Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stadshotel Botterweck 3 stars

Geleenstraat 1, 6411 HP Heerlen, Netherlands

#6 of 11 hotels in Heerlen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 419 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    I wish your staff were more honest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking I've mentioned exactly that I want a quiet single room. At arrival the receptionist suddenly changed my room to a double room but at the front side of the hotel. There were a lot of noises at midnight and the reception was closed so I could not sleep at all. This is not professional to ignore your clients preferences.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay when in Heerlen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly noisy at night with windows open but there was a fan available and windows are double glazed, so once closed there was little noise

    So easy to get to and staff very helpful in all matters. Loved the Tapas restaurant underneath - great food and drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, transportation and night life you don't have to go far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space but it did the job perfectly.

    It was clean really good when I checked in. My flight got delayed but hotel staff waited for me until midnight when I came in. Really good and I appreciated there patience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    More than a hotel, this is a restaurant with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than a hotel, this is a restaurant with rooms. Access is uncomfortable and check-in after 9:00 PM impossible. Elevator was full of bottles and restaurant equipment. Room without a direct window, noisy wooden floor, smelly bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Frendly staff, comfy rooms
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring on a busy square, there was noise from the people out and about until late. We were offered a room in a quieter area.

    Friendly staff, lovely old building, comfy rooms, all very clean. Nice breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Short stay. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late checkin is unavailable. No staff after 2230. If you have a late checkin or your key doesn’t work, you will be stuck outside.

    Location is great. Right in the centrum. Hotel is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.7
    OK to stay, but I will stay elsewhere next time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to climb steep stairs 4 floors up and down, staff is never at the reception desk, limited time for check in. The quiet room protects well from noises from the street, but not from noisy neighbors. Didn't like to wheel my luggage between the people having dinner in the restaurant, but that's the only way to get into the hotel.

    Very nice, clean, white linens and super sparkling clean bathroom. The hotel is right in the middle of the town, short walking distance from the central train station. There are shops and cafes on the surrounding streets (but shopping and dining hours are limited, most shops close 5pm).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was pricey, especially compared to the various bakeries just outside.

    Excellent central location. Tapas resturant downstairs was ok. Room was spacious, nicely furnished and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Room was large and comfy (bed was really comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front rooms of the hotel allow a lot of noise in from the streets. It is as if the glass was only single pane. We slept, but it was pretty noisy. Parking is off site and not far, but also not right next door. Breakfast seemed nice but was overpriced so we did not partake.

    Room was large and comfy (bed was really comfy!). Bathroom modern and clean. Also nice to have a shower that didn't leak onto the floor like the newer ones often do. Central location. Easy to walk to bars and cafes, including the one downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly and easy going staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked the single bed rooms a little bigger.

    Very friendly and easy going staff. Great restaurant in the same building with a view to the town’s main square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    3.3
    4.2
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4.2 "The rooms are not sound proof as mentioned in Booking.com. The clock tower right outside the hotel chimes more too often and the breakfast options are very limited and the access to front desk for checkin is via the restaurant only"

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Good bed, the room was at the 'silent' side of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do not watch TV in a hotel room, but at the moment I packed my things to check out, I noticed there was no remote control for the TV. Not too much light in the room, only two small lamps.

    Good bed, the room was at the 'silent' side of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Lovely, great value, central hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really thought the hotel was great but outside the hotel is a nightclub and the church bell chimes every half hour, so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. But otherwise it is a fantastic hotel for price, location, comfort, staff helpfulness & kindness.

    The staff were very welcoming, the beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and location very central with a great restaurant and loads of other great local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall OK but some improvements should be made
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very cold and there was no functioning heating. A window in one of the rooms was leaking. No wardrobe space and as some rooms were tiny, you could hardly place belongings. Lightning in the rooms is insufficient - only one small lamp that hardy illuminates the room in the evening or night.

    Location is good, right next to the church and the main square. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was OK, if a bit pricey. The tapas restaurant downstairs is worth visiting. Great wifi connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Fast internet, good location, very good restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm breakfast! Make sure to arrive when restaurant is open , as that's the only way to get the elevator. I got a room on the 5th and the stairs are very very steep and narrow! Window in my room didn't fully close and the church clock will wake you up!

    Fast internet, good location, very good restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is located next to an interesting Spanish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located next to an interesting Spanish restaurant where people can eat tasty tapas (fthe price is really friendmy )and breath the air of Spain with music and nice waitress . The hotel provides a good service and an elegant and competent lady will welcome you at the reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are very clean and decent sized.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It can be noisy sometimes when there are events at the square. A minibar/fridge would be a nice to have.

    The rooms are very clean and decent sized. The bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money and centrally located at main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a warm day and therefore the room was very hot at night. no airco.

    Excellent value for money and centrally located at main square of Heerlen. Enthousiastic service at breakfast at 7:30.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Clean, nice room right in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room. There was a hole on the ceiling in the bathroom.

    The hotel is right on the main square in the city centre, no noise can be heard in the room. Nice, welcoming staff in both the hotel and the restaurant. The room seemed new and was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    A practical key location to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the breakfast time, maybe a bit more lights or the possibility of enjoying breakfast in the sun outisde. Except that all positive 😄

    I really like the welcoming mood of the staff, they were really helpful. The room was smaller than some hotels but the quality of the matresses, soundproofed, and quality soaps.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Good for leisure; not for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above

    This hotel is fine for leisure travel. The location is wonderful. However, for business I found it lacking. The reception area was not open at all (perhaps due to the season, I don't know), so I had to deal with the manager by meeting him in the restaurant. The entrance to the hotel was via the restaurant. So maneuvering between the crowded tables with my luggage with a challenge. There was no phone in the room. and there were no business facilities such as copiers, etc. The closest parking garage was three blocks away, so again, dealing with luggage was an issue. I thought the breakfast was lacking, compared to other breakfasts I've had in Europe. However, the hotel was extremely clean. The staff was exceptionally nice and friendly. I would think the room rates should be about half of what they are, so, it is overpriced in my opinion.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    2.5
    The WORST hotel in europe.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated above a tapas restaurant. you check in with wait staff who look as confused as you feel. you ask if your car is okay just outside right now or should you move it. the wait staff says it will be fine, then slowly begins to check you into your room. payment up front is demanded. you begin to feel suspicious that you haven't seen the room. you see the room. it is small, badly angled, the half the lights don't work, it is stuffy and cramped. you paid over €300 for two nights in this dump. you return to your car to find a €60 parking ticket. You chose this hotel because breakfast was included. breakfast is a coffee machine and a metal plate with old cheese and meat sweating on it and a fly having a buffet. any eggs? warm food? the waiter of the tapas restaurant suggest toast is warm food. I have never hated a hotel as much as i hate this one.

    Nothing. This place was awful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    More than met expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist didn't arrange for response to request for the in-room safe to be operational.

    Central location and bistro downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Just in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just in the heart of the town. Comfy and cosy room, Very good design, stylish.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    Location, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 pers bed is quite small I can hear the neighbors through the wall

    Location, nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Good stay in Heerlen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, kind staffs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Super location, nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super location, nice and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Standard hotel in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms without external windows. Cleanliness to improve

    Location Friendly reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    Stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs. (did have a lift). No parking. Limited breakfast selection. Bathroom arrangement tight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Good beds, quiet despite the location in middle of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price you pay,it is a real basic hotel

    Good beds, quiet despite the location in middle of the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    VERY CLEAN ROOM AND BATHROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO COFFEE OR TEA OR WATER KETTLE IN THE ROOM

    VERY CLEAN ROOM AND BATHROOM

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Central location, restaurant inside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, restaurant inside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Central location in Herleen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very central location in Herleen and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: