Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rho Hotel 3 stars

Nes 5-23, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 KC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#170 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7347 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold water 1 morning for shower. TV reception/ quality hit and miss on some channels but didn't care as i spent most of the time partying!!

    Hotel in great location next to Dam sq. The staff are great- really helpful. Our rooms were a good size especially the corner room. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facilities in room

    Excellent location, great breakfast, a little noise late evening but position makes up that . Would definitely recommend 😀😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the twin rooms. Very big hotel - very easy to get lost! Damaged furniture in suite - chair arm missing.

    Spacious rooms. Good locations, Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with a great selection to satisfy all palettes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None of the 3 elevators went even close to our "wing." We counted 57 stair steps and 5 doors, some locked, to reach our 12C room. The "2 bathrooms" promised were one room for a toilet and sink, and one room for a bath/shower and vanity, sparse for 4 women. Kitchen had dishes and utensils but NO dish soap/towels/dish cloth/cooking utensils/cutting board or sharp knife. We purchased paper towel, dish soap and knife, and used the flimsy slippers provided as dish cloths. We are all 55-71 years old and lugging 8 bags up those stairs and back down was very hard on knees and backs. Desk clerk helped some on the way up, but even HE got lost in the maze of hallways and staircases. When we mentioned the kitchen shortfalls, another desk clerk nodded, unconcerned. Living room furniture was one greasy-looking 3-person sofa, and one side chair with a badly broken armrest on one side. TV reception was horrible. View from the windows was all rooftops. Deck off the kitchen needed new planking, didn't feel totally trustworthy.

    Unit 12C was HUGE, had amazing natural light, very high ceilings, proportionately big windows that actually opened for fresh air, and the beds were very comfortable, plenty of hot water for showers. Beautiful Indonesian carved wood furnishings and art pieces. The area felt quite safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right in the heart to get to most of the tourist spots. Staff were very friendly, chatty and welcoming to us all. Hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and we had a great stay! Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had was very basic and a bit outdated. The original room had no air conditioning and was not doable at all. The staff was nice to change us to an air conditioned room. However, there appears to be a wide range of rooms that are assigned by availability rather than rate paid. Location was very good but expensive for the room.

    Breakfast was good with many choices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an apartment for four people. The apartment was in the building next door. Long and confusing walk to your room, stairs that you have to manage with luggage. Really a basic apartment. Lots of noise at night. Think you only pay for the location.

    Great location in the heart and action of Amsterdam. The breakfast was sufficient. Great storing facility for your luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot in the room when temperature shot up to 28 or 29 degrees, no coffee making facilities in the room

    Location near dam square and that it’s walking distance to many tourist attractions, that breakfast is included in the price with and a good variety of food for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an awful smell coming from the bathroom and I believe that's in every room because I had to change the room since the wifi in the first room was non existent.

    I enjoyed the location of the hotel , it's next to Dam square so you can go anywhere very fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too warm.

    The front desk staff were awesome. Very friendly and helpful. The tall dark blonde gentleman from the north of Holland whose name I have forgotten was exceptional. Very knowledgeable about Amsterdam and the world. We had some great chats. The breakfast was great. A good combination of continental and English or Canadian choices. The location is about 50 metres off Dam Square so could walk to everything. Less than 15 minutes walk to Central station. Our room faced inward so was very quiet but one couple faced the street which was quite noisy on Saturday night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was noisy couldn’t move rooms as the hotel was booked out. No English speaking tv channels. The hotel is dated. I think as we were younger than the other guests in the hotel they didn’t take our concern seriously.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night from streets but to be expected given the age old city. Had to leave window open at night as no cooling system

    Very central to many city sights and easy walking to canal boats. Lots of varied places to eat nearby. Was able to check in before time as we arrived very early in morning. Staff were very accommodating and helpful in every respect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not air conditioned and we were very uncomfortable the first night as it was exceptionally hot. This may not be a problem under normal seasonal temperatures but Amsterdam was experiencing a heat wave. The room temperature improved once we opened a window but then we were disturbed by noises from the alley below. Bed choices were twins or a double which was more like a twin & a half. Not a problem for us as but guests used to a queen or a king should select twins. Also the double bed had two duvets which covered half of the bed each. We kept getting tangled up in them & would have preferred one comforter to fit the entire bed. Washcloths are not supplied so guests who use them should bring their own.

    Excellent location, very central and within walking distance of the train station & most attractions. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a good variety of foods to choose from. I especially liked that they serve some typical Dutch foods such as poffertjes (small pancakes) & ontbijtkoek (breakfast cake).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no air conditioning and the room was extremely hot. I wish the room could be more clean.

    The breakfast was above the Europe average. I really liked the lobby of the hotel and free tea/coffee machine in the lobby. Our room was big enough. I recommend this hotel to everyone and I will absolutely stay here if I will travel once more to Amsterdam!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff extremely friendly, clean rooms and breakfast was delicious especially the pancakes and orange juice. Will definitely stay here next time I’m in Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Storage in room disfunctional . Expensive for what it is,but I guess you pay a premium for the location .

    Great location.Breakfast multiple choices excellent. Staff very helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    8 o’clock morning someone started to drill downstairs???!!! Extremely small room, no tea coffee things. Shower goes from cold to hot to cold ...

    Location is good: close to train station and historic places. Breakfast was good and staff was very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM AND THE FAN THEY GAVE US DIDN'T DO THE JOB BECAUSE IT WAS UNUSUALLY HOT I GUESS. Anyway, for the amount of money we paid I didn't think it measured up.

    GOOD LOCATION. BREAKFAST WAS GOOD. STAFF WAS GOOD AND HELPFUL.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was advertised as down a quiet side road which was correct but the visitors came down that road until 5am loudly and the workmen seemed to start work at about 6am and as the room didnt have double glazing it was very tiring.also it was hot and the room only had a small fan(no air conditioning).

    the staff were very friendly and helpful.pretty much near everything you would want to see.staff in the breakfast room quick and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    MOst of the rooms do not have air conditioning and even if Amsterdam is the North of Europe, the weather can be hot, like during our stay. The rooms are tiny and mostly made of wood and carpet. It was like sleeping in a oven. The only facility provided was a noisy fan. Make sure you have air conditioning in your room, else go elsewhere. You will not be able to get any sleep.

    The hotel is in a excellent position. Right in the city centre. Whether you are in Amsterdam for leisure or for business you appreciate it. We could reach our work place easily in 20 minutes by tram. The staff is kind and prepared and the breackfast is super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little shabby, but mainly awfully temperate regulated!! We were staying with outside temps approximately 23 Celsius but even with this our room was like a sauna. No air con and 1 fan provided which was actually broken initially anyway. Very bad nights sleep as a result of staying in such a hot and stuffy room. Needs therefore updating.

    The location is unbeatable and the breakfast provided is fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all great .

    I love the location, the staff are great even at 3 am.the breakfast starts the day off just great.i stay here everytime I go the Dam .I would recommend it to anyone asking where to stay .will go back again before the end of the year

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had air con but most rooms don’t.

    Very central , surrounded by great food places. Hotel has excellent breakfasts. Rooms might be small but good facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms.

    Very conveniently situated. Good breakfast choice. Large bedroom and bathroom. Helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet plain. Room was ok but wasn't that special... Hotel furniture seemed to have it's best years behind them. Beds clean but not so comfortable. Windows not properly sealed and loud when people walk by. Doors thin and loud when people walk by High price

    Right where you want to be. 5 min from central station and basically right in the middle. Included breakfast. Staff friendly. Back alley feeling enterence typical for Amsterdam located 20m off 2 big streets with pulic transportation. Very good location!!! The room was clean as well as the bathroom. Overall all in all I would recommend it and would consider another stay for a few days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No brewing facility in room.

    rooms are basic but clean. cleaned daily. Location great and staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside is not facility to make a tea or coffee in room for first thing in the morning. Overall good stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed was on the small size. Breakfast coffee not hot enough.

    Hotel Rho is situated in a quiet street just off Dam Square. It's very central and most attractions are either a 10 minute walk or a 20 minute tram ride. The Central train station is 10 minutes walk and you come out of the hotel into streets with so many Bars and Restaurants to suit all tastes. It's good value for money considering its central location. I was delighted with this hotel and would definitely use again. I can 100% recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a central location. BOOK IT NOW!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was terrible in my room. No Aircon. it was 30degrees during the day. rooms are basic. Wouldn't bring my wife here. Great for bed, breakfast and go. no a hotel to hang about in.

    location is very central. This is not a modern hotel, the room are basic and I didn't have aircon, however shower and bathroom were good & clean. If you're looking for easy access to the city, then this is a great hotel. Breakfast was excellent. staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that room is not air conditioned although a fan was provided in room. Windows could be opened but noise from street is quite loud as is a tourist area.

    Location was good for shopping and transport. Lots of dining choices. Reception is staffed 24hrs and staff were excellent. Breakfast was good both hot and cold choices. Rooms were clean and quite spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    Friendly & very helpful staff. close to every thing and they even had tours you can book at the front desk. rooms were great Breakfast there was enough food to fill your stomach and Rho was easy to find

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with the toiletries in the room, take your own.

    Excellent position for getting around Amsterdam. Good breakfasts, staff very helpful refilling our water bottles each morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double room we stayed in was small with outdated furniture and bathroom.

    Quite location right outside Dam Square. Less than 3 minute walking distance to red light district, major shopping center and restaurants. 10 min walk to Central Train Station. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't helpful and was really rude. The room is small, bed has been the worst. Not a good value-for-money

    Room was clean, location is right in city center. But the price does not worth the small room, the worst bed ever and the horrible service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too firm. Not enough electrical outlets: two per room is not enough in this electronic age when phones, camera batteries, hair curlers and iPads need to be charged. Charging anything required unplugging the bedside lamp. Figuring out how to get from the second floor to the lobby using the stairs was a real challenge! Better signage would help. The shower flooded the whole bathroom unless it was pointed at the wall and not turned to full stream. A curtain might help.

    Location, full breakfast, helpful staff, large and quiet room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff surly. The place is good really clean comfortable, just stuck in 1970

    Nice towels in bathroom, big rooms. Parking fantastic, just make sure you book in advance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replacenent of soaps non existent. Rather mean. Coffee making facilities in room non existent. Coffee machine on ground floor broke down and hours of operation rather short.

    Bed ok. Window good. Breakfast good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At our age, 70, with a heavy suitcase, we were not offered a room on the same floor as an elevator--or, informed that we would have that obstacle. From the elevator hallway we had to lift luggage down 3 difficult steps and 3 difficult steps up after negotiating long hallways (not to mention the 3 difficult steps to enter the hotel). The room on the 2nd floor (3rd) was large enough but a dungeon. The only daylight was from a deep set window that could only cast daylight on 3 square feet of floor space. But, thankfully, it opened to let air in, since there is no air flow in the hot weather, without it. The only lighting was with very dim bulbs that cast light nowhere needed, except in the bathroom. Could not see into closet or space for suitcase, which was limited with a support post blocking movement around it. There was no light over the desk and the bedlamp was connected to the overhead light switch--so, it was all on or off! The provided fan quit working right after going to bed and trying to sleep on a very warm night. There were NO information sheets about the room, hotel or phone, so there was no way to know how to reach reception without physically getting re-dressed and going all the way back down to reception after a very long day's journey. After telling reception the next morning, fan was replaced and worked well; but, still no provided information for the room. Our room in no way represented what photos we saw when we booked this hotel. Breakfast had a large variety and was well staffed; but, the scrambled eggs were very dried out each morning--did not see any boiled egg option. Coffee was not great, but better than instant. Saw some folks with their doors open to let the aircon from the hallway into the room.

    Staff were helpful; location great. Nice lobby with amenities like evening bar, afternoon coffee, computers/printer for printing travel documents. Room was quiet, per request. Bathroom and room were clean (although sparsely furnished). If provided a better room with light and air flow, would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms not air-conditioned so get warm on summer nights.

    Great location right near The Dam and close to restaurants and canals. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic but plenty of food and coffee on offer. Large rooms by European standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was very poor, but to be honest we didn't report it to Reception as we just about managed.

    Quite peaceful we had asked for a quiet room and even though the hotel was in the center it was a quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of air con., no coffee/tea making facility in room, tv reception not good.

    breakfast great, location in city very good for the red light area, quiet street, staff on reception very helpful, good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think it may have been good idea to have an information pack in the room. There was no tea/coffee/water in the room so make sure to take bottles of water with you.

    The hotel was clean and functional. The location is excellent for discovering Amsterdam. The breakfast was very good and the dining room was efficient and clean. We we were out all day and came back in the evening and just flaked out after long days walking around. The hotel is friendly, great location, clean and I can recommend it as long as you are not looking for luxurious accommodation. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have been quite nice even though there is an excellent machine in the foyer but we found that this was not always available.

    Check in and out was friendly and efficient. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. Great location for getting to/from the station and it is a great base from which to go and explore. Just off Dam Square but our rooms were not noisy (4th floor).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was fabulous in every way.

    The Rho Hotel is close to many tourist attractions. It was an easy train ride from the airport. The rooms are large and comfortable. The included breakfasts were delicious with croissants, lox, bacon, eggs, fruit, cheese, and juices, teas, and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot at night even though we had a fan but it was 25degrees each day we were there😎😎😎

    Location was perfect, lots to do n see, staff very helpful, let us view twin room n double room before we decided which one we wanted...great idea of hotel to leave key at reception each time you leave, don't have to worry about loosing it....access to all the shops, restaurants at your doorstep, trams just 2 min walk allowing access to everywhere😊Towels n linen changed every day, great service. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whole hotel had that tired look and feel about it. Shower very weak and no hooks in the bathroom

    Staff very friendly, breakfast better then expected and Location perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was basic, but fit our needs for the night.

    The included breakfast was delicious. The bed was quite comfortable. Location was good and close to restaurants, bars, and train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much to add to this, toilet was small and seperate from bathroom

    The photo's didn't do the property justice, great place with breakfast included, the studio apartment was large and had a balcony, the beds were very comfortable and the staff were more than happy to help

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other hotels on our trip, this one was not nearly as nice. Felt like a generic tourist hotel versus being distinctive. Fine place to stay but there are better. Location is great but the public transportation in Amsterdam is so easy, it really doesn’t matter where you stay.

    Great location off Dam Square. Very convenient to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room would benefit from more general lighting (not just bedside light and ambient light) since there was not enough light to pack/unpack and the window daylight did not add much. More electric sockets to charge multiple devices are needed this day and age! We had to disconnect some of the light fixtures to be able to use sockets for chargers. Some of the bathroom fixtures were apparently just for very tall people :)

    Location! 15 meters from Dam Square and thus in the center of the old city and attractions. Very attentive and helpful staff, both in reception and breakfast area (nice continental breakfast also) Nice quiet room (internal courtyard) Mini-fridge a great plus. Pleasant and interesting lobby area JoJo the resident cat is lovely :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was flavorful and very convenient. Bed was comfortable and room was more spacious than the norm in Europe. Location is superb as it is a couple of steps from Dam Square, and major city attractions. It is also an approximate 10 minute to Central Station and to the Tourism centers (if you have booked any tours). Staff was very friendly, and we appreciate recommendations for dinner- very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We still had a bit of noise from the alley but its understandable with the proximity of the buildings. The breakfast room can get quite crowded and hot. Would have liked other fresh fruit as part of breakfast and not just canned fruit. Still overall very good value for money!

    We recently stayed for 9 nights. The hotel cannot be located better, it is in the centre of everything!! Supermarkets, restaurants, transport and many attractions. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. We managed an early check-in and asked for a quieter room to the back as we were there over KingsDay celebrations. Room was nice and spacious even though quit warm -we just opened the window though. The breakfast was very good value for money. Will recommend to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing great about food. Staffs just bothered about money. room doesnt even have bottle to drink water. Table fans are not working. Internet is only Temporary access. every one hour u need to connect.

    Nice place in center ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of a kettle in the room for tea and coffee, although free coffee and tea were available in the reception area after breakfast. Not having an enclosed shower but again not a great problem with careful shower head control. As a fan was provided one can assume that the room was not air conditioned.

    Primarily the hotel's location, as this was our first visit to Amsterdam it was ideally situated for a sightseeing break. The friendly staff were always available and willing to help/answer any questions. It was also nice to have a room where a fridge was available for storing drinks and snacks and where one could fully open the window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & location layout of the room. We were charged full amount of two rooms. Awful apartment. Disappointing won’t use booking. Com again

    We asked for a room to accommodate our son as his partner wasn’t comung, so we didn’t need two rooms. We’re over the street up and down stair. Our son was in our room supposed to be a suite. We were charged more than to stay at marina bay in Singapore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had over looking the street on the second floor was very noisy even with the windows closed. You could hear everything going on in the street below and the building renovations being carried out next to the hotel.

    The hotel had clean rooms, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accomodating. The hotel is located in the city centre right next to Dam Square and a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drawers; would have liked a foldable luggage rack for the 2nd piece of luggage instead of having to place and access suitcase on the floor.

    Room was a little dated however, extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. You cannot beat the location - walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) You can't use existing beds if your child doesn't suit a small baby cot. They should have written additional information about children that you have to pay for a child as for an adult. That's why I reduced the score. Also, I didn't see a lot of children in the hotel. 2) Breakfast is boring. For such many people staying in the hotel, everything was running out so quickly (they brought the food shortly). There was not much of food choice (2 types of cheese, one type of salami, one type of ham, redfish, hard tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, sausages, etc.). Almost no fresh fruits, only whole apples. No salads from vegetables or fruits. Again for such many people, the food choice could be richer. 3) Furniture like in USSR. I was afraid of plugging my laptop thinking that something would burn. I think they have really old electrical wiring.

    Center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have charged me twice at the minute for one night they said they hold it then release but 3 days later still nothing back so be very careful because it says prepayment but they took money 5 days before i turn up and then also on day first time this has happened to me Beds are crap and rooms are small and bathroom is a wet room which is a nightmare

    Right on dam square cant go wrong

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose to change to this room (albeit it on the smaller side) as it had a double bed and a walk in shower. The facilities in the room were excellent. The buffet breakfast was also excellent catering for both continental and hot breakfast tastes. The staff were helpful and friendly. The other excellent facility is the on-site garage parking (reservation required). Not too expensive for the centre of Amsterdam and with all the sights and attractions being within easy walking distance, a pleasure to park and not worry about the car for the rest of your stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed very early, considering there was a vast area to sit and relax with friends Drinks machine was packed away late evening so couldn’t get a hot drink.

    Rooms clean and fresh. Plenty of seating for breakfast, which was replenished constantly and good selection Very nice Manager on desk, helpful and friendly Lovely reception area Able to leave bags for early check in and coded lockers/safes to put secure items in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tinned fruit for breakfast rather than fresh. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room.Bar only served wines and spirits rather than beers and had very restricted opening hours.

    Central location, albeit noisy but that is to be expected. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettles in bedrooms would have been nice, but realise this is not an expectation in most of Europe

    The staff were extremely helpful and charming - with travel and restaurant advice, fixing small problems with the rooms etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s one important thing that disqualifies this hotel: the worst shower i have ever seen. Very little water and impossible to keep the temperature.

    location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty and smelt, free toiletries was a small sachet of body wash and body lotion which wasn’t replaced. Room wasn’t cleaned for second day 1 towel was replaced but that was it. Definetly not worth the money paid.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in our bedroom so might be something to consider if travelling in hotter weather.

    We arrived early but our room was ready so that was great! Spacious room. Very good breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location - walked to and from station and around city. Very clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had 2 large windows but the view was hotel's walls only.

    Perfect bed, very clean, huge bathroom, very friendly people, 24 hour service, excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed having hot drink facilities in the room but fridge was a bonus

    Excellent central hotel, very helpful staff , gorgeous foyer. Excellent buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful. The pancakes at breakfast were awesome. The room was clean and very warm until we got the air conditioning on. We had a problem with the air conditioning on our second day but it was fixed while we were out.would definately stay in this hotel again and recommend it to friends. It’s very central and easy to get to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room had one window that opened to a wall, as a result the room was warm at night (we visited Amsterdam on April and the weather was warm) and a little suffocate, there is no aircondition in the room, only old fan. The WIFI was very weak. We could use a kettle for making tea in the room

    The location is perfect, right in the center. Close to all the attractions around the DAM square and to meny tram stations. Walking distance to Amsterdam Central. The room is very simple but spacious than expected and have refrigerator in it. Also, the room was very quiet and we didnt hear the DAM square noise inside the room. The team is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air conditioning and tended to be quite warm but the fan helped.location

    The beds were very comfy.The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely rude. The tall older white guy with a gray beard who appeared to be the manager seemed very kind to everyone else except my friend and me. He's the main reason I would not recommend the hotel to anyone else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the only down side was no kettles in the room and the tea and coffee facilities only get put there after 3 pm.no milk put out and so many people discard full drinks cups there and so always looks untidy with water and fluids dripping on the floor

    we liked that the chamber maids kept the room spotless and the reception staff were very helpful. the breakfast was nice and lots of choices.plus the fruit juices were not watered down. cannot fault the place really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room and amenities. I don’t like carpets and the closet smelled a bit musty. It would have been fine for half the price, but at over €200 a night, the value for money just wasn’t there.

    Great location! The room was basic but clean, with a window that opened. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated the disposable slippers. Very good breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was busy at peak times, but that is very understandable. The elevator service is erratic.

    No frills hotel, but a great place for a vacation stay. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel cat - Jojo - is the star of the show.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location was excellent opposite Dam square. Hotel staff were excellent very help full and English was as good if not better than mine. Rooms were basic clean , with no nose from the outside or other guests. Breakfast was excellent and service was good you weren’t waiting for a table.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rho Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: