Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ravel Hilversum 3 stars

Emmastraat 35, 1213 AJ Hilversum, Netherlands

#9 of 11 hotels in Hilversum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Fine for a one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that I had was on the ground floor, right next to the entrance, the road and the reception. It can be therefore quite noisy. Also, the room was quite open for viewing, so you need to close the window dresses to have some privacy. Smoking was probably allowed a few years ago in the hotel, as the room does have that distinctive smell. Not something I appreciate.

    The bed was absolutely comfortable. The mattress was excellent for a good night sleep. The breakfast was perhaps not excessive, but it had all the items that one needs for a proper breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was a good base for travelling around The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no parking at the hotel and you have to take pot luck to park on the surrounding streets. Given that we had two big cases as we were moving around, this was inconvenient.

    The hotel was a good base for travelling around The Netherlands and so we only used it to sleep and eat breakfast. The breakfast was a standard breakfast but good and the room was very comfortable even with the sofa bed extended for the children. We'd definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant, quiet, comfortable hotel with excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be good. Also, if you are driving, be aware that the hotel does not have its own car park.

    Very pleasant, quiet, comfortable hotel with excellent staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable value for money conidering you could get to and from Amsterdam by rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in need of some TLC and investment to upgrade the windows in the rooms (the window in my room rattled all night)

    Pleasant five minute stroll into town and ten minutes to the railway station with fast connections to Amsterdam and beyond if wanted to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs some improvement. Bathroom partly floods due to insufficient drainage.

    Good location for the business meeting I had. Very nice breakfast buffet. Good Wi-Fi speed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Really nice hotel close to town center
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't recall anything bad... maybe except the WiFi signal sometimes was not strong enough.

    The hotel is located close to the town center and about 16 mins walk from the central train station. Bus stops are in 100 meters on the same street. The town center has a lot of shops and restaurants. Hotel personnel was really friendly and helpful, the room was clean. The room was equipped with everything we need. So entire stay was enjoy to my family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room, quiet comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Price just a little higher than I would have liked but room didn't disappoint.

    Nice bed, rain shower, quiet room even though on road side. Good tv channel choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast or coffee included in the price.

    When booking, I really thought I'd read that breakfast was included. It's not. It's another €10 per person. There is no coffee in the room, but the front desk let me have a cup. That was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small and the design of the bathroom and shower screen meant water went everywhere!

    Beds were comfortable and the location was an easy walk from Hilversum train station and town centre. The room was cosy for 3 people however, we were only there for sleeping. Toiletries were supplied and room was very clean. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread rolls were packaged and not to delicious Shower is quite messy (water goes everywhere) though all that you need to keep the bathroom tidy is available

    Good variety of breakfast items and clean & neat presentation Lovely helpful staff arranged an early morning taxi and directed me to places to explore

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Friendly, efficient service and helpful advice regarding tourist attractions
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was exemplary. We couldn't have asked for more. The people who work there are friendly, they helped us find out information about Keukenhof, buses, trains, taxis and anything we needed to know. They provided print-outs, showed us on google maps and bent over backwards to accommodate our requests.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.8
    Long and short stay experience for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms often were very cold due to the fact that the cleaner was shutting off the heater during the day. When I was there for a long stay the cleaning service was not very good. They were not taking care to the bathroom and often neither collect the rubbish from the bins (essential procedure especially for a long stay). Once I reported this to the staff, instead to be pleasant and try to solve the situation or investigate the told me that " this si not a 5 stars hotel" Having a family managing hotels for 60 years this for me is not acceptable and not professional at all. Plus they are very picky with the money.

    Ravel Hotel it's a small hotel close to the center in Hilversum. The staff it's nice and available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    The room and bathroom was lovely and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came to down to breakfast at 1005am on a Sunday morning only to find that it had all been cleared away. I was given some breakfast (juice, cereal and coffee) but no bread or anything else - and then told I had to pay the full breakfast price of € 9.50 anyway. Two points: 1) They could have been a bit more flexible about leaving breakfast out later on a Sunday morning and 2) was it fair to charge me the full price? Although the buffet had been cleared away it would not have been difficult to bring me a plate with some bread and ham and cheese. Otherwise the girl at reception was very friendly and helpful and I very much liked he room and bathroom!

    The room and bathroom was lovely and comfortable. The shower was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small. No kettle or small fridge in room.

    Rooms were very clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. Location is great as all of Hilversum is in easy walking distance, including train station to give easy access Amsterdam and other cities in Netherlands.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    No Complains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park and No much of choices for break fast

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    It was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful area and in walking distance of restaurants and stores. Wonderful community

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Hilversum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little tired.

    Good location, lovely little town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay in this place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in hotel and in room is very dirty and the room is very noisy and has have old furniture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Welcoming and friendly
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Basic and simple
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff when I arrived seemed uninterested.

    It was simple, comfortable without luxury.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice small hotel in the center of Hiversum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice small hotel in the center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    small hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small hotel. familiar place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay. Very close to city centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon.

    Small clean and cosy room.free wi-fi and good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Hotel Ravel Reject
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grubby, needs updating badly, cramped room, not clean feel, grumpy staff,

    Close to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.5
    hot hot hot no a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.3
    the place is clean,silent and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the price is too high

    the place is clean,silent and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    warm and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stairs

    It was a comfy room Shower head was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Ravel Hotel, Hilversum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    friendly service….warm eggs for breakfast…nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    5.4
    Not so good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quality poor

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    shower and toilets are next to each other, when taking a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower and toilets are next to each other, when taking a shower waters on the floor moves over to toilet area. Also noise coming from the room above

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.1
    The room was nicely decorated in a south spanish style.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could be renovated.

    The room was nicely decorated in a south spanish style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous receptionist 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous receptionist 😊

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great cappuccinos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great cappuccinos

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Very nice people, quite room, really good breakfast and a 20Mb/s free wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people, quite room, really good breakfast and a 20Mb/s free wifi. I liked it! :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The breakfast was a true buffet style and perfect in every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have no negative comments.☺

    The breakfast was a true buffet style and perfect in every way. Bedroom was lovely and comfortable with TV radio and WiFi too☺The staff were also so friendly,I will definitely return.👍

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    The room was quiet and sunny and everything was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to carry our own luggage up all the stairs. The Wifi was difficult. The breakfast server was cramped and quite basic.

    The room was quiet and sunny and everything was quite comfortable without being luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    5.8
    I could borrow an umbrella for the day and the girl in the...
    • Solo traveller

    I was disappointed, I got a much better impression when I booked. In reality the room was not great, a bit cold and the bathroom was impractical with a big window facing the street and water from the shower covering half of the floor, and it was cold. Noisy from the street. The breakfast was not inspiring.

    I could borrow an umbrella for the day and the girl in the reception was kind and called a taxi for me.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Simple, slightly quirky with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just be aware that there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep. However this was clear on the website so no surprise.

    Simple, slightly quirky with everything you need. Comfortable bed, hot shower, good breakfast, friendly staff (owner?). Conveniently located - it took me under 10 minutes to walk to the station and perfect for getting to Amsterdam/airport painlessly.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    - I forgot my charger and I was informed right after the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - I had a one person room and it was quite small - My room was next to the stairs and that was quite loud in the mornings.

    - I forgot my charger and I was informed right after the room was cleaned. - The room was clean and well maintained - The bathroom was nice and modern with a rain shower

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a major concern but had to find street parking in the area which was more difficult to find in the daytime.

    Helpful staff. Nice location. Short walk to downtown area. Pretty breakfast location. Breakfast was more limited in selection but price was also significantly lower than other hotels in The Netherlands.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    I can't speak more highly of our stay - everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with being able to open the bathroom window!

    I can't speak more highly of our stay - everything was lovely. Didn't know what to expect for the price - but I have to say this was a lovely little hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    3.3
    nothing liked except the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is not worthy at all . no proper toiletry towels, no drinking water even no glasses for water. no hair dryer...i dint like at all.

    nothing liked except the location.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel had no restaurant, no airco in the rooms. The guy at the frontdesk was not really helpful. When I can in I smelled sigarettesmoke.

    Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    5.8
    The room was lovely but the shower / bath desperately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking- it doesn't have it unless you're lucky enough to find a space close by_ after 14 hours travelling the last thing I needed was a game of hunt the parking space

    The room was lovely but the shower / bath desperately needs a shower curtain of some kind· there was a lake on getting out of the shower on the floor

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, very good wifi, relaxed and easy athmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived late Sunday evening, I was met with a very strong smoking smell. No smoke in the room, but in the reception area. Was gone the day after. Also room was freezing cold first night - heater was cold, but the heater started up Monday. Nice thereafter.

    Friendly staff, very good wifi, relaxed and easy athmosphere

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    4.2
    I find the room cold!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I find the room cold! The heating was switched off! In the morning I got up freezing because the heating was off again! The staff ignored me and she was enable to solve the problem and support the client! I never visit again this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.5
    Very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was mediocre

    Very comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.5
    Well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little cold

    Well located. Great breakfast. Big room with a bath in the bathroom which was great!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    6.3
    Very sympatic owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the road passing by

    Very sympatic owner

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    We were literally in and out again but the desk staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were literally in and out again but the desk staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Good, quite basic but clean hotel, looks more like 2star for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good, quite basic but clean hotel, looks more like 2star for me. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    4.6
    nice building nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi at all and when i complained they say they know the problem but...they did not solve it..

    nice building nice location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    The price was the dubbel comparing the same period last year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price was the dubbel comparing the same period last year !

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wi if was very slow.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.1
    Good Location to town and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No tea or coffee making in room. Poor wifi. Not much choice for breakfast.

    Good Location to town and train station. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    location for Hilersum - walk to the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    stairs are very steep to the higher rooms

    location for Hilersum - walk to the station

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room a bit small, some noise from hallway and stairs.

    Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.5
    Good clean & easy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good clean & easy hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    6.7
    Fair price for clean room and decent facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was a bit slow

    Fair price for clean room and decent facilities. Close to the city centre and Media Park

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    5.8
    The single room is to small.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room is to small. To expensive for what is it. Poor breakfast.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Ravel Hilversum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: