Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Design Hotel Jules 4 stars

Gildestraat 2, 1704 AG Heerhugowaard, Netherlands

#2 of 2 hotels in Heerhugowaard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above I could go on and on this place should be should down. Devoid of atmosphere. Staff cold and couldnt care less. They would learn alot from Irish hotels where they would bend over backwards to make sure you were being looked after. Horrible experience I will never go back. Total waste of money.

    Room had no tea/coffee making facilities and no restaurant open at weekend. Breakfast was dreadful, substandard and the staff were most inhospitable. They were silent except for the reception asking me was I finished breakfast as she had the job to tidy up. No nice smiles...nothing. Plug in whb not on chain. Long mirror not fixed to wall properly - held up by small piece of wire that could break any minute. Rooms and decor uninviting and outdated. Bed spread tatty. Couldnt get a cup of tea as nothing in room and no service at weekends.. I was appaulled. These people know nothing about hospitality and have no interest in the people staying there. I would never stay there again. I liked leaving yesterday morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having a kettle in the room would have been a very welcome addition! The charge for hot water and some milk was very high.

    Friendly staff and lovely décor. Restaurant food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com puts other pictures than the standard rooms are. The hoyel was so kind to give us the rooms of the pictures, but the fault is at the site of booking.com!

    Very kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my brief visit evreything was fine

    Friendly staff, good meal in bar area, intresting interior decor. Good location for work. Cant comment on breakfast as i left very early. I would stay there on future visits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the promises that where made are not done, no sauna no turkish steambath the roomwas nothing like on the website

    Nothing compare js true what said on the website!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT APPLICABLE

    I like everything about June's Design Hotel.It is centrally located and I was there with families last year. Everyone liked it and that's why we booked it again this year. Staff are very friendly and very approachable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no airco no ventillator no fridge... just a warm airless room.... I booked french bed but we got twin beds... ridicolous "design" in the copenhagen room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were thinking that the distance to Amsterdam was a bit closer. The location is directly at a big noisy street. I would not name it a "Design Hotel" that was most probably 20 years ago quite innovative which says it already that the Hotel has seen it´s best days. Too expensive for what it is.

    Close distance to train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was provided with 2 twin beds instead of one bed as I have reserved the type of room. The bathroom is outdated and the design of all hotel elements is kitsch. The elevator was not working when I arrived. The computer in the front desk was not functional and I had to wait 15 minutes for check in, although I was the only person checking in.

    Quiet location, very close to main road. 40 minutes to Amterdam by car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a room for disabled people and the shower/wet room was a disaster completely flooding the whole bathroom floor while in use and making it very difficult to use the bathroom for a considerable time afterwards. If the shower curtain had been longer, i.e. touching the ground and a slight dip in the flooring to allow the water to run away quickly, all would have been fine. The hotel is called a 'design' hotel, the design was not to our taste. The reception area resembled a disco and some of the walls were very gaudily decorated. The restaurant service was slow and the food mediocre. This hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere!

    Good sized room, comfortable bed, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only downside is the two beds kept coming apart and we kept having to get out to push them back together

    pretty much everything was nice comfy and beautiful..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is so great full comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was lovely and so were the staff. The location was ideal for a relaxing day away!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not business friendly; they ask for payment in front; so restaurant would be on different invoice lines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lacking a kettle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No significant downsides

    Bed comfortable, easy parking, convenient for the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for business travellers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave before breakfast, room at ground level facing car park. Staff friendly, dinner in restaurant good but it would have fed two.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time of out checking little bit to early

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of the Wifi connection in the room was not good. Dropping the connection all the time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much design, no toiletries

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and close to large shopping centre for evening meal. Close to main road for next day travel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open

    Late check out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and got an upgrade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi Bath towels hard and thin Spin rags in our room

    The breakfast Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could hear the road noise at night

    It was a modern, clean and fancy hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with 2 single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room , bathroom small and old no bath . Not like the picture .

    Free parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a terrible location - right between the highway and the railway. OK for a business trip but very unpleasant for a leisure trip. There is no kettle/coffee station in the room and the restaurants/cafe's are 20 minutes away by foot. The hotel is described as modern but the rooms feel old/tired.

    The service was friendly and the linen was clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pictures you see on their page are a bit misleading. If you are looking for a room with a crazy design, don't be surprised if you don't find it... They have some classic style ones as well...

    Big & Comfy bed. Lots of parking spaces. Easy access from the highway. Restaurant in the premises.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom is not comfortable, high bath tub and almost impossible to stand under the shower. no clock , no fridge. Hotel works with real keys no key cards

    bed was low but good , room very clean safe in room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very warm and no climate control available Internet didn't work, at all.

    The desk was perfect for working Very friendly and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bring your own towels, the hotel- ones you can use for scrubbing. Don't do breakfast, it's overpriced.

    Friendly staff, told us to go to Alkmaar (by train, easy) because Heerhugowaard is boring.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it was 14 February we could not eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked. There are no many places around where we can have a dinner.May be the staff should warn us in advance to make reservation.

    I liked the facility. The rooms were warm, the wifi was free and with good speed.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After seeing that we had young children at check-in ,the receprionist switch our rooms to a double instead of 2 singles using her own intiative. We required the use of a microwave to sanitize baby feeding items and this was not a problem , they were happy to help.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Luckily I had a silent room on town side. The hotel is close to station/town; the restaurant serves good food. Good for a business stay!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was cold when i arrived

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved this hotels modern design around an old Mill, an my stay was so relaxing and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Couple

    The room. Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is very helpfull. The hotel is nice, well designed. We were in Dubaj room and it was very comfortable. We also appreciated free parking.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was expensive

    Efficient check in and check out process. Close proximity to the highway

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and good sleep

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Design Hotel Jules traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: