staff, plentiful breakfast (and they didn’t charge for the 3 kids even though there was only one paying adult). Unbeatable location and beautiful 17th Century property - a real Amsterdam experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is absolutely stunning, the view I had from my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is absolutely stunning, the view I had from my window could not have been more beautiful! The building is very cute, typical dutch even if the stairs are a little terrifying! Great location, easy to get to most places on foot, comfy bed and clean room/bathroom!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Very Nice, quite small and very unconvenient stairs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice, quite small and very unconvenient stairs... but its is Also the charm of amsterdam... It was clean and i Would récommended it for a single person for 1 or 2 nights the staff was very Nice too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the cold white lightbulbs in the room. Didn't like how when I showed up at about 10:15PM the only person there was a guy who spends the night there for fire safety, and he was annoyed that I was able to make my reservation only an hour before showing up, and he was really not nice to me.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hairdryer in room so make sure you pack one.

    We stayed here for 3 nights and it was excellent value for money. Facilities were basic but that wasn't an issue with being in Amsterdam! Staff are friendly, breakfast was reasonable, overall the room was great and couldn't have asked for much more. Should be more than 1 star.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the price. Good location, but terrible steep stairs to enter the building.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs for enterance outside and inside with no offer of assistance. My friend had to carry her 23KG luggage up the enterance while a person stood there telling her to bring it up quicker. I requested an early check-in for my friend who arrived after a 15 hour flight, and she was told to wait until 5pm (she arrived at 9am) or go and travel around while a room became free. After I called to ask about why she wasn’t able to check in (I was arriving later), I was addressed with raised voices telling me there is nothing they can do. If this was the case, they should not say that an earlier check-in is available. Proof of this request should be available as it was made through booking.com. Not only was I addressed this way, but my very tired friend too, who had no involvement in this. The situation was only calmed after my friend apologised dearly. She was then made to wait an hour and given another room.

    Nice location. Good bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Prinshof stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance stairs were a bit steep if you're unprepared!!!

    The property was in a great location, just outside the main town centre, so it saves you a bit of money. Very clean, with great staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs with heavy luggage. Thin walls so can hear everything in next room.

    Location was great. We were close by to local tourist attractions. Cute location and safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, v clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was walls were like paper you could here everything that was going on in hotel.

    Great location, lovely staff, very clean and great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift it is ok but the stairs are not easy for luggages. But it is ok :)

    Location is perfect near the tram station and it is easy to reach from central station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Quaint canal house in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are steep but we knew that so it was manageable but could be difficult for some people

    This place was a wee gem to begin our European holiday. It is a rather quaint canal house - exactly the sort of thing we like. It was great to have breakfast the next day - delightful breakfast room and good food. So nothing to complain about here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I personally found the bed rather hard but this is a personal preference.

    The hotel is simply a 1 star and thus we expected very little and received a lot more. The owners are excellent and provide a breakfast for only 5 Euro which was excellent value for money. The location is ideal - easy walking distance to everything. The rooms are simple and yet have all the necessities. We returned late the day of check in and they kindly placed our luggage in our room ( via the hook - you must stay there to have this enjoyable experience)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    Very modest accommodation, keep the search
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Location is only ok. Very sparse furnishings, shower and hand gel in a common fitting - too much effort to dispense, I bought my own! An electric kettle would have helped. Thin walls and ceilings, hard to sleep both nights, a tv would have drowned out the noise, but not to be. Modest place for that price - keep looking!

    I found the person in charge very pleasant. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money, but was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money, I guess you pay for the location. Certain staff members a bit rude. Breakfast choice not great, just continental. Stairs are really steep and not great if your room is higher than the first floor. No staff in the hotel from 5pm-8am so if you have any issues between them it's a bit of tough luck. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was a disappointment.

    Hotel was in a good location. Approximately 20 minutes walk maximum to all the main attractions and a tram stop right at the end of the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    The room was large and comfortable, very clean and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and comfortable, very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Brilliant location. We didn't have breakfast but it looked very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Clean and comfortable hotel. Helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything we disliked. The only thing I would say is it would not be a good choice for anyone with mobility issues as there are some steep steps from street/ground level to the hotel reception/room levels.

    Great location - quiet street by a canal. Walking distance of many of the major sights. Tram stop, Line 4, 2 mins from the hotel which goes directly to Amsterdam Central station - great for airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is very clean and cozy, the breakfast is good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay attention: they don't have a lift.

    The hotel is very clean and cozy, the breakfast is good and the staff is amazing. Everyone was very nice to me and even helped me with my huge luggage. My room was most adorable and had the nicest balcony window facing one of the canals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    A bit far from the airport for my quick overnight stay, but otherwise charming and suitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds a bit hard and duvet too heavy but no other blanket options (this is a common EU issue that drives me nuts). Pillows small and lumpy. The whole building except my room smelled strongly of pot. This is Amsterdam, after all, but it's not a pleasant smell.

    Lots of character, which expressed itself in lots of treacherous stairs. No lift. Room #10 w/ private bathroom was well planned in terms of use of space. It was clean, with nice things like a window that opens for fresh air and views down to neighborhood gardens, etc. Attic room prob not best for really tall people. €5 breakfast was a great deal with good options: meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, and the expected beverages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Only, for the budget conscious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, No.10, was built into the rafters of the roof, and was unpleasant to stay in. However, the hotel was full over this period, so we couldn't change rooms. We did manage to see other rooms during the stay, and they appeared to offer better accommodation. More importantly, the steep stairs are narrow, and to my mind, verging on the dangerous - and there are four staircases to be climbed, if you're on the top floor. Definitely not for elderly people of children...!

    The staff are very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfasts, at an additional Euro5.00, represent great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Good for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the neighbors from next door and upstairs. Very small rooms and bathroom had a lot of mold. Beds were very hard - personally found them uncomfortable. The staff was not particularly customer oriented but not rude either - not sure if it's only the Dutch way.

    Excellent location. The building is a classic Amsterdam house so expect steep stairs and paper walls. Even so it was quiet. Breakfast was great value. Lots of cafes nearby and the Prinsengracht canal is at your doorstep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Our first family holiday in the Nederlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower works perfectly but it doesn't have a base so it might be slippery at times. I don't think that this hotel is good for the aged or for families with young children because the stair case is really steep.

    I liked most of the things. The staff are very helpful. The breakfast is really worth it (€5 per person per day). The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds and floors were creaky; can hear noise from other rooms and hallways (not a quiet building, especially at night). Why no shower curtain in the bathroom? Entire bathroom floor gets wet when you take a shower, but they do provide a squeegie! Very steep stairs, which may be a concern to some (no elevator, but they have a cool pulley system to transfer luggage up to your floor).

    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a pretty nice, small, very clean Hotel with lovely people !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely NOTHING to complain !

    Very, very clean room, good furniture, great view to the Gracht, for 5 Euro very good breakfast in a very nice room – and last, but not least: very very nice people !! In 30years-traveling this hotel is under my ‘Top 3’ in this Category ! Fully recommend to stay there !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    best area and right next to tram stop from central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lots and lots of steep (60 degrees?) stairs- would likely be impossible with a big suitcase

    could leave bag early and after checkout. toilet in hall available after checkout. view of canal if stand at window

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location, budget hotel with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, not very comfortable (sloped ceilings, small bathroom with sloped ceilings made it hard to move around), bathroom not very nice.

    Location was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and charming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For people who mind (we didn't) or have mobility difficulties: no lift and steep staircases. The spotlight in the bathroom was blinking after a few minutes (because of the humidity of the shower, were we told). Also the water outflow system in the shower is a bit slow, so if you use an electrical device right after the shower, you stand on a wet floor... However that kind of floor dries quickly.

    Old warehouse renovated into a nice hotel. Our room located in the 4th floor (attic) was small but charming with a view to the canal. The twin beds were comfortable. Toilet and bathroom are separated. Very clean. The breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. All kinds of delicious and fair prices places to eat in the street next to the hotel. Great location to walk or bike everywhere. The tram number 4 brings you directly from the central Station to the hotel... Easy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Great value!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The location of this hotel is beautiful and central. It was clean, cute and very good value for the money. The breakfast was decent too. The room was perfect and very comfortable for a single traveler.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Loved the hotel, the location, we will come back! Recommended low-budget hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom - smell of smoke? The beds a bit hard.

    Lovely typical townhouse close to the canal. We had canal view. Lots of cafees and restaurants nearby. Top location, calm. Walking distance to most attractions. Enjoyed the breakfast (only 5 euro) with cheese and ham, egg and jam, cereals. And the best coffe in town! Our granddaughter of 11 years did not pay. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great little one-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioning, and we were there during a very hot spell.

    It's a 1-star hotel, but a high quality one-star. Our room was clean, the location was great, and the building had a lot of personality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    The location of the hotel was perfect, could walk everywhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was perfect, could walk everywhere we wanted there was also trams straight into the centre but it's was 15min walk so we walked everyday day and did sight seeing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean, cozy rooms await after steep stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. The problem is not just if you are on an upper floor. Just to ring the doorbell, there are steep stairs that aren't deep enough to rest your suitcase on. Once buzzed in, there is a steep flight of stairs with those little steps. They do have solid hand railings, but anyone with mobility issues or lots of luggage should be advised. (Once in, they do have a clever pulley system for lifting your suitcase up to the room level). The staff is friendly but small, unable to help with bags, and not always onsite. This is probably why it's a 1* and not more, since the rooms were quite nice.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean and simple.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: