Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kasteel Doenrade 4 stars

Limpensweg 20, 6439 BE Doenrade, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Doenrade

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Perhaps could do with a little updating, as long as it doesn't detract from it's charm.

    Lovely old building in a picturesque setting. Charming, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food (dinner). Very comfortable bed in a good sized room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a Luxury room, it was very quaint and in the roof, so sloping roofs both sides, but it certainly wasn’t what I would say is Luxury!!

    Good location, staff very friendly and generally nice building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size (width) of the bed was just enough for me not to fall off during the night when I turned. Not much variation of a breakfast.

    Beautiful green environment, nice location. Very clean and quite room. Price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms could be bigger and I would have appreciated a fridge.

    The location is stunning and the castle really great. Meals were excellent in a wonderful setting. Staff was available and very helpful. This was truly a great experience and we will visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast good have been more extensive for the price. Scrambled eggs were not very good at all, everyone seemed to not eat them so we were not alone on that

    Dinners were very nice with good selection of local cuisine. Wine selection good be expanded a bit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very plain. I did'n like the beakfast/ diningroom, dark and not so clean.

    The room was very spacious and nice. We were upgraded to a junior suite for a little extra money: € 25 per night. We had diner outside every evening since the weather was very nice. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a comfort room, but got a suite at arrival! Awesome! It was hughe and nicely refurbished with good beds, cosy sitting corner. The breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has a very nice atmosphere, very friendly staff, and the food is great. As the building is from the 11th century the history and the setting with hotel makes spending a night here an adventure! As it was only a 7 minute drive from Brunssum (were I was for for buisness) makes it a perfect choice for staying for work the next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk personnel should note where you can eat after 10 pm. The answer is Brunssum

    This is life in a real castle. Really, a wonderful place all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was well.

    large room, actually more like an apartment. Beautiful surroundings. Very large, clean and comfortable bed. Friendly Staff. Quiet (not many rooms). Radiates historic atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi is slow and loses connection occasionally. There is no minibar and water cooker.

    The room is large with a cozy bed, flat screen tv, bath, shower, stereo. Excellent for relaxing, because it is a really quiet and pretty area. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the staff member were nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast. One can expect details, like natural orange juice, fruit, or scrambled eggs for that price. As per dinner, paying 4,50 for a basket with bread is not really a brilliant deal. I ordered chicken, for which I paid a decent money and it was clearly not cooked in the day. One of the things I value when I travel for business is my rest. From my room, I could clearly hear all the noise from the kitchen: banging dishes, cutlery, etc., as well as some sort of elevator that wouldn't stop until around 22:30. The last day, there was some sort of gathering in a conference room adjacent to my room. A woman singing and people clapping and cheering. I couldn't sleep until past midnight. Bottom line: a bit disappointing experience ...

    The room was nice, clean and spacious. Staff very friendly. The location and the castle itself are very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very, very poor wifi, but at least I was not able to work during evenings, so enjoyed my stay even more :) Maybe matracess are a bit older.

    This hotel is really something else! Usually I wake up several times because of noises from the other rooms or lobby, here I slept really well. Nice and friendly staff, speaking more languages than I know perfectly, very good brekfast. Really liked my stay!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything

    Best location, excellent food and service. If you like to escape from world then best place to live I already mark this spot for all my future trip

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cannot fault this hotel in any way.The location was excellent, the rooms spacious and the food delightful.Would recommend this hotel to anyone..Staff were excellent also.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location means that you need your own transport.

    excellent hotel hotel with helpful staff, excellent food, and spacious comfortable rooms in a quiet idyllic setting

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    All facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were superb, the food was really good. The rooms maybe a little older but still comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were noisy, we could hear the "neighbours".

    The dinner at the restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    -

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI connection is to slow to continue my work activities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was only average. Room was a little dowdy and old fashioned and rather small.

    Beautiful historic building and surroundings. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They gave me a free upgrade to an awesome room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good value for money, amazing building, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More selections on the TV and a better/larger screen.

    Friendly staff - always available! Nice restaurant - quality food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lovely comfy bed, nice clean room, and great breakfast. Really helpful staff, especially the two young ladies helping with breakfast service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money and a good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet eas not the best

    Very beautiful place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a serius problem with internet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got free upgrade excellent room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect. Dinner in Restaurant delicious. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just amazing...Comfortable, big, warm, quiet, wonderful bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, but too loud (inside and outside)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and quiet accommodation with a character. Staff are kind and helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was unstable

    beautifull place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    non

    nice place to be , great service and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to run from my room at 5:20 AM for a fire alarm! There seemed to be no staff member in charge to begin with, and in the end only about 10 guests left there rooms. A big tour bus of tourists never even bothered to come out. There was no apology, and no explanation as to why the alarm went off or why everyone was not made to evacuate the building. It ruined our stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly, our room was nice and had a lovely view over the autumn colours of the countryside, there was complete peace and quiet during the night.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful, small and homey hotel. Friendly staff, courteous but informal. Very considerate of our needs and those of our children- two toddlers and a baby. Had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant and good breakfast buffet. Rooms are decent sized and well appointed. We had a wonderful weekend with the family- would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My only complaint and this is purely personal is that the bed was very soft but I still had a good nights sleep.

    Location, modern but traditional styling, freindly staff and superb food

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast lacked variety. We are not fussy but comparing with other, more basic hotels, the breakfast was very limited. Lots of bread (good), coffee, juice, one boiled egg per person, plate of cheese and cold cut meats. Could improve with added yogurt, cereals, fruit.

    The surroundings were peaceful and quite pretty. The grounds are impeccable. The room was large and the children enjoyed their mezzanine area.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This year is our 6th holiday at the Kasteel. We visit this area each spring and the staff there are so kind and thoughful like visiting family. It has everything we need.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Snelheid service restaurant

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was too soft.

    Setting, breakfast good, sitting area welcoming and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is beatiful, personnel is very kind, the hotel is comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, great atmosphere, great stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upgrade to take us away from wedding parties

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Much more character than a modern hotel, with comfortable facilities. Quiet location but easily reached by car.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really liked the location, the beautiful building and the friendly, helpful staff. We would have stayed longer had a room been available.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds could be better.bou

    Friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad. Loved the old castle

    Loved the fact that we could sleep with open windows and woke up by wistling birds

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy room! TV and shower from neighbors woke me up.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff - nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bill had a couple of erroneous additions but they were quickly removed and sorted.

    Staff, room comfort and quietness, location great for my needs

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dangerously steep stairs Wi-fi didn't work

    Nicely refurbished castle Great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice & clean bedroom! Kind people ready to help!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good service, friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Kasteel Doenrade traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: