Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Restaurant De Fortuna 3 stars

Spuistraat 3, 1135 AV Edam, Netherlands

#2 of 5 hotels in Edam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved our time at Hotel De Fortuna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Loved our time at Hotel De Fortuna! I stayed here for a week in August 2018 with two of my kids, both age 8. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The restaurant served excellent local food (and a respectable variety of wine). The breakfasts were simple and delicious (with Edam cheese, of course). And the rooms were comfortable. The hotel was a welcome place to settle in each night after exploring Edam and the surrounding areas by day. Bonus: the hotel is adorable; picturesque and ideally located in town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing!!!

    Everything. Every small detail for a traveling guest is addressed. The refrigerator, wine glasses, safe, hooks, shelves, toiletries, chocolate...etc. This hotel has it all including a fabulous breakfast, flowers, top location and a view that does not quit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    This is simply a great place to dine and to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, it's pretty much perfect!

    The food is superb and reasonably priced, the rooms are comfortable in an old-fashioned way, the staff are pleasant, attentive and helpful and the setting, especially on a summer evening, is sublime.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the place - it is quite quirky though, and in the centre of a tourist village, so if you are expecting an ultra-modern room and to park right outside this may not be for you. We parked in a nearby car park with no problems (ideally bring a parking disc though, or get one from the tourist office!)

    A lovely, characterful, place to stay in a beautiful village. The owner takes great pride in making sure everything is satisfactory and everyone is happy (which they seemed to be when we were there). The garden, with outside tables, including designated ones for guests, was particularly lovely. The food and bar were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    I loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing

    Edam is great. Comfortable and slow paced. This hotel fits it well. Rambling lay out right next to a main canal. Breakfast was good. Family room was comfortable. Restaurant was very good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Memorable. hope we can go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing -it was perfect!

    We had a very good room, a Junior Suite with canal view, and it was the most lovely view, with table and chairs on a canalside patio. Welome was great and both dinner and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    This was a fancy choice for us, three hours for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers in garden area after hours

    Lovely in every way. Flowers and egg cooking are our best memories. Very fancy dinner with plenty of raw beef to talk about.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Absolute beautiful surrounding and comfortable, feels like home!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I haven’t found anything that I dislike yet.

    The location is right in the Center of Edam, and have very good view, excellent spot. Beautiful decorated hotel, garden and restaurant. I like where there’s river behind the property which is quiet and beautiful. I’m having a good time enjoying the beauty of nature and reading books there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    This stay was perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our favorite stay in the Netherlands. The property is beautiful and the city is delightful. We loved breakfast and the hotel staff were very pleasant. It was very easy to travel to Marken where we spent the day hiking and picnicking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable hotel and delightful town in a quiet, peaceful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is nice but has a stale smell when you enter so you will need to open the windows and doors to aerate. There are no screens so gnats may get in. Bring bug spray. No AC but it gets cool at night.

    Hotel is 5 to 10 minute walk from bus station. Room 26 had a good view of the canal and on ground level. Chairs and a table outside to sit and enjoy peaceful setting. Friendly staff, decent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff with saving on parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    After waiting 1/2 hr for waitress to pay bill for diner, I decided to not wait anymore. Got up a payed at bar.

    Helpful staff with saving on parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A quiet rural retreat in a delightful Hotel well away from the busy city of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ideally situated beside a canal in a quiet Waterland town, within easy walking distance of the bus station. Restaurant meals are excellent, either inside or on the terrace. Amsterdam is about half an hour away by bus or car, whilst a 10€ ticket can be used all day on the Waterland buses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Perfect pleace in Edam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. It was perfect!

    Imagine a perfect pleace... Yes, the adress of this pleace is la fortuna, In Edam! All the people of the staff were extremly attentive, kind, gentle, the room was very charming, decorated in an antique style and there were plenty of shampoos and body creams on the bathroom of very good quality. There were also some chocolates in the room, to give a special and delicate touch to the atmosphere. In the hotel there is also a restaurant that is VERY good and awarded. It was the best stay among the 15 hotels that we have experienced in our trip! Ahh, and the breakfast! OMG, they thougth about every little detail, it was delicious and had lots of options of breads, cheese, ham, tartines, jams, etc....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We LOVED it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an incredibly atmospheric, cozy and beautiful hotel in a wonderfully old and well-preserved small town. The hotel’s food — both breakfast and dinner — was fantastic, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. A visit here is a great way to get a feel of The Netherlands. We stayed at the hotel in 1998 and have wanted to return ever since. We were not disappointed with this 2018 return visit...and hope to visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked to try the restaurant, but the menu was limited and not to our liking. The offerings were heavy on meat and we would have preferred lighter fare. The restaurant looked lovely, but the menu did not change and the "catch of the day" was never specified.

    The location was ideal and the hotel and grounds are picturesque. The bed was really comfortable and the room was very clean. The included breakfast was varied, healthy, and abundant. Parking was free and very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    The property is friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I check in late at the night and the property didn't ask for payment, I thought it was charged by my credit already, this cause a lot of trouble for me to pay from Swiss when home, I have to say something during my stay. 1. the TV controller is not working, probably the battery exhausted 2. The blanket is not clean, my skin itchy when sleeping 3. Heating is not working, the room is quite small that the door cannot open fully 4. the breakfast is poor compare to hotel in this price

    The property is friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    One of the few places I want to RETURN to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not answered - there is NOTHING I didn't like about this place..l

    "De Fortuna" in Edam is a place everyone should experience. I visited Edam 35 years ago and I went back with my wife to get a second confirmation of my first experience back in the mid-80's. I picked "De Fortuna" from photos and it's location and was really SATISFIED. In buildings from the 16-century we had a nice room, enjoyed a Michelin-recommended kitchen and not at least a very cosy restaurant that more than exceeded our expectations. We had no need to go elsewhere - we dined at "De Fortuna Restaurant" for 4 nights... Even in April, when the temperature outdoor was around 5-10 °C, the hotel cleaned up the garden EVERY DAY, wiping tables, putting out chairs, ashtrays and swept the tiles in the ground. I am still dreaming of returning back here when the temperature shows summertime and 20+°C. The channel-side garden would be so, so, so perfect to relax and enjoy a beer during the the hot season. The staff at the hotel, the room-cleaning persons we met every morning and everybody in the restaurant, breakfast and dinnertime, should have some kind of reward - we felt welcome and appreciated every hour of our stay. We stayed for 5 days, 4 nights during Easter of 2018. One of my very best recommendations, world wide..!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    A joy to be back here! After 10 years it is as delightful as ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner service was patchy, sometimes excellent, sometimes slow; sometimes repeated requests for a carafe of water were needed.

    Wonderful location, bright, comfortable room overlooking a quiet canal. Generous continental breakfast. Excellent dinners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    A great location in the town centre and within easy reach of the main cycle routes of north Holland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People smoking beneath our room's window.

    The restaurant was of a high standard even if the service was a little slow. The hotel was in a lovely position by the canal and despite one noisy goose was surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great get away. l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very very small. Hard to get around and only one side of bed was acessaable without crawling over. We were offered a larger room if we would wait until late in the afternoon but we awerr tired. So when you make reservations ask for a larger room. This hotel is in the middle of lovely Edam. Great walking along the streets and canals. Quaint town

    Restaurant was very nice and grounds along a canal were delightful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect springboard for a trip in North Holland. We brought our 5 year old and his bike and we had a blast. The facilities and staff were welcoming and thoughtful. Food at Fortuna was the only hard part for him. With little ones, I would consider dining out of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay in a comfortable family run hotel restaurant with bags of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds could be more comfortable and fittings were rather dated. Tap in sink stiff to operate. Room had mini bar fridge but with nothing in.

    Beautiful location in a very picturesque part of Edam. Excellent restaurant with fine Dinner menu and good breakfast selection. Accommodation in a lovely spot with tranquil setting and picturesque views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    A lovely Hotel and restaurant in the quaint and very beautiful village of Edam.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Karin was amazing and went to extra lengths to accomodate all our wishes. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the wine selection they had was very good. Fortuna was our home away from home during a tough time for our family. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    When in edam, stay at Fortuna "
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason I couldn't get their wifi to work. I had to connect through my phone.

    I booked the Fortuna last minute. I arrived very late and as I walked up to the door I lucked out that the staff was still up and running. Somehow my reservation had not gotten through to them yet. I knocked on the door, they let me in and despite my room reservation not being on the top of their mind, without question they walked me right to a courtyard with a room, turned on the heat, and wished me goodnight. The next morning I had the best seat in the house for a terrific breakfast! The Fortuna is based in a quaint and incredible place in edam. I wish I could have stayed much longer!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place to sleep at Edam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, we needed to move stuff to allow place for our bags. The restaurant was just OK. We took variations on the suggested menus, they were just OK, even for the local food, if you dine there take in account that the default is a slow pace dinner, more than 2 hours, with long time between dishes.

    Our room was by the garden, and sitting in the garden, just watching the ducks and landscape in the morning is enough to stay there (note it's not a private garden, you just can get out there from some rooms). . Quality of sleeping, the mattress was firm and smooth as if new.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    We will be back to stay everytime we are near Edam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If a guest has difficulty with stairs ask for a ground floor room. The stairwell and climb was not the easiest.

    Our bedroom/barhroom was a little cramped in size, but that did not diminish our overall pleasure. The location is beautiful, quiet, and entirely peaceful although located nearly in the center of Edam. The ownership family were most pleasant and welcoming. Security for our bicycles was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay at this hotel! Happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location could not be better, despite busy summer holiday season, it was very quiet (so was Edam as well). I visited with my bike and the hotel owner was very accommodating. Perfect for a get-away to cycle around and enjoy the countryside. Will happily return on my next visit to Edam.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great stay! Gorgeous place! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was literally one of the best stays we had! Great location and gorgeous building! The staff really nice and the room, though some may say 'small', but I'd say 'fun-size' and we really felt great in it. Breakfast and dinner of really great quality. Close to the city (we had many marvellous walks) and the city is very very beautiful itself! We really recomend that hotel, for while coming into the building we though we were stepping into a fairy-tale, or a movie! Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Charming, quaint and beautiful at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was Euro-small but we prefer location and charm to size, sterility and sameness.

    What a great little place in a beautiful town. Staff interaction was with one brother/owner who was busy but efficient. Breakfast was superb as was the restaurant at the property. Go to Edam, you'll love it and this hotel is charming. Restaurant cuisine was fantastic, pace of dining was very slow, but why would you be in a rush here? Slow down and enjoy this place! We rented bikes and rode to the coast and through towns and countryside. Bike rental right around the corner and the ride easy and spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful location in a quaint Dutch village only 30 min from Amsterdam Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast disappointing: rather basic and too crowded

    Most charming location in a most charming village. Close to Amsterdam by public transportation. Nice yard to sit outside and enjoy an excellent rosé wine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Edam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a little cramped, though mainly because there was a lot of furniture.

    Very good buffet breakfast. Two entrances to our room: one from inside the hotel and one leading directly outside and into the hotel garden. Parking permit so we could put our car in the nearby car park for free.. Excellent restaurant. Interesting building with timber beams and posts very visible on the ground floor. Peaceful location close to Edam centre and restaurants. Sort and easy drive to the main road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    İt is a place to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing.

    Edam is a very beatiful place. I felt as if in a fascinating tableaux. Environment is quite and comforting . Particularly cheeses are delicious. We enjoyed tasting them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice first stop on my trip to Norway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The hostess, Inga, was helpful, warm and friendly! The room was roomy and comfortable. The deck outside the sliding door of the room had beautiful views!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.8
    Bad service & beds in a fairytale location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service. At lunch,the staff was rather slow, even though the dining area was half empty. It was very windy that day and some ladies at a table next to us had their wine glass fell off the table, so it broke. The waitress didn't even help them with cleaning it up or taking away the shards. At breakfast, the owner was in charge of giving coffee to the guests, but he didn't come to our table even though he served literally everybody else around us. I had to ask a very kind gentleman with no knowledge of English, who was very helpful and took me straight to the kitchen where he poured a fresh kettle of coffee for me. The beds were really bad. We wanted a double bedroom, but the beds were just two single ones put together. There was a very uncomfortable gap in between, so if you're traveling with a partner, either sleep on just one bed, or forget to cuddle during your stay. Very disappointing. The breakfast was very humble. Our "house" was facing the outside dining area, our windows straight in front of the tables. It was rather uncomfortable to change clothes in our room. Be prepared to hear your neighbors taking shower and stuff...

    The location is just fantastic,just like a fairytale.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    The external environment beautiful, room very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small the bathroom was smaller, the refrigerator in the room wasn't working before we arrived at the manager knew that they didn't replace it or have it repaired. We were in a room upstairs and outside at the back and we were told if we want milk for tea and coffee or a cold drink to come down to the bar when I went down to the bar for milk they said because the refrigerator wasn't working they put powered milk in with the tea and coffee it was coffee whitener when I said I wanted it for tea the staff after a discussion about milk did give 2 small long life milks not happy

    The external environment and the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was more about the accommodation than anything else and sadly, we were quite disappointed. The room was very small to accommodate three people, let alone four. We could hear the toilet and bathroom being used next door, as well as the other guests talking. It would have been nice to have had a warm room to walk into rather than wait for the heater to kick in after we arrived. The shower temperature constantly changed from hot to cold and afterwards we had to get changed in the room as there wasn't enough space in the actual bathroom.

    The location was convenient, set in a lovely, quaint village. The breakfast was well catered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    A great hotel. Responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you for the excellent attitude. And the great dinner in the hotel restaurant. The hotel is very good for romantic holidays. Channels and small streets of Edam creates a very good atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. And the staff very friendly. The rooms are clean and pleasant. My advice to all the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pretty main part of the hotel, the restaurant was very nice with good food. Room that we stayed in could do with updating, having said that it was a reasonable price..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    A lovely little hotel in an historic and scenic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent in the old town of Edam directly next to the canal. It was within walking distance of the bus terminal which we used to go into Amsterdam for a day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Fab place to stay and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fish in the pond outside looked very sad pond could have more lillies and be deeper - personal opinion

    Very accommodating and helpful great location beautiful hotel fabulous deco in the main restaurant loved all the old paintings and quirkiness of the place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is facing pretty canal with ducks. We enjoyed the peaceful view very much. Dinner at the restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, great view from room, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, great view from room, great food. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely atmosphere inside the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except that it could be noisy in the evenings in the courtyard.

    Lovely atmosphere inside the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Charming, picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi almost nonexistent in room and slow, fragile in lobby/reception.

    Pleasant staff, nice restaurant, charming decor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, very relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, very relaxing place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Awesome location, rooms are a little outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a small, mattress on the bed wasn't of the best quality.

    Very friendly staff and a very exclusive location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Magic and pleasant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont know really if anything

    Excellent building plenty of history and “family business” look

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay, would go again
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was smaller than expected, had diarrhea after breakfast, parking 200 metres away

    cosy place with nice chanel few, good atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location and as pretty as a picture. Informed and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Cosy, cute room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    he hotel was charming, very romantic. the breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was charming, very romantic. the breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Stunning location excellent breakfast also stayed for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stunning location excellent breakfast also stayed for an evening meal which was amazing def recommended to try!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    The stairs to our room were unsafe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to our room were unsafe!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Garden was a delightful place to enjoy the morning and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much furniture in a small room

    Garden was a delightful place to enjoy the morning and evenings. Charming facility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Great little inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in the room.

    Great location and Resteraunt. Small room in a little house. Very cute but tight quarters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very cozy, nicely located, personnel very friendly. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cozy, nicely located, personnel very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for seeing lots of sights staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good staff , and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very slow at dinner, two hours wait for main course.

    Good staff , and clean.good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    Using 'quaint' to get away with dated and tacky
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Double' room was 2 single beds. VERY dated

    Exterior and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    beautiful hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel and the locatio are very excellent.. we have enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Quaint guest house in delightful town of Edam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint guest house in delightful town of Edam. The hosts were very accommodating and helpful. Great breakfast spread. A lovely spot to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant. The food was excelkent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect and authentically Dutch in every way. Acht gezalag.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Location; Staff; Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location in the beautiful little town of Edam. Rooms are small but so are all the little houses in Edam. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Top
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De ligging

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    the charm of the hotel, plus the good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    no private parking area, but big parking not far away

    the charm of the hotel, plus the good restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The four of us had a great time in Edam at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would have preferred fitted sheets for the bed.

    Everything about this little gem...location, helpful manager, breakfast, gardens, views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location and ambience. Very very pretty with lots of gardens, outdoor seating by the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.0
    A place like a painting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing was so nice & comforting.

    View from window is wonderful. The whole envirenment is exceptionally nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    The best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    It cannot get any more Dutch than this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. Very small bathroom.

    Very nice Dutch hotel in a very nice Dutch environment. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, romantic cottage in a typical Dutch village
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm in the room. I wish I had a fan at least

    The location and the authenticity of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great Family Place to Stay - Absolutely Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and quaintness of property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very picturesque hotel made up of a small group of some small houses. Very pleasant and helpful staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old hotel,nicely furnished,very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely outside area to eat next to canal

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel & Restaurant De Fortuna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: