Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Residentie Californië

Californiëweg 443, 1796 PS De Koog, Netherlands

#4 of 20 vacation rentals in De Koog

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 726 apartment reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.3
    A very nice and comfortable getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa in the living could be replaced and we would have preferred something other than carpet on the floor. Something easier to clean. One of the bed covers had stains.

    Close to the beach, fully equipped kitchen, very large appartment with sauna. Our first time to Texel, it was wonderfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.8
    Absolut quiet and modern location, 10 minutes walk away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolut quiet and modern location, 10 minutes walk away from the beach. We also had a balcony with view to the forrest. The whole appartment complex is very clean and there are plenty of free parking lots. If you want, you can get fresh baked baguettes in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.2
    A great short get away but be careful with the booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I originally booked through booking.com and was later sent emails via the messaging app that they needed me to sign up and pay earlier than the booking deadline via their vacation website. When I indicated I wanted to just use the booking.com timeline and reservation system, they said we would lose our reservation and must comply with a different cancellation policy. We went ahead and did what they asked given we knew we wanted to stay here but I did not like the double standard.

    We appreciated the fact that the apartment was not in the middle of town and there was peace and quiet at night. Though we only stayed for two nights, I feel the apartment was very well stocked and comfortable for a family. Our room was ready upon arrival a few hours early and they let us check in and get going on our bikes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Very cosy, great facilities, a home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Toilet roll isn't provided which is an added inconvenience to go out and buy some. The mattresses are also way too soft and bouncy, and therefore don't stay on the bed so well. However, the day was excellent apart from the very end (checkout) when we needed some assistance to carry our luggage to the car. I was on crutches due to an accident, my wife is heavily pregnant, and my father-in-law has polio and uses a walking stick. Unfortunately, we were told no one was available to assist us due to a busy reception. My pregnant wife therefore had to carry all the luggage on her own. I would expect a residence such as this to at least offer assistance with baggage to disabled guests, but it wasn't the case on this occasion.

    The apartment is like a home away from home. Great decor, storage facilities, living room and dining room facilities (books, TV, dining table, coffee table, sofas, etc). It's just very cosy, and the kitchen is great with everything you need to prepare food in the evening. It was just like being at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Great place. Great island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had one of the two rooms that only had a shower and not a bath (I had been looking forward to a bath). Also the Free Wifi in our room worked very poorly (but we managed to find the wifi of a next door room available for us too). Also the DVD-player didn't show on the TV, so we couldn't use it. The manager was not available then. I told it when we left and they were happy we told them, because they did not know.

    Balcony on the good side: view on a small garden and trees and sun over the tree-tops. Good light, well-equipped room. Good shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.5
    Surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Supermarkets were too far

    Surroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Texel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location close to Ecomare, spacious apartment, clean, newly furbished.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.5
    Fun with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    5.4
    No restaurant or small grocery around or walking distance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment - 1st Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restaurant or small grocery around or walking distance .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    6.0
    Being on Texel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Two-Bedroom Apartment - 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too expensive. No towels!

    Being on Texel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Modern, clean, great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    9.2
    I liked the whole place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe they could turn the heating on before our arrival. The first night was a bit cold (18 degrees) but after one day, the room temperature become OK.

    I liked the whole place. It was cosy, clean and nice. Staff was helpful and kind, the location is excellent. To sum up: we had a great time there.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    10
    We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights and were very happy with it. The apartment was large and comfortable with a small kitchen, two bedrooms, large dining room, living room and a sunny balcony. We rented bicycles and rode to Ecomare which is just down the street as well as the wonderful beach 17, just a bit farther, which our kids enjoyed very much. Bicycle paths and trails start in front of the building and cover the entire island. Remember to bring bath towels, or you can rent them from the front office. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    10
    The apartment was well equipped and the Staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The apartment was well equipped and the Staff friendly and efficient. The proximity to Duinen van Texel National Park, Beach and the Island's network of cycle-paths made for an enjoyable, active yet restful holiday.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    7.5
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't know that it didn't include towels. You can rent them but it adds to cost. You also have to make your own beds {not big problem} There is also no soap in the apartment. Small little things but good if you know about it.

    The location was great. You can rent bikes when you check in. Nice bikes.

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    9.2
    Kitchen well equipped, plenty saucepans etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kitchen well equipped, plenty saucepans etc. Apartment was very clean, very impressed. Staff were so helpful. Ordered bikes and they were delivered to the apartment, they even sorted out when I got a puncture.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2015

    7.9
    Luxury amazing apartment with sauna in good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One roll of toilet paper was not enought for 4 people for one night :/ Take the towels because otherwise You have to pay for that ( 5.75 EUR per package).

    Luxury amazing apartment with sauna in good price. It was very nice stay. Everything new, clean and comfortable. Not so far to the beach easy walking (above 1km). Far to civilisacions (about 3km). If you choose this place beter with the car.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    8.8
    Quiet, close to the beach and close to a bike path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a little squirrely, but it worked well enough.

    Quiet, close to the beach and close to a bike path.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The design of the buildings is a bit dated

    Location

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    7.5
    Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small Balcony

    Sauna

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    6.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a bit surprising not to get a towel for 189 euro per night.

    Location is great.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: