Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pulitzer Amsterdam 5 stars

Prinsengracht 323, Amsterdam City Centre, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#19 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1744 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the lobby was chaotic, i walked in bags were just set in the middle and wasn't greeted very nicely, thank goodness the concierge staff made up for it. its just a bit too hectic for me,

    i loved the room service staff, loved the comfortable bed, truly appreciated the garden space in the middle and that i had a beautiful view of it. the french press coffee in room and the coffee blend were amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Can't wait to come back there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Loved the hotel!

    The avocado toast is out of this world good!! The hotel is extraordinarily comfortable, in all ways. Room was spacious and view of the canal was priceless. Beds superb. Wonderful attentive service. Front desk so professional and kind and pleasant. Easy to deal with. The garden was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location but standard rooms need some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light in the closet was broken, the bathroom was small and outdated. there is no doormen to help withthe suitcases on steps toward the reception

    The location is just perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    It is my ideal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food quality after 10pm wasn’t 5 star standard but before 10pm it is great

    It is my ideal hotel. It feels cozy like a small hotel but it is actually very large and happening. The Architecture is amazing. The breakfast is good. Overall it made Amsterdam a great break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and a very pleasant hotel facilities in Amsterdam city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in could be a little bit more friendly. And, although I understand we were given a promotional rate during our stay, the first room that had been assigned to our reservation wasn’t worth the rates charged by this hotel. But I have to say that after complaining, we were immediately changed to a very good room. Although decoration is generally very pleasant, we hated the carpet flooring all over the property.

    Location, location and location! Plenty of space in the public areas, including outdoor. The concierge who took our luggage to the first room that was given us was also very helpful in the process of moving us to a better room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Location , breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try to book a room with canal view , our room had a very poor view , hard to reach the room , this property is not suitable for old people and kids . The housekeeping services is not a 5 starts hotel standard . Everything else is amazing and I recommend it

    Location , breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    I loved the garden where you could sit and have a glass of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I loved the garden where you could sit and have a glass of wine or a coffee. I liked the location and the uniqueness of the décor.The staff were very Friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    The shower was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner did not work well. There were wet paint signs leading to our room, the room was claustrophobic, a red rag was left in our room after cleaning, it took over an hour and a second call to get ice.

    The shower was wonderful. The staff were all very polite and tried to be helpful. the boat tour and Captain were great. The location was great with wonderful restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am fussy about pillows, but I would have like the option of a down pillow.

    This hotel feels unique and personal. Every aspect of the decor is beautiful and well considered. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is fantastic; the breakfast was wonderful! It really made our stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Unique and beautiful hotel. Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Janz restaurant in hotel was very good. Informal cafe was not

    Rooms are in 25 renovated canal houses. My room was in a house built in mid 1600, but totally up to date. Canals on both sides of property. Beautiful art, and pretty courtyards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Amsterdam Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Staff were all so polite, friendly and chatty. Hotel is beautiful, our room was amazing (Music themed suite) and absolutely loved the location! Thanks to all at the Pulitzer, we will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    I want to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great boutique hotel with high design and luxurious touches. I took many photos of the hotel for ideas to use in my own home. Easily fell asleep in the scrumptiously soft and comfy bed. I am happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quality service with attentive staff who make you feel very welcome. The hotel is centrally located next to cafes, boutique fashion stores and next to all the popular tourist destinations. Family and I are definitely coming back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    Active construction above my room the.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Active construction above my room the. When I complain the hotel manager he even say it was normal for them to start working at 9am!!!!!! They do not respect guest!! Truly disappointed with the hotel and its staff!! Never comming back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy appliances in rooms Ticking from air conditioning controls Loud hum from the fridge Cakes in the cafe are surprisingly poor quality Outside sofas are stained and dirty

    Great location Breakfast was amazing Staff are super friendly Beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience in a fantastic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very helpful, The hotel is very quaint and well appointed. The location was superb. We took their canal cruise on their 109 year old cruiser--be sure to do this!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Luxury hotel in a gorgeous part of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed by the continental breakfast (ordered to the room) expensive for what you received. The lobby area felt chaotic/busy. Service wasn't up to scratch in Pulitzer's bar. Bartenders mostly talking amongst themselves, not offering us any nuts, not once asked how our drinks were or whether we wanted more drinks or have explained the menu to us (which doesn't label the cocktail ingredients).

    Great service at reception, staff were friendly and helpful especially the concierge Ron! Amazing design, lots of thought has gone into the place. Was sent a bottle of prosecco as it was our anniversary which was a nice touch. We spent a bit more money to ensure we had a canal view and were not disappointed. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had some room service dinner which was lovely! The toiletries were lovely and the design of the room was fab, could have done with a bath. Impressed by the english tv channels. The bar was a lovely place to unwind in the evening, nice dark decor but can get busy. Loved the outdoor space, especially the swinging chairs. Wonderful location, very classy area. Lots of high end restaurants around if you like that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    A hyped hotel with mediocre service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extra via Booking.com ( 50 Euro ) for a room with a canal view. During checkin told that there was no such request. After some ugliness and discussion, the hotel finally gave us a room with a canal view. According to the reception, such requests cannot be made via Booking.com. I have shown them the correspondence with Booking.com and waiting for their reply. Requested tea bags through room service but never received it. The signage to the lifts is confusing. The hotel is like a maze where one can easily get lost. The fire escape stair case has dangerous narrow steps where one can easily slip and fall.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    OVERALL GREAT HOTEL WITH GOOD FACILITIES AND STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SOUNDPROOFING OF ROOM WAS POOR , ROOM 342 COULD HEAR THE NEIGHBOR COUGHING ALL NIGHT !! BREAKFAST PACK ORDERED THE NIGHT BEFORE WE LEFT DID NOT ARRIVE .

    THE HOTEL DESIGN , STAFF , LOCATION

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel, very clean, a lovely room and well set...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    A beautiful hotel, very clean, a lovely room and well set out hotel. Located on a canal with great service and an even better restaurant, the hotel is a must for any Amsterdam visitor. One of my favourite hotels anywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. Unique in that it’s made up of a group of very old canal houses. Excellent facilities in the middle of one of the nicest parts of Amsterdam. Excellent service and friendly staff. It’s a bit pricey, but a great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Beautifully designed hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior rooms a bit dark - opt for canal or garden views

    Beautifully designed hotel with friendly staff. Good restaurants. Great croissants, lively bar, great mix of clientele. Best location in amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great except the noise in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 171 on ground floor very comfortable however noise in the evening from the foot traffic in the passage way and over flow of noise from the bar and guests returning in the evening. Was a big disappointment.

    Great location very safe area. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stop for business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    like many European hotels, the air conditioning is weak. Catering facilities are a bit of a walkabout but I guess that is part of the charm

    Very pricey but it is the peak season for Amsterdam. Visited Pulitzer after a long absence and should have returned sooner: excellent location, staff and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Walk along canals and feel the romance. Just like Paris but much safer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with more lighting

    Excellent service, always with a smile. Close to tram lines and good restaurants. We didn’t go wrong with food anywhere near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The breakfast at Pause Restaurant is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast at Pause Restaurant is amazing. And would definitely come back again. We also did the walking tour with Mr. Peter, I highly recommend it since it can give you a good perspective of the city, and includes a stop at a local cheese shop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat ride got us back late and caused us to miss part of an appointment

    Everything! Gorgeous, whimsical, cozy interior design, fabulous fun drinks, yummy breakfasts and amazing location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price one pays , the rooms are small and not that luxurious . The restaurant Jansz has a lovely ambience with a limited menu ; and in my opinion is a bit overrated .

    It is a beautifully designed hotel with a certain old world charm mixed with contemporary, quirky interiors in a upmarket relatively peaceful location , surrounded by interesting boutiques , restaurants and stores . There is a lovely garden restaurant . Staff is rather nice . The Pulitzer bar is worth checking out .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great design and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised there was no turndown service at the price level

    Great design and location. Highly recommend their boat tour Loved all off the bar and outdoor courtyard spaced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    It’s such a beautiful hotel with rich history and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning we came back from a stroll with someone else’s luggage in our room. Nevertheless, it is busy season and it was quickly resolved!

    It’s such a beautiful hotel with rich history and wonderful staff! This is our second time staying and we always feel so at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant, very quiet room, elegant decor, attractive outdoor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have a view, despite relatively high price; hotel was much bigger and more crowded than I imagined it from the online pictures and decription.

    Pleasant, very quiet room, elegant decor, attractive outdoor spaces, good restaurant, particularly friendly staff. Very good central location on a pretty canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Unfortunately disappointing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was subpar for a property of this caliber. No turn-down service, the toiletries were not replaced during our entire stay. The front desk was perpetually understaffed.

    The location is excellent and the hotel is very stylish...it feels very Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    It's a wonderful place - a collection of channel houses in a popular area of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than we expected - it's a fairly expensive one so we expected more space!

    It's a stunning place - a collection of channel houses: design, personnel, restaurant and atrium with glass coridor - we had a wonderful time there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    The property was clean and first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were hopeful that bathtubs would have been available. We understand they were available in suites but not at the standard rooms (at least not ours)

    The property was clean and first class.. the price was high but we recognize it is a 5 star resort. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The decor, outdoor spaces and restaurant and bar were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full length mirror in closet was barely accessible and because bathrooms were tiny and too small for two people to be in there together it would have been nice to have another mirror/dressing area in the room.

    The decor, outdoor spaces and restaurant and bar were gorgeous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location of the hotel,almost in the center,3 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location of the hotel,almost in the center,3 minutes from the Anna Frank’s house. Very beatuful hotel with a gym,very nice rooms and delicious restaurant.The breakfast was very variability. The best choice to choose this hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is a gem. Certainly would want my friends to experience it, also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the lobby could have been brighter, more uplifting.

    Loved bringing the outdoors to the indoors. The trees and floral plantings are exceptional. The hanging baskets (for people) are unique and appealing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A perfect 4 Day Amsterdam trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The morning breakfast buffet is out of this world.The staff is very friendly. The location is perfect in the middle of Amsterdam, everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The rooms overlook the canal, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy large hotel, it give the impression online it is more boutique than it actually is.

    The rooms overlook the canal, great location. Bar is wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Location was excellent and hotel concierge staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really applicable. Only thing that I wouldn’t recommend is the over-priced, pathetic cheese platter at Pause.

    Location was excellent and hotel concierge staff were friendly and attentive and well informed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    The best in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite possibly the best hotel in Amsterdam

    Genuinely cultured with an incredible service level from the staff who actually care about the guests and that they enjoy their stay. Slight issue with the breakfast in that they couldn't cope with the amount of guests so we didn't get any but they quickly apologized and refunded the cost. There is just so much to this place, you could get lost walking around it. Inside is also really beautiful, almost like a gallery. Even if you're not staying here, it is certainly worth a drink in the cocktail bar. We will certainly be back in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Sensational
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge desk was always surrounded by tourists/hotel guests. Some of these people often taking up 20-30mins of the concierges time.... perhaps this needs to be addressed. Taking queries & getting back to the person or doing the research for the customer from a back office online rather than at the front desk. It crowded the reception area & stopped other guests from reaching the concierge for smaller requests such as umbrellas, maps & directions.

    Need universal plug in the rooms for charging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Too short! We were only there overnight while in transit but would have loved a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in process and inability to offer early check-in.

    Perfect combination of location and facilities. The hotel itself is unique and beautiful with rooms in restored canal houses located around several lovely courtyard gardens. It's right in the heart of the 9 streets shopping area and easy walking distance to the Jordaan, both with numerous shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable stay and if we ever returned to Amsterdam we would stay at the Pulitzer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were quite disappointed with the restaurant. The menu was somewhat limited and quality not what we expected from this standard hotel restaurant especially given the way it was advertised.

    The beds were very comfy. Although we had a courtyard view room this did not disappoint as it was very quiet and there were enough canal views once you got outside and wandered the wonderful streets. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was excellent here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel itself is expensive especially for long stays so might not be affordable enough for young families with children , but this is also a plus for most people staying at this hotel.

    Everything was excellent here. The service, the business center with secure computers and a friendly IT guy, guest relations, the cafe, restaurant, breakfast. Rooms on high floors have the best view. The rooms have comfy beds, are quiet, and decorated like a cozy house with all the amenities you would need during your stay. The location of the hotel was excellent, we were walking distance from all of Amsterdam's attractions and had great connectivity to public transport, shopping, supermarkets and restaurants. The concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book deluxe king size bedroom, and we got two single bed! After I complained we’we got what we paid. That mistake is not normal for 5* hotel, sorry!

    Decoration, location, wifi, toilletries, excellent sleeping quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    We have been to Amsterdam 7 times and The Pulitzer one of top 2 hotels we have used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small criticism , shower door did not close properly so bathroom would have flooded if we had not wedged the door with a facecloth. Two bedside lights would have been easier for bedtime reading.

    Lovely friendly atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    We loved it and want to come back. Our one night stay wasn’t long enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were sooo friendly and helpful! Especially the concierge who printed tickets for us & gave us very useful info about Keukenhof Gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive for poor and limited services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in they require the credit card I reserved this on several months ago. I did not bring that one with me on my trip so they needed to bill the room to a credit card I was holding but the old credit card was also billed. I needed a credit on my booking card or I would be billed twice. This fiasco took more than an hour to deal with on this issue both at check in and at checkout which was terrible taking away from my limited free travel time. Has this happened my friends sat and waited for me we want to do have drinks, we want to have breakfast, we wanted to be early for the airport, but the front desk took way too long. Now I will have to check my credit card accounts to see whether I will be credited for the double billing. They also bill the room “extras” even if you don’t use them and they claim they will credit my account when they have confirmed that I can used no extras. The famous Pulitzer bar was small and full, as was the lobby bar. We had a glass of wine sitting on a bench in the lobby, too small for 4 of us. Since the hotel is historic and consists of several row houses together there are many many stairs without the elevators and outside walkways with doors in between all of these areas to open and close with different door thresholds and elevations from one to the other, My room was about the furthest possible place away from the front desk. It was not convenient at all with packages and luggage. You cannot roll your suitcase and must carry it up and down stairs unless you call the bellhop each time. My room was in the attic of the roadhouse which was historically interesting but I heard every plame that went by and no view at all out the high window. Ironically this is the most expensive hotel I have stayed in and I was very disappointed. And no, breakfast was not included in the rate as it was throughout all of my other European hotel stays. I have enjoyed other hotels for one-third to one-quarter the price.

    The bed and the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    there was a picture with a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a picture with a pool. took swimsuit for kids. when we arrived there it was without a pool. not first time for booking to post fake pics. very disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    A well-located upscale hotel in a trendy and attractive neighborhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our ground floor room was very noisy due to being located beside the front door to the hotel

    Colourful upscale decor, cute nautical touches, super comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional customer service, my friend got sick the day we checked out. The nice Lady at the concierge arranged her a room without any charge so that she can rest till our departure time. The guy at the lobby who showed us out to our taxi was also very polite. Really nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    magnificent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room with a view instead of viewing walls ...

    oh yes bed like a cloud, smooth towels, delicious breakfast options (eggs benedictine, brioche etc) and until 11am 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Room lovely, lots of character as the hotel is made up of 24...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lovely, lots of character as the hotel is made up of 24 17 century canal houses. Bar and restaurant fab! Inner courtyard lovely with comfy trendy decor and outdoor sofas. Bed comfy and large tub and shower amazing. We stayed in room 274. Breakfast room service delicious! Hotel modern with lots of character and slightly quirky as they have tried to retain old world features with a modern twist.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Every stuff are smiling from hearts, you don't feel any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a very sensitive sleeper so therefore when I lay on bed heard the church bell every hours its really pain in my back.

    Every stuff are smiling from hearts, you don't feel any uncomfortable with them, lovely and helpful. Stay here make you feel more than just a tourist in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - it was a little bit cold in the room (because of the temperature outside in February) and we couldn't make it warmer even by setting the temperature to higher

    - not a typical hotel room: nice, large and well designed - the entire hotel space is beautifully arranged (actually it looks better than it the pictures:)) - very friendly staff - very good breakfast (large selection of food and ala carte menu) - quiet location by the canal with short distance to the city center and many attractions outside the city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice cosy hotel with good standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had room 114, wich is close to the entrance of the hotel. I would not recommend this room, because of the noise and also the corridor to the room is sometimes partly blocked by the porters luggage transporter!

    The hotel is at an excellent location and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Totally wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Without a moments' hesitation I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Made up of 20 typical Amsterdam tall houses set around a lovely quiet courtyard it is a beautifully stylish hotel with a super attention to detail. The staff were faultless, the breakfast amazing and our room absolutely gorgeous. The hotel could not be better situated, without any doubt at all we will return here when next in Amsterdam. Oh and the cocktails in the Pulitzer bar are pretty special too...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Lives up to the hype
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great.

    Beautiful gardens and furnishing, friendly and accommodating staff, great restaurant and bar. Included breakfast was fantastic! Beds were comfortable. View from our room was amazing, felt like a well to do local overlooking the canal every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing except a little pricey for the canal room, but we would happily do it again. Some rooms would not be suitable for a person with arthritis or knee problems as lots of stairs.

    Staff, location, room over canal. No problems at all. Excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    The hotel is beautiful and brilliantly well run, all of the staff we encountered couldn’t have been more polite, jolly, well informed and helpful. The concierge staff, in particular were of invaluable help, they immediately organised a canal boat tour, recommended amazing vegan restaurants and booked us on one of their own guided tours, before we had even be shown to our ( lovely, comfortable and incredibly quiet ) room. The guided tour, by Peter, on of the concierge members of staff, was fantastic, he is so knowledgeable and we learnt a lot in a reasonably short space of time. Wonderful place to stay, perfect location in such a beautiful city. Can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay - bedroom lovely , quality hotel that is relaxed and informal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A superior destination. Staff very welcoming and made our stay special. The hotel is stylish and spacious. The bar was relaxing and great cocktails. Location is perfect , central and convenient. Can’t wait to go back !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel. Would love to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only small gripe is that there were synthetic duvets and pillows. This let down and otherwise very comfortable bed.

    Made up of 25 traditional canal houses, the quirky layout and varied interior of the Pulitzer Amsterdam renders this fairly large hotel intimate and cosy. As one would expect at this level, it is well-kept, clean and comfortable. Creature comforts aside, the staff is what makes the Pulitzer truly special. Everyone we met was genuinely friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. They were all exceptional in their dealings with my seven year old daughter, who was made to feel a very valued guest (and ever so slightly spoilt).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Insane Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be airport shuttle service for all guests :(

    In terms of service & overall standard, it was one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed at!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Very special place, full of books, art and atmosphere. Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more comfortable. And breakfasts, the choice was very limited. And coffee, definitely you can serve a better coffee :)

    Very spacy room, beautiful large bathroom, and the best location in town! Plus interiors - all these books and pictures! Very special place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Location fine; bathroom unacceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom would not have disgraced a Y. Far too small with ONE BASIN (unacceptable in a ***** hotel with no meaningful space for toileteries. Thus very poor value for money, NOT compensated for by elegance of decor.Lo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Plenty of retro decor without compromising on modern hotel amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the artificial and natural lighting in the room were very poor. This was to the extent that I was using my phone’s flashlight at times and I also had to move the standing lamp around where I needed adequate lighting so I could see what I was doing when packing and unpacking my bag. It was also unusual that there were no pens in the room, only pencils, so I had to order one from guest services.

    The decor was unusual and very inspiring. Both restaurants in the hotel are of excellent quality and I ate there despite breakfast not being included in my booking. The hotel is very expansive and there are great outdoor views as you walk between the different compartments of the hotel. I also liked the complimentary water and stroopwafels, which get restocked every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    I stay here most everytime I visit Amsterdam (Like 12 times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stay here most everytime I visit Amsterdam (Like 12 times now or more) and I love this location. It's very pricey but it's such an amazing location and hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Always outstanding service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply nothing....I guess breakfast could have been a little cheaper.

    Excellent choice at breakfast plus smaller bar for light bites,perfect staff,great evening bar area.Fantastic location on pretty canal,soft pillows,huge bed,and managed to have a room with a bath as well as shower. Very relaxed though 5 star treatment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Concierge Ron made our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff when confronted with the problem of different names for the one booking were totally unhelpful

    If booking more than one room make sure the other rooms are in the names of the occupants Otherwise the other guests can not access the rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    A special place to stay in a wonderful area with fantastic staff. A gem of a find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful with lovely added extras. The breakfast was prepared in an open kitchen and served immediately on being cooked and the range of breakfast was extensive. It was delicious! We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    The overall design and ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is mediocre as the rooms aren't 100percent cleaned each day and requires me to ask to replenish snacks and coffee

    The overall design and ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect, its all I have to say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design and decoration of the hotel is astonishing! I felt comfortable enough staying in there. Even the size of the hotel fits my needs perfectly. I was extremely satisfied with everything the hotel has offered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended with children under 6 month
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To go to the pulitzer with children under 1 year its not handy, they do not have good cradles nor bedsheets available daily. They did not take this in account and we had no extra towels at the beginning. The cleaning was not good -since we found items from previous costumers in our toilet and window that remained there during our whole stay. Actually disappointing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is modern and very clean, staff super friendly and helpful. Very nice room, extremely clean, comfortable bed and pillows. Thanks for Birthday card, champagne, fruits and cake!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pulitzer Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: