Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3 stars

Leidsekade 89, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#382 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3986 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was located in the building next door, which was announced. BUT the elevator was broken and had been for a month! The room was on the 5th floor, and the stairs were very narrow and not suited for access. Had we been older, it would have been impossible to get to the room. The room was very dirty. At the day of check-out, the cleaning lady wanted us to get out of the room 1,5 hour before - but we of cause refused. This 2 days stay was not worth €620.

    The location was great - very central. The bathroom was nice, and the breakfast was fine. The bed was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    dirty and expensive place
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was supposed to be a car park and there was only a city car park not belonging to the hotel I was looking for facilities with a parking space No other room because it was not in the basement below the level of the road there was no view of the river which was guaranteed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Location was the only really good thing about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really I would never recommend this hotel. The bed wasn’t even a full size length and was made to fit in the space against 3 walls.(it was a wardrobe removed and a bed inserted) I was claustrophobic and had 2 panic attract through the night. The photo attached is the whole room.!! This is me standing at the door. This was £162 per night room. :/

    Location was the only really good thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff was super nice and the breakfast delicious .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The configuration of the room was not ideal and some of the furniture could have been less space taking for the use they had.

    The staff was super nice and the breakfast delicious .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Close to the Center, looks nice outside and in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet wasn’t flushing properly , rooms walls were a bit dirty and the night light also was not working in our room.

    Close to the Center, looks nice outside and in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    you need to take care about cleaning the rooms, very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the disposition of others managers, when mr soares wasnt there nobody help the lady shouldnt work there she has no disposition to help nobody. very expensive for what yu offer, breakfast very expensive to. no shampoo at our shower

    mr soares the manager an excellent person always trying to make our lives more confortable. but the cleaning of the rooms was awfull my bathroom was never done... and once my bed was not done.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and informative. Location was excellent was able to take the tram from the airport and the stop was right outside the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Well. Ella
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was very old no air conditioner smelly halls. The room was sooo small and the bathroom was small as well. No safe in the room no phone in room. A small fan very dirty as well as the walls.

    location was great as it was easy to walk around the whole city and not depend on public transportation. Hotel staff was nice and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and the city is the most beautiful i've ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be better and there were works going on at the moment making a bit of noise in the morning. The works are over now though

    The bed was super confortable and thw location is absolutely perfect. Right in the middle of everything. Room was quiet too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    Good location, shame about the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the hotel was very disappointing, everything very tired, the carpets were marked, there was very bad state of decoration in the bedroom, the shelf was hanging off the wall and the ensuite was so tiny you practically had one foot in the shower and one in the toilet - very unhappy

    The location was great, right on the canal with easy access to boat tours, and close to the museums and galleries

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.5
    Do NOT stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely dirty for the whole 3 night we were there and it was not cleaned once. We had two “clean” towels which had hair all over them on the first day and for the other days they didn’t even give us two towels. As the room had not be cleaned the table was dusty, the bed was dirty with hair all over it on arrival and stains on the carpet. We tidied the room up ourselves with what we could as we did not trust complaining and asking the staff to clean it seeing as they didn’t bother to do it in the first place. We are not usually ones to complain about noise and for central Amsterdam we did not expect peace and quiet however the hotel was extremely noisy with screaming and shouting every night and the staff did nothing to stop this.

    Central location easy access to the tram and we were able to store our bags in a cupboard for a few hours before and after checking out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely clean hotel not the quitest but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the rooms for the morning.even anough for 1 cup every morning would of been exceptible but none for the price we paid i thought was dusgusting.

    Lovely clean hotel not the quitest but clean. Staff where all very friendly and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    Horrible hygiene
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are hard as wood! The room was very dirty. Weird brown/ red stains on the curtains. Dirty stains on the walls. And extremely dirty and used glasses in the bathroom.

    The only plus is that the hotel is on a good location and it's quiet at night. So if you don't care about hygiene, you're good to go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was great, I would choose this area again but a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is what can only be called a grotty condition. My room 1422 was in an annexed part of hotel, accessible from street not main hotel. This meant you didn’t have to climb steep steps, which was a bonus. The room is in need of desperate decoration. Everything is old and tired, where things have been replaced holes remain. The window was kept open by using a bit of 2x2 wood. The curtains and nets needed a good wash. It’s sad to see a hotel falling into disrepair and needs a considerable amount spent to bring it up to standards we expect today.

    The location. Sheets were clean. There was a lift.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    Not very good
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 250 for 2 nights for a tiny box room that was located outside of the hotel was not what I expected . The rooms on booking.com are not the same as what I was giving .. staff could of been more friendly .. one staff member was lovely and that was on the second night of stay !

    Bed was comfy .. one of the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Location and staff were willing to assist with anything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff were willing to assist with anything requested of them, especially as an English speaker, they were great with directions and where to find things.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    Just about okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was what it was supposed to be a bed and breakfast, the photos do not match the actual property, it is run down and the rooms are not cleaned to a good standard. Also, no details of the 50 euros deposit was mentioned which was slightly frustrating. The minimum amount of facilities within the hotel could be improved to make it a nicer place.

    The bed was comfy,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    no major issues, only the bathroom was too small .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    acces to the reception from outside was up some very steep steps, which were not very wide, we eventualy worked out if we used the lift to the floor -1 there was only a ramp and 4 stepe to negotiate

    no major issues, only the bathroom was too small .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely great location to restaurants and attractions, tram stop 2mins walk to get you anywhere and bus to and from the airport. Convenience store around the corner and Rijksmuseum 7mins walk and canal cruise right outside. Definitely would stay here again and recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the hotel are so small for people with big sutecase. And even if the room was clean, it was to small for two people #304.

    The stuff was friendly and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    Nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This the worst hotel on earth! We got a room which was so dirty – from spots on the bed, towels, floor and even on the walls to very load construction noises from 06:00 am to at least 02:00 pm. Moreover, the room was very hot with more than 35 Celsius. The room contained a fan, but it didn’t work well. We asked the reception to move to another room but there were only small ones and dirty. We tried to stay for a night, but it was a nightmare with less than 3 hours of sleeping. We asked to pay for a night and get our money back, but the staff rejected our ask. We booked anther hotel which is on the other side of the street and the experience was much better. Stay aware from this hotel.

    Just the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.9
    uncomfortable hot sweaty never again from check in to leaving mold on doors
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was the size of a closset it was dirty the bed was like a prison bed the tv remote was held together with tape no air con the handl;e was hanging off the bathroom door all in all BAD

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing, a rip off and photos would actually indicate fraudulent trading.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room, very small and dirty. NO AIR CON! It was 30 degrees. Photo on site nothing like room. Granted Amsterdam was busy but the room was €150 per night. Hotel is 750 meters from Booking .com offices!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    It is in a good location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of dust, dirty carpet, no wifi in the room even in common area had trouble connecting to it.

    It is in a good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    It was clean with a comfy bed and it was OK for one night but won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just too small as the bed fit the complete one end of the room it was hard to get out of bed in the middle of the night. There was no place comfortable besides the bed. When in the shower it was easy to turn the water off due to the tight quarters.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely horrible. waste of money. waste of time. Do not make the same mistake we made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were tiny about 2m by 2m square with a double bed squeezed in, stinking hot rooms (we are from Australia...we know what heat is). No air conditioner, the supplied fan was broken, the lights broke the first time we turned them on. The paint was peeling off the walls and there was dust and rubbish all through the room. The worst part of the experience was that when we tried to express our discontent with staff they dismissed us, and showed no sign of caring. This room was so unbearable for 2 people that we cut our stay short and moved to another hotel. We have lost almost 1000 euros on a horrible experience so learn from our mistake and DO NOT USE THE AMSTERDAM HOTEL.

    This was with out a doubt one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. There was absolutely nothing positive to note about this experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    I would NOT recommend this hotel at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite with Terrace and Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived in our room, the whole place was very dirty. We got a room at the top floor with a balcony and a kitchen. The kitchen was very dirty and dusty. In the drawer we found rotten food and the kitchen didn't even have a minibar or a fridge. On the balcony were cigarette stubs. The toilet hasn't been cleaned and it was very disgusting. Also on all the mirrors and windows were finger prints and remaining water drops. Only the bed was neat. The next day we went to the receptionist and told him that the room is dirty. He didn't really care though and said we should tell the maid ourselves. So we went up and waited 10 minutes for the maid. When she arrived, we told her that she needs to clean the room better. She agreed and told us that she will clean it now. When we came home at the evening, the room was still dirty. Nothings has been changed. She didn't even made the bed. Again we went to the receptionist and complained. The receptionist said that the maid didn't see any smut. They said they will forward it to the house keeper. The rest of the stay, our room was still looking the same as it was at the beginning.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Not at all clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the room we got was not the same as the pictures. It was over priced for a dusty room and it was not at all clean! They didn’t change the sheets for days and they just make the bed how a kid would. They never wipe anything down so the room was overly dusty! Would recommend for the location but not at all to stay if you’re a clean person or someone who’s got allergies. The power was falling off the wall and it was at not all safe when trying to charge something, don’t bother making a coffee with the kettle at all, there’s was white stuff floating in it and we have to ask the clean to clean which they didn’t! I found all these very disturbing!

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.9
    Worst Hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never given a review in all my life. Ever. I even said that if I didn’t like something I will just not return. HOWEVER everyone else hopefully will see this review and change their minds. Firstly the staff are so so so rude. The room which was given to us was not at all what we expected. It says 3star however a one star is better. I tried to cancel the room straight away and even said I will pay half and they said no money won’t be returned. Just down the road is a 4star and is cheaper. Make sure everyone checks that one first. Hope I have saved many people from making the same mistake I have done.

    Honestly nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    A "worst hotel" benchmark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in staff was unwelcoming (over-stressed?). Our twin room was tiny and dingy, and windows looked out to a narrow airshaft. Drawers for storage were unusable because they were blocked by the radiator. The narrow half-height closet was filled with a safe, fan, and ironing board, so there was no room to hang clothes. The bathroom had no hooks or shelves. Shower curtain was grimy. The hallways and carpeting were dirty, marred, and torn. Upon leaving, our cab driver said he didn't know why anyone stayed in that hotel.

    We didn't like anything about this hotel and travelers should avoid it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.3
    Hot. Terrible. Small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, tiny bathroom, NO AC and very little amenities to attribute to the costs.

    This is NOT a 4 star hotel — more like a hostel to stay with friends in for a cheap trip to Amsterdam. Better book somewhere else for a better stay that makes you feel as if you are actually on vacation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    At your booking website I choosed the option with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At your booking website I choosed the option with parking. Unfortunately the Quenntin has no parking space available. The information was deceptive. So I had to pay for a public parking garage. It costs me 68Euro additionally. That circumstance was very unsatisfying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    I urge you to stay away and consider another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please stay away from this hotel. This is probably the worst hotel I have lived in the last 5-10 years! With the very high room rate at EUR 190 per night, we atleast expected something we can live in. I have lack of words in trying to explain how terrible this was. The room does not look anything like the picture. There is no truth to the pictures and reality. The room was small and hot. No aircondition with mold and smell in the room. The housekeeping were at the room every day, but didn't do other that leaving new towels. The room was still very dusty and smelly. Stains on the floor and one every table. The shower facilitates were horrible, with mold and strange stains everywhere. This is a very old hotel with no other agenda other than to earn as much money as possible in the most simpliest way. I urge you to reconcider your stay and book somewhere else. I will not come back, that's for sure!

    The location near Leidseplein. But every hotel in Amsterdam central is close to everything, so location doesn't matter for me anymore in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room to the front of the hotel so it was a little noisy at night, only a minor gripe. This would not put me off staying in the Hotel in the future, but not in the same room !!!

    Great location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced and small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were absolutely tiny for the price we paid and for the location in relation to getting to the Centre or The train station

    The staff were very friendly and the decor of the hotel was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    The location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. Also the breakfast area was super small and could not always host all guests. No airconditioning in the room which resulted in the room being very hot.

    The location! The hotel is super central, without being in a noisy area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Manager, As I was explaining a problem to him he had a slug from a large juice/milk carton and said they had other things to do! Also window was held open by a chunk of builders wood, windowsills where dirty.

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    we came earlier, we were allowed to put our luggage while we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we need to take the stairs to get reception desk, we could leave our luggage but unfortunately our room is at the different building.

    we came earlier, we were allowed to put our luggage while we walked around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent stay the location made it perfect! Would book again for this reason.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy but that’s due to the old building it is and the bed was too soft but other than that it was fine for what I needed.

    The rooms were basic and small as expected but fine for what you need it for in Amsterdam. The location was the best part absolutely perfect! I have stayed in Amsterdam a few times and this has been the best location and for the money really doesn’t matter that the room was small. I would stay here again purely for location and breakfast to start the day was also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    beds were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extra ventilation in the bathrooms, although they have been installed/ redone what appears not too long ago; the lack of ventilation in them makes them smell very musty and they remain wet.

    beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Location is okay and the price is cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely dirty. When we checked in, sugars and coffees were opened. When we checked the curtain, we found died bees. Disgusting. Also, hair dryer got a lot of hairs. The hotel is a bit old.

    Location is okay and the price is cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing not even worthy of a 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on carpet/ sofa and bedding. Holes in bedding. Window kept open with a block of wood. This was the second room as I had refused the first which was much, much worse!

    Nothing not even worthy of a 3.3 review. Would not recommend...really!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one power outlet Squeaky floor Floor not that clean -- maybe better NOT to use carpet at all and keep the wooden floor bare since it doesn't look like the floor is vacuumed as often as how it needs

    Lift Good value for money Accessible drinking hot water/coffee 24hrs Staff really nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Cramped & extremely warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a fan to cool the room down, which was not very strong & we had to constantly had to sleep with the one window open. The bathroom was quite small and the room was tiny. No space when you had your suitcases open- extremely cramped.

    The bed was comfortable, could have had more pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Love bed the city and location. I would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was minuscule with nowhere to place luggage the shower was so small I could just stand in one position. Bending over was out of the question

    Pleasant staff and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Potentially great hotel, currently disappointing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets need cleaning. The furniture upholstery also. The kettle was tiny and didn't switch off automatically. Tea wasn't replenished. Only small thin paper cups were provided in the room, no good for hot drinks. The curtains were very difficult to open and close due to many broken curtain rail hooks. The whole place seemed a little neglected despite being a fine building with some good staff. No hot breakfast option, only the usual budget array of packet salami and processed cheese for which I paid a €10 supplement (on top of the £135 per night I paid for the room). There's better value hotels to be found in Amsterdam for this money. Having said that, if this place sorted itself out a bit I would come back.

    Great location off Leidseplein, central but very peaceful. Most of the staff are pleasant. Great shower, though bathroom cramped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT CHOICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water goes out of the shower.

    Excellent place! Clean, comfortable bed and great location; just 10 min walk from museum quarter and I Amsterdam sign. Also, there are LOTS of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes walk. Great choice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    I won’t return at Quentin but I really liked the area. Next time I’ll choose American Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived in my room there was a pink Smarties behind the door and there it left for the whole stay. The room of my bathroom was full of coffee stains, I think they were there from ages. My kids who are still under 18 have been allocated in another block and it seemd we were in two different hotels. They moved my kids into my block only after 3 days.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    A very convenient spot to discover Amsterdam just walking around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General maintenance of corridors, wall painting, room doors etc. could be necessary but the room was very clean and lack of decorative upgrading may be the reason for a competitive price

    Excellent location, excellent value for money walking distance to all interesting places in Amsterdam especially museums in the area of very expensive international hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic/hostel type accommodation.. couldn’t open window/blind as almost touching distance to window of another dwelling. Small room with next to no room to move about.

    Location.... walking distance to bars/restaurants etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is small and a number of the rooms are in a separate building (that does not have any reception and the front door was open at all times during my stay). The rooms are small and basic. The hotel is fine as a place to sleep and shower but it is not a pleasant / nice hotel to stay in and is very expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    3.8
    Good location - the only argument to slect this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was refurbished probably 50 years ago last time. Really needs renovation. Very bad surprize was that the room was in cellar and without windows - it was not mentioned in hotel's site when I made the booking. On arrival, we waited for the receptionist for some 15 min, she was busy in a different building of the same hotel. No contact phone number to speak to her while she was away was provided.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    That was not what i expected, instead a good room with nice viewing to suffer from smelly & hot room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely primitive with dirty walls, not working door in wardrobe, old smelly carpet and it was not air-con, so in sunny day it was a killing hot & smelly in the room, The stairs are terribly narrow & almost vertical, which was a bit dangerous.

    The location of hotel is really good, it is easy to reach any destination. The receptionists in hotel were friendly, and it was a nice breakfast with good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card key was giving problems all the time. The room was too warm, and they only had a noise fan to cool it out (we had to sleep with it on). Only had 2 electrical sockets on the room, one was for the fan and, the other one next to the entry door and too high (and no table) to charge the phone. The only place was in the toilet! You only have two types of temperature: burning or freezing, not to mention that the pavement was too slippery and the toilet itself looked like a public toilet cubicle. The room was not like the pictures.

    The location was really good! And the fact that they kept my baggage after checkout. The breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location close to Leidseplein and Vondelpark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed was comfortable, it was small for a double and the room was very cramped. No air con, just a plug in fan. Staff were not one but engaging, no “hello” or “goodbye” or “how was your stay”. We could have been anyone walking off the street, staff didn’t even look up from the desk when we passed by.

    Great location close to Leidseplein and Vondelpark. Good breakfast and great shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    Was not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property needs an upgrade. The room was very expensive for the quality of the room. Very disappointed! Bed very UNCOMFORTABLE. The cleaning staff did not even wash the cups we used in the room... VERY SAD. Definitely not value for money

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely quaint but modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were being decorated so shut off the lift was temperamental and wouldn’t always work. Room was very warm as the windows only open a little and no air con. For the price though it was expected.

    Great location, small rooms but clean and tidy. Staff were helpful, and polite. only stayed a couple of days but fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was very small

    Great location right on a canal and beside the Leidseplein. Literally 2 minutes from a transit stop. Building is historic and interesting. Very clean and comfy but room and bathroom was very small. we didn’t plan on spending much time there so size wasn’t an important factor. Nice staff and desk was open 24/7. The breakfast was pretty good and very inexpensive and you can’t beat sipping coffee overlooking a canal in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Dirty, too small, but the worst thing was that it does not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, too small, but the worst thing was that it does not reflect the photos on Booking. The room I’ve reserved was completely different from the one I get. Pics are nice, rooms are clean and in a reasonable size, but the reality is awful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Crap, but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Could not swing a kitten, let alone a cat. Booked it a long time ago and asked for a canal view. No way, we were shown to our room where we could not fit our suitcases in. We complained to the blonde receptionist who could do with a good dose of manners and were charged an extra 80 euros for 2 nights. Our window was at ground level. Peoples shoes were at our eyelevel. Beware We booked a double room, what a joke

    The older lady at breakfast was terrific

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    Not the most comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, the room was very difficult to get to, it was in another building and up 3 flights of extremely steep stairs or a lift that didn't work. The room was teeny tiny and as soon as I walked in it looked so dusty and dirty. The carpet was filthy and stained, the mirrors were covered in dust and the throw on the bed was stained. The only thing that was clean were the bedsheets! Everywhere was dusty, all the plugs and light switches were dirty. It also backed on to another window where you could see straight in the other room. It was also very very hot and there was only a dusty dirty fan that was so noisy. It was in a fantastic location so i think this is the place to just put your head down but other than that I wouldn't recommend to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 2 nights the price was a joke! First of all the bathroom. You have no space as the shower, sink and toilet are within 2 feet of each other! On top of this, despite being on the ground floor next to the washing machines it was pretty hot in Amsterdam and there was no air con for the room. Reception did give me a fan which I had to assemble and had to use my girl friend's tweezers as a screwdriver to screw the whole thing together, how people coped on the top floor I have no idea! You also need more seating area for breakfast as people were having to wait 10-15 minutes before a space became available. We spoke to a few other people staying on the ground floor and we all agreed the hotel was trying to squeeze as many rooms in as possible! Would I stay here again? No!

    Good area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Terribly tiny room. The picture shown on your site of the room is misleading and fraudulent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and racist reception

    Good location but terribly tiny room. The picture shown on your site of the room is misleading and fraudulent. At over EUR 172 a day it is not fit even for a servant to stay. The bed with only one side made it almost impossible to climb into plus it was too high and the mattress so soft that it made climbing into it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    The lock on the window was broken. I expressed concern about fire safety given the warren of tiny ro
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful. Management was rigid and did nothing to address our concerns. The front stairs were steep and extremely narrow, borderline dangerous when you have to carry all your luggage yourself. The first room showed to us was dreadful-claustrophobic, extremely small and hot. No air conditioning. The staff refused to show us any room at all until we paid the bill upfront-a huge red flag that there was something wrong with the quality of the rooms. The room was dirty, the windows are filthy, we had spiders in the room, the shower curtain was soiled - it was too long and draped into standing water in the bottom of the shower. I could go on... The hallway carpets were soiled and frayed. The only staircase to our room was very steep. The stairs were approximately 5 to 7 inches deep and 9 inches high with variations which made them quite tricky. We were booked in for three nights, and when we saw the state of the rooms we offered to pay for the first night, but asked to be relieved of our obligation for the subsequent two nights. The hotel refused unless we paid the entire bill. They said they had no control, that it was booking.com. The next day we spoke to a security manager at corporate headquarters in Amsterdam - somebody who works for booking.com. They too were unable to help or offer any assistance. I have been travelling for 60 years, and this is the most difficult experience I have had notwithstanding that I have stayed in some pretty modest accommodations. That includes extensive travel in North America, South America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, and Asia. If the room had been €100 a night, we might have made some allowances, but the price and quality were completely out of touch with each other. I am continuing my attempts to make contact with a company representative now to try to address these issues directly.

    We were extremely disappointed with the hotel, other than its location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains on one set of windows. Grubby, Shabby, no room facilities. Poor staff moral. Very small breakfast area. Definitely not 3*

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Tiny room in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ridiculously small for two people and even the bathroom sink was small; also no shelves for the towels to sit on

    The location was excellent for things to do

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not particularly helpful. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast choice poor and dining area not big enough for the number of guests. Overpriced at 420 euros for 2 nights.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Good size room, but hotel definitely only 2/3 star. Need to maybe invest in aircon system
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very warm, and although a fan was provided, it still was quite uncomfortable. Also didn’t get any tea or coffee fercilities.

    Comfy large double bed. Rooms very clean. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    Very expensive for the quality of the hotel, only good thing is location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad value for money: super expensive for very small rooms, bad isolation (you could hear dialogues of the other rooms), dirty bedsheets and generally the room, and there was not even proper storage place to leave luggage after check-out.

    Only good thing: location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was well overpriced. We had a tiny room for one night. For the price we paid we could off booked a whole holiday for a week.

    The staff was very friendly and the bed was uncomfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners hoovering outside my door at half 8 in the morning kept me awake for a good half hour, maybe leave the hoovering until a bit later on give you guests a good lie in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok rooms (just a bit dull), good breakfast, great location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was (as they stated) very small, but that didn't really matter. Price is just way too high for a room like that. You can hear EVERYTHING your neighbour is doing. Rooms were dull

    Location was great, near to nearly everything. Staf was very friendly, close to the water so you have good views for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Great location, poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were terrible, customer service was non existent with staff. Considering the price they charge for the room I would not recommend this hotel

    Loved the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If our room would have beeb vacuum cleaned, it would have been worn out but ok. Now the first feeling was dull and dirty, wich was kind of sad, since the hotel was othervise a good three star hotel and the staff was kind and helpful.

    Good breakfast and great location. The bed was exellent and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very dated the carpet had so many stains on it. You could not even put things away as the cupboards were already full of bedding and the noise outside was so bad you could not sleep, the whole building has not been kept up well for the amount of money, i would thought the standard would be hi. Also some mornings we could not even get a table for breakfast

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quentin Amsterdam Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: