Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rokin Hotel 3 stars

Rokin 73, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 KL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#211 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2327 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    decor generally and in the bedrooms.

    everything was pretty good. would have liked a waste paper bucket in the bedroom. perhaps a little upgrade on the decor generally and bigger cups for my breakfast tea!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.6
    Not as expected, my first concierge was very unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately my room was not as I expected. I booked an hotel last year for the same period and price but it had better room and services (coffee machine and tea maker in the room, beautiful bathroom). My room at hotel rokin had a very tiny bathroom. It seemed to me to had a dog shelter instead of an hotel room. Very sorry about my experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Location was very good, easy to get most destinations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like pillows. They were huge, not soft. We had to use extra blankets as pillows.

    Location was very good, easy to get most destinations. Room was big and clean. Bathroom also was big and clean. Staff was happy to see us and helped to print tickets. The view from our window was terrif. Breakfast simple and good enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was pretty basic, but very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty basic, but very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful, nice breakfast and the location was PERFECT, just 3 min walk from the Dam Square

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room was a bit on the expensive side but i did book last minute. Stayed here many times . Cant fault the place.

    Friendly staff . Clean tidy .great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and great breakfast in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, but acceptable for an inner city hotel. Although wifi was included, signal was very weak and really only worked in the public areas.

    The hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful in that they provided information on tourist attractions and restaurants in the area. The provided breakfast was excellent with large choice in a very clean dining room. Location was also central to many Amsterdam attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    The room didn't even have a real shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't even have a real shower. There was not even a shower curtain or a shower curtain bar to hang a shower curtain. Tiny, tiny room. Would never book there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My card was pre-authorized for a 1 night stay before I arrived and I was fully charged for the stay upon the checkin. I was told that they will cancel the pre-authorized transaction but I've been waiting for this for more than 10 days and I had to contact them through the Booking interface to remind about this after about 2 weeks.

    Great location and a good breakfast are definitely the major good things about the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Don't book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are very poor: internet dropping out, no garbage bin in room, tv set is from the last century, room is too small, room is not made up, (had to ask), checking in was shocking, manners are questionable , except 1 receptionist: Audrey.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Most of the staff were helpful and informative.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive for an old hotel. I drunk the water from the tap and was unwell.

    Most of the staff were helpful and informative. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.8
    Never stay here .Demand a refund
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible. Machinery 5metres away all hours getting woken up or cant sleep from the workers it was a joke... No fridge. No bins. No pillows.no tea coffee.room smells.no soap.2 staff nasty and wouldn't give his American name .Booked a double room and got 2 singles. Stairs to breakfast very dangerous Every room is like this. Worse hotel in 6 weeks traveling. I have asked for a 50%refund still waiting for a reply. Nothing like the feedback says . Another lady was complaining about the same things .breakfast eggs were over cooked like rubber. Asked for new was told no have to wait for new to be cooked. She talked for 20mins and made me wait. Next days cooked eggs a little better. How this hotel gets 3 stars is amazing no way half a star.

    Location and staff Audrey and durk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Good and comfortable for a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I requested for a step-free access room, the only triple room available required stairs climbing.

    Breakfast was great. Place was clean. Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    All in all a good place to stay and beautiful city with fabulous people. :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no lift to the 4th floor. Staircase VERY narrow to carry a bag. Also the spare toilet roll was placed on a hook in the bathroom up high! I never saw it until the last day. It should be put in sight down low.

    I was impressed that when the rooms were serviced they did not replace the soap with a new bar each day. I think that is good as it saves on waste. :-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have street view, we had to look at a wall in inner yard, and the street view from front side was gorgeous. The reception was closed one evening with a note I will be back in a minute and we had to wait outside. We had a room fan, no conditioner in the room. And the bathroom was not as good as expected, just a shower.

    Location is the BEST, great, near to everything. Breakfast was very good, great choice of meals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, well located, reception area needs to be improved, the price was a little high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately when we arrived, Amsterdam was experiencing a heatwave with a temperature of 37C and we were not happy with no airconditioning but we got by with a fan duribg the night.

    The breakfast was good, no complaints. Location excellent, the main reason why we chose this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room...it was very hot so it was uncomfortable to sleep cause of it.

    The location was great. Its walking distance to everything.. from dumo to central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning as it was very hot outside

    We stayed at the hotel with friends for 2 nights before boarding for our cruise. The staff were very friendly and were able to assist us in giving us tips about where to go, arranging for taxis and answering any questions we had. They also allowed us to store our luggage when we returned from the cruise so we could spend our day touring some more of Amsterdam before our flight out. The food at breakfast was plentiful and the service was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok close to city centre staff polite and clean and tidy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast would have been great like bacon and eggs etc probably more for Europeans continental breakfast Also would really like tea and coffee in room

    Within walking distance to city centre clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Firm ones were too high and soft ones very lumpyGrea

    Perfect location right in the centre of all areas of interest. Everything within easy walking distance, but also tram and metro stops right outside. A few doors from excellent bike rental company. Attractive decor. Very tasty breakfast with good variety. Comfortable mattress. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Amsterdam is even more expensive than other expensive Dutch towns. Quite crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for a small room. Breakfast was fine but the choice of food was not very wide. Expensive parking EUR 35 per day.

    Great location. 1 minute walk from Dam. Very helpful personnel. Parking was in another hotel but only 2 minutes walk away so it was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    just for a night
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not expect a smile from the personel while arriving to the hotel. Not a regrigerator nor coffee/tea at the room. While arriving a guy just pissing in the stairs entrance.....I think the people from the hotel could do something about that...

    Well located, close to the station, big room, everything very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in comfortable Hotel with plenty to do close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Because it is so centrally located and with many Bars in the same strip there can be quite a bit of noise at night. This would only be a problem if you wanted an early night which most people, on holidays would not.

    Hotel could not be more centrally located. A few minutes from most of Amsterdam's places to see. Trams and Metro station outside door. Ten minutes walk from Central Station. Many Bars and Restaurants in close proximity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Depends what you want!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But..... check in chaotic - had not reserved 2 twin/double rooms which we had booked 7 months ago and offered one twin and two singles. This really isn’t a 3 star hotel - no air con; no in room drinks provision; no restaurant/bar etc. Breakfast ok. It’s a great location but of course that makes it noisy at night especially for a room facing onto Rokin. The stairs are a challenge for even the young and fit. Price may be reasonable for central Amsterdam but I’ve stayed in far better and cheaper European capital hotels. Be prepared to pay the full amount for your stay as soon as you arrive.

    Location is superb for everything. Comfortable bed. Clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is excellent - close to lots of transport. Clean and organised, stairs to note.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No warning about stairs that luggage had to be lugged up and no help offered to do this. Although the breakfast was standard fair the cooked part of it was not good - overcooked & poorly cooked scrambled eggs every morning the same.

    As my tiny room was at the back of the hotel is was very quiet - this was a real plus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean, comfortable room, good location and friendly staff. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and as there are no café facilities either we missed our early morning tea and being able to have a drink on our return from outings.

    The beds were very comfortable and although the weather was very hot the hotel had provided a fan for the room which kept the temperature perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible and anyway, our appetites were already ruined because the stairway stank 24/7 of old, putrid food.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, hotel fine. Breakfast Staff very moody and and rude. Her name Anna. Even shouting out
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff “Anna” super rude, shouting at us plus other guests. Spoke to front deck about it, his reply was maybe she under pressure as she working alone. No apology from Anna.

    For central Amsterdam it good hotel, 3-4 mins from Dam Sq

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room and facilities below the level expected from a 3 star hotel.

    Great location, friendly staff. Jan in particular was very helpful by giving good suggestions for attractive places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, staff and breakfast, but light on amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked amenities such as an iron. We had to iron our clothes by the lobby in a luggage storage closet.

    The staff and the location were great. As was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Stay away!!! Expensive but bad service and bad quality
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing from the begining. We checked in late as our flight was in the evening, so they did not give us the room we booked under the pretext they were fully booked!!!! The room we had the first night was extremely small with a "double"bed that did not fit 2 adults ( "they were hoping we were a couple so that the bed would be enough for the first night"!!!!), no wi fi connection in that room, the window had a "view" to a wall !!! . They changed out room the next day. The new room was larger but very noisy ( be carefull if you choose a room facing the front of the hotel and Rokin street, in case you need silece), the wi fi was still quite bad. Breakfast was disapointing again, we actually had coffee next door. The worst coffee ever, omlette and bacon every morning, croissants finnished fast and were only brought on demand!!? Only one person responsible for breakfast room so tables were often dirty. Also one person handleing the reception desk... not enough employees. If the person in the reception desk had an emergency, he would close the door of the hotel until he came back. One day we and three other guest had to wait outside for 10 min for the door to open while two other guests were locked inside not beeig able to get out. When the reception guy returned he said he had an emergency and not only he did not appologised for the inconvenience, but he started to shout that he was alone and he can do whatever e wanted and did not care if it was ok or not for us. That we should talk to the manager. Extremely rude and aggresive! The payment... another adventure. Even if i could cancel my reservation for free 2 or 3 day before arrival, they preauthorised my card one week before arrival. I payd in cash at chech in and they promises they will unblock my money. One week later, my money are still blocked even if i work with the same bank as they are, ING Bank.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows need new ones. Not comfortable

    Clean and comfortable room. Always sleep with fan so it was nice to have in room. Breakfast fantastic. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    DO NOT STAY HERE !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our passports disappeared from the room ? i READ A REVIEW ON TRIP ADVISER WHERE SOMEONE ELSE HAD $100 TAKEN FROM HIS ROOM , BIT OF A COINCIDENCE !!? No safe key available, the price of the hotel and room is very poor value for money. Also asked the ignorant man who is in reception from 4pm onwards for a cup of tea, his reply, NO IT TAKES TOO LONG.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location shame about amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. The steep spiral staircase to the breakfast and the 4 steps at front to get into Hotel reception with suitcases. There is no air conditioning and room gets very warm and stuffy.

    Excellent location as everything is walking distance including the shops, Red light district and Central station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. The stairs to the dining room are very sharp and dangerous.The location is very central. Very close to Dam Square. But on reexamination I would have chosen another place less close. For example in the Jordan area. Looks more pleasant. There is no refrigerator. Overall the hotel is very reasonable. The price is good for Amsterdam.

    Otherwise everything is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel close to Dam Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t that great. You could hear a lot of street noise in the rooms at the front of the hotel.

    Close to the centre, walking distance to all main attractions. Lovely staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic few days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Location was great,breakfast plentiful,staff friendly.Bed comfortable.Amiable to checking in early and safe keeping of luggage after check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little bar area but we found a nice bar just outside the hotel so was not a blg deal

    Fab location just off Dam Square! Breakfast was okay not much hot choice but was bacon and scrabbled egg! Room was clean and tidy. Had a back room with not a great view but we did not hear much noise from the traffic outside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel - great location with easy access to trams to take you wherever you want to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs and lumpy pillows - plus no the/coffee facilities

    Great location up very steep winding steps leading down to breakfast - and friends stayed at the rear on 3rd floor with winding staircase to third floor - at lease we had a lift - although we were at front of hotel so it was a little noisy at night - but that didn’t bother us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location and nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit disappointed with the facilities if I am honest. Cleanliness was very basic, with a bit of mould around the toilet sink, there was a plastic Coke bottle left in my room once I first checked in and bed and pillows were not very comfortable.

    Excellent location and nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Firsy Timer in Amstetdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs- might be helpful to ambulatory challenged to know yhis fact.

    Check in staff was receptive at request for early Check in. Also, informed me that Amsterdam's tap water was top- notched. I agree.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Situated in the main part of Amsterdam in a pleasant area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the decor of old and new being that it is an old building they ha e made a nice job of the decor and building work The staff were very helpful and friendly which was good I if and when I stay in Amsterdam again this will be the place Also they have a garage so it’s handy if your driving to use their garage for your vehicle

    Situated in the main part of Amsterdam in a pleasant area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is in excellent location, 15 min away by walking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was located on the 4th floor, but the elevator only reached to the 3th (so you have to go a up a set of steep stairs). The twin bed was not comfortable at all.

    The hotel is in excellent location, 15 min away by walking from the central station and the town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Was good for getting your head down after a long day sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was overlooking a wall with no view.

    The location was very good, the staff were excellent and always smiling, the breakfast was adequate and the room was large, it was very clean and we had a bath and shower, you are right in the heart of the city in this hotel My advise is do not have a room overlooking the front of the building, it is very noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    we had a fantastic time in amsterdam and we were more than satisfied with the rokin hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were super helped out with all the requests we made. location was perfect as we were able to walk to anything we wanted to see. we would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to see the best amsterdam has to offer with a friendly service and a good breakfast provided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    One night was not enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ground floor elevator

    Location and the included breakfast are outstanding. Staff very helpful re: restaurants, directions, and things to do and see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place - great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom. Tiny room. But that’s Europe.

    Staff was great - very friendly and helpful with my taxi needs back to the airport. The breakfast was fantastic. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a double room and got two single beds pushed together. The room and ensuite were not exactly luxurious, but everything worked. The view was of a wall. So not exactly romantic, but I guess somewhere nicer would have been more expensive.

    Lobby and breakfast room are nice - the breakfast itself was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, walking distance to everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed with 2 half doona s was a little unusual,room is small but adequate.

    It is very central to the Dam, and the Central train station was 15 minute walk, close to a lot of activities and tour bookings were very accessible.Excellent location with friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the place but it was too expensive for this place. It is not as center as it seems.

    Stuff was totally nice and kind. They helped us in everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with our double room with enormous windows looking onto the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no hot drinks easily available. If you don't find steps easy this wouldn't work - there's a flight of steps to the front door and steep stairs to the breakfast room.

    We arrived around midday and were able to go straight to our room, rather than leave our luggage and come back to check in. The buffet breakfast was good and included fresh pancakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Loved the hearty breakfas and central location.Would have like the room to look a bit more cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. Decor. ..no wall art in rooms made them seem cold. No face coths. The peeling paint in shower was shoddy.

    The breakfast was satisfying. The location very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Did not feel hotel was value for money. Only positive note was location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small dark room with very little natural light.no tea or coffee making facilities in room or in hotel. Very steep stairs to room in basement. Not suitable for infirm or elderly guests. Hairdryer in bathroom, not good for safety aspect.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Good for a short stay, basic but with everything you need. Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic hotel, basic shower, poor lighting in room. Expensive for a hotel with no luxury.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. Good location. Basic but did not miss anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be nicer.

    The location is absolutely perfect! You can walk to all the tourist places, there are tons of bars and restaurants around and it’s close to the red light district. Also, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great experience and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too big and rather uncomfortable.

    Great location and within walking distance of the Central Railway Station and major sights. Room located at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet. Nice comfy bed and lovely duvet. Staff very welcoming and helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Well located. Not friendly kitchen staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very noisy (loud dish clatter), kitchen staff always in a bad mood. Bathroom without radiators. Showers with low water pressure. Only one mini shampoo package for showering.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had room at back of hotel, it was nosier in a morning (around 7.30am) with lots of people going up and down stairs.

    Clean rooms with enough space for 3 woman to get ready in! Breakfast included was a bonus we weren’t aware of and was reasonable continental buffet. Staff were very welcoming and location was excellent for exploring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, friendly staff, and great breakfast make this an excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal in the room was very poor. Twin beds, while pushed together, still made sleeping together difficult.

    The free breakfast was excellent. The elevator was appreciated. The location could not be beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I live in the top floor. Never able to connect to wifi. Bed and mattress are difficult to stay together If you have big suitcase, please don't stay in the top floor because no lift and only with very small ladder.

    Good location Breakfast is not bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Will definitely not be staying here ever again....avoid!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was dirty on arrival, came away with bites all over body. Very very basic and would rank as a 1 star hotel. Overpriced and NOT value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok but probably wouldn't book this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor first impression. Room was very small, and floor sloped disconcertingly. View from our window was of a dirty skylight and a flat roof littered with discarded cigarette ends. Water temperature in shower kept fluctuating. Limited choice of cereals at breakfast.

    Central location. Place was clean. Bed quite comfortable. Most staff seemed friendly. Good towels in bathroom. No traffic noise (we had a rear-facing room) but noise noticeable from the rooms above. Breakfast room very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Location made us forget the shortcomings of the hotel, hardly justifying the price..
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very few lights,none in wardrobe area, none in shower Only one tiny tiny little piece of soap for two people No airconditioning in bathroom One side of the bed 'tilting' Breakfast: little variety, no egg-cups..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for location, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was completely tilled, and was a wet room. No bath or shower curtain and the roof was slanted so couldnt stand up straight. Could of done with a kettle and some coffees in our room for morning as the coffee served at breakfast are in very small cups. Maybe some better choices in the vending machine, tiny bottle of water €2, and no shops nearby.

    Good location, very close to Dam Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean, nice room but it's the location that really made this place 9.2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were firm but lumpy (not a great combination!) And the shower, although clean was old and not great, also the drains were blocked when we got there, they sorted it out quickly in the end but was told at first that it may take several hours before any one would get there to help which did not reassure us...this was that 1% I mentioned earlier!! Also no kettle or refreshments in the room which was a shame as I do like a coffee first thing in the morning! The lighting was a bit strange too as our room had no ceiling lights do it did feel a little dark at times.

    Excellent location, 5 minutes from most attractions and landmarks or from the tram which would take you to those you couldn't walk to. Most of the hotel staff were pleasant and made you feel welcome with one exception but 99% is not a bad percentage! Also had an issue with the shower yay in our room which they sorted quickly. Room was clean and quite spacious and the breakfast was nice as it set us up for the day and kept us going till dinner :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was excellent and the luggage hold after check out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea, coffee facilities in the room and when we asked for tea on day 2 the tray wasn’t removed from the room until after check out. Our duvet was wet after room service change and when we requested it to be changed we were told to ask for one when we came back that night.

    Location was excellent and the luggage hold after check out was a lovely feature

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    it's okay if u wanna be right in the middle of everything, but still quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely horrible bed and pillow, which was overfilled and hard, impossible to sleep on it, was more like a sitting than laying. Each of four pillows in the room was like that.

    to the local conditions an unusually good breakfast friendly staff on the reception super-b location, but very quiet for sleeping - go for backyard room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little overpriced and it was quite noisy.

    The hotel location was central and excellent for access to all the best locations. The breakfast room was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel with great staff and excellent location!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are small. Tea, coffee and a refrigerator facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Excellent location, very clean room, great staff, and a nice breakfast (included in the price!). Room have views onto the main street. Safe area, and very reasonable price. Hotel with a very basic small room/shower accommodation that is compensated by the great location and the super staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I disliked about the property but don't get a taxi they charge you a bomb!! (This was obviously before I realised the hotel was down the road!!)

    The beds were really comfy and the location was fab!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very basic, breakfast also lacked variety, rooms need to a revamp.

    Excellent location, the lady receptionist was truly brilliant, an asset to the hotel. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed with accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attic room very small and pokey. 2 single beds with a beam down the middle. Mattress did not fit the bed and pillows impossible to sleep on. Not as advertised on Website.

    Staff friendly and location very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly and good services from Jan Kobben.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internet is un usable, signal is weak, connected but no internet. Reset modem many times but no help. - There is no hot water, coffee or tea in the room

    Friendly staff, good location, good breafast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    We were looked after well in Rokin hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The range at breakfast could be a bit better only hot food was streaky bacon and scrambled eggs but it was still a nice breakfast! Pillows were slightly uncomfortable

    The location of the hotel was amazing walking distance from basically everything! Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful especially when we thought we lost money in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff was nice, breakfast also with fresh scrambled eggs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not heated enough. Takes too much time (5-7 mins) for the water in the shower to heat. Weak WiFi.

    Staff was nice, breakfast also with fresh scrambled eggs and bacon. Amazing location. No kettle in the room but you can ask for hot water in the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.3
    I stayed there when my flight was cancelled and KLM refused...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there when my flight was cancelled and KLM refused to book a hotel for me. This was the most central one I could find at short notice in KLM's price range. The room faced a busy street at ground level (even though I asked for a higher storey) and I was woken by traffic every few minutes throughout the night. The breakfast was of poor quality. The free wifi did not work. Overall, the hotel was completely overpriced.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rokin Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: