Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Singel Hotel 3 stars

Singel 13-17, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 VC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#236 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1741 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are abit awkward and could be a little unconformable for someone over 6ft. The only other bad thing is the bar closing time. Amsterdam is quite and intense city and we went with a group of friends so it would have been nice to chill in the bar before bed. But I understand they have to keep the volume down.

    Location, friendly staff, canal view,free coffee, nice clean hotel. And seating area/bar to relax in before and after adventuring the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about!!

    The location was perfect- very central. Our room was small, but it was very comfortable. The hotel was attractive and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely warm and there was no air con plus you could only open the window a few inches. There was no mirror in the room.

    Staff were lovely and really helpful. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel was in a good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was expensive enough to allow for a free breakfast..

    the chance of a late booking, the staff, the decoration (except for the velvet..), the amazing view to the channel, the size of the room (I'd have prefered one single bed, though..), the location (next to the central station, and just two steps away from my venue)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid Room 8. You have to walk down steps from the street level to reach the lobby, and room 8 is on the same floor. Therefore, all you have is a small basement window., which we couldn't leave open at night or during the day when we were out. Also, the wifi dropped repeatedly. The maid left aus so little toilet paper on the first day that we had to desk the desk for some.

    Convenient location to get to major museums and plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the centre of Amsterdam facing the canal. The building doesn't have aircondition. The reception has snaks,beer etc

    All rooms are having good view to the canal n has lot of restuarents around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 6-8 stairs you need to navigate to enter/ depart the hotel which could be problematic for some. For most they are a non-issue.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Just a short 10-15 minute walk from the train station. The continental breakfast was fantastic. The room was small but updated and clean. We would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (17) was so noisy, it was nearly impossible to sleep. Too close to the elevator, too close to the garbage cans, which they emptied right outside of our window at 11pm, and way too many slamming doors day and night. If you need sleep, ask for a room on the top floor away from the “dinging” elevator.

    Staff was very friendly and eager to help. They took their time to show us how to walk to various attractions. The location was incredible. Easy to get to from Amsterdam central and quite central to most major attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, "desk," "and sink were tiny. For cleansing, there was only industrial-smelling soap from a wall mounted squeeze bottle. My room was off the lobby, separated by a Plexiglas door. All the lobby noise could be heard in my room.

    The bed was comfortable, and the internet connection was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attention to detail throughout the hotel was impressive. Everything from the room lighting to the coffee machine in the breakfast room to the lift etc. etc. - it was all well-designed and succeeded in making my stay comfortable and memorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The offer that I booked was completely misleading. Online it looked like a room full of light, big windows and view to the canal. Reality: Room that gets a lot of sun exposure the entire day through glass windows that don't open. It gets extremely hot and there is no air exchange. No air conditioning. The exhaust fan was as noisy as a helicopter and the lack of air exchange made the room smell strongly like cleaning products. I was moved to another room where I could at least open the windows, but under ground level and smaller. As compensation I got free breakfast, which wasn't good and did not compensate for all the trouble and horrible surprises. The alternative room was very noisy, you could hear people on the streets and moving through the hall of the hotel. There was a very loud noise coming from the heating constantly, didn't matter if you set the heating on or off. Horrible experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small but not too small. Tv didnt work properly. Bed sheets didn't get changed even there was a stain on it.

    Very friendly staff helping with everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Prehaps the room could use a fan for better air circulation, it became stuffy in the night due to the warm weather. But, that's Europe.

    The staff are very accommodating, and friendly. I felt safely secure in their building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on reception foor are toooo noisy. They should discover that mechanisms allowing to close doors quietly are invented long time ago.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The flight of steps to the reception. My knees are weak. Going down and up the stairs were challenging to me and my sister. We are both in the 60s. Wish you could have a ramp for guests with weak knees or wheelchair bound. Overall, Happy with our stay at Single Hotel. Thank you!

    The bed was extra comfy. Ideal location. Friendly and Helpful Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would add a mini fridge in the room if possible.

    Loved the location and the cleanliness of the facility. Staff was friendly but would book somewhere that had a little more going on for the guests during happy hour or breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was soso

    The spotless room was newly decorated and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I felt immediately welcomed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could of improved the whole experience would have been somewhere to put our bags

    The customer service provided was of the highest quality they were amazing particularly Aniko and the gentleman there in the mornings ( apologies I don’t remember your name) but everyone else also lovely. We were close to all the action location could not have been any better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed at this hotel in 2009. The location was fantastic but the decor was quite drab. Since then then there has been a major renovation. Easy walk to the train station and good restaurants close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the smallest 3* hotel room in town. Very well appointed but I wasn't informed prior to my visit. Anyone suffering from claustrophobia would not have coped with the lack of space.

    Nearness to railway station and restaurants. Also very convenient when joining canal boat trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that let our stay down, was there was a lot of renovation work going on (which we weren't told about prior to booking) on the ground floor. Now this wouldn't have usually bothered me, however we were put in a room DIRECTLY opposite the renovation work, not to mention the kitchen, hence we were woken up at 6am with loud banging/drilling/voices. However, after speaking to staff, we were relocated to a much better room on the top floor (with a lovely separate entrance) and was a perfect stay from there on out.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the room was exceptionally clean. Bathroom was very nice, with an easy to use, powerful shower. Staff were very friendly. A great location, just far away enough from the crowds for peace & quiet, but also close enough to reach within 5 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to almost everything we needed. The tram system is great. This was my Mom’s first time here and she loved it. Couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay for comfort and price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room out of action for part of stay Very small room on top floor which would have been okay for one night but not for three nights

    Good location next to Singel canal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was being repaired (there weren't any information in the page that this repairs were being done) and they cut the light several times. I wouldn't come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a bit dated with towels worn out.

    - Location of the hotel is excellent, within walking distance of the central area. - The room was really cosy, overlooking the street and the canal in front of the hotel. - Even though outside was one of the coldest days in March, the heating did a great job in keeping the room warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The had suspended breakfast service (permanently, maybe), and the staff were not helpful in suggesting alternatives. They only and repeatedly suggested one (of many in the area), leading me to believe they must get a commission. They claimed not to know of any other options. Also, they were quite rude when we asked for an extra 15 or 30 minutes to check out, a NORMAL courtesy in most parts of the world. They would not give even one minute extra. I would not recommend them based on service.

    The room was reasonably comfortable, and well located. Good for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location being right on a canal. Close to restaurants, cafes and sightseeing points. Even though there were renovations in progress - there was no significant interruption to the standard of accommodation and service! Top notch breakfast too!! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of communication from staff in regards to refurbishments taking place during our stay causing us much confusion in which door to enter. And we found the concept of handing over our room key to the receptionist every time we left the hotel to be unnerving and unnecessary.

    The location was on point, the room was comfortable and the shower was really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view was of a wall lol

    Loved how close to the centre it was . Shops, restaurants and bars are all just steps away. Great proximity to the train station as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under renovation so no food or drinks availavle. Big downfall is there is no kettle/tea/coffee facility in room. Also the rooms are next to left which means if you have noisy neighbours you can hear the lift beep and people coming in and out. No view from window (a wall).

    Great location. Clean and compact rooms, newly refurbished. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no prior warning of building works before our stay. Really annoyed that each morning you could hear loads of noise.

    Very comfortable and lovely bathroom. I can't really say anything more than that unfortunately.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi wasn't great. Hotel was being renovated at the time so there was no breakfast. I'm assuming everything will be a lot better when they've finished renovating.

    Nice cozy room with a nice view. Hotel was in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you got. My husband was shocked when I told him the price for our stay. Since you had to pay at the time of the booking there was no financial recourse.

    Location Great location on the Singel canal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not so kind. I felt like they have no choice but to do their job. But they did what they need to do at least. Wifi was bad. There is no soundproof system. You would hear every sound out of your room.

    Locations is quite good 10mins to central station. Room was clean. Price was relatively low in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was off, I told the receptionist, he said I will check ,but still it was not working and the room was cold, but under blankets it was fine.

    Location from Amsterdam Central , from the city center. The snacks. Cheerful receptionists,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tidy, clean, smart room with a nice view over the canal in a quiet location and within walking distance to red light district. Would high recommend for a weekend away ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location and friendly staff. It was only a short 10-15 minute walk from de Dam and the Royal Palace with many shops and restaurants nearby. It was very close to Amsterdam Centraal and canal operators. Only minutes walk from the metro station too. The staff were friendly and spoke English. They very kindly let us borrow a travel adaptor when ours broke for a small deposit. We also had a view of the canal but the window was quite high up so it was a bit difficult for us to see easily as we are vertically challenged 😄 Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room's could be soundproofed a little better, especially if you have the misfortune of having noisy neighbours!

    Beautiful hotel, excellent location and extremely helpful and polite staff. This was my ninth visit to Amsterdam and this was by far the best hotel I have stayed in! Despite the room being small (which I expected), it was very clean and well maintained! I picked this hotel because it is close to the Damrak but also because it is in a quiet location being on a canal. The only downside to my visit was the renovation work being done on the hotel, however it was being done in the basement and I was on the third floor so the noise was bearable plus it was only during the day when I was out exploring so I still got a peaceful nights sleep! I will definitely be returning to this charming hotel again in the future!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is definitely honted! But it was kinda fun! Haha

    The staff was very nice, and the location was absolutely perfect! The noise level was low compared to most places in the city, but you could turn the corner and be right in the middle of everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater is at an unfortunate location under the window and most of the heat escapes the room. It took pretty long to heat up the room to a comfortable temperature. Obviously, this would not be an issue in the summer.

    The room had a lot of different lights. The room and the bathroom were very spacious. There was a proper heater in the room, which is much better than only having an AC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are in room #15 you have bad luck and your stay will be very, very noisy! It's on the groundfloor and there is no isolation at all. You can hear people talking on the street as if they were standing in your room. They did some hardcore renovations... without any information at all for their guests. Two people can't pass each other in the whole room because it's so small. There is a corridor around the bed of about 1 meter and that's it. Hopefully other rooms are nicer...

    The hotel is very well located. They offered us ear-plugs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are not at all soundproof we could hear everything and be heard from the entrance. but it was fine with us, this is an alert for the ones out there looking for privacy ..

    The room is clean and well equipped. The staff is nice and understanding. The location is good, isn't it always in Amsterdam ? <3 We had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection and speed was not very good at my room.

    Great location. Walking distance from Central Train Station and to the city center. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. There’re maps and touristic info at the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was a bit too soft breakfast could be included, given the price of the room

    close enough to walk to the crazy area, but still far enough from it to have some peace and quiet. very clean and pleasantly decorated helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t bring a cat to swing in the bedroom!

    Fantastic central location a short walk from the station. Rooms are compact, typically Dutch. Helpful friendly staff. Pleasant continental breakfast. Quiet at night. Good range of restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a quirky room in what was essentially the attic. No complaints about that part since it provided a canal view (despite being a standard-level room), but the floor was strangely not level! You can definitely see that the floor it is slanted by looking at the bed. Not a big deal since we weren't in the room that much, but found it quite odd.

    This is a really well-situated hotel, close to the central train station and trams. Hotel was modern and clean. They are staffed 24/7, and everyone at the reception was really helpful with our questions about getting around and giving recommendations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but right beside breakfast room which was very noisy. Slept well during the night but only until 7 due to noise. Breakfast was a bit weak.

    Very nice location right on canal and close to Central Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby is below street level and tough to drag your luggage down stairs. Lobby is small and cramped but totally expected due to age of building.

    Location to Centraal. Very old building in older part o Amsterdam. Directly located on the canal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Debit card authorization left us with very little money the first night out of a 2 night stay. was told it would be refunded upon arrival to the hotel (which we budgeted for) but it turns out it had to be refunded by bank transfer not cash. So only received the refund after we arrived home in Ireland.

    Brilliant location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Add 45 € for your car's park per day. Staff doesn't know how to help you parking. It's in the center, so not quiet enough. Car engine rumours might destroy your sleep. Poor breakfast. The only advantage is the location but you already pay extra high for that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was renovation work going on and whole building was very dirty. Staff was not so good, I asked to change the room as the first room have paint smell. They gave a room which like an Dungeon house, locker was broken, carpet was dirty, wall and door was dirty too. Staff was welcoming BUT as soon I told the issues I am having, they was not helping at all. It looks like all of staff people have a script in their mind which they read when someone checked in BUT don't know what to do if someone have complaint. Long story cut short, they said NO I can't have any other room and I can't leave the Hotel and if I do I will not get a refund.

    Nothing apart from it was close to Central Station and Dam square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room in the stairwell where they were re vamping. I understand that they had to do it at some point, but they were very loud in the morning with drills as well as their voices.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in the room and better lighting around the mirror in the bedroom

    The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us gave us all information we needed and very comfortable rooms for

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms not sound proof. bit noisy

    Staff was very friendly. Matress was absolutely devine. We could watch some english channels other than the CNN AND SKYNEWS channels we became accustomed to at other hotels. Everything was n good walk away but a good walk is part of the discovery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door in the room was not sound proofed and I was woken up by other hotel guests who were talking loudly outside my room after they had arrived back to the hotel late at night, it was a little bit noisy. The hotel should really install sound proof doors in the rooms.

    My friend and I had a last minute train cancellation from Schipol airport so we had to stay overnight in Amsterdam and the hotel accepted our very last minute booking which was extremely appreciated. We needed to take a train the next morning back to the airport and the location of the hotel, right beside Amsterdam central railway station, was totally perfect. The hotel was also about 15 minute walk from the main tourist areas and there are lots of bars, shops and restaurants close by. The staff were friendly and the room itself was clean and comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was also good. The hotel had a very good price/quality ration. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was quite small and the mattress not very comfortable. No kettle or refreshments in room.

    Very happy with the location of this hotel - the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were road works taking place beside the hotel. This could not be helped by the hotel and they had a sign up apologising. However building works were taking place right beside our room which we were not informed of. We were woken early each morning to the sound of drilling and workmen talking. Also, when we returned one day the cleaning staff had left our room open. When we mentioned this to staff member, we didn't get a very favourable response.

    Some of the staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel looks better inside than from the outside. Room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the smaller side but as a couple we had just enough space.

    Exceptional location, 10-15 mins walk from nearly everything. Rooms were nice and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use the iron in the reception. The price was a bit expensive but we went during Halloween holidays.

    The property is located central to everything and easy walking distance to other attractions such as the Heineken museum etc. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Shower is a wet room style but warm and powerful. Staff were really friendly and went out of their way (order us a pizza at 4am)! Didn’t have the breakfast so can’t advise. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked the room at a peak price and felt it was not worth the money spent. Room was small on the third floor with a slanted roof. It was challenging to stand up straight without touching the roof in the toilet and there was no curb in the shower area so toilet floor will be wet. There was no ventilation in the room and having the carpet floor makes the room super dusty. You can see the dust when the lamp shines at night.

    The location is great and near to the central station for all the tram lines. Hotel staff serving the breakfast was very friendly. It was convenient that you can book most of the tickets through the hotel reception and skip the queue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was ground floor away from the canal though I had requested canal facing room. I reached after an eight hour flight and was told curtly that check in is at 2 pm although at booking.com site it was 11 am to 1 pm. The lady was quite curt even when I told her that I had a vangogh museum booking at 3 and needed just an hour in another room. That was quite a rude first step into a new country!

    It’s a small hotel so felt cosy. The room was comfortable. Staff was courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small considering we had booked a deluxe room. The twin beds didn't have room to be separated and were very narrow. So soft too that easy to roll out of bed.

    The location was excellent and the staff very helpful in selling us tickets and advice on tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi disconnecting frequently.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. They are very accommodating that they allowed me to check-in ahead of the regular check in time if they found that there’s a room available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception and breakfast area could do with a refurbishment. It was a little grubby but functional. A coat of paint would help!!

    The very friendly and helpful staff, the central location of the hotel and the triple room had a great view over the canal. The room was laid out well with several power points and some were next to mirrors which should be the case in every bedroom!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very veryyyyyy loud!!!!! you hear EVERYTHING in your room, hence why we were up at 6.30am with our "neighbours". afterwards the cleaning lady was also very loud and in front of the hotel there is construction work going on, so that's loud as well. moral of the story: no sleep. no happy guest.

    not very far from the center, friendly staff, room was big enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Work is still going on to re-lay pavement and road outside. Made access a little difficult for any disabled traveller but meant no traffic noise whatsoever. Work is coming to an end however

    Clean, bright, well furnished and decorated to a high standard. Superb breakfast with lovely pot of coffee, great spread of cheeses, meats, breads, cereals etc etc It has a lift ! Rare in inner canal properties) Nice room overlooking canal, comfy beds, beautifully clean if a little small bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic hotel in terms of facilities but clearly well run and very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff and a great location ( 5-10 minutes walk from Central station ). Free wifi was included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We should have been pre-informed that the entire block is renovated, that work starts early in the morning and the canal is blocked! We should have at least been compensated by free breakfast or else.

    I liked the location and most of the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    shower room rather small

    Excellent location only a few minutes walk from train station, Amsterdam Centraal. The hotel itself has been developed from converted houses on an Amsterdam canal. Reception staff friendly and very helpful. Hotel provides for complimentary tea in the afternoon if you happen to be there after a day's sightseeing. Breakfast satisfactory

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom window was tiny and set low on the floor, but it did afford a nice side view to the canal. The bed was very jiggly, but the pillows were comfortable. The bedroom and the bathroom were very small, which seems to be a feature in old buildings in the old town. The decor was very basic, with very little thought paid to interior design, other than cramming as much into the room as possible. It was also in need of an update, it looked like it hadn't been touched in many years. The entrance to the hotel is in the basement, so you have to maneuver several steps down with your luggage. Fortunately, there is a lift up to the rooms once you're past reception.

    The location on the Singel canal is excellent. However, a whole stretch of street in front of the hotel has been torn up, so access is difficult. The room had plenty of lighting, which made a nice change compared with other dingily lit hotel rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single person room is very tiny, it's hard to fit some additional luggage.

    Clean, modern style in a cute and classic building. Breakfast is simple, yet perfect. Would recommend for couples or business travellers who need a quick and easy stay close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited hanging space

    Hotel on Singel Canal and a canal view was requested and received which we enjoyed very much. Unfortunately the canal path was completely dug up (no fault of the hotel) which gave us an initial scare but was really fine. Very convenient location easy walk to Central Station and trams. Very nice room and bathroom but very limited hanging space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could very clearly hear other guests getting out of the lift and going to their rooms. They were never too loud and it didn't really bother us, but if you like a really quiet room then this might bother you.

    It's a small, no frills hotel. It's clean and has all the basics. It's in a great central location, walking distance to city centre and close to dozens of bars, cafes and restraints. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. In short, my bed was shaking due to the construction outside. Quite an experience I, myself captivated.

    Nothing, horrible experience with the construction on site....aweful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. They were not plump/full , it was like they were on a diet. I would have liked a fridge in the room, especially as it was a hotel.

    The location was Central. Staff were friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Singel Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: