Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Rembrandt 3 stars

Nieuwe Beestenmarkt 10, 2312 CH Leiden, Netherlands

#11 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1482 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an apartment with a kitchen. There is no table and chairs for eating. There is no wardrobe or drawers for clothes. The curtains would not draw back and there were no curtain ties. The toilet is in a tiny cupboard and you need to keep the door open. A fat person would not get in. The outside area was dirty and uncomfortable again with no table

    The apartment is close to the station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    The woman behind the desk was so friendly and let us leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman behind the desk was so friendly and let us leave our bags before check in time. She was also very lovely to let us use the washrooms to change / clean up etc., after our flight. The hotel is in an excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Guaranteed I will return there as long as they stay competetive with the IBIS hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yet again a hotel with bathroom lights installed by a man who never shaves. Ceiling lights only, and only 2, and behind a person at the sink, casting shadows over the face. Will they ever teach electricians the basics about where to put lights in a bathroom; that it has to do with more than just safe distances from the wet areas ? One more in front of the mirror please !

    Well modernized, comfortable and quiet despite being in a potentaily noisy location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable central accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast. The night lamps and electrical sockets are not possible to use if you dont switch on a bed light which is too strong.... It doesn't make any sense.

    Nice clean and modern rooms. Water boiler, tee and coffee at room provided for free. Great location close to nice mill. Great breakfast (paid and expensive). Shampoo and shower gel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    In general nice stay in a beautiful city of Leiden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower with soap and shampoo however I really missed soap next to the washbasin. Whenever I wanted to wash my hands I had to open the tube and take some liquid soap.

    Very nice and spacious room on the 3rd floor, however extremely small bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Didn't have a chance to experience the hotel itself :-(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was fully booked so instead of a room at the hotel, I got an apartment in a different street. This was not clear to me upfront, so I was surprised. I got breakfast for free however as a remediation. Curtains didn't block any sunlight so I was awake at 5.48. There was no air-conditioning, so the room was uncomfortable to sleep in. There was no soap, shower gel nor shampoo. Plenty of hair conditioner though. I called the manager, who told me they'll do something about that, but when I came back to the apartment in the evening, there was still no soap, etc.

    The apartment I got was clean, big and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent loctaion, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No table and chair in the room, so you can seat only on your bed. Lobby is closed in the evening, so you cann't seat also there. But the rest is ok.

    Excellent loctaion, nice staff, very nice moderen room in the old house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, high standard of room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who checked us in was so helpful; she explained the parking - many times as I couldn't quite understand where the parking was (it's not that far!) and then was kind enough to accompany us to the car park. So I would say the staff are absolutely excellent, thank you. Also, breakfast was great. Décor, cleanliness of room, all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is very small with limited space

    Location is great! Bus stops right in front of property (only 2 stops from train station). Friendly service by staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Love Leiden and The Rembrandt 🏨
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved every bit of it.

    The location was great. We walked to and from the train depot. The staff was wonderful the breakfast was delicious the bed was very comfortable the room was absolutely clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Shame about the broken air con but nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con was broken in our room. I reported it early evening but was told to just leave my card in and go out, and it should be working when I return. Unfortunately, it was not. We were in the eaves at the top of the hotel and it was absolutely baking with no air con (the temperature outside was around 29 degrees). It was virtually impossible to sleep and we had to open the small windows. Opposite the hotel was a bar that was very busy and loud, which went on until at least 2am. Even with the window open, it was still very hot and claustrophobic. We had a terrible night sleep, which did impact on our only day in Leiden afterwards. I complained in the morning and we were moved for our second night. The second room was much better. The staff were very friendly but I felt an engineer could have been called or some attempt made to fix the air con (which was displaying an error code) when we first complained as it was obviously faulty. Also, the light in the bathroom was so dark you could barely see and kept brightening and dimming intermittently. I would have liked to return here based on the second room.

    The location was central, although it was noisy on a Saturday night facing the road (not the fault of the hotel). Very clean and our second room was large and quiet - was such a relief to be moved.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast options good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to ask to get hand soap, none available on arrival. Couldn't switch the light off from the bed, had to find my way back from the door to the bed in the dark. Some other 'quirks'.

    Breakfast options good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Would certainly stay with them again! Loved the stay and the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was rather small, with only the bed to sit on.lights couldn’t be switched off from the bed

    Staff and position couldn’t be faulted,both great.Nothing was too much trouble,and all recommendations proved to be correct.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing apartment very conveniently situated for the city centre attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going past the apartment to find the hotel with all our luggage. And no bottle opener!

    We were in a large apartment about 5 minutes away from the main hotel with a good kitchen and superb bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    We had no aircon and it was 30degrees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no aircon and it was 30degrees. We had to sleep with the window open with lots of students making nose till the early hours of the morning across the street. The receptionist disnt even try to organise a fan or something to cool off the room. We will not recommend this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful area with lots of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.as an asthmatic I had requested no perfume or cleaning smells in my room. All requests were granted. Breakfast was a good continental at extra 12.50 euros. No bar or eating area at present.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful modern apartment not in the hotel with a view of the windmill
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were moved at the last minute to an apartment not in the hotel and were not provided with breakfast as we were told we had to order that and pay for it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy room in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit noisy: street noise (ok with windows closed), doors of other rooms.

    Super friendly staff, comfy beds, absolutely clean, tasteful interior, great bathroom and shower, central location. We were lucky and could use one of the free parking spaces. As we didn't eat breakfast, I can't say anything about that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    I stayed here for one night, and I hope to never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First off, to say the room was starkly designed, would be an understatement. Walls wear beat up, even patched in some places without new paint. Sink had many pieces of hair in it, missing basic toiletries like hand soap, tissues, there isn't even a clock in the room, and only one outlet. They also didn't even bother to put the one half used roll of toilet paper on the holder. There is zero hotel information in the room as well, no indication of any hotel amnenities or even checkout time. Sleep wise it was also not good. The door was almost paper thin, and shook every time another door was slammed down the hall (which was every few seconds earlier in the night). The bed is placed directly in front of the door, and you can see bright light shining through the edges all around it, so it's no wonder you can clearly hear people conversing as they walk down the hall. Just wait until about 7AM rolls around and the constant door slamming commences again. Also the room had no view, barely even a window, that was down a long, skinny, and useless hall, and looked out to a black wall that was about 3 feet away.

    Not much. At least there was a bed that wasn't horribly unconfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Boutique only in the price...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises itself as boutique hotel, but that's just in the name. Though the facilities of the hotel were ok, the room was dusty, the bath towels teared or with a hole, long black hair inside shower and next to the loo, holder of the toiletries with a thick layer of dust, kettle already filled with old water...everything but boutique... And paying 120Euros/night seemed really too much for all that... not coming back, sorry.

    On the bright side, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was rich.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent position - 5-10 min walk from train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Workmen started early the day we were leaving - had we been staying on might have been an issue.

    Excellent position - 5-10 min walk from train station and very central to all sights. Room was on small side, bed was comfortable and lovely walk in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    We had a great room on the top floor of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great room on the top floor of the hotel. A view over the city roof tops and spires. Ideally located for our stay, close to Central Station and all we wanted to see in the city. The service was so friendly from the lovely staff. Breakfast was a good spread and plenty of seating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Bed was firm but supportive and had a great sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a boutique hotel, felt like we were in any other hotel - decor was plain and rather sterile. A little disappointed as when I booked, the photos made it look much more inviting. Also hot drink supplies were very limited. Bathroom was rather pokey even though the room was spacious.

    Bed was firm but supportive and had a great sleep! Staff were friendly, & room was clean, with plenty of natural light, and a fascinating view over roof tops!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oddly-shaped room and leaky shower, but otherwise comfortable.

    Central location, close to restaurants & bars, friendly staff and reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely breakfast, spotlessly clean, room was a great size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was squashed, the shower imposed on the toilet, and the glass shower panels didn't meet so there was a 1cm gap from ceiling to floor. The headboard light could only be turned off by getting out of bed and switching it off at the door.

    Lovely breakfast, spotlessly clean, room was a great size and we had a balcony (room 304), staff were lovely. Location was fantastic, close to train station and the city centre -we were there over some big noisy bank holiday celebrations with music on both sides of the hotel-but it didn't keep us up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for a tiny room close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room (both the bedroom door and bathroom door hit the bed when opened. There was a problem with the lights not staying on but the hotel is resolving this problem and they were very sympathetic but unable to move us to another room because the little hotel was full.

    Great location with paid parking about 6 minutes walk away. Helpful front desk staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    I like the location, very close to the train station, but on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the location, very close to the train station, but on a quiet street. We needed to go to take a bus from the train station heading to the flower garden, so it is very easy. The old town is withing walking distance. The room was clean and comfy. Staff there were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Near Leiden Centraal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of coffeeshops on this street so it can get noisy at nighttime.

    The room was comfortable and only a 5 minute walk from Leiden Centraal train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    The rooms were not up to standards (simple, clean, functional) we expect at a 3- star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was mixed. When we arrived in the late afternoon, the receptionist was clearly overwhelmed, she needs more training or more assistance. Other two were more experienced and helpful. Airconditioning in one room was bad and had little ventilation. We stayed there during warm summer days (even though it was in April) and it was too hot. Unfortunately, that room was near the front and there was some outside noise in the evening so that opening the window was not a good option either. The other room was nice and quiet, airconditioning marginal. Lockers for valuables didn't work and instructions provided did NOT help. Wi-Fi worked in some areas but in other areas it was a little tricky to lock in to. Electrical outlets are sparse and when leaving the room and disconnecting the power to the lights it also shut the power off to the outlets so charging iPads etc when not in the room was not possible. Not a big deal but a surprise.

    Location was very convenient. Breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Leiden city centre experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No table to work on in the room, but this will be renovated they told me.

    Nice theme-hotel (name says it all) Close to the station, city centre, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel, except annoying electricity problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - quite odd shape room...like a square room with extending 0.8*5-square meter space - the electricity turned off and on spontaneously (room 204)...staff told me they already realized and were trying to fix that - staff is available until 8 pm...they said staff could be called anytime in case of any problem, but I couldn’t call for help from anyone when I had some issues mentioned above

    - comfortable bed - private toilet with excellent facilities (towels, soap&shampoo, hair dryer)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    I booked a single room with a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no spoon and cup provided although there is a selection of teas and pot available.

    I booked a single room with a good price. The room was small but clean and comfortable. With a window. The room was recently renovated therefore everything is clean and the bed is comfy. The location is great and 6 minutes walk from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, friendly staff member (the one we saw), very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A spectacularly bad breakfast for €12.50. Poor choice; including burnt croissant, yesterday’s boiled egg and last month’s fruit. DT

    Great location, friendly staff member (the one we saw), very clean and good bed. DT

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the single room and I enjoyed it. It was simple but clean and cozy. The breakfast was tasty and the personel helpful and polite. The location is great. I will stay here again when I come back to Leiden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Thank you very much!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The switch of the lighting was difficult to press It could be common in The Netherlands but there could be a soap or liquid soap for hand wash. I used one which I had kept from another hotel!

    The room decor and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    great place to let behind the worries :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first day/night - the heating was stopped and it was very cold .

    i was staying in an apartment outside the hotel, everything was ok, except for the heating and there was nor hanger for clothes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Leiden is a wonderful little city and this hotel is a reasonably priced alternative to the Ibis.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work in my room at any time during my stay. My room was apart from the main hote and h to go down to lobby to access signal. The lobby but was closed after 9 pm. I reported the WiFi problem to the front desk but they couldn’t fix the problem. Not a big deal as my phones 3G signal worked.

    Convenient location near train station and center city. Old school small hote charm. Personal service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic location & not too much bar noise from street below if on 3rd floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hade booked the deluxe twin & thought we'd get a balcony, ok space wise but small windows not designed to open

    We arrived late & the front door was locked, but using the emergency number on the door the owner opened it remotely, our check in info/pass was at reception & room ready. The staff, not always present, were very friendly and helpful & accommodated every requirement.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    It was adequate but not up to expectations as illustrated on website re 'boutique' hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unmanned reception from 7.30 No access to lounge etc after this time Double room with one cup .Requested more- got 5 but then only 1 teabag Not a boutique hotel at all- not even a picture on a wall!

    Beds were comfy good location reasonable price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    I like the the staff and the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not easy in this area. Hotel doesn´t have parking, but it is normal, because they are in centre. In this area is not possible to pay with visa for parking outside.

    I like the the staff and the location. The staf is very helpfull and location is near to reastaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice young staff but only present till seven pm, but very central comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was expensive for a non cooked one and the doors could have soft door closers on them as they were slammed during the night and early morning departures. The safe key was missing so we could not use it in our room.

    The bed was super comfortable and huge. Made the room look small. Both windows opened up which is a bonus in modern hotel rooms. The walk in shower was big and clean and modernised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    The welcome from the receptionist on the front desk;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome from the receptionist on the front desk; she couldn’t do enough to help us and even called out the owner when the television in our room malfunctioned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Simple check-in process also after hours, and good value for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound insulation of the room doo was not great, I could hear doors open and shut very loudly.

    Simple check-in process also after hours, and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    I would recommend paying a little bit more and staying in Best Western Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no staff after 21:00. They have some problems with WiFi - on 2nd floor it was terrible. Cheap rooms are VERY small.

    Location is very good - close to the Leiden Central station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of problem opening the hotel door and room door with the app. No 24hr reception so had to call them for help. Using international number is not very convenient 😯

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dangerous electrics, flashing main lights, kettle didn't work and no lights in the bathroom. Had to phone someone to let me in as no receptionist and their app didn't work

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Okay but need to sort out room layouts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised price and final price differed. No where to hang clothes. Lighting annoying and did not light all of the room. Had booked car space but on arrival was told I had not booked it.

    Rooms were clean and location great for walking into the centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay close to the center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfort bed, nice and clean room, very close to the Leiden central station and to lots of restaurants and markets. I booked a single room and they upgraded to a double room for free. I enjoyed very much my stay. Definitely a good hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant boutique hotel in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. (didn't have breakfast, so cannot comment).

    Spacious room, with desk area to connect my laptop and work. Bathroom was like new. Staff very friendly. Location is great - 5min walk from Leiden Centraal train station, and quick access to Leiden's main streets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was rather basic, but what was there was fresh and tasted good.

    The staff were friendly and service minded. I immediately felt very welcome at check in. Although the room wasn't very large, it felt light and spacious because of the large windows facing the street. It was more than enough for a two night stay. Both room and bathroom were spotlessly cleaned. Everything in Leiden was within walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    Inaccurate description of facilities, poor communication, poor service. Otherwise good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife chose this hotel only because car parking was advertised. But this was not available during her stay, she had not been warned about this beforehand, and she wasted a lot of time looking for a parking space in the area. The staff mentioned the possibility of a partial refund but when she checked out, the person in charge did not want to know about this. A disappointing experience.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in the centrum of Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, Carparking only for some 5-6 cars, not always awailable, but no possibility making a reservation.

    We got a lovely and spacy room (303) on the third floor just under the roof.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The TV in the room (in the whole hotel) did not work which was rather annoying as there was nothing to do in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    A clean, comfortable and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I was unfamiliar with Lieden I found the drive to the hotel difficult and then gave up trying to find their free parking spaces which were some distance away. There is an amazing new, underground, spiral, public car park within 100m of the hotel so maybe they should direct people to that one on their website and negotiate cheaper rates for hotel guests.

    The welcome I received upon arrival was very friendly and informative. The whole hotel appeared very clean, well maintained and comfortable. I was staying in a single room, which although small, was perfect for what I needed during my stay with ample hot water for showers when needed in the ensuite shower room. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking to anywhere in Lieden city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    The room was extremely small (the door cannot open entirely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small (the door cannot open entirely since bumping into the bed). The duvet is too warm (and there are no cooler alternatives)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    This was my first time in the Netherlands and the minute I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my first time in the Netherlands and the minute I met the people and stayed at this hotel I knew that I wanted to return. The staff,the location,the breakfast was perfect. I travelled a lot through Europe and can honestly recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    It suited our basic needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small, with no coffee machine. Not much atmosphere in the public areas of the hotel considering it was the weekend.

    Proximity to the town and train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Didn't try breakfast but looked good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to pay at site. . Had already been charged to credit card from online booking

    Quiet, close to train and old town. Great Indonesian restaurant across the street. Lieden very picturesque.. great for walking but mind the bicycles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    It is in a great location: easy walking distance from train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds were slightly unconformable, and open wall plugs were hard to find. The breakfast was overpriced for what was available -- I would go elsewhere to eat.

    It is in a great location: easy walking distance from train station (good when have luggage!) and still close enough to walk to all other sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Leiden is a lovely city and this hotel is a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were excellent and spoke perfect English (as did everyone else in Leiden!) Breakfast was good with a great coffee machine and our room was really nicely furnished and very comfortable. Couldn't ask for more and would definitely use this hotel again for next trip to Leiden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great sleep even for sensitive person
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to say, as everything was as it should be. The only thing is the reception which is closed after 11p.m., however there is a phone number to call in case you arrive later.

    Unbelievably quiet inside the room, recently renovated facilities, very clean room, and great breakfast. The location is great as it is inside the old town area, with restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel closes the reception at 9pm, and there is no staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel closes the reception at 9pm, and there is no staff present after that. You gain entrance to the hotel then using the room card. In my case, at night after dinner, the room card could open the hotel door but couldn't open the room door (I carried two cards!) and I had to call the hotel emergency number. In the end, the problem was fixed, by some luck, but it wasn't pleasant to have to be doing all that at night. They need to fix the key system or have staff there at all times...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast doesn't offer much variety but was good.

    Less than 5 mn from old city and 5 mn from train station so you can use the free parking and visit the other city(ies) nearby (The Hague, …) by train daytrips. Nice little friendly and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Small room but with all commodities needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room but with all commodities needed. Shampoo, Conditioner & soap were just given the first night and not renewed during the stay. Clean room, good bed and due to the need of a desk in the room I was overclassed in room at same price ! Parking is difficult : when you got your spot, better not move by car anymore to keep it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, every thing was great and if you need or want anything, the staff is more than happy and willing to help

    The staff is wonderful, the location is great and the room is exactly what we wanted. Highly recommending

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel fine and location could not be bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is brillant for tourists, a minute's walk to the main square and handy for all the old centre. Simple hotel but newly refurbished and good value including breakfast. Free parking subject to space in the gated yard behind the hotel. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Needs more love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe did not work, there was no iron, the fridge did not work, the hairdryer did not work, not all of the lights worked. Feels big and empty and unloved. OK for 1- 2 nights as the location is good.

    Staff were nice, bed was comfy and the room was clean. The property is in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    Worst value I've experienced in ages
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no kettle or coffee pot in the room and the breakfast room opened was an hour late. There was something in the room that triggered my allergies, making breathing difficult from the moment I laid down my head on the pillow until I exited the following morning.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Turned out that my room was being used by some workmen doing repairing works at the hotel. They friendly removed their tools from my room immediately, but the room was not totally cleaned up then. Simple buffet breakfast with relatively few choices for vegetarians. On arrival the staff only told me the time that the breakfast is served but did not tell me how much it costs and that it's not included in my reservation. I am fine to pay for my breakfast, but better if the staff can remind me that it's not included. I made reservation months ago, could not remember clearly whether I paid for the breakfast as well.

    The staff let me have the room earlier than the check-in time. I really appreciate it. A comfortable and convenient place to stay. When I checked out, the staff helpfully answered me a number of questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    Irresponsible and arrogant staff, tiny place, with pee stained pillows, stear clear!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel does not specify that they don't have a 24hr reception. They could let you know that when you book the room, it's very simple. When I arrived after midnight, there was nobody there, but a number to call which was not answered right away. I was waiting on this side street for 25min before some one came to open the door, meanwhile lots of drunken guys passing me by, I was very scared, and all I wanted was to go to the room and sleep. In todays world, a simple email would have been sufficient to let me know that there would be noone when I arrive. All I got is a simple apology. They put my personal safety at risk, this is inexcusable. Would never book there again, ever!! It is the staff there who make the place, and they are irresponsible, arrogant staff. You have been warned! As additional info, my pillow had yellow urin looking stains, which were changed next day when I asked, but not in the first night, yuck! The rooms are tiny. Don't be fooled with fotos you see online.

    Nothing, but proximity to the main train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice time in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no windows to be opened, so it musty smelled.

    The location is perfect. Right in the center close to all the main interesting points and shopping streets. The room was quite spacious and clean, with high roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Not a great place, an oppressive room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just oppressive. Small, with a even smaller window at the end of a narrow extension of the room, and with a black wall as the only view The way to operate the lights remained a mystery, with multiple switches. The desk is so minuscule that my laptop could not fit, and there was no electricity nearby the bed to charge the phone. At night, willing to flee the oppressive room, I could not work in the armchairs downstairs, the room was locked!! Uninterested staff in the morning. Breakfast OK, nothing special.

    Good bed, OK bathroom. Easy to reach by foot from the main station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Leiden - a good starting place to visit south Holland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast fair but a bit overpriced.

    Surroundings without particular charm, but not far from city center. Very friendly staff, responding efficiently to our special requests. Room comfortable with enough space. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location, decent hotel, unorganized processes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Our hair dryer was broken. I asked for a replacement. The staff informed me that they will talk to their boss. Nothing happened during the three days of our stay. - The room safe only works with a key. At the same time there are instructions for using a pin, which is not working. The staff didn't inform us about that on arrival. When I asked for a key, they weren't able to locate the right key for our room in their basket. I was told that the cleaning lady will try to identify the right key but nothing happened. - Number of parking spots is very limited (~5). Although I asked for a parking spot while booking the room weeks ahead, I wouldn't have received a spot if I hadn't called on my arrival day and specifically asked for it again. - The cleaning lady left the empty pizza boxes standing on the wardrobe. - Staff often is all over the place with the front desk not being occupied at that time. - There is a phone in the room, but no information with a number of the front desk.

    - Great location within walking distance of the city center/train station. - The room wasn't large but reasonable sized and clean. - The staff is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My single room was very, very small, with a small single bed. It was noisy, but not because of the noise outside - doors are closing loudly, so every morning, when anyone leaves their room, you can hear this very loud doors slamming. Would be nice to have tea facilities in the room.

    Location is just perfect: right in the city center and 8-10 min walk to the train station. Many restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel itself is small but very nice. All facilities are new and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Hotel Rembrandt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: