Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cornelisz This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

PC Hooftstraat 24-28, Oud Zuid, 1071 BX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#183 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 912 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, can buy transport tickets at front desk and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was too soft so not great for backs.

    Great location, can buy transport tickets at front desk and very clean. We had a small double which was ok for 2 nights but would get larger room if staying any longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Rooms were small but not unexpected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were small but not unexpected... It’s Amsterdam! Location was perfect! Short walk to Leidseplein, Rijksmuseum and trams. Lounge had indoor and outdoor seating with coin operated coffee machine and snacks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The Check-In was very smooth, The hotel location is excellent, near to Tram station and in a very lively part of the city, within walking distance to everything. The room was a a bit small but it had everything we needed, comfortable bed and clean bathroom, Cable TV. Check-out was very smooth too, we left our language in the storage area we spent our day and came pick them back near our flight time for free. Will definitely be back next time !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very narrow stairs.

    Great location. Got the No 5 tram from the Central Station, eight stops away - get out at the stop for the Rijksmuseum. One minute walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.3
    The hunt for a decent boutique hotel in Amsterdam continues ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, about 2 feet round the bed and no desk; lift wasn't working (but due to be fixed the day I left); room was warm but opening the window let in lots of street noise

    semi-good destination, next to museums and posh shops but just outside the inner streets of Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.1
    An "OK" but expensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny bathroom. Very loud. Especially when windows are opened at night. Too warm inside, if windows are closed (no clima)! Furthermore, you can hear persons in other rooms, which is annoying. Very small stairs to go uo&down (and in our case the elevator did not work). Too expensive for what you become!

    Breakfast (but a bit too expensive). Location. Cleanness. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at hotel cornelisz
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs were too steep and felt a bit dangerous, but there is an elevator so you can avoid using them.

    The location was pretty good. It was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to stay to visit the museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am satisfied with the hotel as it is so convenient to visit the museums...just a few minutes away by walking. And within 100 meters there is a tram station. And it is very worthy mentioning that the hotel has an elevator!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    Was perfect
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t have a fridge this time

    I loved the staff very helpful was my 2nd time at the hotel the beds so comfy the shower was great room got cleaned everyday just so homely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the walls are super thin, i woke up in the middle of the night because on one side people were having sex, and on the other side I could hear a person snoring,

    location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the price. Too expensive for what they offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was super small, we could barely fit in with the luggage, the closet was tiny and could only fit in two jackets. The quality of the hotel is not comparable to the price we paid per night. Not worth the price at all. The room was really warm and had no AC option.

    The location of the hotel is quite good, in a very nice neighborhood. It is really close to the museums and has a very good bus commute from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    Modern, central located hotel with no aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was just under the roofs so it was bit small and we couldn't stand upright in some parts. Lucky we had summery weather in AMS but unfortunately the room was too warm and had no air con, we had a hard time to sleep in the room

    Very well located Hotel near The Rijksmuseum and just at the beginning of the canals New and modern hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a small twin bed room and had no idea how small the room would be. You had to go outside to change your mind. Plus difficult to fit in luggage with no space to set it down other than your tiny bed. And the price point for the space was way to expensive. Would not stay here again.

    Location to Vondelpark and the Museum area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.0
    great location but questionable comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found some staff left by previous guests! And it was no air to breath and was hot. No air conditioner in the room and if you open the window you can not sleep because of tram noise every 10 min.

    Location was really good. Just next to the Museum square and near the canal boats stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in Amsterdam’s museum and fashion district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One minor criticism: the safe was on the floor in the closet and very difficult to access.

    This is a reasonably priced hotel in a very pricey neighborhood. The Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum are just a block away. The street is the Rodeo Drive of Amsterdam. The canal tour boats are steps away. The hotel staff is extremely helpful. The room was surprisingly big, and excellent value for the money. There is a lovely lounge on first floor and breakfast room downstairs. Breakfast was outstanding. If it isn’t included with room, it is well worth the price. Bicycles are available for daily rental. I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Comfort and silence near museumplein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    modern room with comfortable bed. Quiet area in the night, we have a good sleep. Very near to rijksmuseum and museumplein, but it's ok also to visit the city center. N. 2 line of metro cover in 5-10 minutes leidsplein, bloenmarkt, jordaan, dam square, central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location! Cosy Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom very tight. One single day ( left before 10am) when we returned at 3pm the room was not cleaned...

    Amazing location ! We can walk to Museums, lots of Restaurants and Trams 2 and 5 to Central Station, near all touristic spots! Everything new in the room and bathroom. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small but sufficiently big for a short stay. Bed is comfortable Location is great: in a quiet and beautiful street, walking distance to Rijskmuseum and tram stations to city center. Parking is a bit difficult as the spaces in the street are commonly full and cost 34Euro a day. The nearby Byzantium parking costs 68 a day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    feel charmed in a small perfect Cornelizs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect accommodation! so incredibly comfortable and effective! great placement. amazing team! adorable!! and everything is so close! for sure a great place to stay! ladies, thank you so much for support and help and advice! and for that nice cup of coffee! a really nice place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not very close to the train station (more than a mile). Take the #2 Tram (3 Euro) to the Rijksmuseum and then walk the block to the hotel. Uber from the train station was very confusing to find a pick-up point (not the hotel's fault, but the #2 Tram is the easiest way to get there). It's on a small side street, but there was quite a bit of street noise at night - even on the 4th floor.

    The location is a block from the Rijksmuseum - in fact, our room had a view of the museum. It's a small hotel, so the front desk workers recognized us. We got great restaurant recommendations and help in finding our way around. Not a lot of perks, but a comfortable room in a great location. The bathrooms looked recently renovated and the shower was excellent with a rain shower head and good water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    My stay was enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in room. It could be noisy at times and it was expensive. Breakfast was limited and probably on the expensive side.

    The location was fab. The staff friendly and the accommodation was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.3
    Does what it says on the tin with a little bit extra for what you are paying and for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were close by the lift and there was a hen party staying our first night (not the hotels fault). The toings and froings of the hen party other guests and street noise kept my partner awake but I didn't notice. Also €12 is a bit steep for a continental breakfast but we found that everywhere in Amsterdam was about 20% more expensive than Ireland.

    The beds were so comfy, the room was spotless, the shower was epic! and we had been upgraded to a "normal" double from a small double so it was roomy enough and we could control the temperature of the room as it was -4 outside during our visit in March 2018

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel, great facilities, fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location. Good facilities in 1st floor room (food/drink) The room suited my needs in terms of size and comfort I liked that there were usb points on the wall- very useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location! Within minutes walking to multiple museums. Clean, quite rooms. Comfortable bed. Large rain shower. Luggage storage was very easy. Standard European hotel specs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A month before arrival I emailed the property to see if it was possible to change from a twin room to double, I was told that they would do the room up as a double which was great! On arrival we dropped off our bags as the room was not ready, again the receptionist told me it would be made into a double room no problem. Once we actually got to the room it was infact a twin room still. Disappointed with this!!!

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    4.2
    Poor for the price although location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin rooms were very small and very noisy. I complained about our first room and was told "it's the noise of Amsterdam. I wasn't impressed with the attitude and demanded a change of room which did happen the following day. That room was quieter from city noise but something was making noises all night (banging pipe or similar). Basically, not what I expected for nearly €200 a night. Incidentally, that didn't include breakfast ! Ensuite shower room was tiny too.

    The location of the hotel close to the major museums and transport links to the city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    Amsterdam "book again" hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is great but parking a car was not possible and ended up.with the horrible experience of the most expensive parking I have ever had to pay at 55 euros .

    Great location ,fab Indonesian restaurant across the road, Sama Sebo!!just simply a great hotel at a great location at a great price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff, was a little hard to find (sign was small) the room was very small even for Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and I stayed in another hotel around the corner with the same amount of beds and it was much more roomy and around the same price.

    The staff were super nice, I do give them high remarks because my daughter left her Beats headphones and they stored them until I returned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    We had a great time, the staff were pleasant enough. However the location is quite misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was clean and presentable and the staff were very nice. However the price was not matched when we arrived at the hotel. We ended up paying more. Also the location is not quite in the city center, it takes a good 20-25 mins to walk to the most popular places. This may not seem far, but if your going out for a few drinks or want to explore all day and see attractions, then i would recommend somewhere nearer. But if your interested in galleries, good restaurants, and fancy shopping then this is your place!

    There are some really good food places nearby, about a 5 minuet walk. The food is excellent and very cheap. The Piano bar is a must see! the Liverpudlian guy who plays is just ace!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were so so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were so so helpful! And did everything they could to accommodate us and make sure we were comfortable despite being probably a bit noisy as on a hen party! Great location! Thanks again, especially Mia!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, super comfortable and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was a bit pricey but i didn't try it so it might have been good value for money.

    The room was on the smaller side but was done so well that it was comfortable and cosy i never sleep well at hotels but slept like a log here. the staff where all lovely and friendly and were more than happy to talk to us about our stay, the location was amazing and the street was a quiet street but close enough to the busy parts. would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the excellent service, and the location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive at the hotel, so we never had it. The rooms are just SUPER small for the price.

    We enjoyed the excellent service, and the location of the hotel was superb! We truly enjoyed our accommodations and will MOST definitely recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    6.3
    Stayed here before due to it's location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the room was clean and comfortable, it was very small. I was attending an exhibition at the RAI and the prices go through the roof at just under €200 for one night is not value for money nor is the very basic continental breakfast for €12.50. I felt a bit short changed and the hotel exploiting attendees to the RAI

    Stayed here before due to it's location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    Weekend Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very miserable staff. Small rooms, couldn't stand up one one side of the bed due to sloped ceilings.

    Location was good- nice little walk in and out of the main hustle without too much noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect, it was very quiet and still only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We never got fresh coffee cups in our room and the room was pretty new so it smelled a bit strange

    The location is perfect, it was very quiet and still only a 10 minutes walk to the center! Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for 2 nights and they didn’t clean service at all, for that reason I left at front desk my name, e-mail and my phone number to the manager, but he didn’t contact us, he didn’t care about customer service. I am asking for a refund, at least one night. Thank you

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom lights need to be brighter it was quite dark.

    Great location. Brilliant value for money. Clean. Modern. Helpful staff. Bus station a minute away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    This is a lovely accomodation in one of the hotspots in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tad pricey for value, which is to be expected in Amsterdam, but otherwise a great experience. Sometimes it can be noisy, due to location and not very good sound isolation.

    This is a lovely accomodation in one of the hotspots in Amsterdam.The personnel is very friendly, room are nicely decorated and clean. Bathroom does not have a lot of space in the sink area, but I did not experience this as a major discomfort. Coffee and tea were for free in the room, whereas some automatic distributors were available in case you wanted to have a small snack. I am planning to book again this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.1
    Location, staff, breakfast and comfortable beds make up for the not so great stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator was not great and the rooms could have something to hang jackets, a closet or so and better lightning

    The hotel is fantastic in terms of location, staff and breakfast. It needs some improvements in infrastructure, for example the elevator was a scary ride, even after they fixed it and the rooms could be a little nicer, the bed was comfortable but it would be nice to have a closet or at least something to hang your jackets, it has a bed, a small desk and a bathroom. I've been to nicer hotels but it's still an excellent choice, staff and breakfast make up for the not so great stuff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.9
    I would stay here again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately we had flown from Australia and were jetlagged. There was construction work on our level ongoing from 7 or 8am . Other than that cannot fault the place

    Location was great . Staff friendly and room was small but clean and comfortable. I would stay here again .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, 2 min' walk from the bus station (from airport). Quiet, local, safe (!) neighborhood, and at the same time very close to the main attractions and the city center . It's a simple hotel, but clean and comfortable, hot water and lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    8.8
    Small and cozy hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very last minute booking (about 40 min before arrival) but everything was ready when I got to the hotel. Great location, nice and quiet, and comfortable enough (I had a single bed). Very charming reception staff and very helpful. I really liked the building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, close to transport, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, great staff, close to transport, the room was very clean, the bathroom spacious enough. And they have a lift which is not always a given in Amsterdam. Easy check in/check out. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.7
    Staff was nice and breakfast was nice - just a few things that didn’t go well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price was very high for the small size of room and bathroom. Pretty noisy at night. No counter space in bathroom. Ants in the bathroom - alerted front desk but still ants the next day.

    The location is key - by far the best feature of this property. Nice shower. Clean linens and towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.2
    I had a single room that was quite tiny but had got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single room that was quite tiny but had got everything I needed. There were plenty of electronic sockets, including 2 for USBs. The hotel also provided adapters for your electronic devices from overseas. The room and all furniture were clean. The mattress is not too soft. The shower was comfortable. It was a great option for this price of hotel in a big city with a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.5
    good location, but the price not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room very small, for me less illumination

    location was great, close to tram station, Iamsterdam sign rijks museum, shopping gang staff was superb, i got free up grade room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    6.7
    Basic but fine, bit expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for the basic room you get. Also the shower didn't get hot.

    They were open 24/7, we booked late, which was nice. It was fine, basic, bit too expensive for my liking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in was very small

    The hotel was in an excellent location (about a minute walk from the museum square) and was very clean. The lounge was lovely to sit in and unwind at the end of a long day of visiting museums! The hotel staff were wonderful and really made us feel welcome to the city as well as the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very compact, would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very helpful staff! My first room smelled terrible and when I complained they were very quick to relocate me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location with very helpful staff. I'll stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower rooms were a little on the small side for a tall man.

    The room was well-designed in terms of interior design and the hotel was modern and stylish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head in the bathroom was too heavy and couldn't actually stand upright up which was annoying

    Right next to the Tram stop and easy to get into the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.5
    Decent enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room fairly small and too dark. Facilities extremely basic: no slippers, no bathroom amenities, absolutely not user-friendly safe.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Decent breakfast. Quiet and beautiful neighborhood with many nice boutiques around. Within walking distance to the museum quarter and the boat tour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    4.2
    WAY overpriced for what we got.
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first front desk attendant was okay when we checked in; the one after that was completely useless and utterly unhelpful/lazy (at one point even carried on a social conversation with a friend/family member on his cell phone while we were trying to ask him a question). Our room, which was OUTRAGEOUSLY overpriced for what one ended up getting, was so small that we could barely open our luggage (one case at a time max) and had to move them around like a game of tetris. Same space problem in the bathroom -- tiny sink, and no counter (just one tiny shelf). There were stray hairs on the carpet, suggesting it wasn't vacuumed properly, and some tiny insects crawling in the bathroom. On the second night of our two-night stay, the elevator broke down, and we had to lug all our suitcases down the hotel's incredibly narrow and steep flights of stairs from the fourth floor ourselves early the next morning when we checked out. Also, there was construction noise during the day inside the hotel (drilling/banging/hammering/etc.), and construction materials lying about the lobby at one point. No prior warning of this before reservation, however. Having paid nearly CAD$750 for a two-night stay, not nearly worth it.

    The location was good for Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museums and designer shopping district(but still somewhat far from other attractions/areas of interest). Nice second floor lounge and patio area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    6.7
    Good choice if you need amazing location and a compact offering. Not a luxury/premium hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The night staff was unprofessional - loud with music and personal calls, not friendly - not in line with what you expect from a nice hotel on PC Hoofstraat! Am sure that can remedied quickly as the rest of the staff we met was very professional and attentive to guests needs. Not all Twin rooms have a fridge despite what is advertised on the hotel website, which was an issue for us as we have medicine to store. These were stored in the staff fridge instead... not what we had expected. Rooms on a the small side.

    Amazing location - 1 minute walk from Vondelpark and the museums. Good breakfast, good bed and shower, nice lounge to relax and chat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.3
    Easy and Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a couple Ants in my room which was odd cause I was on the fifth floor and the picture on the wall was a little creepy

    Friendly staff and very informative. Easy to get too, transport links and Iamsterdam stuff literally round the corner. Cool lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    8.8
    This was an above average room for us 3 on this trip but by far the most expensive per person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cramped room for three beds, was a double with another bed squeezed in. Hard for a large person to sit comfortably on the toilet as the bath is very small.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No parking for bikes Old furniture Late night loud terrace Very small room Rooms are poorly lit No room luxuries "Slippers" for example No room service :) If you want iron you have to go down to the reception and serve your self

    Good location Free internet Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.3
    Convenience, cleanliness, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the street interferes with sleep if you open the window. If you close the window there's no air and the room gets too warm.

    Convenience, cleanliness, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.7
    Great location, solid, basic, not fancy hotel. Do not book a "small double."
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room listed as a "small double." Well, it was SMALL, barely room to pass each other, no closet, barely room to open a suitcase. That room (#509) should be a single or a lot less expensive.

    Nice lounge on the first floor (that is the second floor in US terms).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    8.3
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great! Although the room was small, it had everything one would need and the bathroom was clean and new. There was an in room safe and the front desk staff was helpful with suggestions about the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.1
    Good Location and good size bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't particularly like to be waken up in the middle of the night by a member of stuff coming into our bedroom by mistake! We appreciated that they apologize the day after but still it was not nice! Another note i would like to add is that the cleaning lady took the initiative to get rid of some of our small lotions in the bathroom!

    Good Location and good size bedroom. Bedrooms had all the basics (safe-mini fridge- hairdryer tv...) Communal Lounge was quite nice with a big open terrace but we didn't had much time to relax in there. Stuff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    9.2
    It was just what I needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are probably quite thin so you can hear whats going on on the rooms next to you and on the hall. the walls in the bedroom could do with some nice fresh paint as it looked quite stained.

    I arrived early in the morning and the person at the front desk was kind enough to give me the room right away. I was exhausted after a long flight so I was beyond happy to be able to have a shower and a nice sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    6.7
    Location and Staff are excellent however not the most Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st room: Booked a small double, Small being the word. Room was just about big enough for a bed. there was no storage for clothes at all. Bathroom was miniature and the door didn't close. No air con meaning had to have the window open. (there was a fan in the room this didn't work very well and was noisey). The room looked out onto the roof of next doors building and the aircon exhaust fan from the next door building blasting hot air right into our window. The outside deck area was also immediately to the right which meant you could hear everything all night. On the 1st night we notice some Ants in the room and later 2-3 in our bed. ( a handful rather than a swam) but the thought of that kept me up all night scratching. I reported the next morning and we were immediately moved to a different room in the morning, the lady at the desk was very apologetic and my issue was approached in a very professional manner and dealt with immediately. 2nd room: Top floor, Room was bigger slightly but made a big difference. Again no in room storage for clothes, nosey fan, and no outside factors to disturb our sleep other than the noise of the town. The rooms and the feel of the place made me feel this hotel was kind of a stop gap between a hostel and a hotel, which i suspect will be ideal for some people but I didn't find it that comfortable myself. Both rooms were quite worn and old looking as were the bathrooms. Breakfast was quite expensive (though in line with most hotels in area) However it's so close to town it's way more fun, cost effective just to pop into town to get your breakfast.

    The staff are super helpful they make this place even the cleaners were very helpful and freindly, complete professionals. The location of this hotel is excellent 20 yards (2mins) from a bus stop to and from the airport and 40 yards (3mins) to the best museum in Amsterdam and a 8 mins walk to the center of the town center. The common area was comfortable and very well decorated. Price was reasonable considering the time of year. Got a Discount through booking.com but would of definately not paid full price for this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    My second time at Cornelisz. Another wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small boutique hotel. Three minute walk from airport shuttle bus 197. Nice clean rooms of normal European size (snug). Friendly staff and great location to museums, park, canals, and all things Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.7
    cozy hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bad smell the room forced me to open the window at all the time. No options to change the room temperature or ventilation...no AC

    small cozy hotel in a nice area close to the center. mattress and pillow very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave.

    The hotel is in an amazing location. Close to everything, but on the nicer side of town. The canal ring is a skip away one way. De pipj a short stroll the other way. Museums on tap and basically anywhere you want to go in the city is walkable. Yes, the hotel is small, but location makes up for that many times over. The staff were super friendly and knowledgable about travel routes and the room was more than adequate for a central location like this so that you can enjoy all that Amsterdam has to offer, if you are moaning that the rooms are too small, you aren't enjoying Amsterdam enough! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    A fantastic find, we would absolutely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staira down to the breakfast room were quite stèep but there is a good banister all the way down. Bathroom facilities are available in the dining area.

    The location is fantastic,the hotel was very beautiful set close to to the park,museums. The hotel arranged pick up for the trips and offered good prices on trips and taxis. The rooms were a great size for Amsterdam. The cupboard wardrobe was not easy to spot. Great views from the 5th floor double rooms. Easy access to lots of well priced restaurant. This was my 4th trip to Amsterdam and this was the best place foŕ a peaceful sleep close, great room size, lift to all floors apart from the breakfast room. Delicious fresh breakfast. Great facilities, cheerful helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    3 Days in Amsterdam- great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being able to rent bikes from reception was an absolute blessing. Good rates, included insurance and locks, and were by the far the best way to explore the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.8
    Very clean comfortable hotel in the expensive museum section of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another suggestion for the hotel manager- perhaps reduce your judgmental attitude. A lot of people come to Amsterdam for the pot. As long as it is not being smoked in your hotel you should perhaps mind your own business.

    The hotel was excellent overall but they were painting the hotel--which I do recall being warned about previously--but no one likes to sleep in a room smelling of paint. The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    3.3
    Do not book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were just too many things that were just not right. First of all, when I arrived, the staff was smoking outside and took their time to finish smoking, which I find very inappropriate in general. Then after waiting, she did not even speak to me, offer me a map of the city but just gave me a key to my room (no wishes for having a nice stay) and then arriving to the room it was hot, it stank, spots on the mirror, and also a big whole in the door, like someone punched it. Also the rooms are not sound proof, so everything that was happening in the rooms I could of course hear. I myself live in a city so I am used to noise and I really do not mind, however this was truly too much. I think I should have booked a hostel, quality would have been better then this place and I would not have been cheaper off. Very bad.

    Location was pretty good, very central. However, this was truly the only good thing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    5.8
    Handy location, lovely staff but too noisy for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was convenient but very very noisy with trams, cars and people passing until 3:30/4:00am every night. We needed the window open due to the heatwave, it may have been ok if it was closed. The room itself was fine, but the bathroom was very dated and quite dark.

    Location was convenient and staff were very nice. In fact, the staff were the best part, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    Location + fine staff = a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What would have been better had nothing to do with the hotel -- they are on a street that is undergoing some work and they also have some painting work being done. They are also near bars and restaurants and on the weekends people have fun. It was very hot in Amsterdam, but there were fans available in the rooms. It was unfortunate that some people blamed the hotel for the noise, the road work, the heat and the scaffolding.

    The front desk staff were very helpful, and the hotel's 1st floor lounge area has been recently renovated and it is lovely. The rooms are quite nice. It is located a 5 minute walk from Museum Square and from the main park and a 10 minute walk from the major canals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    A friendly, comfortable and civilised space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit hot especially at night as windows weren't the opening sort. We didn't try the fan provided, though my cousin did in her room across the corridor, and found it effective but of course a bity noisy. I think this is a common problem in city-centre old buildings (the room we stayed in when visiting another hotel in March was even hotter), so it wasn't unexpected. Not sure there's much that can be done about it, and air-con can make rooms too cold...

    Staff really friendly and helpful - also kind (we were tired on Monday and couldn't find an open cafe serving coffee and cakes on our way back from the town centre. Hotel had coffee and lady on the desk took pity on us and gave us a free pack of waffles. Much appreciated! The area is lovely - spacious, architecturally interesting in its own right and quiet as well as close to the Museums. Trams take you quickly to city centre. We really liked being based there and didn't find it a problem in terms of visiting city centre attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel shame about cost and rather a hike from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was high for Room worked out £220 per person for two nights on a small room for 3 people without breakfast and 25 min walk from dam square

    Hotel was renovated nicely and clean with nice roof terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are no soundproofed at all! Very small room but well organized. Bathroom was old and not new as it shown on the photos. No AC.

    Nice hotel in one of the best areas of Amsterdam. Very clean, friendly staff, comfy bed and good wifi. Nice view on Rijksmuseum from 5th floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cornelisz Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: