Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Resort Landgoed Westerlee 4 stars

Hoofdweg 67, 9678 PH Westerlee, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Westerlee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slip scholletjes were very mediocre (possibly frozen/defrosted badly), the “fried potatoes” were barely fried and totally not done. The bed felt like a hammock; worst bed I’ve slept in for decades.

    Carpaccio, mustard soup were excellent. Breakfast was excellent. Jacuzzi in the room was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complementary coffee/tea with water cooker inside the room will be a plus point.

    All the staffs are helpful and friendly. We book this hotel for family vacation. Overall, this hotel meets our expectation. It has nice ambience with reasonable price. The room is clean, spacious with comfortable bed. The private Jacuzzi inside each room is exceptional. The food in the restaurant is delicious and so with the breakfast. It is a resort, so don't expect too much from the public transport. Better use your own car to visit the site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed too soft and room cold. Rated with Michelin for 2018 but don't see how. Nice Restaurant but food very ordinary with very limited choice.

    Friendly people, good location, quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need proper refurbishment, the beds are super soft and saggy - we barely slept. Some knobs came off the jacuzzi,, and the tub had a few cracks in it. The jacuzzi furthermore makes a horrible noise if all jets are enabled, which is a shame as the whole purpose of the jacuzzi is to relax. The Michelin-starred restaurant set expectations that sadly couldn't be met; while not bad in the slightest, the quality is similar to any other Dutch restaurant.

    The general atmosphere of the property is phenomenal. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we were told we were late and the receptionist feared she had to stay up all night for us, no welcome or how was your 10 hr travel. We arrived 30 minutes before the check-in closing time and our calls that evening had not been answered by the hotel. Towels in the room are small, we had to use towels the size of hand-towels to dry our bodies. The dogs (of what looks like the owner) walk into the kitchen and restaurant freely. The road to the carpark is a dark muddy road with many pod-holes. It was similar to jungle roads inlands in Surinam. Doors to the hotel close at 23:00 at night. Our bathroom had some clear window parts that give an easy look from the shower onto the car park and probably visa versa (no shades).

    Spacious room, there is a lift, they tried to maintain the style of an old Groningen farmhouse. Extremely soft bed (you sink away in it and will not be able to get out of your self created ditch)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not very clean

    The room looks fantastic but we found dust on the bed sheet, stains on pillows and bed. It just feels not clean which make it difficult to fall asleep. The bathroom is luxurious big but the shower floor is a bit slippery and the bathtub sticky. In general the hotel has a wonderful outlook but is not cry well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If relying on public transport, this place is a little remote. Sundays have a "bell bus" in the area so you need to call them and tell them you are waiting! This is not the fault of the accommodation but certainly worth knowing. There were a few creepy crawlies in the bathroom, but nothing a feather duster couldn't deal with, so just a quick once over from the staff before check in would be worth it. I was travelling with someone who suffers extreme anxiety when it comes to creatures with more than 4 legs so I dealt with it! In the brasserie, the barman was great but he had a tendency to wander off if no one ordered a drink every couple of minutes. If another member of staff was there, they would go and find the barman instead of just grabbing the bottle of beer themselves which is quite slow and inefficient - especially to a former bartender! When we wanted to book the restaurant we learned that it was a surprise menu from the chef, so we chose the brasserie. It looked like a lovely place to dine though.

    This place is fantastic. The spa bath in the room is a highlight with very soft beds and room service available. We recommend taking some bath bombs and bubble bath with you and throwing it all in. We didn't try the restaurant but there is also a brasserie that serves absolutely stunning food. I had pork medallions in mushroom sauce, which was unbelievable. The chips they gave were cooked to perfection and my girlfriend loved her generously cut steak. The included breakfast is great, with usual continental choices as well as bacon, scrambled & boiled eggs. We fully intended to try out the sauna at 5 EURO per person but we're so enamoured with the room and jacuzzi that we didn't make time! Overall, we didn't want to leave and will certainly look to go again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it's an old building, the venue is noisy and you hear your neighbours quite easily. The pillows are a bit too big.

    The jacuzzi was great. The bed is big and comfortable. Staff and location are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our opinion the restaurant was to expensive.

    The room was amazing!!! Staff was super friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we got the room on the ground floor, there was no central heating, only portable ones and it was cold

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was big, and very comfy. I especially liked the two person bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our neighbours used their jacuzzi really late in the evening...

    Beautiful location, comfy rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast and served later than programmed wifi unstable not professional staff

    clean room but "old"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft. The bubble bath is nice but not very practical. The breakfast in the bistro is too dark

    The food on the bistro was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is oud en stuffy..same as the rooms. The rooms were also dirty. Further there was no WiFi..

    The size of the rooms are big..the area is nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, historic features communes with luxury

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Food was lovely and the beds were comfy, the staff were very helpful and could not have helped us more.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything is amazing here. This is our 3rd time visiting, and we will definitely be back for a 4th.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found in some cabinets in the bedroom some dirty glasses and a dirty plate. Also we found a suitcase that did not belong to us. There was a lot of dust under the bed and we found that the floor heating was too high. The road to the parking area was full of wholes and mud and the gardens and the swimming pool area were not in good condition.

    The location was great, we got an amazing bedroom with a huge bathroom. The decoration was beautiful and we felt very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and the 4 course menu was delicious. We had an amazing weekend!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nicely situated in Groninger landscape. Large wel equipped rooms and excellent bathroom. Dinner and breakfast are very good. Good place to stay when you need to be somewhere in that area.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi signal in room 11, we had to go into the corridor to get the signal. Rooms were loud, we could hear our neighbours AND their bath tub during the night. Breakfast was ok, but in a cheaper hotel, we received more variety than here.

    Bubble bath Beleefroute (walking route with movies (app) and stories) in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The Restaurant is a real challenge, arrogant waiters, no winecard and the food unfortunatly very dull. And this in a mentioned Michelin and Gault Millau place. More than a disappoinment.

    The room was very nice, but needs to be inspected for cleanlyness and the shower needs to be repaired, it floads the whole bathroom

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On approach we thought we had arrived at the wrong place. The gardens looked neglected and overgrown.

    Once inside the hotel everything was stylish and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only negative thing was bed what was too soft and seen best days.

    Nice old building what is renovated with style. Good service and they even made me special dinner when arriving late.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome whirlpools in every room, fantastic breakfast, excellent staff, superb restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything And special THE service from the Tsech lady And THE young man. From Winschoten

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The evening meal was fantastic. Exceptional chef.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jacuzzi in room and balcony Restaurant experiencial food Relaxing and luxurious with local feel

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The comfiest bed in the world! We love this hotel, will definitely be back. Staff were lovely and friendly. Couldn't ask for more.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Hotel Resort Landgoed Westerlee traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: