Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prinsenhotel 3 stars

Vondelstraat 36-38, Oud-West, 1054 GE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#234 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1810 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Sewer problems with a resulting terrible smell in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sewer problems with a resulting terrible smell in the bathroom. Old building, noisy hotel located on a dark street, but close to good tram connections and good restaurants. Woke up at least 10 times during the one night I spent there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Cosy but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was very small, no kettle or tea/coffee. Staff were a bit strange, I can understand why people have written reviews saying that they are rude.

    Great spot and true room was cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    4.6
    Terrible experience.... no air circulatating on the third floor rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room temperature was terrible, we were on the thrid floor and during the night we felt a sophocation sensation, we couldn't open the window since we were traveling with two kids so we spent a terrible night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay and appreciated for all their help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be amazing if the laundry service is provided, but the laundry house with self-service is super close as well.

    The staff was really helpful and understanding!! And breakfast everyone is amazing! Location is perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    This was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. There was barely a foot of space on each side of the bed and that was it. If we had had a suitcase any larger than a carry-on, we wouldn't even have been able to lay it flat to open it. (We could lay our carry-on flat, just barely, next to the bed, but then we had to step over it to get to the bathroom. It was also exceptionally hot in Amsterdam (36 degrees Celsius) and it was impossible to open the window because the bed blocked it. There was no air conditioning, and we had to beg for a fan (apparently it was the only one in the hotel).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    50/50
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same daily breakfast which mainly consists bread and cold cuts, small room with no refrigerator, only staircase to the main entrance, which may be an issue if you have a stroller, no AC, the baby high chair wasn’t perfectly clean.

    Friendly staff, good location, luggage storage room option, balcony to a garden view, free wi-fi, clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was adequate for what we needed , but would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving at the hotel , I asked how many towels were there in the rooms as all of us girls have long hair and would need two each , he replied rather rudely that one was enough , but he would look to procedure is extra if he had them . When we were given one key per room ( we had a twin and a triple room) , we asked for additional keys , to which he wasn't amused either . Also atbreakfast the staff were trying to be attendative but it was to much , to the point when doing our toast , we were told that was toasted enough and they removed the toast with there figures , it was light brown hardly at burning stage . As soon as you put a serving folk down it was straightened up , making you feel awkward

    The continental breakfast was very nice and we all commented on his nice the crossaints were

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    It served our purpose well. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy at night sometimes e.g. from people talking loudly late at night from the room above and from doors banging etc. Maybe the walls were a bit thin or something.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The cold buffet breakfast was good. The location was excellent. The room was small, simple but fine with a reasonable shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Great for deep sleepers... might not be so great for everyone else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on in the other rooms and the floor above you. Also breakfast was ok but I didn’t feel it was quite worth 10 euros.

    Early check-in and a beautiful garden. The staff were helpful and easy to communicate with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location, friendly staff and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything that we didnt like. Maybe tea and coffee facilities in the room would be nice although it isn't really an issue.

    The hotel staff were friendly, very helpful and always on hand if you need anything. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony, the room was very clean, had beautiful decor and best of all comfy beds! A lot of thought has gone into this hotel. Its in a great location, on a quiet street away from the noise of the city but close enough to be within a few minutes walk of everything. If we come back to Amsterdam we will be planning our trip around the availability at this hotel - we would love to stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay with the Prinsen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place require some renovation and a bit more serious cleaning crew. Oh, and the bed wasn't that much...

    The owner and the rest of the staff were all so lovely. Also, great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    overall stay was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities were not upto the mark.there was no AC in the room. Only a table fan has been provided. There was no small refrigerator or oven in the room. The room was very small.

    The location was good.The tram station was close to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A great central location, and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfasts were great and the food and coffees plentiful. We really enjoyed our balcony with the double opening doors. The garden was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    A really nice family hotel.. Would stay there again in a flash if the price is right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No aircon Matteress was a bit too soft for my liking Room a tad on the small side, but this is common in older properties in Amsterdam and not that much of a deal

    Room had balcony/safe/fan Good wet bathroom with excellent shower Hotel has lift and private garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    Very rude staff and dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The person in charge (clearly distinguishable from the rest) was extremely rude to us from the very first day. We had a problem with our card eventhough our booking had been done properly and instead of helping us we were threatened to be "kicked out of our room". Once we arrived to the hotel we were once again put into a very uncomfortable sitution. This time we were reminded that in "amsterdam all hotels are booked all year round and therefore they didn't really need us as hosts as they could easily find new ones on the day", Throughout our stay the person in charge didn't speak a single word to us and was hesitant to even help us with directions around the area. The room and hotel in general had a constant "damp/humid" smell. This was noticeable both in the restaurant and in the actual rooms. In particular, everytime we came back in the afternoon the smell was clearly concentrated and it even stuck to our clothes. Another very negative aspect was the lack of general cleaning and room service. One day we slept until 10am and when we came back at 8pm found the room as we left it. They clearly had no intentions of cleaning once we had "missed our chance". In summary; finding a hotel in amsterdam is tough but honestly, I wouldn't recommend this one at all. It can be a very unpleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bigger room

    Staff were friendly and breakfast good. Rooms were extremely small and there was no airconditioning. Room on the front was very noisy with the window open for air. Great position close to restaurants and museums. Would stay again if I got a room at the back. Lovely back garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely garden, helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room.

    The only thing I did not love was the size of our room. It was quite small. That said, it was a minor consideration in light of the location, which was brilliant. Additionally, one could take one’s breakfast in the lovely garden—and an excellent breakfast it was. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are way smaller as on the pictures. Booked room with terrace and 1 big bed, got room without terrace and where you hardly could move with 2 people.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, lovely location. Great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt that it could have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But that is all.

    We thought the location was fantastic for the price. 10-15 min walk into Dam square etc. Lovely friendly staff who were always happy to help. Nice continental style breakfast with croissants, meats, cheeses and fruit. No full English- but you aren’t in England!! So we were more than happy with the included breakfast. Small rooms, but what else do you need other than a bed and a bathroom?! Really impressed, especially with the price. There IS a lift so the steep stairs really don’t need to be a consideration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, great staff - but definitely overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At £175 I did not think that the condition or facilities of the hotel merited the price. Whilst clean it is a little dated.

    Contrary to other reviews, I found the front desk service polite and helpful and also my room was not too hot. It is really well located and also loved that breakfast was included in the price even though I didn't have time to eat it. My rool also had a nice little terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin. I heard the family next door any time I was in my room.

    The location was amazing. The staff was very nice. The room was very clean. I loved the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Location, close to trams, Vondelpark, museums etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, close to trams, Vondelpark, museums etc. Breakfast was really good. Reception and cleaning staff were really friendly and polite, spoke perfect English ( which was very good because our Dutch is non existent). The breakfast clearing staff were very good, no table was dirty for long after guests had gone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small for 2 people

    Excellent location. Tram 1 (3&5?) go from main station to Leidseplein, a busy square. Cross the canal heading south and Vondelstraat is there. Trams have destinations clearly displayed. Can buy ticket in tram. Breakfast very good. Wifi good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    It saved my day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a little more from a 3* hotel... I had requested a single room, it had everything I needed but was quite small, I don't think it exceeded 8sqm. It was located in the basement, and was smelling a bit like moldy. Bed was too soft. Bathroom was smaller than 2sqm, but again, it had everything I needed but was quite small.

    Easy to reach from the airport. Conveniently located. Clean !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    This is a lovely little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small, but had everything I needed.

    This is a lovely little hotel. Though the room was quite small, the bed was nice and very comfortable and it was enough for me as I didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The breakfast was very nice, with yummy croissants and a lovely breakfast room. There is a small garden behind the hotel, but I didn't get a chance to go out there. The location was really good as it is close to many things I wanted to see and do and close to easy transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Love the Prinsenton Hotel especially its Staff and its Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was perfect.

    You get the Juices, Hard Boiled Eggs, the Cheese, the Hams and Turkey Cold Cuts, the Cereals, the Croissants, the Butters and the Jellies, Assorted Breads, hot drinks excellent breakfast all around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Tiny bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if we had a large closet or a tiny bedroom. Bed up against the wall and no where to put cases. The f you were in the room you had to lay or sit on the bed as there was no where else

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    central location, beautiful building, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no air conditioning. Outdoor temperature 25 degrees, room temperature 30 degrees (the sun sets on that part). Small room, small windows and can not be open completely.

    central location, beautiful building, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Nothing more than a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely small, you are unable to move around with suitcases in the room. Bathroom is very basic with toilet in an uncomfortable position. Shower is just a hole in the floor with a shower curtain. Night staff was rude. Matress was old and uncomfortable. Do note: there is no aircon and rooms can get humid in summer. You don’t get any value for your money apart from a good location.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    zufriedenstellend,weiter empfehlen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the Hotel we felt like at home.The room was clean.The breakfast was various and good.The staff was kind specially receptionist.We vill recommend the Prinsenhotel to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    Worse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad.

    The night shift receptionist, for joking, hit my head with my passport like a stick. No bad review will make this hotel take any action or improve its service. It will be like this forever. So, I will not waste my time to complain about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Great breakfast and nice garden area to relax in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately got allocated a basement room with slit windows facing the road. There was no aircon and a very hot weekend. Having the windows open was necessary but also very noisy as people walked past at all hours of the night and very early morning with suitcases. With young kids, this was tough as they woke up a lot.

    Great breakfast and nice garden area to relax in the evening. Great location as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Rooms were in the basement, which was a bit uncomfortable. It seems to be common in Amsterdam, but wasn‘t mentioned in the booking confirmation, so we didn‘t know until the arrival

    + Good breakfast + Nice staff + Lovely neighborhood + Next to different tram stations + Next to airport bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant friendly place to stay in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room could get a bit tight sometimes but because not everyone came down at once it was fine. Friendly.

    The bed/bedroom was comfortable and came with a delightful little balcony over looking a leafy street with beautiful buildings possibly circa. 1890-1900. The staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, lovely view from breakfast room to garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would always like tea making facilities in my room. Some rooms advertise it but not in my room.

    Very convenient to the Rijksmuseum and Canal boat ride and to public transport. The female daytime receptionist was really helpful and made my stay more relaxed and pleasant. Great continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have a standard tea and coffee making facilites in the room as well as soap,shampoo and conditioner as standard .

    Staff,cleanliness,breakfast ,venue

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    clean nice staffs breakfast with variety kinds of food ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is half underground. Maybe because of our late reservation

    clean nice staffs breakfast with variety kinds of food especially great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay here and added to our Amsterdam experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved the breakfast and was a great start to each day. Room small but comfortable, especially bed and great shower. Loved being able to walk straight out onto the garden. Staff friendly and central to museums and transport stops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Very good place to stay, pretty near the Rijkmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is good. You can either walk 25 min from the central station, or take 1/2/5 trams there. The breakfast was nice and the room was clean and cozy. A very big park is just nearby, I took a walk there and enjoyed wonderful morning time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    A bit overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t look after this old building good enough so you get all the bonuses like broken doors and creaking floor. Worst pillows I have ever seen in hotels. Poor breakfast.

    They upgrade me from single to a small double room. It was super small though. Location is good a bit far from trashy tourist area next to a nice park and close to museums. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Lovely experience to Amsterdam to celebrate 50th & 60th birthdays year with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several steps up into the hotel so would be difficult for those with accessibility issues, however once inside there is a lift and our large bedroom had an accessible wet room en suite.

    Great continental breakfast with freshly baked croissants and rolls. Friendly family run hotel located on a nice quiet side road but easy access to all Amsterdam has to offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.8
    Awkward and Uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was rude. Room was horrific, in the basement, and poorly constructed. Bathroom door won't close because the door frame was incorrectly align. Hotel did not have toothpaste when I asked about it. Basically a self -service hotel. Do not stay here if you have other options.

    Good location - close to central Amsterdam and to Museum Square. Breakfast decent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the room that was given to us was not at all like the one shown in pictures at the time of booking. It was an apology of a room with no place to put luggage or even a side stand let alone a table. The person manning the reception spoke nothing but lies. He said all rooms in the hotel were similar with the bed pushed against the wall but when we persisted on getting a better room the second day, we realised that other rooms did have a little better space. We felt cheated and demand a refund for the first night which we spent in the horrible first room.

    Nothing really. This was a very disappointing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    It was delightful to have a room (with an opening window)...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was delightful to have a room (with an opening window) overlooking the hotel's lovely and immaculate garden. I enjoyed having breakfast at the huge picture windows looking at the trees and shrubs in full blossom. The hotel is on a quiet street of beautifully maintained historic buildings. And the gentleman on reception was so well prepared he greeted me by name before I had introduced myself! So the whole experience was one of beauty and joy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for short break in a good location in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small- twin room but no space between beds - was with my sister so not a major issue, but could have been if a degree of separation was required. Bathroom was just about wide enough for a slim person. The gap between the sink and the wall was about 18 inches. Basically about 3 foot wide with a frosted sliding glass door which didn’t afford much privacy when sitting on the toilet. That said it was decorated to a good standard with toiletries and hairdryer. An attic room with two sky light type windows. There were no drawers just some shelves and a hanging space.

    Good location close to park and museum quarter. Quieter part of town. Key safe in room and luggage storage facilities. Good cold buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Try to avoid it if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was rude and unprofessional. They've messed up their notes and woke us up at 3am asking us to pay them for our stay! When we said that we'll go downstairs first thing in the morning, the guy at the reception insisted that we went down immediately as he made a mistake and he'd be in trouble. Ridiculous and unacceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Located in a quiet road beween Mariott and NH hotels ideal for touring city of canals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi for my Android and several others as staff said it was my Phone ,I think there is a technical problem.I used my data roaming a cost I had not planned.

    Bedroom small but comfortable and a little noise from upstairs (room5),staff friendly ,breakfast good and back garden with parrots was relaxing. I will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel and would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue was that cigarette smoke would come in the windows of our room when someone was smoking on the patio and the wifi was not consistent because our room was on the lower level.

    We had a room in the lower floor with 4 beds. It wasn't a big room, but finding a place with separate beds for our kids was really hard and this room delivered! It was particularly warm out while we visited Amsterdam so since the room was on the garden level, it stayed nice and cool. It was also relatively quiet. The breakfast had something for everyone and was very well displayed and maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell in the room due to old carpet or something and there was no bellboy to help with luggage.The pillows were too soft too.

    Breakfast was good. Location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor Value considering price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was given a single room in the basement , very damp smell , very small room , tiny bathroom and infested with ants . Sparce furniture and poor lighting . Not even a bedside cabinet to place a phone or glass of water .No cups or glasses No coffee making facilities . Would not stay again , sorry

    Staff excellent , friendly , helpful and very welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super located, walking distance to big park and museums. Also very easy connection from Schiphol airport ( bus no 397,~~25 min, bus station almost oposite side of the hotel's street. Very tasty breakfast, with nice view to the garden. Room very basic but clean, quiet, wifi available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good location close to museum quarter, with friendly,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is very old, and so some of the rooms are rather noisy when someone is walking on the corridors.

    Very good location close to museum quarter, with friendly, fat hotel cat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location with access to all public transportation ,the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with access to all public transportation ,the staff are very helpful and friendly especially Fouad ,room is clean with comfortable bed .They serve a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    2.5
    The paid reception staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay here if you plan on working at night or staying up past 10pm. Very strange situation. On the second day of our stay I arrive from a meal to a rather flustered hotel owner telling me to immediately pay my open hotel tab of 20 euros, introducing and asserting himself as “the man” . Even though check out was the next day I obliged and handed him the card I used to pay for the booking, he rudely demanded that I pay in cash so I was left scrambling for coins in my pockets. I arrive to a freezing cold room with no heating, I call “the man” and a short time later he walks in, turns the T.V off and starts whispering loudly that I was not to talk or watch T.V in my room, after totally ignoring the fact the radiators weren’t working. He hisses that a family with a baby is in the next room and as their stay is longer and they are paying more per night I must abide by these rules. Then I am told to not use the room balcony if I want to have some fresh air or cigarette, even though I especially requested a room with a balcony or easy access outside for this purpose. Eventually seeing the way the whole situation was developing I reminded him about the heating problem he nonchalantly tells me me that we can go and see the night staff later on or tomorrow and try and get an extra blanket if they have one. He makes no effort to get said blanket for us or to move us to another room To add insult to injury I find out my credit card has been charged twice for the room and “the man” is conveniently nowhere to be found! Never before have I been treated like this in hundreds of work stays all over Europe. Being treated like this guys house hand in an establishment I paid 110euros per night for is obscene. The finishing touch is as he taps my foot walking out of the door as if to tell her this was the situation if we didn’t like it, well tough.

    The paid reception staff were very friendly. Location good, about 15 minutes from central station short walk and tram

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    luggage room to small and all bags upside down.

    located very near to public transport to and from central station with shuttle bus to and from airport just round the corner (bus 397). tasty breakfast, very clean hotel with lovely back garden. near to many attractions 10 min walk, Rijks, Van Gogh Museum, Heineken experience and many more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forbidden to consume any food and drink in the room. A cup of tea had to be bought downstairs in reception and consumed in the breakfast area. Therefore no early morning cup of tea before breakfast.

    Hot water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly hotel serving continental brekkie, small rooms but very clean in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a lovely coffee machine in reception it would have been nice to have been able to have a morning or late evening brew in our room. The room was smaller than expected although very clean. Would have been nice to have had a chair on the balcony so we could both sit down outside as only one chair in the room.

    The staff, from checking in to out were extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was continental and had a nice selection. We loved sitting out on our balcony in the evening. The area was lovely and quiet! Residential. Near some of the museums, only a mile walk to the Dam Square. A lovely Italian retaurant, Trattoria Toto s just round the corner and a Lidl (keep walking past Toto, Turn right) too. Our room card opened the main door to the hotel, perfect for late nights and felt safe in the hotel. Some nice bars nearby too if you want to stay local one night. This was our third visit in a different area of Amsterdam. Still so much to see and do. Our fave drinking/eating place for lunch was Frame on Rembrandt Square. Heated overhead lamps, reasonable prices, gorgeous food and welcoming service. Perfect place to people watch and we visited the art market on the square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Great central location that was very peaceful but only a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little on the cold side and I couldn't work out how to operate the radiator but this is very minor. Northern Europe in March is a little on the cold side by default.

    Great central location that was very peaceful but only a few minutes walk from the Museum Quarter, Leidseplein and bus and tram links. They also serve a good buffet breakfast that will set you up well for the day and the staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff, clean comfortable room, great location for our sightseeing, and easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was softer than I like, but that is a matter of preference.

    Friendly helpful check-in staff. Clean room and bathroom. Enough space for 2 people. Twin room as requested. Breakfast of breads (including raisin bread), flaky croissants, cold meats, cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, cooked eggs, coffee, tea, yummy orange juice and fruit basket. Short walk from the Museum Quarter. Even shorter walk to/from tram to Centraal and Sloterdijk stations. Also easy to reach from airport (short train and short tram ride). Accurate pictures on website. I’d stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Loved Amsterdam, we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room which were needed because with the windchill it was -10 outsider, the hotel charged you for drinks from a machine, our room was really tight for space with little room to put equipment. Maybe free drinks for guests.

    Location, breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for solo travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that much option for breakfast.

    Prinsen is perfect for solo travelers. Bed was very comfortable. Location is perfect! Everything was perfect during my stay. Staff were very nice and helpful. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Amsterdan tips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent. Take the 397 bus from the airport and get off at leidesplein. 5 minute walk from I Amsderdam sign, 15 minute walk to Dam Square. Loads of bars and restaurants in Leidesplein square. Hoopman irish bar and dan murphys was great for paddys day. Walk to De Hallen( food hall) very kool spot for bite to eat and drink. Did a boat trip with those dam boat guys was brilliant. Only 8 on the boat..bring your own drink. Explore loads of fab areas down side streets along canels. Mr Porter restaurant very nice if you are celebrating an occasion. Needs to be booked though. Ice bar is kool. Make sure you book all tickets online as long queues into all attractions. Marriot hotel near prinsen hotel very nice for drink and food. Also the american hotel lovely for a drink..water fountain in front of it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    stay for 1 night was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small rooms, one was in the basement - this information was not included in room description. Corridors shows the need of renovation.

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Cosy hotel but a bit overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was cosy but tiny and had very bad soundproofing. The matress was too soft.

    Breakfast room with view on the garden. Location close to the Vondelpark, near the Leidseplein but in a quiet street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and excellent friendly staff, fantastic wifi & clean tidy rooms with comfy beds . The Breakfast was far better than i was expecting, I pretty much fueled up for most of the day . I would happily stay again as you are close to museum quarter and a lovely park and 2 mins from tram stop that will run you all the way to central station via Dam sq. We like walking and did plenty to appreciate this amazing city, but it was handy to have a tram stop close to Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double room was really small in size,felt a bit claustrophobic. Walls are really thin so there was allot of noise from other guests and everything could be heard.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money - great location - good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    The hotel was adequate for what we needed . Masood (think his name was ) who works behind the reception was lovely , very informative and a great sense of humour ! He is a credit to the hotel . Breakfast was nice - just enough to get us through breakfast and lunch . Very nice spread . The room was clean and tidy however a lot smaller than We expected however this wasn't a problem as we just slept in the room !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff we the best part! So genuinely lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got a little too hot at night & not warm enough in the day! But everything else was lovely

    The room aesthetics & the beautiful view of architecture

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    It was wonderful x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff were amazing very helpful and friendly! The bed was so comfy we didn't want to get up it was warm with a great view definately will come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A super experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was lovely staff were so friendly and very helpful breakfast lovely and lots to eat we had a fab stay a big thank you to all the staff location was super

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    The bed was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was amazing!!! Really comfortable, nice breakfast and excellent location everything really close to the the centre.Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    The staff were really nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee to make in the room. The walls were like paper so getting a rest in the morning was never going to happen, you could hear everyone walking around wheeling bags etc.

    The staff were really nice and friendly. The bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    location is convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is not a hotel, it is a b&b, with ridiculous small roma and very unfriendly staff, no wellcome no good bye, just asking us to pay the room rate. don‘t book there!

    location is convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    this hotel is a 2 star at the very most.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very noisy. Doors slamming all night, the person above me sounded like they were coming through the ceiling. The person we were "greeted" by was obnoxious. Got a hand to the face while we had to wait for him to finish his food we were eating.

    Worst breakfast in the world! Couldn't find the coffee, pastry, cheese or ham, nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone attempted our door handle at around 11 o'clock at night and the next morning was some drilling next door

    The location was great and staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Prinsenhotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: