Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Engelanderhof 3 stars

Arnhemseweg 484, 7361 CM Beekbergen, Netherlands

#4 of 11 hotels in Beekbergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 546 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Towels rather small and water was only left on two out of four mornings. Think the breakfast is overpriced.

    Lovely staff and always very helpful. Very quiet and peaceful location although not far from the road. Plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife had her birthday December 31, that’s why we went there. We asked and they promised us a room downstairs by e-mail, before we arrived. That was why we have chosen a comfort room and not a standard room, but, arriving, that room was not available. My wife had a knee surgery, could not go on the stairs in a easy way changing with other guests was a problem. The room upstairs was very good, and we wish to go there again, but paying more for a luxury room.... upstairs? No, in our case that was a mistake from the hotel!

    The clean and good room and bathroom, the breakfast, the surrounding garden and forest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for showers throughout the building, and nothing said about it let alone compensate. Bar closes already at 10pm.

    Good staff, nice lounge area with fire.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can see that the room is a bit dated and if you are unlucky you hear a lot of noise from people nextdoor or upfloor. In the bathroom that has a good toilet and walk in shower you see that it is not the cleanest. A restyle and retile(couldn't resist!) could do miracles!!

    The beds are new and from the boxspring type. They support your back well and because of that have a good night sleep. Pillows are fine as well. Good curtains to keep the light out. I have been to this place about 20 times over the last 10 years or so and last year it got a new owner and that is always a point that you think: What will happen?!? Well the menu for lunch and dinner got more simple. I don't mean worse, just different. No more lambrack or sauted shrimps on the menu :-/ but more things like a homemade hamburger and a very decent quality steak... This is a very friendly place, where you feel welcome and at ease. Breakfast is nicely priced and there is something for everyone! Toast, crescants(let's go back to what they were orginally called back in the time!)pancakes, eggs, bacon and so on!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I really missed was a kettle in my room. I am a coeliac and it would have been very useful.

    Room and facilities were very clean and tidy. Staff were extremely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Something that never crossed my mind!!!

    The Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The Deluxe room extremely comfortable. The Chamber Maids excellent. WIFI excellent. The garden is beautiful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food, when it arrived, was of good quality, it did take nearly an hour for it to appear. Some other customers also seemed to be unhappy at the delays. I found it very difficult to wash my face in the bathroom due to a low and deep shelf right over the sink, which all but prevented me putting my face directly over the sink in order to stop water going over the floor. I've never encountered this difficulty before! The shower floor was incredibly slippery with no bath mat available. I hope no one falls and breaks eg a hip. We wanted to see the evening news before going to bed but the TV defied both our efforts and those of the manageress to obtain a picture. She did her level best to try to make it work.

    The gardens and setting were enchanting, and internally it was smart and clean and attractive. We only had part of an evening to appreciate our surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi slow too slow to use Bar closed abruptly at midnight TV in room did not work

    Location - close to centre of Apeldoorn Check-in was friendly and informative

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet WiFi service was very bad. Breakfast was mostly package food and not worth 11 Euros. Hotel needs updating, needed to be an engineer to get the TV to work properly.

    Location. Restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in room. Extra pillows would have been nice, and a bit more light in the room for putting on makeup.

    Lovely gardens and the bar was always open. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was ample parking and the hotel was in a lovely country setting and yet not far from everywhere we wanted to visit. Would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi in room often did not work (staff says they are working on it). Rooms were cleaned very late, returning at 4 pm it was still not done. Breakfast is simple (factory sliced bread, hard boiled eggs), one moring we had to ask first for coffee cups, then for coffee. Pots are standing there long. Possible to eat our on terrace, but waiting time for both courses was very long (45 minutes each time). We got free coffee and tea to compensate. However, if some of this is improved, it is a pleasant, friendly place to stay and well located to visit Apeldoorn, Hoge Veluwe etc.

    Friendly people, cleanliness of rooms (restaurant floor was not always clean). Quiet room with balcony (= category luxuruous room), lots of birds. Staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very low price for this stay. So I had probably not the best located room of the hotel. Near doors and underneath stairs. There was also a machine noise but with earplugs it was Ok.

    It was my second stay in this hotel and still the same feeling. Quite, comfortable and a very good balance price/quality. Restaurant is also good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at the restaurant was a little disappointment. The waiter was not very present and forgot me when I ordered a coffee. The plate that I have chosen was too expensive in comparison with the price. They serve lots of vegetables but not enough meat. (tournedos at 27€)

    Very nice and quiet place to stay. It seems to be an old hotel when you arrive but it is a very comfortable, well equipped place. And also very quiet to have a good rest. Nice menu in the restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything to dislike.

    This hotel was so good !!!!!!! The staff could not do enough for us and the food was superb without being too expensive.There was so much attention to small details of which we noticed on our arrival.There was more than enough to eat for breakfast and the evening meals were sooooooo good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and spoke brilliant English. This is a small hotel and on the edge of a small town. Only used as a 1 night stopover but were very happy with the hotel. Breakfast was also very good and the price was acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bacon is too salty, and room was a little bit too cold but overall experience was great.

    Good staff, excellent wi-fi connection, good price, excellent cleaning

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gardens, grounds, carpark, 'tired' signage, bent flag pole, etc. all require some TLC and sprucing up; not at all the usual Dutch neat presentation. Gave a very unprepossessing first impression and we may not have even stopped at the hotel had we not had a confirmed booking. This is a pity because once past this rather shabby veneer the hotel proved to be a good choice.

    Easy to find and plenty of parking to rear. Hotel rooms are set back from road overlooking quiet garden. Pleasant, efficiently friendly staff. Good wi-fi. Large clean room with seating area and small private balcony. Excellent large shower in recently renovated "bathroom". Large comfortable bed and the whole ambience of the room encourages a restful night. Evening meal seemed to be expensive but was, in fact, very good value. Rather limited menu but sufficient choice of freshly prepared dishes for a normal meal. Plenty of seating on outside (shaded) terrace or in large comfortable dining area. Very good breakfast (inclusive) with choice of sweet and savoury. Ten minute easy walk to very attractive town centre with wide choice of alternative bars, cafes, restaurants, etc. Would certainly recommend and/or stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy...I could hear someone snoring in a room above me.

    The staff are lovely and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very 'homely; feel to the place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Pleasant welcome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old beds but still good value for money.

    Nice quiet place with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was not working

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smart place to visit the Apenheul monkey Zoo

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Really great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You hear your neighbours quite a bit.

    Very friendly staff and flexible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom: Although very nice at first sight, the bathroom isn't that practical. Toilet is placed against the shower wall. So if you're not the smallest person, you'll be squized against that wall. The shelf below the mirror wall looks nice, but when you're leaning over the sink, you have to be careful not to bang your head against it. Lightning could be better, it's a bit dark when you want to put on your make up.

    We were one of only two guests, so it was nice and quiet. We had the top floor for ourselves. Location is great, close to National Park De Veluwe. Enough restaurants around, if you don;t want to eat here. Breakfast was good and plentyful. We used the available board games for some old fashion fun. Great stay for a weekend!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendliness of the staff and owner. I would very much like to return to the hotel one day and stay for longer to explore more of Holland with my wife. It was clean, comfortable and relaxing. THANK YOU

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We stayed at the Englanderhof on the last night of our holiday on the way back to Calais. The lady at reception was very friendly and showed us to our room which overlooked the garden and perfectly suited our needs. We ate in the hotel and had a superb meal and we were not rushed which was pleasing. Breakfast could be taken either indoors or outside and gave us a really good choice.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant a bit pricey,and the room could have been better insulated against external noise- TV next door and door slamming

    Excellent restaurant and friendly staff,the bedroom was well equipped and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Yes, it is important to have a clean room, with a good bed and nice / flexible lighting in the room. But is also nice if the common rooms are nice and staff knows your name at the first breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing springs to mind

    Good clean accomodation. Quality of food and politeness pf staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice welcome,comfortable room and excellent restaurant for an evening meal. Hotel in quiet village location yet within 2 miles of the motorway

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Taking are of staff in all questions.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Really good location if travelling across Netherlands. Easy and friendly place to stay. Lovely food too.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lumpy pillows

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good food in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very lumpy pillows

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bedsid table , lighting inadequate

    Receptionist very friendly and more than helpful, location car park and bike shed

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Restaurant Engelanderhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: