Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys 3 stars

Oosterstraat 53, 9711 NR Groningen, Netherlands

#18 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2437 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and efficient staff, and good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not take the breakfast, seen the price. It is easy to find a simple breakfast in the neighbourhood. A floor mat on the wooden floor might be an improvement. The shower screen is sucked inwards, leaving the shower cubicle a bit too small. All these things are minor, though, and I enjoyed my stay.

    The staff was friendly and the check-in and -out very efficient. The hotel is very well located. I had a small room, giving on the courtyard, so that it was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    There was a wonderful surprise waiting at the top of (all)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people would find the lack of a lift a major problem.

    There was a wonderful surprise waiting at the top of (all) the stairs. A lovely room and spectacular bathroom!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Pretty, historic hotel in a busy neighbourhood, but quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fairly expensive for the quality of the room; small room on the fourth floor with steep stairways to negotiate; food quite expensive; quite a bit of noise from outside at night

    Nice atmosphere, pretty dining room and pub, nice neighbourhood, good quality food in the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    A bit dated, but was at least pretty cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dated and the bathroom was very cramped. I'm 5 foot 3 inches tall and could hardly wedge myself between the toilet and basin. Bed was not comfy and appeared to slope a little. Didn't bother with what looked like an expensive breakfast.

    The hotel was cheap (105 Euros including the tourist tax) for two nights. Good location near the central squares. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Noisy, old fashioned like a horror movie home , too expensive for what u get. NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just the location

    It was rubbish what I payed was way too expensive for what is there I booked 2 nights I cancelled the second night within seconds of going to my room The facilities are like from a horror movie everything is creepy old For me anyway And it’s very noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall perfect, expectations exceeded!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were here during a heat wave, the room did not have air-conditioning, but due to the many fans it was fine.

    Nightly checkin unproblematic. We arrived late with dog. Bowl for water was offered, nice staff. Perfect clean and luxury room with whirlpool. I assume we had a little luck. Breakfast with broad selection, fresh products and good coffee (specialities). Recommendable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    one of the best placed to stay in groningen city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was not so great - so we cancelled after first morning - was not charged.

    Very nice hotel, great location. helpful staff. parking place conveniently close

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Love the position, ambience and the staff. Breakfast excellent. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There had been no indication before we booked that there was no lift. There were three very steep flights of stairs to climb to access our room.

    our room had a large terrace which was good to use in the hot weather. Staff very obliging and helped us with our luggage as my husband couldn't lift at the time. Position of the hotel is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Generally this place was very good and above expections as...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally this place was very good and above expections as it was one of the cheaper options I could find. Excellent location, quiet room, friendly staff, and a comfy bathroom. No complaints from my side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Love the location and the atmosphere of this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a disaster. The mattress was extremely soft and I could hardly turn as there was such a dent in the mattress. Good thing I only stayed for one night.

    Love the location and the atmosphere of this hotel. It's not your standard hotel but a hotel with quirky details and lay out. I booked on time so the price was low. That was a good thing as at least I didn't pay too much for a bed that was dramatically bad. Linnen was very clean but mattress was a disaster.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Good wi-fi connection, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good wi-fi connection, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, very nice, friendly and ready to help personnel at the reception. The courtyard is very cozy. Best price/quality ratio!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room with brilliant bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel cannot accommodate bicycles on site and expects cyclists to store their bicycles, at their own risk, in a public facility which for most of the day and night is only surveyed by cameras. I would not park expensive hardware there.

    Spacious room with brilliant bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and spacious room at a good price, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit expensive but probably most people wouldn't need the parking, that said very safe underground parking.

    Very comfortable and spacious room at a good price, just what I wanted after 6hours of riding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A cracking Hotel in Groningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great hotel came at the recommendation from a friend, staff were very helpful and the place itself is a really nice building. Great location close to bars and restaurants.A great base for visiting the area top marks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot, no window that could be left open due to the noise outside. Despite the policy of no charge pre arrival the Hotel debited my credit card in advance.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I missed an air conditioning in the room where I stayed, during the day it was quite hot inside. Some nights were very noisy, in the yard, there is a restaurant and probably there were some parties in houses around. So I recommend having ear plugs.

    The hotel has a perfect location in the city centre, Just opposite the street, there is a grocery store, some cafes. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was tasty, I would just welcome to have more fruits.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Room was comfortable with a large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator just two steep flights of stairs The receptionist did not explain how to enter the parking even after I requested an explanation, just a small annoyance The staff were a little abrupt

    Room was comfortable with a large bathroom. It is very well located in the centre but not accessible by car only taxi or on foot. There is parking nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in downtown with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel just near the Market square. Old but good facilities, private parking 100 m far from the hotel. Quiet garden at internal space, nice for breakfast or dinner. Great for the value of money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Best location in the beautiful city of Groningen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t quite understand how this hotel has had some negative feed back. I have none to report.😊

    I loved everything about my little single room. A big window opened with a view of the pretty courtyard below. The creaky wooden floors added to the charm of the room which must have so much history attached.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    The location is very good, just near the Grote Markt.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room pretended to be a kind of suite. It was really different, instead. It was just under the roof, but not sufficiently high in order to avoid touching it with my head. The bathroom too much small and short for a medium-tall person. Finally, just after the entrance of the room, I had to go upstairs, again, since the room was at a noticeably higher level that the main door.

    The location is very good, just near the Grote Markt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very narrow stairs and no help, so definitely nothing for old people and big luggage, furniture not in good shape, very used, seeing the nice pictures of old furniture and big rooms gives a wrong picture - probably just a few, more expensive room like like that. Basic breakfast

    house has some flair, beds are comfortable,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok, but plenty of other options, so most likely try somewhere else next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking a bit tired, quite steep stairs to the room, and no lift. If you have heavy luggage you may struggle, and i was offered no help. Eggs at breakfast looked like they had been standing for ages, not very appealing !

    Comfy bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The courtyard could do with a good clean and the room I stayed in needs to be painted. Carpets on hallways and stairs are threadbare in some places.

    The bed was comfy, the breakfast was good and the staff very nice without being pushy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this dirty hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room despite getting the room re cleaned by housekeeping there were dead insects on the floor, the bathtub wasn't washed, black mold in the shower, the shower curtain was not clean. The front of house woman was unbelievably rude, had no idea about personal space or customer service. In addition they were so disorganized that I had to tell her that she forgot to add items from the mini bar to my bill. Absolutely abysmal I would not spend one more penny at this dirty hotel.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    I am a visitor of this hotel since over 20 years, during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a visitor of this hotel since over 20 years, during the years I noted a certain decline in quality of the hotel and her staff which is very unfortunate. I hope the management find the courage to get the hotel back at the quality level which we used to know during the late nineties.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upset to be charged on the arrival day despite no prepayment being required, as we were planning to pay with different means of payment. The property is very noisy and there is no noise isolation. The "double bed" is actually made of two beds stuck together, that would get separated as soon as you move a bit too much. The mattresses are extremely soft, so beware if you have back problems. On the contrary, the pillows are flat and very hard, so we woke up with neck pains. We therefore had a very uncomfortable stay.

    The equipment is a bit dated, but it gives the property a charming side. The room we got was also quite spacious. Most of the staff is friendly The breakfast was good, but it is too bad that the staff lets people smoke stinky cigars in the common area during breakfast time. We appreciated that we could leave our luggage there on our check out day, to enjoy the city a bit longer. The location is amazing, right in the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Conveniently situated in the old centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a dump, filthy with pigeon pooh and a dirty, dusty room like it had not been used in a while. Thick layer of dust on top of the only painting in the room and the heater in the bathroom. Linen old, towels full of dirt spots. The minibar is not more than 2 bottles of wine and a few snacks. No water, coffee or tea, no small fridge.. Breeding pigeons right next to the window soiling the wall and the floor beneath. Breakfast: quite a few plates that had just come out of the dishwasher still had previous breakfast on it, not quite appetizing. The breakfast room too was not clean, major spider webs were clearly visible thanks to the sun shining through the window. Nothing was done to get rid of a pigeon that had installed itself in the breakfast room. Carpets in general are old and filthy, wooden railings and pillars are in urgent need of a lick of paint. Staff was friendly though and admitted that the pigeons were a problem, but clearly problems are known, but seemingly arrogantly ignored. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Conveniently situated in the old centre. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Doesn't deserve it's high rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is so old, the double bed was two single beds with such soft and old mattresses that you kept falling towards the middle. Also not good for your back. The shower was tiny with a dark grey (!) shower curtain so you could barely move or see. To get to rooms on the 2nd floor you have to go up some seriously precarious stairs covered in dirty old carpet. Price doesn't match quality in this place. Don't bother.

    The location was great. Really central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    close to old world charm when ever to step-in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have asked for two suites given next to each other, room side window but there is no elevator so have to take luggage with on stares which was difficult part. Also, once in evening there was no running hot water, asked reception and the reply was next day can be checked. GM was not available to talk and left for home and cannot be contacted. Luckily we had two suites so used one bathroom next day and then it was fixed. Neither staff or GM want to talk about it, very cold response even by paying for their highest category room.

    the size of room, location of hotel and staff Liked the Chef at breakfast, small set-up but the chef was really putting his heart & soul in work,so nice to watch how passionate he is about his work...excellent chef

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a large room with spa-bath option, and it was very...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture in the room is slightly old and dated and could be updated. Parking is expensive, but this is probably standard for a city-center location in Groningen.

    We had a large room with spa-bath option, and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Parking worked well once you figure out how to get there through all the one-way roads and bicycle traffic! Very easy to walk from the hotel to all manner of city-center attractions, with a large supermarket practically on the doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Character of the public spaces, and the variety of spaces:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Character of the public spaces, and the variety of spaces: terrace, ‘serre’, brasserie with fireplace, wine cellar/bar. Service very professional and friendly. Across the street from Vera concert venue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean and location perfect in the city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really disappointed no kettle to make a cup of tea / coffee in room. Also very stuffy in the room so really glad they provided a fan.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Very central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is extremely noisy, even at night there was no possibility to sleep well in silence. The curtains were transparent, so, the room was full of light.

    Parking is chargeable (18,5 euro\day) but very convenient. Breakfast was good. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.2
    lousy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room. had been smoked in , a lot of street noise which goes on all night long. did not sleep as a result. staff must have known this but did not inform me beforehand and did not ask me about my stay at check-out

    location and charm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Very Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 days. When we checked in we paid 1 day. When we check out staff said we have to pay 2 days. But i show my payment reciept. Than she said ok. So keep reciept with you :)

    Staff, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    An expensive trip to the 18th century
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not very warm inside during cold winter days. For me it was more or less ok, but I am pretty sure for a lot of people it will be too cold. Old wooden floor without any carpet on top with finger-sized holes between the tiles filled with century old dust. Tiny room and especially bathroom. The bed with wheels. It simply would not stand still during the night.

    Fried eggs for breakfast. But it seems to me the breakfast used to be better a couple of years ago. The location is great if you want to be surrounded by noisy city life and stare into the windows of buildings across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    A charming, old hotel with perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a separate building and the radiator in my room didn't really work. So it was a bit cold at night. At least a thicker duvet would have helped.

    Facilities are a bit old but I like the classic decor. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Cosy hotel in the center of Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so good if you wish to work at your room.

    The hotel is very cosy. There is a bar, wine bar and a good restaurant. All the rooms are in a personalized style that gives a good feeling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Other than outdated bathroom functionality, it was a fine experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom looks very luxurious and vintage, but felt outdated in terms of functionality. The flush would take for ever to refill. The shower room was tiny and the shower was fixed in direction and in the ceiling. The bath tub could be easily converted to a shower-space by putting a curtain and it would be much better.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    cold room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating! a cold small room, I had to sleep with my clothes on. The personell did not seem to care about the radiator not working and made no attempt to correct the situation. Did not even provide a spare blanket. Also on trying to check out, the receptionist was on the phone. I waited several minutes, she turned the back and went on. I had to protest in order to get her attention and check out on time in order to catch my train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Lots of character.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem this time was that I was in a room on the third floor at the back of the hotel and it was very, very hot! (and this was in February) Mysteriously, there was no radiator in the room, so I don't know where the heat was coming from, and no thermostat. I ended up sleeping with the bathroom window wide open both nights.

    I had already stayed here and knew that the hotel was comfortable and full of character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast, eventhough it could have been served with a smile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast crew needs clearer instructions from someone with eye for details.

    Breakfast, eventhough it could have been served with a smile, was excellent, except for wet plates and a shortage of cutlery. Beautiful breakfast room. Overall, lovely building!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Pleasant Stay with an Excellent ambiance!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Staffs, Great Service and worth for the payment made. I have never seen such a hospitality in any other hotels where I stayed with in my experience so far.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff but Hotel in need of some TLC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was above the kitchen and it was noisy, Rm 3 right at stairwell so you heard folk coming and going and the spa bath/shower really disappointing. It took over 45 minutes to get 4/5 cm of water and the shower was useless. Really poor.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice old but clean hotel near the downtown. Recommend to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is extremely needed.

    Old but renowated and clean hotel very close to the downtown. Big room, big bathroom, comfortable bed. Restaurant and pub inside the building. Parking 100 m far from the hotel. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Nicely situated near centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The + might not be to everybody's personal taste. Not really any other negative qualities except for the lack of parking space.

    Nice old architectural building with fitting interior decoration. Clean rooms and nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.4
    The location of the hotel is quite good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying for one night and I would say, it was just okay. I didn't receive the room I had booked. I wasn't that happy about it because it was my birthday. I tried to talk to the staff about it but they didn't care that much. I ended up in a room I didn't want to stay. The staff could have been a bit more friendly and caring. Furthermore, there was a disturbing sound behind the wall next to my bed until 10p.m.

    The location of the hotel is quite good! And the hotel has a very nice and special charm. It is a beautiful interior.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    It feels like Home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    well done! looking forward to coming back again! Best Wishes

    Central location and very good value for money . The staff was very kind and helpful . Served by Dimitra and Manik of the reception team .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one key available for room . Very small stairs with no elevator for the 3rd floor

    Clean big room with confortable bed . Bathroom had a great size too. Although the best feature of the hotel is the localization right in the center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Not bad but not motivated to stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didnt work sometimes. No tea and coffee in room. Difficult stairs. Breakfast only from 7.00 officially

    Cosy old building. Character. Very handy for buses and food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    The room was clean;
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean; there was an extra bed and curtains for privacy, which made it even more comfortable staying there with two people. Very helpful and friendly staff. We could leave our luggage in the hotel before check-in and after check-out. We had overslept so we phoned the front desk to tell them we were late for check-out: they were very friendly and relaxed about it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely old hotel in the centre of Groningen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room was up a very narrow spiral staircase, with two suitcases. That shower leaked all over bathroom. I asked if any rooms had shower screens. We were offered a room above ours up another spiral staircase. I asked if there was an elevator. Yes in another section of hotel. We were moved into a room with elevator, no shower screen but shower, though tiny, did not leak.

    Staff on reception were very friendly. Second room was comfortable size for two adults with two suitcases. Large bathroom, which is rare in Europe. Beds a little soggy. Hotel very central, within walking distance of everything. Never tried the breakfast as a little expensive. Supermarket across the road so we bought breakfast groceries. Grand old hotel, it appears to be three buildings joined together. Lovely atmosphere downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom were fine and clean -> but the shower curtain could not stop the water from streaming onto the bathroom floor into a huge puddle!!!

    Hotel with lots of character in the centre of Groningen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing for such a high price I would have expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, bad heating, whirlpool didn’t work

    Got there at 1 o’clock and been told our rooms weren’t ready until 3. When we finally went to our room, my room was cold despite turning up the heating on full blast. My moms room had someone else’s hair over the bathroom and neither of our whirlpool was working. We were asked to leave the bar as some regulars were coming in and reserved the whole bar. When leaving we weren’t even asked how our stay was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.3
    Old and run-down hotel that urgently needs renovation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really not worth the price they are charging as this is an old and run-down hotel that urgently needs renovation. Bed was horrible (saggy) as well as the bathroom (old shower curtain, which hotel in this price class uses them nowadays anyway?). The floor is made of old marble (or something that looks like it) and was too cold to stand on (end of December) as there was no floor heating. Unfriendly staff and not properly trained. Breakfast options are also very limited.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    good breakfast, charming hotel. get a room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to find the room was a bit of a maze. also the room didn't have a view. It looked into an alley where the next building was 1.5m away. there was noise from the alley, machines humming and drainage pipes gave the sound of water running.

    a charming typical dutch heritage hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Charming Hotel in a Great Location
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This charming hotel is right in the center of the city. It is beautifully decorated and the rooms are both spacious and lovely in an old-world way. The beds were really comfortable, with unusually nice fluffy pillows (hard to find in Europe.) We didn't hear a sound the entire night, another rarity. The staff is really wonderful. We didn't get to spend much time in the hotel, but what we saw of the dining room and breakfast facilities was really impressive. We visit Groningen often and I'm looking forward to staying here again. The parking is in a garage that is a short walk from the hotel. I advise reserving a spot in advance. It is a bit less expensive and will assure you a parking place in a city that is severely lacking in them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay in Groningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, although we expected that with an older building. Was hard to find the parking garage due to road closures so we parked a few blocks away.

    Large room with an antique feel however it had modern touches like a large spa tub and TV. The room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and the restaurant was good. Location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine bar was closed when we were there

    Very friendly staff, room was very spacious and had a huge hot tub which was amazing! Breakfast was great and the restaurant decoration was really nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Good, centrally located hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no door between the enclosed bathroom and the room itself so all the steam from the shower filled up the room. Briefly opening the window solved that but it was rather odd to see.

    Location was great, close to public transport and the Grote Markt shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Niet voor herhaling vatbaar. Hotel is aan een make-over toe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on a very noisy point of the street. We were a group of 4 and neither of us could get any sleep until 04.30 in the morning. Carpet, curtains, paint could really use a repair\renewal. The temperature in the room was way too high and only with rooms opened there was a little bit of cool air, but there was extra noise. For the price we paid, we had way better rooms in other cities.

    The atmosphere of the hotel, the breakfast and the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    in general pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet is a bit limited , not as good as in Martinihotel, No raisin and sugarbread and no low fat fruit joghurts etc Take a look at competton ! The garage is a disaster for a medium to full size car. Some places are unreachable s there is no space to maneuvre when the place is heavy occupied,

    location ,staff and atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfectly located and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the street outside is busy (maybe weekends) you could feel some noise from the outside. This was not super bad for us but some people might not like it.

    We booked the Suite with street view. It was amazing. Really big room, the bathtub/jacuzzi was great, the bed was comfortable, internet was fast, walking distance from everywhere (specially the landmarks of the city)... all really good stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    I am quite satisfied for the money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some of the electric outlets were not working. Some neighbours were having parties late (like 2 am). The restaurants in the courtyard can be quite noisy even though I was on the third floor. I did not like the carpet (I prefer a hard floor).

    I liked the bathroom with the view of the courtyard. I also liked their breakfast. The building is quite historic and fun to stay at such a place. The location is fantastic with respect to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    My second visit to hotel was not good. Very small room and well furnished
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small.

    Not very clean especially the small rooms. There is a big difference between small rooms and big rooms. There is no drinking water in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    The price was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi in my room was sometimes unstable. Also the heating was a bit strange, one night I had too much heat and the other nothing. But I think it may be a general issue with housing in Netherlands and not just this hotel.

    The price was very good. The location was excellent for my conference trip, very close to the shops and restaurants downtown but at the same time not noisy. The breakfast buffet was very nice with good choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Groningen is a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was in room 27 where the window looks onto the wall of the next building only about 2m away...as a result the room is very gloomy

    very central, close to shops and restaurants. Beds comfortable and lovely inner courtyard to eat/drink in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -breakfast acceptable only

    -Authentic hotel in the heart of Groningen with original details -Comfortable home-like feeling -large room -friendly staff - very good restaurant with high qpr

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel traditional, comfortable and friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. The food in restaurant was delicious. Upon arrival the hotel looked beautiful with candles and stylish decoration.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Trusted location for visiting the beautiful city of Groningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 9 is only accessible via a staircase that really challenges a 75 year old person. Especially the second stage is user unfriendly.

    Staff and service are fine troughout

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    nice historic house in great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe the only problem is that our suite was up in something that looks like an attic and therefore the stairs where a little complicate. We are young so we could deal with that, but maybe for old people could be a problem. However, I also like the sight that we were having in this room.

    The room was gorgeus!! a lot of space nice decoration. The bed was really comfortable! The bathroom was also with a lot of space. We have a Jacuzzi good ilumination! Nice details in the decoration. The house is beautiful!! We have food at the place where we have the activity so we did not choose Breakfast, but the restaurant was looking also beautiful. The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. I do not have any complain. We like it a lot!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No safe in our room, admittedly they let us put passports and other valuables in their safe. Also because I'm not getting any younger and there aren't any lifts, no one offered us any help taking our suitcase up some very steep stairs.

    The room, Jacuzzi , decor etc. The staff were nice, a the fridge in our room, the bed was really comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    A nice enough hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice enough hotel. First impressions are very good, but the rooms probably need to be updated a bit, they the rooms we had were very big. The hallways are pretty threadbare. Parking is a short walk away, but secure, and cheaper than other local options. The staff were all friendly and helpful, but we felt that breakfast was a little lacking. There wasn't as much choice as we'd become used to in other hotels in a similar price brand, and the quality of what was on offer also felt a little lacking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Nice brekkie but a bit old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In desperate need of a refresh

    This hotel is in a lovely position, only a stone's throw away from the main square but it is old and a bit tired and there is no parking within 1 mile of the property unless you forward book the few parking spaces the hotel has, so I got a parking ticket within 5 minutes of arriving. I paid for a single room and got the smallest room in the world - other rooms may be a bit bigger. The only saving grace was the breakfast was lovely including oodles of freshly made bread.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    A quirky hotel, very traditional, easy to remember among all the anonymous places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up a very steep staircase (there are no lifts). We were offered, but didn't take, a change of room when the owner saw our luggage/ages. The room was a bit noisy at night from the road outside, but it was a large room and good bathroom. No aircon, but a fan provided.

    This is a large and very traditional hotel in a central location, very good value, good breakfasts. Secure private paid parking 200m away. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: