Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Solskin 3 stars

Boulevard Bankert 58, 4382 AC Vlissingen, Netherlands

#5 of 14 hotels in Vlissingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 623 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the other hand, hotel has no lift, 2 sets of stairs to the room we had facing the land side. Towels were thin, and the shower area is somewhat unsafe due to water not running away quickly, and going over the edge into the washroom, which posed a hazard. We did have a kettle and some instant coffee and teabags. Breakfast was included,and compared to other hotels, minimal... the coffee was not from an expresso machine,the boiled eggs were cold,(no other type available).

    This is a small hotel that has been on the location for many years,with only 7 rooms, some facing the ocean, others to the back into the town.The dining room is open from 530pm on wards, and serves good food, although pricey. As others have said, this hotel is on the boulevard facing the sea and is excellent for ship spotters.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many broken light bulbs. Sinks are plugged up and the water almost does not drain in the bathroom. You have to figure out which plug is for the refrigerator since it is not always plugged in. Nothing too bad but many little inconveniences.

    Location right at the beach. Very good 3-course meal for under 30€.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were a bit steep and narrow, not ideal for the elderly but we managed with care and the view from the suite was well worth the effort.

    We only stayed one night in the penthouse suite. I agree with all the other 10/10 reviewers, it was brilliant. We wished we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was all you could ask for.We ate in the restuarant at night and it was top quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view from our room, could have sat on the balcony watching the ships all day! Friendly staff, clean environment and a tasty continental breakfast to set you up for the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was next to some doors which were squeaking and the hotel is a bit noisy. I was on the first floor next to the doors. There is not really a check in counter. It is part of the restaurant. This was a bit unclear.

    Breakfast was okay, Some bread/sandwich milk, orange juice, yoghurt and fruit. Not plenty of choice but for me it was sufficient. Room not to small, not to big, just sufficient. Location is on the boulevard, so pretty nice. Small walk to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unmanned reception Rude unprofessional staff No wifi available as advertised Breakfast served over an hour late Security safe broken Very old, tired, in need of decoration Thin,old towels Kettle in room but no coffee, black tea or milk Very steep stairs - no lift

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mastress a bit too soft for me, but it's a matter of personal preference,

    Location, close to port, supermarkets and shops. Amazing view of the estuary, with non stop boat traffic. Very good food at the hotel restaurant. Menu 3 courses at 27.5 is a top value for money. As is the house wine.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was small, and basic. The bathroom is a "wet room" style, but water does not drain away from the shower properly so there was always a puddle. Breakfast was too simple. Perhaps I expected a lot as it is a "restaurant hotel" but it was just a continental breakfast and there was nothing special about it. Coffee was too strong.

    The location was good for what we wanted - closeness to the beach. There was a kettle provided, which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs, stairs, stairs. The bath was unuseable due to taps being partly dismantled. No English TV or news channels.

    Good location. Good dinner menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were very friendly ande helpfull. I forgot something and they send it directly to my home adress. Great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs up to the room.

    It's all about the view - ship-spotter's paradise. Nice to have a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    niets

    alles was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was difficult, expensive, but that is common to many properties in the area.

    The location is the key feature - for ship-spotters. Right on the waterside and next to the shipping channel. The proprietor waited in for us to arrive when we were delayed by the Belgian road-works network.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs might be an issue for some. Internet connection doesn't work very well.

    Great location with beautiful view at the sea. Great restaurant with good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Niks

    Beautiful location on the Boulevard, not too far from the town and shops and very near the beach. The penthouse has a breathtaking view and ample accommodation for 5 people.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast was adequate, but not special

    Nice view from the spacious and well equipped penthouse and an excellent location to watch ships and pilots Very good restaurant with tasteful food and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stairs are very steep which was not a problem for us but could be for someone less able bodied.

    The penthouse was amazing. You could sit there all day enjoying the view.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The stairs were steep but we were aware of this beforehand. It wasn't a problem for us but maybe for those less active.

    The view from the lounge/kitchen/diner overlooking the busy shipping lane. The size and spaciousness of the penthouse apartment. The location was good with bars, restaurants and harbour nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very narrow steep steps to access the penthouse. You do need to be able bodied. Also important to know that it is a very open balcony - I wouldn't stay with very young children. A bit of care and responsibility needed. Should also know that building work going on at back of hotel at the moment. Started about 7.30am but good double glazing.

    Stayed in top floor penthouse. Stayed as stop over on way home from a camping holiday. Very welcome comfy beds and loads of space. And wow the views were amazing. Arrived on a very busy Sunday with market on so quite hard to access property but once found lovely manager with excellent and appreciated good English sorted out our parking. Spent a very relaxing evening on the balcony watching the ships go by. Highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love the room which had a balcony overlooking the river. I've had some good meals in the Netherlands but this was the best. Easy walking distance to the historic centre of the town.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just need to know there is no elevator and need to carry luggage up steep steps but it all added to the experience not a problem

    Everything had the penthouse was fabulous great ocean views could watch the ships coming and going good easy walk to shops and public transport

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi could be improved - slow, and could not do initial log on from top floor room. Be prepared for steep, narrow, curving stairs.

    Waterfront location only three blocks from bus transport and town center. View of river and marine transport vessels. Restaurant on site with good food.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The only problems we had with the hotel was that the beds were very soft and that the bathroom door didn't close, which made it quite cold to take a shower early on a winter morning.

    Location and staff were great. Breakfast was good and the parking permit that we pre-arranged came in very handy.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room needed renewing; duvet cover was synthetic

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail Quality of food Good position on Beach front

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Awesome view from the roomy luxurious penthouse!! Excellent sea food.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator.

    Glorious view. Good restaurant. Excellent location. Convenient to main square.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Hotel Restaurant Solskin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: